Meiji-Portraits
- T -
Erklärung zur Namensliste >> << Explanation of Names' List
1.
Dies sind alle berücksichtigten Personen mit dem Buchstaben - T - . Spezifische Beschreibungen werden kontinuierlich ergänzt. Fett gedruckte Namen wurden bereits bearbeitet, nutzen Sie auch den Link.

These are all considered persons with the letter - T - . Specific descriptions will be continuously added. Bolded names have been edited, please use also the Link.

2.
Reihenfolge der Anordnung je Zeile <<>> Sequence per Line

Nachname, Vorname [Namensvarianten] / Aufenthalt innerhalb des Zeitraumes P / Herkunft / Beschäftigungsgruppe / Bemerkungen

Surname, Christian Name [Variants of Name] / Stay within the Period of P/ Origin / Group of Occupation / Remarks




1. AUSLÄNDER >>> <<< FOREIGNERS
(JAPANER >>> <<< JAPANESE)

TABB, T. Turner / P III / USA / MIS /
TABOR, Charles H. [THABOR] / P II / GB / FE-ED + TR /
TABOR, H. / P I - II / GB / TR /
TAEGER, H. [TACGER] / P II / UKN / SER /

TAEN Err - Toung

TAFT, G. W. / P III / USA / MIS /
TAGGART, J. H. / P II / UKN / TR /
TAGUE, Charles Allen / P III / USA / MIS /
TAIT, A. H. / P III / USA / TR /
TAIT, J. M. / P III / USA / TR /
TAK, William Martinus van der / P I - II / NL / DIP + TR /
TAKEL, J. / P II / GB / FE-T /
TALBOT, A. / P III / GB / SER /
TALBOT, R. / P II / GB / FE-R /
TALBOT, T. F. / P II / GB / TR /
TALBOT, William Edward / P III / GB / SER /
TALBOT, William Henry / P I - III / JOU + TR /
TALCOTT, Eliza / P II - III / USA / MIS / Miss, 1836 - 1911
TALCOTT, M. / P II / USA / MIS /
TALLAKSEN, Theo. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
TALLERMAN, Godfrey A. [TALLERMANN] / P II / USA / DIP /
TALLERS, J. / P III / UKN / TR /
TALLERS, W. / P III / UKN / TR /
TANER, C. A. / see TANNER, C. A.
TANET, A. / P II / FR / SER /
TANK, E. / P III / UKN / TR /
TANNAHILL, R. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
TANNER, C. A. [TANER] / P I / USA / TR /
TANNER, F. H. / P III / UKN / TR /
TANNER, J. S. / P III / UKN / TR /
TANSLER, Emil / P II / DE / FE-R /
TAPLIN, E. A. / P III / UKN / TR /
TAPSON, A. M. [Minna] / P II - III / GB / MIS / Miss
TAPSON, J. [TOPSON] / P II - III / GB / MIS / Mrs.

TARADEL, A. B. / siehe - see / GAY DE TARADEL, Augustine

TARAKTEMBERK, - / P II / DE / FE-ED /
TARBELL, M. P. [M. B.] / P II / USA / FE-ED / Mrs.
TARBELL, W. E. / P II / USA / FE-ED /
TARDIEU, P. / P I / FR / FE-T /
TARNEY, - / P II / UKN / FE-ED /
TARRING, Sir Charles James / P II / GB / FE-L /
TARTAS, Louis [TARTARS] / P III / UKN / TR /
TASSELL, F. / P III / UKN / MED /
TASSERO, E. / P III / UKN / TR /
TATE, E. W. / P III / UKN / TR /
TATHAM, Thomas / P I / GB / TR /
TAVERNER, F. L. / P III / USA / TR /
TAYEUX, Alfred / see CAYEUX

TAYLOR, A. [TAYLAR] / P I - II / GB / SER + FE-T-RW (72 Mon.) /
- Als er 1869 nach Japan kam, wurde er im Yokohama United Club, Yokohama # 5, als Steward angestellt und er abeitete auch noch 1870 im Club. Im Jahr 1871 und 1872 arbeitete er als Steward im Japan Hotel, Yokohama # 44.
Im Jahr 1873 wurde er von der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, angestellt, um als Vorarbeiter beim Eisenbahnbau, auf der Strecke Kobe - Kyoto zu arbeiten. Sein Vertrag begann am 16.07.1873 und endete am 30.07.1879. Sein Vertrag wurde nicht verlängert. Nach Vertragsende hat er Japan wieder verlassen.
- When he came to Japan in 1869, he was employed as a steward at the Yokohama United Club, Yokohama # 5, and he also worked in the Club in 1870. In 1871 and 1872 he worked as a steward in the Japan Hotel,Yokohama # 44.
In 1873, he was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, to work as a foreman in the railway construction on the Kobe-Kyoto Line. His contract began on July 16, 1873 and ended on July 30, 1879. His contract was not renewed. After the contract expired, he left Japan again.


TAYLOR, A. C. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH-L (60 Mon.) /
- Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Bereich Leuchtturmbau, angestellt. Sein Vertrag begann am 01.12.1874 als 2. Offizier auf dem Leuchtturmtender Thabor und der Vertrag wurde monatlich verlängert. Im Jahr 1878 endete der Vertrag im Leuchtturmbau und er wechselte zur Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. als Offizier auf der Kagoshima-maru. Ab 1880 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, Lighthouse Department. His contract began on December 1, 1874 as 2nd Officer on the Lighthouse Tender Thabor and the contract was extended monthly. In 1878, the contract with the lighthouse department expired and he joined the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. as an officer on the Kagoshima-maru. As of 1880 he is no longer listed in Japan.

TAYLOR, Alfred / P II / GB / TR /
- Alfred Taylor und W. L. Malcolmson gründeten zusammen in Partnerschaft die Firma Malcolmson & Taylor, Kohlenhändler und Selterwasser-Hersteller, Yokohama # 16. Diese Firma existierte nur 1871 und 1872; im Jahr 1873 ist Alfred Taylor nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- Alfred Taylor and W. L. Malcolmson founded together in partnership the company Malcolmson & Taylor, Coal Merchant and Aerated Water Manufacturer, Yokohama # 16. This company existed only in 1871 and 1872; In 1873, Alfred Taylor was no longer listed in Japan.

TAYLOR, Alfred G. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Brief vom 07.06.1889 aus Kanazawa nach Osaka, Ankunft 09.06.1889 kurz nach ihrer Ankunft.

- cover from Kanazawa posted June 7, 1889 to Osaka, arrival on June 9, 1889, shortly after their arrival.


- Alfred Taylor und seine Frau wurden von der American Presbyterian Church als Missionare nach Japan gesandt. Sie trafen 1888 in Japan ein und begannen Ihre Arbeit zuerst in Osaka. Bereits im Jahr 1890 wurden sie nach Kanazawa versetzt, wo sie bis 1893 arbeiteten. Ab 1894 sind sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- Alfred Taylor and his wife were sent to Japan by the American Presbyterian Church as missionaries. They arrived in Japan in 1888 and started their work first in Osaka. Already in 1890 they were transferred to Kanazawa, where they worked until 1893. As of 1894 they are no longer listed in Japan.

TAYLOR, Alma O. / P IV / USA / MIS /
- Sie war ab 1904 in Japan als Missionar der Kirche Jesus Christi der Heiligen der Letzten Tage und arbeitete in Tokyo Yotsuya. Im Jahr 1908 war sie immer noch im Dienst.
- As of 1904 she stayed in Japan as a missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and worked in Tokyo Yotsuya. In 1908 she was still in the service.

TAYLOR, Bayard

TAYLOR, C. A. / P III / UKN / TR /
TAYLOR, D. B. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
TAYLOR, E. / P I / USA / TR /
TAYLOR, Elliot C. / P III / USA / MIS /
TAYLOR, F. N. I. / P I / GB / FE-MIL /
TAYLOR, Frank / P III / USA / DIP /
TAYLOR, G. B. [G. Y.] / P III / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, Geo. / P II - III / GB / SH /
TAYLOR, George / P II / GB / FE-R + TR /
TAYLOR, George / P II / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, H. J. / P III / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, Harriet M. / P III / USA / MIS /
TAYLOR, Isaac John / P II / GB / MIS /
TAYLOR, J. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
TAYLOR, J. / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
TAYLOR, J. H. / P II / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, J. K. [I. K.] / P II / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, J. S. / P III / USA / MED /
TAYLOR, J. W. / P III / UKN / MIS /
TAYLOR, J. W. Ross / P III / UKN / TR /
TAYLOR, James / P II / GB / MIL /
TAYLOR, John / P II / GB / FE-T /
TAYLOR, John J. K. / P II / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, Joseph / P II / GB / FE-T.PT /

TAYLOR, Martha Alvira / P III / USA / MIS / 1863 - 1947
- Sie wurde am 19.04.1863 als Tochter eines methodistischen Pfarrers geboren, studierte am Albion College in Albion, MI und erwarb den BA. 1889 erhielt sie ein Diplom von der Chicago Training Schule (Garrett-Evangelisch-Theologisches Seminar in Evanston, IL).
Nach Abschluss der Ausbildung wurde sie von der American Methodist Episcopal Mission nach Japan als Missionar entsandt. Sie traf am 10.01.1890 in Japan ein und nahm ihre Tätigkeit als Englisch-Lehrer an der Mädchenschule von Fukuoka auf (Eiwa Jogakkō), 1891-1893 war sie in Kagoshima.
Am 09.10.1893 heiratete sie in Nagasaki William Jackson Callahan.
Nach ihrer Hochzeit arbeiteten sie zusammen in der Mission, siehe auch bei William Jackson Callahan.
Sie hatten 4 Kinder, die in Japan geboren wurden. Ein Sohn starb als Kleinkind am 08.12.1898 und wurde in Kobe beigesetzt. - Ihre Schwester Alice heiratete den Missionar W. P. Turner und sie arbeiteten von 1896 bis 1912 in Japan.
- She was born on April 19, 1863 as daughter of a methodist pastor; she studied at the Albion College in Albion, MI and acquired the BA. In 1889 she got a diploma from the Chicago Training School (Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary at Evanston, IL).
After her graduation she was sent to Japan as missionary of the American Methodist Episcopal Mission. She arrived on January 10, 1890 in Japan and took office at the Fukuoka Girls' School as English teacher (Eiwa Jogakkō), from 1891 to 1893 she worked in Kagoshima.
On October 9, 1893 she married William Jackson Callahan in Nagasaki. After their marriage they served together in the mission, see also under William Jackson Callahan.
They had four children, all born in Japan. - One son died in infancy and was buried in Kobe.
Her sister, Alice, married MES missionary W. P. Turner and served in Japan with him from 1896 to 1912.


TAYLOR, Minnie / P III / USA / MIS /
TAYLOR, T. / P II / GB / TR /
TAYLOR, T. M. / P II / USA / FE-R /
TAYLOR, Thos. / P II / GB / MED /

TAYLOR, Wallace / P II - III / USA / FE-ED ( Mon.) + MIS / 1835 - 1923
* 18.06.1853 in Cadiz, Ohio, USA
† 09.02.1923 in Oberlin, Ohio, USA
- Dr. Taylor absolvierte 1871 die University of Michigan, Fakultät für Medizin. Um Missionsarzt zu werden, absolvierte er noch ein Studium mit Abschluss 1872 am Oberlin Theological College Ohio und wurde 1873 ordiniert. Im Januar 1874 wurde er mit seiner Frau Mary als Missionararzt von der American Board Mission nach Japan geschickt.
Bei seiner Ankunft in Kobe traf Dr. Wallace Taylor einen anderen amerikanischen Missionsarzt, Dr. John Cutting Berry (1847-1936), Absolvent des Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia. Beeindruckt von Dr. Berrys Werk am Keiseiin Dispensary (dem Vorläufer des Universitätsklinikums Kobe) wollte Dr. Taylor in ähnlicher Art wirken und zog nach Kyoto, um missionarische Arbeit zu leisten und medizinisch für arme japanische Patienten zu sorgen.
In Kyoto aber traf er einen beträchtlichen Widerstand von der bürokratischen Kommunalregierung. Deshalb lehrte Dr. Taylor die Studentenkrankenschwestern an der Doshisha-Schule. Er begann mit einem Vertrag der japanischen Regierung am 15. März 1876. Er wurde stark in die Verwaltung der Doshisha-Schule einbezogen, einschließlich der gesundheitlichen Betreuung der Studenten und den Ausbau des Schulgebäudes.
Am 21. Mai 1878, gemäß der Politik des Ministeriums für Bildung in Tokyo, zwang die Stadtverwaltung Kyotos Dr. Niijima, Dr. Taylor aus dem Doshisha Schuldienst zu entlassen. Als Begründung sagte man, er praktiziere illegal als Arzt außerhalb der Ausländer-Siedlung, eine solche existierte jedoch nur in Kobe, nicht in Kyoto. Eigentlich war dies eine offizielle Schikane gegen Dr. Niijimas Doshisha-Schule, um die christliche Erziehung in der Stadt zu unterdrücken. Im Jahre 1878 verließ Dr. Taylor Kyoto und zog nach Osaka. Er baute das Choshū-Krankenhaus in Osaka mit Mitgliedern der Shima-no-uchi-Kirche.
Die Taylors waren wirklich außergewöhnliche Menschenfreunde, die ihr Leben dem Nutzen des japauischen Volkes widmeten. An ihre Beiträge und Erbe wird heute noch von medizinischen und missionarischen Historikern erinnert.
Im April 1912 kehrte er nach 38 Jahren in Japan in die USA zurück und lehrte einige Jahre am Oberlin College, theologisches Seminar. Er starb am 9. Februar 1923 in Oberlin, Ohio.
- Dr. Taylor graduated in 1871 from the University of Michigan, Faculty of Medicine. To become a missionary-physician, he obtained a theology degree from Oberlin Theological College Ohio in 1872 and was ordained in 1873. In January 1874 he was sent to Japan with his wife Mary as a missionary-physician by the American Board Missions.
On his arrival in Kobe, Dr. Wallace Taylor met another American missionary-physician, Dr. John Cutting Berry (1847-1936), a graduate of Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia. Impressed with Dr. Berry's work at the Keiseiin Dispensary (the forerunner of the Kobe University Hospital), Dr. Taylor wished to do similar work and he moved to Kyoto to do missionary work as well as to medically care for indigent Japanese patients.
In Kyoto, however, he met considerable resistance from the bureaucratic municipal government. Therefore, instead, Dr. Taylor taught the student nurses at the Doshisha School. He started with a contract of the Japanese government on March 15, 1876. He became heavily involved in the management of the Doshisha School, including the students' health care and the construction of the school's buildings.
On May 21, 1878, following the policy made by the Ministry of Education in Tokyo, the Kyoto Municipal Government forced to Dr. Niijima to expel Dr. Taylor from Doshisha School because they said, he illegally practiced medicine outside the Foreigners' Settlement, which existed in Kobe but not in Kyoto.
Actually, this was official harassment against Dr. Niijima's Doshisha school in an effort to suppress Christian education in the city. In 1878, Dr Taylor left Kyoto and moved to Osaka. He built the Choshū Hospital at Osaka with members of the Shima-no-uchi Church.
The Taylors were truly extraordinary humanitarians who devoted their lives to the benefit of Japauese people.
Their contributions and legacy is still remembered by medical and missionary historians.
In April 1912, after 38 long years in Japan, he returned to the USA and taught some years at Oberlin College, theological seminary. He died at Oberlin, Ohio, on February 9, 1923.


TAYLOR, William / P II / GB / TR + FE-T-RW (12 Mon.) /
- Er kam 1875 nach Japan und versuchte sich als selbständiger Schiffsbedarfshänder, Segelmacher, Takler und Kolonialwarenhändler unter seinen Namen in Yokohama # 31. Offensichtlich war es ein schwerer Anfang, sodass er die Möglichkeit ergriff, als die japanische Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Personal zum Eisenbahn-Bau suchte. Er wurde am 15.05.1876 auf der Strecke Kobe-Kyoto für 18 Monate angestellt. Er wurde jedoch bereits am 05.07.1877 wegen Vertragsverletzung, Fehlverhalten oder Inkompetenz entlassen und hat Japan verlassen..
- He came to Japan in 1875, trying to become an independent shipchandler, sail maker, rigger and general storekeeper under his name in Yokohama. # 31. Obviously, it was a heavy start, thus he seized the opportunity when the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, looked for staff for the railway construction. He was employed on May 15, 1876 on the Kobe-Kyoto line for 18 months. He was, however, already dismissed on July 5, 1877 by violation of protocol, impropriety or incompetence and he left Japan.

TAYLOR, William Henry / P I - II / GB / TR /
- Im Jahr 1866 kam er nach Japan im Auftrag von Aspinall, Cornes & Co. und er wurde in ihrer Yokohama Niederlassung eingesetzt. Im Jahr 1870 wurde er zum Junior-Partner in diesem Unternehmen ernannt. 1873 trennte sich W. G. Aspinall und Cornes & Co. wurde konstituiert. William Henry Taylor wurde erneut in dieser Firma bis zu seinem Ruhestand im Jahre 1889 zum Junior-Partner ernannt. Während dieser Zeit arbeitete er hauptsächlich in Yokohama und nur die letzten drei Jahre in Kobe. 1890 verließ er Japan.
- In 1866 he came to Japan by order of Aspinall, Cornes & Co. and he was installed in their Yokohama branch. In 1870 he was appointed junior partner in this company. In 1873, W. G. Aspinall separated and Cornes & Co. was constituted. William Henry Taylor was again appointed junior partner in this firm until his retirement in 1889. During this time he worked chiefly in Yokohama and only the last three years in Kobe. In 1890 he left Japan.

TAYLOR, William Sansom


TCHERKASSOVA, Mary / P II / RUS / MIS /
TEALE, Walter [TEAL] / P II / GB / FE-T-PT /
TEBB, L. D. / P III / GB / TR /
TECHOW, Hermann / P II / DE / FE-L /
TECK, Benjamin / P II / GB / TR /
TECKEN, Emil von der / see DECKEN

TEGNER, Frederick May

TEHLER, - / P II / UKN / TR /
TEISSIER, Celestin / P II / FR / SER /
TEIXEIRA, J. M. P. C. / P II - III / PT / DIP /
TELFORD, E. M. [C. M.] / P III / USA / MIS /
TELFORD, W. H. [TILFORD] / P II - III / GB / TR /
TELGE, B. [H.] / P III / DE / TR /

TELL, Guillaume / P I - II / FR / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Guillaume Tell war Eigentümer einer Export-Import-Firma mit Hauptsitz in Avignon, Frankreich. Gemäß Firmenbrief handelten sie insbesondere mit „Seide, Getränke und andere Artikel“, mit anderen Worten, mit allen möglichen Waren. Der Briefkopf von 1871 zeigt auch einen Sitz in Yokohama, trotzdem ist die Firma in den Japan Directories nicht aufgeführt.
- Guillaume Tell was the proprietor of an export-import company headquartered in Avignon, France. According to the company's letterhead, they were dealing in particular with "silk, beverages and other articles", in other words, with all kinds of goods. The letterhead of 1871 also shows a seat in Yokohama, nevertheless the company is not listed in the JD´s.

TELLER, B. / P IV / DE / TR /
- Im Jahr 1900 kam er im Auftrag von S. D. Lesser, Lebensmittel, Bäcker und allgemeiner Kaufmann, nach Japan und wurde in der Firma in Nagasaki eingesetzt. Im Jahr 1908 arbeitete er immer noch bei dieser Firma in Nagasaki.
- In 1900, he was commissioned by S. D. Lesser, Provision Dealer, Baker and General Merchant, to Japan and was employed in the company in Nagasaki. In 1908 he still worked at this company in Nagasaki.

TEMME, Hans

TEMME, Ludwig

TEMPEST, Herbert / P II / UKN / TR /
TEMPEST, William / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
TEMPLEMORE, F. W. / P III / UKN / TR /
TENKELSEN, O. / P III / DK / FE-T-PT /
TENNANT, Henry / P III / GB / JOU / 1864 - 1899
TENNENBAUM, M. [TENENBAUM] / P III / P III / UKN / TR /
TENNENT, Agnes C. [TENNANT] / P III / GB / MIS / Miss
TENNISON, H. H. [R. H.] / P III / GB / FE-T + TR /

TENNY, Charles Buckley

TENNYSON, W. / P III / UKN / TR /
TENSEY, M. / P II / UKN / TR /
TERKELSEN, O. / P III / DK / FE-T-PT /
TERKELTOBA, J. / P III / UKN / SER /
TERNES, P. / P III / UKN / TR /
TERNO, A. / P III / DE / TR /
TERRAND, C. / P III / FR / MIS /

TERRILL, F. H. [TERRELL] / P II / USA / MIL-MED /
- Er arbeitete 1880 als Chirurg im US-Marine-Hospital, Yokohama # 99 Bluff.
- He worked in 1880 as a surgeon in the US Naval Hospital, Yokohama # 99 Bluff.

TERRIS, B. / P I / GB / SER /
- Im Jahr 1869 wurde das Phoenix Hotel in Yokohama # 97 eröffnet. Nur in diesem Jahr war B. Terris als Assistent angestellt.
- In 1869, the Phoenix Hotel was opened in Yokohama # 97. Only during this year, B. Terris was employed as an assistant.

TERRY, Henry Taylor

TERSEUR, -- / P I / FR / DIP /
- Er war 1869/ 1870 als Begleitperson der berittenen Eskorte der Gesandtschaft von Frankreich in Japan. Leiter der Eskorte war Jean Charles Henri BULAND.
- In 1869/ 1870 he was trooper of the Mounted Escort of the Legation of France in Japan. Chief of the escort was Jean Charles Henri BULAND.

TESSENSHON, F. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
TESTA, H. C. T. / P III / NL / DIP /
TESTEVUIDE, Léger Germain / P II / FR / MIS /
TETTENBACH, Christian Graf von / P II / AT / DIP /
TEUSLER, Rudolf Bolling / P III / USA / MIS / 1876 - 1934
TEVERSON, H. F. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
TEWSLER, - / P III / USA / MIS /
TEXTOR, Carl Julius / P I - II / DE / TR /
THACKER, Herbert Cyril / P III / CAN / MIL / Observer Russo-Japanese War, 1870 - 1953
THATCHER, J. [J. M.] / P III / GB / TR /
THAYER, F. H. [J. H.] / P I / GB / TR / 1818 - 1871
THEBAUD, Jos. / P III / UKN / TR /
THEDE, Robert W. / see ROBERT, W. Thede

THIBAUDIER, Jules César Claude

THIECK, M. / P IV / FR / TR /
- Er arbeitete ab 1906 für Gysin Freres in Japan in der Kobe-Niederlassung.
- As of 1906 he worked for Gysin Freres in Japan in the Kobe branch.

THIEDE, Gustav E. / P III / DE / SER / 1860 - 1894
- Er war Eigentümer einer Kneipe in Nagasaki, Einzelheiten sind nicht bekannt. Er starb im Alter von 34 Jahren am 07.08.1894 und wurde auf dem internationaten Friedhof Sakamoto beigesetzt. Er war mit einer Japanerin verheiratet, die den Grabstein stellte.
- He was the proprietor of a pub in Nagasaki, details are not known. He died at the age of 34 years on August 7, 1894, and was buried in the International Cemetery Sakamoto. He was married to a Japanese woman who erected the gravestone.

THIEL, Fritz August

THIEMER, G. / P II / CH / TR /
- Als sich die Firma Abegg, Borel & Co. im Jahr 1872 in Yokohama # 153 gründete, war G. Thiemer der erste Angestellte in der Firma. Er hat aber bereits nach kurzer Zeit die Firma und sogar Japan wieder verlassen. Im Jahr 1873 ist er als Eigentümer des Yokohama Cigar Depot und im Jahr darauf überhaupt nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- When the company Abegg, Borel & Co. was founded in Yokohama # 153 in 1872, G. Thiemer was the first employee in the company. However, he left the company and even Japan after a very short period. In 1873, he was listed as proprietor of the Yokohama Cigar Depot and the following year he was not at all recorded in Japan anymore.

THIESS, Karl

THIRY, Fernand Jean Joseph / P IV / FR / MIS / 1884 - 1930
- Er wurde in Anor (Nord) am 28.09.1884 geboren. Am 29.06.1907 wurde er zum Priester der “Missions Étrangères” (Auslandsmission) von Paris geweiht und er reiste für die Mission am 29.06. nach Nagasaki, wo er am 13.08.1907 eintraf. Nach seiner Ankunft studierte er Japanisch und das Priesteramt in Japan unter der Leitung von Pater Joly. 1912 wurde er als Professor am Missionsseminar in Nagasaki berufen. 1917 wurde er auch zum Missionsanwalt ernannt. 1919, zusätzlich zu seinem Amt als Missionsanwalt und seinen anderen Aufgaben, löste Pater Thiry Pater Salmon ab und war für die europäische Kirchgemeinde und die Schwestern verantwortlich.
Als Pater Combaz am 18.08.1926 starb, wurde Pater Thiry zum Kapitularvikar und Leiter der Mission und am 14.07.1927 zum Bischof von Fukuoka berufen.
Er starb am 05.10.1930 in Kurume (Japan) und wurde auf dem Friedhof der Mission in Urakami (Nagasaki) beigesetzt.
- He was born in Anor (North) on September 28, 1884. On June 29, 1907 he was ordained priest of the “Missions Étrangères” of Paris and left for the Nagasaki mission on June 29, arriving on August 13, 1907. After his arrival he studied Japanese and the Ministry in Japan under the direction of Father Joly. In 1912 he was assigned professor of the Mission Seminary in Nagasaki. In 1917 he was also appointed Mission Prosecutor. In 1919, in addition to his office as Prosecutor and his other occupations, Father Thiry succeeded Father Salmon and was responsible for the European parish and the Sisters.
When Father Combaz died on August 18, 1926, Father Thiry was appointed Vicar Capitular and Superior of the mission. On July 14, 1927, he was appointed Bishop of Fukuoka.
He died in Kurume (Japan) on October 5, 1930 and was buried in the cemetery of the mission at Urakami (Nagasaki).


THISSEN, Alphonse Th. J. H. [TIJSSEN, A. H. T. G.] / P II / FE-T (36 Mon.) /
- Ingenieur. Er wurde 1843 in Roermond, NL geboren. Thissen wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium des Innern, Bauabteilung, angestellt und sein Vertrag begann am 15.11.1873 und lief bis zum 14.11.1876. Er war als Berater auf drei Baustellen in Osaka tätig, gelegentlich aber auch an weiteren Orten, z. B. in Kagoshima. Sein Vertrag wurde vom 1. Dezember 1876 für drei Jahre verlängert aber er musste aus gesundheitlichen Gründen nach Hause zurückkehren. Er starb 1878 in Roermond, NL.
- Engineer. He was born in Roermond, NL, in 1843. Thissen was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Interior, Construction Section and his contract started on November 15, 1873 until November 14, 1876. He was engaged as advisor on three construction sites of Osaka but occasionally he was also engaged on further places, e. g. in Kagoshima. His contract was prolonged from December 1, 1876 for three years but he had to return home for health reasons. He died in 1878 in Roermond, NL.

THISTEDT, Theo. H. [THISTAED] / P II / DK / TR + FE-T (15 Mon.) /
- Er war ab 1871 in Japan und arbeitete zunächst als Büchsenmacher und Zinn- und Kupferschmied in Yokohama. Aber für einige Zeit war er auch von der japanischen Regierung angestellt. 1873 arbeitete er für Moritani Seizaburō in Tokyo als Ingenieur vom 15.03. bis 16.06.1873. Ab 1. Februar 1877 arbeitete er für ein Jahr für die Mitsubishi Mail SteamShip Co. als dritter Ingenieur auf der Hiroshima-maru. Ab 1878 wird er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- As of 1871, he stayed in Japan and worked at first as gun, tin and copper smith in Yokohama. But for some time he was also employed through the Japanese government. In 1873, he was employed by Moritani Seizaburō in Tokyo as an engineer from March 15 until June 16, 1873. From February 1, 1877 he worked for one year for the Mitsubishi Mail SteamShip Co. as third engineer on the Hiroshima-maru. As of 1878 he is no longer recorded in Japan.

THOLLANDER, George R. / P II / NO / SER /
- Er war nur 1882 in Japan und ist als Eigentümer des Albion Inn in # 39 Sagarimatsu, Nagasaki gelistet. Im Jahr 1883 ist der Nachfolger A. Naftaly.
- He was only in 1882 in Japan and is listed as the proprietor of the Albion Inn in # 39 Sagarimatsu, Nagasaki. In 1883 the successor is A. Naftaly and he is no longer listed in Japan.

THOM, James / P III / GB / SH /
- Kapitän. Er stammte aus Peterhead, Schottland, und arbeitete ab 1890 für die Nippon Yūsen Kaisha auf verschiedenen Schiffen. Er starb am 25.02.1901 im Alter von 60 Jahren und wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
- Captain. He came from Peterhead, Scotland, and as of 1890 he worked for the Nippon Yūsen Kaisha on various ships. He died on February 25, 1901 at the age of 60 and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama.

THOM, James / P IV / GB / JOU /
- James Thom wurde ab 1902 als Leiter der Zeitung “The Times“ (London) in Yokohama # 70 eingesetzt. Ab 1907 wirkte er für die Zeitung als Generalvertreter in Japan.
- James Thom was appointed Manager of the newspaper "The Times" (London) as of 1902 at Yokohama # 70. From 1907 on he worked for the newspaper as General Manager for Japan.

THOMAS, - / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH-L / Lighthouse
THOMAS, - / P II / USA / FE-T /
THOMAS, - / P II / USA / MIS /
THOMAS, A. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
THOMAS, A. A. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
THOMAS, Antonin [TOMAS] / P II / FR / TR /
THOMAS, Charles / P II / FR / SER / 1839 - 1877
THOMAS, Cornwall / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
THOMAS, E. E. / P I / GB / MIL /
THOMAS, E. O. [L. O.] / P III / USA / MIS /
THOMAS, E. R. / P III / GB / JOU /
THOMAS, F. H. / P II / GB / TR /
THOMAS, F. W. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMAS, G. / P I / GB / SER /
THOMAS, G. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMAS, Gottfried / P III / DE / TR /
THOMAS, Harriet [Hettie] A. / P III / USA / MIS /
THOMAS, J. / P II / GB / FE-R /
THOMAS, J. / P II / GB / TR /
THOMAS, John / P I / UKN / SER /
THOMAS, John / P II / UKN / TR /
THOMAS, Joseph / P II - III / GB / FE-T-SH + SH /
THOMAS, Mary M. / P III / USA / MIS /
THOMAS, Thomas / P I - III / GB / TR /
THOMAS, William / P II - III / GB / SER / 1845 - 1887
THOMASMA, Grace / P III / USA / MIS /
THOMPSEN, T. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, A. G. / P II / GB / FE-ED /
THOMPSON, A. W. [THOMSON] / P II - III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, Alfred George / P II / GB / FE-ED /
THOMPSON, Anni / P II - III / USA / MIS /
THOMPSON, B. / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
THOMPSON, B. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, B. L. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, C. / P I / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, C. / P III / GB / SER /
THOMPSON, C. P. L. / P III / DK / TR /
THOMPSON, Charles / P II / DK / FE-T-RW /
THOMPSON, Chas. / P II / GB / FE-T /
THOMPSON, D. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
THOMPSON, David [THOMPSEN] / P I - II / USA / FE-ED + DIP + MIS / 1835 - 1915

THOMPSON, Ernest Routledge [E. R.] / P III / GB / JOU + ENG /
- Er kam 1897 nach Japan. Als Ingenieur fand er keine Anstellung und so begann er als Reporter bei der Japan Mail, Yokohama # 51, zu arbeiten. 1899 wurde er Assistenz-Redakteur und 1900 Herausgeber der Japan Gazette , Yokohama # 10. Im Jahr 1901 wurde ein neuer Herausgeber, L. D. Adam, engagiert, und er wurde Chefingenieur bei der Yokohama Dock Co. Im Jahr 1908 hatte er immer noch diese Position inne.
Er war mit Beatrice Lillian Kenderdine, Tochter von Thomas S. Kenderdine, verheiratet.
- He came to Japan in 1897. As an engineer he did not find an employment and thus he started to work as Reporter at the Japan Mail, Yokohama # 51. In 1899 he became Assistant Sub-Editor and in 1900 Editor of the Japan Gazette, Yokohama # 10. In 1901 a new editor, L. D. Adam, was engaged and he was appointed Chief Engineer of the Yokohama Dock Co. In 1908 he was still in this position.
He was married to Beatrice Lillian Kenderdine, daughter of Thomas S. Kenderdine.


THOMPSON, F. Horsfall [THOMSON] / P I / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, Fanny L. / P III / USA / MIS / 1875 - 1940
THOMPSON, Geo. F. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
THOMPSON, George H. / P II / GB / SER / 1845 - 1887
THOMPSON, H. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, H. S. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, J. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
THOMPSON, J. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, J. B. / P II / UKN / SER /
THOMPSON, J. H. / P II / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, J. R. / P I - III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, John Lee / P II - III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, Joseph / P III / GB / ENG /
THOMPSON, L. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, P. K. / P II / UKN / TR /
THOMPSON, S. J. / P III / GB / MIS /
THOMPSON, S. L. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, S. M. / P III / USA / MIS /
THOMPSON, T. / P I / GB / SER / Mrs.
THOMPSON, Thomas J. / P III / GB / MED /
THOMPSON, Thomas W. / P I / USA / MIS /
THOMPSON, V. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, W. / P II / GB / SER /
THOMPSON, W. A. / P I - II / GB / TR /
THOMPSON, William / P II - III / DK / FE-T-SH /
THOMS, William George [TOMS] / P II - III / GB / FE-T + TR /

THOMSEN, Andreas Paul Wilhelm

THOMSEN, B. / P II / DK / FE-T-SH /
THOMSEN, C. / P II / UKN / TR /
THOMSEN, C. S. / P II / DK / FE-T-SH /
THOMSEN, J. / P II - III / UKN / SER /
THOMSEN, S. / P II / UKN / TR /
THOMSEN, T. C. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
THOMSEN, Th. A. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMSEN, Willem / P II / DK / FE-T-SH /
THOMSON, A. W. [THOMPSON] / P II / GB / FE-ED /
THOMSON, Bernard / P II / GB / JOU /
THOMSON, C. / P II / GB / SER /
THOMSON, George Syme / P II - III / USA / TR /
THOMSON, George William / P II / UKN / TR /
THOMSON, J. D. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMSON, J. W. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOMSON, Jas. R. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMSON, John /P III / UKN / TR /
THOMSON, John Austin / P II / GB / MIS /
THOMSON, R. M. / P II - III / GB / FE-R /
THOMSON, R. Ross / P III / GB / TR /
THOMSON, R. S. [THOMPSON] / P III / GB / FE-R /
THOMSON, Robert Austin / P II / GB / MIS /
THOMSON, T. S. / P III / GB / TR /
THOMSON, W. B. / P II / GB / TR /
THORBURN, - / P I / GB / TR /
THORDSEN, A. / P III / UKN / TR /
THOREL, Charles / P I - II / DE / TR /

THORN, Charles Hastings

THORN, Edgar Vooris

THORN, Mary / P III / GB / ED / siehe - see / THORN, Edgar Vooris

THORNBERRY, Risher W. / P III / USA / MIS /
THORNBROUGH, L. E. / P III / UKN / TR / Miss
THORNICRAFT, Thomas Charles [THORNECRAFT] [THORNICROFT] / P II - III / GB / FE-MED /
THORNTON, Bert / P III / USA / MIS /
THORNTON, D. H. / P III / UKN / MIS /
THORNTON, E. / P III / GB / MIS /
THORNTON, Jessie Blackburn / P III / USA / MIS /
THORP, E. / P III / GB / MIS /
THORP, E. / P III / GB / TR /
THORP, Robert Williamson / P II - III / GB / FE-T-RW + TR /
THORPE, C. H. [THORP] / P II / UKN / TR /
THUEMENA, G. A. / P II / DE / TR /
THUNE, Robert / P III / UKN / ENG /
THURBURN, John / P II / UKN / TR /
THWAITES, Charles / P III / UKN / TR /
TIBBALS, Thomas / P III / GB / FE-T-SH /
TICHAI, I. [J.] [TIHAI] ТИХАЙ Яков / P II / RUS / MIS /
TIDDY, J. R. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH + TR /
TIDEMANN, J. [TIDEMAN] / P I / DE / TR /
TIECHLER, R. R. von [TISCHLER] / see von MANN
TIEDEMANN, - von / P III / DE / DIP /
TIEGEL, Ernst [TIEGER] / P II / CH / FE-MED /
TIELCKE, Walther / P III / UKN / TR /
TIETGEN, C. F. / P I / DK / FE-T-PT /
TIETZE, O. / P III / DE / ENG /
TIGGE, August / P / DE / TR /
TIHOMIEROFF, Sergei [SERGEI, Tihomieroff] P III / RUS / MIS / 1871 - 1945
TILDEN, E. W. / P II - III / USA / TR /
TILESTON, Horatio Nelson [TILESON] / P II / USA / TR / 1850 - 1884
TILFORD, R. C. [R. J.] [TELFORD] / P II / GB / TR /
TILL, Wilfrid Worthington / P I - II / GB / TR /
TILLER, A. G. / P III / UKN / MIS /
TILLIER, - / P III / FR / TR / Miss
TILLMAN, Walter P. [TILMAN] / P II / USA / TR /
TILLOTSON, W. D. / P III / USA / DIP /

TILLSON, David Holmes [TILSON] [Holm] / P I - II / USA / TR /
- Er war ab Juli 1863 in Japan, zunächst in Nagasaki als Kaufmann registriert (vermutlich kam er aus Manila, Partner von Tillson, Hermann & Co., aber das ist nicht bestätigt) und lebte in # 40 Sagarimatsu. Im folgenden Jahr wird er als Inhaber des Commercial Hotel in Nagasaki gelistet. Im Jahre 1867 hat das Hotel allerdings bereits einen neuen Inhaber, W. Warren, und Tillson wird in Japan bis 1871 nicht mehr erfasst. Aber dann erscheint er wieder in Kobe, als Inhaber seiner eigenen Firma, die unter Tillson & Co., Komprador, Fleischerei, Bäckerei, etc., Hyogo # 18, Native Town, firmiert. Er betrieb diese Firma bis zu seinem Tod. Er starb in Kobe am 20. Januar 1882 und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof beigesetzt.
- He stayed in Japan as of July 1863, at first recorded in Nagasaki as a merchant (presumably he came from Manila, partner of Tillson, Hermann & Co., but this is not confirmed) and privately he resided in # 40 Sagarimatsu. In the following year he is recorded as proprietor of the Commercial Hotel in Nagasaki. In 1867, this hotel has got a new proprietor, W. Warren, and Tillson is not recorded any more in Japan until 1871. But then he appears again in Kobe, operating his own company under Tillson & Co., Compradores, Butchers, Bakers, etc., Hyōgo # 18 Native Town. He ran this business until his death. He died in Kobe on January 20, 1882 and was buried in the foreigners' cemetery.

