Meiji-Portraits
- W -
Erklärung zur Namensliste >> << Explanation of Names' List
1.
Dies sind alle berücksichtigten Personen mit dem Buchstaben - W - . Die Namen wurden getrennt nach Ausländer und Japaner angeordnet. Spezifische Beschreibungen werden kontinuierlich ergänzt. Fett gedruckte Namen wurden bereits bearbeitet, nutzen Sie auch den Link.

These are all considered persons with the letter - W - . Names have been separately arranged by Foreigners and Japanese. Specific descriptions will be continuously added. Bolded names have been edited, please use also the Link.

2.
Reihenfolge der Anordnung je Zeile <<>> Sequence per Line

Nachname, Vorname [Namensvarianten] / Aufenthalt innerhalb des Zeitraumes P / Herkunft / Beschäftigungsgruppe / Bemerkungen

Surname, Christian Name [Variants of Name] / Stay within the Period of P/ Origin / Group of Occupation / Remarks




1. AUSLÄNDER >>> <<< FOREIGNERS
(JAPANER >>> <<< JAPANESE)

WABY, L. / siehe - see / SWABY, Louis

WACHTELS, Henri Philip Mattheus / P I - II / NL / TR /
- Er wurde am 29.10.1837 in Batavia geboren und kam am 16.04.1859 an Bord der holländisch-indischen Brigg „Zwaluw“ nach Nagasaki. Er ist zunächst nur als Resident von Nagasaki gelistet, erst 1864 wird er als Partner von Gaymans & Co. in Nagasaki aufgeführt. Die Partnerschaft dauerte bis 1867 und Gaymans & Co. wurde liquidiert.
Nur im Jahr 1869 amtierte er als Vize-Konsul für Hawaii in Nagasaki.
Henri Wachtels gründete am 01.08.1868 mit John Henry Groos eine neue Firma, die unter Wachtels, Groos & Co. firmierte, aber nur sehr kurzlebig war. Sie hatten miteinander Schwierigkeiten und trennten sich am 01.07.1870 wieder. Henri Wachtels führte die Firma unter seinem Namen Wachtels & Co. fort, allerdings verlegte er den Firmensitz nach Kobe. Der Firmensitz änderte sich in Kobe mehrmals und befand sich zu Beginn in # 79, ab 1872 in # 90 und ab 1875 in Kobe # 56. Die Firma wurde 1876 liquidiert.
Als Henri P. M. Wachtels 1859 nach Nagasaki kam, lebte er bis zum 20.03.1865 mit Maesode-san zusammen. Im Jahr 1869 heiratete er Sophia Cornelia Gersom. Sie hatten 4 Kinder: Henri Louis * 30.07.1869 in Nagasaki; Jeanne Louise * 14.12.1870 in Kobe; Henriette Charlotte * 30.08.1874 in Kobe; Henriette Sophia Cornelia * 11.12.1875 in Kobe. - Über das weitere Schicksal von Henri P. M. Wachtels ist nichts bekannt.
- He was born on October 29, 1837 in Batavia and came to Nagasaki on April 16, 1859 aboard the Dutch-Indian brig "Zwaluw". He is initially listed only as a resident of Nagasaki; only in 1864 he is recorded as a partner of Gaymans & Co. in Nagasaki. The partnership lasted until 1867 and Gaymans & Co. was liquidated. - Only in 1869, he acted as Vice Consul for Hawaii in Nagasaki.
On August 1, 1868 Henri Wachtels founded with John Henry Groos a new company, which operated under Wachtels, Groos & Co., but it was very short-lived. The partners had difficulties with each other and separated on July 1, 1870 again. Henri Wachtels continued the business under his name Wachtels & Co., however, the headquarters of the company was moved to Kobe. The company seat changed several times in Kobe and was located at the beginning in # 79, as of 1872 in # 90 and from 1875 in Kobe # 56. The company was liquidated in 1876.
When Henri P. M. Wachtels came to Nagasaki in 1859, he lived together with Maesode-san until March 20, 1865. In 1869 he married Sophia Cornelia Gersom. They had 4 children: Henri Louis * 30.07.1869 in Nagasaki; Jeanne Louise * 14.12.1870 in Kobe; Henriette Charlotte * 30.08.1874 in Kobe; Henriette Sophia Cornelia * 11.12.1875 in Kobe. - Nothing is known about the further fate of Henri P. M. Wachtels.


WADDELL, David / P III / GB / DIP / (1879-1923)
- Buchhalter in der britischen Botschaft von Tokyo, der während des großen Kantō-Erdbebens am 01.09.1923 im General-Konsulat sein Leben verlor. Er wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof Yokohama beigesetzt.
- Accountant at the HBM Embassy Tokyo, he lost his life in the in HBM Consulate General during the Great Earthquake of September 1, 1923, buried in the Yokohama Foreigners' Cemetery.

WADDELL, Hugh

WADDELL, James S. / P III / GB / DIP /
- Speditionsbeauftragter im Britischen Konsulat in Nagasaki von 1907-1912 und in Kobe von 1913-1941. Er war mit einer Japanerin, Okawauchi Kane, verheiratet.
- Shipping clerk of the British Consulate in Nagasaki from 1907 to 1912 and in Kobe from 1913 to 1941. He was married with a Japanese woman, Okawauchi Kane.

WADDELL, John Alexander Low

WADDILOVE, J. / P III / UKN / TR /
WADE, - / P II / GB / FE-T-PT /
WADE, B. O. / P III / USA / MIS /
WADE, C. S. / P III / GB / TR /
WADMAN, H. P. / P III / USA / TR /
WADMAN, J. W. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WAENTIG, Heinrich / P III / DE / FE-ED /
WAEPENAERT, - de / P III / NL / DIP /
WAFER, P. / P III / USA / SER /

WAGEN, Conrad / P II - III / CH / TR /
- Als er 1877 nach Japan kam, gründete er gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Johann Friedrich Wagen eine Firma, die unter Wagen Freres, Yokohama Wein Depot, Yokohama # 55, und ab 1882 in # 57., firmierte. Außerdem übernahmen sie die Alleinvertretung für Japan und China für die französische Weinfirma Schroeder & de Constans aus Bordeaux, die noch heute existiert. Privat lebten sie zusammen in Yokohama # 23 Bluff. Mehr als 10 Jahre arbeiteten Wagen Freres erfolgreich. Im Jahr 1890 traten allerdings bedeutende Veränderungen ein. Conrad Wagen verließ die Firma. Auch Franz Herb, ebenfalls Mitarbeiter bei Wagen Freres, verließ die Firma und gründete F. Herb & Co., , Yokohama # 95, und Conrad Wagen wurde Partner. Bereits im Jahr 1894 wurde Herb & Co. liquidiert und Conrad Wagen hat Japan verlassen.
- When he came to Japan in 1877, he founded a company together with his brother Johann Friedrich Wagen, which operated under Wagen Freres, Yokohama Wine Depot, Yokohama # 55, and as of 1882 at # 57. They also took over the sole agency for Japan and China for the French wine company Messr. Schroeder & de Constans from Bordeaux, which still exists today. Privately they resided together in Yokohama # 23 Bluff.
For more than 10 years, Wagen Freres had been working successfully. In 1890, however, significant changes took place. Conrad Wagen left the company. Franz Herb, also a staff member of Wagen Freres, left the company, too, and founded F. Herb & Co., Yokohama # 95 and Conrad Wagen became a partner. Herb & Co. had already been liquidated in 1894 and Conrad Wagen left Japan.


WAGEN, Johann Friedrich

WAGEN, Raymund J. F. / P IV / CH / TR /
- Raymund J. F.WAGEN kam 1904 nach Japan und wird als Partner von J. F. Wagen & Co., Export - Import-Kaufmann, Yokohama # 163, gelistet. Allerdings existierte die Firma ab 1907 nicht mehr in Japan und auch Raymund J. F. Wagen hat Japan verlassen.
- Raymund J. F. WAGEN came to Japan in 1904 and is listed as a partner of J. F. Wagen & Co., Export - Import - Merchant, Yokohama # 163. As of 1907, however, the company existed no longer in Japan and also Raymund J. F. Wagen had left Japan.

WAGENER. Gottfried [WAGNER]

WAGENKNECHT, F. / P III / GB / TR /
WAGGOTT, H. G. [G. H.] / P III / USA /
WAGGOTT, W. [WAGGOT] / P II - III / UKN / TR /

WAGNER, Albert / P III / DE / TR /
- Gärtner. Er betrieb in Leipzig/ DE eine Gärtnerei und kam etwa um 1885 nach Amami Ōshima, eine damals wie heute verlassene Insel im Süden Kyūshūs. Er hatte auf der Insel den Palmfarn cycas revoluta „entdeckt“, der hier in großen Wäldern wild wuchs und für die Ausfuhr nach Deutschland gesammelt. Er stand in Konkurrenz zu Alfred Unger.
Die Trachycarpus wagnerianus wurde ursprünglich von Albert Wagner nach Europa gebracht. Dieser verkaufte alle seine aus Japan importierten Pflanzen an Ludwig Winter, ebenfalls Gartenbauarchitekt aus Heidelberg/ DE. Winter benannte dann diese Palme nach Albert Wagner.
- Horticulturist. He operated a plant nursery in Leipzig/ Germany, and around 1885 he came to Amami Ōshima, an island deserted then like today located in the south of Kyūshū. He "discovered" the palm fern cycas revoluta on the island, which wildly grew there in big woods and he collected it for the exportation to Germany. He and Alfred Unger were competitors in this field. - Originally the Trachycarpus wagnerianus was brought by Albert Wagner to Europe. He sold all the plants imported from Japan to Ludwig Winter, also a horticulturist from Heidelberg/ DE. Winter then named this palm after Albert Wagner.

WAGNER, Christian / P II / DE / FE-ED / 1819 - 1891
WAGNER, G. / P II / DE / FE-R /
WAGNER, H. / P III / DE / TR /
WAHLING, C. / P III / UKN / TR /
WAINRIGHT, S. H. [WAINWRIGHT] / P II - III / USA / FE-ED + MIS /
WAINWRIGHT, Mary Ellen / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WAITE, J. S. / P II / GB / FE-T-PT + TR /
WAKE, G. A. [G. E.] [S. A.] / P II / GB / TR /
WAKE, Henry / P II / GB / FE-R /
WAKE, William / P II / GB / FE-R /
WALDBAUER, O. / P III / DE / TR /
WALDRON, Thomas P. / P III / GB / MIS /
WALDTHAUSEN, J. von / P III / DE / DIP /
WALES, Alice / P II / UKN / SER /
WALES, F. [F. E.] / P III / GB / TR /
WALES, George / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
WALEWSKI, Colonna / P II / FR / DIP /
WALFORD, Ambrose Berry / P II - III / UKN / L /

WALKE, Henry

WALKE, R. A. / P IV / USA / MIS /
- Er war ab 1906 als Missionar der American Episcopal Mission in Japan und arbeitete im Missionsdistrikt von Tokyo.
- As of 1906 he was a missionary of the American Episcopal Mission in Japan and worked in the missionary district of Tokyo.

WALKENBURGH, Robert B. van / siehe - see / VALKENBURGH, Robert B. van

WALKER - Family (Wilson Walker - Captain)

WALKER - Family (William Walker - Forwarding Agency)

WALKER, Amanda A. / P III / USA / MIS /
- Missionarin. Sie begann ihre Tätigkeit 1905 in Tottori für die American Board Mission. Im Lauf des Jahres 1907 wurde sie nach Kobe versetzt.
- Missionary. She took office in 1905 in Tottori working for the American Board Mission. In the course of 1907 she was transferred to Kobe.

WALKER, Baldwin G.

WALKER, F.

WALKER, F. B.

WALKER, F. D.

WALKER, George [Geo.] / P II / GB / (3 Mon.) /
- Er kam 1871 nach Japan und lebte in Kobe. Er wurde Leiter der Ikuta Eisen-Werke in Kobe. 1873 wird er nicht mehr gelistet.
- He came to Japan in 1871 and resided in Kobe. He became manager of the Ikuta Iron Works in Kobe. In 1873 he is not listed any more in Japan.

WALKER, George W.

WALKER, H. Bruce / P I - II / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1867 nach Japan und arbeitete als Assistenz-Buchhalter und Kassenbeamter in der Oriental Bank Corporation, Yokohama # 11. Er war hier bis 1872 tätig und verließ Japan wieder.
- In 1867 he came to Japan and worked as Assistant Accountant and Cashier in the Oriental Bank Corporation, Yokohama # 11. He acted there until 1872 when he left Japan again.

WALKER, H. H. B. / P III / GB / TR /
- Als er 1902 nach Japan kam, begann er für eine Agentur in # 4 Yokohama zu arbeiten, die die Pacific Mail Steamship Co., Occidental und Oriental Steamship Co., Tōyō Kisen Kaisha, etc., vertrat. Er arbeitete in Japan bis 1904.
- He came in 1902 to Japan to work in the Agency for the Pacific Mail Steamship Co., Occidental and Oriental Steamship Co., Tōyō Kisen Kaisha, etc., Yokohama # 4. He stayed at this company until 1904.

WALKER, John

WALKER, John R.

WALKER, P. M. / P III / GB / TR /
- Er lebte nur 1901 in Japan und war tätig für Cornes & Co., Bereich Seidenwaren, Yokohama # 48.
- He stayed only in 1901 in Japan and was employed with Cornes & Co., Silk Goods Department, Yokohama # 48.

WALKER, Robert jun.

WALKER, Robert Neill

WALKER, Thomas

WALKER, Thomas Taga

WALKER, T. W. / P I / UKN / TR /
- Er kam 1863 nach Japan, um für Barnet & Co., Kaufmann in Yokohama, zu arbeiten. Er arbeitete für diese Firma bis 1866, als George Barnet sein Geschäft aufgab. Er verließ Japan, weitere Informationen liegen nicht vor.
- He came to Japan in 1863 and started to work with Barnet & Co., Merchant, Yokohama. He remained at this company until 1866 when George Barnet ceased his business. He left Japan for good. Further traces are unknown.

WALKER, U. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
- Er unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, gemäß dem er ab 01.02.1877 für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. arbeitete. Er war als 2. Ingenieur auf der Shinagawa-maru eingesetzt, sein Vertrag lief bis 31.01.1878.
- He signed a contract with the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. and started work on February 1, 1877 on the Shinagawa-maru as 2nd Engineer. His contract run until January 31, 1878.

WALKER, W.

WALKER, William

WALKER, William H.

WALKER, William Henry

WALKER, Wilson

WALKINSHAW, F. / P II / UKN / ENG /
WALL, M. / P III / UKN / TR /
WALL, T. A. [T. E.] / P III / USA / MIS /
WALLACE, C. P. / P III / USA / TR /
WALLACE, Edward / P I - II / GB / TR /
WALLACE, Geo. / P III / USA / MIS /
WALLACE, J. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
WALLACE, James Hislop / P III / GB / TR /
WALLACE, P. / P III / UKN / TR /
WALLACE, R. / P III / UKN / TR /
WALLACE, Thomas / P II / GB / FE-T-SH-L + TR /
WALLACE, W. / P II / GB / FE-R /
WALLENBERG, Gustaf Oscar / P III / SW / DIP /
WALLER, John Gage [T. G.] / P III / CAN / MIS /
WALLER, William / P I / GB / TR /

WALLICH, Ernst / P IV / DE / TR /
* 9.7.1883
† 2.6.1947 in Kobe, Japan
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Postkarte vom 16.09.1911 an Herrn Wallich in # 48 Tsukiji mit einer Einladung der OAG.

- Postcard posted September 16, 1911 addressed to Mr. Wallich at # 48 Tsukiji with an invitation of the OAG.


- Er wurde von Hermann Kessler und Viktor Hermann von der Siemens-Schuckert AG / Siemens-Schuckert Denki Kabushiki Kaisha, in Berlin und Tokyo, eingestellt und nahm seine Arbeit ab 1910 in Tokyo # 48 Tsukiji als Ingenieur auf. Die nächsten Jahre arbeitete er in Tokyo und er erhielt auch Prokura.
Er integrierte sich sofort in die deutsche Gemeinschft und wurde Mitglied der „Deutschen Gesellschaft für Natur- und Völkerkunde Ostasiens“ (OAG).
Er arbeitete immer in Japan. Ab etwa 1920 leitete er die Niederlassung von Siemens in Osaka. Er starb 1947 und wurde in Kobe beigesetzt.
- He was employed by Hermann Kessler and Viktor Hermann of the Siemens-Schuckert AG / Siemens-Schuckert Denki Kabushiki Kaisha, in Berlin and Tokyo and he started his work as an engineer at # 48 Tsukiji from 1910 on. The following years he worked in Tokyo and he was also authorized to sign per procuration.
He immediately integrated himself into the German community and became a member of the "German Society of Natural History and Ethnology of East Asia“ (OAG).
He always worked in Japan. As of around 1920, he headed the Siemens branch in Osaka. He died in 1947 and was buried in Kobe.