TILMORE, E. / P I / UKN / TR /
TILSTON, Arthur E. [TILSON] / P III / USA / TR /
TIMBERLAKE, Alice Eliza / P III / UKN / MIS /
TIMM, C. L. / P III / DE / TR /
TIMME, Oscar / P II / UKN / TR /
TINDAL, L. O’D. / P III / UKN / TR /
TINES, Wm. / P II / UKN / TR /
TIPPLE, Rennie / P III / GB / FE-T-SH + TR /
TIPTON, F. / P III / GB / FE-R /

TIQUET, -- / P I / FR / DIP /
- Er war 1869/ 1870 als Begleitperson der berittenen Eskorte der Gesandtschaft von Frankreich in Japan. Leiter der Eskorte war Jean Charles Henri BULAND.
- In 1869/ 1870 he was trooper of the Mounted Escort of the Legation of France in Japan. Chief of the escort was Jean Charles Henri BULAND.

TISBY, - / P II / UKN / JOU /
TISLJAR, St. / P III / AT / DIP /
TISON, Alexander / P II - III / USA / FE-ED /
TISSIER, Felix Dominique [TISSER] / P II - III / FR / MIS / 1856 - 1895
TISSOT, E. [L.] / P II - III / FR / TR /

TITELMANN, Clara / siehe - see MATSUNO Clara

TITJEN, H. [TITGEN, T.] [C. F. H.] [H. C. F.] / P II / UKN / TR /
TOBIAS, S. / P II / GB / SER /
TOBIAS, William S. / P II / USA / SER /
TOBIN, R. J. / P III / UKN / TR /
TODD, A. E. / P III / UKN / TR /
TODD, G. W. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
TODD, Howard / P III / GB / MED /
TOELKEN, Christ. Heinrich / P I / DE / TR /
TOESCA, Rosai / P III / IT / DIP /
TOEWATER, - / P II / NL / FE-ED / Miss
TOFFLER, Fritz / P III / DE / TR /
TOKE, Roundall Tristram / P III / GB / MIS / Observer Russo-Japanese War, 1869 - 1957
TOLKER, M. [TOLBER] P I / FR / TR /
TOLMAN, Elias / P I / USA / TR /
TOM, C. M. / P III / UKN / TR /
TOMAS, A. / see THOMAS, A.
TOMBRINK, F. P. [G. P] [S. P.] / NL / DIP + TR /
TOMES, C. A. / P III / UKN / TR /
TOMKINS, J. F. / P III / GB / TR /
TOMMUGSEN, J. / P II / UKN / TR /
TOMOSON, E. / P II / UKN / TR /

TOMS, William George
TOMS, William John

TONSO, G. [J.] / P I / GB / TR /
- Als R. J. Gilman seine Firma Gilman & Co. in Japan, Yokohama # 74 im Jahr 1867 gründete, war G. Tonso einer seiner ersten Mitarbeiter. Sein Vertrag lief über 3 Jahre und als dieser 1870 endete, hat er Japan verlassen.
- When R. J. Gilman founded in 1867 his firm Gilman & Co. in Japan, Yokohama # 74, G. Tonso was one of his first employees. His contract ran for a period of 3 years and when it expired in 1870 he left Japan again.

TOOKEY, Charles

TOOLE, P. / P I - II / GB / FE-T-RW + JOU /
TOOVEY, - [TOVEY] / P III / TR + JOU /
TOPPE, Gustav / P III / DE / FE-R /

TOPPING, Alexander
TOPPING, Genevieve
TOPPING, Henry

TOPPING, J. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
- Er wurde über die japanische Regierung für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. vom 01.04.1873 bis 31.03.1874 angestellt. Er arbeitete auf der Horai-maru zur Verstärkung und Anleitung der Mannschaft.
- He was employed by the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. from April 1, 1873 to March 31, 1874. He assisted and instructed the manning of the Horai-maru.
TOPPING, John [TOPING] / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
- Er wurde über die japanische Regierung für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. vom 01.04.1873 bis 31.03.1874 angestellt. Vom 01.02.1877 bis 31.01.1878 wurde er nochmals angestellt. Bei beiden Einsätzen arbeitete er auf der Chitoshi-maru zur Verstärkung und Anleitung der Mannschaft. Er starb 1878 und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
- He was employed by the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. from April 1, 1873 to March 31, 1874. He had been employed for another time from February 1, 1877 to January 31, 1878. In both cases he assisted and instructed the manning of the Chitoshi-maru. He died in 1878 and he was buried in the Foreigners' Cemetery of Yokohama.
TOPPING, R. / P II / GB / ENG /
- Er lebte nur 1871 in Japan und war als Assistent in der Hyogo Gießerei, Kobe # 123 Native Town, tätig.
- He only lived in Japan in 1871 and he was active as assistant of the Hyogo Foundry, Kobe # 123 Native Town.

TOPPING, Tom

TORNACHI, A. C. / P II / FR / FE-ED /
TORNOE, J. [G.] / P III / NO / SER /
TORONQUOIS, E. / P III / FR / FE-ED /
TORP, O. von / P I - II / DK / FE-ED + TR /
TORRANCE, M. B. / P III / USA / MIS / Miss
TORREY, Elizabeth [TORRY] / P III / USA / MIS / Miss
TOSELOWSKI, Frank Ludwig [TOSELOWSKY] / P II / DE / FE-ED
TOTTEN, Frank / P III / USA / MIS /
TOTTON, G. K. / P III / UKN / TR /
TOUACHE, A. / P II / FR / TR /
TOUNEAU, A. / P III / FR / MIS /
TOUR, Vittorio de la / P I / IT / DIP /
TOUSSAINT, John [TOUSSIANT] / P II / FR / TR /
TOUSSAINT, R. / P II / FR / TR /
TOWART, C. J. / P II / UKN / TR /
TOWER, Arthur F. / P III / USA / DIP /
TOWN, Charles Gilbert / P III / GB / TR /
TOWNEND, E. W. [E. A.] / P III / GB / TR /
TOWNLEY, Frederick / P I - II / GB / TR /

TOWNSEND, A. M. / P II / USA / TR /
- Er kam im Jahr 1876 als Angestellter der Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank nach Japan und wurde als amtierender Leiter der Filiale in Kobe eingesetzt und 1878 wechselte er in gleicher Funktion in die Niederlassung in Yokohama # 62. Als nach 5 Jahren im Jahr 1880 sein vertrag auslief, hat er Japan wieder verlassen.
- In 1876 he came to Japan as an employee of the Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank and was installed as their Acting Agent of the branch office in Kobe. In 1878 he was shifted with the same function to the branch in Yokohama # 62. When his 5 years contract expired in 1880, he left Japan again.

TOWNSEND, W. R. / P III / USA / TR /
- Nur 1896 hatte das "Büro für Außenhandel und führende amerikanische Hersteller" der Stadt San Francisco einen Sonderbeauftragten, W. R. Townsend, in Yokohama # 28 stationiert. Sicherlich war dieser Einsatz unökonomisch, so dass im folgenden Jahr lokale Vertreter wie zum Beispiel die American Trading Co., genutzt wurden.
- Only in 1896, the "San Francisco Bureau of Foreign Commerce and Leading American Manufacturers" stationed a Special Representative, W. R. Townsend, in Yokohama # 28. Surely this measure was uneconomical and local representatives, such as the American Trading Co., were contracted as of the following year.

TOWNSEND, Walter Davis

TOWSE, H. A. / P II / USA / FE-T + TR /
TOWSON, W. E. [W. C.] / P III / USA / MIS /
TRACEY, R. E. / P I / GB / MIL /
TRACHTENBERG, S. [TRAKHTENBERG] ТРАХТЕНБЕРГ / P II / RUS / FE-ED + DIP /
TRACY, G. W. / P III / UKN / TR /
TRACY, Mary E. / P III / USA / MIS /
TRAFFORD, John Kennedy / P III / UKN / TR /
TRAINEAU, Th. / P II / FR / MIS /
TRANCOLO, G. / P II / UKN / SER /
TRASK, B. C. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
TRAUN, W. / P III / DE / TR /
TRAUTMANN, - / P I / DE / TR /
TRAUTSHOLD, Vilgelm Vilgelmovich [TRAUTSCHOLD] ТРАУТШОЛЬД Вильгельм Вильгельмович / P III / RUS / DIP /
TRAUTZ, Friedrich Maximilian / P III / DE / SC / 1877 - 1954
TREADWAY, S. E. [H.] / P III / UKN / TR /
TREADWAY, W. G. / P II / GB / TR /
TREADWELL, J. A. / P I / USA / TR /
TREAT, U. S. / P II / USA / FE-R /
TREGLOWN, Wm. Maine / P III / UKN / TR /
TREICHLER, H. / P III / UKN / TR /
TRELOAR, Thomas / P II / GB / FE-R /

TRENCH, Power Henry Le Poer [POWER, Henry le Poer Trench] / P III / GB / DIP /
- Power Henry Le Poer Trench (* 11.05.1841 - † 30.04.1899) war ein britischer Diplomat. Er war der Sohn von William Thomas Le Poer Trench, 3. Earl of Clancarty und Lady Sarah Juliana Butler.
Trench war Sekretär der britishen Botschaft in Berlin zwischen 1888 und 1893. Zwischen 1893 und 1894 war er Außerordentlicher und Bevollmächtigter Gesandter in Mexico und 1894-1895 britischer Gesandter in Tokyo.
- Power Henry Le Poer Trench (* May 11, 1841 - † April 30, 1899) was a British diplomat. He was the son of William Thomas Le Poer Trench, 3rd Earl of Clancarty and Lady Sarah Juliana Butler.
Trench was Secretary of the British Embassy in Berlin between 1888 and 1893. In Mexico, he was the Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary between 1893 and 1894 and in 1894-1895 the British Minister in Tokyo.


TRENT, Edith Mary [C. M.] / P III / CAN / MIS / Miss
TREOSTER, Carl [TROOSTER] / see TROESTER

TRESIZE, Walter Kendal

TREZISE, K. M. M. [TRESIZE] / P IV / GB / TR /
- Er war ab 1906 bei der amerikanischen Lebensversicherung Equitable Life Assurance Society, Yokohama # 24, angestellt.
- As of 1906 he was employed at the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States, Yokohama # 24.

TREUB, R. / P II / DE / TR /
TREUTLER, C. G. von [TREUTER] / P III / DE / DIP /
TREVES, Sir Frederick / P III / GB / MIL / Observer Russo-Japanese War
TREVITHICK, Francis Henry / P II - III / GB / FE-T-RW / 1850 - 1931
TREVITHICK, Richard Francis / P II - III / GB / FE-T-RW / 1845 - 1913
TREW, A. E. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
TREXTON, C. J. / P I / NL / TR /
TREZISE, K. M. M. / P III / GB / TR /
TRICOU, A. / P II / FR / DIP /
TRIGUEROS, Luis del Castillo y / see CASTILLO y Trigueros
TRINTIGNAC, P. T. / P III / FR / MIS /
TRIPLER, Thomas Hall / P II - III / USA / FE-T-RW + MED / 1846 - 1909
TRIPP, H. J. H. / P II - III / GB / TR /
TRISTRAM, K. A. S.] [K.] / P III / GB / MIS /
TRIULZI, G. / P II / IT / TR /
TROBITIUS, - / P III / DE / ENG /
TROCH, Max / P II / DE / TR /
TROCKEY, M. / P III / UKN / ENG /
TROELTSCH, E. [TROLTSCH] [TROELTS] / P III / UKN / TR /
TROESTER, Carl [TREOSTER] [TROOSTER] / P II / DE / FE-MED /
TROITSKY, Alexander Sergievitch [TROITZKY] ТРОИЦКИЙ Александр Сергиевич / P III / RUS / DIP /
TROJEN, Bernard Diederic van / P I / NL / ENG /
TROKEI, Quabara / P II / IT / DIP /

TRON, A. / P II / FR / QFE-MIL /
- Zwischen dem Ende der 1. Französischen Militärmission im März 1868 und dem Beginn der 2. Französischen Militärmission am 15.02.1872 wurde eine Reihe weiterer französischer Berater für den Polizeidienst in Stadtverwaltungen eingesetzt. Dazu gehörte auch A. Tron, der 1871 und 1872 als Korporal bei der Stadtpolizei von Yokohama eingesetzt wurde.
- Between the end of the 1st French Military Mission in March 1868 and the beginning of the 2nd French Military Mission on February 15, 1872, a number of further French advisors for the police service in municipal administrations were installed. A. Tron also belonged to this group and he served as Corporal at the Municipal Police of Yokohama in 1871 and 1872.

TRONCQUOIS, - de [TRONQUANT] / P II / FR / FE-ED /
TRONE, Harry / P I - II / UKN / TR /
TRONQUOIS, Em. / P III / FR / FE-MIL + DIP /
TROOP, R. W. / P II / GB / TR /
TROSCHKE, - / P III / DE / MIL /
TROTT, - / P III / DE / TR /
TROTTER, T. [J. L.] / / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
TROTTEUR, - le [TROTER] / P II / FR / FE-T-SH-Y / Yokosuka
TROTTMANN, Fritz / P III / DE / ENG /
TROTZIG, Hermann Mortimer / P I - III / DE / FE-T / 1832 - 1919
TROTZKI, F. / P II / DE / TR /
TROUBRIDGE, Sir Ernest Charles Thomas / P III / GB / DIP / 1862 - 1926
TROUP, James / P I - III / GB / DIP /
TROUSDELL, J. P. / P III / GB / TR /
TROY, Thomas / P I / GB / TR /
TRUBENBACH, G. / P I / UKN / TR /
TRUBY, Chas. M. / P III / GB / TR /
TRUDEL, Emil / P III / CH / TR /
TRUE, Alice / P III / USA / MIS /
TRUE, Maria T. / P II - III / USA / FE-ED + MIS / Mrs.
TRUEB, R. [TRUB] / P II - III / CH / TR /
TRUEBENBACH, G. [TRUEBENBASH] / P I / UKN / TR /
TRUEMAN, George Ernest / P III / CAN / MIS /
TRUMAN, M. Martin / P III / USA / MIL /

TRUMMLER, Konrad / P IV / DE / DIP /
- Korvettenkapitän; er wurde als Marine-Attaché des deutschen Reiches ab 28.06.1902 in Tokyo eingesetzt und war der Nachfolger von Erich Guehler. Konrad Trummler wirkte bis 1905 in Japan und wurde von Korvettenkapitän Richard Lange abgelöst.
- Lieutenant Commander; he was appointed as a Naval Attaché of the German Empire in Tokyo as of June 28, 1902 and succeeded Erich Guehler. Konrad Trummler acted until 1905 in Japan and was followed by Lieutenant Commander Richard Lange.

TRUSCOTT, Frank / P III / GB / FE-T-SH /
TRUSH, F. / P II / UKN / TR /
TRYLER, L. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
TSCHEGLOW, André / P II / RUS / DIP /
TSIEVELKOFF, M. [TSIVILKOW] [TSIVILKOV] ЦИВИЛКОВ / P I / RUS / DIP /
TUBEL, H. / P II / UKN / FE-ED /
TUCHSCHERER, A. / P II / UKN / FE-T /
TUCK, Ella / P III / GB / SER /
TUCK, Ernest S. / P III / GB / MED /
TUCKER, Grace / P III / GB / MIS /
TUCKER, Henry St. G. / P III / USA / MIS /
TUCKER, Ida L. / P III / UKN / MIS /
TUCKER, Walter / P III / GB / TR /
TUCKEY, Geo. H. / P III / UKN / SER /
TUDIS, J. / P II / FR / TR /
TUETEMANN, Karl / P III / DE / ENG /
TUGEND, H. / P III / DE / TR /
TULIP, James / P I / GB / TR /
TULLET, W. / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
TULLOCH, C. / P III / GB / TR /
TULLOCH, John Walter Graham [TULLOCK] / P III / GB / MIL / Observer Russo-Japanese War, 1861 - 1934
TULLOCK, J. / P II / GB / TR /
TULLY, F. H. / P III / UKN / MED /
TULPIN, Ernest Augustin [TULPEN] / P II - III / FR / MIS / 1853 - 1933
TUMEN, T. W. / P II / USA / MED /
TURDU, Pierre le [LE TURDU] / P I / FR / MIS /
TURENNE, Cte. de / P II / FR / DIP /
TURNBULL, W. J. / P III / UKN / TR /
TURNER, A. L. / P II / GB / TR /
TURNER, C. / P II - III / UKN / FE-T-SH - TR /

TURNER, Daniel

TURNER, J. H. T. / P II / GB / FE-T /
TURNER, J. R. / P II / USA / TR /
TURNER, William Patilio / P III / USA / MIS / 1864 - 1912
TURPIN, James [J. R.] / P II / GB / FE-MIL-ED /
TUSKA, E. H. [E. M.] / P II - III / USA / TR /
TUSKA, M. S. / P III / USA / TR /
TUTTLE, Walter B. / P III / USA / TR /
TUVO, M. / P I / FR / TR /
TWAITES, Charles / P III / GB / TR /
TWEEDIE, E. Gertrude / P III / CAN / MIS /
TWERSEN, H. / P I / UKN / TR /
TWIGGE, H. / P III / UKN / TR /
TWIGGLEY, J. / P I / GB / TR /
TWIZELL, W. E. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
TYLER, Emma / see GULICK, O. H.
TYLER, R. P. / P III / UKN / TR /
TYLER, S. W. / P I / GB / TR /
TYLER, T. P. [T. B.] P II - III / USA / TR /
TYLER, W. H. D. / P II / UKN / TR /
TYLER, Wallace / P III / USA / MIS /
TYNG, T. S. [LYNG, L. S.] / P II - III / GB / MIS /
TYROL, John / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
TYROL, P. F. / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
TYSON, R. W. / P III / USA / MIL /
- T -    
TAEN
Err – Toung






Für Vergrößerung klicken




Für Vergrößerung klicken




ln vielen deutschen Städten entstanden um 1880 Japan - und China-Waren-Handlungen. Die bedeutendste, mit eigenem Haus in Japan, war sicherlich Jakob Winckler in Hamburg. Bekannt war auch F. G. Taen-Arr-Hee in Berlin und Dresden mit Agenturen in Guangzhou, Shanghai, Yokohama und Kobe.
Taen-Err-Toung war oft auf Einkaufstour, auch in Japan. In der abgebildeten Karte vom 30.09.1896 schreibt er, dass er gut in Kobe angekommen ist und er schon Kontakt mit „Stucken“ und "W. & Co. " [sicher Winckler] hatte.
Der Schriftwechsel erfolgte in deutscher Sprache, er lebte schon mehrere Jahre in Deutschland.
Es war ihm gelungen, sich auch in deutschen Kreisen Achtung zu erwerben. Das preußische Handelsminisisterium charakterisierte ihn als tüchtigen Kaufmann, der jedoch noch nicht deutscher Staatsangehöriger sei.


Für Vergrößerung klicken



In many German cities around 1880, stores with goods from Japan and China were established. The most important one, with an own branch in Japan, was certainly Jakob Winckler in Hamburg. Also well-known was F. G. Taen-Arr-Hee in Berlin and Dresden with agencies in Guangzhou, Shanghai, Yokohama and Kobe.
Taen-Err-Toung was often on shopping tour, also in Japan. In the depicted postcard of September 30, 1896, he writes that he had just arrived well in Kobe and he had already contacted „Stucken“ and "W. & Co. " [surely Winckler].
The correspondence was realised in German; he had already lived in Germany for several years.
He succeeded in gaining respect in German circles as well.
The Prussian Ministry of Commerce characterized him as an efficient merchant, however, he was not yet of German nationality.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
___
/ P III / CHIN [DE] / TR /
TAYLOR
Bayard
1825 – 1878




11.01.1825 in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
19.12.1878 in Berlin, DE

Reiseschriftsteller; nach einer allgemeinen Schulbildung wurde er Lehrling in einer Druckerei in Westchester. In seiner Freizeit las und schrieb er gern Gedichte, die 1844 unter „Ximena“ veröffentlicht wurden. Im gleichen Jahr begann er zu reisen, zuerst in Europa, später in vielen Teilen der Welt und er schrieb seine Erlebnisse in einer Vielzahl von Büchern und in Artikel für die "New York Tribune" nieder. Er wurde ein berühmten Reisender und viel gelesener Journalist und Buchautor. Er weilte gerade in China, als die Perry-Expedition auf dem Weg nach Japan eintraf und er konnte an dieser Mission vom Mai bis September 1853 teilnehmen und ergänzende Informationen zur offiziellen Berichterstattung geben, die er nicht nur publizierte, sondern auch durch Vortragsreisen popularisierte. Im Jahr 1862 wurde er zum Sekretär in der amerikanischen Gesandschaft in St. Petersburg ernannt. 1863 beendete er seine Tätigkeit in Russland. Im April 1878 wurde er zum Bevollmächtigten Gesandten in Berlin/ Deutschland ernannt, wo er auch starb.
11.01.1825 at Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
19.12.1878 in Berlin, Germany

Travel Author; he received a common school education, and at the age of seventeen became an apprentice in a printing office at Westchester. He used his leisure hours for studying and writing verses, published in 1844 entitled “Ximena”. In the same year he went on a tour of Europe, later to many countries all over the world. His experiences he published in many books and articles for the “New York Tribune”. He became a famous traveller and widely read journalist and author. While in China he was attached to the American Legation and he accompanied the Perry Expedition to Japan from May-September, 1853. In accordance with Commodore Perry’s directive, he turned over his records for use in writing the official narrative of the expedition which were later also published by him and his experiences popularised in lectures. In 1862 he was appointed Secretary of the American Legation at St. Petersburg. He retired from the office in 1863. In April, 1878, he was appointed Minister Plenipotentiary in Berlin, Germany where he also died.
___
/ P I / USA / JOU /
TAYLOR
William Sansom
1865 - 1917










Für Vergrößerung klicken





Für Vergrößerung klicken







15.11.1865 in Wandsworth, London, GB
03.11.1917 in Buckinghamshire, GB

Er war der Sohn von Charles Taylor und Prudence Elizabeth Sansom, das achte von zehn Kindern.
Zur Geburt von William war sein Vater ein "carman" (d. h. er fuhr einen Pferdewagen), später arbeitete er aber in einem Schreibwaren-Geschäft. Die meisten von Williams Geschwister (oder ihre Ehemänner) waren einfache Angestellte, nur sein älterer Bruder Charles wurde Direktor eines bekannten Londoner Herstellers von Aromen und Essenzen, und zwar bei W. J. Bush & Co. von Hackney.

Die Familie Taylor zog in den 1870er Jahren nach Hackney, William lebte immer noch bei seinen Eltern in Manor Place Hackney, und bei der Volkszählung 1881 wird seine Tätigkeit als "kaufmännischer Assistent" angegeben. Später, 1887, mietete William ein Zimmer im Haus seines Bruders Charles, die beiden Brüder waren offensichtlich sehr vertraut.
Im Jahre 1882 begann William für die Londoner Niederlassung des amerikanischen Handelshauses Russell & Co. zu arbeiten. Zu dieser Zeit müßte der Leiter der Niederlassung in London der Amerikaner Samuel Wyllys Pomeroy gewesen sein, der 1859 Angestellter in Canton war.

So wurde also William sechs Jahre nach seinem Eintritt in das Unternehmen in ihr Büro in Hong Kong delegiert. 1891 wurde er zum Assistent des Sekretärs des Yangtze Versicherungsverbandes in Shanghai berufen.

Russell & Co. geriet 1891 in finanzielle Schwierigkeiten und die Restbestände und -Aufträge der Firma wurden von zwei ehemaligen Mitarbeitern, Robert Gordon Shewan und Charles Alexander Tomes, übernommen. Der Name der Firma wurde in Shewan & Co., später in Shewan, Tomes & Co. geändert.
Ab 1892 wurde William in Kobe, Japan, als Leiter der lokalen Geschäftsstelle von Shewan & Co. eingesetzt, die sich selbst als Handels- und Versicherungsagentur beschrieb, obwohl das Unternehmen angeblich auch im Opiumhandel mitwirkte.
Im Jahr 1899 gründete er dann gemeinsam mit Frederick Perrin Cooper seine eigene Firma, die unter Taylor, Cooper und Co., Handels- und Kommissions-Vertreter, mit Büros in # 83, Maye-machi, Kobe, firmierte. 1904 zogen sie um nach # 39, Akashi-machi, Kobe, und im Jahre 1905 wurde die Firma eine Aktiengesellschaft.

1904 wurde William als Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates von Nickel & Co., Spedition, Landungs- und Schiffsagentur in der Kobe-Niederlassung gewählt.

William Sansom Taylor muss häufig gereist sind, mehrere Reisen wurden bisher zurückverfolgt. Ein britischer Pass wurde in seinem Namen mindestens zweimal ausgestellt, im Jahre 1890 und 1898.
Eine Reise aber hat vor allem sein späteres Leben geprägt: William war Zeuge des Erdbebens und Feuers, die die Stadt San Francisco am 18.04.1906 zerstört haben. Er schlief im Hotelzimmer im ersten Stock, als das Erdbeben um 5 Uhr begann, der Boden seines Zimmers zusammenbrach und er mit seinem Bett im Erdgeschoss in einer Apotheke landete. Wie durch ein Wunder war er unverletzt, konnte aus dem Gebäude gehen und schließlich seine Reise nach London fortsetzen. Dieses verhängnisvolle Ereignis hatte jedoch eine langfristige Wirkung auf seinen Gesundheitszustand.

William zog sich aus dem Geschäftsleben zurück und ging im Mai 1914 für immer nach London, weniger als drei Monate, bevor England Deutschland den Krieg erklärte. Obwohl er die Altersgrenze um 8 Jahre überschritten hatte, fühlte er sich zu einer gewissen Unterstützung verpflichtet. So meldete er sich als Privatperson für das 28. Londoner Stadt-Regiment (genannt "Artists 'Rifles"), eine territoriale Einheit an der Heimatfront.

Seine militärische Karriere dauerte nur ein paar Monate. Bei William wurde "Neurasthenie", eine Nervenkrankheit, diagnostiziert und er wurde im Januar 1915 entlassen.

Nach seiner Krankenakte hatte er ein Zittern der Hände und sah älter aus als er war. Es wurde auch erwähnt, dass er Typhus und Malaria während seines Aufenthalts in Japan hatte. Seit dem Erdbeben von San Francisco im Jahr 1906 hatte er ein Jahr Bromid eingenommen und war nervlich sehr instabil.

William hatte nie geheiratet und hatte auch keine Kinder. Er hatte sich gesundheitlich nie vollständig erholt und starb im Alter von 51 Jahren am 03.11.1917 in Buckinghamshire. Sein Vermögen, das nicht unerheblich war, wurde auf ein Treuhandkonto zum Wohle seiner Schwestern und ihrer Kinder angelegt.
15.11.1865 in Wandsworth, London, GB
03.11.1917 in Buckinghamshire, GB

He was the son of Charles Taylor and Prudence Elizabeth Sansom, the eighth of ten children.
His father was employed as a „carman“ (i.e. he drove a horse and cart), when William was born, but worked later as a stationer’s clerk. Most of William’s siblings (or their husbands) were ordinary tradesmen, but his elder brother Charles became the Director of a well-known London manufacturer of flavourings and essences, called W. J. Bush & Co. of Hackney.

The Taylor family had moved to Hackney in the 1870’s. William was still living with his parents in Manor Place Hackney when his occupation was recorded for the 1881 census as „assistant commercial clerk“. Later, in 1887, William rented a room in the house of his brother Charles, so the two brothers were obviously very familiar.

In 1882, William joined the London office of the American trading company Russell & Co as a clerk.
The head of the London branch at that time would have been an American called Samuel Wyllys Pomeroy, who had been a clerk in Canton in 1859.

Thus, six years later after joining the company, William was sent out to their Hong Kong Office. In 1891, he was appointed assistant secretary of the Yangtze Insurance Association in Shanghai.

Russell & Co got into financial difficulties in 1891 and the remnants of the company were taken over by two former employees, Robert Gordon Shewan and Charles Alexander Tomes, who changed the company name to Shewan & Co., later Shewan, Tomes & Co.

From 1892 onwards, William was based in Kobe, Japan, as manager of the local office of Shewan & Co, which described itself as a trade and insurance agency, although the company was reputedly involved in opium trading.

Then, in 1899, he joined forces with Frederick Perrin Cooper to form his own company called Taylor, Cooper und Co., general merchants and commission agents, with offices at # 83, Maye-machi, Kobe. In 1904 the company add­ress changed to # 39, Akashi-machi, Kobe, and in 1905 the firm became a Limited Company.

In 1904, William was elected a Member of the Board of Directors of Nickel & Co., Stevedores & Landing and Shipping Agents, Kobe Branch.

William Sansom Taylor must have travelled frequently; several movements have been traced so far. A British passport was issued in his name at least twice, in 1890 and in 1898.
One travel, however, especially influenced his later life: William was a witness of the earthquake and fire that destroyed the city of San Francisco on April 18, 1906. He was sleeping in a first floor hotel bedroom when the earthquake began at 5 a.m. The floor of his room collapsed and he landed with his bed in a chemist’s shop on the ground floor. Miraculously, he was uninjured and was able to make his way out of the building and eventually continue his journey to London. The cataclysmic event did have a long-term effect on his health, however.

William retired and returned to London for good in May 1914, less than three months before England declared war on Germany.

Although over the age limit by 8 years, he felt he should show some support, and signed up as a private in the 28th City of London Regiment (so-called „Artists' Rifles“), which was a territorial unit on the home front.

His military career only lasted a few months. William was diagnosed with „neur­asthenia“, a nervous disorder, and discharged in January 1915.

According to his medical file, he had a tremor of the hands and looked older than he was. It was also mentioned that he had con­tracted typhoid and malaria during his stay in Japan, and had suffered from weak nerves ever since the San Francisco earthquake in 1906, after which he had taken bromide for a year.

William never married and he had no children. His health never recovered completely and he died at the age of 51 on November 3, 1917 in Buckinghamshire. His property and effects which were not inconsiderable, were held in trust for the benefit of his sisters and their children.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
TEGNER
Frederick May
1872 -

[SEGNER]







1896 kam er nach Japan und wurde bei Bavier & Co., Versicherungs-Agentur, Yokohama # 209, angestellt. Bereits im folgenden Jahr wechselte er zu Vivanti Bros., Seidenwaren-Inspektoren und Kaufmann, Yokohama # 168. Er arbeitete für diese Firma wenigstens bis 1912. 1899 wurde er zum Leiter befördert und er erhielt Prokura.

Am 01.11.1898 heiratete er Beatrix Stuart geb. Eldridge, Tochter von James Stuart Eldridge, in der Christ Kirche von Yokohama.



He came to Japan in 1896 and got employed with Bavier & Co., Insurance Agency, Yokohama # 209. Already in the following he joined Vivanti Bros., Public Silk Inspectors and General Merchants, Yokohama # 168. He stayed at this company at least until 1912. He advanced in 1899 to its Manager and signed per procuration.

On November 1, 1898 he married Beatrix Stuart nee Eldridge, daughter of James Stuart Eldridge, at the Christ Church of Yokohama.
___
/ P III / DK / TR /
TEMME
Hans





Bruder von Ludwig Temme.
Er hatte eine kaufmännische Lehre in Hamburg absolviert und wurde im Auftrag von Rohde & Co. im Jahr 1898 nach Japan delegiert. Er wurde zuerst in der Niederlassung in Kobe # 104 eingesetzt und im folgenden Jahr nach Yokohama # 70 versetzt.
Im Jahr 1918 arbeitete er immer noch bei dieser Firma.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte aus Wildungen vom 23.07.1899 an Hans Temme bei Carl Rohde & Co. in Yokohama, Ankunft 04.09.1899.
- Postcard from Wildungen posted July 23, 1899 to Hans Temme c/o. Carl Rohde & Co. in Yokohama, arrival September 4, 1899.




Brother of Ludwig Temme.
He completed a commercial apprenticeship in Hamburg and was delegated to Japan by order of Rohde & Co. in 1898. He was first mployed in the branch at Kobe # 104.
In the following year he was transferred to Yokohama # 70.

In 1918 he still worked at this company.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Einschreib-Brief aus Altona vom 11.07.1918 an Hans Temme bei Carl Rohde & Co. in Yokohama.
- Registered Letter from Altona posted July 11, 1918 to Hans Temme c/o. Carl Rohde & Co. in Yokohama.
___
/ P III / DE / TR /
TEMME
Ludwig





Bruder von Hans Temme.
Er hatte eine kaufmännische Lehre in Hamburg absolviert und wurde im Auftrag von Ahrens & Co. Nachf. im Jahr 1896 nach Japan delegiert. Er wurde in der Niederlassung in Yokohama # 61 bzw. # 29 eingesetzt.
Im Jahr 1913 arbeitete er immer noch bei dieser Firma.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Brief aus Yokohama vom 03.01.1899 an Ludwig Temme c/o. Ahrens & Co.
- cover from Yokohama posted Jan. 3, 1899 addressed to Ludwig Temme c/o Ahrens & Co.



Brother of Hans Temme.
He completed a commercial apprenticeship in Hamburg and was delegated to Japan by order of Ahrens & Co. Nachf. in 1896. He was employed in the branch at Yokohama # 61 and 29 resp.
In 1913 he he still worked at this company.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte vom 31.08.1913 aus Yokohama. geschrieben von L. Temme
- Postcard from Yokohama posted on Aug. 31, 1913, written by L. Temme
___
/ P III / DE / TR /
TENNY
Charles Buckley
1871 - 1936


Für Vergrößerung klicken





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Grace E. Tenny



Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte von 1909 vom 5. Treffen der 1904er Mount Holyoke College Klasse, die Grace Esselstyn Webb und ihr Kind, das erste von einer der 1904er Klasse, abbildet.
- Postcard from 1909 for the 5th reunion of the Mount Holyoke College 1904 class depicting Grace Esselstyn Webb and her child, the first born to someone in the class 1904.


10.09.1871 in Hilton, N. Y., USA
11.01.1936 in Rochester, N. Y., USA

Er besuchte die allgemeine staatliche Schule von Brockport (N. Y.), studierte später an der Universität von Rochester und setzte 1897 seine Studien am Theologischen Seminar von Rochester fort.
Er wurde 1900 zum Priester geweiht und im selben Jahr als Missionar der American Baptist Missionary Union nach Japan delegiert, wo er seine Missionsarbeit in Kobe bis 1905 begann und in Kyoto von 1905-1908 fortsetzte.
Er ging 1908 nach Yokohama und lehrte Griechisch und Bibel Hermeneutik als Professor am Yokohama Baptist Theological College bis zum Jahr 1910.
Die Schule wurde 1910 nach Tokyo, Koishikawa verlegt und er reorganisierte die Schule durch Verschmelzung mit dem Japanese Baptist Theological College, Nord und Süd, und er lehrte weiter als Professor an der Schule.

Er fungierte als Leiter der Schule von 1915 bis 1918. Als sich der südliche Teil wieder im Jahr 1918 abspaltete, erfüllte er den wichtigen Posten des Direktors bis zum nächsten Jahr, als die Tokyo Divinity Akademy schließlich entstand. Die Akademie fusionierte 1927 mit der Kantō Gakuin.
Er war von 1917 bis 1927 Geschäftsführer der Japan-Mission des American Board of Commissioners für Auslandsmissionen (ABCFM), Sekretär der Tokyo Christian Educational Association im Jahr 1925, und Gründer, Vorsitzender des Vorstandes und Präsident der Kantō Gakuin, der Baptistenschule für Männer und Jungen in Yokohama, von 1927 - 1930. Er legte sein Amt als Direktor im Jahr 1931 nieder und wurde zum Ehrendirektor ernannt.

Charles B. Tenny heiratete im Jahre 1905 Grace Esselstyn Webb, geboren am 16.02.1883 und ihr erstes Kind, Ruth Hana Tenny, wurde am 23.06.1907 in Kyoto, Japan, geboren. Sie hatten auch einen Sohn, der bei der Geburt am 27.09.1910 starb und auch Grace starb am selben Tag; es scheint also wahrscheinlich, dass sie bei der Geburt starb und Ruth mutterlos wurde.
Ruths Vater heiratete im Jahr 1914 schließlich wieder und zwar Elizabeth Wilson Pettee. Ruth lebte bis 1923 beim Vater und der Stiefmutter und anschließend bei ihren Großeltern mütterlicherseits.

Charles und Elizabeth hatten einen Sohn, Francis Briggs, der 1920 geboren wurde.

Im Jahr 1931 gingen sie in die USA zurück. Charles starb in Rochester, New York, am 11.01.1936 und Elizabeth folgte ihm bereits am 13.05.1936.

Es gibt auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama ein Grab seiner ersten Frau Grace und Sohn Paul und Charles' Name wurde hinzugefügt, aber eigentlich ist er dort nicht begraben.
10.09.1871 in Hilton, N. Y., USA
11.01.1936 in Rochester, N. Y., USA

He attended Brockport (N.Y.) State Normal School and later graduated from the University of Rochester and continued his studies in 1897 at the Rochester Theological Seminary.

He was ordained in 1900 and was sent to Japan in the same year as a missionary of the American Baptist Missionary Union and started his missionary work in Kobe until 1905 and continued in Kyoto from 1905 to 1908.
He turned to Yokohama in 1908 and taught Greek and Bible Hermeneutics as a professor at the Yokohama Baptist Theological College until 1910.
The school was shifted to Tokyo, Koishikawa in 1910 and he reorganised the school by merging with the Japanese Baptist Theological College, North and South and continued to lecture as a professor.

He acted as the principal of the school from 1915 to 1918. The Baptist southern part separated again in 1918 and he met the important post of the director until the next year when it became Tokyo Divinity Academy. The Academy merged with the Kantō Gakuin in 1927.
He was executive secretary of the Japan Mission of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions (ABCFM) from 1917 to 1927, secretary of the Tokyo Christian Educational Association in 1925, and founder, chairman of the board, and president, from 1927 to 1930, of Kantō Gakuin, the Baptist school for men and boys in Yokohama. He resigned as director in 1931 and became the honorary director.

Charles B. Tenny married in 1905 Grace Esselstyn Webb, born on February 16, 1883, and their first child, Ruth Hana Tenny, was born on June 23, 1907 in Kyoto, Japan. They also had a son that was born and died on September 27, 1910, and Grace also died on the same day; it seems likely she died in childbirth and Ruth became motherless.

Ruth's father ended up remarrying in 1914; he married Elizabeth Wilson Pettee and Ruth lived with her father and stepmother until 1923. She then lived with her maternal grandparents.

Charles and Elizabeth had a son, Francis Briggs Tenny born in 1920.

They went back to the USA in 1931. Charles died in Rochester, New York, on January 11, 1936 and Elizabeth followed him on May 13, 1936.

There is a grave in the Foreigners' Cemetery of Yokohama of his first wife Grace and their son Paul and Charles' name is additionally mentioned, but actually he is not buried there.
___
/ P IV / USA / MIS /
TERRY
Henry Taylor
1847 – 1936




Für Vergrößerung klicken
1908 – Gemälde von/ Painting by Kuroda Seiki, 1866 - 1924
19.09.1847 in Hartford, Conn., USA
26.12.1936 in New York City, USA

Er besuchte die Yale University, Juristische Fakultät, und absolvierte sie mit dem Grad eines BA im Jahr 1869.
Er arbeitete etwa ein Jahr in einer Anwaltskanzlei und besuchte abermals die Yale University und studierte Theologie.
Er bestand eine Prüfung zum Führen einer Rechtsanwaltskanzlei in Hartford und wurde 1872 in den Anwaltsverband aufgenommen. Daraufhin eröffnete er ein Anwaltsbüro. 1876 wurde er jedoch von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, eingeladen.
Neben der französischen Linie, die das Justizministerium und einige private Rechtsschulen verfolgten, etablierte sich auch angelsächsisches Recht ab 1874 an einigen Rechtsschulen.
Als Vertreter dieses Rechtskreises in der frühen Meiji-Ära genoss der amerikanische Rechtsanwalt Henry T. Terry hohes Ansehen. Die Übernahme der vom Justizministerium favorisierten Lehre des französischen Rechts tat der Rolle des englischen Rechts keinen Abbruch.
Der Vertrag von Henry T. Terry begann am 09.01.1877 an der Kaisei Gakkō, Fakultät für Recht, die Schule wurde später in die Universität von Tokyo integriert. Sein Vertrag wurde bis Januar 1884 verlängert und nach Vertragsablauf ging er in die USA zurück.
Nach seiner Rückkehr in die USA praktizierte er in New York City von 1885 bis 1894 und er lehrte auch an der Metropolis Law School und an seiner ehemaligen Yale University.
1894 ging er wieder nach Tokyo und wurde als Professor für britisches und amerikanisches Recht an der Tokyo Imperial University erneut angestellt.
Sein neuer Vertrag begann am 07.05.1894 und endete nach mehreren Verlängerungen am 10.07.1912.
Insgesamt weilte er fast 25 Jahre in Japan und hatte großen Anteil an der Ausbildung der Rechtswissenschaft in Japan - er unterrichtete mehr als 700 Studenten.
Als sein Vertrag abgelaufen war, verließ er Japan.
Er war auch Autor mehrerer Werke, unter anderem “First Principles of Law”, “The Common Law”, “Leading Principles of Anglo-American Law”.
Am 12.07.1899 heiratete er in Tokyo Emily Verbeck, der Tochter von Rev. Guido F. Verbeck. Das Paar hatte keine Kinder.

Er starb an Lungenentzündung und wurde auf dem Cedar Hill Cemetery, Hartford, begraben.
19.09.1847 in Hartford, Conn., USA
26.12.1936 in New York City, USA

He entered Yale University, Faculty of Law, and graduated with a degree of BA in 1869.
He worked in a law office for about one year, but he entered Yale University again and majored in theology.

He passed a lawyer qualifying examination in Hartford and was admitted to the bar in 1872.
Thereupon he opened a lawyer bureau. In 1876, however, he was invited by the Japanese government, Ministry of Education.
Beside the French line, which the Ministry of Justice and some private law schools pursued, Anglo-Saxon law was also established from 1874 on at some law schools.
The American lawyer Henry T. Terry enjoyed great respect as a representative of this legal system in the early Meiji era.
The assumption of the doctrine of French law favored by the Ministry of Justice did not detract from the role of British law.

The contract of Henry T. Terry started on January 9, 1877 at the Kaisei Gakkō, Faculty of Law, which was later incorporated into the University of Tokyo. His contract was prolongrd until January 1884 and afterwards he went back to the USA:
After his return to the USA he practiced law in New York City from 1885 until 1894 and he also taught at the Metropolis Law School and at his former Yale University.
In 1894 he went again to Tokyo and was re-employed as professor on British and American Law at the Tokyo Imperial University.
His new contract started on May 7, 1894 and ended after several prolongations on July 10, 1912.
Altogether he nearly sspent 25 years in Japan and had a large share of the law education in Japan - he taught more than 700 students.
When his contract expired, he left Japan again.
He was also author of several works, among others “First Principles of Law”, “The Common Law”, “Leading Principles of Anglo-American Law”.
On July 12, 1899, he married in Tokyo Emily Verbeck, the daughter of Rev. Guido F. Verbeck. The couple had no children.

He died of bronchial pneumonia and was buried in Cedar Hill Cemetery, Hartford.
___
/ P II – III / USA / FE-ED-L (290 Mon.) /
THIBAUDIER
Jules César Claude
1839 - 1918

[Claud]
[Cesar]
[Jules]
[CHIBAUDIER]











































Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Das ozeanographische Forschungs-Schiff Talisman.
Am Bug ist der Galgen für die Thibaudier-Sonde zu erkennen.
- The oceanographic research vessel Talisman.
The gallows for the Thibaudier sounding gear is visible at the bow.



Für Vergrößerung klicken
"Thibaudier sounding apparatus"
- Prinzipdarstellung
- Sketch of principle

"Scientific American", 1884

20.07.1839 in Estrablin/Isère, FR
18.11.1918 in Paris, FR

Obwohl er später Leiter des Konstruktionsamtes der französischen Marine wurde, stand Claude Thibaudier in seiner Zeit auf der Schiffswerft Yokosuka als deren stellvertretender Direktor immer irgendwie im Hintergrund.

Thibaudier entstammte einer Familie, die seit langem in der Dauphiné im Südosten Frankreichs ansässig war. Er besuchte ab November 1858 die Ècole polytechnique und wurde am 01.10.1860 Kadett im Marine-Ingenieurskorps (Élève du génie maritime) - übrigens gleichzeitig mit Louis Émile Bertin. Am 29.05.1862 wurde er zum Unter-Ingenieur der 3. Klasse ernannt, genau zwei Jahre später erfolgte seine Beförderung zum Unter-Ingenieur der 2. und 1. Klasse.
Warum ausgerechnet er ausgewählt wurde, in der neuen Werft des japanischen Shōgunats zu arbeiten, ist nicht bekannt, aber Thibaudier wurde offenbar von François Léonce Verny selbst als sein Stellvertreter angeworben.
Obwohl er in Yokosuka bereits am 08.08.1868 eingetroffen war, liegen Details zu seinem Vertrag erst ab 02.04.1869 vor. In Yokosuka erhielt er auch, obwohl noch ledig, ein eigenes Haus auf dem Werftgelände.
Nach dem Sturz des Shōgunats war die Werft in Yokosuka einstweilen geschlossen worden und Verny nach Frankreich abgereist. Daher wurde Thibaudier von April bis November 1869 amtierender Werftdirektor und als solcher auch verantwortlich für den Weiterbau des von Louis Félix Florent entworfenen Leuchtturms von Jōgashima. Nach der Entlassung des französischen Werftpersonals zum Jahresende 1875 übernahm Thibaudier am 25.04.1876 als Nachfolger Vernys die Leitung der Werft, bis sie zum 01.04.1877 vollständig in japanische Hände überging. Folglich wurde auch sein Vertrag am 31.03.1877 aufgelöst und er verließ Japan am 02.05.1877.
Der Zeitpunkt von Thibaudiers Rückkehr nach Frankreich ist ungewiss. Jedenfalls heiratete er 1878 in Peking Nathalie Brenier de Montmorand, die Schwester von Vernys Frau Élisabeth. Damit war Thibaudier jetzt auch der Schwager seines früheren Chefs.

Wieder in Frankreich, war er ab Beginn des Jahres 1881 der Marinewerft in Rochefort zugeteilt und wurde am 26. 04.1881 zum Chefingenieur der 2. Klasse ernannt.
Er war nun an der Vorbereitung einer neuen französischen Tiefsee-Expedition beteiligt, für die mit dem Kreuzer Talisman jetzt ein größeres Schiff bereitgestellt wurde. Die an Deck befindlichen Kanonen wurden weitgehend entfernt, um Platz für eine von Thibaudier entwickelte Tiefseesonde zu schaffen. Die Einrichtung hieß auf Französisch "appareil de sondage Thibaudier"; in der englischsprachigen Fachpresse wurde sie "Thibaudier sounding apparatus" genannt.
Mit zwei Winden, einer 25-PS-"Brotherhood"-Dampfmaschine sowie einem Stahlseil mit einer Zugfestigkeit bis 140 kg konnten zoologische und geologische Proben aus einer Tiefe von bis zu 5000 Metern gewonnen werden.

Am 01.06.1883 verließ die Talisman mit wissenschaftlichem Personal an Bord Rochefort, kreuzte im Ostatlantik von der portugiesischen bis zur nordafrikanischen Küste, fuhr durch das Sargasso-Meer und kehrte Ende August mit 140 entnommenen Proben mit teilweise noch nie gesehenen Tiefsee-Lebewesen zurück. Die Expedition widerlegte einmal mehr die erst wenige Jahrzehnte alte Hypothese von einer abnehmenden Artenvielfalt in zunehmender Tiefe.

Auf der Expedition wurden auch geologische Beobachtungen gemacht. Neben einer gemessenen Meerestiefe von 6250 m in Nähe der Azoren wurde der Nachweis von vulkanischem Gestein auf dem Meeresboden erbracht, Grund für die Annahme einer unterseeischen Vulkankette längs der westafrikanischen Küste.

Thibaudier wurde am 22.12.1885 zum Chefingenieur der 1. Klasse ernannt; am 01.10.1893 wurde er "Directeur du génie maritime" und schließlich am 22.07.1896 "Directeur centrale des constructions navales". Ab 1903 war er für alle Kriegsschiff-Neubauten der französischen Marine verantwortlich und entwarf unter anderem die Schlachtschiffe der Charlemagne-Klasse sowie die beiden Einzelschiffe Iéna und Suffren. Er wohnte in der Cité Vaneau in Paris.
Zwei seiner Söhne fielen im Ersten Weltkrieg: Pierre kam bereits kurz nach Kriegsbeginn als Infanterie-Offizier ums Leben, Antoine Emanuel César fiel als Kapitänleutnant (lieutenant de vaisseau) 1916 auf dem Linienschiff République vor Athen. Der Vater überlebte sie nur kurze Zeit. Er starb Ende 1918 und wurde in der Familiengruft in St. Marcellin/Isère beigesetzt.

In Yokosuka ist vor einigen Jahren ein Erinnerungsstück an Claude Thibaudier aufgefunden worden. Auf der US-Marinebasis befand sich auf einem Hügel hinter dem Fernmeldegebäude, fast versteckt, ein Gebäude mit der profanen Bezeichnung "B-53". Nachforschungen ergaben, dass dieses Gebäude im Jahr 1869 erbaut worden war und somit eines der ältesten Beispiele westlicher Architektur im heutigen Japan darstellt.
Um es der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, wurde es 2003 aus der Marinebasis nach Sakamoto umgesetzt und neu aufgebaut: es handelt sich um den früheren Dienstsitz von Claude Thibaudier.
20.07.1839 in Estrablin/Isère, FR
18.11.1918 in Paris, FR

Though he was later to become head of the naval construction of the French Navy, Claude Thibaudier had stood in his years at the Yokosuka shipyard as deputy director somehow in the second row.

Thibaudier descended from a family established for long in the Dauphiné in South Eastern France. Having attended the École polytechnique since November of 1858, he became cadet in the Corps of Naval engineers (Élève du génie maritime) on 01.10.1860 - by the way at the same time as Louis Émile Bertin. On May 29, 1862 he was promoted to Sub-engineer, 3rd class; exactly two years later he became Sub-engineer of the 2nd and 1st class.
Why especially he was chosen to work for the Japanese shōgunate's new shipyard in Yokosuka is not known, but Thibaudier had apparently been recruited by François Léonce Verny himself as his deputy. Although he had arrived in Yokosuka on August 8, 1868, his contract details exist only as of April 2, 1869. At Yokosuka he also got, though still unmarried, a house of his own in the shipyard.
After the fall of the shōgunate, the Yokosuka yard had been temporarily closed, and Verny departed for France. Thibaudier therefore became acting director from April to November 1869 and was as such also responsible for completing the Jōgashima lighthouse, designed by Louis Félix Florent.
After all the French personnel had been dismissed to the end of 1875, Thibaudier succeeded Verny as director on Aptil 25, 1876, till the yard's management was completely laid in Japanese hands on April 1, 1877.
Thus, his contract was cancelled on March 31, 1877 and he left Japan on May 2, 1877.

It is unknown when Thibaudier arrived in France. In 1878 at least he was married in Peking to Nathalie Brenier de Montmorand, who happened to be the sister of Verny's wife Élisabeth.
So Thibaudier now became his former chief's brother-in-law.

Back to France, he was at the beginning of 1881 attached to the Rochefort Navy Yard, being promoted Chief engineer 2nd class on April 26, 1881.
He now took part in preparing a new French oceanographic expedition, for which now a bigger ship was provided, the cruiser Talisman.
The ship's deck was almost completely cleared from artillery to gain room for a deep water sounding equipment developed by Thibaudier.
In French, it was called "appareil de sondage Thibaudier"; in English language publications it bore the name "Thibaudier sounding apparatus".
Two windlasses, a 25 hp "Brotherhood" steam engine and a steel rope with a tensile strength up to 140 kg enabled the collection of zoological and geological samples from a depth up to 5000 metres.

On June 1, 1883, the Talisman left Rochefort with scientific personnel embarked, crossing in the Eastern Atlantic from the Portuguese to the North African coast, travelling through the Sargasso Sea and returning at the end of August to Rochefort with 140 samples of deep water animals, some of them never seen before. The expedition falsified once more an only few decades old hypothesis that assumed a declining number of species at an increasing depth.

During this expedition, geological observations were made as well.
Besides measuring a depth of water of 6250 metres near the Azores, volcanic rocks were found on the bottom of the sea. This led to the assumption of a chain of under water volcanoes along the West African coast.

On December 22, 1885, Thibaudier was appointed Chief engineer of the 1st class; on October 1, 1893 he became "Directeur du génie maritime" and, finally, on July 22, 1896, "Directeur centrale des constructions navales". From 1903 on, he was responsible for all new warship construction of the French Navy, designing among other vessels the battleships of the Charlemagne class and the two individual ships Iéna and Suffren. He lived in Paris in the Cité Vaneau.

Two of his sons were killed in the First World War: Pierre lost his life shortly after the outbreak of war as an infantry officer, Antoine Emanuel César died as Lieutenant (lieutenant de vaisseau) 1916 aboard the battleship République before Athens.
Their father outlived them only for a short time. He died at the end of 1918 and was buried in the family tomb at St Marcellin/Isère.
A few years ago, a reminder of Claude Thibaudier had been detected at Yokosuka. On the US Naval Base, on a hill behind the telecommunications building, another house was almost hidden, profanely called "B-53".
Investigations showed that this building had been erected in the year 1869, thus making it one of the oldest examples of Western architecture preserved in today's Japan.

To open it to public access, it was moved out of the Naval base and in 2003 reconstructed in Sakamoto: it is the former villa of Claude Thibaudier.
___
/ P II / FR / FE-T-SH-Y (96 Mon.) /
THIEL
Fritz August
1863 - 1931


Für Vergrößerung klicken




Er kam zum Praktikum als Dolmetscher 1891 nach Japan und wurde in der Gesandtschaft in Tokyo eingesetzt.
Im Jahr 1893 wurde er als Dolmetscher im Konsulat von Kobe eingesetzt. 1897 wurde er Amtierender Konsul in Nagasaki, wo er auch im Auftrag die Interessen für Italien, Holland, Schweden und Norwegen vertrat.
Nach Abreise von Rudolph von Krencki im Jahr 1898 übernahm der Dolmetscher Thiel bis zum Eintreffen des Nachfolgers Ferdinand Krien im Jahr 1900 die Gescäfte des Konsuls.
Er wurde bald mit einem schwierigen Problem konfrontiert. Dem seit 1874 in verschiedenen Mieträume untergebrachten Konsulat wurde gekündigt und Thiel beschloß, das Auswärtige Amt mit einem 27-seitigen Bericht zum Kauf eines Grundstückes und dem Neubau eines Konsulatsgebäudes einschließlich Wohnraum zu überzeugen.
Er hatte Erfolg und da die alten Akten zum „Neubau“ vollständig erhalten sind, lassen sich der Ankauf des Grundstücks Nr. 117 Higashi-machi für 25.000 Yen, die Verhandlungen mit der Stadt Kobe und dem Architekten sowie die Durchführung des Neubaus für ca. 40.000 Yen in allen Einzelheiten verfolgen.
F. Krien weihte am 28.12.1901 das Kaiserliche Konsulat feierlich ein und er war bis 1906 Konsul in Kobe. Als sein Nachfolger wurde F. A. Thiel berufen.
Bis zu seiner Berufung als Konsul war F. A. Thiel ab 1900 Sekretär und Dolmetscher in der deutschen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo.
In Thiels Amtszeit in Kobe war Dr. G. Specka der Dolmetscher des Konsulats und sein Stellvertreter, weil Thiel oft an deutsch-japanischen Verhandlungen teilnahm und mehrfach längere Zeit abwesend war.
Thiel arbeitete bis April 1913 in Kobe und sein Nachfolger wurde Emil H. Ohrt.
Danach arbeitete er bis zu seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland Ende 1914 im Konsulat von Yokohama.
Ab 1915 arbeitete F. A. Thiel in der Nachrichten-Abteilung des Auswärtigen Amtes in Berlin.
Von 1921 bis 1929 war er wieder im diplomatischen Dienst als Generalkonsul in Shanghai.
Danach ging er in den Ruhestand.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte vom 26.04.1901 von F. A. Thiel an Dr. Lehman mit der Information zu einer Auktion in Paul Ehmann´s Haus - er war am 26.03.1901 gestorben.

Für Vergrößerung klicken



In 1891, he came to Japan as a student interpreter and was employed in the Legation in Tokyo.
In 1893 he was engaged as an interpreter in the consulate of Kobe. In 1897 he was appointed Acting Consul in Nagasaki, where he was also in charge of the interests of Italy, Holland, Sweden and Norway.
After the departure of Rudolph von Krencki in 1898, the interpreter Thiel took over the office of the Consul until the arrival of the successor Ferdinand Krien in 1900.

Soon he was confronted with a difficult problem. The consulate, which had accommodated in various rented rooms since 1874, was informed that they have to leave these rooms, and Thiel decided to convince the Foreign Office, with a 27-page report, to purchase a plot of land and to construct a new consulate building, including dwellings.
He succeeded and since the old files for the "new building" have been completely preserved, the purchase of property No. 117, Higashi-machi for 25,000 yen, the negotiations with the city of Kobe and the architect as well as the construction of the new building for approximately 40,000 Yen can still be followed in every detail.
F. Krien solemnly inaugurated the Imperial Consulate on December 28, 1901 and was consul in Kobe until 1906. F. A. Thiel was appointed his successor.
As of 1900 until his appointment as consul, F. A. Thiel was secretary and interpreter in the German legation in Tokyo.

During Thiel's tenure in Kobe, Dr. G. Specka became the interpreter of the consulate and his deputy because Thiel often participated in German-Japanese negotiations and thus, was absent several times for a longer period.
Thiel worked in Kobe until April 1913 and was succeeded by Emil H. Ohrt.
Afterwards he worked in the Consulate of Yokohama until his return to Germany at the end of 1914.
As of 1915, F. A. Thiel worked in the Intelligence Department of the Foreign Office in Berlin.
From 1921 to 1929 he was again in diplomatic service as Consul General in Shanghai.
Then he retired.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postcard posted April 26, 1901 from F. A. Thiel to Dr. Lehman with the information about an auction at Paul Ehmann´s house – he had died on March 26, 1901.

Für Vergrößerung klicken
___
/ P III / DE / DIP /
THIESS
Karl
1879 - 1941

[Carl]
[Thieß]



Für Vergrößerung klicken
Karl Thieß 1924
- Gemälde von
- Painting by
Helene von der Leyen


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte zur Einweihung der TH Danzig 1904
- Postcard for the inauguration of the TH Danzig in 1904


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Hamburg – auch für Thieß das Tor zur Welt.
- Hamburg – the gate to the world for Thiess as well.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Das Resultat von Thieß' Arbeit in Japan:
"Die Weltspur der Eisenbahnen", 1913.
- The result of Thiess' work in Japan:
"Die Weltspur der Eisenbahnen" (The World Track of Railways), 1913.




19.09.1879 in Löbejün (heute Wettin-Löbejün, Saalekreis), DE
28.09.1941 in Köln, DE

Eine wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichung war der Anlass, dass Karl Thieß, damals Professor für Staatswissenschaften im westpreußischen Danzig (heute Gdańsk), 1908 als Berater nach Japan gerufen wurde. Er war bis 1911 im "Eisenbahnbüro" des Kabinetts angestellt und gründete das neue "Ostasiatische Wirtschaftsforschungsbüro".
Nach dem Studium in Berlin und Heidelberg und der Promotion über "Die Lohnverhältnisse in Berlin seit 1882" arbeitete Thieß zunächst im Statistischen Amt der Stadt Berlin. Danach war er Generalsekretär des Landwirtschaftlichen Genossenschaftsverbandes in Offenbach.

1900 wurde er Direktor des Forschungsbüros der Reederei "Hamburg-Amerikanische Packetfahrts-A.G." (HAPAG), die seit 1899 von Albert Ballin geleitet wurde. Längere Aufenthalte in Bremen, Paris und St. Petersburg gehören wohl zu dieser Tätigkeit.

Im Jahr 1904 nahm er eine Berufung an die "Königliche Technische Hochschule" in Danzig an. Diese Hochschule war neu gegründet worden, um an diesem Schiffbaustandort zukünftige Schiffbau-Ingenieure auszubilden. Es gab Fakultäten für Ingenieurwesen, für Schiffs- und Schiffsmaschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Chemie und Bauwesen. Thieß wurde als Professor der Staatswissenschaften berufen.
Thiess hatte in einer wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift einen Beitrag über die Bedeutung der systematischen Forschung für Wirtschaftsunternehmen veröffentlicht. Diesen Beitrag hatte der japanische Student Gotō Shinpei gelesen, der bereits Arzt war, aber erneut von 1890 bis 1892 in Berlin und München Medizin studierte. Gotō war nach Tätigkeit im Gesundheitswesen der japanischen Kolonie Formosa (Taiwan) 1906 Direktor der "South Manchurian Railway" (japanisch Minami Manshu tetsudō, kurz Mantetsu) geworden und wurde zwei Jahre später Leiter des japanischen "Eisenbahnbüros", das am 05.12.1908 aus der Zuständigkeit des Ministeriums für Kommunikation (teishin-shō) ausgegliedert und direkt dem Kabinett unterstellt wurde (Naikaku tetsudō-in).

Die treibende Kraft für die weitere Entwicklung des japanischen Eisenbahnwesen war damals Gotō. Er hatte auch den Plan zu einem "Ostasiatischen Wirtschaftsforschungsbüro" (tōa keizai chōsakyoku), das Ziel und Richtung des zukünftigen Eisenbahnbaus festlegen sollte, vor allem in Bezug auf die neuen japanischen Kolonien. In diesem Zusammenhang fiel ihm wieder der damalige Aufsatz von Karl Thieß ein. Offenbar hatte er hier Gedanken vorgefunden, die seinen eigenen entsprachen. Daher regte Gotō an, Thieß nach Japan einzuladen, der ohne Zögern annahm. Später verwies er auf seine Zeit in Hamburg: "Ohne meine Hamburger Praxis wäre ich niemals als Berater für eine ausländische Wirtschafts- und Kolonial-Verwaltung in dieses schöne Land gerufen worden."
Über Thieß' Arbeit in Tokyo ist nur wenig bekannt. Er scheint das Forschungsbüro nach dem Vorbild der entsprechenden Abteilung der Bank Crédit Lyonnais in Paris organisiert zu haben. Hauptsächlich aber war er wohl damit befasst, Vorschläge für die Entwicklung des Eisenbahnwesens in den neuen japanischen Kolonien zu entwickeln, insbesondere im Pachtgebiet Kwantung. Die noch von Russland gebaute, strategisch bedeutende Verbindung von Port Arthur nach Harbin sollte demnach ausgebaut und an das Schienennetz in der Mandschurei, in der Inneren und Äußeren Mongolei und bis nach Nordchina angebunden werden. Eine Schwierigkeit war, dass diese Strecke die "russische" Spurweite von 1524 mm besaß, während die japanischen Eisenbahnen eine Spur von nur 1067 mm hatten und der Weltstandard mit 1435 mm von beidem abwich.
In der deutschen Zeitschrift "Weltwirtschafliches Archiv" erschien von Thieß 1913 ein zweiteiliger Aufsatz mit dem Titel "Die Weltspur der Eisenbahnen", in dem er eine Vereinheitlichung der Eisenbahntechnik zur Verbesserung des internationalen Waren- und Personenverkehrs empfahl. Im zweiten Teil beschrieb er die bisherige Entwicklung in Japan.
Die japanischen Regierungsstellen, zuerst Gotō selbst, scheinen Thieß' Wirken in Japan hoch geschätzt haben.
Nach Thieß' Abreise wurde sein Nachfolger Otto Wiedfeldt und als dessen Vertrag 1913 auslief, kam Martin Behrend, Rektor der Handelshochschule Mannheim, ein weiterer deutscher Eisenbahn-Experte in das "Ostasiatische Wirtschaftsforschungsbüro". Da war die Meji-Ära bereits zu Ende. Bald waren Deutschland und Japan Kriegsgegner.

Thieß wurde 1914 Professor für Staatswissenschaften an der Handelshochschule in Köln, aus der nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg die Universität Köln hervorging. 1923/24 amtierte er als Rektor dieser Universität. 1936 emeritiert, starb Thieß fünf Jahre später in Köln.
19.09.1879 in Loebejuen (today Wettin-Loebejuen, Saale district)
28.09.1941 in Cologne, DE

A scientific publication was the reason that Karl Thiess, then professor of political science in the West Prussian Danzig (today Gdańsk in Poland), was invited to Japan in 1908 as an adviser. He was employed until 1911 at the cabinet's "Railway Bureau", and establishing there the new "East Asian Economic Investigation Bureau."

After studying in Berlin and Heidelberg and graduating with a thesis on "The wage conditions in Berlin since 1882", Thiess first worked at the statistical office of the City of Berlin. Thereafter he was secretary general of the Association of Agricultural Cooperatives in Offenbach.

In 1900 he became director of the research office of the shipping company "Hamburg-Amerikanische Packetfahrts-A.G., (HAPAG), which was directed by Albert Ballin since 1899. Longer stays in Bremen, Paris and St Petersburg are probably connected with this activity.

In 1904 he accepted an appointment to the "Royal Technical College" in Danzig. This college had been newly founded in order to train future shipbuilding engineers at this shipbuilding site.
There were faculties for engineering, shipbuilding and machinery, electrical engineering, chemistry and construction. Thiess was appointed Professor of Political Science.
Thiess had published an article in a scientific economic periodical about the importance of systematic research for economic enterprises.
This article had been read by the Japanese student Gotō Shinpei, who was already a doctor, but again studying medicine in Berlin and Munich from 1890 to 1892. After working in the health service of the Japanese colony of Formosa (Taiwan), Gotō became director of the South Manchurian Railway (Japanese Minami Manshu tetsudō, short Mantetsu) in 1906 and became two years later head of the Japanese "Railway Bureau". This Bureau was separated from the Ministry of Communication (teishin-shō) on December 5, 1908 and placed under direct responsibility of the Cabinet (Naikaku tetsudō-in).

The driving force behind the further development of the Japanese railways had been Gotō at that time. He also had the plan of an "East Asian Economic Investigation Bureau" (tōa keizai chōsakyoku) which should determine the aim and direction of further railway construction, especially in respect of the new Japanese colonies. In this context he recalled the former article by Karl Thiess.
Apparently he had encountered thoughts corresponding to his own ideas. Thus, Gotō proposed to invite Thiess to Japan. Thiess accepted without hesitation and later he referred to his experience in Hamburg: "Without my Hamburg practice, I would have never been called into this beautiful country as an advisor for a foreign economic and colonial administration".
Only little is known about Thiess' work in Tokyo. He appears to have organized the Research Bureau according to the example of the corresponding department of the Crédit Lyonnais in Paris. His main concern seems to have been the elaboration of proposals for the railway development in the new Japanese colonies, especially in the Kwantung Leased Territory. The strategically important link between Port Arthur and Harbin, once constructed by Russia, should be enlarged and connected to the railway network in Manchuria, in Inner and Outer Mongolia and even to Northern China.
One difficulty was that this track had the "Russian" gauges of 1524 mm, while the Japanese railways had a track of only 1067 mm, and the world standard with 1435 mm deviated from both.

In the German journal "Weltwirtschaftliches Archiv" (World Economic Archive) of 1913, an article by Thiess was published in two parts, entitled "The World Truck of Railways", where he recommended a standardization of railway technology for the improvement of international goods and passenger traffic. In the second part, he described the current development in Japan.
The Japanese government officials, above all Gotō himself, seem to have had a high esteem of Thiess' work in Japan.
After Thiess' departure, Otto Wiedfeldt succeeded him and when this contract had also expired in 1913, Martin Behrend, the rector of the Handelshochschule (Trade College) Mannheim, joined the East Asian Economic Research Bureau.
At this time, the Meji era had already come to an end. Soon Germany and Japan should become war enemies.

In 1914 Thiess became a professor of political science at the Trade College Cologne, from which arose the University of Cologne after World War I. In 1923/24 Thiess was appointed rector of this university; in 1936 emeritus, Thiess died five years later in Cologne.
___
/ P IV / DE / QFE-T /
THOMSEN
Andreas Paul Wilhelm
1845 – 1915

[HAEFKER-THOMSEN]


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Captain Andreas P. W. Thomsen









Für Vergrößerung klicken
Marie + Andreas Haefker-Thomsen
01.03.1845 in Flensburg, DE
30.11.1915 in Kobe, Japan

Als 1885 die Nippon Yūsen Kaisha gegründet wurde, wurde er als 1. Offizier auf der Kanagawa-maru angestellt. 1888 wurde er Kapitän auf dem Dampfer Tsuruga-maru und 1891 auf der Genkai-maru.
Nach seiner Heirat mit Marie A. Haefker im Jahr 1888 fuhr er weiter zur See, sie zogen aber 1892 nach Kobe, Suwayama. Ab 1899 war er dann als Lizensierter Lotse im Kobe Pilot's Service angestellt, wo er meistens auf der Inland Sea im Einsatz war.
A. P. W. Thomsen veränderte seinen Namen nach der Heirat; er nahm den Namen seiner Frau an und adoptierte ihr Kind Johann Haefler (Thomsen). Sie hatten noch leibliche Kinder und noch heute lebt dieser Doppelname „Haefker-Thomsen“ bei den Nachfahren fort.

Er starb am 30.11.1915 in Kobe, seine Frau starb erst am 13.12.1926. Beide wurden auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Kobe beigesetzt.


Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Grabstein - Gravestone Marie + Andreas Thomsen
01.03.1845 in Flensburg, DE
30.11.1915 in Kobe, Japan

When the Nippon Yūsen Kaisha was founded in 1885 he was employed as First Officer on the Kanagawa-maru.
In 1888 he became Captain on the steamer Tsuruga-maru and in 1891 on the Genkai-maru.
After his marriage with Marie A. Haefker in 1888 he went on to sea, but they moved to Kobe, Suwayama, in 1892.
As of 1899 he was employed as Lisenced Pilot of the Kobe Pilot's Service, predominantly engaged on the Inland Sea.
A. P. W. Thomsen changed his name after the marriage; he accepted the name of his wife and adopted her child Johann Haefker (Thomsen). Theya also had real children and today living ancestors still bear the double name of "Haefker-Thomsen".