WALLNER, C. / P III / UKN / TR /
WALLS, L. B. / P III / USA / TR /
WALNE, Ernest N. / / P III / USA / MIS /
WALREE, E. D. van / P III / NL / DIP /
WALSH, Arthur H. H. / P II / GB / MIL /
WALSH, C. P. / P III / GB / TR /
WALSH, Francis [C. F.] / P I - II / GB / JOU /
WALSH, J. Richard / P I / GB / TR /
WALSH, John Glia / P I - III / USA / DIP + TR / 1829 - 1897
WALSH, Lion G. / P I / FR / DIP /
WALSH, Philip B. / P I - II / GB / DIP /
WALSH, Richard J. / P I - II / USA / DIP + TR /
WALSH, Robert G. / P I - II / GB / TR /
WALSH, Thomas / P I - III / USA / TR /
WALSH, W. / P III / UKN / SER /
WALSTAB, R. / P II / UKN / TR /
WALTER, A. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
WALTER, Augustus / P III / USA / FE-MIL /
WALTER, C. [WATERS] [WALTERS] [C. H.] / P III / UKN / TR /
WALTER, C. F. H. / P II - III / UKN / FE-T-SH /
WALTER, H. / P II / DE / TR /
WALTER, J. / P II / DE / FE-R /
WALTER, J. H. / P III / UKN / TR /

WALTER, James

WALTER, John / P II / GB / TR /
WALTER, Julius Hugo / P II / DE / DIP /
WALTER, Nicolas / P III / FR / MIS /
WALTER, Norman A. / P II - III / GB / TR /
WALTER, P. / P II / UKN / TR /
WALTER, T. / P I / UKN / TR /
WALTER, W. / P I / GB / TR /
WALTER, W. A. / P III / GB / SER /
WALTER, Walter B. [WALTERS] / P I - III / GB / TR /
WALTERS, Anthony Williams [W. A.] [WATERS] / P III / GB / SER /
WALTERS, Joseph Harry Earnest / P II / GB / FE-R /
WALTERS, T. J. / see WATERS, Thomas James
WALTERS, W. / P I / DE / TR /
WALTHAM, Mass / P II / USA / TR /
WALTHER, E. M. / P III / GB / MIS / Miss
WALTHEW, A. / P II / UKN / FE-T /
WALTON, F. E. [H. B.] / P II / GB / MIS /
WALTON, M. / P III / USA / MIS / Miss
WALTON, T. J. / P II / GB / FE-T /
WALVOORD, Anthony / P III / USA / MIS / 1878 - 1919

WALZ, William Emanuel [WALS] / P II / USA / MIS + QFE-ED / 1860 - 1933
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Postkarte vom 26.05.1887 an W. E. Walz von einem Schüler mit einer Entschuldigung wegen Krankheit; großer Botastempel von Tokyo, Postamt Kojimachi.

- Postcard posted on May 26, 1887 to W. E. Walz from a student with an apology for illness; used large Bota cancel of Tokyo, Post Office Kojimachi.



- William Emanuel Walz wurde am 13.04.1860 in Columbus, OH, geboren, Sohn von Missionaren der Evangelical Association in Deutschland. Er erhielt seine Grund- und Sekundarstufe am Paedagogium in Basel und dem Königlichen Gymnasium in Stuttgart. Zurück in den USA, studierte er am North Western College (North Central College) und erwarb den B.A. und dann den M.A. im Jahre 1882. Später erwarb er den Bachelor für Recht von der Harvard University, Cambridge und den M.A. im Jahre 1899.
Er lehrte Latein und Geschichte am Freeport Seminar, eine Sekundarschule in Illinois, von 1881 bis 1883 und war Direktor des Schuykill Seminars (jetzt Albright College, Reading, PA).
Er heiratete Mary Louise Deininger am 25.03.1883 in Reading, PA, und nach ihrer Heirat wurden sie von der Missionsgesellschaft der „Evangelischen Vereinigung Nordamerikas“ nach Japan delegiert. Sie kamen im Oktober 1883 in Japan an und arbeiteten bis Oktober 1887 in Tokyo # 9 bzw. # 50, Tsukiji.
Im Ergebnis einer Kontroverse in der Japan-Mission, die sich um den Superintendenten Jacob Hartzler konzentrierte, beendeten sie ihre Missionstätigkeit. Sie blieben aber in Japan und er lehrte Deutsch und Geschichte an der Regierungsschule in Hongo, Tokyo und an der Kaiserlichen Universität von Tokyo. Sie verließen Japan im Jahre 1896, und er studierte Jura an der Harvard University und ab 1899 war der Lehrer für Recht an der Universität Maine. Er wurde Dekan der dort 1902 errichteten Jurafakultät und wirkte hier bis zum Ruhestand im Jahre 1918. Seine letzten Jahre verbrachte er in Deutschland und starb in Bayern im Jahre 1933.
- William Emanuel Walz was born in Columbus, OH, on April 13, 1860, the son of Evangelical Association missionaries to Germany. He received his elementary and secondary education at the Paedagogium in Basel and the Royal Gymnasium in Stuttgart. Back in the USA, he studied at the North Western College (North Central College) and acquired the B.A. and the M.A. in 1882. Later he acquired the Bachelor of Law from the Harvard University, Cambridge, and the M.A. in 1899.
He taught Latin and history at Freeport Seminary, a secondary school in Illinois, from 1881 to 1883, and was principal of Schuykill Seminary (now Albright College, Reading, PA).
He married Mary Louise Deininger on March 25, 1883 in Reading, PA, and after their marriage they were delegated to Japan by the Missionary Society of the Evangelical Association of North America. They arrived in Japan in October 1883 and worked until October 1887 in Tokyo # 9 and # 50 resp., Tsukiji.
As a result of controversy in the Japan mission centering around Superintendent Jacob Hartzler, he resigned from mission service but continued in Japan as teacher of German and history at the government Higher Middle School, Hongo, Tokyo and at the Imperial University in Tokyo. He left Japan in 1896 to enrol in the law School at Harvard University and from 1899 was instructor of law at the University of Maine becoming dean of the law school established there in 1902 and serving as such until retirement in 1918. His final years were spent in Germany and he died in Bavaria in 1933.


WANSEY, H. Raymond / P IV / GB / MIS /
- Er war ab 1904 mit Frau als Missionar der Church Missionary Society in Japan und arbeitete zuerst in Nagasaki. Ab 1907 arbeiteten sie in Nikkō.
- He stayed from 1904 with wife as a missionary of the Church Missionary Society in Japan and worked first in Nagasaki. As of 1907 they worked in Nikkō.

WARBURG, C. S. / P II / GB / TR /
- Er war mit seiner Frau nur 1889 in Japan. In dieser Zeit versuchte er in seiner Firma Warburton & Co., Kobe # 16, als Marine-Inspektor Fuß zu fassen. Im Jahr 1890 sind sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He lived in Japan with his wife only in 1889. During this time, he tried to gain a foothold as a Marine Surveyor with his company Warburton & Co., Kobe # 16. In 1890 they are no longer listed in Japan.

WARBURTON, Walter [Kishiwada WARBURTON] [Kishiwada W.] / P II - III / GB / TR /
- Walter Warburton kam 1871 nach Japan, und ließ sich in Kobe nieder. Im Jahr 1872 und 1873 arbeitete er als Lotse in Kobe, Native Town. Hier lernte er J. F. Gorham kennen, mit dem er ab 1875 eine berufliche Partnerschaft einging. Im Jahr 1874 war er nicht in Japan gelistet, aber 1875 gründete er mit J. F. Gorham die Firma Gorham & Warburton, Stau- und Schiffsbeladungen, Kobe # 62, ab 1877 war der Sitz in Kobe # 29. Die erfolgreichen Jahre der Zusammenarbeit endeten 1880 und jeder Partner ging seinen eigenen Weg. So war Walter Warburton 1880 als eigenständiger Stauer ohne J. F. Gorham in Kobe # 97, Native Bund, tätig. Ab 1889 firmierte er als Agent für Verzollung, Versand und Beladung sowie als Agent für Henry S. King & Co., London. Diese Firma betrieb er bis zur Liquidation im Jahr 1899.
Ab 1890 hatte er noch eine weitere Arbeit als Leichter-Wärter der Ikuta-maru, angestellt bei der Nippon Yūsen Kaisha.
Im Jahr 1893 versuchte er sein Geschäft durch einen Partner, Kapitän L. Mitchell, zu beleben; die Firma Mitchell, Warburton & Co. existierte aber nur 1893.
Im Jahr 1894 firmierte er wieder wie vor seiner Partnerschaft, allerdings nannte er sich jetzt Kishiwada Warburton. Vielleicht erwartete er damit bessere Kontakte zu japanischen Partnern. Aber 1897 ist er wieder mit seinem früheren Namen Walter Warburton gelistet.
Ab 1897 etwa haben sich unter gleicher Anschrift # 97, Native Bund, weitere Schiffsstauer und - zulieferer angesiedelt, wie z. B. Jack Young & Co., J. Lyons & Co., J. Dick & Co., usw., die natürlich eine starke Konkurrenz für W. Warburton bedeuteten. Auch Firmen gleicher Branche an anderen Standorten in Kobe, wie z. B. Nickel & Co., führten schließlich dazu, dass W. Warburton seine Firma aufgeben musste.
Er war mit einer japanischen Frau namens FUSA Kishi verheiratet. Das Paar hatte vier Kinder
- Lydia Jane, * April 14, 1883
- Alfred Newcomb, * 29. Dezember 1885
- Maria Theresia, * 19. November 1886
- Katherine Tibbals, * 14. April 1890
Sein Leben ab 1900 liegt noch im Dunkeln.
- Walter Warburton came to Japan in 1871 and settled down in Kobe. In 1872 and 1873 he worked as a pilot in Kobe, Native Town. Here he met J. F. Gorham, with whom he entered a professional partnership from 1875 onwards. In 1874, he was not listed in Japan, but in 1875 he founded the company Gorham & Warburton with J. F. Gorham, Stevedores, Kobe # 62; from 1877 they were located in Kobe # 29. The successful years of cooperation ended in 1880 and each partner went his own way. Thus, Walter Warburton was active as of 1880 as an independent stevedore without J. F. Gorham in Kobe # 97, Native Bund. In 1889 his field of business changed and he acted as a Customs', Shipping and Forwarding Agent and Agent for Henry S. King & Co., London. He ran this business until the liquidation in 1899.
As of 1890 he had another job as a barge keeper of the Ikuta-maru, employed by the Nippon Yūsen Kaisha.
In 1893 he tried to revive his business by a partner, Captain L. Mitchell; the company Mitchell, Warburton & Co. existed, however, only in 1893.
In 1894, he was again operating his business as before his partnership. Now he called himself Kishiwada Warburton; possibly he expected better contacts to Japanese partners. But in 1897 he was again listed with his former name Walter Warburton.
From 1897 onwards, further Stevedores and Ship Chandlers have settled under the same address, Kobe # 97, Native Town, such as Jack Young & Co., J. Lyons & Co., J. Dick & Co., etc. which were of course a strong competition for W. Warburton. Even companies of the same industry served at other locations in Kobe, such as Nickel & Co. and they all eventually led to W. Warburton having to give up his company.
He was married to a Japanese woman named FUSA Kishi. The couple had four children
- Lydia Jane, * Apr. 14, 1883
- Alfred Newcomb, * Dec. 29, 1885
- Mary Theresa, * Nov. 19, 1886
- Katherine Tibbals, * Apr. 14, 1890
His life as of 1900 is still in the dark.


WARBURTON, Wm. [William] / P II / GB / TR /
- Er ist 1871 in Kobe erstmals gelistet und ab 1872 arbeitete er für Browne & Co., Kaufmann und Versicherungsagentur, Kobe # 26. Browne & Co. wurde 1873 auch Generalvertreter und Protollführer für die Hyogo Gas Works und William Warburton wurde in diese Aufgabe integriert. Sein Vertrag endete 1874 und er hat Japan wieder verlassen.
- He was first listed in Kobe in 1871 and as of 1872 he worked for Browne & Co., Merchants and Insurance Agency, Kobe # 26. Browne & Co. became also Ggeneral Agent and Secretary of the Hyogo Gas Works in 1873 and William Warburton was involved in this task. His contract expired in 1874 and he left Japan again.

WARD, B. M. / P IV / GB / TR /
- Die Union Estate & Investment Co., Bauherren und Bauunternehmer, wurde 1906 in Yokohama # 183 gegründet. B. M. Ward arbeitete im Auftrag der Firma ab Gründungstermin in Japan.
- In 1906, the Union Estate & Investment Co., Builders and Contractors, was founded in Yokohama # 183. As of the founding date, B. Ward worked on behalf of this company in Japan.

WARD, Edward W. / P II / USA / FE-SH (52 Mon.) / 1841 - 1877
- Edward W. Ward wurde 1841 in den USA geboren und wurde Seemann. Er wurde über die japanische Regierung für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. als Kapitän angestellt. Sein erster Vertrag begann am 23.06.1873 und wurde ständig verlängert. Er war Kapitän auf den Schiffen Suruga-maru und Tokyo-maru. Er starb auf See am 24.11.1877 und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt. Ein Grabstein wurde von der Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. errichtet.
- Edward W. Ward was born in 1841 in the USA and became a sailor. He was hired as a Captain for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. through the Japanese government. His first contract began on June 23, 1873 and was constantly extended. He was captain on the ships Suruga-maru and Tokyo-maru. He died at sea on November 24, 1877 and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama. A tombstone was erected by the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co.

WARD, Elizabeth / P IV / USA / MIS /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Postkarte vom 22.12.1908 aus New York an Elizabeth Ward in Osaka Kawaguchi, Ankunft 16.01.1909.

- Postcard posted on December 22, 1908 from New York to Elizabeth Ward in Osaka Kawaguchi, arrival on January 16, 1909.



- Das amerikanische Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, das seinen Hauptsitz in Boston hat, besaß in Osaka beträchtliches Eigentum und unterhielt dort 1909 viel Personal an Missionaren. Das Eigentum umfasste eine Mädchenschule mit 200 Schülern, zwei Kirchen und andere Gebäude.
Ab 1907 wurde Elizabeth Ward in das Osaka-Missionsleben als Lehrer aufgenommen.
- The American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, which has its headquarters in Boston, owned considerable property in Osaka and maintained a large staff of missionaries there in 1909. The property included a girls' school, accommodating 200 pupils; two churches, and other buildings.
As of 1907, Elizabeth Ward was incorporated in the Osaka mission life as a teacher. Her sister was also a teacher, as the postcard of 1908 shows.


WARD, F. W. R. / P III / UKN / TR /
WARD, Frederick / P II / GB / FE-T-PT /
WARD, G. / P II / GB / DIP /
WARD, I. M. / P III / USA / MIS /
WARD, J. C. / P III / UKN / TR /
WARD, John R. / P III / USA / FE-ED + MIS /
WARD, M. E. / P III / UKN / TR /
WARD, R. / P II - III / GB / FE-T-RW /
WARE, N. A. / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
WAREN, J. Twizell / P III / GB / DIP /
WARFIELD, A. G. / P II / USA / FE-R /
WARING, J. B. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
WARLACE, W. / P II / UKN / FE-R /
WARMING, Sophus Peter / P III / UKN / TR /
WARN, John / P III / UKN / SER /
WARNECKE, George / P II - III / GB / FE-R /
WARNER, A. / P II / USA / MIS /
WARNER, Langdon / P III / USA / SC /
WARNING, S. / P III / UKN / DIP /
WARRELL, George / P III / USA / MED /

WARREN, Charles Frederick

WARREN, Charles M. / P III / USA / MIS /
- Er kam als Missionar der American Board Mission im Jahr 1898 nach Japan und begann seine Arbeit in Kyoto, Karasumaru-dori. Nach einer kurzen Unterbrechung im Jahr 1902, wo er heiratete, kam er mit Frau nach Kyoto zurück. Im Jahr 1906 wurde er nach Matsuyama versetzt und 1912 war er immer noch als Missionar in Japan.
- He came to Japan as a missionary of the American Board Mission in 1898 and started his work in Kyoto, Karasumaru-dori. After a brief interruption in 1902, where he married, he returned to Kyoto with his wife. In 1906 he was transferred to Matsuyama and in 1912 he was still a missionary in Japan.

WARREN, Charles Theodore / P III / GB / MIS /
- Sohn von Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. Auch er wurde Missionar der Church of England Mission Society und kam 1890 nach Japan, wo er in Hakodate seine Arbeit aufnahm. Er arbeitete 1892 und 1893 in Tokushima, von 1894 bis 1898 in Osaka, 1898 nochmals in Tokushima und ab 1899 immer in Osaka. - Er heiratete Catherine Florence Wolton am 31.03.1892 in Osaka in der Church of Our Saviour.
- Son of Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. He also became a missionary of the Church of England Mission Society. He came to Japan in 1890, where he began his work in Hakodate. He worked in Tokushima in 1892 and 1893, in Osaka from 1894 to 1898, again in Tokushima in 1898, and as of 1899 always in Osaka. - He married Catherine Florence Wolton on March 31, 1892 in Osaka in the Church of Our Savior.

WARREN, Francis Emma / P III / GB / MIS /
- Tochter von Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. Auch sie wurde Missionar der Church of England Mission Society und kam 1890 nach Japan, wo sie in Osaka ihre Arbeit aufnahm. Sie arbeitete bis 1894 für die Mission.
Am 2.11.1895 heiratete sie in der Osaka Holy Trinity College Kapelle Samuel Meadows.
- Daughter of Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. She also became a missionary of the Church of England Mission Society and came to Japan in 1890, where she began her work in Osaka. She worked until 1894 for the mission. - On November 2, 1895 she married Samuel Meadows in the Osaka Holy Trinity College Chapel.

WARREN, Horace George / P III / GB / MIS /
- Sohn von Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. Auch er wurde Missionar der Church of England Mission Society und kam 1893 nach Japan, wo er in Osaka seine Arbeit aufnahm. Er arbeitete 1895 bis 1899 in Hamada, 1899 und 1900 in Hiroshima und ab 1901 nochmals in Hamada. - Er heiratete 1897 Mina Adelaide McClanagham in Kobe. Bis 1902 arbeiteten sie zusammen, danach haben sie Japan verlassen.
- Son of Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. He also became a missionary of the Church of England Mission Society. He came to Japan in 1893, where he began his work in Osaka. He worked from 1895 to 1899 in Hamada, 1899 and 1900 in Hiroshima and as of 1901 again in Hanada. - He married in 1897 Mina Adelaide McClanagham in Kobe. Until 1902 they worked together, but afterwards they left Japan.