He died on November 30, 1915 in Kobe, his wife died only on Demeber 13, 1926. Both were buried in the Foreigners' Cemetery of Kobe.


Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Postkarte von Kapitän A. Thomsen aus Kobe vom 25.05.1904 mit eine Bestellung nach Berlin, Ankunft 06.07.1904.

- Postcard from Captain A. Thomsen posted Kobe 25.05.1904 with an order to Berlin, arriving July 6, 1904.
___
/ P II – III / DE / FE-SH (168 Mon.) + SH /
THORN
Charles Hastings
1881 – 1938

19.08.1881 in San Francisco, CA, USA
04.10.1938 in Yokohama, Japan

Sohn von Edgar Vooris und Francis (geb. Hastings) Thorn.
Nach seiner Grundausbildung in den USA kam er 1901 nach Japan und wurde in der Box of Curious, Druck- und Verlags - Co., Yokohama # 75 angestellt. Der Inhaber dieser Firma war sein Vater. Die Box of Curious wurde wöchentlich von E. V. Thorn & Son, Editor Charles H. Thorn, herausgegeben.
Nach dem Tod seines Vaters im Jahre 1912 setzte er dieses Geschäft fort.
Am 12.06.1912 heiratete er Ellen Muriel Cain in Yokohama, Tochter von John William Cain. Sie wurde am 16.07.1888 in Yokohama geboren. Sie hatten zwei Kinder, die beide in Japan geboren wurden, John Hastings (* 1914) und David Edgar (* 1918).

Charles Hastings Thorn starb am 04.12.1938 in Yokohama und wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama beigestzt.
Danach verließ seine Frau Japan und lebte in Victoria, BC, Canada, wo sie auch am 06.01.1967 starb.
19.08.1881 in San Francisco, CA, USA
04.10.1938 in Yokohama, Japan

Son of Edgar Vooris und Francis (nee Hastings) Thorn.
After his basic education in the USA he came to Japan in 1901 and was employed in the Box of Curious, Printing and Publishing Co., Yokohama # 75. The proprietor of this company was his father. The Box of Curious was published weekly by E. V. Thorn & Son, Editor Charles H. Thorn.
After the death of his father in 1912 he continued to run this business.
On June 12, 1912 he married Muriel Ellen Cain in Yokohama, daughter of John William Cain. She was born on July 16, 1888 in Yokohama. They had two children, both born in Japan, John Hastings Thorn (* 1914) and David Edgar (* 1918).

Charles Hastings Thorn died on October 4, 1938 in Yokohama and was buried in the Foreigners' Cemetery of Yokohama.
Afterwards his wife left Japan and lived in Victoria, BC, Canada where she also died on January 6, 1967.
___
/ P IV / USA / JOU /
THORN
Edgar Vooris
1847 - 1912

14.09.1847 in New Rochelle, N.Y., USA
04.02.1912 in Manila, Philippines

Er kam 1888 im Auftrag der Japanese and American Trading Co. nach Japan, um als Leiter in der Filiale in Yokohama # 61 zu arbeiten. Im folgenden Jahr wurde er zusätzlich als Geschäftsführer der Palace Art und Silk Parlors, Yokohama # 61, eingesetzt.
Von 1890 bis 1894 war er Leiter der Yokohama Investment Co. und Herausgeber der wöchentlichen Box of Curious. Ab 1895 wurde er Herausgeber und Inhaber der Box of Curious und Reporter der täglichen Importe und Exporte, Yokohama # 58.

Ab 1901 wurde er auch von seinem ältesten Sohn Charles Hasting Thorn unterstützt. Die Firma wurde in E. V. Thorn & Son, Weekly Box of Curious, # 61 Yamashita-cho, Yokohama, umbenannt; als Herausgeber fungierte Charles H. Thorn.
Er war mit Francis Hastings verheiratet, sie hatten 4 Kinder:
- Sohn Charles Hastings Thorn
- Tochter Mary Thorn - sie kam 1890 auch nach Japan. Sie wurde als Vertragslehrer der Methodist Protestant Church, Auslands - Mission, angestellt und lehrte Englisch an der Eiwa Gakkō, Schule für Jungen, in Yokohama. - 1891 verließ sie Japan wieder.
Am 30.04.1894 heiratete sie Arthur Ernest Dowler in San Francisco.
- Tochter Harriett E. Thorn
- Tochter Edna Thorn
* 14.04.1878 in San Fancisco, CA
† 28.02.1902 in Yokohama, Japan
Es wird angenommen, dass sie auch in der Firma ihres Vater und im Haushalt tätig war. Über sie ist nichts weiter bekannt. Sie wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
Seine Frau Francis starb im Jahre 1910. Charles H., Edna, Edgar V., und Francis sind alle im gleichen Grab # 1915 auf dem Ausländerfriedhof Yokohama begraben.
Im nächsten Grab # 1915 ist ein gewisser R. M. Thorn begraben; er starb 1908, aber eine Verwandtschaft oder ein weiterer Bezug konnte nicht ermittelt werden.
14.09.1847 in New Rochelle, N.Y., USA
04.02.1912 in Manila, Philippines

In 1888 he came to Japan by order of the Japanese and American Trading Co. to act as Manager in the branch at Yokohama # 61. In the following year he was additionally engaged as Manager of the Palace Art and Silk Parlors, Yokohama # 61.
From 1890 to 1894 he was engaged as Manager of the Yokohama Investment Co. and Publisher of the weekly Box of Curios. As of 1895 he became Editor and Proprietor of the Box of Curios and reporter of the daily Imports and Exports, Yokohama # 58.

From 1901 on he was joined and supported by his eldest son Charles Hasting Thorn . The company was renamed E. V. Thorn & Son, Weekly Box of Curios, # 61 Yamashita-cho, Yokohama; Editor Charles H. Thorn.

He was married to Francis Hastings and they had 4 children.
- son Charles Hastings Thorn
- daughter Mary Thorn - in 1890 she also came to Japan. She was hired as a contract teacher by the Methodist Protestant Church, Board of Foreign Mission, and taught English at the Eiwa Gakkō Boys School at Yokohama. - In 1891 she left Japan again.
On April 30, 1894 she married Arthur Ernest Dowler in San Francisco.
- daughter Harriett E. Thorn
- daughter Edna Thorn
* 14.04.1878 in San Fancisco, CA
† 28.02.1902 in Yokohama, Japan
It is supposed she was also engaged in the business of her father and in the household. Nothing else is known on her. She was buried in the Yokohama Foreigners' Cemetery.

His wife Francis died in 1910. Charles H., Edna, Edgar V., and Francis are all buried in the same plot # 1915 in the Yokohama Foreigners' Cemetery.
In the next plot # 1915, a certain R. M. Thorn is buried; he died in 1908, but no relation or any further reference could be ascertained.
___
/ P II – III / USA / TR + JOU /
TOMS
William George
1853 - 1901

[William TOMS]
[THOMS]












ca. 1853 in Polperro, Cornwall, GB
1901 in Kobe (Selbstmord)

Sohn von John Toms und Mary geb. Rowe, das 9. von 10 Kindern. In der Volkszählung von 1871 wird er als Seemann auf dem britischen Schiff Juno registriert.
1875 kam er nach Japan und begann für die Stadtpolizei von Yokohama als Polizist bis 1877 zu arbeiten, privat lebte er in Yokohama # 119. - Von 1878-1879 wird er in den Adressbüchern nicht aufgeführt, wahrscheinlich befand er sich in GB um sich auf seine neue Aufgabe vorzubereiten - 1880 war er im britischen Konsulat von Kanagawa als Gefängniswärter angestellt. Im folgenden Jahr 1881 wurde er als Unteroffizier von der japanischen Regierung in der Stadtpolizei von Kobe als ausländischer Angestellter tätig. - Etwa zu dieser Zeit heiratete er eine Japanerin, Okyo Semu (oder Okumo Somu) und ihr erster Sohn William wurde am 13.08.1883 in Kobe geboren. Später wurden dann noch zwei Töchter in Kobe geboren. Er war bis 1897 hier tätig. 1898 veränderte er sich beruflich und begann bei Nickel & Co., Anlege- und Entladungsagenten, Niederlassung Kobe, wo er bis zu seinem Tod 1901 arbeitete.
ca. 1853 in Polperro, Cornwall, GB
1901 in Kobe (suicide)

Son of John Toms and Mary nee Rowe, the ninth of ten children. In the GB census of 1871 he is recorded as a Seaman with HMS Juno.
He came to Japan in 1875 and started to work as Constable of the Municipal Police of Yokohama until 1877, privately he lived in Yokohama # 119.
From 1878-1879 he is not listed in the directories, possibly because he was on leave in GB and preparing for his new task - in 1880 he was employed as Turnkey of the HBM Consulate in Kanagawa. In the following year 1881 he became Sergeant of the Hyōgo Municipal Council, Police Force, Kobe # 35 on the base of a contract with the Japanese government as a foreign employee.
Around that time he married a Japanese, Okyo Semu (or Okumo Somu) and their first son William John was born on 13.08.1883 in Kobe. Later two daughters were also born in Kobe. He accomplished his job until 1897. In 1898 he changed his job and was employed with Nickel & Co., Stevedores and Landing Agents, Kobe staying there until his death in 1901.
___
/ P II - III / GB / FE-T + TR /
TOMS
William John
1884 -


[THOMS]




Für Vergrößerung klicken










13.08.1884 in Kobe
ca. 1968

Sohn von William George Toms. Zuerst erhielt er seine Schulbildung in Japan, danach in GB; gemäß der Volkszählung von 1901 lebte er bei seinem Onkel in Liverpool und war Versicherungs-Angestellter.
1904 kam er zurück nach Japan und fand eine Anstellung bei A. Cameron & Co., Yokohama # 75 bis 1906. 1907 wechselte er zu Thomas Kershaw, Kobe, Sachverständiger und Beratungsingenieur für Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik. - In der Ausgabe vom 08.01.1910, The Japan Chronicle besagt eine Notiz „Ab 01.01. wurde Herr J. H. Duus zum Leiter von Thomas Kershaw berufen und er ist zeichnungsberechtigt. W. J. Toms und G. H. Crane Williams haben ebenfalls Prokura.“
Während dieser Periode entschlossen sich Toms und Duus eine gemeinsame Firma zu gründen. 1911 gründete J. H. Duus die Union Trading Co., firmierend als Sachverständige, Hersteller und Maschinen-Importe, in 7 Goko-Dori, 4-chome, Kobe und Toms wurde Junior-Partner. 1923 firmierte die Union Trading Co. als Ingenieure, Importe und Exporte und Hersteller von Feuerschutztüren und Feuerlöschern. - Bis Ende 1941 lebte er in # 11 Isogami-dori 2-chome, Fukiai-ku, Kobe. Als Japan den Krieg erklärte, wurde er als britischer Bürger im kanadischen, internationalen Akademie-Lager interniert und am 15.04.1944 wieder entlassen. Er gab seinen britischen Pass ab, ausgestellt am 15.03.1939 und wurde japanischer Staatsbürger.
Er nahm den Name Onishi an (Name seiner Ehefrau) und bekleidete eine gute Stelle bei einer Baumwollfirma in Osaka. Es wird berichtet, dass er 1848 in Ayoi-sho, Nishinomiya-shi, Hyogo-ken unter dem Namen Motohire Onuki lebte. Vermutlich verstarb er etwa um 1968.
13.08.1884 in Kobe
ca. 1968

Son of William George Toms. He was first educated in Japan and afterwards in GB; according to the GB-census of 1901 he lived in Liverpool with his uncle and he was an insurance clerk.
In 1904 he came back to Japan and was employed with A. Cameron & Co., Yokohama # 75 until 1906. In 1907 he transferred to Thomas Kershaw, Consulting Mechanical and Electrical Engineer and Surveyor, Kobe.
In the issue of January 8th, 1910 of The Japan Chronicle a notice is saying "From January 1st Mr John Henry Duus has been appointed Manager of Thomas Kershaw and will sign accordingly. Mr W. J. Toms and Mr. G.H. Crane Williams have also power to sign the firm per procuration". - During this period Toms and Duus decided to establish a mutual business. In 1911 J. H. Duus started the Union Trading Co. at 7 Goko-Dori, 4-chome, Kobe and Toms became Junior partner. This was as Surveyors, Manufacturers and General Machine Importers; in 1923 the Union Trading Co. operated as Engineers, Manufacturers, Importing & Exporting Merchants and Manufacturers of Fire Proof Doors and Fire-Extinguishers.
He lived at # 11 Isogami-dori 2-chome, Fukiai-ku, Kobe until the end of 1941. When Japan declared war he was interned in the Canadian Academy International Camp as a British national, but released on April 15, 1944. He passed in his British Passport which had been issued March 15, 1939, and secured Japanese nationality. He took on the name of Onishi (his wife's name) and acquired a good position with a cotton company in Osaka. In 1948 it was reported that he was living at Ayoi-sho, Nishinomiya-shi, Hyogo-ken under the name of Motohire Onuki. Presumably he died around 1968.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
TOOKEY, Charles
TOOKEY, Charles
1828 - 1906
































Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Angewandte Metallchemie des Boiler-Komitees.
- Metallurgical chemistry as applied by the "Boiler Committee".

13.05.1828 Oddingley, Worcs./ GB
03.01.1906

Der Metallurge und Chemiker Charles Tookey war ein enger Mitarbeiter von Thomas William Kinder, dem Direktor der "Royal Mint" in Hongkong.
Als Kinder Leiter der neuen japanischen Münzanstalt wurde, folgte ihm Tookey nach Osaka und wurde nun zum Assistenten Kinders ernannt. Bald jedoch entwickelten sich zunehmende Spannungen zwischen beiden Männern. Nachdem Tookey Japan für immer verlassen hatte und nach England zurückgekehrt war, wurde er zum Mitglied des britischen "Admiralty Boiler Committee" berufen.

Tookey wurde in der Nähe von Droitwich geboren. Er besuchte die Bromsgrove School in Worcestershire, eine der ältesten Privatschulen Englands.
Danach studierte er Chemie am "Royal College of Chemistry" in London und war seit 1851 Assistent bei John Stenhouse, einem Schüler des Chemikers Justus von Liebig.

Nach der Fusion des Colleges mit der "Royal School of Mines" behielt Tookey seine Anstellung. 1855 wurde er Mitglied der "Chemical Society"; seit 1859 arbeitete er als Assistent des Metallurgen John Percy. Für das Buch "Die britischen Eisenerze" analysierte er die Erze von South Staffordshire; eine weitere seiner wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen behandelte 1862 unter anderem die chemische Analyse der Legierungen von Blei, Zinn, Antimon und Kupfer.
1865 wurde Tookey "Münzprüfer" an der neu gegründeten "Royal Mint" in Hongkong. Er reiste mit Thomas Kinder auf dem Landweg nach Hongkong, wo die Männer am 19.08.1865 eintrafen. In der neuen Münze hatte Tookey die Aufgabe, die Zusammensetzung der Münz-Legierungen zu überwachen. Nachdem die Münzanstalt in der britischen Kolonie ihren Betrieb wegen wachsender Schulden schließen musste, ging deren Leiter Kinder 1870 in gleicher Funktion an die neue japanische Münze in Osaka und nahm erneut Tookey mit. Am 24.02.1870 unterzeichnete Tookey einen Arbeitsvertrag mit der Oriental Bank, die für die ökonomische Koordinierung verantwortlich zeichnete. Er war nun nicht nur als Münzprüfer, sondern gleichzeitig auch als Kinders Chefassistent angestellt.
Möglicherweise hat die japanische Regierung ihn nicht eingestellt, weil die Anstellung auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch von Kinder erfolgte.
Das offenbar enge Verhältnis zwischen Kinder und Tookey zerbrach aber schon bald. Während Kinder immer autokratischer wurde, reagierte Tookey mit zunehmender Verbitterung. In einem Brief an Kinder im März 1873 lehnte Tookey die ihm von den japanischen Behörden zugewiesene Einstufung ab. Im April warf ihm Kinder einen Fehler bei der Arbeit vor. Er verlangte nun - und erhielt - von der Oriental Bank die Zustimmung zu Tookeys Entlassung. Sein Nachfolger wurde Edward Dillon.
Danach räumte Tookey das von ihm bewohnte Haus in Osaka. Kinder wies ihn an, das Haus an Herbert Wheeler zu übergeben, der sein Sekretär gewesen und obendrein ein Verwandter von Kinders Frau war. Tookey jedoch argumentierte, Kinder sei nicht berechtigt über ein Haus zu bestimmen, das nicht ihm, sondern dem japanischen Staat gehöre.

Tookey ging zurück nach England. Dort wurde er in das neue "Admiralty Committee on Boilers" berufen. Dieser Ausschuss war gebildet worden, nachdem in der Marine um 1870 "eine augenfällige Zunahme von Korrosion" an Schiffskesseln aufgetreten war.

Das "Boiler Commitee" trat vom 05.06.1874 bis zum 31.03.1878 zusammen und bestand, neben Admiral George Elliot als ursprünglichem Vorsitzenden, aus vier Mitgliedern. Captain Murray Aynsley war ebenfalls Marineoffizier, John Trickett Chefingenieur der Marinewerft Devonport, Tookey Metallurg und Chemiker.
David Phillips' beruflicher Hintergrund ist unbekannt.
Diese Männer hatten den Auftrag, "die Ursachen für die Verschlechterung der Kessel zu erforschen und Maßnahmen zur Steigerung ihrer Haltbarkeit" zu treffen.
In den nächsten vier Jahren wurden gründliche Versuche durchgeführt, etwa über das Auftreten von Korrosion nach verschiedenen Vorbehandlungen, oder über vorbeugenden Korrosionsschutz durch Zink.
Die ausführlichste und wichtigste Versuchsreihe, die das Komitee durchführte, bestand in einem Vergleich der Unterschiede im Korrosionsverhalten von Eisen und Stahl. Seit seiner Zeit an der "Royal School of Mines" war Tookey ein ausgewiesener Kenner der britischen Eisenerze, und er war wahrscheinlich umfassend an diesen Experimenten beteiligt. Zu Vergleichszwecken wurden identische Stahl- und Eisenteile aus den besten in Großbritannien erhältlichen Materialien hergestellt und unter verschiedenen Bedingungen untersucht.
Beim Eisen fiel die Wahl auf die Low-Moor-Eisenwerke in Yorkshire; die Stahlteile wurden nach dem damals neuen Siemens-Martin-Verfahren von der Landore-Siemens Stahl Co. bei Swansea hergestellt. Das Ergebnis scheint überzeugend ausgefallen zu sein. Auf Grund dieser Versuche wurden 1879 alle zwölf Kessel der neuen Kreuzer Iris und Mercury aus Landore-Stahl gefertigt. Die Schiffe erwiesen sich als sehr erfolgreich; sie gehörten zu den schnellsten ihrer Zeit.

Nach diesem ersten Boiler-Committee gab es weitere zeitlich begrenzte Komitees, die ergänzende Empfehlungen ausarbeiteten. Tookey gehörte, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, keinem von ihnen an. Über seine weitere Tätigkeit ist nichts bekannt. -
Die Zeitschrift "Geologists' Magazine" veröffentlichte 1906 einen Nachruf auf Tookey. Seine Arbeit nach seiner Rückkehr aus Japan wurde nicht einmal mit einem vollständigen Satz gewürdigt: "Chemiker beim Admiralty Boiler Committee". Charles Tookeys Beitrag im Komitee war jedoch mit Sicherheit bedeutender als es diese lapidaren Worte vermuten lassen.
13.05.1828 Oddingley, Worcs./ GB
03.01.1906

The metallurgist and chemist Charles Tookey was a close collaborator to Thomas William Kinder, director of the Royal Mint at Hong Kong.
When Kinder became manager of the new Japanese Mint, Tookey followed him to Osaka and was appointed Kinder's assistant. But soon, increasing tensions between the two men developed.
After Tookey had left Japan for good and had returned to England, he was appointed member of the British "Admiralty Boiler Committee".

Tookey was born near Droitwich. He attended Bromsgrove School in Worcestershire, one of the eldest private schools in England.
Thereafter he studied chemistry at the Royal College of Chemistry in London and was, from 1851 on, assistant to John Stenhouse, a former student of the German chemist Justus von Liebig.
After the college's merger with the Royal School of Mines in 1853, Tookey kept his employment. In 1855 he became fellow of the Chemical Society; from 1859 he worked as assistant to the metallurgist John Percy. For the book "The Iron Ores of Britain" he analysed the ores of South Staffordshire; another of his scientific publications of 1862 dealt among others with the chemical analysis of alloys from lead, tin, antimony and copper.

In 1865, Tookey became Assayer at the newly founded Royal Mint in Hong Kong. Travelling in company of Thomas Kinder via overland mail to Hong Kong, the men arrived on 19.08.1865. In the new mint, Tookey had the task to supervise the composition of the alloys for coining. After the mint in the British colony had to be closed because of increasing debts, its director Kinder went in 1870 in the same function to the new Japanese Osaka Mint, again bringing Tookey with him. On February 24, 1870 Tookey signed an employment contract with the Oriental Bank which was responsible for the economic coordination.
According to this contract, Tookey was not merely employed as an assayer, but also as Kinder's chief assistant.

Possibly the Japanese government had not employed him because his appointment based on the assertive request of Kinder.
The apparently close relationship between Kinder and Tookey soon was to break. While Kinder became more and more autocratic, Tookey reacted with a growing bitterness. In a letter to Kinder from March of 1873, Tookey refused to accept the rank now assigned to him by the Japanese authorities. In April, Kinder finally blamed Tookey for having made a mistake in his work. He now requested and received the Oriental Bank's approval to dismiss Tookey. Edward Dillon succeeded him.
Subsequently Tookey moved out of the house where he had lived in Osaka. Kinder ordered him to hand the house over to Herbert Wheeler, who had been his secretary and was, furthermore, a relative to Kinder's wife. Tookey however argued that Kinder did not have the authority to decide on a house being not his own, but the Japanese government's property.

Tookey went back to England. He was there appointed member of the "Admiralty Committee on Boilers". This committee had been established after the Navy had, around 1870, encountered "a marked increase in the amount of corrosion" on ship's boilers.

The Committee assembled from June 5, 1874 to March 31, 1878 and consisted, besides of Admiral George Elliot as the original chairman, of four members. Captain Murray Aynsley was also a Naval Officer, John Trickett Chief engineer at the Naval Dockyard Devonport, Tookey metallurgist and chemist.
David Phillips' professional background is unknown.
These men had the task "to inquire into the causes of the deterioration of boilers, and to propose measures which would tend to increase their durability".
During the next four years, thorough experiments were made, for instance on the corrosive effect of different kinds of treatment, or of the protection afforded by zinc.

The most extensive and most important series of experiments made by the Committee was a comparison of the differences in the corrosion of iron and steel. Since his time at the Royal School of Mines, Tookey was an acknowledged expert on the British iron ores, and he probably was deeply involved in these experiments. For the experiments, otherwise identical iron and steel parts were made of the highest quality material available in Britain, and tested under various conditions.

The iron chosen came from the Low Moor Ironworks in Yorkshire; the steel parts were produced according to the then new Siemens-Martin process by the Landore-Siemens Steel Co. near Swansea.
The result seems to have been convincing. Because of these experiments, all the twelve boilers for each of the new British cruisers Iris and Mercury were in 1879 made of Landore-Siemens steel. The ships proved to be very successful; they were among the fastest of their day.

Following this first boiler committee, there were further, "limited" committees working out supplementary recommendations. Tookey, from what reasons ever, did not belong to any of these. His further activity is unknown. -

The "Geologists' Magazine" published in 1906 an obituary on Tookey. His work after his return from Japan was not even honoured by a complete sentence: "Chemist on the Admiralty Boiler Committee". But Charles Tookey's contribution to the Committee was certainly more important than might be expected from these lapidary words.
___
/ P II / GB / QFE-T /
TOPPING
Alexander
- 1894








31.10.1894 in Kobe

Er wurde über die japanische Regierung für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. angestellt; sein Vertrag begann am 01.07.1873, der schließlich bis zum 31.01.1878 verlängert wurde. Innerhalb dieser Zeit arbeitete er auf der Taihei-maru und der Fusō-maru zur Verstärkung und Anleitung der Mannschaft und wirkte als Erster Offizier auf der Shinagawa-maru.
Nach Ende des Vertrages zog er nach Kobe, wo er ab 1879 als lizensierter Lotse im "Kobe Pilot Service", Kobe # 11, später Kobe # 81 arbeitete. In dieser Eigenschaft war er bis zu seinem Tod 1894 tätig. Er wurde auf dem Ono-Friedhof von Kobe bestattet.

31.10.1894 in Kobe

He was employed by the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co.; the contract started on July 1, 1873 and it was prolonged eventually to January 31, 1878.
Within this period he assisted and instructed the manning of the Taihei-maru and the Fusō-maru and acted as First Officer on the Shinagawa-maru.
When his contract expired he moved to Kobe and worked as licensed pilot in the "Kobe Pilot Service", Kobe # 11, later Kobe # 81. In this capacity he worked until his death in 1894. He was buried in the Ono-Cemetery of Kobe.
___
/ P I / GB / FE-T-SH /
TOPPING
Genevieve
1863 - 1923


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Passport Photo 1919

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Genevieve Topping in Morioka

21.10.1863 in Lake Mills, Jefferson County, Wisconsin, USA
1953 in Tokyo

Sie war die Tochter von Asa und Helen Faville und wuchs in Jefferson County auf. Sie beendete die Lawrence Universität am 22.06.1888 mit dem Masterstitel und einen Monat später, am 18.07.1888, heiratete sie Henry Topping in Jefferson Co., Wisconsin. Von 1885 bis 1887 lehrte sie Musik am Clarke College, Atlanta, Georgia und von 1892 bis 1895 war sie Lehrer für Musik und Literatur am Benedict College, Columbia, SC.
1895 kam sie zu ihrem Mann nach Tokyo, ebenfalls als Missionar der American Baptist Foreign Mission Society. Sie gründete den Tsukiji Kindergarten in Tokyo und unternahm große Anstrengungen zur Einrichtung einer Ausbildungsstätte für Kindergarten-Lehrer in Tokyo.
1907 zog sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann nach Morioka. Sie gründete den ersten Kindergarten in Morioka und bestellte ein Piano in New York zur Rhythmus-Ausbildung.
Nach 1920 arbeitete sie in Yokohama und Kobe, um die japanische Vorschul-Erziehung weiter zu unterstützen.
Das Büro für Kriegs-Informationen berichtete 1943, dass sie als Propagandist im japanischen Radio Sendungen in englischer Sprache durchführte, die nicht widersprüchlich waren, obwohl sie eine 80-jährige Missionarin war.
Über ihre drei Kinder Mary Blessing Topping, Helen Faville Topping, and Willard Faville Topping liegen keine weiteren Informationen vor.
Sie starb 1953 und sie wurde auf dem Tamareien Friedhof von Tokyo neben ihrem Mann beigesetzt.
21.10.1863 in Lake Mills, Jefferson County, Wisconsin, USA
1953 in Tokyo

She was the daughter of Asa and Helen Faville and grew up in Jefferson County. She graduated with a masters degree from Lawrence University on June 22, 1888; and married Henry Topping one month later on July 18, 1888, in Jefferson Co., Wisconsin. From 1885 to 1887, she taught music at Clarke College, Atlanta, Georgia. From 1892 to 1895, she was a teacher of music and literature at Benedict College, Columbia, SC.
In 1895 she joined her husband in Tokyo as missionary of the American Baptist Foreign Mission Society. She established the Tsukiji kindergarten in Tokyo and made great efforts in founding a training place for kindergarten teachers in Tokyo.
In 1907 she moved together with her husband to Morioka. She established the first kindergarten in Morioka and ordered a piano from New York for rhythm education.
Past 1920 she worked in Yokohama and Kobe to assist Japanese preschool education.
The Office of War Information reported in 1943 that she had become a Japanese radio propagandist, making English language broadcasts in Japan. Yet, her words were not inconsistent for an 80 years old missionary.
There does not exist any further information on her three children Mary Blessing Topping, Helen Faville Topping, and Willard Faville Topping.
She died in 1953 and was buried in the Tamareien Cemetery of Tokyo beside her husband.
___
/ P III / USA / MIS /
TOPPING
Henry
1857 - 1942


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Passport Photo 1919

26.07.1857 in Lake Delton, Sauk County, Wisconsin, USA
30.08.1942 in Tokyo

Nach Abschluss des Gymnasiums in Ottawa, Canada kehrte er 1870 in die USA zurück und studierte an den Universitäten von Chicago und Rochester und erwarb 1890 den M. A. von der Rochester University. Weiterhin besuchte er die Universität von Chicago, Fakultät für Theologie und erhielt hier den Bachelor für Theologie.
Er lehrte am Benedict College, Columbia SC, 3 Jahre Griechisch und Latein bis 1892, bevor er 1893 als Missionar der American Baptist Foreign Mission Society nach Japan delegiert wurde.
Neben seiner Missionsarbeit lehrte er auch Englisch an der Tokyo Akademie, die sich später zur Kantō Gakuin entwickelte. Privat wohnte er # 30 Tsukiji, Tokyo.
1907 begann er seinen neuen Posten in Morioka-shi, Iwate, an der Morioka Baptisten-Kirche und er lehrte Englisch an der Junior High School von Morioka. Parallel setzte er sich für christliche Missionsarbeit ein.
Er heiratete Genevieve Faville (1863-1953) am 18.07.1888 in Jefferson Co., Wisconsin. Sie hatten drei Kinder, Mary Blessing Topping, Helen Faville Topping, and Willard Faville Topping.
Henry und Genevieve waren bis Ende der 1920er Jahre als Missionare in Japan tätig. Auch ihr Sohn Willard war ab etwa 1924 in Japan als Missionar im Einsatz.
Henry starb 1942 und er und seine Frau wurden auf dem Tamareien Friedhof von Tokyo beigesetzt.
26.07.1857 in Lake Delton, Sauk County, Wisconsin, USA
30.08.1942 in Tokyo

After his graduation from the gymnasium at Ottawa, Canada in 1870 he returned to the USA and studied at the Chicago University and Rochester University, he acquired a degree of M. A. from Rochester University in 1890. Furthermore, he advanced to the University of Chicago, department of theology and he was given a Bachelor of Divinity.
He taught Greek and Latin at Benedict College, Columbia SC, for three years until May 1892 before he was delegated to Japan in 1893 as missionary of the American Baptist Foreign Mission Society.
Besides his missionary work he also taught English at the Tokyo academy which developed later into the Kantō Gakuin. Privately he lived at # 30 Tsukiji, Tokyo.
In 1907 he started for his new post in Morioka-shi, Iwate at the Morioka Baptist church and taught English in Morioka Junior High School, additionally he was engaged in Christian missionary work.
He married Genevieve Faville (1863-1953) on July 18, 1888 in Jefferson Co., Wisconsin. They had three children, Mary Blessing Topping, Helen Faville Topping, and Willard Faville Topping.
Henry and Genevieve worked in Japan as missionaries until the end of the 1920's. Also their son Willard took office as missionary from about 1924.
He died in 1942 and he and his wife are buried in the Tamareien Cemetery of Tokyo.
___
/ P III / USA / MIS /
TOPPING
Tom
- 1873

[Thomas]

17.03.1873 in Kobe

Er wurde in Osaka über die japanische Regierung für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. angestellt. Der Vertag lief vom 01.06.1872 bis 31.05.1873, er arbeitete auf der Taihei-maru zur Verstärkung und Anleitung der Mannschaft. Vor Ablauf des Vertrages starb er jedoch und er wurde auf dem Ono-Friedhof von Kobe beigesetzt.

17.03.1873 in Kobe

He was employed in Osaka by the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. The contract ran from June 1, 1872 to May 31, 1873, he assisted and instructed the manning of the Taihei-maru. But before his contract expired he died and he was buried in the Ono-Cemetery of Kobe.
___
/ P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
TOWNSEND
Walter Davis
1856 - 1918
















Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Der Pacific-Mail-Dampfer City of Tokio, damals das größte in Amerika gebaute Dampfschiff. Sie bediente die Route San Francisco – Yokohama, und ging am 24.06.1885 unter, nachdem sie einen Felsen am Eingang zur Bucht von Tokyo gerammt hatte.
- The Pacific Mail steamer City of Tokio, at her time the largest steam ship built in America, serving the San Francisco – Yokohama route. The City of Tokio was lost on June 24, 1885 when she ran aground on the rocks at the entrance to Tokyo Bay.

Abbildung / Illustration: Lippincott's Magazine of Popular Literature and Science, February 1876


09.02.1856 in Boston, Suffolk County, MA, USA
10.03.1918 in Chemulpo (Incheon), Korea

Wenn es so etwas wie uralten amerikanischen Adel geben sollte, so gehörte Walter D. Townsend sicherlich dazu. Er war in siebter Generation Nachkomme eines Thomas Townsend aus Norfolk in England, der 1637 mit dem Schiff Handmaid die Bucht von Boston erreicht und sich dann in Lynn, Massachusetts, angesiedelt hatte.

Walter, der dritte Sohn des Arztes Dr. William Edward Townsend und seiner Frau Ellen, geb. Britton, besuchte die Schule in Boston. Als er zehn Jahre alt war, starb sein Vater an Cholera. Vielleicht hat dieses Erlebnis dazu beigetragen, dass Walter Townsend keine Karriere als Arzt in Harvard begann, wie es bereits sein Vater und auch sein Großvater getan hatten. Walters Leben nahm einen völlig anderen Verlauf. Noch in den USA machte Walter Townsend Bekanntschaft mit dem acht Jahre älteren James Rolland Morse, der ab 1875 in Yokohama Exklusivhändler für Uhren der Firma Chipman, Stone & Co. für Japan war und zwei Jahre später seine Firma "American Clock Co." gründete. Townsend folgte ihm nach Japan. Er verließ San Francisco am 03.12.1878 mit dem Dampfer City of Tokio der Pacific Mail Steam Ship Co. und erreichte am 25.12.1878 Yokohama. In Japan half Townsend Morse als Angestellter der American Watch Co., Yokohama # 28 beim Verkauf, zuerst von Uhren, aber bald auch von anderen Erzeugnissen aus Amerika.

Townsend lebte bis 1880 in Yokohama, dann in Kobe und nach 1883 für kurze Zeit erneut in Yokohama. In dieser Zeit lernte er eine Japanerin kennen, Michiyo; sie bekamen zuerst einen Sohn mit dem japanischen Namen Kimio. Eine Tochter wurde später in Korea geboren; sie sollte den englischen Namen Margaret erhalten.

Im April 1884 ging Townsend für Morses "American Trading Co." nach Korea. Er reiste in Begleitung von Kim Ok-yun, einem geborenen Koreaner, der Freund und Partner sowohl von Morse wie auch von Townsend geworden war.
Kim und Townsend reisten mit dem schon in die Jahre gekommenen hölzernen Raddampfer Nagoya-maru der Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. (Mitsubishi Yūbin Kisen Kaisha) von Yokohama ab und erreichten Nagasaki am 13.04.1884.
Von dort setzten die beiden Männer ihre Reise mit der Chitose-maru derselben Gesellschaft fort. Nach einem kurzen Zwischenaufenthalt in Pusan (Busan) erreichten sie Chemulpo (Incheon) im Mai.
Wahrscheinlich hatten sie in ihrem Gepäck die goldenen "Waltham"-Uhren, die Kim von Morse als Geschenk für das koreanische Herrscherpaar gekauft hatte. Die 4.000 Gewehre, welche die koreanische Regierung bei Morses Handelsfirma bestellt hatte, sollen einen Monat später eingetroffen sein.

Townsend blieb den Rest seines Lebens, insgesamt 34 Jahre, in Korea. Er lebte zuerst in der koreanischen Hauptstadt Seoul in Nähe der Japanischen Botschaft.
Während des nationalistischen "Gapsin-Putschs" vom 04.12.1888 wurde die Botschaft niedergebrannt; Townsend flüchtete aus Sicherheitsgründen in die Amerikanische Botschaft, verzog aber aus denselben Gründen am 07.12.188 in die Hafenstadt Chemulpo. Townsend ließ sich mit seiner Frau Michiyo und ihrem Sohn Kimio endgültig hier nieder; die Tochter Margaret wurde vermutlich hier geboren.

Etwa um 1888 wurde die koreanische Niederlassung von Morses "American Trading Co."unter dem Namen "Morse Townsend & Co." zur eigenständigen Firma; nach dem Chinesisch-japanischen Krieg 1894-1895 entfiel Morses Name, und "Townsend & Co." behielt diesen Namen, auch nach dem Tod von Townsend selbst.
Die Gesellschaft wickelte verschiedene Aufträge für die koreanische Regierung ab.
Zum Beispiel importierte Townsend Rinder für die koreanische Regierungsfarm, Porzellan und Möbel für den Königspalast, Waffen und Munition. Diese Geschäfte sollen sich auf insgesamt 175,000 $ belaufen haben.

Townsend beteiligte sich am Bau der ersten Eisenbahnlinie in Korea, die Chemulpo mit Seoul verband. Die Konzession für diese Strecke hatte Morse 1896 erhalten, der sie an die amerikanische "Collbran-Bostwick Development Co." in Seoul weiterveräußert hatte. Als die Bauarbeiten einige Meilen diesseits vom Hafen Chemulpos begannen, beaufsichtige Townsend selbst eine Gruppe von "fünfzig ausgesuchten Kulis", die mit amerikanischen Schubkarren, Pickeln und Schaufeln ausgerüstet waren.
Im Oktober 1896 kaufte Townsend als Vertreter von Rockefellers "Standard Oil Co." in Cleveland, Ohio, für nur 132 $ 11.700 m² Land auf der Insel Wolmido im Hafen von Chemulpo, und errichtete Petroleum-Lagerhäuser, da diese innerhalb der Grenzen der Siedlung nicht gebaut werden durften. Townsend importierte in der Folge eine Million Gallonen Petroleum nach Korea.

Townsend Gesundheit aber verschlechterte sich mit fortschreitendem Alter. Diabetes und Nierensteine erforderten mehrere Reise zur Behandlung in Amerika. Er starb, "unerwartet und ohne Schmerzen", an einem Herzversagen und wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof in Chemulpo bestattet.

Nachdem sein Bruder Edward 1910 gestorben war, erhielt Walter Townsends Sohn Kimio jetzt den Namen Edward. Walter Townsend, der mit Michiyo nicht gesetzlich verheiratet war, hatte seine Vaterschaft über ihn ausdrücklich anerkannt, und Edward erhielt daher die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft.
Er übersiedelte nach Honolulu auf Hawaii und wurde dort Gerichtsdolmetscher und später Rechtsanwalt.

Townsends Tochter Margaret heiratete 1905 in Chemulpo einen gewissen James de Forrest Atkinson, einen Angestellten ihres Vaters. Er war ein Sohn von Reverend Dr. John Laidlaw Atkinson, der ab 1873 Missionar in Kobe.
09.02.1856 in Boston, Suffolk County, MA, USA
10.03.1918 in Chemulpo (Incheon), Korea

If there should be something like old American nobility, Walter D. Townsend would certainly belong to it.
He was, in seventh generation, the descendant of a Thomas Townsend from Norfolk in England, who had in 1637 landed with the ship Handmaid at Boston Bay and then settled in Lynn, Massachusetts.

Walter, the third son of the surgeon Dr William Edward Townsend and his wife Ellen, née Britton, attended school at Boston. When he was ten years of age, his father died of cholera. Still in the USA, Maybe this experience had contributed that Walter Townsend did not start a career at Harvard to become a surgeon, like his father and also his grandfather had done. Walter's life took an entirely different course. Walter Townsend made acquaintance to the eight years older James Rolland Morse, who was, from 1875 on, the sole distributor for clocks from Chipman, Stone & Co. for Japan and two years later founded his own "American Clock Co." Townsend followed him to Japan. He departed from San Francisco on 01.12.1878 on the steamer City of Tokio of the Pacific Mail Steam Ship Co. and arrived at Yokohama on December 25, 1878. In Japan, Townsend helped Morse as employee of the American Watch Co., Yokohama # 28, to merchandise at first clocks and watches, but soon also other products imported from America.

Townsend lived till 1880 at Yokohama, then in Kobe and after 1883 for a short while again in Yokohama. In these years, he met a Japanese wife, Michiyo; they first had a son who was called by the Japanese name Kimio. A daughter was later to be born in Korea; she would be given the English name Margaret.

In April of 1884, Townsend went for Morse's "American Trading Co." to Korea. He travelled in company with Kim Ok-yun, a native Korean who in Japan had become a friend and partner of both Morse and Townsend.
Kim and Townsend departed from Yokohama aboard of the already ageing wooden paddle steamer Nagoya-maru of the Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. (Mitsubishi Yūbin Kisen Kaisha), arriving at Nagasaki on April 13, 1884.

From there the two men continued their voyage on the Chitose-maru of the same company. After a short call at Pusan (Busan), they reached Chemulpo (Incheon) in May.

Probably, they had in their luggage the golden "Waltham" clocks Kim had bought from Morse as a gift to the Korean royal couple.
The 4,000 rifles ordered by the Korean Government from Morse's trading company are said to have arrived a month later.

Townsend stayed in Korea for the rest of his life, in all 34 years. He first lived in Korea's capital Seoul near the Japanese Legation.
During the nationalist "Gapsin Coup" of December 4, 1888, the legation was burned down; Townsend fled because of security reasons into the American Legation, moving finally on December 7, 1888, for the same reasons, to the port city of Chemulpo. Townsend settled with his wife Michiyo and their son Kimio definitely in this town; the daughter Margaret probably was born here.

At around 1888, the Korean subsidiary of Morse's "American Trading Co." became, under the name of "Morse Townsend & Co.", a separate company; after the Sino-Japanese War of 1894-1895, Morse's name was dropped, and "Townsend & Co." kept this name even after Townsend himself had died.

The company made various transactions on behalf of the Korean government.
Townsend, for instance, imported cattle for the Korean government farm, tableware and furniture for the King's palace, arms and ammunition. This business is said to have amounted in all to 175 000 $.

Townsend took part in the erection of the first railway line in Korea, linking Chemulpo to Seoul. The concession for this line had been obtained by Morse in 1896, who sold it on to the American "Collbran-Bostwick Development Co." in Seoul.
When the construction works began some miles off Chemulpo's waterfront, Townsend himself supervised a group of "fifty picked coolies" equipped with American wheelbarrows, pickaxes and shovels.

In October of 1896, Townsend, Korean agent for Rockefeller's "Standard Oil Co." in Cleveland, Ohio, bought for a mere 132 $ 11,700 square metres of property on Wolmido Island in Chemulpo harbour, and erected kerosene warehouses which could not be built within the limits of the settlement. Townsend subsequently imported a million gallons of kerosene to Korea.

In later years, Townsend's health deteriorated. Diabetes and urinary gravels necessitated various trips back to America for treatment. He died, "sudden and painless", from a heart failure, and was buried in the Foreign Public Cemetery in Chemulpo.

After his brother Edward had died in 1910, Walter Townsend's son Kimio was now given the name Edward. Walter Townsend, who was not legally married to Michiyo, had explicitly acknowledged his paternity on his son, and Edward therefore attained American citizenship.

He moved to Honolulu, Hawaii, and became a court interpreter and later attorney.

Townsend's daughter Margaret married in 1905 in Chemulpo a certain James de Forrest Atkinson, an employee of her father. He was the son of Reverend Dr John Laidlaw Atkinson, who was a missionary in Kobe as of 1873.
___
/ P II / USA / TR /
TRESIZE
Walter Kendal
1859 - 1919

[TREZISE]

28.04.1859 in St. Agnes bei Truro, Cornwall, GB
27.03.1919 in Yokohama

Er kam 1885 nach Japan, ganz sicher als Seemann. Als 1885 die japanische Schiffspostgesellschaft "Nippon Yūsen Kaisha" gegründet wurde, wurde er als Hauptingenieur auf der Sagami-maru angestellt.

Nach seiner Heirat am 05.10.1887 mit Pamela Buttery Martin, Tochter von James Martin, entschied er sich, nicht mehr zur See zu fahren, er arbeitete aber weiterhin bei der Nippon Yūsen Kaisha; ab 1889 war er Assistenz-Ingenieur des Superintendenten des Außenbereiches und ab 1892 Assistent des Leiters der Motoren-Abteilung.

1894 übernahm er die Leitung der Yokohama Motoren- und Eisenwerke in Yokohama # 158, 159 und 161. Diese Funktion hatte er bis zu seinem Tod inne.

Walter Kendal und Pamela Buttery Tresize hatten eine Tochter, G. Tresize; die Familie wohnte in Yokohama # 250 Bluff.

Er starb 1919 und wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
28.04.1859 in St. Agnes nr Truro, Cornwall, GB
27.03.1919 in Yokohama

He came to Japan in 1885, certainly as a sailor. When in 1885 the Japan Mail Steam Ship Company "Nippon Yūsen Kaisha" was founded, he was employed as Chief Engineer on the Sagami-maru.

After his marriage to Pamela Buttery Martin, daughter of James Martin, on October 5, 1887, he decided, not to go any more to sea, but he continued to work at the Nippon Yūsen Kaisha; as of 1889 he was an Assistant Outdoor Superintendent Engineer and as of 1892, Assistant Manager of the Engine Works Department.

In 1894 he was appointed Manager of the Yokohama Engine and Iron Works at Yokohama # 158, 159 and 161. He held this function until his death.

Walter Kendal and Pamela Buttery Tresize had one daughter, G. Tresize; the whole family lived in Yokohama # 250 Bluff.

He died in 1919 and was buried in the Foreigners' Cemetery of Yokohama.
___
/ P II – III / GB / SH + ENG /
TURNER
Daniel
1849 - 1875






20.01.1849 auf Rhode Island, USA
1875, bestattet auf dem YFC

Daniel Turner wurde als Konsul für das US-Konsulat Kobe/ Osaka am 16.01.1872 berufen, um G. Scott Stewart abzulösen, der sein Amt schließlich aus Krankheitsgründen am 11.12.1871, wirksam ab 01.01.1872, niederlegte.
Paul Frank, Vize-Konsul, blieb vom Oktober 1870 bis zu Turner's Ankuft am 03.06.1872 verantwortlich im Konsulat und Turner war danach Konsul bis zu seinem Tod 1875.
Da der US-Postdienst in Kobe am 31.12.1874 eingestellt wurde, können wir schlußfolgern, dass es nur drei Postagenten gab - Frank, Stewart, Frank nochmals und schließlich Turner.
20.01.1849 at Rhode Island, USA
1875, buried in the YFC

Daniel Turner was appointed Consul of the US Consulate for Kobe and Osaka on January 16, 1872 to replace G. Scott Stewart who eventually resigned his commission for health reasons on December 11, 1871, effective January 1, 1872. Paul Frank, remained in charge of the consulate from October 1870 until Turner's arrival there on June 3, 1872. Turner continued as consul until his death in 1875.
Since the U. S. postal agency in Kobe was discontinued on December 31, 1874, it would appear that there were only three postal agents - Frank, Stewart, Frank again, and finally Turner.
___
/ P II / USA / DIP /
2. JAPANER >>> <<< JAPANESE
(AUSLÄNDER >>> <<< FOREIGNERS)

TACHI Sakutarō [Sukataro] 立作太郎 / JAP / SA / 1874 - 1943
TACHIBANA Sensaburō 立花銑三郎 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1901
TADA Gakusaburō 多田学三郎 / JAP / SA / 1863 - 1943
TADAMI Tōru 只見徹 / JAP / SA /
TADOKORO Hiroumi 田所博海 / JAP / SA /
TADOKORO Yoshiharu 田所義治 / JAP / SA / 1871 - 1950
TAGAMI, Kiyosada 田上清貞 / JAP / SA /
TAGO Mitsutoshi 多胡実敏 / JAP / SA /
TAGUCHI Kazuharu / JAP / SA /
TAHARA Yoshizumi [TAWARA] 田原良純 / JAP / SA / 1855 - 1935
TAHATA Yoshiaki / JAP / SA /
TAI Takeo / JAP / SA /
TAJIMA Jōsaku 田島丈作 / JAP / SA /
TAJIMA Kinji 田島錦治 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1934
TAJIRI Inejirō 田尻稲次郎 / JAP / SA / 1850 - 1923
TAKABATAKE Teizō 高畑挺三 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1910
TAKAGI Kanehiro / JAP / MED /
TAKAGI Kenji 高木憲次 / JAP / SA / 1881 - 1919

TAKAGI Saburō 高木三郎

TAKAGI Teiji 高木貞治 / JAP / SA / 1875 - 1960
TAKAHAMA Kyoshi 高浜虚子 / JAP / ART / 1874 - 1959
TAKAHASHI Akiomi 高橋 章臣 / JAP / SA /
TAKAHASHI Hidematsu 高橋秀松 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1914
TAKAHASHI Juntarō 高橋順太郎 / JAP / SA / 1856 - 1920

TAKAHASHI Korekiyo 高橋是清

TAKAHASHI Mizuko 高橋 瑞子 / JAP / SA / MED / 1852 - 1927
- Takahashi Mizuko wurde als dritte Tochter des Lehnsmanns Takada Kitarō in der Provinz Mikawa geboren. Sie verlor früh ihre Eltern und wuchs bei ihrem älteren Bruder und seiner Frau auf. Später ging sie nach Tokyo, wo sie 1880 Assistentin einer Hebamme wurde und dann an der privaten Medizinschule Saiseigakusha eine Hebammen-Lizenz erwarb. Danach arbeitete sie an einem Krankenhaus in Osaka und in Maebashi. Obwohl Frauen zu jener Zeit an staatlichen Hochschulen keine Zulassung zu einem Medizinstudium erhielten, erlangte sie schließlich doch noch einen Studienplatz, so dass sie 1887, nach Ogino Ginko und Ikusawa Kuno als dritte Frau überhaupt erst in Japan, ihr Staatsexamen als Ärztin erfolgreich abschließen konnte. Mit 37 Jahren eröffnete sie in Nihonbashi eine Praxis.
1890 reiste Takahashi per Postschiff nach Deutschland, um sich medizinisch weiterzubilden und westliche Medizin, insbesondere Gynäkologie zu studieren. Die deutsche Sprache erlernte sie an Bord des Schiffes. Frauen wurden in Preußen nicht vor 1903 zum Medizinstudium zugelassen, dennoch schaffte es Takahashi als Gasthörerin im Sommersemester 1890 und im Wintersemester 1890/1891 an der Universität von Berlin zu studieren.
- Takahashi Mizuko was born as the third daughter of the clansman Takada Kitarō in the province of Mikawa. She lost her parents early and grew up with her older brother and wife. Later she went to Tokyo, where she became an assistant to a midwife in 1880 and then earned a midwife license at the Saiseigakusha private medical school. Afterwards she worked at a hospital in Osaka and Maebashi. Although, at that time, women were not admitted to a medical study, she finally obtained a place to study. In 1887, she succeeded in successfully completing her state exams as a doctor and became the third woman in Japan, after Ogino Ginko and Ikusawa Kuno, to reach this aim at that time. At the age of 37 years, she opened a practice in Nihonbashi.
In 1890, Takahashi traveled to Germany by a mail-steamer in order to continue her study of medicine and improving her Western medicine knowledge especially in gynecology.
She studied the German language on board the ship. Women were not admitted to medicine in Prussia before 1903. Nevertheless, Takahashi was able to study as a guest in the summer semester of 1890 and in the winter semester of 1890/1891 at the University of Berlin.


TAKAHASHI Ryūtarō 高橋 龍太郎 [Ryutaro] / JAP / SA / BM + POL / 1875 - 1967
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Er wurde am 15.07.1875 in der Präfektur Ehime geboren. Nach dem Abschluss an der 3. Hochschule in Kyoto im Jahr 1898 wurde er bei der Osaka Brewery Co. angestellt mit dem Ziel, später Bier - Braumeister in der Firma zu werden. Die Osaka Brewery Co. wollte nicht mehr von ausländischen Braumeistern abhängig sein.
So wurde er 1899 nach Deutschland zum Studium delegiert und er begann in der Fakultät für Landwirtschaft an der Technischen Hochschule in München im Wintersemester 1899/ 1900. Er spezialisierte sich auf das Brauwesen und Braumaschinen und beendete im Sommersemester 1902 sein Studium in München. Bis 1906 blieb er noch zur weiteren Ausbildung in Deutschland, u. a. in Dortmund, Chemnitz und Freising. Im Jahr 1906 kehrte er nach Japan zurück und er wurde der Nachfolger von Wilhelm Schneider.
Er war mit der Dai Nippon Beer Co. über 25 Jahre verbunden und wurde schließlich ihr Präsident. Auch war er im Vorstand von einer Vielzahl von Unternehmen. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg wurde er Präsident der japanischen Industrie- und Handelskammer und war 1951 Minister für Handel und Industrie.
Durch sein Studium in Deutschland hatte er gute Kontakte nach Deutschland und war viele Jahre Vorsitzender der Japanisch-Deutschen Gesellschaft.
- He was born on July 15, 1875 in the prefecture of Ehime. After graduating from the 3rd Higher Schook in Kyoto in 1898, he was employed at the Osaka Brewery Co. with the aim of becoming a beer - brewing master in the company. The Osaka Brewery Co. didn´t want to be dependent any longer on foreign brewing masters.
Thus he was delegated to study in Germany in 1899. He began his studies at the Faculty of Agriculture at the Technical University in Munich in the winter semester of 1899/1990. He majored in brewing and brewing machines and finished his studies in Munich with the summersemester of 1902. Until 1906 he remained in Germany for further studies in Dortmund, Chemnitz and Freising. In 1906 he returned to Japan and succeeded Wilhelm Schneider in the function as brewing master.
He was associated with the Dai Nippon Beer Co. over 25 years and eventually became its president. Also, he was a board member of a variety of companies. After World War II, he became President of the Japanese Chamber of Industry and Commerce, and in 1951 he was appointed Minister of Trade and Industry.
Through his studies in Germany he had good contacts to Germany and for many years was chairman of the Japanese-German Association.


TAKAHASHI Sakue / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1920
TAKAHASHI Shigeru 高橋茂 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1909
TAKAHASHI Yasujirō 高橋綏次郎 / JAP / SA /
TAKAHASHI Yōsuke 高橋養助 / JAP / SA /
TAKAHASHI Yuichi 高橋由一 / JAP / ART / 1828 - 1894
TAKAHASHI Yūji 高橋祐治 / JAP / SA /
TAKAHIRA Kogoro 高平小五郎 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1926
TAKAKI Jinpei 高木甚平 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1905
TAKAKI Kanehiro 高木兼寛 / JAP / SA / 1849 - 1920
TAKAKI Kenji 高木兼二 / JAP / SA / 1881 - 1919
TAKAKI Kurakichi 高木蔵吉 / JAP / SA / 1877 - 1940
TAKAKI Toyozō 高木豊三 / JAP / SA / 1857 - 1909
TAKAKUSU Junjirō 高楠順次郎 / JAP / 1866 - 1945
TAKAMATSU Isamu 高松勇 / JAP / SA /
TAKAMATSU Toyokichi 高松豊吉 / JAP / SA / 1852 - 1937
TAKAMINE Hideo 高嶺秀夫 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1910

TAKAMINE Jōkichi 高峰譲吉

TAKAMURA Kōun / JAP / ART / 1852 - 1934
TAKANASHI Shigenosuke 高梨繁之助 / JAP / SA /
TAKANE Yoshito 高根義人 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1930
TAKANO Iwasaburō [Iwasaburo] 高野岩三郎 / JAP / SA / 1871 - 1949
TAKANO Naokichi 高野直吉 / JAP / SA /
TAKAOKA Kumao 高岡熊雄 / JAP / SA /
TAKASAKI Masakaze 高崎正風 / JAP / ART / 1836 - 1912

TAKASHIMA Kaemon 高島 嘉右衛門 / JAP / BM / * 24.12.1832 - † 16.10.1914
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Unternehmer. Er war ein Mann mit einer Leidenschaft zur Förderung neuer Dinge. Der Sohn eines Dorfvorstehers, hat zeitig sein Elternhaus verlassen und ist nach Edo gegangen, um sein Glück zu versuchen. Er wurde zu einem Pionier bei einer Vielzahl von Projekten, die manchmal unter staatlicher Aufsicht, teilweise in Kooperation mit anderen, manchmal auch auf eigene Kosten, durchgeführt wurden. Er engagierte sich im Bereich Eisenbahnen, in der Landgewinnung, im Bergbau, bei Versorgungsunternehmen und im Bereich Schulwesen. Wegen seines großen Interesses am Eisenbahnprogramm beauftragte ihn die Regierung, einen Teil Land dem Meer zwischen Tokio und Yokohama abzugewinnen, um eine geradlinige Verbindung für die Tokyo-Yokohama Strecke zu ermöglichen. Er beschäftigt über 3.000 Arbeiter an diesem Projekt. In Hokkaidō machte er er eine große Fläche Ödland urbar. Im Jahr 1871 baute er eine Schule für Fremdsprachen für 700 Schüler mit 30.000 ¥ von seinem eigenen Kapital. Er war auch in die Yokohama und Tokyo Gasbeleuchtung involviert, die unter Leitung von Henri Auguste Pelegrin realisiert wurde.

- Entrepreneur. He was a man with a passion for promoting new things. The son of a village headman, he had left his home for Edo to make his fortune. He became a pioneer in a wide range of projects, sometimes under government auspices, sometimes in cooperation with others, sometimes on his own. He was active in railways, land reclamation, mining, utilities, and school building. Because of his deep interest in the railway program, the government appointed him to reclaim part of the sea between Tokyo and Yokohama to permit a straight connection for the Tokyo-Yokohama line. He employed about 3,000 workers on this project. In Hokkaidō he reclaimed a large area of wasteland. In 1871 he built a foreign language school for 700 students with 30,000 yen of his own capital. He was also involved in the Yokohama and Tokyo gas illumination which was realised under the management of Henri Auguste Pelegrin .

TAKASHIMA Tomonosuke 高島鞆之助 / JAP / SA / 1844 - 1916
TAKASU Ken'ichirō 高洲 一郎謙 / JAP / SA / 1869 - 1944

TAKATA Gikō 高田 儀光 [Yoshimitsu] / JAP / SA / (* 02.11.1875 - † ????)
- Er wurde in Tochigi-ken geboren und war buddhistischer Priester. Er kam nach Deutschland und studierte vom Winter-Semester 1908 bis zum Sommer-Semester 1911 Philosophie an der Universität Strassburg.
- He was born in Tochigi-ken and was a Buddhist priest. He came to Germany and studied philosophy from the winter term of 1908 until the summer term of 1911 at the University of Strassbourg.

TAKATA Kamikichi 高田釜吉 / JAP / SA / ENG / (*1876 - † 26.01.1957)
- Sohn von Takata Shinzō; 1892 wurde er zum Studium nach Deutschland gesandt, wo er nach entsprechender Vorbereitung Maschinenbau an der TH Berlin studierte. 1901 beendete er die Schule als Diplom-Ingenieur und kehrt nach Japan zurück. Er beginnt zunächst bei den Shibaura Engineering Works, dann wechselte er zur Tokyo Electric Co. und wird zum stellvertretenden Direktor tech dechnischen Büros berufen. 1909 wird er Vizepräsident der Takata Shōkai Gōshi und 1912 deren Direktor.
- Son of Takata Shinzō; in 1892 he was sent to Germany for further studies and after a corresponding preparation he started with mechanical engineering at the Technical College of Berlin. He graduated from the college as engineer of mechanical engineering in 1901 and returned to Japan. At first he joined Shibaura Engineering Works, then he changed to the Tokyo Electric Co. and becomes Vice-Director of the Technical Services Bureau. He is appointed Vice-President of the Takata Shōkai Gōshi in 1909 and director in 1912.

TAKATA Kōan 高田 畊安 / JAP / SA / MED / 1862 - 1945
- Er setzte im Wintersemester 1911/ 1912 sein Studium der Medizin an der Humboldt-Universität von Berlin fort. Als Specialist für Innere Medizin wurde er Leiter der Tōyō-Klinik und gründete im Herbst 1899 das Nanko-Sanatorium in Chigasaki. Mit dem Tod von Dr. Takata im Februar 1945 wurde das Sanatorium geschlossen. Das ursprüngliche Gebäude existiert immer noch und wurde von seinem Enkel erhalten. Heute ist das Objekt ein privates Pflegeheim für ätere Menschen.
- He continued his studies of medicine at the Humboldt University of Berlin in the winter term of 1911/ 1912. As specialist of Internal Medicine he managed the Tōyō-Hospital and in autumn 1899 established also the Nanko-sanatorium in Chigasaki. Doctor Takata passed away in February 1945, and the sanatorium ceased its role as a hospital. The original building is still existing and it was preserved by his grandson. Presently it is a private care home for elderly people.

TAKATA Seiichi / JAP / SA / 1877-1912
- Hauptmann. Er hatte bis 1907 Maschinenbau an der Universität von Tokyo studiert. Von Dezember 1909 bis 1912 studierte er Maschinenbau an der TH Berlin mit dem Schwerpunkt Militärtechnik.
- Captain. He graduated of mechanical engineering from the University of Tokyo in 1907. From December 1909 to 1912 he studied mechanical engineering at the Technical College of Berlin majoring in military engineering.

TAKATA Shinzō

TAKATSUJI Ryōichi 高辻亮一 / JAP / SA /
TAKATSUKASA Hiromichi 鷹司煕道 / JAP / SA /
TAKATZ, - / P II / UKN / SER /
TAKAYAMA Chogyū [Rinjirō] 高山樗牛 / JAP / JOU / 1871 - 1902
TAKAYAMA Jintarō 高山甚太郎 / JAP / SA / 1855 - 1914
TAKAYAMA Kisai 高山記齋 / JAP / MED / 1850 - 1933
TAKAYAMA Kōsuke see IZUMI Yōsuke
TAKAYAMA Masao 高山正雄 / JAP / SA / 1871 - 1945
TAKAYASU Michishige 高安道生 / JAP / SA /
TAKAYASU Migito 高安右人 / JAP / SA / 1860 - 1938
TAKAYASU Rokurō 高安六郎 / JAP / SA / 1878 - 1959
TAKEBE Tongo 建部遯吾 / JAP / SA / 1871 - 1945
TAKEDA Kijūrō 武田鬼十郎/ JAP / SA /
TAKEDA Kunimatsu 武田都松 / JAP / SA /
TAKEDA Ryōgo 武田良吾 / JAP / SA / 1870 - 1957
TAKEMURA Kiyoshi 竹村清 / JAP / SA /
TAKEMURA Masaru 竹村正 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1934
TAKEMURA Yasuji 竹村易二 / JAP / SA / 1861 - 1929
TAKENAKA Shigejirō 竹中繁次郎 / JAP / SA /
TAKENO Yoshijirō 竹野芳次郎 / JAP / SA /
TAKEOKA Minokichi 竹岡峰吉 / JAP / SA /
TAKESHIMA Tsutomu 武島務 / JAP / SA / 1863 - 1890
TAKEUCHI Daisō 武内大造 / JAP / SA /
TAKEUCHI Seihō 竹内栖鳳 / JAP / ART / 1864 - 1942
TAKEUCHI Sueichi 武内季一 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1936
TAKEYAMA Masao 武山正夫 / JAP / SA / 1873 - 1936

TAKI Rentarō 瀧 廉太郎

TAKIGUCHI Kinji 滝口金治 / JAP / SA /
TAKIKAWA Tomokazu 滝川具和 / JAP / SA /
TAKIMOTO Yoshio 滝本美夫 / JAP / SA /
TAKIYAMA Hitoshi 滝山與 / JAP / SA / 1877 - 1945
TAMAHASHI Ichizō 玉橋市三 / JAP / SA /
TAMAI Kisaku 玉井喜作 / JAP / SA / 1866 - 1906
TAMAKI Han’emon 玉置半右衛門 / JAP / BM / 1838 - 1910
TAMANO Ichikuma 玉乃一熊 / JAP / SA /
TAMARU Setsurō 田丸節郎 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1944
TAMARU Takurō / JAP / SA / 1872 - 1930
TAMBA Keizō [Keizo] 丹波敬三 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1927
TAMURA Iyozō 田村怡与造 / JAP / SA /
TAMURA Morie 田村守衛 / JAP / SA /
TAMURA Okinosuke 田村沖之甫 / JAP / SA /
TAMURA Rishichi 田村利七 / JAP / BM / 1848 - 1911
TAMURA Rokusaburō 田村六三郎 / JAP / SA /
TANABE Gisaburō 田辺義三郎 / JAP / SA /
TANABE Kaoru 田部芳 / JAP / SA /
TANABE Sakuro / JAP / ENG /
TANAHASHI Gentarō / JAP / SA /
TANAKA Fujimaro 田中不二麿 / JAP / POL / 1845 - 1909
TANAKA Gentarō 田中源太郎 / JAP / BM / 1853 - 1922
TANAKA Giichi 田中義一 / JAP / SA / 1864 - 1929
TANAKA Kamakichi / JAP / SA /
TANAKA Kenzaburō 田中建三郎 / JAP / POL / 1845 - 1908
TANAKA Kiichi 田中喜市 / JAP / SA /
TANAKA Kōkichi / JAP / SA /
TANAKA Kōtarō 田中弘太郎 / JAP / SA /
TANAKA Masahiko 田中政彦 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1952
TANAKA Masuzu 田中正鐸 / JAP / SA /
TANAKA Naetarō 田中苗太郎 / JAP / SA / 1869 - 1910
TANAKA Setsusaburō 田中節三郎 / JAP / SA / 1865 - 1903
TANAKA Shōhei [Shohei] 田中正平 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1945
TANAKA Suiichirō 田中萃一郎 / JAP / SA / l872 - 1923
TANAKA Takehiko 田中凜彦 / JAP / SA / 1873 - 1923
TANAKA Yoshinari 田中義成 / JAP / SC / 1860 - 1919
TANAKA Yūsaburō 田中祐三郎 / JAP / BM / 1856 - 1911

TANAKADATE Aikitsu 田中舘愛橘

TANBA Keizō 丹波敬三 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1927
TANI Seiya 谷静也 / JAP / SA /
TANI Takasaburō 谷高三郎 / JAP / SA /
TANI Tateki 谷干城 / JAP / MIL / 1837 - 1911
TANIDA Shigetarō 谷田繁太郎 / JAP / SA /
TANIE Takeshi / JAP / SA /
TANIGUCHI Enjirō 谷口園次郎 / JAP / SA /
TANIGUCHI Ken 谷口謙 / JAP / SA / 1856 - 1929
TANIGUCHI Kichitarō 谷口吉太郎 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1936
TANIGUCHI Nagao 谷口長雄 / JAP / SA / 1865 - 1920
TANIMORI Yoshiomi 谷森善臣 / JAP / ED / 1817 - 1911
TANIMOTO Tomeri 谷本富 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1946
TANJI Zenzō 丹治善造 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1941
TANŌ Eiichirō 多納栄一郎 / JAP / SA /
TANŌ Kaichirō 多納禾一郎 / JAP / SA /
TASAKA Toranosuke 田坂虎之助 / JAP / SA /
TASHIRO Akitarō 田代秋太郎 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1908
TASHIRO Masashi 田代正 / JAP / SA / 1860 - 1918
TASHIRO Mitsuo 田代光雄 / JAP / SA /
TASHIRO Yasusada 田代安定 / JAP / SA / 1856 - 1928
TASHIRO Yoshinori 田代義徳 / JAP / SA / 1864 - 1938

TATEISHI Onojirō 立石 斧次郎

TATEISHI Sajirō 立石佐次郎 / JAP / SA /

TATSUMI Hajime 辰巳 ー

TATSUNO Kingo 辰野金吾

TAWARA Kuniichi 俵國一 / JAP / SA /

TAWARA Sunao 田原淳

TAWARAYA Takashichi 俵谷高七

TAZAWA Keiyo 田沢敬輿 / JAP / SA /
TAZAWA Masakoto / JAP / SA / 1864 - 1915
TERADA Orio 寺田織尾 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1931
TERADA Torahiko 寺田寅彦 / JAP / SA / 1878 - 1935
TERAHARA Osateru 寺原長輝 / JAP / MIL /
TERAHARA Otora / JAP / SA /
TERANO Kanji 寺野寛二 / JAP / SA / 1880 - 1951
TERAO Kunihei 寺尾国平 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1908
TERAO Motohiko 寺尾元彦 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1942
TERASHIMA Munenori [TERAJIMA] 寺島宗則 / JAP / POL / 1832 - 1893
TERAUCHI Hisaichi 寺内寿一 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1946

TERAUCHI Masatake 寺内正毅

TEREJIMA Naoshi 寺島直 / JAP / L / 1837 - 1910
TERUUCHI Yutaka 照内 豊 / JAP / SA / 1873 - 1936
TETSUKA Zen 手塚善 / JAP / SA / 1883 - 1951
TODA Kaiichi 戸田海一 / JAP / SA / 1872 - 1924
TODA Shōzō 戸田正三 / JAP / SA / 1885 - 1961
TODA Yasuhiro 戸田康泰 / JAP / SA /
TŌDŌ Shirō [TODO] 藤堂紫朗 / JAP / POL / 1858 - 1909
TOGAWA Shūkotsu 戸川秋骨 / JAP / ED / 1870 - 1939

TŌGŌ Heihachirō [TOGO]

TOGŌ Masamichi 東郷正路 / JAP / SA / 1852 - 1906
TŌJŌ Hidenori [TOJO] 東条英教 / JAP / SA / 1855 - 1913
TOKISHIGE Hatsukuma 時重初熊 / JAP / SA / 1859 - 1913
TOKITŌ Kazuhiko [TOKITO] 時任一彦 / JAP / SA / 1871 - 1957
TOKIWAI Tsurumatsu 常盤井尭猷 / JAP / SA / 1872 - 1951
TOKUDAIJI Sanetsune徳大寺実則 / JAP / POL / 1840 - 1919
TOKUGAWA Akitake 徳川昭武 / JAP / POL / 1853 - 1910

TOKUGAWA Iesato 徳川家達

TOKUGAWA Yoshinobu 徳川慶喜

TOKUGAWA Yoshitoshi 徳川好敏

TOKUNAGA Kumao 徳永熊尾 / JAP / SA / 1873 - 1946
TOKUNŌ Michimasa [TOKUNO] / JAP / ENG / 1852 - 1913
TOKUNŌ Ryōsuke / JAP / ENG / 1825 - 1883
TOKUTOMI Sohō 徳富蘇峰 / JAP / ART / 1863 - 1957
TOMII Masaaki 富井政章 / JAP / SA / 1838 - 1933
TOMINOYA Seitarō [Seitaro] 富谷鉎太郎 / JAP / SA / 1856 - 1936
TOMIOKA Tessai 富岡鉄斎 / JAP / ART / 1836 - 1924
TOMITA Chūtarō 富田忠太郎 / JAP / SA / 1869 - 1941
TOMITA Sanju 富田山壽 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1916
TOMITA Tarō 富田太郎 / JAP / SA /
TOMITA Tetsunosuke 富田鐵之助 / JAP / SA / 1835 - 1916
TOMITANI Seitarō 富谷鉦太郎 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1936
TOMODA Chinzō 友田鎮三 / JAP / SA /
TOMOEDA Takahiko 友枝高彦 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1957
TOMONAGA Sanjūrō 朝永三十郎 / JAP / SA / 1871 - 1951
TOMONO Hiroshi 伴野広 / JAP / SA /

TORII Ryūzō

TORII Seiya / JAP / SA /
TORII Shun'yō 鳥居春洋 / JAP / SA /
TORII Teruo 鳥居輝雄 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1928
TORIO Koyata / JAP / MIL / 1847 - 1905
TORIYAMA Nasujirō 鳥山南寿 / JAP / SA /
TOTSUKA Fumio 戸塚文雄 / JAP / SA /
TOTSUKA Kankai 戸塚環海 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1932
TOTSUKA Kenzō / JAP / SA /
TOTSUKA Kichi 戸塚機知 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1910
TOTSUKA Kichi 戸塚機知 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1910
TOTSUKA Ryūsaburō 戸塚隆三郎 / JAP / SA /
TŌYAMA Ineko 遠山稲子 / JAP / ART / 1874 - 1912
TOYOBE, Shinsaku 豊辺新作 / JAP / SA /
TOYONAGA Masato 豊永真里 / JAP / SA /
TOYOZUMI Hidehito 豊住秀人 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1909
TSUBOI Jirō 坪井二郎 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1903
TSUBOI Kumezō [Kumezo] 坪井九馬三 / JAP / SA / 1858 - 1936
TSUBOUCHI Shōyō 坪内逍遥 / JAP / ART / 1859 - 1935
TSUCHIDA Usaburō 土田卯三郎 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1932
TSUCHII Rinkichi 土井林吉 / JAP / SA /
TSUCHIYA Iwaho 土屋岩保 / JAP / SA / 1874 - 1928
TSUCHIYA Mitsuharu土屋光春 / JAP / SA / 1848 - 1920
TSUDA Izuru / JAP / MIL / 1832 - 1902
TSUDA Kichinosuke 津田吉之助 / JAP / ENG / 1827 - 1890
TSUDA Saburō 津田三郎 / JAP / SA /
TSUDA Sōkichi 津田左右吉 / JAP / ART / 1873 - 1961