WARREN, Julia Ada / P III / GB / RES /
- Tochter von Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. Sie kam 1891 nach Japan, allerdings ist sie nicht als Missionar gelistet. Julia Ada Warren heiratete am 20.4.1892 in der Osaka Church of Our Saviour George Chapman.
- Daughter of Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick. She came to Japan in 1891, but she is not listed as a missionary. Julia Ada Warren married George Chapman
on April 20, 1892 in the Osaka Church of Our Savior.


WARREN, J. P. / P III / GB / TR /
- Sohn von Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick; er hatte zwei Schwestern, Frances, verheiratet mit Samuel Meadows und Julia, verheiratet mit George Chapman und zwei Brüdern Charles Theodore und Horace George Warren.
J. P. Warren wurde in die Schule nach England geschickt und als er 1898 nach Japan zurückkehrte, trat er in die Firma Sale & Co., Yokohama # 94, ein. George Sale war ein Pfennigfuchser und anspruchsvoller Chef und zahlte nur magere Gehälter. Im Jahr 1900 verließ er Sale & Co. und ging zu Dodwell & Co., Versand-, Speditions- und Versicherungsagentur in Kobe, als Schifffahrtskaufmann, wo er seinen Weg machte.
Dodwell & Co., Ltd. war eine Großhandelsfirma mit eigenen Schiffs- und Charter-Linien, Feuer- und Schiffsversicherungsmakler und Kohlenhändler, abgesehen von einem umfangreichen Import- und Exporthandel. Das Unternehmen hatte die Vertretung für eine Reihe bekannter Hersteller in Großbritannien und den USA, sowie die Vertretung für mehrere Reedereien und Versicherungsgesellschaften.
J. P. Warren wurde ein sehr zuverlässiger Angestellter und schließlich, etwa im Jahr 1915, wurde ihm die Leitung der Kobe Niederlassung übertragen, die sich in # 82, Kyo-machi befand.
Ende der 1920er Jahre wurde er nach Hong Kong als Manager dieser Dodwell Niederlassung versetzt.
J. P. Warren war ein eingefleischter Junggeselle und liebte seine „Pipe Bowl“ (Tabakspfeife). 1934 erkrankte er an Kehlkopf-Krebs, an dem er im Alter von 59 Jahren starb.
- Son of Rev. WARREN, Charles Frederick with two sisters, Frances, married to Samuel Meadows and Julia, married to George Chapman and two brothers, Charles Theodore and Horace George Warren.
J. P. Warren was sent to school in England and on coming back to Japan in 1898 he joined Sale & Co., Yokohama # 94. George Sale was a penny-pinching and exacting boss and paid meagre salaries. In 1900 he left Sale & Co. and joined Dodwell & Co., Shipping, Forwarding and Insurance Agency in Kobe as a shipping clerk.
Dodwell & Co., Ltd., transacted a largc volume of business as shippers, charterers, fire and marine insurance brokers, and as coal contractors, apart from an extensive import and export trade. The Company has the representation of a number of well known manufacturers in Great Britain and the United States, as well as the agency for several shipping companies and insurance organisations.
J. P. Warren became a very reliable employee and finally, about in 1915, advanced to the Manager of the Kobe branch which was located at # 82, Kyo-machi.
At the end of the 1920´s he was transferred to Hong Kong as Manager of this Dodwell branch.
He was a confirmed bachelor and loved his pipe bowl. In 1934 he was stricken with cancer of the throat which carried him off at the age of 59.


WARREN, Richard / P II / GB / MED /
- Er arbeitete von 1879 bis 1885 als Pfleger im britisch-königlichen Marine-Hospital in Yokohama # 115 Bluff. Danach ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He worked from 1879 to 1885 as a steward in the British Royal Navy Hospital in Yokohama # 115 Bluff. Afterwards he is no longer listed in Japan.

WARREN, William / P I / USA / SER /
- Er kam 1861 nach Japan und ließ sich in Nagasaki nieder. Im Jahr 1863 ist er als Eigentümer des Bowling Saloons in Nagasaki gelistet und von 1865 bis 1869 als Eigentümer des Hotel Commercial. Im Jahr 1869 hat er Japan verlassen.
- He came to Japan in 1861 and settled in Nagasaki. In 1863 he was listed as the owner of the Nagasaki Bowling Saloon and from 1865 to 1869 as the proprietor of the Hotel Commercial. In 1869 he left Japan and is no longer recorded inJapan.

WARRENER, John / P II / USA / FE-R (36 Mon.) /
- Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung für die Ozeanische Gesellschft in Tokyo, Leiter Yokata Sōichirō, angestellt, um als Berater im Walfang zu arbeiten. Sein Vertrag lief vom 19.12.1874 bis 18.12.1877.
He was employed by the Japanese Government for the Oceanic Association in Tokyo, head Yokata Sōichirō, in order to work as an advisor in whaling. His contract ran from December 19, 1874 to December 18, 1877.

WARSFARD, George [WORSFOLD] / P II / GB / FE-T-RW (115 Mon.) /
- Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Bereich Eisenbahnwesen, im Bahnhof Shimbashi für den Betrieb der Eisenbahnlinie Tokyo - Yokohama eingesetzt. Sein Vertrag lief mit Verlängerungen vom 03.05.1876 bis 31.12.1885.
- He was employed by the Japanese Government, Ministry of Public Works, Department of Railways, at the Shimbashi station for the railroad train operation on the line Tokyo - Yokohama. His contract ran with extensions from May 3, 1876 to December 31, 1885.

WARTE, -- / P II / UKN / FE-R (12 Mon.) /
- Er war nur 1873 in Wakayama, angestellt als Handwerker von der Präfektur-Verwaltung (japanische Regierung). Es wird vermutet, dass er europäische Vorstellungen für die Lederindustrie vermittelte, die heute noch einen bedeutenden Industrieschwerpunkt bildet.
- He was only in 1873 in Wakayama, employed as an artisan by the Prefectural Administration (Japanese government). It is believed, he was employed in the leather industry to impart European ideas for the treatment, which is still an important industrial focus today.

WASHINGTON, Annie M. S. / P II / USA / FE-ED (21 Mon.) /
- Tochter von Edward W. Syle. Nach ihrer Ausbildung in den USA kam sie auch nach Japan und heiratete Thomas B. Washington. - Sie unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung und wurde Lehrer an der Tokyo Girls' School. Der Vertrag begann am 21.04.1875 und endete am 11.01.1877.
- Daughter of Edward W. Syle. After her education in the USA she also came to Japan and married Thomas B. Washington. - She also signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of education, and became teacher at the Tokyo Girls’ School. The contract started on April 21, 1875 and ended on January 11, 1877.

WASHINGTON, Edith E. / P III / CAN / MIS / 1871 - 1959
- Sie wurde am 13.08.1871 in Quio, Quebec, geboren, absolvierte 1897 die Methodist National Training School von Toronto und wurde von der Frauen-Missionsgesellschaft der Methodist Church von Canada als Missionar nach Japan delegiert, wo sie am 05.09.1897 eintraf. Sie begann ihre Arbeit an der Toyo Eiwa Jogakkō (Mädchen-Schule Tokyo). 1898 wurde sie nach Kōfu versetzt und lehrte bis 1902 an der Mädchenschule Yamanashi Eiwa Jogakkō. 1902 hat sie Japan wieder verlassen. - Sie starb am 13.07.1959 in Millbrook, Ontario, Canada.
- She was born on August 13, 1871 in Quio, Quebec and graduated in 1897 from the Methodist National Training School of Toronto. She was delegated to Japan as a missionary by the Women's Missionary Society of the Methodist Church of Canada. Edith Washington arrived in Japan on September 5, 1897 and started her work at the Toyo Eiwa Jogakkō (Girls School Tokyo). In 1898 she was transferred to Kōfu and taught at the girls' school Yamanashi Eiwa Jogakkō until 1902. In 1902 she left Japan again. - Edith E. Washington died on July 13, 1959 in Millbrook, Ontario, Canada.

WASHINGTON, Thomas B. / P II / USA / FE-ED (24 Mon.) /
- Er kam nach Japan auf der Grundlage eines Vertrages mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung. Sein Vertrag begann am 10.08.1872 als Lehrer für die englische Sprache an der ersten Junior High School von Tokyo, die später die Kaisei Gakkō wurde. Nach einer einmaligen Verlängerung lief sein Vertrag im September 1874 aus.
Er heiratete Annie M. Syle.
- He came to Japan on the base of a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Education. His contract started on August 10, 1872 at the First Junior High School in Tokyo which became later Kaisei Gakkō and he taught English. His contract ceased in September 1874 after one prolongation.
He was married to Annie M. Syle.


WASKE, O. / P III / USA / TR /
- Er arbeitete nur 1893 in Japan und war bei Carroll & Co., Kommissionskaufmann, Yokohama # 41, angestellt. Im Jahr 1894 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He worked in Japan only in 1893 and was employed by Carroll & Co., Commission Merchants, Yokohama # 41. In 1894 he was no longer recorded in Japan.

WASSERMANN, H. E. / P III / DE / TR /
- Er war mit einem 3-Jahresvertrag für Faber & Voigt in Japan und arbeitete von 1898 bis1901 in Kobe # 25 Naka-machi. Er hat den Vertrag nicht verlängert.
- He was with a 3-year contract for Faber & Voigt in Japan and worked from 1898 to 1901 in Kobe # 25 Naka-machi. He has not extended his contract.

WASSILIEFF, Theodore [WASSILIEV] [VASSIELEV] [BАСИЛЬЕВ] / P III / RUS / DIP /
- Er war als Sprachenstudent und dann als Dolmetscher von 1890 bis 1896 in der Gesandtschaft Russlands in Tokyo, Japan. Danach arbeitete er von 1897 bis 1905 als Vize-Konsul in Kobe. In dieser Zeit, 1900 und 1901, hatte er die Vertretung für Konsul L. de Rostow in Yokohama. Ab 1905 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- From 1890 to 1896 he was a language student and then an interpreter in the Legation of Russia in Tokyo, Japan. Afterwards he was transferred as a Vice-Consul to Kobe, where he served from 1897 to 1905. During this time, 1900 and 1901, he had been Acting Consul for L. de Rostov in Yokohama. As of 1905, he is no longer listed in Japan.

WASSON, James Robert

WATERHOUSE, Paul B. / P IV / USA / MIS /
- Missionar der Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA), der als Lehrer ab1906 in Tokyo arbeitete.
- Missionary of the Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA), who worked as a teacher in Tokyo as of 1906.

WATERS, Basil Worthington

WATERS - Brüder / Brothers
- Drei Brüder der Großfamilie Waters arbeiteten auch für eine gewisse Zeit in Japan. In der Aufstellung sind sie alphabetisch geordnet, wobei der älteste, Thomas James Waters, zuerst nach Japan kam und die bedeutendsten Rolle spielte. Als nächstes folgte dann John Albert Robinson Waters (1871) und dann Joseph Henry Ernest Waters (1873).
- Three brothers of the extended family Waters also worked for some time in Japan. In the register they are listed alphabetically, but the eldest, Thomas James Waters, was the first to come to Japan and played the most important role. Next John Albert Robinson Waters (1871) followed and then Joseph Henry Ernest Waters (1873).
Reference:
Vivers, Meg; An Irish engineer: the extraordinary achievements of Thomas J. Waters and family in early Meiji Japan and beyond; Brisbane, CopyRight Publishing 2013, ISBN 9781921452109

WATERS, John Albert Robinson [Bertie] / P I - II / IR / TR + FE-T (24 Mon.) + QFE /
- John Albert Robinson, auch Bertie genannt, war der zweitälteste der drei Waters Brüder, die in Japan arbeiteten; er wurde 1846 in Parsonstown (Birr)/ County Offaly, Irland, geboren. Sein Bruder Thomas James Waters arbeitete bereits ab etwa 1864 in Japan und sicher angeregt durch seine Erfahrungen, entschloss sich auch Bertie, nach seiner Ausbildung nach Japan zu gehen. Er kam 1867 nach Japan und wurde zuerst bei Hall & Holtz, Handelsvertreter in Nagasaki, angestellt. 1869 zog er nach Kobe und gründete mit Henry Lucas die Versicherungsagentur Lucas & Waters, Kobe # 50. Er war noch bis 1874 Partner, danach löste er die Partnerschaft. Als er in Kobe lebte, war er auch Mitglied des Kobe Regatta und Athletik Klubs.
Zur Unterstützung seines Bruders Tom wurde auch Bertie von der japanischen Regierung als Architekt angestellt. Sein Vertrag lief vom 24.02.1872 bis zum 22.04.1874. Danach wurde er bis 1877 im Innern des Landes als Bauingenieur eingesetzt. Über diese Tätigkeit gibt es nur Hinweise in den Japan Dieectories und keine Verträge als ausländischer Angestellter. Die Tätigkeit in dieser Zeit wird aus diesem Grund als QFE eingestuft.
- John Albert Robinson, also known as Bertie, was the second oldest of the three Waters Brothers, who worked in Japan; he was born in 1846 in Parsonstown (Birr) / County Offaly, Ireland. His brother Thomas James Waters had already worked in Japan as of about 1864 and surely inspired by his experiences, also Bertie decided to go to Japan after he had finished his training. He came to Japan in 1867 and was employed at first at Hall & Holtz, General Agents in Nagasaki. In 1869 he moved to Kobe and founded, in partnership with Henry Lucas, the insurance agency Lucas & Waters, Kobe # 50. He was partner until 1874, and then he cancelled the partnership. When he lived in Kobe, he was also a member of the Kobe Regatta and Athletic Club.
In order to support his brother Tom, also Bertie was hired by the Japanese government as an architect. His contract ran from February 24, 1872 until April 22, 1874. After that he was employed until 1877 in the interior of the country as a civil engineer. About this activity, there are only remarks in the Japan Directories and contracts as a foreign employee could not be found yet. Therefore, the employment in this period is considered as a QFE.


WATERS, Joseph Henry Ernest

WATERS, Thomas James

WATERS, W. A. / see WALTERS, A. W.
WATKIN, R. G. / P III / UKN / FE-ED /
WATKINS, - / P III / UKN / SER /
WATKINS, A. T. / P I - II / GB / JOU /
WATROUS, George S. [WATRONS] / P III / GB / TR /
WATSON, A. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
WATSON, A. H. Cole / P II - III / GB / TR /
WATSON, Arthur Thomas / P I - III / GB / TR /
WATSON, E. G. / P III / UKN / TR /
WATSON, Edwin Burges L. / P I - III / GB / FE-T + TR /
WATSON, Emma / P II - III / GB / TR / Mrs.
WATSON, G. W. Burges / P III / GB / TR /
WATSON, J. / P I / GB / TR /
WATSON, J. / P II / GB / TR /
WATSON, J. Guthrie / P III / GB / TR /
WATSON, J. L. [T. L.] / P III / GB / TR /
WATSON, James / P I - II / GB / TR /
WATSON, Jannet / P III / GB / MIS /
WATSON, Jeremiah / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /

WATSON, Louis / P IV / IR / TR / 1878 - 1923
- Er wurde 1878 in Rathfriland, County Down, Irland geboren. Er emigrierte nach Winnipeg, Kanada, vermutlich in den späten 1890er Jahren und ging dann 1899 nach Toronto. Etwa 1902 ging er nach Vancouver, um in der Filiale der in Toronto ansässigen Firma Gregg & Co. zu arbeiten, bei der er später mit George R. Gregg aus Toronto Miteigentümer wurde.
1907 ging Louis Watson zusammen mit H. Geddes nach Japan, um eine Filiale von Gregg & Co. in Japan, Yokohama # 264, zu eröffnen, deren Hauptgeschäft der Export japanischer Seide nach London und New York war. Er avancierte bei dieser Firma bis zum Leiter und wurde schließlich Partner.
Bei dem Erdbeben vom 1. September 1923 in Yokohama kam er ums Leben.
Er war mit Edith Evelyn Cain, Tochter von John William Cain, verheiratet. Edith wurde am 06.11.1891 in Yokohama geboren. Sie hatten zwei Kinder, die alle in Yokohama geboren wurden, Elizabeth Patricia (* 1921) und John Keith (* 1923).
Ein Vorfahren dieser Familie ist der Informant des Cain-Kenderdine-Watson-Stammbaumes.
- He was born in 1878 in Rathfriland, County Down, Ireland. He emigrated to Winnipeg, Canada, presumably in the late 1890's and then went to Toronto in 1899. About in 1902 he went to Vancouver to work at the Vancouver branch of the Toronto based Gregg & Co., in which he later became a co-owner with its founder George R. Gregg of Toronto.
In 1907 Louis Watson went to Japan together with H. Geddes to open the Japanese office of the firm Gregg & Co. at Yokohama # 264 whose main business was the export of Japanese silk to London and New York. He advanced in this company to manager and finally he got a partnership.
He was killed in the Yokohama earthquake of September 1, 1923.
He was married to Edith Evelyn Cain, daughter of John William Cain. Edith was born on November 6, 1891 in Yokohama. They had 2 children, all born in Yokohama, Elizabeth Patricia (* 1921) and John Keith (* 1923).
An ancestor of this tribe is the informant of the Cain-Kenderdine-Watson-pedigree.