TSUDA Umeko 津田梅子

TSUGARU Fusamaro 津軽英麿 / JAP / SA / 1869 - 1919
TSUGE Munesada 拓植宗貞 / JAP / SA /
TSUJI Harujūrō 辻春十郎 / JAP / SA /
TSUJI Kanji 辻寛治 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1960
TSUJI Takahira 辻高衡 / JAP / SA / 1869 - 1929
TSUJI Takatoshi 辻高俊 / JAP / SA /
TSUJI Zennosuke 辻善之助 / JAP / SA / 1877 - 1955
TSUJIMURA Kusuzō 辻村楠造 / JAP / SA /
TSUJIMURA Sadayoshi 辻村貞義 / JAP / SA /
TSUKAGUCHI Risaburō 塚口利三郎 / JAP / SA / 1878 - 1937
TSUKAHARA Masatsugu 塚原政次 / JAP / SA / 1872 - 1946
TSUKIYAMA Kiichi 築山揆一 / JAP / SA /
TSUKUDŌ Jirō 筑士次郎 / JAP / SA /
TSUMAKI Yorinaka 妻木頼黄 / JAP / SA / 1860 - 1916
TSUMURA Hidematsu 津村秀松 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1939
TSUNEOKA Ryōzō 常岡良三 / JAP / SA / 1879 - 1947
TSUNEYOSHI Tadamichi 恒吉忠通 / JAP / SA /
TSUNO Kazusuke 津野一輔 / JAP / SA /
TSUNO Keitarō 津野慶太郎 / JAP / SA / 1863 - 1939
TSUNODA Takashi 角田隆 / JAP / SA / 1875 - 1970
TSURUMAKI Tsuruichi 鶴巻鶴一 / JAP / SA /
TSURUSAKI Hanji 鶴崎範治 / JAP / SA /
TSURUTA Kenji 鶴田賢次 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1918
TSURUTA Kiichi 鶴田揆一 / JAP / SA /
TSURUTA Teijirō 鶴田禎次郎 / JAP / SA / 1865 - 1939
TSUTSUI Hidejirō 筒井秀次郎 / JAP / SA / 1866 - 1919
TSUTSUI Masao 筒井正雄 / JAP / SA /
TSUTSUMI Atsumu 堤聚 / JAP / SA /
TSUZUKI Jinnosuke 都築甚之助 / JAP / SA / 1869 - 1933
TSUZUKI Keiroku 都築馨六 / JAP / SA / 1861 - 1923
TSUZUKI Munemasa 都筑宗昌 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1929
- T -    
TAKAGI
Saburō
高木 三郎
1841 – 1909



08.02.1841 in Tokyo
28.03.1909

Er wurde in Tokyo als Sohn eines samurai des Shōnai han geboren. 1859 wurde er in der Marine-Schifffahrtsschule aufgenommen, danach studierte er in den USA. 1871 wurde er Sekretär der Japanischen Gesandtschaft in den USA. Als stellvertretender Gesandter spielte er eine aktive Rolle beim Abschluß des Postvertrages zwischen den USA und Japan als gleichberechtigten Partner, insbesondere durch die Unterstützung von S. M. Bryan. Ab 1874 war er Vize-Konsul im japanischen Konsulat in San Francisco, quittierte jedoch 1880 seinen Dienst im Außenministerium. Danach wurde er Direktor der Yokohama Doshin Co., die japanische Seide exportierte. Für die folgenden fast 30 Jahre arbeitete er für eine Markterweiterung und Verbesserung der Seidenraupenzucht und das Haspeln der Seide.
08.02.1841 in Tokyo
28.03.1909

He was born in Tokyo, son of a Shōnai han samurai. In 1859, he entered the Warship Navigation Institute. Later he went to the United States to study. In 1871, he became secretary of the Japanese legation in the USA. When he was provisional deputy minister, he played an active part in concluding the postal treaty on equal terms between the United States and Japan, especially by the assistance of S. M. Bryan. From 1874 he was Vice Consul in the Consulate of Japan in San Francisco, but he retired from the Foreign Ministry in 1880. Later, he became director of the Yokohama Doshin Company, exporting Japanese silk, and for the next thirty years he worked at finding new markets and to improving sericulture and silk-reeling.
___
/ JAP / SA / DIP + BM /
TAKAHASHI
Korekiyo
高橋是清
1854 – 1936























19.09.1854 in Tokyo
26.02.1936 in Tokyo

Er wurde in Tokyo geboren und von einem Sendai samurai adoptiert, studierte Englisch an der Privatschule von James Curtis Hepburn in Yokohama (1864) und war anschließend für zwei Jahre bei Alexander A. Shand ab 1866 tätig. Ende 1867 ging er nach Oakland/ USA, wo er wie ein Sklave auf einem Weinberg arbeiten mußte, als Entschädigung für eine Unterschlagung, aber er studierte auch. Ende 1868 kehrte er nach Japan zurück, wurde Lehrerassistent und später Englisch-Lehrer in Tokyo. Ab Juli 1873 war er für Dr. David Murray, Berater im Ministerium für Erziehung, als Dolmetscher tätig. In diesem Ministerium war er bis 1881 tätig und wechselte dann zum Ministerium für Landwirtschaft und Handel. Er war noch keine 30 Jahre, als er zum Leiter des Amtes für Warenzeichen ernannt wurde. Er gilt als Begründer des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes in Japan. Nach Vorarbeiten Takahashis, bei denen er vor allem das französische und das amerikanische Patentrecht berücksichtigte, wurde am 18.04.1885 das Monopolpatentstatut verkündet. Die unerwartet hohe Zahl der Patentanmeldungen beschleunigte die Reformarbeiten. Schon im November 1885 wurde Takahashi ins Ausland entsandt, um den gewerblichen Rechtsschutz in den USA, England, Frankreich und Deutschland zu studieren; die meiste Zeit verbrachte er in Amerika. Nach dem Ausscheiden aus diesem Amt 1889 begann er eine neue Karriere im Bankwesen. 1892 wurde er in der Bank of Japan tätig, 1899 wurde er Vize-Präsident. Er nutzte geschickt ausländische Anleihen zur Geldbeschaffung für den Russisch-Japanischen Krieg, war als Präsident der Yokohama Shōkin Bank und anderer Posten tätig, als er 1911 Präsident der Bank of Japan wurde. Später hatte er wichtige Positionen inne, wie Finanzminister, Präsident der Seiyūkai (Partei der Freunde einer konstitutionellen Regierung), und 1921 Premierminister und nachfolgend Minister für Landwirtschaft und Handel und erneut Finanzminister. Da seine Politik die Kontrolle der Militärausgaben beinhaltete und so gegen das Militär opponierte, wurde er beim Staatsstreich vom 26. Februar 1936 ermordet.

siehe auch Chronologie 18.04.1885
19.09.1854 in Tokyo
26.02.1936 in Tokyo

He was born in Tokyo and adopted by a Sendai samurai. He studied English at the private school of James Curtis Hepburn in Yokohama (1864) and from 1866 he was occupied by Alexander A. Shand for two years. At the end of 1867 he had to go to Oakland/ USA to work in a vineyard like a slave as amends for his emmbezzlement but also studied, too. At the end of 1868 he returned to Japan and became a third-class teacher assistant and later Englsih teacher in Tokyo. From July 1873 he worked as interpreter for Dr. David Murray, supervisor of the Ministry of Education. In this Ministry he was employed until 1881 when he left it for the Ministry of Agriculture and Commerce. He was not yet 30 when he became the first head of the trademark office.
He is regarded as the founder of the industrial property-rights system in Japan. After preparatory works of Takahashi based on the French and US patent laws the Monopoly Patent Regulations had been announced on 18.04.1885. The unexpectedly high number of patent applications accelerated the reform work. Takahashi was sent abroad in November 1885 to study the industrial property-right in the USA, England, France and Germany; he spent most time in America.
After leaving that office in 1889, he began a new career in banking.
In 1892, he entered the Bank of Japan, and in 1899 became its vice-president. He displayed his skill in the flotation of foreign loans for raising funds for the Russo-Japanese War, and after serving as president of the Yokohama Shōkin Bank and other posts, he became the president of the Bank of Japan in 1911. He successively held important political posts such as finance minister in the first Yamamoto and Hara cabinets, president of the Seiyūkai (Friends of Constitutional Government Party), and in 1921, he became prime minister. Later, he successively held ministerial posts such as minister of agriculture and commerce, and again finance minister. As his policy was to control military expenditure, he opposed the military and was assassinated in the February Incident of 1936.

see also Chronology 18.04.1885
___
/ JAP / SA / POL /
TAKAMINE
Jōkichi
高峰譲吉
1854 - 1922

[Jokichi]




Für Vergrößerung klicken
Takamine mit der chemischen Struktur von Adrenalin.
Takamine with the chemical structure of adrenaline.

03.11.1854 in Takaoka, Toyama-ken
22.07.1922 in New York

Dr., Biochemiker; er war der älteste Sohn von Takamine Seiichi, ein Arzt wie viele seiner Vorfahren. Jōkichi begann 1865 seine Studien in Nagasaki, er begann schon früh englisch zu lernen und besuchte Schulen in Kyoto und Osaka, wo er unter anderem auch bei dem deutschen Chemiker Hermann Ritter studierte. 1879 beendete er sein Studium an der Universität von Tokyo, Fakultät für Wissenschaft und Technik. Zu der Zeit wurde er als einer von 12 Studenten von der japanischen Regierung ausgewählt, um seine Studien in Schottland an der Universität von Glasgow und am Anderson College fortzusetzen. 1883 kehrte er nach Japan zurück und begann im Ministerium für Landwirtschaft und Handel zu arbeiten. 1884 reiste er zum ersten Mal in die USA, wo er seine zukünftige Frau Caroline Field Hitch kennenlernte. Sie heirateten 1884 und hatten zwei Kinder. Die Familie zog nach Japan und er arbeitete weiter für die Regierung. 1886 wurde er Direktor des Patentamtes und 1887 Leiter des chemischen Bereiches im Ministerium für Landwirtschaft und Handel. 1888 gründete er in Tokyo seine eigene Firma zur Herstellung von Kunstdünger, wo er später auch ein wirksames, stärkeabbauendes Enzym, genannt Takadiastase, aus einem Pilz entwickelte und als Mittel für eine Verdauung vermarktete. 1894 zog er dauerhaft nach New York. Er gründete ein privates Forschungslabor und genehmigte Parke, Davis & Co. die kommerzielle Produktion von Takadiastase. 1901 isolierte und veredelte er in seinem Labor das Hormon Adrenalin und er war der Erste, der ein Drüsenhormon daraus entwickelte. - Er lebte sowohl in den USA als auch in Japan und er realisierte in beiden Ländern bedeutende wissenschaftliche Erfolge. Mit Hilfe seiner Frau Caroline förderte er maßgeblich die freundschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen Japan und den USA.
03.11.1854 in Takaoka, Toyama-ken
22.07.1922 in New York

Dr., Biochemist; he was the eldest son of Takamine Seiichi, a physician like many of his ancestors. Jōkichi began his studies in Nagasaki in 1865, learned English at an early age and attended schools in Kyoto and Osaka where he also studied under the German chemist Hermann Ritter. He graduated from the college of science and engineering at the University of Tokyo in 1879. That year the Japanese government selected Takamine as one of 12 scholars to pursue graduate studies in Scotland at Glasgow University and at Anderson College.
He returned to Japan in 1883 and joined the Ministry of Agriculture and Commerce.
In 1884 he made his first trip to the USA where he met his future wife, Caroline Field Hitch. They married in 1884 and had two children. The family moved to Japan, and Takamine continued to work for the government. In 1886 he was appointed director of the Patent Office and in 1887 he became chief of the division of chemistry in the Ministry of Agriculture and Commerce.
In 1888 he founded his own company, the Tokyo Artificial Fertilizer Company, where he later isolated a powerful starchdigesting enzyme, Takadiastase, from a fungus and marketed as a remedy for indigestion. In 1894 he moved permanently to USA, settling in New York City. He opened his own private research laboratory and allowed Parke, Davis & Co. to produce Takadiastase commercially.
In 1901 he isolated and purified the hormone adrenalin in his laboratory, becoming the first person to accomplish this for a glandular hormone.
Throughout the rest of his life he travelled between the USA and Japan and made significant scientific contributions in both countries.
With the help of his wife, Caroline, he did much to promote amicable Japanese-American relations.
___
/ JAP / SA / SC /
TAKATA
Shinzō
高田 愼藏
1852 – 1921


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Takata & Co. in Tokyo

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Takata & Co. - Osaka

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Takata Shinzō
1852 in Aikawa, heute Niigata-ken, Japan
26.12.1921 in Tokyo

Er war der Sohn von Amano Magotarō und wurde in die Familie Takata adoptiert. Mit 14 Jahren beginnt er als Büro-Angestellter im Sekretariat des Gerichts von Sado; 1868 gehörte er zu einem Komitee, um den englischen Gesandten Sir Henry Parkes in Sado zu empfangen. Er hatte englisch gelernt und wurde Übersetzer im Verwaltungsbüro von Sado. Takata zieht es später nach Tokyo, wo er Ende 1870 bei der Firma H. Ahrens & Co. als Lehrling und Ladengehilfe zu arbeiten begann. Er erwirbt sich das Vertrauen seiner Chefs und erledigt neben anderen Arbeiten allmählich die Geschäfte der Firma mit der japanischen Regierung.
Bereits 1878 traten Differenzen zwischen M. M. Bair und H. Ahrens auf. Sie trennten sich, Bair & Co. wurde gegründet und er hält an Geschäften mit der japanischen Regierung fest und Takata Shinzō wird aus diesem Grund auch übernommen.
1880 veranlaßte Sanjō Sanetomi, dass ausländische Waren nur noch bei japanischen Kaufleuten bestellt werden können. Damit waren die direkten Geschäfte mit der japanischen Regierung beendet und für Bair & Co. bedeutete das das Ende. Seine Firma wird im Frühjahr 1881 aufgelöst und Bair überträgt seine geschäftlichen Rechte auf Takata Shinzō, der Takata & Co. [Takata Shōkai] gründete.
Takata übernahm den Engländer J. K. Scott, vormaliger Teilhaber bei Bair & Co., als Gesellschafter und auch H. Ahrens hatte eine stille Beteiligung. Ahrens & Co. übernahm die Vertretung für Takata & Co. in Europa vom Londoner Büro.
Nach dem Tod der beiden nicht-japanischen Partner Ahrens (l886) und Scott (1888) gelang es Takata, die Firma als unabhängiges Unternehmen weiterzuführen. Er verwendete aber häufig deutsche und englische Angestellte in führenden Positionen, wie z. B. Ahren's Schwager Alexander Georg Mosle, der das Regierungsgeschäft bearbeitete, oder E. Schaeffer, der zeitweise die Vertretung in London führte. Takata·spezialisierte·sich auf den Import von Maschinen, Ausrüstungen und elektrischen Anlagen. Der Hauptsitz war in Eiraku-cho, Ni-chome, Kojimachi-ku, Tokyo, das Haupgebäude wurde von Joshiah Conder gebaut; Filialen wurden errrichtet in Osaka, London, New York, Shanghai, Hankow, Yokohama, Kobe, Moji, etc.
Takata & Co. entwickelte sich neben Mitsui Bussan und Ōkura & Co. zu einem der drei größten japanischen Export-Import-Unternehmen. Die Firma erlitt jedoch während des großen Kantō-Erdbebens 1923 große Schäden, die schließlich 1925 zur Schließung führten.
Takato Shinzō adoptierte die Tochter von M. M. Bair, als dieser nach DE zurückkehrte und sie erhielt den Namen Takata Teruko, die Harada Toyokichi heiratete. Zwei seiner Söhne, Kamakichi und Nobujirō, wurden ab 1909 Teilhaber bei Takata & Co.; Takata Kamakichi studierte in DE und wurde Vize-Präsident.
Takata Shinzō ging 1919 in den Ruhestand. Er wurde 1921 auf dem Yanaka-Friedhof von Tokyo beigesetzt.
1852 in Aikawa, today Niigata-ken, Japan
26.12.1921 in Tokyo

He was born as son of Amano Magotarō but adopted by the Takata family. At the age of 14 he became an office clerk in the secretary of the Sado magistrate. In 1868 he was part of a committee to welcome the British Envoy Extraordinary Sir Henry Parkes in Sado. Shinzō had studied English and became a translator in the administration of Sado.
Later, Takata moved to Tokyo and at the end of 1870 he started to work for the company H. Ahrens & Co. as apprentice and shop assistant. He wins the confidence of his chiefs and among other jobs he took over gradually the business of the company with the Japanese government.
Differences between M. M. Bair and H. Ahrens appeared already in 1878. They parted, Bair & Co. was established and he kept on following his business with the Japanese government and for this reason he also took over Takata Shinzō.
In 1880 Sanjō Sanetomi disposed foreign goods to be ordered only through Japanese merchants. By this regulation the direct business of foreign merchants with the Japanese government was ceased and this meant the economical end for Bair & Co. His company was dissolved in spring 1881 and Bair assigned all his commercial rights to Takata Shinzō who established Takata & Co. [Takata Shōkai].
Takata incorporated the Englishman J. K. Scott, former partner of Bair & Co., as associate and also H. Ahrens became a silent partner. The branch office of H. Ahrens & Co. in London represented Takata & Co. in Europe.
After the death of the two non-Japanese partners Ahrens (1886) and Scott (1888) Takata succeeded in developing his company to an independent enterprise. However, he used frequently German and English employees in leading positions, such as Ahren's brother-in-law Alexander Georg Mosle, being engaged in the government business, or E. Schaeffer who led the representation in London occasionally. Takata was specialized in the import of machines, equipments, and electrical plants. The headquarter was located in Tokyo at Eiraku-cho, Ni-chome, Kojimachi-ku, the main seat building was constructed by Joshiah Conder; branch offices had been set up in Osaka, London, New York, Shanghai, Hankow, Yokohama, Kobe, Moji etc..
Besides Mitsui Bussan und Ōkura & Co., Takata & Co. developed to one of the three largest Japanese export-import companies. The company suffered, however, in September 1923 great damages during the Great Kantō Earthquake eventually leading to the shutdown in 1925.
Takato Shinzō adopted the daughter of M. M. Bair when he returned to Germany and she was named Takata Teruko and Harada Toyokichi married her. From 1909 on two of his sons, Kamakichi and Nobujirō, were incorporated as partners at Takata & Co. Takata Kamakichi studied in Germany and was appointed Vice-president.
Takata Shinzō retired in 1919.
He was buried in the Yanaka cemetery of Tokyo in 1921.
___
/ JAP / BM /
TAKI
Rentarō
瀧 廉太郎
1879 - 1903

[Rentaro]


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Markenausgabe vom 29.08.1979 anläßlich seines 100. Geburtstages.
Stamp issued on August 29, 1979 commemorating Taki Rentarō's 100th anniversary of birth.










siehe auch - see also
Das japanische Gedächtnis














24.08.1879 in Tokyo, Japan
29.06.1903 in Ōita, Japan

Pianist und Komponist. Sohn von Taki Yoshihiro, ein Beamter im Staatsdienst, der von Kanagawa nach Toyama, Tokyo und Ōita umziehen musste, als Rentarō noch jung war. Er schloss die Ausbildung an der höheren Grundschule 1894 in Taketa, Ōita-ken ab und besuchte dann die Musikschule in Tokyo (Tokyo Ongaku Gakkō - heute: Tokyo Geijutsu Daigaku - Tokyo University of Arts), wo er die schwierigsten Piano- und Kompositions-Aufgaben meisterte. 1898 schloss er die Schule ab. Er wurde Mitarbeiter der Musikschule, 1901 aber an das Konservatorium von Leipzig zur Weiterführung seiner Ausbildung delegiert. Er begann im April 1901 seine Studien, u. a. bei Prof. Teichmüller (Piano), erkrankte aber bald ernsthaft an Lungen-Tuberkulose und war gezwungen, im August 1902 wieder nach Japan zurückzukehren (siehe auch Postkarte an ihn weiter unten). Er ging nach Ōita-shi, wo sein Vater lebte, und wo er im frühen Alter von 23 Jahren verstarb.
Man sagt, eine große Anzahl seiner Werke wurde nach seinem Tod aufgrund seiner Tuberkulose verbrannt.
Er wurde im Manju-ji (Tempel) in Ōita-shi, Ōita-ken beigesetzt.
Kōjō no Tsuki ist eines seiner berühmten Werke, es wurde auch eine entsprechende Briefmarke herausgegeben. Kōjō no Tsuki - Mond über der Schloßruine - vermutlich hatte der Komponist das Oka-Schloss in Erinnerung.

Obwohl er so jung starb, ist er noch heute in Japan hoch verehrt, eine Reihe von Denkmäler zeugen davon, z. B. im Ueno- und Sumida-Park in Tokyo, in Taketa vor der Burg und im Ort, etc.
Aber auch die Stadt Leipzig widmete ihm ein Denkmal. Die Bronze-Stele mit Relief des Komponisten und den Umrissen seines Wohnhauses in Leipzig ist ca. 1,80 m hoch. Er wohnte damals in der Ferdinand-Rhode-Straße 7, das Haus wurde im Krieg zerstört. An dieser Stelle befindet sich heute auch das Denkmal.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Denkmal in Leipzig


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte aus Nagasaki vom 01.01.1902, Transit Yokohama 08.01.1902, mit Neujahrsgrüßen an "K." TAKI. Warum der Schreiber ihn "K." nennt, kann nicht nachvollzogen werden. Der Empfänger ist aber eindeutig Taki Rentarō, da die Strasse und auch der Vermieter Frau Essigke korrekt sind.
Möglicherweise aber hat er die Karte nie gesehen! Als die Karte ankam, war Taki Rentarō zwar noch in Leipzig, er lag aber seit dem 02.12.1901 bis zu seiner Rückreise im Sommer 1902 im St. Jakob Krankenhaus in Leipzig. Am 09.07.1902 erhielt er den Befehl des Monbushō zur Rückkehr und am 24.08.1902, seinem 23. Geburtstag, schiffte er sich in Antwerpen ein.
Als Absender kommen nur zwei enge Freunde von ihm in Frage:
鈴木 毅一 SUZUKI Kiichi (Kommilitone an der Musikhochschule Tokyo; ab 1900 Lehrer)
佐久 間竹捕 – SAKUMA Chikuho (Mitschüler aus der Volksschulzeit, später Maler)

24.08.1879 in Tokyo, Japan
29.06.1903 in Ōita, Japan

Pianist and Composer. Son of Taki Yoshihiro, a civil service official who was transferred from Kanagawa to Toyama to Tokyo and to Ōita-ken as his son grew up.
The boy completed his basic education at the Higher Elementary School in the town of Taketa, Ōita-ken in 1894, and then entered Tokyo School of Music (Tokyo Ongaku Gakkō - today: Tokyo Geijutsu Daigaku - Tokyo University of Arts), where he made the highest grades in composition and piano, and graduated in 1898. He joined the staff of the music school, and in 1901 was sent to the Conservatory of Leipzig, Germany for advanced study. He started his studies in April 1901, among others with Prof. Teichmueller (piano), but soon after he fell seriously ill with tuberculosis of the lungs and was forced to return to Japan in August 1902 (see also postcard addressed to him below).
He went back to his father's home town, Ōita-shi, and died there at the early age of 23.
It is said that a large number of his works was burnt up posthumously due to his disease of tuberculosis.
He was buried in the Manju-ji (Tempel) in Ōita-shi, Ōita-ken.

Kōjō no Tsuki is one of his famous pieces and a corresponding stamp was released.
Kōjō no Tsuki - Moon over the Castle Ruins - presumably means that he composed the song with the Oka Castle at Taketa in mind.
Although he died so young, he is still highly admired today in Japan, demonstrated by several monuments, e. g. in the Ueno and Sumida parks in Tokyo, in Taketa at the Oka castle and in the city, etc. Also the City of Leipzig dedicated a monument to him. The bronze stele with relief of the composer and the outlines of his residential building in Leipzig is about 1.80 m high. He lived then in the Ferdinand-Rhode-Street 7, the house was destroyed during the war. At this place the monument is located now.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Denkmal in Taketa


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postcard from Nagasaki posted on January 1, 1902, transit Yokohama January 8, 1902, with New Year greetings to "K." TAKI. Why the writer named him with "K." can not be traced. The addressee, however, is definite Taki Rentarō, as the street and the landlord Mrs. Essigke are correct.
Possibly he had never seen the card! When the card arrived, Taki Rentarō was still in Leipzig, but he stayed in the St. Jakob Hospital of Leipzig since December 2, 1901 up to his return in the summer of 1902. On July 9, 1902, he received the command of the Monbushō to return and on August 24, 1902, his 23rd birthday, he embarked in Antwerp.
As for the sender, only two close friends are possible:
铃木 毅 一 SUZUKI Kiichi (fellow student at the College of Music Tokyo; as of 1900 teacher)
佐 久 间 竹 捕 - SAKUMA Chikuho (classmate of the elementary school, later painter)

___
/ JAP / SA / ART /
TANAKADATE
Aikitsu
田中舘愛橘
1856 – 1952

[Aikitu]


Für Vergrößerung klicken



Ausgabe vom 30.10.1949 -
50 Jahre Breitengrad-Observatorium von Mizusawa
Issue of 30.10.1849 -
50th Anniversary of Mizusawa Latitude Observatory

16.10.1856 in Ninohe, Iwate-ken
21.05.1952 in Tokyo

Geophysiker und Seismologe; er studierte Physik an der Universität von Tokyo und hatte Vorlesungen bei James Alfred Ewing und T. Mendenhall, später auch bei Cargill G. Knott und er half auch bei den Gravitationsmessungen auf dem Mt. Fuji. Er beendete die Ausbildung 1882, blieb aber als Assistenzprofessor an der Universität. Von 1888 bis 1890 studierte er an der Universität von Glasgow bei Kelvin insbesondere den Elektromagnetismus und führte weiterreichende Forschungen auf diesem Gebiet an der Berliner Universität vom Sommersemester 1890 bis 1891. Nach seiner Rückkehr über die USA Ende 1891 arbeitete er als Professor und Direktor des physikalischen Instituts an der Universität Tokyo, wo er bis 1916 tätig war.
Er war ein Verfechter der Notwendigkeit zur Erforschung von Erdbeben und wurde Mitglied des Erdbebenwarn-Komitees, das erste seiner Art in Japan, gegründet 1892.
Er gründete im Jahr 1899 das Breitengrad-Observatorium von Mizusawa.
Er wurde 1924 lebenslanges Mitglied im House of Peers, war Direktor der japanischen Luftfahrt-Gesellschaft und Mitglied der Akademie (Gakushiin) Japans.
Als Leiter der Gesellschaft zur Romanisierung der japanischen Sprache propagierte er stark die Einführung des römischen Alphabetes in die japanische Sprache, im Markenmotiv symbolisiert durch eine westliche Schreibmaschine. Publikationen: Measurement of the force of gravity and magnetic constants at Ogasawarajima (Bonin Island) (Tokyo 1885), Circumstances of introducing Roman characters to Japanese writing (1928), Mitautor von A magnetic survey of all Japan und Rōmaji yomikata (Leseart der Rōmaji).
16.10.1856 in Ninohe, Iwate-ken
21.05.1952 in Tokyo

Geophysicist and Seismologist; he studied physics at the University of Tokyo attending lectures of James Alfred Ewing and T. Mendenhall, later he was also trained by Cargill G. Knott and he helped with the gravity measurements on the Mt. Fuji. He graduated in 1882, stayed at the university and became assistant professor. From 1888 to 1890 he studied electromagnetics at Glasgow University under Kelvin and did further research on the same subject at Berlin University from the summer term of 1890 until 1891. Upon his return via the USA at the end of 1891 he served as professor and director of the physical institute at the Imperial University of Tokyo. He remained at the university until 1916 when he retired.
He suggested the necessity of an earthquake study and became a member of the Earthquake Precaution Committee which is the first earthquake study structure in Japan established in 1892.
He founded the International Latitude Observatory of Mizusawa in 1899.
He was made a life member of the House of Peers in 1924, director of Japan's Imperial Aviation Association, and a member of the Japan Academy (Gakushiin).
As head of the Japanese Language Romanization Association he contributed much to the propagation of the Roman alphabet in the Japanese language symbolized by the Western-style typewriter on the stamp.
Publications: Measurement of the force of gravity and magnetic constants at Ogasawarajima (Bonin Island) (Tokyo 1885), Circumstances of introducing Roman characters to Japanese writing (1928), Co-author of A magnetic survey of all Japan and Rōmaji yomikata (reading of Rōmaji)
___
/ JAP / SA / SC /
TATEISHI
Onojirō
立石 斧次郎
1843 - 1917

[TOMMY]

[OBANAWA Tamehachi - 小花 和為八 = Kindheitsname / Childhood Name]

[NAGANO Keijirō - 長野桂次郎]




Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Tateishi Onojirō 1860



Für Vergrößerung klicken
Charles Grobe "Tommy Polka"

Für Vergrößerung klicken
William Henry Fry
- "Marsch der Japanischen Mission"
- "Japanese Embassy March"


Für Vergrößerung klicken
"Unser japanischer Besucher Tommy inmitten der Damen aus Washington" -
Zeitgenössischer Holzschnitt
- "Our Japanese Visitor Tommy among the Ladies of Washington" - Contemporary woodcut


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Die japanische Mission auf dem New Yorker Broadway.
- The "Japanese Mission" on New York's Broadway

16.09.1843 in Edo (Tokyo)
13.01.1917

Das jüngste Mitglied der japanischen Mission, die 1860 die USA zum Austausch des "Harris"-Handelsvertrags besuchte, war der 16-jährige Samurai-Junge Tateishi Onojirō. Die amerikanische Presse nannte ihn einfach "Tommy". Als "Tommy" war er, teils wegen seines Alters, aber mehr noch wegen seines Auftretens, der eindeutige Liebling der amerikanischen Presse und, nach deren Berichten, auch der amerikanischen Frauen.

"Tommy" hieß eigentlich Obanawa Tamehachi, erhielt aber seinen neuen Namen, als er von seinem Onkel Tateishi Tokujūrō adoptiert wurde. Tokujūrō war Dolmetscher; Onojirō sollte ebenfalls diesen Beruf ergreifen und studierte daher Englisch an der Holländischen Schule (rangaku) in Nagasaki.
Obwohl er noch "eine sehr unvollständige Kenntnis eines schmalen Wortschatzes" hatte, erhielt er eine Anstellung als Aushilfs-Dolmetscher im Zollamt von Yokohama. Als zweiter und dritter Dolmetscher der japanischen Mission gingen Tateishi, Vater und Sohn, am 13.02.1860 in Yokohama an Bord der US-Fregatte Powhatan mit Ziel Amerika.

"Tommy" war nicht ausschließlich ein Geschöpf der amerikanischen Massenmedien. Nach der Erinnerung des Ersten Offiziers der Powhatan, Kapitänleutnant James D. Johnston, war der Junge bereits von Anbeginn der Reise "der Liebling des Schiffes". Er pflegte Besatzungsmitglieder mit einem herzlichen "How d'ye do?" zu grüßen, oder wenn er mal einschlief, unabhängig von der Tageszeit, mit den Worten "Good morning all gentlemen" zu erwachen. Und als die Powhatan zu einem Freundschaftsbesuch vom 05.-18.03.1860 in Honolulu lag, war es bei einer Feier zu Ehren der Mission auffällig, dass er sich sehr "für das weibliche Geschlecht interessierte."
Nach ihrer Ankunft in San Francisco am 29.03.1860 wurden die Mitglieder der japanischen Mission der amerikanischen Presse vorgeführt. Der Junge stellte sich mit "Tamehachi" vor, was von der Presse umgehend zu "Tommy" abgewandelt wurde. Ein Star war geboren, und er besaß nun einen gängigen Namen: "Tommy". Charles Grobe komponierte sogar eine "Tommy Polka".
William Henry Fry, ein Journalist und Komponist aus Philadelphia, fügte einen "Marsch der japanischen Mission" hinzu.
Als die Mission am 14.05.1860 in Washington eintraf, war ihr "Tommys" Ruf bereits vorausgeeilt. Für die "New York Tribune" berichtete exklusiv Edward ("Ned") Howard House, später der erste amerikanische Zeitungskorrespondent in Japan, über den Aufenthalt der Delegation in den USA. Der Besucher, der die meiste Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zog, war natürlich "Tommy": "Ständig lacht oder singt er. Er sagt drollige Dinge, wenn man es am wenigsten erwartet", schrieb "Ned" einfühlsam. "Willard's Hotel", in dem die japanische Abordnung untergebracht war, wurde von Horden junger Frauen belagert, die "Tommy, Tommy" riefen, Liebesbriefe schrieben oder um Autogramme bettelten.
Während die anderen japanischen Abgesandten "eiserne" Minen zeigten, verriet "Tommy" "Ned" sogar seinen "sehnlichsten Wunsch" - "eine passende Frau in diesem Land zu finden".
Auf der Bahnreise der Abordnung von Baltimore nach Philadelphia trug "Tommy" weiter erheblich zur amerikanischen Begeisterung bei, indem er "auf der Lokomotive mitfuhr und dabei durch Läuten der Glocke etwas Abwechslung in die Szene brachte".
Dies war aber nur die Generalprobe. Der Rummel um "Tommy" erreichte seinen Höhepunkt am 16.06.1860, als die japanische Mission schließlich in New York an Land ging. "Von Washington Heights bis zum East Broadway ist schon jetzt Tommy in aller Munde", schrieb die amerikanische Zeitschrift "Vanity Fair".
Die Parade der Japaner durch Manhattan vom Battery Park bis zu ihrem Hotel am Broadway soll von einer halben Million Schaulustiger besucht worden sein; einer von ihnen war übrigens der Dichter Walt Whitman.
Eine buchstäblich herausragende Rolle bei diesem Umzug besaß abermals "Tommy". Er wurde auf ein Podest auf dem "Pagodenwagen" gesetzt, ein Wagen auf vier Rädern mit silbernen Radnaben, der von sechs "herrlichen Pferden" gezogen wurde. Der Wagen trug an allen vier Seiten die Aufschrift "Japanese Treaty" und enthielt die "Treaty Box".
"Tommy" und zwei Wächter mussten den Schatz bewachen, unterstützt durch eine Reihe Polizisten auf jeder Seite. Beim Passieren der dichtgedrängten Straßen Manhattans wurde der Wagen bejubelt.
"Tommy" wurde zu Fotoaufnahmen und Teegesellschaften mitgenommen. Er war der umschwärmte Liebling bei der Matinée zu Ehren der "Japanischen Prinzen", zu der James Gordon Bennett am 21.06.1860 tausend Gäste in seine Residenz in Washington Heights geladen hatte. Das gleiche geschah vier Tage darauf auch beim Ball im "Metropolitan Hotel", der von 10 000 Leuten besucht wurde.
Trotz dieser vielen Begegnungen hat "Tommy" in Amerika keine "passende Frau" gefunden. Am 01.07.1860 verließ er mit der japanischen Mission die USA auf der amerikanischen Fregatte Niagara, die am 08.11.1860 in Edo (Tokyo) eintraf.
In Japan wurde aus "Tommy", der inzwischen siebzehn geworden war, wieder der junge Dolmetscher Tateishi Onojirō.
Er fand bald eine Anstellung in der amerikanischen Vertretung in Edo. Die Botschaft hatte einen neuen Sekretär, A. L. C. Portman, der gleichzeitig als Dolmetscher fungierte. Er hatte die japanische Abordnung auf ihrer gesamten Reise von Japan nach Amerika und zurück begleitet und besaß daher eine ziemlich genaue Kenntnis von Onojirōs Fähigkeiten.
Portman sprach nur wenig Japanisch und benutzte daher im Gespräch mit Japanern meist Niederländisch.
Es war vermutlich seinem Einfluss zu verdanken, dass Onojirō sein Assistenz-Dolmetscher wurde. Onojirō unterrichtete auch Englisch in Edo. 1863 nahm er den Familiennamen seine Mutter Yoneda an.
Während der Meiji-Restauration kämpfte Yoneda gegen die neue Regierung und erlitt dabei eine Beinverletzung. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Tokyo änderte er seinen Namen zu Nagano Keijirō, um einer Verhaftung zu entgehen. 1872/73 reiste Nagano als einer der vier "Second Secretaries" der Iwakura-Mission nach Amerika und Europa. Anschließend arbeitete er für das Industrie-Ministerium (kōbushō) und für die Kommission zur Entwicklung von Hokkaidō (kaitakushi).
Von 1887 bis 1889 war er auf Hawaii Verantwortlicher für die japanischen Vertragsimmigranten. Ab 1891 kehrte Nagano Keijirō in seinen früheren Beruf zurück und arbeitete als Dolmetscher und Übersetzer beim Bezirksgericht Osaka (Ōsaka chihō saibanshō).