WATSON, Rebecca Jane [P. J.] / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WATSON, Robert Grant / P II / GB / DIP /
WATSON, Thomas / P III / GB / TR /
WATSON, W. H. / P III / GB / TR /
WATSON, Wm. / P III / GB / JOU /
WATT, A. M. / P III / GB / TR /
WATT, Alexander Joseph / P III / GB / TR / 1873 - 1897
WATT, George / P II - III / GB / FE-T-SH + TR /
WATT, J. / P III / USA / TR / Miss
WATT, William / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WATT, William Noble / P II - III / GB / FE-T + TR /
WATT, William Tasker / P II / GB / JOU /
WATTS, A. C. / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
WATTS, G. / P III / GB / FE-T /
WATTS, G. F. / P III / GB / TR /

WATTS, William Oscar

WAUCHOPE, George [WANCHOPE] / P I - II / GB / FE-T-SH-L + TR / Lighthouse
WAUGH, A. P. / P III / GB / JOU /
WAWN, John Twizell / P III / GB / DIP /
WAYS, - / P II / UKN / SER /
WEAKLEY, W. R. [WEAKLY] / P III / USA / MIS /
WEALE, A. G. Moray [Morey] / P II - III / GB / TR /
WEAVER, C. S. / P III / GB / MIS /
WEAVER, Ed. P. / P II / GB / TR /
WEAVER, Georgina / P III / USA / MIS /
WEAVER, J. / P II / UKN / TR /
WEAVER, James William / P III / GB / FE-R /

WEBB, Alfred Ernest / P III / GB / MIS /
- siehe auch - see also - Berta R. BABCOCK + W. Frank Madeley
Für Vergrößerung klicken



- Postkarte vom 24.02.1900 von seinem Kollegen W. F. Madeley aus Hirosaki an A. E. Webb, Ankunft 26.02.1900 in Tokyo.

- Postcard posted on February 24, 1900 from his colleague W. F. Madeley at Hirosaki to A. E. Webb, arrival Tokyo, February 26, 1900.




- Ab 1894 war er im Auftrag der Church of England als Missionar in Japan und arbeitete in der St. Andrew's Mission in Tokyo. Er arbeitete immer in Tokyo und war 1908 noch in der St. Andrew's Mission gelistet.

- As of 1894, he was commissioned by the Church of England as a missionary to Japan and worked in the St. Andrew's Mission in Tokyo. He always worked there in Tokyo and in 1908 he was still recorded in the St. Andrew's Mission.





WEBB, Eliza / P III / UKN / SER / Miss
WEBB, G. / P I / GB / SER /
WEBB, J. B. / P III / GB / TR /
WEBB, J. W. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEBB, P. E. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEBB, W. / P II / GB / FE-T-PT /
WEBB, W. E. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEBBER, D. / P III / UKN / SER /
WEBBER, Hugh Brown / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WEBER, Arthur R. / P I - II / DE / TR /
WEBER, Carl / P III / DE / TR /
WEBER, G. / P III / DE / TR /
WEBER, H. / P III / DE / TR /
WEBER, Karl [VEBER Karl Ivanovich] ВЕБЕР Карл Иванович / P I - II / RUS / DIP /

WEBNER, H. / P II / DE / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Er war von 1885 bis 1888 im Auftrag der Firma Rottman, Strome & Co. in Japan und er arbeitete in Yokohama # 28.
Gemäß einer Karte vom 11.02.1887 wird er im Rahmen einer Verkaufsreise in den USA bei einem Kunden angemeldet. Im Jahr 1888 wird er nicht mehr in den Japan Directories gelistet.

- He stayed in Japan on behalf of Rottman, Strome & Co. from 1885 to 1888 and worked in Yokohama # 28. According to a postcard from February 11, 1887, he is announced with a customer during a sales trip in the USA. In 1888, he was no longer listed in the Japan Directories.



WEBSTER, A. G. / P II / UKN / TR /
WEBSTER, D. F. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEBSTER, Geo. Bruce / P III / UKN / TR /
WEBSTER, J. / P III / USA / TR /
WEBSTER, James R. / P I - II / GB / TR /
WECKHERLIN, W. F. H. von [WEEKHERLIN] [WECKERLIN] / P II / NL / DIP /
WEDEL, Georg von / P III / DE / DIP /
WEDLER, J. [WEDLAR] / P II / GB / SER /
WEED, David T. / P III / USA / TR + ED / 1878 - 1940
WEED, Geo. N. / P II / USA / FE-T-SH + SH /
WEED, James Austin / P II / USA / FE-T /
WEEKS, Caroline / P I / USA / SER / Mrs.
WEHRLE, R. / P III / DE / TR /
WEHRMANN, Fr. H. / P III / DE / TR /

WEIDENWEBER, Theodor / P II / UKN / QFE-MIL /
- Er wird nicht in der Literatur als „ausländischer Angestellter“ genannt und nur aus einer existierenden Korrespondenz wissen wir, dass er etwa 1881 und 1882 als Berater im Tokyo-Koishikawa-Artillerie-Arsenal angestellt war.
P. S. Es wird vermutet, dass er der Theodor Weidenweber ist, der später die Idee zur Gründung des Sauerstoff- und Wasserstoffwerks Lambach (heute Linde Gas GmbH) hatte und Gesellschafter dieser Firma war.
- He is not mentioned in the literature as a “Foreign Employee” and only from an existing correspondence we know that he was employed as an advisor in the Tokyo-Koishikawa Artillery Arsenal around 1881 and 1882.
P. S. It is assumed that he is the Theodor Weidenweber, who later had the idea to found the Oxygen and Hydrogen Plant Lambach [Sauerstoff- und Wasserstoffwerks Lambach] (now Linde Gas GmbH) and became a partner of this company.


WEIDNER, Sadie Lea / P IV / USA / MIS / 1875-1939 / (s. a. PIFER, B. C. )
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Postkarte aus Sendai vom 26.10.1903 in die USA. Die Rückseite zeigt Bilder der Mädchenschule in Miyagi (Miyagi Jo Gakkō). Die Karte ist von den vier Lehrerinnen der American Reformed Church Mission unterschrieben: Lena Zurfluh, Sadie Lea Weidner, LucyMargaret Powell und B. Catherine Pifer.

- Postcard from Sendai posted on October 26, 1903 to the USA. The reverse depicts images of the girls' school in Miyagi (Miyagi Jo Gakkō). The card is signed by four teachers of the American Reformed Church Mission: Lena Zurfluh, Sadie Lea Weidner, Lucy Margaret Powell and B. Catherine Pifer.


- Sie wurde 1901 von der American Reformed Church Mission als Missionarin nach Japan gesandt und wurde als Lehrerin an der Mädchenschule in Sendai, Miyagi-ken (Miyagi Jo Gakkō) eingesetzt. Später wurde sie Rektor der Schule.
- In 1901 she was sent to Japan as a missionary of the American Reformed Church Mission and was installed as a teacher at the girls' school in Sendai, Miyagi-ken (Miyagi Jo Gakkō). Later she became principal of the school.

WEIGAND, E. / P II / DE / TR /
WEIGERT, Paul / P I - II / UKN / TR /
WEIGHT, F. / P III / UKN / ED /
WEIGSTONE, James / P II / UKN / SER /
WEIL, G. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEIL, Richard / / P III / UKN / TR /
WEILL, J. jun. / P III / FR / SER /
WEILL, Justin / P III / FR / SER / 1848 - 1915
WEILLER, Alfred / P II / USA / FE-ED + DIP /
WEILLEY, T. / P II / UKN / TR /

WEIM, H. / siehe - see / VEUVE, H.

WEINBERGER, Adolf Wilhelm Camilio

WEINSTEIN, S. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEINTRAUB, G. H. [WEINTHRAUB] [WIENTRAUB] / P II / DE / TR /
WEIPERT, Heinrich [WEIPART] / P II - III / DE / FE-L + DIP /

WEISE, Heinrich / P IV / DE / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte aus Lauenburg, Deutschland, vom 07.07.1908, an Heinrich Weise in Kobe. Er hatte jedoch Japan bereits verlassen und die Karte wurde wieder nach Hamburg, DE, zurückgeschickt, Ankunft 15.08.1908.

- Postcard from Lauenburg, Germany, posted July 7, 1908 to Heinrich Weise in Kobe. However, he had already left Japan and the card was returned to Hamburg, DE, arrival on August, 15, 1908.



- Er war ab 1905 im Auftrag von Faber & Voigt in Japan und arbeitete in der Niederlassung in Kobe # 25 Naka-machi. Als sein Vertrag nach 3 Jahren abgelaufen war, hat er Japan wieder verlassen.
- As of 1905 he was in Japan on behalf of Faber & Voigt and worked in their branch in Kobe # 25 Naka-machi. When his contract expired after 3 years, he left Japan again.


WEISNER, Hermann / see WIESNER, Hermann
WEISS, Chr. / P I / DE / TR /
WEISS, M. / P III / DE / TR /
WEISSENBRUCK, J. H. [WEISENBRUCK] / P I / NL / TR /
WEITZE, F. / P II / GB / SER /
WELBOURNE, J. A. [WELBURN] / P III / USA / MIS /

WELCH, Chas. A. / P II - III / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1889 aus Chemulpo, Korea nach Nagasaki und begann für die China & Japan Trading Co. zu arbeiten. Im Jahr 1894 wechselte er in Nagasaki zu Adams & Co., Schiffsbe- und -entladungen und Agent. Diese Anstellung dauerte nur ein Jahr. Im folgenden Jahr arbeitete er bei Clifford-Wilkinson Tansan Mineral Water Co. in Kobe, Native Bund # 97. Auch diese Arbeit beendete er nach zwei Jahren und 1897 wurde er Leiter der Japan American Trading Co. (Nichi-Bei Boyeki Shokwai, 32 Shimoyamate -dori Nichome). Allerdings starb er bereits im Jahr 1898 und er wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
- He came from Chemulpo, Korea to Nagasaki in 1889 and began to work for the China & Japan Trading Co. In 1894, he joined Adams & Co. in Nagasaki, Stevedores and Compradores. This employment lasted only one year. The following year, he worked at Clifford-Wilkinson Tansan Mineral Water Co. in Kobe, Native Bund # 97. He also finished this work after two years, and in 1897 he became Manager of the Japan American Trading Co. (Nichi-Bei Boyeki Shokwai, 32 Shimoyamate -dori Nichome). However, he died already in 1898 and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama.

WELCH, T. R. [WELSH] / P II / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1870 nach Japan und versuchte sich als Makler in Yokohama # 60 zu etablieren. Diese Tätigkeit war offensichtlich nicht sehr erfolgreich, denn 1871 und 1872 ist er als Buchhalter der Japan Mail, im Büro Yokohama # 32, angestellt. Ab 1873 wird er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He came to Japan in 1870 and tried to establish himself as a General Broker in Yokohama # 60. This activity was obviously not very successful, since he was employed as an accountant of the Japan Mail, in Yokohama # 32 in 1871 and 1872. As of 1873 he is no longer listed in Japan.

WELDON, Ellwood [WELTON] / P II / USA / TR /
WELL, Fritz von / P II - III / DE / TR /
WELLIS, Wm. / P II / GB / FE-T /
WELLMAN, F. O. / P I / USA / TR /
WELLS, Florence / P III / USA / MIS /
WELLS, G. W. [G. N.] / P III / UKN / TR /
WELLS, James / P I - II / GB / SER / 1833 - 1872
WELLS, L. A. [Lillian A.] / P III / USA / MIS /
WELSH, A. / P III / GB / TR /
WELSH, David / P I - III / GB / TR /

WELSH, T. R. / siehe - see / WELCH, T. R.

WEMPER, E. / P III / UKN / TR /
WEMYSS, Edward William Elphinstone / P III / GB / MIL / Observer Russo-Japanese War, 1866 - 1938
WENCIENNE, - [VENCIENNE] / P II / FR / FE-ED /

WENCKSTERN, Adolph von

WENCKSTERN, Friedrich von

WENDRICH, George de [WENNDRICH] / P II - III / RUS / DIP /
- Er wurde als Dolmetscher im Rahmen seiner Ausbildung in der Russischen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo ab 1886 eingesetzt. Aufgrund seiner guten Leistungen konnte er 1889 als Amtierender Konsul in Yokohama # 171 eingesetzt werden. 1890 und 1891 war er jetzt als offizieller Dolmetscher in der Gesandtschaft in Tokyo. Von 1892 bis 1896 wurde er als Vize-Konsul im russischen Konsulat von Kobe berufen. Danach ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- As of 1886 he was engaged as a Student Interpreter in the course of his training at the Russian Legation in Tokyo. Due to his excellent performance, he could be appointed as an Acting Consul in 1889 in Yokohama # 171. In 1890 and 1891 he was now official and full interpreter in the legation in Tokyo. From 1892 to 1896 he was appointed Vice-Consul of the Russian Consulate of Kobe. After that, he is no longer listed in Japan.

WENDT, Adolf Karl Paul

WENDT, E. / P IV / DE / TR /
- Er war von 1903 bis 1906 in Japan und arbeitete für Nickel & Co., Spedition, Landungs- und Schiffsagentur, Kobe. Ab 1907 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He stayed in Japan from 1903 to 1906 and worked for Nickel & Co., Stevedores, Landing, Shipping and Forwarding Agents, Kobe. As of 1907 he is no longer listed in Japan.

WENDT, R. / P III / DE / TR /
- Die Japan Brewery war u. a. durch den Einsatz von Malz und Hopfen, importiert aus Deutschland, und die Anstellung deutschen Brauer sehr erfolgreich, die später das Kirin Bier herstellte. Der erste Braumeister war Hermann Heckert. Als der Vertrag seines Assistenten Paul Enders 1893 endete, wurde er von Rudolf von Mann 1894 abgelöst. R. von Mann arbeitete für dieses Unternehmen bis 1897. Als 1898 die Tokyo Beer Brewery gegründet wurde, wechselte er als Brauer in diese neue Firma.
So wurde 1898 R. Wendt als Assistent des Braumeisters der Japan Brewery Co., Yokohama # 123 Bluff, angestellt. Im Jahr 1908 hatte er immer noch diese Funktion.
- The Japan Brewery prospered among others by the use of malted grains and hops imported from Germany and employing German brewers who later produced the Kirin Beer. The first master brewer was Hermann Heckert. When the contract of his assistant Paul Enders expired in 1893, he was succeeded by Rudolf von Mann in 1894. R. von Mann worked for this company until 1897. When in 1898 the Tokyo Beer Brewery was established, he joined this new company as brewer.
Thus, in 1898, R. Wendt was employed as an assistant of the master brewer of the Japan Brewery Co., Yokohama # 123 Bluff. In 1908, he was still in this position.


WENGEL, F. / P II - III / GB / QFE-R /
- Ingenieur. Er war von 1885 bis 1894 als Leitender Ingenieur in der Mitsubishi Werft und Motorenwerke in Nagasaki angestellt. Seine Frau lebte in dieser Zeit ebenfalls in Nagasaki.
- Engineer. From 1885 to 1894 he was employed as a Foreman Engineer in the Mitsubishi Dockyard and Engine Works in Nagasaki. His wife also lived in Nagasaki during this time.

WENGER, C. / P III / FR / TR /
- Er arbeitete für die Gebr. Oppenheimer in der Niederlassung in Kobe # 28, Harima-machi von 1898 bis 1903. Danach wechselte er zur Russo-Chinese Bank in Yokohama # 180. Als die Bank im Jahr 1906 nach Yokohama # 77 umzog, erhielt er Prokura.
- He worked for the Oppenheimer Freres at their branch in Kobe # 28, Harima-machi, from 1898 to 1903. He then joined the Russo-Chinese Bank in Yokohama # 180. When the bank moved to Yokohama # 77 in 1906, he was authorized to sign per procuration.

WENKSTERN, N. Moritz / siehe - see / WENCKSTERN, N. Moritz

WENNMOHS, E. / P II / UKN / SER /
WENTWORTH, William H. D. / P II - III / GB / TR / 1848 - 1931
WERBER, H. / see WEBER, H.

WERDERMANN, R. [WERDERMAN] / P III / DE / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte vom 11.07.1926 von R. Werdermann mit Frau aus dem Urlaubsort Miyanoshita an G. Selig und Frau, den er bereits seit ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit bei Winckler & Co. kannte.

- Postcard from July 11, 1926 by R. Werdermann and wife from the holiday resort Miyanoshita to G. Selig and wife, whom he has already known since their mutual work with Winckler & Co.

- Er kam 1897 im Auftrag von Winckler & Co. nach Japan und wurde in der Niederlassung in Yokohama # 256 eingesetzt. Im Jahr 1899 wurde er in die Filiale nach Kobe versetzt. Im Jahr 1901 wechselte er zu Oestmann & Co. in Kobe # 47, Akashi-machi, wo er 1904 Prokura erhielt. Allerdings arbeitete er für diese Firma nur bis 1907 und wechselte dann erneut. R. Werdermann ging zu Ed. L. van Nierop & Co. und wurde Leiter der Niederlassung in Yokohama # 55. - Er arbeitete noch 1926 in Japan und auch seine Frau lebte mit in Japan.
- He came to Japan on behalf of Winckler & Co. in 1897 and was employed in their branch in Yokohama # 256. In 1899 he was transferred to the branch in Kobe. In 1901, he joined Oestmann & Co. in Kobe # 47, Akashi-machi, where he was authorized to sign per procuration in 1904. However, he worked for this company only until 1907 and then changed again.
R. Werdermann joined Ed. L. van Nierop & Co. and became Manager of the branch office in Yokohama # 55. - He still worked in Japan in 1926 and his wife also lived in Japan.


WERKMEISTER, G. [WERCKMEISTER] / P III / DE / TR /
WERKMEISTER, Heinrich / P III / DE / FE-ED / 1883 - 1936
WERNER, J. C. / P II / GB / TR /
WERNICH, Albrecht L.Agathon [WERNICK] / P II / DE / FE-MED / 1843 - 1896

WERNICKE, Johannes / P II - III / DE / ED-SC (36 Mon.) /
- Die Deutschen Vereinsschule (Doitsu Kyōkai Gakkō) in Tokyo wurde im Oktober 1883 vom „Verein zur Verbreitung deutscher Wissenschaften“ gegründet. Die Schule war einem Gymnasium ähnlich und bot auch Spezialkurse für Volkswirtschaft und Jura an.
Außer japanischen Lehrern sind die Namen der Dozenten Ernst und Felix Delbrück, die Richter Ludwig Lönholm und Ottfried Nippold, der Staats- und Wirtschaftskundler Johannes Wernicke, sowie Otto Hering, Pastor Otto Schmiedel und Paul Ehmann mit der Vereinsschule eng verbunden.
Johannes Wernicke lehrte von 1889 bis 1892 an der Schule und hatte einen nachhaltigsten Einfluss auf die Ausbildung in der Wirtschaftslehre.
Nach seiner Ankunft in Japan wurde er Mitglied der OAG und hielt auch Vortäge bei Treffen der Gesellschaft. (siehe auch bei Felix Schiff).
Als er wieder in Deutschland war, publizierte Dr. Johannes Wernicke eine Vielzahl von Arbeiten, wie zum Beispiel „System der nationalen Schutzpolitik nach Aussen“, Jena 1896.
- The German "Vereinsschule" (Doitsu Kyōkai Gakkō) in Tokyo was founded in October 1883 by the "Society for Promoting German Sciences". The school was like a secondary school and offered additionally special courses for economy and law.
Besides Japanese teachers the names of the lecturers Ernst and Felix Delbrück, the judges Ludwig Lönholm and Ottfried Nippold, the state and economic scientist Johannes Wernicke as well as Otto Hering, Pastor Otto Schmiedel, and Paul Ehmann are closely connected to this Union School (Vereinsschule).
Johannes Wernicke taught from 1889 to 1892 at this school and he wowed the most lasting influence on training in scientific economics. After his arrival in Japan, he became a member of the OAG and also gave lectures at society meetings. (see also at Felix Schiff).
When he was back in Germany, Dr. Johannes Wernicke published a variety of works, such as "System of National Protection Policy to the Outside", Jena 1896.


WERNSTEDT, W.

WERTHEIMER, Louis [WERTHEIMBER] / P II - III / USA / FE-T (142 Mon.) /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Geschäftsbrief der US-Firma L. Wertheimer & Co., N. Y., vom 06.11.1897 als Importeur japanischer und chinesischer Produkte und Kunstgegenstände.

- Business Cover of the US-company L. Wertheimer & Co., N. Y., posted November 6, 1897 as an mporter of Japanese and Chinese products and works of art.



- Die japanische Regierung, Innenministerium, schloss mit L. Wertheimer einen Probevertrag ab, der vom 28.06.1871 bis 28.08.1871 lief. Er lehrte in dieser Zeit an der Präfektur-Schule Tokyo Chemie und Mathematik.
Er bestand die Probezeit erfolgreich und wurde vom Finanzministerium angestellt und in der Zollverwaltung von Yokohama eingesetzt. Er wirkte als Berater und Lehrer für Zollfragen, Wertgutachter und Dolmetscher für Englisch, Deutsch und Französisch. Offensichtlich war seine Arbeit sehr erfolgreich und anerkannt - sein Vertrag wurde ständig verlängert und endete schließlich erst am 07.06.1882.
Er hat Japan danach verlassen und sich in New York, USA, niedergelassen. Während seiner Arbeit in Yokohama hatte er gute Kontakte geknüpft, und so gründete er in New York eine Firma für den Import japanischer und chinesischer Kunstartikel. Möglicherweise war seine Firma nicht erfolgreich, denn im Jahr 1901 ist er zurück in Japan, jetzt allerdings als Angestellter bei Ed. L. van Nierop & Co. in Yokohama # 179. Ab 1904 war er bei Ulysse Pila & Co. in Yokohama # 92 angestellt und diese Position hatte er 1908 immer noch.
- The Japanese government, Ministry of the Interior, concluded a trial contract with L. Wertheimer, which ran from June 28, 1871 to August 28, 1871. He taught chemistry and mathematics at the Tokyo Prefectural School during this period. He successfully passed the trial period and was employed by the Ministry of Finance and integrated in the Yokohama Customs. He worked as an advisor and teacher for customs matters, appraiser and interpreter for English, German and French. Obviously his work was very successful and acknowledged - his contract was constantly prolonged and finally ended only on June 7, 1882.
He then left Japan and settled in New York, USA. During his work in Yokohama, he had made good contacts, and in New York he founded a company for the import of Japanese and Chinese products, manufactures and works of art. Possibly his company was not successful, because in 1901 he was back in Japan, but now as an employee at Ed. L. van Nierop & Co. in Yokohama # 179. As of 1904 he was employed by Ulysse Pila & Co. in Yokohama # 92, and he still held that position in 1908.


WESCOTT, A. B. / P II / USA / FE-ED /
WESCOTT, G. F. / P II / USA / FE-T /
WESSEL, A. / P II / DE / FE-ED /
WESSER, R. / P II / DE / TR /

WEST, A. B. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
- Sie wurde 1883 als Missionar der American Presbyterian Mission nach Japan delegiert und begann die Arbeit in Yokohama # 90 Bluff. Nach zwei Jahren wurde sie nach Tokyo versetzt, wo sie dauerhaft arbeitete. Im Jahr 1908 war sie immer noch in dieser Position.
- She was delegated to Japan in 1883 as a missionary of the American Presbyterian Mission and began working in Yokohama # 90 Bluff. After two years she was transferred to Tokyo, where she worked permanently. In 1908 she was still in this position.

WEST, Charles / P I - II / USA / TR /
- Er arbeitete ab 1869 für W. Rangan & Co., Mietstallung und Yedo Mail-Vertragspartner, Yokohama # 122. Als die Firma 1870 eine Niederlassung in Toyko eröffnete, wurde C. West nach Tokyo versetzt. Die Zeit war sehr schnelllebig, W. Rangan gab 1871 seine Firma auf und Charles West ging zu Cobb & Co., ebenfalls eine Mietstallung, Yokohama # 107. Zu dieser Zeit planten sie bereits einen Umzug nach Hatoba Street # 61. Nach dem Umzug ist er allerdings nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- As of 1869 he worked for W. Rangan & Co., Livery Stable-keepers and Yedo Mail Contractors, Yokohama # 122. When the company opened a branch in Toyko in 1870, C. West was transferred to Tokyo. The time was very fast, W. Rangan gave up his company in 1871 and Charles West joined Cobb & Co., also a Livery Stable-keeper, Yokohama # 107. At that time, they were already planning a move the company to Hatoba Street # 61. After the relocation he is no longer listed in Japan.

WEST, Charles Dickinson

WEST, Mary Allen / P III / USA / MIS /
* 13.07.1837 in Galesburg, IL, USA
† 01.12.1892 in Kanazawa, Japan
- Sie erwarb den B.A. am Knox College in Galesburg im Jahre 1854. Sie wurde Mitglied der Methodist Episcopal Church und bevor sie nach Japan kam im Rahmen einer Weltmissionsreise für die christliche Abstinenz-Vereinigung für Frauen (WCTU), lehrte sie am College und war Vorsitzende der Abstinenz-Bewegung im Staat von Illinois und Mitherausgeber der WCTU-Zeitschrift „Union Signal“.
Sie traf am 03.09.1892 in Japan ein und machte die Mission der Methodist Episcopal Church in Tokyo, Aoyama Jogakuin, zu ihrer Basis. Sie reiste im ganzen Land umher und sprach auf neunzig verschiedenen Treffen und legte 3.589 Meilen zurück. Sie konnte aber nur eine sehr kurze Zeit in Japan arbeiten. Sie starb am 01.12.1892, ihre Trauerfeier fand in der Azabu Methodist Church statt, sie wurde aber in Galesburg, IL, USA., beigesetzt. - Sie war Autor des Werkes: Childhood: Its Care and Culture (Kindheit: Betreuung und Pflege).
- She acquired a B.A. from the Knox College in Galesburg in 1854. She became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and before coming to Japan as a Round-the-World Missionary of the Woman´s Christian Temperance Union (WCTU), she had taught at the college and been chairman of the Illinois State WCTU and associate editor of the WCTU’s periodical, the Union Signal.
She came to Japan on September 3, 1892 and made the Methodist Episcopal Church missionary home at Tokyo, Aoyama Jogakuin her base. She travelled throughout the country speaking at ninety different meetings and covering 3,589 miles. She could work, however, only a very short time in Japan. She died on December 1, 1892, her funeral was held at the Azabu Methodist Church but interred in Galesburg, IL, USA. - She was the author of Childhood: Its Care and Culture.


WEST, Peter / P II / GB / TR /
- Als er 1872 nach Japan kam, ließ er sich in Kobe nieder und begann zunächst bei der China and Japan Trading Co. in Kobe zu arbeiten. Im Jahr 1874 wechselte er zu den Kobe Iron Works und arbeitete bis 1878 in der Werft als Takler. Danach hat er Japan verlassen.
- When he came to Japan in 1872, he settled in Kobe and began to work at the China and Japan Trading Co. In 1874 he joined the Kobe Iron Works and worked until 1878 in the shipyard as a rigger. Then he left Japan.

WEST, Samuel / P II / GB / FE-T-SH (36 Mon.) /
- Er traf am 27.07.1873 in Yokohama mit einem Vertrag der japanischen Regierung, Marine-Ministerium (Kaigunshō) ein. Sein Vertrag als Lehrer am Marine College in Tokyo begann am 28.07.1873 und endete nach 3 Jahren am 27.07.1876. Der Vertrag wurde nicht verlängert.
- He arrived in Yokohama on July 27, 1873 with a contract of the Japanese government, Ministry of Navy (Kaigunshō). His contract as a teacher at the Naval College in Tokyo began on July 28, 1873 and ended after 3 years on July 27, 1876. The contract has not been prolonged.

WEST, William George [George] / P I / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1861 nach Japan und ließ sich in Yokohama nieder. Nachdem er sich mit den Verhältnissen vertraut gemacht hat, eröffnete er 1862 eine Fleischerei. Im Jahr 1864 ging er eine Partnerschaft mit Gilbert Henderson ein und sie firmierten unter Hendeson & West, Fleischer und Vertreter, in Yokohama. Die Firma existierte bis 1869, obwohl William West und Gilbert Henderson Japan bereits 1867 verlassen hatten.
- He came to Japan in 1861 and settled in Yokohama. After getting familiar with the circumstances, he opened a butchery in 1862. In 1864, he entered into a partnership with Gilbert Henderson, and the company was named Hendeson & West, Butchers and Compradores, in Yokohama. The company existed until 1869, although William West and Gilbert Henderson had already left Japan in 1867.

WESTCOTT, T. D. / P III / GB / TR /
WESTERVELD, H. [A.] / P III / NL / TR /
WESTERWIEL, C. [WESTERVELD] [WESTERWEIL] [WESTERWEEL] / P II / NL / FE-T /
WESTERWIEL, I. N. [J. N.] / P II / NL / FE-T /
WESTFOLD, G. / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WESTLY, V. [VESTLEI] ВЕСТЛЕЙ / P I / RUS / DIP /
WESTMORELAND, J. / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /

WESTON, Austin / P II - III / USA / FE-T (57 Mon.) /
Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Postkarte vom 02.10.1896 über San Francisco mit Firmenstempel

- Postcard posted on October 2. 1896 via San Francisco with company seal.



- Im Jahr 1885 verkaufte Julius Helm seine Firma, die Yokohama Drayage Co., Rolltransporte, Yokohama # 98, an Tomiyama Seijirō. Zur Fortführung des Geschäftes und Unterstützung von Tomiyama S. wurde Kapitän Austin Weston als Leiter von der japanischen Regierung, Präfektirverwaltung Kanagawa, eingestellt. Sein Vertrag lief vom 01.03.1885 bis 31.12.1889.
Sofort nach dem Ende seines Vertrages gründete er unter seinem Namen A. Weston & Co. seine eigene Firma als Customs House Broker, Shipping and Forwarding Agent, in Yokohama. Der Sitz der Firma wechselte mehrfach, trotzdem hatte sie einen guten Ruf und existierte 1908 immer noch.
- In 1885 Julius Helm sold his company, Yokohama Drayage Co., Landing, Hauling, and Shipping Agents, Yokohama # 98, to Tomiyama Seijirō. To continue the business and to support Tomiyama S., Captain Austin Weston was employed as Manager by the Japanese government, Kanagawa Prefectural Administration. His contract ran from March 1, 1885 to December 31, 1889.
Immediately after the end of his contract, he founded his own company under his name A. Weston & Co. as a Customs House Broker, Shipping and Forwarding Agent, in Yokohama. The seat of the company changed several times, nevertheless it had a good reputation and still existed in 1908.


WESTON, H. J. / P II / GB / TR /
- Die Japan Paper Making Co. befand sich 1898 in Liquidation. H. J. Weston war nur 1898 als Superintendent in Kobe, um die Liquidation der Factory No. 1 zu überwachen.
- The Japan Paper Making Co. was in liquidation in 1898. H. J. Weston was only in 1898 as superintendent in Kobe to survey the liquidation of Factory No. 1.

WESTON, J. / P II / GB / TR /
- Er arbeitete nur 1881 für H. MacArthur, Schiffsbroker und Zollagent, in Yokohama # 70. Später ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He worked only in 1881 for H. MacArthur, Ship Broker and Customs Agent in Yokohama # 70. Later he is no longer listed in Japan.

WESTON, M. D. / P III / GB / MIS /
- Sie war als Missionar der English Church ab 1896 in Japan. Zuerst arbeitete sie für St. Hilda´s Mission in Tokyo Azabu und ab 1898 in Tokyo Kojimachi für die Gesellschaft zur Propagierung des Evangeliums. Im Jahr 1908 arbeitete sie immer noch in dieser Position.
- She was a missionary of English Church from 1896 in Japan. At first she worked for St. Hilda's Mission in Tokyo Azabu and as of 1898 in Tokyo Kojimachi for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. In 1908 she still worked in this position.

WESTON, Walter

WESTPHAL, Alfred / P II / DE / FE-ED (16 Mon.) /
- Er schloss bereits in DE einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Vertretung in Berlin ab, um als Lehrer im Ministerium für Erziehung zu arbeiten. Er traf am 15.03.1874 in Japan ein und sein Vertrag begann am 01.05.1874 als Lehrer für Mathematik und Geschichte an der Kaisei Gakkō in Tokyo, Vorläufer der Universität Tokyo. Am 20.05.1874 wurde der Vertrag bis 14.03.1876 verlängert, allerdings beendete A. Westphal seine Tätigkeit am 30.09.1875 in gemeinsamer Abstimmung und verließ Japan.
- He already concluded his contract in Germany with the Japanese representation in Berlin to work as a teacher for the Ministry of Education. He arrived in Japan on March 15, 1874 and his contract started on May 1, 1874 as a teacher for mathematics and history at the Kaisei Gakkō in Tokyo, predecessor of the Tokyo University. On May 20, 1874 the contract was prolonged to March 14, 1876 but A. Westphal finished his work on September 30, 1875 in a common coordination and left Japan.

WESTPHAL, August / P II / DE / FE-R-Yawata (38 Mon.) /
- Er stammte aus Dahlhausen/ Ruhr und wurde 02.10.1871 geboren.
Zwischen 1890 und 1899 war er zunächst in verschiedenen Betrieben der Firma Fried. Krupp tätig, besuchte aber von 1891-1893 die Maschinenbauschule in Hagen. Am 25.11.1900 unterzeichnete er einen Vertrag mit dem Kaiserlich Japanischen Stahlwerk. Vom 1.2.1901 bis zum 31.3.1904 war er dann am Standort des neuen Hüttenwerks in Yawata, Süd-Japan, tätig um dort den Aufbau der Siemens-Martin-Anlagen zu leiten. Nach Vertragsende 1904 und durch den russisch-japanischen Krieg beeinflusst, kehrte er nach Deutschland zurück und studierte von 1904 bis 1906 an den Bergakademien in Clausthal und Berlin, besuchte aber auch Veranstaltungen des Seminars für Orientalische Sprachen in Berlin. Ab 1907 ist er wieder beim Elektrostahlwerk der Firma Krupp AG. angestellt und wird 1932 pensioniert.
- He came from Dahlhausen/ Ruhr and was born on October 2, 1871.
From 1890 to 1899 he was employed in various companies of the Fried. Krupp works, but between 1891 and 1893 he was enrolled at the Mechanical Engineering College at Hagen. On November 25, 1900 he signed a contract with the Imperial Japanese Iron & Steel-Works. From February 1, 1901 to March 31, 1904, he worked at the site of the new Steelwork at Yawata in southern Japan where he conducted the building of the open-hearth furnace. After the contract expired in 1904 and influenced by the Russo-Japanese war he returned to Germany, then studied from 1904 to 1906 at the mining academies in Clausthal and Berlin, but also attended courses in the Seminary for Oriental Languages in Berlin. As of 1907 he was employed at the electric steel plant of Krupp AG and retired in 1932.