Nicht einmal sein Name erinnerte noch an den jungen Tateishi Onojirō, der einst als "Tommy" für einige Monate der bekannteste und meist fotografierte Japaner der westlichen Welt gewesen war.
16.09.1843 in Edo (Tokyo)
13.01.1917

The youngest member of the "Japanese Mission" visiting the USA in 1860 for the exchange of the "Harris"- Commerce Treaty was the sixteen years old samurai boy Tateishi Onojirō. The American press called him simply "Tommy". As "Tommy" he was, partly because of his age, but mostly because of his manners, the undisputed darling of the American press and, according to their reports, of the American ladies as well.

"Tommy" was originally called Obanawa Tamehachi, but got his new name when he was adopted by his uncle Tateishi Tokujūrō. Tokujūrō was an interpreter; Onojirō was supposed to follow him also in this profession and therefore he studied English at the Dutch School (rangaku) at Nagasaki.
Although he only had "a very imperfect knowledge of a small vocabulary", he had been given an employment as an assistant interpreter at the customs house in Yokohama. As the second and third interpreter of the "Japanese Mission", both Tateishis, father and son, embarked on February 13, 1860 at Yokohama on the US screw frigate Powhatan for America.
"Tommy" was not a product created solely by the American mass media. As the Executive Officer of the Powhatan, Lieutenant James D. Johnston, recalled, the boy was, from the journey's very beginning, "the pet of the ship". He used to greet members of the crew with a cordial "How d'ye do?", or when he felt sometimes asleep, awaking at any time of the day with the words "Good morning all gentlemen". And when the Powhatan stayed for a courtesy visit at Honolulu from March 5 to 18, 1860, it became conspicuous, that he "kept interested for the female portion of the company during a party given in honour of the Mission,"

After their arrival at San Francisco on March 29, 1860, the members of the Japanese Mission were presented to American newspapers. The boy introduced himself with "Tamehachi", which was by the press immediately transformed to "Tommy".
A star was born, and it now had a catchy name: "Tommy". Charles Grobe even wrote a "Tommy Polka":
William Henry Fry, a journalist and composer from Philadelphia, added a "Japanese Embassy March".

When the Mission came to Washington on May 14, 1860, "Tommy's" fame had already arrived. For the "New York Tribune", Edward ("Ned") Howard House, later the first American newspaper correspondent in Japan, covered the story exclusively.
The visitor who drew the most attraction was, of course, "Tommy". "He perpetually laughs or sings. He says droll things at the most unexpected times", wrote "Ned" sympathetically.
"Willard's Hotel", where the Mission stayed, became besieged by groups of young ladies, chanting "Tommy, Tommy", writing love letters or begging for autographs.
Whereas the other Japanese envoys showed "iron" faces, Tommy even revealed "Ned" about his "deepest desire"-"to discover a suitable wife in this country".

On the Embassy's way from Baltimore to Philadelphia by train, "Tommy" again contributed considerably to American enthusiasm, "by riding on the locomotive and occasionally ringing the bell to give variety to the scene".

But this was only the rehearsal. The excitement about "Tommy" attained its climax on June 16, 1860, when the Japanese Mission finally landed in New York. "From Washington Heights to East Broadway, Tommy is already a household word", wrote the American magazine "Vanity Fair".

The parade of the Japanese through Manhattan from Battery Park to their Broadway hotel is said to have been attended by half a million spectators, one of them was, by the way, the poet Walt Whitman.
A literally outstanding role at this pageant had again "Tommy". He was seated on the platform of the "car pagoda", a wagon running "on four wheels with silvered hubs" and drawn by six "magnificent horses".
The wagon carried the words "Japanese Treaty" on all its four sides and contained the "Treaty Box".
"Tommy" and two attendants had to guard the treasure, assisted by a line of policemen walking besides. Passing the crowded Manhattan streets, the wagon was hailed by the public.
"Tommy" was taken to photo shootings and tea parties. He was the adored darling at the matinee in honour of the "Japanese Princes", to which Gordon Bennett had invited thousand guests into his residence at Washington Heights on June 21, 1860. The same happened four days later at the Ball in the "Metropolitan Hotel", attended by 10 000 people.

Despite all these contacts, "Tommy" did not succeed finding a "suitable wife" in America. On July 1, 1860 the Japanese Mission left the USA for Edo (Tokyo) on the American frigate Niagara, arriving there on November 8, 1860.
In Japan, "Tommy", meanwhile seventeen years, became again the young interpreter Tateishi Onojirō.

He soon found an employment at the American Legation in Edo. The legation had a new secretary, A. L. C. Portman, who likewise acted as its interpreter. He had accompanied the Japanese Mission all its way from Japan to America and back and therefore had a fairly good knowledge of Onojirō's abilities.
Portman spoke only little Japanese and therefore used mostly Dutch when talking to Japanese.
It was probably due to his influence that Onojirō became his assistant interpreter. Onojirō also held English classes in Edo. In 1863, he adopted his mother's family name, Yoneda.

During the Meiji Restoration, Yoneda fought against the new Government and was injured at his leg. Back to Tokyo, he changed his name to Nagano Keijirō to avoid being arrested.
In 1872/73, Nagano went as one of the four "Second Secretaries" with the Iwakura-Mission to America and Europe.
He subsequently worked for the Ministry of Public Works (kōbushō) and for the Hokkaidō Development Commission (kaitakushi). From 1887 to 1889 he was at Hawaii superintendent for the Japanese contract immigrants. As of 1891, Nagano Keijirō returned to his former profession and was employed as interpreter and translator at the Osaka District Court (Ōsaka chihō saibanshō).

Not even his name reminded of young Tateishi Onojirō who, as "Tommy", had once been for a couple of months the most prominent and most photographed Japanese in the Western world.
___
/ JAP / SER /
TATSUMI
Hajime
辰巳 一
1857 - 1931
































Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Tatsumis Arbeitsplatz in La Seyne-sur-mer: Itsukushima 1891 in der Ausrüstung.
- Tatsumi's place of work at La Seyne-sur-mer: Itsukushima, fitting out in 1891.

04.11.1857 ehemalige Provinz Kaga (heute Ishikawa-ken)
15.01.1931

Fast alle wichtigen Schritte im Berufsleben von Tatsumi Hajime waren jeweils genau ein Jahrzehnt von einander entfernt. Im Alter von zehn Jahren begann er westliche Sprachen zu lernen.
Als er 20 war, wurde er nach Frankreich geschickt, um dort Schiffbau zu studieren. Mit 30 kehrte der "Ingénieur du génie maritime" Tatsumi nach Frankreich zurück und hatte in La Seyne-sur-mer die Bauaufsicht über die beiden mit schwerem Geschütz ausgerüsteten japanischen Kreuzer Itsukushima und Matsushima.
Nach nochmals zehn Jahren war Tatsumi Direktor der neuen großen Marinewerft im japanischen Kure.
Zwanzig Jahre danach nahm er seinen Abschied von der Marine.
Er war inzwischen einer der letzten Repräsentanten der einst engen technischen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Japans und Frankreichs Seestreitkräften geworden.

Tatsumi wurde in einer Samurai-Familie geboren und wurde dementsprechend in überlieferten Künsten erzogen: Altchinesisch, Schwertkampf, Reitkunst.
Aber er spürte schon bald selbst, dass sich die Zeiten änderten. Nachdem er seine Familie überzeugt hatte, wurde er in die Dōsei-kan-Schule in Kaga geschickt um rangaku zu lernen, d. h. westliche Wissenschaften und westliche Sprachen: Niederländisch, Französisch, Englisch. Tatsumis Lehrer hatte einst diese Sprachen selbst "aus erster Hand" von einem Holländer in Nagasaki gelernt.

Tatsumi war so fleißig und strebsam, dass er 1870 zu einer Gruppe von vier Studenten gehörte, die ausgesucht worden waren, die Ingenieurschule (kōsha) in der Schiffswerft Yokosuka zu besuchen. Innerhalb von 16 Tagen legte Tatsumi zu Fuß die etwa 600 km lange Strecke von Echigo, Shinano, Ueno und Tokyo nach Yokosuka zurück. Seine Ausbildung wurde zunächst vom Lehen in Kaga ermöglicht; nach der Neuorganisation der japanischen Provinzen 1871 kam die japanische Regierung für ihn auf.
In Yokosuka scheint Tatsumi vor allem von zwei Lehrern beeinflusst worden zu sein, Pierre Paul Sarda und Adolphe François Eugène Dupont. Tatsumi war einer der ersten Japaner, der von Sarda Differential- und Integralrechnung und Differentialgeometrie lernte, mit denen beispielsweise die Hauptparameter eines Schiffsrumpfs, wie die Abmessungen, Auftriebskräfte, Wasserlinien- und andere Koeffizienten bestimmt werden können.
In seiner Zeit in Yokosuka führte Tatsumi ausführliche Mitschriften; zwei dieser Notizbücher, jedes mit etwa 200 Seiten aus den Jahren 1876 und 1877, sind erhalten geblieben. Das erste Buch enthält Tatsumis Notizen über Spannungs-, Kompressions- und Biegebeanspruchungen, das zweite behandelt Breite, Trägheitsmoment, Scherkräfte usw.

Da es zu dieser Zeit noch kein entsprechendes technisches Vokabular auf Japanisch gab, war Tatsumi gezwungen auf Französisch zu lernen, und bereitete daher bereits den nächsten Schritt seiner Laufbahn vor.
Als Tatsumi die kōsha erfolgreich absolviert hatte, wurde er mit drei anderen, Kōno Seiichirō, Sakurai Shōzō and Wakayama Genkichi, am 26.06.1877 dazu bestimmt, sich als "élève" an der "École d'application du génie maritime" in Cherbourg in Frankreich einzuschreiben. Einer ihrer Lehrer war der damals bereits berühmte französische Marineingenieur Émile Bertin.
Auch diese Begegnung sollte sich einige Jahre später als entscheidend erweisen. Nach drei Jahren in Cherbourg machte Tatsumi seinen Abschluss als Marineingenieur. Da er 231 von 240 mögliche Punkte erreicht hatte, wurden ihm noch einige Urlaubswochen in Europa gewährt. Am 13.01.1881 kehrte er schließlich nach Japan zurück.

Trotz seines ausgezeichneten französischen Diploms wurde Tatsumi zunächst nur als Assistent in der Schiffbauabteilung der Schiffswerft Yokosuka angestellt.
Erst ein Jahr danach wurde er in das Hauptschiffsamt des Marineministeriums versetzt und war als Ingenieur in der Schiffsmaschinenabteilung dafür zuständig, die Hauptmerkmale für Schiffsantriebssysteme und für deren Reparatur festzulegen.
Als 1886 Émile Bertin als Marine-Berater in Japan eintraf, kam er nicht in Begleitung eines Gefolges französischer Fachleute, sondern arbeitete stattdessen mit japanischen Ingenieuren. Einer seiner engsten Mitarbeiter wurde sein früherer Schüler Tatsumi. Im Verlauf eines Jahres erarbeitete Tatsumi den offiziellen Bauauftrag für die neuen Küstenverteidigungskreuzer Itsukushima und Matsushima. Die Schiffe sollten auf der Werft "Forges et Chantiers de la Méditerranée" in La Seyne-sur-mer gegenüber von Toulon gebaut werden.

Da der Baubeginn für Anfang 1888 vorgesehen war, wurden zwei in Frankreich ausgebildete japanische Ingenieure als Bauaufsicht nach La Seyne geschickt.
Einer von ihnen war Tatsumi; der andere, Kurokawa Yūkuma, hatte sein Diplom ein Jahr später in Cherbourg erhalten. Die beiden Marineingenieure verließen Frankreich am 16.11.1886. Nach Fertigstellung der Schiffe kehrte wahrscheinlich jeder von ihnen mit einem der beiden Schiffe zurück. Die Itsukushima kam am 21.05.1892 in Shinagawa an, die Matsushima am 19.10.1892 in Sasebo.
Im Februar 1893 wurde Tatsumi Leiter der Schiffbauabteilung der neu errichteten Schiffswerft in Kure und stieg im Mai zum Direktor der Marinebezirkswerft Kure auf.

Damit war er in der Nachfolge von Yamaguchi Tatsuya auch zuständig für die frühere Schiffswerft Onohama, bis diese endgültig im Mai 1895 geschlossen wurde. Im August 1900 war Tatsumi eine Zeit lang mit der Wahrung der Geschäfte des Direktors der Werft in Yokosuka beauftragt. Im November 1900 wurde er schließlich Direktor der Marinewerft Sasebo.

Tatsumi, 1901 zum Doktor der Ingenieurwissenschaften ernannt, besass stets gute Beziehungen zu Frankreich. Nach der Jahrhundertwende begann sein Einfluss zu schwinden.
Die japanische Marine hatte begonnen, fast ausschließlich dem britischen Vorbild zu folgen. Nach der Unterzeichnung des Anglo-japanischen Bündnisvertrags am 30.01.1902 wurden die Bindungen zwischen diesen beiden Mächten noch enger, während Frankreich sich bei den wachsenden Spannungen zwischen Japan und Russland über Korea an der Seite Russlands befand.
1916 verließ Tatsumi, nun 60 Jahre alt, die Marine, arbeitete einige Zeit für die Mitsubishi-Werft in Nagasaki, ging aber bald wegen eines Nierenleidens in den Ruhestand.
04.11.1857 former Kaga province (today Ishikawa-ken)
15.01.1931

Nearly all important steps in the professional career of Tatsumi Hajime had just a decade's distance from each other. At the age of ten he began to learn Western languages.

When he was twenty, he was sent to France to study naval engineering. At the age of thirty, the "Ingénieur du génie maritime" Tatsumi returned to France, supervising at La Seyne-sur-mer the construction of the new Japanese heavy-gun cruisers Itsukushima and Matsushima.

After another ten years Tatsumi was director of the new big Naval Yard in Japanese Kure.
Twenty years later, he took his leave from the Navy.

He had meanwhile become one of the last representatives of the once close technical cooperation between the naval forces of Japan and France.

Tatsumi was born to a samurai family and was, accordingly, still educated in the traditional arts: old Chinese, sword-fencing, horsemanship.
But he apparently soon became aware that the times had begun to change. Having convinced his family, he was sent to the Dōsei-kan School in Kaga to learn rangaku, i. e. Western knowledge and Western languages: Netherlands, French, and English.
Tatsumi's teacher had once learnt these languages himself "first hand" from a Dutch at Nagasaki.

Tatsumi was so diligent and industrious that he belonged in 1870 to a group of four students who were chosen to attend the engineering school (kōsha) at the Yokosuka Shipyard. Within sixteen days, Tatsumi walked some 600 kilometres from Echigo, Shinano, Ueno and Tokyo to Yokosuka.
His education was at first made possible by the Kaga fief; after the reorganisation of Japan's provinces in 1871, the Japanese Government paid for him.

At Yokosuka, Tatsumi seems to have been mainly influenced by two of his teachers, Pierre Paul Sarda and Adolphe François Eugène Dupont. Tatsumi was one of the first Japanese to learn differential and integral calculus and differential geometry from Sarda, through which for example the main parameters of a ship's hull, such as its dimensions, buoyancy, waterline and other coefficients can be determined.

In his years at Yokosuka, Tatsumi kept comprehensive notebooks; two of them, each with about 200 pages written in 1876 and 1877, have been preserved. The first book contains Tatsumi's notes on tension, compression and bending forces, the second deals with beam, moment of inertia, shearing forces etc.

Because at this time no appropriate Japanese technical vocabulary existed, Tatsumi was forced to learn by using French, and so preparing already the next step in his career.

When Tatsumi had successfully finished the kōsha, he and three others, Kōno Seiichirō, Sakurai Shōzō and Wakayama Genkichi, were ordered on June 26, 1877 to enrol as "élève" at the "École d'application du génie maritime" in Cherbourg in France. One of their teachers was the already famous French naval engineer Émile Bertin.

This encounter should some years later also be decisive.
After three years at Cherbourg, Tatsumi graduated in naval engineering.
Having attained 231 of 240 possible points, he was allowed to remain some more weeks for vacations in Europe. On January 13, 1881, he finally returned to Japan.

Despite of his excellent French diploma, Tatsumi was at first employed merely as an assistant in the shipbuilding department of the Yokosuka Shipyard.
Only a year later he was transferred to the Main Ship Bureau of the Navy Ministry, being responsible as an engineer in the Machinery Department for defining specifications for ships' propulsion systems and for their repair.

When in 1886 Émile Bertin arrived as naval adviser in Japan, he was not accompanied by an entourage of French specialists, but worked with Japanese engineers instead. One of his closest collaborators became his former student Tatsumi. Within a year, Tatsumi elaborated the official construction order for the new coast defence cruisers Itsukushima and Matsushima.
The ships were to be built at the shipyard "Forges et Chantiers de le Méditerranée" at La Seyne-sur-mer, opposite of Toulon.

Since their construction was envisaged to begin in early 1888, two Japanese engineers trained in France were sent as construction supervisors to La Seyne.
One of them was Tatsumi; the other, Kurokawa Yūkuma who had graduated from Cherbourg a year later. The two naval engineers left for France on November 18, 1886. After the ships were completed, Tatsumi and Kurokawa probably returned each on board of one of the vessels. The Itsukushima arrived at Shinagawa on May 21, 1892, the Matsushima at Sasebo on October 19, 1892.
In February of 1893, Tatsumi became head of the shipbuilding department of the newly erected shipyard at Kure, advancing in May to director of the Kure Naval District Shipyard.
Thus he was, in succession to Yamaguchi Tatsuya, also responsible for the former Onohama Shipyard until this yard was finally closed down forever in May of 1895. In August of 1900, Tatsumi was for a while acting director of the Yokosuka Yard. In November of 1900, he finally became director of the Sasebo Naval Yard.

Tatsumi, in 1901 promoted to Doctor of engineering, had always kept good relations to France. After the turn of the century, his influence began to vanish.
The Japanese Navy had begun to follow almost completely the British example.
After the Anglo-Japanese Alliance had been signed on January 30, 1902, the ties between these two powers became even closer, whereas France found itself at the Russian side in the increasing tensions between Japan and Russia over Korea.

In 1916, Tatsumi, now 60 years old, left the navy, working for a while for the Mitsubishi shipyard at Nagasaki, but soon retiring because of a kidney disease.
___
/ JAP / SA / ENG /
TATSUNO
Kingo
辰野金吾
1854 – 1919





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Bank of Japan - Tokyo

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Bank of Japan - Kobe Branch
13.10.1854 in Karatsu, Saga-ken
25.03.1919

Architekt; Dr.-Ing.; Sohn eines samurai des Karatsu Clans. 1879 war er einer der ersten Absolventen der ersten Klasse von Joshia Conder an der Kōbu Daigakkō (ICE), Bereich Architektur. Danach wurde er nach London zur Fortführung seiner Studien zur Viktorianischen Architektur delegiert, er arbeitete im Büro von William Burges von 1880 - 1883 und studierte an der Royal Academy of Arts. 1883 kehrte er nach Japan zurück und ein Jahr später wurde er Professor an der Kōbu Daigakkō (Vorläufer der Fakultät Ingenieurwesen an der Universität Tokyo), wo er teilweise als Direktor tätig war, aber auch Architektur bis 1902 lehrte. - Danach beendete er seine Lehrtätigkeit und war als privater Architekt tätig, 1903 gründete er das Tatsuno Kasai Konstruktionsbüro. Das noch bestehende hervorstechende Gebäude seiner Konstruktion ist das Hauptgebäude der Bank von Japan. Die Bank von Japan öffnete am 10.10.1882 (siehe Chronologie), dieses Gebäude war in der Nähe der Eitai Brücke über den Sumida in Tokyo. Am 10.04.1896 zog die Bank in das Gebäude in der Nähe der Nihombashi um, dargestellt auf Briefmarke von 1984. Dieses Gebäude wurde von Tatsuno konstruiert und innerhalb von 7 Jahren, 1890 - 1896, gebaut. Eine japanische Quelle erwähnt, dass die Bank von Japan als erstes Gebäude einen Fahrstuhl. hatte. Ein Fahrstuhl befand sich auch in dem Ende 1890 von W. K. Burton errichtetem 12-stöckigem Gebäude Ryōunkaku im Asakusa Park, dieser wurde jedoch im Mai 1891 wegen Betriebsunsicherheit wieder ausgebaut. Weitere frühe Aufzüge bestanden in Bergwerken, der erste in einem Gebäude war jedoch der in der Bank von Japan. Tatsuno konstruierte auch die Niederlassung der Bank von Japan in Kobe und den Hauptbahnhof von Tokyo.
13.10.1854 in Karatsu, Saga-ken
25.03.1919

Architect; Dr. of Engineering; the son of a samurai of the Karatsu Clan. In 1879, he was among the first graduates of Joshia Conder’s first class of the Kōbu Daigakkō (ICE), Building-Engineering Department. He was sent to London for further studies on Victorian architecture by working in William Burges office from 1880 - 1883 and studying at the Royal Academy of Arts. He returned to Japan in 1883 and one year later became a professor at Kōbu Daigakkō (predecessor of the Faculty of Engineering of Tokyo University), where he partly acted as director and he also taught architectural design through 1902. After resigning as professor, he was active as a private architect, establishing the Tatsuno Kasai construction office in 1903.
His remaining outstanding work is the main building of the Bank of Japan. The Bank of Japan opened on 10.10.1882 (see Chronology), that structure was near the Eitai Bridge over the Sumida River in Tokyo. On 10.04.1896 the bank moved to the building shown on the 1984 stamp, this is near Nihombashi. This building was designed by him and constructed over a period of seven years, 1890 - 1896. A Japanese account says that this Bank of Japan building was the first in Japan to have an elevator. There was one installed in the Ryōunkaku in the Asakusa Park, designed by W. K. Burton late in 1890, it was declared unsafe and removed in May 1891. Other early elevators were in mines, but "the first in a building" was the one installed in 1896 in Tatsuno’s Tokyo Bank of Japan. He also designed the Kobe branch of the Bank of Japan and the Tokyo Central Station.
___
/ JAP / SA / ENG /
TAWARA
Sunao
田原淳
1873 – 1952

[TAHARA Sunao]



Tawara in DE



05.07.1873 in Aki, bei Kunisaki, Ōita-ken
19.01.1952

Dr. med. Pathologe. Der in einer ländlichen Umgebung aufgewachsene Tawara ging 1889 nach Tokio, wo er eine Sprachschulen für Englisch und Deutsch und anschließend ein Gymnasiums absolvierte. 1898 begann er ein Medizinstudium an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Kaiserlichen Universität Tokio, das er im Dezember 1901 abschloss. Danach arbeitete er als Assistent in der Abteilung für Hautkrankheiten, ab Mai 1902 in der Inneren Medizin. Im Januar 1903 reiste Tawara auf eigene Kosten nach Deutschland. Nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt in Berlin zog er nach Marburg, um sich an der Philipps-Universität Marburg in der Pathologie und pathologischen Anatomie weiter zu bilden. Während der drei Jahre in Marburg entstand seine bekannteste Arbeit „Das Reizleitungssystem des Säugetierherzens: eine anatomisch-histologische Studie über das Atrioventrikularbündel und die Purkinjeschen Fäden“ (1906). 1906 kehrte er nach Japan zurück und wurde im gleichen Jahr zum außerordentlichen Professor für Pathologie an der heutigen Kyūshū Universität in Fukuoka und 1908 zum ordentlichen Professor berufen. Im gleichen Jahr promovierte er an der Universität Tokyo. Bis zu seiner Emeritierung 1933 wirkte er an der Universität in Fukuoka.
05.07.1873 in Aki, near Kunisaki, Ōita-ken
19.01.1952

MD. Pathologist; he grew up in a rural environment, in 1889 he went to Tokyo to study English and German at a language school, then attended a gymnasium before he entered the Imperial University of Tokyo, department of Medicine. He graduated in December 1901, afterwards he worked as an assistant doctor in the department of neurodermatitis, from May 1902 on in the internal medicine department. In January 1903 Tawara travelled to Germany on his own expense. After a short stay in Berlin he moved to Marburg for further studies at the Philipps-University, specialising in pathology and pathological anatomy. During his three years in Marburg he developed his most famous work “Electrical conduction system of the mammal heart: an anatomical-histological study on the auriculoventricular node and purkinje fibers” (1906). Upon returning to Japan in 1906 he was appointed assistant professor of pathology at what is now Kyūshū University in Fukuoka, obtaining full professorship in 1908. In the same year he received the degree of Doctor of Medical Science from the Tokyo University. He worked until his retirement in 1933 at the Kyūshū University.
___
/ JAP / SA / MED /
TAWARAYA
Takashichi
俵谷高七
1854 – 1912

[Kōshichi]





Für Vergrößerung klicken



Ingenieur. Er war der erste Japaner, der einen Verkaufsautomat entwickelt hat, zunächst für Zigaretten; Ende 1888 beantragte er dafür ein Patent, welches am 30.09.1890 erteilt wurde. Ein Verkaufsautomat für Briefmarken und Postkarten wurde auch von ihm konstruiert und 1904 abgeschlossen. Die rechte Seite des Automaten war für Briefmarken, die linke Seite für Postkarten vorgesehen. Wenn der Automat leer war, wurde dies mit „Ausverkauft“ angezeigt. Im unteren Bereich war ein Briefkasten. Eine Tafel gibt die Preisstufen an, 1,5 Sen für eine Postkarte, 3 Sen für 2 Karten. Wenn 3 Sen gezahlt werden und es ist nur noch eine Karte vorhanden, gibt es die eine Karte und 1,5 Sen an der unteren Öffnung zurück. Das Ministerium für Kommunikation kaufte den Automat, der jedoch nie für eine öffentliche Nutzung aufgrund fehlender Betriebssicherheit freigegeben wurde. Er ist aber vermutlich der älteste in Japan vorhandene Verkaufsautomat. - Weniger bekannt ist jedoch, dass der Postmeister von Shimonoseki Tawaraya bedrängte, einen sichereren als die bisherigen in ganz Japan existierenden brennbaren hölzernen Briefkästen zu entwickeln. Das Ergebnis war der erste gußeiserne zylindrische rote Briefkasten, der am 21.10.1901 nördlich der Nihonbashi in Tokyo installiert wurde.



Engineer. He was the first Japanese to build a vending machine, at first for cigarettes; he applied for a patent at the end of 1888 which was awarded on 30.09.1890. An automatic postage stamp and postcard vending machine was also designed by him and completed in 1904. The right side of the machine dispenses postage stamps, and the left side postcards. When the supply is exhausted, a 'Sold Out' indicator appears. The lower section of the machine is a mailbox. An inscription calls for inserting 1 sen, 5 rin to obtain one postcard, or 3 sen for two postcards. If you insert 3 sen and there is only one card left in the machine, you will receive one card and 1 sen, 5 rin in change from the bottom opening. The Ministry of Communications bought the machine, but due to some operational problems with accuracy, the machine was never put into public use. However, it is believed to be the oldest existing automatic vending machine in Japan.
It is less known, but the Shimonoseki postmaster urged Tawaraya to design a mailbox safer than the flammable wooden mailboxes then used throughout Japan. The result was the first red cylindrical cast-iron mailbox, installed on 21.10.1901 north of Tokyo’s Nihonbashi.
___
/ JAP / ENG /
TERAUCHI
Masatake
寺内 正毅
1852 - 1919

[TADA Jusaburō]
[TADA Jusaburo]


Für Vergrößerung klicken


15.02.1852 in Nagato, Yamaguchi-ken
03.11.1919 in Ōiso, Japan

Er war der dritte Sohn von Tada Masasuke, Samurai des Hagi han, sein früherer Name war Tada Jusaburō, er wurde aber von der Terauchi-Familie adoptiert.
Er diente im Boshin Krieg und nahm auf Seiten der Regierung an den Kämpfen im Gebiet von Aomori teil, dann auch auf Hokkaidō. 1871 wurde er zum Leutnant befördert, im Satsuma-Aufstand in der Schlacht bei Tabaruzaka verwundet und konnte dann den rechten Arm nicht mehr nutzen. 1882 wurde er Militärattaché in der japanischen Gesandtschaft in Frankreich. Danach bekleidete er verschiedene militärische Posten: als Kommandant der Militär-Akademie, 1. General-Inspekteur der Militärausbildung, Stellvertreter des Generalstabs, 1901 wurde er dann zum Heeres-Minister berufen - der japanische Sieg im Russisch-Japanischen Krieg (1904-1905) trat in seiner Amtszeit ein. Vor Beginn dieses Krieges hielt er sich 6 Monate in Berlin auf, um sich über das deutsche Kriegsministeriums zu informieren. Da er kein Deutsch konnte, stellte ihm A. G. Mosle seinen besten Dolmetscher zur Verfügung.
1910 wurde er der erste General-Gouverneur von Korea und vollendete die Annexion der Halbinsel. 1916 wurde er General-Feldmarschall und Premier-Minister. Er leitete sein Kabinett während des 1. Weltkrieges, 1918 trat er zurück.
15.02.1852 in Nagato, Yamaguchi-ken
03.11.1919 in Ōiso, Japan

He was the third son of Tada Masasuke, a samurai of the Hagi han, his former name was Tada Jusaburō, but was adopted by the Terauchi family.
He served in the Boshin War and followed the government army to the Aomori district, then to Hokkaidō. In 1871, he was appointed second lieutenant, in the Satsuma Rebellion he was injured at the Battle of Tabaruzaka and lost the use of his right arm. In 1882, he went to France as military attaché of the Japanese legation. After holding military posts as commandant of the Military Academy, first inspector general of military training, and vice-chief of the General Staff Office, he was appointed Minister of the Army in 1901; the Japanese victory in the Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905) occurred during his term.
Before the Russo-Japanese War he stayed in Berlin for six months to get informed on the administration of the German Ministry of War. As he did not know German, Alexander Georg Mosle put his best interpreter at his disposal.
In 1910, he became the first governor-general of Korea and completed the annexation of the same peninsula. In 1916 he became General Field Marshal and Prime Minister. He directed his cabinet through World War I, in 1918 he resigned.
___
/ JAP / SA / MIL /
TŌGŌ
Heihachirō
東郷 平八郎
1848 – 1934


[TOGO, Heihachiro]


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Gemäß Beschreibung der Postkarte sollte dies die Fusō sein, sie zeigt aber die "Dreadnought".
- According to the description of the postcard it should be the Fuso but it shows the "Dreadnought".


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Das gepanzerte Küsten-Verteidigungsschiff Fusō wurde 1876-1878 in GB gebaut. Es hatte eine Wasserverdrängung von 3718 Tonnen, 4x 240 mm und 2x 170 mm Geschütze aus deutscher Produktion, eine Geschwindigkeit von 13 Knoten und bis 1895 noch 3 Masten mit Seegeln. Fusō ist organisch mit der Person von Admiral Tōgō verbunden. - Panzerfregatte Fusō nach ihrer Ankunft in Japan 1878.
- The armoured coastal defence ship Fusō was built in 1876-1878 in GB, had displacement of 3718 tons, four 240mm guns and two 170mm guns manufactured in Germany, developed the 13-knot speed, and until 1895 had three masts with sails. Fusō is organically bound with the figure of Admiral Tōgō. - Armoured frigate Fusō after her arrival in Japan in 1878.
27.01.1848 in Kagoshima
30.05.1934 in Tokyo

Admiral. Tōgō wurde in der Satsuma han (heute Kagoshima-ken) geboren, sein Vater war ein samurai, der unter dem daimyo Shimazu diente, er hatte 3 Brüder.
Seine ersten Kampferfahrungen sammelte er mit 15 Jahren während des Konflikts zwischen GB und Satsuma (Juli/ August 1863), bei dem Kagoshima bomardiert wurde als Vergeltung für den Mord an Ch. L. Richardson auf der Tokaidō Straße.
Im folgenden Jahr baute Satsuma eine Marine auf, in welche sich Tōgō und zwei seiner Brüder einschrieben. Im Januar 1868, während des Boshin-Krieges, wurde Tōgō auf die Kasuga versetzt, die an den Kämpfen gegen das Tokugawa bakufu einschließlich der letzten Schlacht von Hakodate teilnahm. - In der Marineakademie von Yokohama studierte er Seefahrt und English. Als bester Absolvent wurde er zu weiteren Studien nach GB delegiert, wo er von 1871-1878 weilte. Nach einer individuellen Ausbildung in Sprache und Sitten und Gebräuche ging er 1872 nach Plymouth als Kadett auf die Worcester. 1875 umsegelte er die Welt als einfacher Seemann auf dem britischen Trainingsschiff Hampshire.
Tōgō studierte Mathematik in Cambridge (jedoch nicht auf der Universität), besuchte die königliche Marineakademie in Portsmouth und die Marineschule in Greenwich. Während dieser Zeit erteilte die Japanische Marine einen Auftrag zum Bau von 3 Kriegsschiffen in GB. Tōgō nutzte diese Gelegenheit und bewarb sich zur Überwachung des Baus der Fusō. Tōgō, erst kürzlich zum Oberleutnant befördert, kehrte am 22.05.1878 an Bord auf einem neu gekauften, in GB gebautem Schiff, der Hiei, nach Japan zurück. (siehe Edward James REED)
Während des Satsuma-Aufstandes war er nicht in Japan und er drückte oft sein Bedauern über das Schicksal seines Wohltäters Saigō Takamori aus.
Er erhielt mehrere Kommandos, als er in der Japanischen Marine zurück war, sein erstes als Kapitän der Daini Teibo. 1879 wurde er Kapitän auf dem Schiff Jingei, eines der ersten in Yokosuka gebauten Schiffe. - 1894, mit Beginn des Chinesisch-Japanischen Krieges, versenkte Tōgō als Kapitän des in der Armstrong-Werft in GB gebauenten Kreuzers Naniwa das von China gecharterte britische Transportschiff Kowshing, welches Truppen transportierte. Am Ende des Krieges 1895 wurde er zum Konteradmiral befördert und danach war Tōgō nacheinander Chef der Marinestabsakademie, Kommandeur der Marineakademie in Sasebo und Kommandeur der stehenden Flotte.
1903 berief ihn der Marine-Minister Yamamoto Gonnohyōe zum Oberbefehlshaber der kombinierten Flotte der japanischen Marine. Während des Russisch-Japanischen Krieges bekämpfte Tōgō 1904 die russische Marine in Port Arthur und der Gelben See und zerstörte 1905 die russische Baltikflotte auf dem Flagschiff Mikasa in der Schlacht von Tsushima. Diese Schlacht brach den Widerstand der Russen in Ostasien.
Später wurde Tōgō Chef des Marine-Generalstabs und ihm wurde der Titel hakushaku (Graf) übertragen. Er wirkte auch als Mitglied des Obersten Kriegsrates. 1913 erhielt er den Ehrentitel eines Flotten-Admirals. Von 1914 bis 1924 war er für die Ausbildung des Kronprinzen Hirohito, dem zukünftigen Shōwa-Kaiser, verantwortlich.
1934, einen Tag vor seinem Tod, wurde er zum koshaku (Marquis) ernannt. Am Todestag wurde ein Staatsbegräbnis festgelegt. Die Marine von GB, USA, NL, FR, IT, und China entsandten alle Schiffe für eine Schiffsparade zu seinen Ehren in der Tokyo Bay. Die Mikasa, das Flagschiff von Admiral Tōgō während des Russisch-Japanischen Krieges wurde eine Gedenkstätte in Yokosuka.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Tōgō Heihachirō wurde auf vielen Postkarten gewürdigt.
27.01.1848 in Kagoshima
30.05.1934 in Tokyo

Admiral. Tōgō was born in the Satsuma han (today Kagoshima-ken), his father was a samurai, serving under the Shimazu daimyo, and he had three brothers.
Tōgō’s first combat experience was at the age of 15 during the Anglo-Satsuma conflict (July/ August 1863), in which Kagoshima was bombarded to punish the Satsuma daimyo for the death of Ch. L. Richardson on the Tōkaidō highway.
The following year, Satsuma established a navy, in which Tōgō and two of his brothers enrolled. In January 1868, during the Boshin War, Tōgō was assigned to the warship Kasuga, which participated in the fights against the Tokugawa bakufu including the final battle of Hakodate.
In the Naval Academy of Yokohama he studied naval sciences and English language. As the best graduate he was sent for further studies to GB, staying from 1871 to 1878. After an individual instruction in English and in customs and manners he was sent to Plymouth as a cadet on the HMS Worcester in 1872. During 1875, Tōgō circumnavigated the world as an ordinary seaman on the British training-ship Hampshire.
Tōgō studied mathematics in Cambridge (though not at the University), then went to the Royal Naval Academy in Portsmouth, and to the Royal Naval College, Greenwich. During his stay, the Imperial Japanese Navy placed orders in Great Britain for three warships. Tōgō made use of the opportunity to apply for the supervision of the construction of the Fusō. Tōgō, newly promoted to lieutenant returned to Japan on 22 May, 1878 onboard one of the newly-purchased British-built ships, the Hiei. (see Edward James REED)

Tōgō was absent from Japan during the Satsuma Rebellion, and often expressed regret for the fate of his benefactor Saigō Takamori.
Back in the Imperial Japanese Navy, Tōgō received several commands, first as captain of Daini Teibo. In 1879 he became the captain of the auxiliary ship Jingei, one of the first ships built in Yokosuka.
In 1894, at the beginning of the Sino-Japanese War, Tōgō, as a captain of the cruiser Naniwa, built in Armstrong Shipyard in Great Britain, sank the British transport ship, Kowshing, which was chartered by the Chinese Fleet to convey troops. He was promoted to rear admiral at the end of the war, in 1895 and afterwards he became successively commandant of the Naval War College, commander of the Sasebo Naval College, and Commander of the Standing Fleet. - In 1903, the Navy Minister Yamamoto Gonnohyōe appointed Tōgō Commander-in-Chief of the Combined Fleet of the Imperial Japanese Navy. During the Russo-Japanese War, Tōgō had engaged the Russian navy at Port Arthur and the Yellow Sea in 1904 and destroyed the Russian Baltic Fleet, on the flagship Mikasa, at the Battle of Tsushima in 1905. This battle broke the Russian strength in East Asia.
Later, Tōgō was Chief of the Naval General Staff and was given the title of hakushaku (Count). He also served as a member of the Supreme War Council. In 1913, he received the honorific title of Fleet Admiral. From 1914 to 1924, Tōgō was put in charge of the education of Crown Prince Hirohito, the future Shōwa Emperor.
His title was raised to that of koshaku (marquis) in 1934 a day before his death. On his death he was accorded a state funeral. The navies of Great Britain, United States, Netherlands, France, Italy and China all sent ships to a naval parade in his honor in Tokyo Bay. The Mikasa, Admiral Tōgō's flagship during the Russo-Japanese war, became a memorial in Yokosuka.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Tōgō Heihachirō was honored on many postcards.
___
/ JAP / SA / MIL /
TOKUGAWA
Iesato
徳川 家達
1863 – 1940


Für Vergrößerung klicken

24.08.1863 in Tokyo
05.06.1940 in Tokyo

Er war über 30 Jahre in leitenden Regierungsfunktionen in der Meiji-, Taishō- und Shōwa- Ära tätig.
Er wurde als dritter Sohn von Tayasu Yoshinori mit dem Namen Kamenosuke geboren, die Familie war eng mit der Tokugawa-Familie verbunden. Er wurde vom letzten Shōgun Tokugawa Yoshinobu, adoptiert und wurde nach der Meiji-Restauration der 16. Familienvorstand.
1877 setzte er seine Ausbildung in England, Eton College, fort und kam nach 5 Jahren zurück. Mit der Gründung des Parlaments 1890 wurde er Mitglied und bekleidete das Amt des Vorsitzenden des Oberhauses von 1903 bis 1933. Im Jahr 1921 nahm er als Bevollmächtigter der Regierung an der Washingtoner Abrüstungskonferenz teil. Er war in leitenden Funktionen in vielen Organisationen tätig wie z. B. im Olympischen Komitee, Roten Kreuz, Japanisch-Amerikanische Gesellschaft, etc.
24.08.1863 in Tokyo
05.06.1940 in Tokyo

He had been active in leading governmental functions for more than 30 years in the Meiji-, Taishō- and Shōwa era.
He was born the third son of Yoshiyori of Tayasu which held closest relations with the Tokugawa family, his name was Kamenosuke. He was adopted by the last shōgun Tokugawa Yoshinobu and after the Meiji Restoration he became the 16th family head.
In 1877 he continued his education with studying abroad at the British Eton College, and after 5 years he came back to Japan. With the foundation of the parliament in 1890 he became a member and from 1903 until 1933 he served as the chairman of the house of peers. He attended the Washington disarmament conference in 1921 as a plenipotentiary. He was active in leading functions in many organizations such as the Olympic Committee, Red Cross, Japanese-American Society, etc.
___
/ JAP / SA / POL /
TOKUGAWA
Yoshitoshi
徳川好敏
1884 - 1963


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Henri Farman
Doppeldecker, mit dem der erste Flug in Japan stattfand.
Bi-plane used for the first flight in Japan.