WESTPHAL, C. / P III / DE / TR /
- Er kam 1906 im Auftrag der Firma Faber & Voigt, Handels- und Versicherungs-Kaufmann, nach Yokohama. Ab 1907 wurde ihm Prokura erteilt.
- In 1906 he came to Yokohama by order of the Trade and Insurance Merchants Faber & Voigt. As of 1907 he was appointed to sign per procuration.

WESTPHAL, George [WESTPHALL] [WESTPAL] [WESTPFAHL] / P II / DE / TR /
- Als Henry Spahn 1869 aus der Firma Schmidt, Spahn & Co. ausschied, wurde Georg Westphal neuer Partner von A. Schmidt und sie firmierten ab 01.07.1870 unter Schmidt, Westphal & Co. in Kobe. Ab 1871 eröffneten sie auch eine Niederlassung in Nagasaki # 4, Umegasaki, die Georg Westphal leitete.
Seit 1865 wechselte die Position des deutschen Konsuls in Nagasaki unter den ansässigen Kaufleuten und von 1872 bis 1873 war Georg Westphal amtierender deutscher und russischer Konsul.
Langfristiger Erfolg war der Firma allerdings nicht beschieden. Die Liquidation von Schmidt, Westphal & Co. begann 1874, das Verfahren konnte erst 1877 beendet werden.
- When Henry Spahn left Schmidt, Spahn & Co. in 1869, Georg Westphal became the new partner of A. Schmidt and as of July 1, 1870 they operated under Schmidt, Westphal & Co. in Kobe. In 1871 they also opened a branch office in Nagasaki # 4, Umegasaki and Georg Westphal was appointed manager.
Since 1865 the position of German Consul rotated among a number of German resident merchants in Nagasaki and Georg Westphal was the acting German and Russian consul from 1872 to 1873.
Long-term success, however, was not granted to the company. In 1874, the liquidation of Schmidt, Westphal & Co. was initiated and could only be realized in 1877.


WESTPHALEN, Julius [John]

WESTWOOD, C. L. / P I / GB / TR /
WETMORE, F. R. / P II / GB / TR /
WETMORE, P. L. / P II / GB / TR /
WETTE, M. de / P III / UKN / TR /
WETTON, Elizabeth V. / P II / GB / FE-ED / Mrs.
WETTON, Ernest / P II / GB / FE-ED /
WETTON, H. [WETTOY] / P II / GB / FE-T + TR /

WEUVE, H. [WEIM] / siehe - see / VEUVE, H.

WEVILL, Frederick John

WEX, Eugen Friedrich Hermann Philipp

WEYHE, C. von / P II / DE / FE-R /
WEYS, William / P II / USA / MED /
WHALEY, W. A. / P III / GB / SER /
WHARTON, R. G. / P I / GB / MIL /
WHEATLEY, I. [WHEATTY] [J] / P I / GB / TR /
WHEATON, W. F. [W. T.] / P I / USA / TR /
WHEELAN, Henry / P II / GB / TR /

WHEELER, -- / P II / USA / FE-ED (12 Mon.) /
- Er unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, um als Englisch-Lehrer zu arbeiten. Der Vertrag lief vom 23.03.1873 bis 20.09.1873 und wurde vom 21.09. bis 20.03.1874 verlängert. Danach hat er Japan verlassen, es ist allerdings nicht bekannt, wo er English lehrte.
- He signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, to work as an English teacher. The contract ran from March 23, 1873 to September 20, 1873 and was prolonged from September 21 to March 20, 1874. Afterwards he left Japan, however, it is not known where he taught English.

WHEELER, Edwin „Judy“ / P II - III / GB / QFE-MED + MED / 1840 - 1923
- Dr. med. Chirurg. Medizinischer Offizier des 1. Battalions, 10. Regiment der britischen Armee, Yokohama.
Er war der erste britische Marine-Arzt, der 1870 nach Japan kam. Er arbeitete zuerst als Arzt in der britischen Gesandtschaft. In den folgenden Jahren hatte er, auch parallel, weitere Verträge als Arzt mit der japanischen Regierung. So arbeitete er für die Eisenbahnverwaltung, Marine-Ministerium, Industrieministerium und die Kanagawa-Präfekturverwaltung. Sein ersterVertrag begann am 14.05.1871 und sein letzter Vertrag endete am 30.06.1885. - Er war Direktor des Yokohama General Hospitals und des Hospitals, welches der Vorläufer des späteren Universitäts-Krankenhauses war. Er war Mitglied des Zentralvorstands für Gesundheit und Berater des Hygiene-Amtes von Kanagawa-ken. Viele Jahre gehörte er auch zur Yokohama - Gemeinschaftspraxis mit Dr. William T. Buckle und Dr. Joseph B. Siddall.
Am 07.01.1874 heiratete er Mary Jane Moore in der britischen Gesandtschaft. Sie hatten 5 Kinder:
Mary, sie heiratete G. C. Murray im Jahr 1899; Sydney; George; Edwin Francis, * 1883 - † 1888; Theodora, * 1890 - † 1891
Er lebte immer in Yokohama und starb während des Großen Erdbebens am 01.09.1923. Er wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt. Sein Freund Tom Abbey starb mit ihm, als er versuchte, ihn zu retten.
- Dr. med. Surgeon. Medical Officer of the 1st Battalion, 10th Regiment of H. M.’s Army, Yokohama. He was the first British naval doctor, who arrived in Japan in 1870. At first he acted as a physician to the British legation.
In the following years, he had also, in parallel, other contracts as a doctor with the Japanese government. Thus, he worked for the Railways Department, Ministry of Navy, Ministry of Public Works, and the Kanagawa Prefectural Administration. His first contract began on May 14, 1871 and his last contract ended on June 30, 1885. He worked as a director of the Yokohama General Hospital and the Hospital, which was the predecessor of the later University Hospital. He was a member of the Central Board of Health and advisor of the Kanagawa-ken Hygiene Department.
For many years he was also part of the joint practice with Dr. William T. Buckle and Dr. Joseph B. Siddall in Yokohama.
On January 7, 1884, he married Mary Jane Moore in the British Legation. They had 5 children:
Mary, she married G. C. Murray in 1899; Sydney; George; Edwin Francis, * 1883 - † 1888; Theodora, * 1890 - † 1891.
He stayed in Yokohama and died during the Great Earthquake on September 1, 1923, buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetry of Yokohma. His friend Tom Abbey died with him when he tried to rescue him.


WHEELER, F. A. / P I / GB / TR /
- Er war nur 1869 in Japan und versuchte sich als Friseur in Yokohama # 17. Bereits 1870 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He stayed only in 1869 in Japan and tried to settle as a hairdresser in Yokohama # 17. Already in 1870 he is no longer listed in Japan.

WHEELER, H. S. / P III / GB / TR /
- Er arbeitete von 1896 bis 1901 für Heyn, Broeckelmann & Co., in Kobe. Die Firma wurde 1901 liquidiert und H. S. Wheeler hat Japan verlassen.
- He worked from 1896 to 1901 for Heyn, Broeckelmann & Co., in Kobe. The company was liquidated in 1901 and H. S. Wheeler has left Japan.

WHEELER, Harvey A. / P IV / USA / MIS / 1881 - 1968
- Er wurde in South Dakota geboren und erwarb 1909 den BA an University of Oregon und 1910 den MA an der University of Chicago, IL. Er heiratete 1910 in Eugene, OR, Ruth Baldere. Auch Ruth hatte an der University of Oregon im Jahr 1910 den BA erworben.
Beide wurden 1910 als Missionare von der Auslandsmission der Methodist Episcopal Church nach Japan delegiert. Von 1910 bis 1911 arbeiteten sie in Nagoya, von 1913 bis 1919 lehrten sie an der Chinzei Gakuin in Nagasaki und von 1919 bis 1921 arbeiteten sie in Tokyo. Im Jahr 1923 haben sie Japan verlassen und lebten in Eugene, OR, USA. Er arbeitete dann als Vertreter der Occidental Life Insurance Co. und sie betrieb ein Geschäft für orientalische Kunst in Eugene. - Harvey Wheeler starb 1968 und Ruth Wheeler im Jahr 1974, in Eugene, und sie wurden nebeneinander beigesetzt.
- He was born in South Dakota and acquired the BA at the University of Oregon in 1909 and the MA at the University of Chicago, IL in 1910. He married Ruth Baldere in 1910 in Eugene, OR. Ruth had also earned the BA at the University of Oregon in 1910.
Both were delegated in 1910 as missionaries from the Foreign Mission Board of the Methodist Episcopal Church to Japan. From 1910 to 1911 they worked in Nagoya, from 1913 to 1919 they taught at the Chinzei Gakuin in Nagasaki and from 1919 to 1921 they worked in Tokyo. In 1923 they left Japan and lived in Eugene, OR, USA. He then worked as an agent of the Occidental Life Insurance Co. and she ran a shop for oriental art in Eugene. - Harvey Wheeler died in 1968 and Ruth Wheeler in 1974 and they were buried side by side in Eugene.


WHEELER, Herbert [H. W.] / P II / GB / FE-T (36 Mon.) /
- Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium der Finanzen, angestellt, um während der Anfangsphase der Osaka Münzanstalt als Sekretär des Direktors Thomas William Kinder zu arbeiten. Sein Vertrag begann im Dezember 1871 und lief bis zum Dezember 1874. Im Jahr 1875 hat er Japan wieder verlassen.
P. S. Es wird vermutet, dass Herbert Wheeler ein Verwandter von T. W. Kinders Frau war, da Kinder mit Mary Elizabeth geb. Wheeler verheiratet war. Bei seiner Anstellung war Herbert Wheeler erst 19 Jahre alt.
- He was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Finance, to work as secretary of the director Thomas William Kinder during the initial phase of the Osaka Mint. His contract began in December 1871 and ran until December 1874. In 1875 he left Japan again.
P. S. It is assumed that Herbert Wheeler was a relative of T. W. Kinder's wife, because Kinder was married with Mary Elizabeth nee Wheeler. Herbert Wheeler was only 19 years old at the time of his employment.


WHEELER, Horace Zebulon [H. Z.] / P II - III / USA / FE-T (156 Mon.)
- Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium der Finanzen, als Berater und Wertsachverständiger, im Zollamt von Yokohama angestellt. Sein Vertrag begann am 13.09.1881 und endete nach mehrmaligen Verlängerungen schließlich am 12.09.1892. Als sein Vertrag endete, hat er Japan verlassen.
- He was employed by the Japanese Government, Ministry of Finance, as an advisor and appraiser in the Customs House of Yokohama. His contract began on September 13, 1881, and ended finally on September 12, 1892 after several prolongations. When his contract ended, he left Japan.

WHEELER, J. E. / P II / USA / MIS
- Missionarin der American Board Mission, sie wurde ab 1875 in Osaka eingesetzt. Sie arbeitete nur bis 1881 für die Mission in Japan, danach ist sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- Missionary of the American Board Mission, she was deployed in Osaka as of 1875. She worked for the mission in Japan only until 1881, afterwards she is no longer listed in Japan.

WHEELER, Post

WHEELER, P. H. / P III / USA / TR /
- Im Jahr 1893 wurde die Japan Watch Co. in Yokohama # 10 neu gegründet und P. H. Wheeler wurde als Leiter berufen. Sie hatten ganz sicher keinen guten Start, denn bereits 1894 sind sie nicht mehr in Yokohama zu finden und Wheeler versuchte in Osaka Fuß zu fassen. Die Firma existierte 1894 und 1895 in Osaka und wurde dann endgültig geschlossen. Im Jahr 1896 ist er Leiter der American and Japan Trading Co. in Kobe # 18 und 1897 gründete er unter seinen Namen eine eigene Firma, P. H. Wheeler & Co., die als Agent der American and Japan Trading Co. fungierte. Neben Export und Import firmierte er ab 1898 auch als Uhrmacher und Juvelier. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt stellte er Canute Olsen ein, der aber auch nur ein Jahr blieb. Daran kann man sehen, dass auch dieses Geschäft nicht erfolgreich war. Im Jahr 1899 hat er die Firma liquidiert und Japan verlassen. An diesem Standort Kobe # 18 befand sich 1900 „The Kobe Watch and Jewellery Store“.
- In 1893, the Japan Watch Co. was newly established in Yokohama # 10 and P. H. Wheeler was appointed as superintendent. They certainly did not have a good start, as they could not be found in Yokohama any more in 1894, and Wheeler tried to gain a foothold in Osaka. The company existed in Osaka in 1894 and 1895 and was then finally closed. In 1896, he became the manager of the American and Japan Trading Co. in Kobe # 18, and in 1897, he founded his own company, P. H. Wheeler & Co., acting as Agent for the American and Japan Trading Co., Kobe # 18. In addition to Export and Import, he advertised also as Watchmaker and Juwellers from 1898 onwards. At this time, he employed Canute Olsen, who also stayed for only one year in the company. This shows that this business was not successful either. In 1899 he liquidated the company and left Japan. As of 1900, "The Kobe Watch and Jewelery Store" was located at Kobe # 18.

WHEELER, Sydney [S. J.] / P IV / GB / TR /
- Sohn von Edwin Wheeler. Nach seiner Ausbildung in England kam er 1900 wieder nach Japan und er wurde bei der Hong Kong & Shanghai Banking Corporation in Yokohama # 2 angestellt. Privat lebte er bei seinen Eltern in Yokohama # 97 Bluff. Im Jahr 1904 wurde er von der Bank in die Filiale nach Kobe # 2 Kaigan-dori, versetzt.
Im Jahr 1906 wurde er Leiter der Japan-Niederlassung von James Morrison & Co., in Tokyo Kojimachi.
- Son of Edwin Wheeler. After his education in England, he returned to Japan in 1900 and was employed by the Hong Kong & Shanghai Banking Corporation in Yokohama # 2. He lived privately with his parents in Yokohama # 97 Bluff. In 1904, he was transferred from the bank to their branch in Kobe # 2 Kaigan-dori.
As of 1906 he became manager of the Japan branch of James Morrison & Co., in Tokyo Kojimachi.


WHEELER, William

WHELAN, John / P II / USA / FE-R /
WHELM, John / P II / UKN / FE-T-RW /
WHETSTONE, J. R. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WHITAMORE, R. A. / P III / USA / TR /
WHITBECK, E. C. / P II / USA / MIS /
WHITBECK, Emma J. / see VAIL, M.

WHITE, A. T. [A. F.] / P III / GB / TR /
- Als er 1898 nach Japan kam, begann er für Hutchinson & Co., Yokohama # 179, zu arbeiten, möglicherweise vermittelt durch William James White, so dass ein verwandtschaftliches Verhältnis möglich ist. Bereits nach einem Jahr hat er die Firma wieder verlassen und ging zur Equitable Life Assurance Society of the USA, Yokohama # 10. Auch hier konnte er sich nicht etablieren. Ab 1901 arbeitete er dann dauerhaft als Technischer Berater bei der Nippon Yūsen Kaisha. Im Jahr 1908 ist er immer noch bei der Firma gelistet.
- When he came to Japan in 1898, he began working for Hutchinson & Co., Yokohama # 179, possibly mediated by William James White, so that a kinship is possible. Already after a year he left the company again and joined the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the USA, Yokohama # 10. Again, he could not establish himself. But as of 1901 he worked permanently as a Technical Advisor at the Nippon Yūsen Kaisha. In 1908 he was still listed at this company.

WHITE, C. / P I / GB / QFE-T /
- Er war nur 1864 im Polizeidienst der Stadt von Nagasaki im Einsatz. Danach ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He was only employed in 1864 in the Nagasaki Police Force, afterwards he was not listed any more in Japan.

WHITE, Edwin / P II / USA / MIL /
- Korvetten-Kapitän, US-Marine im asiatischen Einsatz, 1876 in Yokohama.
- Lieutenant-Commander of the US Naval Forces on Asiatic Station, 1876 in Yokohama.

WHITE, Florence / P II / USA / MIS /
- Sie kam 1888 als Missionar der American Board Mission nach Japan und sie lehrte bis 1891 an der Doshisha School in Kyoto. Im Jahr 1891 ist sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- She came to Japan in 1888 as a missionary of the American Board Mission and taught until 1891 at the Doshisha School in Kyoto. In 1891 she is no longer listed in Japan.

WHITE, Frederick Edward / P I - III / GB / DIP + TR /
- Er wurde ab 1868 im Britischen Konsulat in Yokohama # 155 als Konstabler eingesetzt. Im Jahr 1871 wurde er Konstabler im Gerichtsbereich der Britischen Gesandtschaft und zeitweise auch Gerichtsdiener. In dieser Stellung war er bis 1885. Im Jahr 1885 wurde er unter seinen Namen als Kohlenkaufmann in Yokohama # 88 selbständig, allerdings musste er sein Geschäft 1890 wieder schließen.
Von 1891 bis 1899 wurde er von Mourilyan, Heimann & Co., Yokohama # 35, angestellt und im Jahr 1899 arbeitete er für Samuel Samuel & Co., Yokohama # 27. 1904 erhielt er Prokura. Samuel Samuel & Co. war auch Agent für die Rising Sun Petroleum Co. und F. E. White gehörte ab 1904 zum Direktorenstab, auch nachdem er ab 1906 als Leiter der Niederlassung in Kobe berufen wurde.
- As of 1868, he was employed as a constabler in the British Consulate in Yokohama # 155. In 1871 he became a constabler in the Judicial Department of the British Legation, and, in time, also a court usher. In 1885, he became an independent coal merchant under his name in Yokohama # 88, but he had to close his business in 1890.
From 1891 to 1899 he was employed by Mourilyan, Heimann & Co., Yokohama # 35, and in 1899 he joined Samuel Samuel & Co., Yokohama # 27. In 1904 he was authorized to sign per procuration. Samuel Samuel & Co. was also agent for the Rising Sun Petroleum Co., and as of 1904, F. E. White belonged to the Board of Directors, even after his appointment as manager of the Kobe branch in 1906.


WHITE, Francis William A. / P I - II / GB / TR /
- Er kan 1863 als Seideninspektor für Macpherson & Marshall nach Yokohama. Er arbeitete immer für diese Firma.
Im September 1873 starb William Marshall, Partner der Firma, und Angus J. Macpherson wickelte das Unternehmen 1873 ab. Daraufhin hat F. W. A. White Japan im Jahr 1874 verlassen.
Ab 1871 wurde er als Meister der Freimaurer-Loge, Yokohama-Loge 1092, gewählt. Sein Nachfolger wurde W. Bourne, als er Japan verließ.
- In 1863 he was employed as a silk inspector for Macpherson & Marshall in Yokohama. He always worked for this company.
In September 1873 William Marshall, partner of the company, died, and Angus J. Macpherson wound-up the company in 1873. Thereupon F. W. A. White left Japan in 1874.
As of 1871 F. W. A. White was elected Master of the Masonic Lodge, Yokohama Loge 1092. He was succeeded by W. Bourne, when he left Japan.


WHITE, F. N. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
- Reverend F. N. White und seine Frau wurden 1886 als Missionare der American Board Mission nach Japan delegiert. Sie arbeiteten zuerst bis 1891 in Sendai und dann von 1891 bis 1893 in Tsu und von 1893 bis 1895 in Osaka. Danach sind sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- Reverend F. N. White and his wife were delegated to Japan in 1886 as missionaries of the American Board Mission. They first worked in Sendai until 1891, then in Tsu from 1891 to 1893, and in Osaka from 1893 to 1895. After that, they are no longer listed in Japan.

WHITE, G. Preston / P II / GB / FE-T-RW (24 Mon.) /
- Er arbeitete als Berater für die spanische Eisenbahngesellschaft und konnte als Berater für ökonomische Fragen von der japanischen Regierung gewonnen werden. Er arbeitete 1872 und 1873 für die japannische Eisenbahn in Yokohama. Diese Entscheidung wurde sogar von der lokalen London Times sehr beführwortet.
- He worked as an advisor for the Spanish government railway company and the Japanese government could win him as an economic advisor to the Japanese railways. He worked in 1872 and 1873 for the Japanese railroad department in Yokohama. This solution was even very much praised by the local London Times.

WHITE, Gertrude / P III / GB / MIS /
- Sie arbeitete von 1893 bis 1899 als Krankenschwester in der St. Hilda´s Mission in Tokyo Azabu. Danach ist sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- She worked from 1893 to 1899 as a nurse at St. Hilda's mission in Tokyo Azabu. After that, she is no longer listed in Japan.

WHITE, John [Johnny] / P II / USA / SER /
- Er wurde in Boston geboren und kam 1874 nach Yokohama. John White arbeitete für F. Douglass, Fleischer und Handelsvertreter, Yokohama # 42. Aber bereits nach einem Jahr verließ er die Firma wieder und begann als selbständiger Gastwirt zu arbeiten.
Er betrieb von 1875 bis 1880 als Eigentümer ein Restaurant in Yokohama # 136. Verwunderlich ist, dass die Gaststätte in Yokohama # 136 in fünf Jahren drei unterschiedliche Namen hatte, und zwar
- 1875 - Tennessee House Tavern
- 1876 + 1877 + 1879 - Centennial Saloon,
- 1878 - The Lone Star Restaurant
Er starb unerwartet in Yokohama im November 1880 im Alter von 48 Jahren und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt..
- He was born in Boston and came to Yokohama in 1874. John White was employed by F. Douglass, Butcher and Compradores, Yokohama # 42. But after a year he left the company again and began to work as an independent innkeeper.From 1875 to 1880 he operated as proprietor a restaurant in Yokohama # 136. It is surprising, however, that the restaurant in Yokohama # 136 had in five years three different names, i. e.
- 1875 - Tennessee House Tavern
- 1876 + 1877 + 1879 - Centennial Saloon,
- 1878 - The Lone Star Restaurant
He died unexpectedly in Yokohama in November 1880 at the age of 48 years and was buried in Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama.


WHITE, John / P II / IR / SH / 1842 - 1884
- Er war gebürtiger Dubliner, Irland, der sich in Nagasaki um 1874 niederließ und sich als Hafenlotse etablierte. Sein Geschäft blühte, weil die Zahl großer ausländischer Schiffe, die Nagasaki anliefen, ständig zunahm. Er heiratete eine japanische Frau und das Paar lebte mit ihren vier Kindern in einem Haus nach westlichem Stil in Minamiyamate.
In den frühen Morgenstunden des 17. März 1884 verließen White und seine Crew von fünf Japanern den Hafen von Nagasaki in einem kleinen Segelschiff, um das amerikanische Schiff "Watson" zu treffen, das aus Shanghai ankommen sollte. Etwa zu Tagesanbruch entdeckten sie das Schiff, aber ein starker Wind war aufgekommen und der Ozean wurde immer stürmischer. Plötzlich wurde das Boot mit John White und seine Mannschaft von einer riesigen Welle getroffen und das Boot kenterte und die Männer wurden in das eisige Wasser geworfen. Die "Watson" schickte ein Boot aus, um sie zu retten, sie hatten aber nur teilweise Erfolg. Als John White abgeholt wurde, waren seit dem Unfall ein Zeitraum von 3 Stunden verstrichen. Er war noch am Leben, aber als er an Bord der "Watson" gezogen wurde, starb er an den Folgen der Unterkühlung und Erschöpfung. John White wurde auf dem Ōura International Cemetery, Nagasaki begraben. Nichts ist bekannt, was mit seiner Frau und den vier Kindern passiert ist. Die Kinder blieben zweifellos in Japan und wurden in die japanische Gesellschaft aufgenommen.
- He was a native of Dublin who settled in Nagasaki around 1874 and established himself as a harbour pilot. His business flourished as the number of large foreign vessels calling at Nagasaki increased. He married a Japanese woman and the couple lived with their four children in one of the Western-style houses in Minamiyamate.
In the early hours of March 17, 1884, White and his crew of five Japanese left Nagasaki Harbour in a small sailing vessel to meet the American ship “Watson” scheduled to arrive from Shanghai. Around daybreak they spotted the ship, but a strong wind had come up and the ocean was becoming more and more turbulent. Suddenly the boat holding John White and his crew was hit and capsized by a huge wave and the men were tossed into the icy water. The “Watson” sent a boat out to rescue them but they could succeed only partly. When John White was picked up, a period of 3 hours had elapsed since the time of the accident. He was still alive but by the time he was pulled aboard the “Watson” he had died from the effects of exposure and exhaustion. White was buried at Ōura International Cemetery, Nagasaki. Nothing is known about what happened to his wife and the four children, but they undoubtedly stayed in Japan and were absorbed into Japanese society.


WHITE, Jonas / P IV / USA / MIS /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Ein erfolgreicher Versuch, ein alkoholfreies Heim für Schiffs-Besatzungsmitglieder in Nagasakis Auslands-Siedlung zu errichten, entstand aus den Bemühungen von Seeleuten des amerikanischen Kriegsschiffes "Charleston", das von 1894 bis 1895 in Nagasaki zehn Monate lang repariert wurde. Das so entstandene "Seamen's Home", das auf den Grundsätzen der Mäßigkeit basiert, wurde am 03.02.1896 eröffnet und war bis kurz vor dem Ausbruch des 2. Weltkrieges in Betrieb.
Mit dem Geld, das gespendet und gesammelt wurde, wurde im November 1895 im Namen von fünf lokalen protestantischen Missionaren, die als Vorstand des Seamen's 'Home fungierten, ein Gebäude in Nr. 26 Ōura (ironischerweise eine ehemalige Kneipe) gekauft. Das Gebäude, später bekannt als "The Christian Endeavour Home for Seamen", wurde offiziell am 3. Februar 1896 von Rev. Bischof Henry Evington eröffnet. Anfangs hatte das Heim nur neun Zimmer und konnte nur sechzehn Männer unterbringen, aber die Einrichtungen wurden kontinuierlich erweitert. Bis Dezember 1897 hatte es zwölf Zimmer, 34 Betten, zwei Badezimmer, ein Esszimmer für 20 Personen, einen großen allgemeinen Raum, einen Schreibraum und eine Bibliothek. Am Ende des ersten Jahrzehnts konnte es 90 Unterkünfte für 90 Personen anbieten. Auch dies erwies sich als unzureichend, wenn mehr als ein Kriegsschiff gleichzeitig im Hafen war.
Das Hauptproblem für das Heim war, dass der Zustrom von Matrosen sehr sporadisch war. Die andere Schwierigkeit am Anfang war der Mangel an einem Ehepaar, um die Institution zu verwalten. Das erste Jahrzehnt des Heims fiel mit dem Höhepunkt der Kriegsschiffsaktivität in Nagasaki zusammen. Ereignisse wie der chinesisch-japanische Krieg, das amerikanische Engagement auf den Philippinen und der Boxer-Aufstand brachten fast immer eine Auslastung des Seamen's Home mit sich. Schiffsreparaturen brachten auch eine große Anzahl von Männern für längere Zeit nach Nagasaki. Das Seamen's Home wurde praktisch eine selbsttragende Institution, die von ihren Einnahmen und einem kleinen Zuschuss der „Freunde des Seemannsheims“ profitierte. Schließlich wurde das Heim finanziell unabhängig.
Der russisch-japanische Krieg brachte Nagasaki jedoch große Veränderungen, und die Seeschifffahrt im Hafen wurde erheblich geringer als vor dem Krieg. Zu Beginn des Jahres 1907 bat das Seamen's Home aktiv um Mittel, um weiter operieren zu können und William J. Damson startete seine „Fonds-Erhebungstour“ durch Asien, Neuseeland und Australien. Weitere Maßnahmen zur Kostensenkung wurden eingeleitet, und nach und nach verbesserten sich die Aussichten für das Seemannsheim, und Ende 1909 lief die Institution wieder gut. Der Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges brachte erneut finanzielle Probleme. 1918 erwies sich als eines der besten Jahre für das Seamen's Home. Es begann mit der unerwarteten Nutzung für Monate eines großen Kontingents von Ingenieuren, die zum russischen Eisenbahndienst gehörten.
Das Seamen's Home hatte in den nächsten zwei Jahrzehnten seine Höhen und Tiefen, blieb aber bis kurz vor Beginn der Feindseligkeiten zwischen Japan und den Vereinigten Staaten im Zweiten Weltkrieg in Betrieb. Zusammenfassend war das Haus mehr als vierzig Jahren in Nagasaki kontinuierlich in Betrieb und bot amerikanischen und europäischen Seeleuten eine Alternative zu den "Kneipen" und "Teehäusern" der Stadt. Es bot Hilfe und Komfort, wenn es nötig war, und einen Ort, um sich zu entspannen und Kontakte zu knüpfen, ohne alkoholische Getränke konsumieren zu müssen. Durch die Bereitstellung solcher Einrichtungen leistete das Heim einen positiven Beitrag in Nagasaki, der sowohl von Ausländern als auch von Japanern geschätzt wurde.
Im Jahr 1905 folgte Jonas White Risher W. Thornberry. Jonas White und seine Frau wurden Manager des Seamen's Home und sie haben dieses Haus bis 1909 geführt. 1909 folgten Mr. und Mrs. James Hatter und nach seinem Tod 1919 wurde er von E. A Clark bis zum Beginn der 2. Weltkrieges eingesetzt.
- A successful attempt to establish a non-alcoholic home for visiting sailors in Nagasaki's foreign settlement grew out of efforts by sailors from the American man-of-war “Charleston” which was in Nagasaki for ten months from 1894 to 1895 undergoing repairs and resident Protestant missionaries. The resulting "Seamen's Home", based on temperance principles, opened on February 3, 1896 and continued operating until just prior to the outbreak of the Pacific War in 1941.
With the money donated and collected a building at No. 26 Ōura (ironically, a former grog shop) was purchased in November 1895 in the name of five local Protestant missionaries who served as the Board of Directors of the Seamen's' Home. The building, known as "The Christian Endeavour Home for Seamen," was formally opened on February 3, 1896 by the Rev. Bishop Henry Evington. Initially, it had only nine rooms and could provide lodging for just sixteen men, but the facilities were continuously expanded. By December 1897, it had twelve rooms, 34 beds, two bathrooms, a dining room for 20, a large general room, a writing room and a library. At the close of its first decade, it could provide sleeping accommodations for 90 men. Even this proved insufficient, however, when more than one man-of-war was in port at the same time.
The major problem for the Home was that the influx of sailors was very sporadic. The other difficulty faced in the early years was the lack of a married couple to manage the institution. The first decade of the Home coincided with the peak of warship activity in Nagasaki. Events such as the Sino-Japanese War, American involvement in the Philippines, and the Boxer Rebellion meant that there was almost always business for the Seamen's Home. Ship repairs also brought large numbers of men to port for long periods of time. The Seamen's Home became practically a self-supporting institution, operating from its receipts and a small grant from the Seamen's Friends' Society. Finally, the Home became financially independent.
The Russo-Japanese War brought great changes to Nagasaki, however, and naval activity at the port became considerably less than it had been before the war. By early 1907 the Seamen's Home was actively soliciting funds to continue operating and William J. Damson started his funds rising tour through Asia, New Zealand and Australia. Additional measures to cut costs were initiated and gradually, the prospects of the Seamen's Home improved, and by the end of 1909 the institution was once again doing well. The outbreak of World War One brought renewed financial problems. 1918 proved to be one of the best years for the Seamen's Home. It began with the unexpected housing for months of a large contingent of engineers belonging to the Russian Railway Service.
The Seamen's Home had its ups and downs over the next two decades, but managed to remain open until just prior to the beginning of hostilities between Japan and the United States in World War Two. In summary, the Home operated on a continual basis in Nagasaki for more than forty years, providing American and European sailors an alternative to the "grog shops" and "tea houses" of the city. It offered aid and comfort when needed, and a place to relax and socialize without having to consume alcoholic beverages. By providing such facilities, the Home made a positive contribution to Nagasaki that could be appreciated by foreigners and Japanese alike.
In 1905, Jonas White succeeded Risher W. Thornberry. Jonas White and his wife became Manager of the Seamen´s Home and they run this home until 1909. In 1909 Mr. and Mrs. James Hatter followed and after his death in 1919 he was succeeded by E. A. Clark until the beginning of the Second World War.


WHITE, Oswald / P IV / GB / DIP /
- Er arbeitete ab 1904 als Dolmetscher-Eleve in der britischen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo. Im Jahr 1906 wurde er in das Generalkonsulat in Yokohama versetzt, wo er auch 1908 noch arbeitete. Später wurde er als Konsul nach Nagasaki berufen.
- As of 1904 he worked as a Student Interpreter in the British Legation in Tokyo. In 1906 he was transferred to the Consul General in Yokohama, where he still worked in 1908. Later he was appointed Consul of the British Consulate of Nagasaki.

WHITE, S. S. / P III / USA / MIS /
- Im Jahr 1890 wurde er als Missionar der American Board Mission nach Japan delegiert und nahm seine Arbeit in Okayama auf. Von 1895 bis 1905 arbeitete er in Tsuyama und ab 1906 wieder in Okayama.
- In 1890 he was delegated to Japan as a missionary of the American Board Mission and started his work in Okayama. From 1895 to 1905 he worked in Tsuyama and as of 1906 again in Okayama.

WHITE, T. / P I / GB / SER /
- Das Clarendon Hotel in Yokohama # 97 stand einige Zeit leer und wurde 1869 unter dem Namen "Phoenix Hotel" wiedereröffnet. Die Eigentümer waren William Alfred Malcom und John R. Black und T. White und B. Terries gehörten zu den Mitarbeitern.
Aber bereits 1870 existierte das Phoenix Hotel nicht mehr. Es wird angenommen, dass der Grund ein Feuer war; laut Aufzeichnungen wütete in diesem Distrikt ein Feuer mit starkem Wind in der Nacht am 2. März 1870, welches Yokohama Nr. 97 niedergebrannt haben könnte. Genaue Informationen liegen nicht vor.
P. S. Es wird angenommen, dass T. White die Frau von Frederick White war. Beide sind in den Japan Directories unter T. White gelistet und Erfahrungen zeigen, dass F., T. und J. sehr oft verwechselt wurden.
- The Clarendon Hotel located at Yokohama # 97 was vacant for some time and in 1869 reopened under the name "Phoenix Hotel". The proprietors were William Alfred Malcom and John R. Black and T. White and B. Terries belonged to the staff.
But already in 1870 the Phoenix Hotel disappeared again. It is assumed that the reason was a fire; according to records, a fire with fierce wind raged in this district on the night of March 2, 1870, which might have burned down Yokohama No. 97. No detailed information is available.
P. S. It is believed, that T. White was the wife of Frederick White. Both are recorded in the Japan Directories under T. White and experiences prove that very often F., T. and J. were confounded.


WHITE, Thomas B. / P I / GB / TR /
- M. C. Adams & Co. wurde 1865 als Fleischerei und Schiffsagent in Nagasaki gegründet. M. C. Adams selbst war nicht in Japan und John L. Lee und Thomas B. White eröffneten die Firma. Bereits im folgenden Jahr ist Thomas B. White alleiniger Mitarbeiter und er arbeitete für die Firma bis 1870. Danach ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- M. C. Adams & Co. was founded as butchers and compradores in Nagasaki in 1865. M. C. Adams himself was not in Japan and John L. Lee and Thomas B. White opened the company. Already the following year, Thomas B. White is the sole employee and worked for the company until 1870. After that, he is no longer listed in Japan.