Für Vergrößerung klicken

24.07.1884 in Tokyo
27.04.1963 in Tokyo

General-Leutnant.
Er war der Sohn des Grafen Tokugawa Atsumori (1856-1924), Oberhaupt des Shimizu-Zweiges. Er schloss 1903 die kaiserlich-japanische Militärakademie ab, wo er sich auf Militärtechnik spezialisiert hatte.
1909 erkannte die japanische Armee die Bedeutung der Erforschung der Luftfahrt. 1909 wurde Tokugawa als Militär-Attaché nach Frankreich delegiert, insbesondere zum Studium der Luftfahrttechnik und der militärischen Anwendung von Fluggeräten im Kampf, das Fliegen zu lernen und geeignete Flugzeuge zu erwerben. Er kaufte einen Farman III - Doppeldecker, den er nach Japan sandte, wo er montiert und dann Gleitversuche durchgeführt wurden. Mit diesem motorgetriebenen Flugzeug wurde am 19.12.1910 erstmals in Japan erfolreich ein Flug durchgeführt. Tokugawa flog 4 Minuten über eine Strecke von 3 km bei einer maximalen Höhe von 70m auf dem Yoyogi Paradeplatz in Tokyo, dort, wo heute der Yoyogi Park ist. - Henri Farman (1875-1958) war ein französischer Flieger, der auch Flugzeuge konstruierte und baute.
Am 05.04.1911 führte er den ersten Flug auf Japan's erstem permanenten Flugplatz in Tokorozawa durch.
Tokugawa Yoshitoshi und Hino Kumazō setzen sich für die neue Technologie zur Einführung im Generalstab der japanischen Armee ein und unterstützten die Gründung der japanischen Militär-Luftfahrt.
Am 23.04.1911 setzte er einen japanischen Rekord mit einem Flug über 48 Meilen in der Zeit von 1 Std. 9 Minuten und 30 Sekunden mit einer Blériot.
Tokugawa kommandierte das 2. Flieger-Batallion und das 1. Flieger-Regiment und war in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren leitender General des Armee-Fliegercorps.
Er war Direktor für Ausbildung an der Armee-Luftfahrtschule von Tokorozawa, Kommandant derselben Schule und der Armee-Luftfahrtschule von Akeno, später wurde er in den Generalstab der japanischen Armee berufen und im August 1935 zum General-Leutnant befördert. Ab August 1939 wurde er in die aktive Reserve versetzt und im März 1944 als Kommandat der Armee-Luftfahrtschule wieder eingesetzt, bis er endgültig in den Ruhestand ging.
Im Yoyogi Park wurde 1964 eine Bronze Statue von Tokogawa Yoshitoshi enthüllt, geschaffen vom Künstler Ichibashi Toshio.


Chronologie 19.12.1910 - Luftfahrt
24.07.1884 in Tokyo
27.04.1963 in Tokyo

Lieutenant-General.
He was the son of Count Tokugawa Atsumori (1856-1924), head of the Shimizu branch. He graduated from the Imperial Japanese Army Academy in 1903, after having specialized in military engineering.
In 1909 the Japanese Army recognized the importance of aviation research. In 1909, Tokugawa Yoshitoshi was sent as a military attaché to France, specifically to study aeronautical engineering and military applications for the use of aircraft in combat, to learn to fly and to purchase suitable airplanes. He purchased a Farman III biplane, which he shipped back to Japan. After he returned home the plane was assembled and glide tests carried out. On December19, 1910, Tokugawa flew Japan's first successful powered aircraft flight at Yoyogi Parade Ground where Tokyo's Yoyogi Park is now located. His 4-minute flight covered a distance of 3 km reaching a maximum height of 70 metres. His aircraft was a Henri Farman biplane. Henri Farman (1875-1958) was an early French aviator who subsequently made his name as an aircraft designer and manufacturer.
On April 5, 1911, Tokugawa piloted the inaugural flight at Japan's first permanent airfield in Tokorozawa.
Tokugawa Yoshitoshi together with Hino Kumazō promoted the new technology to the Imperial Japanese Army General Staff and helped establish the Imperial Japanese Army Air Service.
On April 23, 1911, Tokugawa set a Japanese record with a Blériot, flying 48 miles in 1 hour 9 minutes 30 seconds.
Tokugawa led the 2nd Air Battalion, was Commanding Officer of the 1st Air Regiment, and was General Officer Commanding the Army Aviation Corps three times through the 1920s and 1930s. He served as Director of the Training Department in the Tokorozawa Army Aviation School, as Commandant of the same school and the Akeno Army Aviation School, and was later attached to the Imperial Japanese Army General Staff. In August 1935 he was promoted to lieutenant-general. He was in the active reserve from August 1939 and was recalled for command of the Imperial Army Aviation School in March 1944, before finally retiring.
In 1964 a bronze monument of Tokogawa Yoshitoshi was unveiled in the Yoyogi Park created by the artist Ichibashi Toshio.


Chronology 19.12.1910 - Aviation
___
/ JAP / SA / MIL /
TOKUGAWA
Yoshinobu
徳川慶喜
1837 – 1913

28.10.1837 in Mito, Ibaraki-ken
22.11.1913 in Tokyo

Er war der 15. und letzte japanische Shogun (1866-1867). Er dankte 1867 unter dem Druck der Reformbewegung ab, die anstelle eines Shogunats die nominelle Restauration der Kaiserherrschaft bei gleichzeitiger Modernisierung des Landes erreichen wollten. Er schwor dem Kaiser Treue und ihm wurde Hausarrest erteilt. Nach der Einsetzung des Kaisers wurde seine Strafe gemildert und er zog sich nach Shizuoka zurück, wo er vielen Hobbies frönte, u. a. Ölmalerei, Jagd, Fotografie und sogar Radfahren. 1902 gewährte ihm der Meiji-Kaiser, sein eigenes Haus als Tokugawa-Sitz wieder zu etablieren mit der Verleihung des höchsten Adelstitel eines Prinzen (kōshaku) aufgrund seiner treuen Dienste.
28.10.1837 at Mito, Ibaraki-ken
22.11.1913 in Tokyo

He was the fifteenth and last Japanese shogun (1866-1867. He resigned in 1867 under the pressure of the reform movement that claimed for a nominal restauration of the Imperial power instead of a shogunate with a simultaneous modernization of the country. He swore allegiance to the Emperor and was placed in confinement at home. After the Meiji Restoration, his confinement was lifted and he retired to Shizuoka. Yoshinobu indulged in many hobbies, including oil-painting, hunting, photography, and even cycling. In 1902, the Meiji Emporer allowed him to reestablish his own house as a Tokugawa branch with the highest rank in the peerage, that of prince (kōshaku), for his loyal service.
___
/ JAP / POL /
TORII
Ryūzō
鳥居 龍藏
1870 - 1952


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Torii Ryūzo





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Torii R. (left) and Toboi S. (right), 1897 in Tokushima





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Torii Ryūzō 1905





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Torii Ryūzō ca. 1940





Für Vergrößerung klicken
- "Memoiren eines alten Studenten – 60 Jahre archäologische Arbeit" von Torii Ryūzō, veröffentlicht 1953.
- "Memoirs of an Old Student – 60 years of archeological works", by Torii Ryūzō, published in 1953.



Reference:
Photos


04.04.1870 in Tokushima, Shikoku, Japan
14.01.1953 in Tokyo, Japan

Ethnologe, Anthropologe, Archäologe.
Er wurde als zweiter Sohn eines reichen Tabakhändlers geboren. 1876 wurde er in die Kanzen Grundschule (heute Shinmachi Shō Gakkō) eingeschult, brach aber seine Ausbildung ab. Er entschloss sich, die nächsten Stufen im Selbststudium zu Hause zu erreichen.

Bereits im Kindesalter war er ein leidenschaftlicher Sammler von Artefakten aller Art, zeigte aber wenig Interesse für ein stures Studium. Glücklicherweise profitierte er von weitsichtigen Lehrern, die trotz seiner Gleichgültigkeit der Schule gegenüber seine lebendige und natürliche Neugier schätzten. So wurde er auf Ausflüge in die Umgebung mitgenommen, um Geschichte und Materialkulturen seiner Heimat zu studieren und entwickelte bald die Fähigkeit zu Feldstudien, die das fehlende Bücherstudium kompensierte.

1884 wurde die Tokyo Anthropological Society (heute Anthropological Society of Japan) von Tsuboi Shōgoro (1863-1913) gegründet. 1886 trat Torii Ryūzo der Anthropologischen Gesellschaft von Tokyo bei und im Februar 1888 besucht Tsuboi Tokushima und die Familie Torii.
1890 ging Torii Ryūzō zum ersten Mal nach Tokyo. Er hatte gleich von Beginn die ernsthafte Absicht, Anthropologie zu studieren und obwohl Tsuboi 1890 nicht in Tokyo war, ging Torii zum Anthropologie-Labor der Universität von Tokyo, sofort nachdem er sich im Dezember 1892 niedergelassen hatte. Seine Beziehung zum Laborleiter (Wakabayashi Katsukuni) war zu der Zeit nicht sehr "herzlich", aber wir wissen, dass er bis zum Eintreffen Tsubois Unterstützung wie z. B. vom Historiker Miyake Yonekichi und dem Gelehrten Kanda Takahira erhielt.

Tsuboi Shōgoro war von 1889 bis 1892 zum Studium im Ausland: die ersten 5 Monate weilte er in Paris und ging dann nach London. 1893 trafen sich Torii und Tsuboi wieder.
Anstelle eines Studiums wurde Torii an die Universität von Tokyo, Wissenschaftliche Fakultät, Bereich Anthropologie, als Verantwortlicher für Versuchsaufbau berufen.
Am 28.07.1895 wurde er zum Instrukteur und im Juni 1898 zum Assistent befördert.

In seinen Memoiren erwähnte er, dass er um 1900 begann, Französisch im Abendstudium an der Ecole de l'Etoile du Matin (Gyosei Gakkō) zu erlernen und als seinen Lehrer nennt er "BEUF" (= Jean Baptiste Beuf). Weitere Personen, die eine wesentliche Rolle beim Studium der französischen Sprache gespielt haben, waren Augustin Tulpin and Emile Heck, die auch mit dieser Schule verbunden waren.
Am 26.05.1913 starb plötzlich Tsuboi Shōgoro auf einer Geschäftsreise im russischen St. Petersburg. Durch diesen unerwarteten Tod Tsubois musste Torii Ryūzō den Anthropologie-Unterricht vorbereiten.
Seine erste überseeische Forschungsreise unternahm Torii bereits 1895 in die Mandschurei, Halbinsel Liaodong.
Weitere Forschungen folgten (1905, 1909, 1927, 1930-1932, 1935).
Forschungsreisen nach Taiwan führte er 1896, 1897, 1898 und 1900 durch.

Er war einer der ersten japanischen Forscher, der die Fotografie in großem Maßstab einsetzte. Weitere Forschungen unternahm er
- auf den Kurilen (1899)
- China (1902, 1903), Südwest-China
- Mongolei - In den Jahren 1906 bis 1908 bereiste er das östliche mongolische Plateau und berichtete über eine Anzahl von archäologischen Stätten, darunter die Stätte Hongshanhou, die namensgebende Stätte der Hongshan-Kultur.
- Korea (jährlich von 1910 bis 1915)
Torii stimmte mit denjenigen überein, die die japanische Annexion Koreas mit der Begründung rechtfertigten, dass Koreaner und Japaner ein und derselben "Rasse/ Volk" (dōminzoku) angehören, basierend auf dem heute weltweiten Konsens in der Linguistik, Anthropologie und Archäologie.
- Sibirien (1919, 1921, 1928)
- Shandong (1926)
- Peru, Brasilien und Bolivien (1937)

Am 10.05.1921 erwarb er den Doktor-Titel mit der Arbeit "Die Frühgeschichte der Mandschurei und der Mongolei".
1922 wurde Torii Ryūzō zum Assistenzprofessor an der Kaiserlichen Universität Tokyo berufen und 1923 wurde er zusätzlich Professor der Kokugakuin Universität und 1928 der Sophia Universität.
Torii Ryūzō scheidet offiziell aus der Universität Tokyo am 02.06.1924.
Matsumura Akira (1880-1936) übernahm das Amt als Assistenzprofessor und wurde im Mai 1925 Nachfolger von Torii.
Am 31.12.1933 verließ Torii Ryūzō die Kokugakuin Universität und im August 1939 wurde er von der Universität Yenching (Beijing) als Gastprofessor eingeladen.

Allerdings wurde die Universität durch den Ausbruch des Pazifikkrieges am 08.12.1941 geschlossen. Als die Universität zum Kriegsende am 15.08.1945 wieder öffnete, war er wieder als Gast-Professor in Beijing. Im Juli 1951 beendete er hier seine Tätigkeit und im Dezember 1951 ging er nach Japan zurück.
1901 heiratete Torii Ryūzō Ichihara Kimiko (1881-1959) aus seiner Heimatstadt Tokushima. Sie hatten zwei Söhne und zwei Töchter.

Er starb 1952 in Tokyo.

Torii Ryūzō war Autor einer Vielzahl von Abhandlungen, viele von diesen wurden auch ins Französische von August Tulpin übersetzt und veröffentlicht in dem "Journal of the College of Science, Tokyo Imperial University", wie zum Beispiel
- 1910-1912 - Etudes Anthropologiques. Les Aborigènes de Formose
- 1914 - Etudes Anthropologiques. Les Mandchoux
- 1914 - Etudes Archéologiques et Ethnologiques. Populations Primitives de la Mongolie Orientale
- 1915 - Etudes Archéologiques et ethnologiques. Populations préhistoriques de la Mandchourie méridionale
- 1919 - Etudes Archeologiques et Ethnologiques. Les Ainou des Iles Kouriles

Sein Lebenswerk wird in einem Museum gewürdigt.

Seine Frau, Torii Kimiko, unterstützte ihn ihr ganzes Leben und sie begleitete ihn sehr oft auf seinen Feldforschungen und war sogar Mitautor bei einigen Werken. Sie war eine der ersten japanischen Frauen auf dem Gebiet der Anthropologie.
Sie starb in Tokyo am 19.08.1959. Am 12.01.1965 wurden die Überreste von Torii R. und seiner Frau wieder nach Tokushima gebracht und sie wurden in einem speziell errichteten Hünengrab auf dem Gelände des Torii Memorial Museums der Präfektur Tokushima beigesetzt. Diese Gedenkstätte wurde in Naruto im März 1964 eröffnet, aber am 03.11.2010 in die Stadt Tokushima verlegt.
04.04.1870 in Tokushima, Shikoku, Japan
14.01.1953 in Tokyo, Japan

Ethnologist, Anthropologist, Archeologist.
He was born the second son of a wealthy tobacco merchant. In 1876 he entered the Kanzen Elementary School (today's Shinmachi Shō Gakkō) but left the school halfway again. He chose to study at home by himself for the next higher grades of schooling.

From an early age he was a passionate collector of artifacts of all kinds, and showed, however, little inclination for a formal study. Fortunately, he benefited from intelligent teachers who, despite his indifference to schooling, appreciated his lively natural curiosity, and took him with them on excursions throughout the district to study the history and material culture of his home area.
He thus developed a precocious ability with field studies that compensated for his lack of dedication to pure book study.

In 1884, the Tokyo Anthropological Society (today Anthropological Society of Japan) was founded by Tsuboi Shōgoro (1863-1913). In 1886, Torii Ryūzo joined the Tokyo Anthropological Society and in February of 1888, Tsuboi visits Tokushima and the Torii family.

In 1890, Torii Ryūzō went to Tokyo for the first time. He had a serious intention of studying anthropology from the very start and although Tsuboi was not in Tokyo in 1890, Torii went to the laboratory of anthropology at Tokyo University immediately after settling in the city in December 1892. His relationship with the caretaker of the laboratory at the time (Wakabayashi Katsukuni) was not very "cordial", but we know that until the arrival of Tsuboi, he received the guidance of people like the historian Miyake Yonekichi and the scholar Kanda Takahira.

Tsuboi Shōgoro had gone to study abroad from 1889 to 1892; he stayed first in Paris for five months and then went to London. In 1893 Torii and Tsuboi met again.
Instead of studying, Torii was appointed classroom specimen clerk at the Imperial University of Tokyo, Faculty of Science, Department of Anthropology.
On July 28, 1895 he was promoted to lecturer and in June 1898 to an assistant.

In his memoirs he mentioned that he began to learn French at evening classes around 1900 at the Ecole de l'Etoile du Matin (Gyosei Gakkō) and as his teacher he named "BEUF" (= Jean Baptiste Beuf). Further individuals who have played an important role in studying the French language were Augustin Tulpin and Emile Heck, who were also connected with this school.

On May 26, 1913, Tsuboi Shōgoro died suddenly on a business trip at the Russian St. Petersburg. By this unexpected death of Tsuboi, Torii Ryūzō had to prepare the anthropology lessons.
Torii undertook his first overseas research expedition to the Liaodong Peninsula, Manchuria.
Further researches followed (1905, 1909, 1927, 1930-1932, 1935).
Research expeditions to Taiwan he realized in 1896, 1897, 1898, and 1900.

He was one of the first Japanese researchers, who used photography in a large scale. Further researches he undertook
- on the Kuril Islands (1899)
- China (1902, 1903), Southwest China
- Mongolia - In the years 1906 to 1908 he toured the Eastern Mongolian Plateau and reported on a number of archaeological sites, including the site of Hongshanhou, the eponymous site of the Hongshan culture.

- Korea (every year from 1910 until 1915)
Torii lined himself up with those who justified Japanese annexation of Korea on the grounds that the Korean and Japanese people belong to one and the same 'race/ people' (dōminzoku) based on the contemporary consensus worldwide in linguistics, anthropology, and archaeology.

- Siberia (1919, 1921, 1928)
- Shandong (1926)
- Peru, Brasilien und Bolivien (1937)

On May 10, 1921 he acquired the degree of doctor with the thesis “The Prehistory of Manchuria and Mongolia”.
In 1922, Torii Ryūzō was promoted to an assistant professor at Tokyo Imperial University and in 1923 he became additionally professor at the Kokugakuin and in 1928 of the Sophia University.
Torii Ryūzō resigns from Tokyo Imperial University formally on June 2, 1924.
Matsumura Akira (1880-1936) took office as assistant professor and succeeded Torii in May, 1925.

On December 31, 1933, Torii Ryūzō resigned from Kokugakuin University and in August 1939, he was invited by the Yenching University (Beijing) and he took office as an affiliated professor.
However, the university was closed by the outbreak of the Pacific War on December 8, 1941. When the university was reopened by the end of the war on August 15, 1945, he returned as an affiliate professor again. He resigns from Beijing University in July 1951, and in December 1951 returned to Japan.
In 1901, Torii Ryūzō married Ichihara Kimiko (1881-1959) from his hometown Tokushima. They had two sons and two daughters.

He died in 1952 in Tokyo.

Torii Ryūzō was author of numerous papers, many of them were also translated into the French language by Augustin Tulpin and published in the "Journal of the College of Science, Tokyo Imperial University", such as
- 1910-1912 - Etudes Anthropologiques. Les Aborigènes de Formose
- 1914 - Etudes Anthropologiques. Les Mandchoux
- 1914 - Etudes Archéologiques et Ethnologiques. Populations Primitives de la Mongolie Orientale
- 1915 - Etudes Archéologiques et ethnologiques. Populations préhistoriques de la Mandchourie méridionale
- 1919 - Etudes Archeologiques et Ethnologiques. Les Ainou des Iles Kouriles

His life's work is dedicated in a museum.

His wife, Torii Kimiko, continued to support him all her life and she very often accompanied him on his fieldwork research and was even co-author in some works. She was one of the first Japanese women in the field of anthropology.

She died in Tokyo on August 19, 1959. On January 12, 1965, the remains of Torii R. and his wife returned to Tokushima and were buried in the Dolmen provided in the Tokushima Prefectural Torii Memorial Museum premises. This memorial museum had been opened in Naruto City in March 1964, but was transferred on November 3, 2010 to Tokushima-city.
___
/ JAP / SC /
TSUDA
Umeko
津田梅子
1864 – 1929

[Ume]




Für Vergrößerung klicken

Ausgabe vom 22.09.2000 – 100. Jahrestag der privaten Hochschulausbildung für Frauen – Neben Tsuda Umeko (rechts unten) werden auch Naruse J. und Yoshioka Y. dargestellt, Gründer privater Colleges.

Issue of 22.09.2000 – Centenary of Private Higher Education for Women – Besides Tsuda Umeko (bottom right) also Naruse J. and Yoshioka Y. are figured, founders of private colleges.









































31.12.1864 in Tokyo
16.08.1929 in Tokyo

Tsuda Ume (1902 in Umeko geändert) wurde als zweite Tochter von Tsuda Sen und Hatsuko geboren. 1867 war ihr Vater zu einem speziellem Auftrag über moderne Landwirtschaft in den USA. Er war von der Technik und Kultur der USA so beeindruckt, dass er seine Tochter vier Jahre später in die USA sandte.
Ume wurde von der Meiji-Regierung 1871 als eines von 5 Mädchen (die anderen waren YOSHIMASU Ryoko, UEDA Teiko, YAMAKAWA Sutematsu, NAGAI Shigeko) mit der Iwakura-Mission in die USA entsandt. Sie war die jüngste und erst 7 Jahre alt. Ein Ziel war es, Mädchen im westlichen Stil zu erziehen, sie sollten Beispiele einer „idealen Weiblichkeit“ werden. - Sie wohnte in Washington, D. C. bei Charles Lanman, Sekretär der japanischen Gesandtschaft. Charles und seine Frau Adeline hatten keine Kinder, und so umsorgten sie sie wie ihr eigenes Kind, von 1871 bis 1882. Seine vielseitgen Talente und Freundschaften mit prominenten Schrifstellern dieser Zeit beeinflußten ihre Entwicklung. Seine Frau Adeline und Ume blieben auch nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Japan immer in Verbindung und sie gab Rat als ihre „amerikansche Mutter“.
Etwa ein Jahr nach Ankunft bei den Lanmans ließ sich Tsuda spontan als Christ taufen.
Tsuda’s erste amerikanische Schule war das Georgetown Collegiate Institute. Sie lernte sehr schnell English. Nach Abschluß dieser Schule besuchte sie das Archer Institute, eine Hochschule in Washington, die sie 1882 abschloß und bald danach kehrte sie nach Japan zurück. In ihren prägenden Jahren war sie nicht in Japan, sie fühlte sich als „Kuriosität“, ein fremder im eigenen Land. Sie mußte japanisch und auch die Sitten und Gebräuche wieder erlernen. - Was sie aber besonders störte, war die Position der japanischen Frau in der japanischen Gesellschaft. Sie war von der Abhängigkeit der japanischen Frau geschockt, nachdem sie die Unanhängigkeit der amerikanischen Frau erlebt hatte. Obwohl die Meiji-Regierung die Mädchen-Ausbildung in den letzten Jahren gefördert hatte, die Lehrpläne legten jedoch keinen Wert auf die Entwicklung der Persönlichkeit als Frau.
1885 wurde die Peeress-Schule gegründet, eine Schule für Töchter des Adels, und sie wurde von Itō Hirobumi als Englisch-Lehrer eingesetzt, eine Stelle, die sie 15 Jahre bekleidete. Auf ihr Drängen erklärte sich 1888 Alice Mabel Bacon, die sie aus den USA kannte, bereit, den Lehrkörper für ein Jahr zu unterstützen. Tsuda und Bacon wurden enge Freunde, teilten gemeinsame Interessen und Ansichten in der Ausbildung von Frauen. Diese Freundschaft ermutigte Tsuda, sich für drei Jahre beurlauben zu lassen, um 1889 in die USA zurückzukehren und am Bryn Mawr College bis 1892 zu studieren. Sie studierte Literatur, Philosophie, Deutsch, Biologie und Naturwissenschaften. Sie verfolgte bewußt ihr Lebensziel und belegte auch Kurse an der Oswego (New York) Lehrerschule. - Ihre Erfahrung mit der amerikanischen Hochschulausbildung verstärkten ihren Wunsch, einen Beitrag in der Frauenausbildung in Japan zu leisten. Eine ihrer bedeutendsten Aktivitäten bestand in der Bildung eines Stipendiums für japanische Frauen, das ein Studium in den USA ermöglichte. Sie war der Ansicht, dass eine höhere Ausbildung für die Verbesserung der Situation der Frau unverzichtbar ist und nur dies zu einer kompetenten Führungskraft in Japan führt. Das letzte Jahr ihres USA-Aufenthaltes verbrachte sie insbesondere mit der Schaffung des Fonds „Amerikanisches Stipendium für japanische Frauen“, dem sie 8000 $ zuführen konnte, wodurch auch die zwischenstaatlichen Beziehungen gestärkt wurden. Viele Frauen konnten mit diesem Stipendium in den USA studieren und wurden später in der Tat Führer in Politik und Erziehung in Japan.
Nach ihrer Rückkehr lehrte sie wieder an der Peeress Schule, aber auch an der Normalschule. Zu dieser Zeit wuchs die Mädchenausbildung durch das Gesetz von 1889, gemäß dem jede Präfektur wenigstens eine öffentliche Mittelschule für Mädchen einzurichten hatte.
1900 trat sie von ihrer Tätigkeit an der Peeress Schule zurück und am 14. 09.1900 eröffnete sie die Jōshi Eigaku Juku (Mädchenschule für englische Studien). Sie führte westliche Ausbildungsmethoden ein, die u. a. auch Klassendiskussionen über aktuelle Themen beinhalteten. Aufgrund ihrer Bemühungen und Lehrmethoden wurde die Schule 1903 vom Erziehungsministerium als Gewerbeschule bestätigt und ab 1905 brauchten Schulabgänger keine zusätzlich staatliche Prüfungsbestätigung. Allmählich wurde die Schule erfolgreich und seine Abgänger traten in die Gesellschaft als berufstätige Frauen.
1905 wurde Tsuda Umeko als erste Vorsitzende des Christlichen Bundes weiblicher Jugend (YWCA) von Tokyo gewählt, der 1905 in Tokyo gegründet wurde.
Das unermüdliche Leben von Tsuda Umeko nagte jedoch an ihrer Gesundheit und sie erlitt einen Schlaganfall. Nach langer Krankheit starb sie 1929 im Alter von 66 Jahren. - Sie war die erste japanische Frau, die auf Kosten der japanischen Regierung in den USA studierte. Ihre Erfahrungen ermöglichten es ihr, ein Pionier in der Hochschulausbildung von Frauen in Japan zu sein. Der Name der Einrichtung änderte sich von Jōshi Eigaku Juku in Tsuda Eigaku Juku im Jahr 1933 und nach dem 2. WK in Tsuda College, welches auch heute noch in dieser Form wirksam ist.
Tsuda Umeko (rechts) wurde auf einer japanischen 80-Yen - Sondermarke anläßlich „100 Jahre des Beginns einer höheren Ausbildung für Frauen“ am 20.09.2000 abgebildet, zusammen mit Naruse Jinzō (oben) und Yoshioka Yayoi (links).
31.12.1864 in Tokyo
16.08.1929 in Tokyo

Tsuda Ume (in 1902 changed to Umeko) was born as the second daughter of Tsuda Sen and Tsuda Hatsuko. In 1867 her father was on special mission on modern farming in the USA. He was deeply impressed with the technology and culture of the USA, and this experience motivated him to send his daughter to America four years later.
Ume was sent to the USA by the Meiji government in 1871, as one of five girls (the other were YOSHIMASU Ryoko, UEDA Teiko, YAMAKAWA Sutematsu, NAGAI Shigeko) accompanying ambassador Iwakura Tomomi. Ume, the youngest, was only seven years old. One purpose was to cultivate girls in Western ways; they were to become models of "ideal womanhood". - Tsuda stayed in Washington, D.C., with Charles Lanman, secretary of the Japanese legation. Charles and his wife Adeline had no children, so they welcomed her and treated her like their own child from 1871 to 1882. His diverse talents and friendship with prominent writers of the day greatly influenced Tsuda's growth. His wife Adeline and Ume kept always in touch with each other, also after Umeko returned to Japan and she gave advice as her “American mother”. - About one year after arriving at the Lanmans, Tsuda spontaneously asked to be baptized as a Christian.
Tsuda's first American school was the Georgetown Collegiate Institute. She learned English very quickly. After graduating from this school she entered the Archer Institute, a high school in Washington where she graduated in 1882 and soon thereafter returned to Japan.. Away from Japan during her formative years, she felt herself a "curiosity," a stranger in her own land. She had to re-learn the Japanese language as well as Japanese customs and habits. - What anguished her most seriously was the position of women in Japanese society. Having seen American women’s liberated position and their independence, Umeko was shocked by Japanese women’s dependence. Though the Meiji government had promoted girls’ education during the decade she was in the USA, the curricula did not emphasize the development of women’s intelligence and personality.
In 1885, the Peeress School was established, a school for daughters of the nobility, and she was invited by Itō Hirobumi to teach English, a position she held for fifteen years. In 1888, at her urging, Alice Mabel Bacon, who she knew from the USA, agreed to join the staff for a year. Tsuda and Bacon became close friends, sharing mutual interests and philosophies about women’s education. This friendship encouraged Tsuda to take a three-year leave of absence in 1889 to return to the USA to study at Bryn Mawr College until 1892. There she studied literature, philosophy, German, and showed exceptional ability in biology and the sciences. Conscious of her goal in life, she also took courses at Oswego (New York) Teacher’s College.
Her experience with American higher education strengthened her aspiration to contribute to Japanese women’s education and she decided to devote her life to Japanese women’s higher education. One of her most significant philanthropic activities was to found a scholarship for Japanese women. She believed that higher education was indispensable in improving women’s status, and that women trained in the USA would make competent educational leaders in Japan. She spent her last year in the USA making public speeches about Japanese women’s education and raising $8,000 in scholarship funds. The fund, named the "American Scholarship for Japanese Women," strengthened connections between Japan and the USA. Many women have studied in the USA because of this scholarship fund and have, indeed, later become educational and political leaders.
After returning to Japan, Ume Tsuda again taught at Peeresses’ School, as well as at Normal School. At this time, girls’ education was expanding due to the 1889 Girl’s Higher Education Law, which required each prefecture to establish at least one public middle school for girls.
In 1900, she resigned from the Peeresses’ School and and on September 14, 1900 she opened Jōshi Eigaku Juku (The Women's Institute for English Studies). She introduced western-style education, which included among others class discussion about current topics. Due to her efforts and enthusiastic teaching, in 1903 the school was approved as a vocational school by the Ministry of Education and, in 1905, graduates of the school were no longer required to take the government examination in order to teach. Gradually the school became prosperous and its graduates entered society as professional women.
In 1905 Tsuda Umeko was elected as the first chair of the Tokyo Young Women's Christian Association, this branch of the World YWCA was established in Tokyo in 1905.
However, Tsuda Umeko’s busy life gradually undermined her health, and she suffered a stroke. After a long illness, Tsuda died in 1929 when she was 66 years old. Umeko Tsuda was the first Japanese woman to study in the USA at the Japanese government's expense and her experience in the USA enabled her to be a pioneer of women’s higher education in Japan.
Jōshi Eigaku Juku changed its name to Tsuda Eigaku Juku in 1933 and, after World War II, was known as Tsuda College. It is still one of the most prestigious women's institutes of higher education in Japan.
Tsuda Umeko (right) was depicted on an 80-Yen Japanese commemorative postage stamp on the occasion of the “100th anniversary of establishing higher education for women” on September 20, 2000 together with Naruse Jinzō (top) and Yoshioka Yayoi (left).
___
/ JAP / SA / ED /