WHITE, W. B. / P IV / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1902 im Auftrag der Chartered Bank of India, Australia and China als Aushilfs-Buchhalter nach Japan und arbeitete in der Niederlassung Yokohama # 58. Sein Vertrag lief bis 1905; im Jahr 1905 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He came to Japan in 1902 as Sub-Accountant on behalf of the Chartered Bank of India, Australia and China and worked in Yokohama # 58. His contract ran until 1905; in 1905 he is no longer listed in Japan.

WHITE, W. E. / P II / GB / SH /
- Er arbeitete nur 1873 auf der Hulk “Tiptree” für die Peninsular and Oriental Steam Navigation Co., Yokohama # 15, danach ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He only worked in 1873 on the Hulk "Tiptree" for the Peninsular and Oriental Steam Navigation Co., Yokohama # 15, afterwards he is no longer listed in Japan.

WHITE, W. J. / P II / GB / TR + QFE-ED /
- Als im Jahr 1871 Lane, Crawford & Co. in Yokohama # 59 gegründet wurde, gehörte er zu den ersten Mitarbeitern der Firma. Bereits im folgenden Jahr hat er jedoch die Firma verlassen und er zog nach Tokyo. Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, angestellt und lehrte Englisch an der Kaisei Gakkō von 1873 bis 1875. Als die Kaisei Gakkō im Jahr 1875 Teil der Universität von Tokyo wurde, ist sein Vertrag nicht verlängert worden und er hat Japan verlassen.
- When Lane, Crawford & Co. was founded in Yokohama # 59 in 1871, he was one of the company's first employees. The following year, however, he left the company and moved to Tokyo. He was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, and he taught English at the Kaisei Gakkō from 1873 to 1875. When the Kaisei Gakkō became part of the University of Tokyo in 1875, his contract has not been extended and he has left Japan.

WHITE, William James / P III / USA / TR / 1879 - 1940
* 11.02.1879 in Tokyo, Japan
† 24.08.1940 in Yokohama, Japan
- Da er in Tokyo geboren wurde, lebten folglich auch seine Eltern 1879 in Tokyo. Es kommen als Vater nur Frederich Edward White oder William John White in Frage, eine eindeutige Zuordnung war jedoch nicht möglich.
William James White kam 1896 nach seiner Ausbildung nach Japan und begann für Hutchison & Co., Yokohama # 179, zu arbeiten. Im Jahr 1900 verlegte die Firma ihren Sitz nach Yokohama # 183 und William James White arbeitete 1908 immer noch bei dieser Firma. - Er scheint immer in Japan gelebt zu haben, denn er starb auch 1940 in Yokohama und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof beigesetzt.
- Because he was born in Tokyo, thus, his parents also must have lived in Tokyo in 1879. Frederich Edward White or William John White can only be considered as the father, but a clear assignment was not possible.
William James White came to Japan in 1896 after his education and began to work for Hutchison & Co., Yokohama # 179. In 1900 the company relocated to Yokohama # 183 and William James White still worked at this company in 1908. - He always seems to have lived in Japan, for he also died in Yokohama in 1940 and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery.


WHITE, William John / P II - III / GB / FE-ED (18 Mon.) + MIS / 1848 - 1901
- Er kam im Auftrag der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, als Englisch-Lehrer nach Tokyo, um ab Oktober 1874 an der English Languae School lehren. Sein Vertrag endete am 10.04.1876 und er kehrte nach England zurück.
Er studierte am „Spurgeon Theologie-College“ und wurde als Missionar der Baptist Missionary Society im Jahr 1878 erneut nach Japan delediert. Er traf im Februar 1879 ein. Da er bereits durch seine erste Tätigkeit in Japan die japanische Sprache beherrschte, konnte er sofort mit der Missionsarbeit beginnen und er lehrte auch an der Missionsschule.
Vor seiner ersten Reise nach Japan heiratete er am 20.12.1873 Alice Kate Woodman. Sie starb jedoch bereits im August 1874, erst 20 Jahre alt.
Am 02.11.1882 heiratete er in der britischen Gesandtschaft von Tokyo die Missionarin Eva Josephine Munson.
Beide arbeiteten weiter für die Baptist Missionary Society als Lehrer an der Missionsschule.
Nach kurzer Krankheit starb William John White am 02.05.1901 im Alter von 53 Jahren und er wurde auf dem Tokyo Aoyama Cemetery beigesetzt.
Seine Frau ist bis 1905 in Tokyo 9-A Tsukiji gelistet, danach hat sie Japan verlassen und ihre Spuren verlieren sich.
- He came to Japan by order of the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, as an English teacher of the Tokyo English Languae School. He started to teach in October 1874 and his contract ended on April 10, 1876; afterwards he returned to England.
Then he studied at the "Spurgeon Theology College" and was delegated to Japan as a missionary of the Baptist Missionary Society in 1878. He arrived in February 1879. Because he already mastered the Japanese language through his first job in Japan, he was able to start the mission work immediately and he also taught at the mission school.
Before his first trip to Japan he married Alice Kate Woodman on December 20, 1873. However, she died already in August 1874, only aged 20 years.
On November 2, 1882 he married the missionary Eva Josephine Munson in the British Legation of Tokyo. Both continued to work for the Baptist Missionary Society as teachers at the Missionary School.
After a short illness, William John White died on May 2, 1901 at the age of 53 and he was buried on the Tokyo Aoyama Cemetery.
His wife is listed in Tokyo 9-A Tsukiji until 1905. After that, she left Japan and her traces are lost.


WHITEFIELD, Frank / P III / UKN / TR /
WHITEHEAD, J. / P III / GB / TR /
WHITEHEAD, James Beethom [Beethorn] / P III / GB / DIP /
WHITEHEAD, T. H. / P II / GB / TR /
WHITEHEAD, T. M. / P II / GB / JOU /
WHITEHEAD, W. / P III / GB / TR /
WHITEING, Percy / P III / USA /
WHITELY, H. / P I / GB / TR /
WHITELY, W. [WHITLEY] / P II / USA / TR /
WHITEY, C. J. / P III / GB / TR /
WHITFIELD, George / P I - II / GB / TR /
WHITING, Olive / P II / USA / MIS /
WHITINTON, R. / P II / GB / FE-ED /
WHITLA, W. / P I / GB / MIL /
WHITLEY, W. / see WHITELY
WHITMAN, Charles Otis / P II / USA / FE-ED / 1842 - 1910
WHITMAN, M. Antonelle / P II - III / USA / FE-ED + MIS / 1856 - 1917

WHITMAN, Walt

WHITMORE, J. W. / P II / UKN / TR /
WHITNEY, C. J. / P III / GB / TR /
WHITNEY, Clara / P II - III / USA / RES / 1861 - 1936
WHITNEY, Frederick E. / P II / USA / FE-ED /
WHITNEY, J. Percy / P III / UKN / MIS /
WHITNEY, William / P II / USA / FE-ED /
WHITNEY, Willis Norton / P II - III / USA / FE-ED + MED / 1855 - 1918
WHITTALL, Edward L. / P II - III / GB / TR / 1832 - 1900
WHITTALL, P. G. / P II / GB / FE-R /
WHITTINGTON, Robert / P II - III / CAN / MIS /
WHITTON, M. L. / P II / UKN / TR /
WHITWORTH, Kernam D. / P III / USA / FE-ED + MIS /

WHYMARK-Family
WHYMARK, George
WHYMARK, George Harvey
WHYMARK, William George

WHYTE, Alexander / P II / GB / FE-T-SH-L / Lighthouse
WHYTE, L. M. / P III / UKN / TR /
WHYTE, W. J. / P II / GB / FE-ED /
WICHURA, Max Ernst / P I / DE / SC / 1817 - 1966
WICKERS, J. / P I - II / GB / TR /
WICKS, Caroline / P I / USA / SER /
WICKS, H. / P II / DE / TR /
WIEBE, H. / P II / DE / TR /
WIEDEMANN, E. A. / P III / USA / TR /

WIEDFELDT, Otto Carl Ludwig

WIEGAND; Emil / P II / DE / FE-R /
WIENTRAUB, Jacob Hersche / see WEINTRAUB
WIER, John / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WIERSUM, Menno Simon / P III / NL / TR /
WIESNER, Herm. [WEISNER] / P II / USA / TR /
WIGGINS, Charles / P I - II / UKN / TR /
WIGLE, L. A. / P III / CAN / MIS /
WIGMORE, John H. / P III / USA / FE-ED /
WIGNAL, M. [WIGNALL] / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
WIGNALL, John H. W. [J. W.] / P II / GB / FE-T-SH / 1835 - 1885
WIGNALL, Matthew / P II / GB / FE-R /
WIGZELL, A. / P II / GB / FE-MIL /
WIK, A. / P III / UKN / MIS /
WILBER, David Forrest / P III / USA / DIP / 1859 - 1928
WILCKENS, Alfr. / P III / DE / TR /
WILCKENS, C. [WILKENS] / P III / DE / TR /
WILCKENS, Gustav [WILKENS] / P I / DE / TR / 1832 - 1869
WILCOX, E. F. / P III / USA / MIS /
WILCOX, G. M. / P III / USA / MIS /
WILCOX, William / P II / USA / TR /
WILDEBOER, J. D. / P I / NL / TR /
WILDENBRUCH, Erwin Heinrich von / P II / DE / FE-MIL /

WILEMAN, Alfred Ernest

WILHELM, - / P III / DE / ENG /
WILKE, - / P I / DE / TR /
WILKE, Harry / P III / GB / SER /
WILKENS / see WILCKENS
WILKES, Paget / P III / GB / MIS /
WILKIE, Frederick / P I / UKN / TR /
WILKIE, John D. / P I - II / GB / TR / 1840 - 1873

WILKIN, Alfred John / P I - III / AU / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Postkarte vom 27.02.1896 von A. J. Wilkin während seines zweiten Aufenthaltes.

- Postcard posted on February 27, 1896 by A. J. Wilkin during his second stay in Japan.



- Er wurde am 07.12.1845 in Walkerville, South Australia, geboren. Sein jugendlicher Unternehmergeist führte ihn zusammen mit Richard Durant Robison 1864 nach Japan, wo sie sich in Yokohama niederließen.
Zusammen gründeten sie die die Handels- und Versicherungsfirma Wilkin & Robison, Yokohama # 3. Diese Firma entwickelte sich sehr positiv und im Jahr 1868 gründeten sie eine Niederlassung in Kobe, deren Leitung R. D. Robison übernahm.
Bis zum Jahr 1885, als A. J. Wilkin Japan verlassen hat, hatte er eine Reihe von zusätzlichen Aufgaben, wie beispielsweise Vorsitzender der Allgemeinen Handelskammer von Yokohama, Schatzmeister der Christ Kirche von Yokohama und Superintendent der Union Kirche.
Es ist nicht bekannt, warum er Japan verlassen hat. Die Firma Wilkin & Robison wurde von R. D. Robison geleitet, allerdings nur bis zum Jahr 1890. Im Jahr 1890 wurde die Firma in Robison & Co. umgewandelt, der Standort blieb derselbe, und auch A. J. Wilkin war wieder zurück. Er arbeitete jetzt als Angestellter bei Jardine, Matheson & Co., Yokohama # 1, jedoch nur bis 1901, danach hat er Japan endgültig verlassen - seine Spuren verlieren sich.
- He was born on December 7, 1845 in Walkerville, South Australia. His youthful entrepreneur led him together with Richard Durant Robison to Japan in 1864, where they settled in Yokohama.
Together they established the trading and insurance company Wilkin & Robison, Yokohama # 3. This company developed very positively and in 1868 they founded a branch in Kobe, and the management was taken over by R. D. Robison.
Until 1885, when A. J. Wilkin left Japan, he had a number of additional tasks, such as Chairman of the General Chamber of Commerce of Yokohama, treasurer of the Christ Church of Yokohama and superintendent of the Union Church.
It is not known why he left Japan. The company Wilkin & Robison was then managed by R. D. Robison, but only until 1890. In 1890 the company was transformed into Robison & Co., the location remained the same, and also A. J. Wilkin was back again. He now worked as an employee at Jardine, Matheson & Co., Yokohama # 1, but only until 1901, after which he left Japan for good - his traces are lost.


WILKINS, J. H. / P II / GB / TR /
- Als er 1871 nach Japan kam, wurde er als Sachbearbeiter beim Rechtsberater F. V. Dickens, Yokohama # 57, angestellt. Ab 1872 führte F. V. Dickens die Kanzlei alleine und J. H. Wilkins wechselte zu W. Black & Co., Kaufmann, Yokohama # 60-61. Als W. Black mit Edward Batavus Black, Batavus & Co. im Jahr 1874 gründeten, wurde J, H, Wilkins nicht übernommen. Daraufhin hat er Japan 1874 verlassen.
- When he came to Japan in 1871, he was employed as a clerk by F.V. Dickens, Barrister-at-Law, Yokohama # 57. As of 1872, F. V. Dickens operated the office alone and J. H. Wilkins joined W. Black & Co., Merchant, Yokohama # 60-61. When W. Black founded with Edward Batavus Black, Batavus & Co. in 1874, J, H, Wilkins was not taken over. He then left Japan in 1874.

WILKINSON, - - / P II / GB / FE-T-RW (4 Mon.) /
- Er war nur vom Februar bis Juni 1872 im Auftrag der japanischen Regierung, Industrieministerium, Eisenbahnverwaltung, als Sekretär in Japan. Der Grund für nur so einen kurzen Einsatz konnte nicht ermittelt werden.
- He stayed in Japan only from February to June 1872 by order of the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, Department of Railways, and he worked as secretary. The reason for only such a short stay could not be ascertained.

WILKINSON, Alfred Tennyson

WILKINSON, Elizabeth / P III / USA / MIS /
- Sie war nur 1891 als Missionar der American Board Mission in Japan und war in Tottori im Einsatz. Danach ist sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- She stayed only in 1891 in Japan as Missionary of the American Board Mission and took office in Tottori. Afterwards she is not recorded any more in Japan.

WILKINSON, F. E. [F. G. ] / P III / USA / TR /
- Als er 1893 nach Japan kam, wurde er bei McGlew & Co., Kaufmann in Kobe # 93, angestellt. 1897 wechselte er zu Cornes & Co., Versicherungs-, Handels- und Schiffs-Agentur, und arbeitete in der Kobe-Niederlassung. 1901 und 1902 arbeitete er in der Niederlassung in Yokohama # 50, danach war er wieder in Kobe tätig.
- When he arrived in Japan he was employed with McGlew & Co., Merchants, Kobe # 93. In 1897 he joined Cornes & Co., Insurance, Trade and Shipping Agents, and he worked in their Kobe branch. In 1901 and 1902 he worked in their branch in Yokohama # 50 and afterwards he was again active in Kobe.

WILKINSON, Hiram Shaw

WILKINSON, J. [F.] / P I - II / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1869 nach Japan und wurde bei J. Thompson & Co., Medical Hall (Drogerie), Einzel- und Großhändler für Drogerieerzeugnisse, in Yokohama # 60 angestellt. Als 1871 North & Co., Yokohama Dispensary (Apotheke), gegründet wurde, wurde er übernommen. 1872 wird er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- In 1869 he came to Japan and got employed with J. Thompson & Co., Medical Hall, Wholesale and Retail Druggist, Yokohama # 60. When in 1871 North & Co., Yokohama Dispensary, was established, he was taken over. In 1872, however, he is not recorded any more in Japan.

WILKINSON, Jas. / P III / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1897 nach Japan, um in der Firma von John Clifford Wilkinson in Kobe, Native Bund # 3, zu arbeiten. J. C. Wilkinson war Vertreter für verschiedene Getränke, u. a. auch für "Auld Reekie” Whisky. Sein Hauptgeschäft war jedoch die Herstellung und der Vertrieb von "Niwo” und “Tansan” Mineral-Wasser, er war alleiniger Eigentümer dieser Handelsmarken. 1899 ist Jas. Wilkinson nicht mehr in Japan gelistet
Es wird vermutet, dass er ein Verwandter von John Clifford Wilkinson ist.
- He came to Japan in 1897 to work in the company of John Clifford Wilkinson in Kobe, Native Bund # 3. J. C. Wilkinson was Agent for various beverages, among others also for “Auld Reekie” Whisky. His main business, however, comprised the production and distribution of his “Niwo” and “Tansan” Mineral Waters as sole proprietor of these trademarks. In 1899 Jas. Wilkinson is not recorded any more in Japan.
It is supposed, he was a relative of John Clifford Wilkinson.


WILKINSON, John Clifford

WILKINSON, M. King / P III / GB / MIS /
- Sie wurde 1899 als Missionar der Church Missionary Society nach Japan entsandt. Sie wurde in Matsue eingesetzt und war 1908 immer noch im Einsatz.
- She was sent to Japan in 1899 as missionary of the Church Missionary Society. She went to Matsue and worked there, in 1908 she was still in office.

WILKINSON, L. [T.] / P III / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1898 nach Japan und wurde bei H. Ahrens & Co. Nachf., Handels- und Versicherungs-Agentur, in Yokohama # 29 angestellt. 1899 wurde er in die Filiale nach Kobe versetzt. 1901 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He came to Japan in 1898 and was employed with H. Ahrens & Co. Nachf., Trade and Insurance Agency, in their branch at Yokohama # 29. In 1899 he was shifted to their Kobe branch; in 1901 he is not recorded any more in Japan.

WILKINSON, Richard / P II / GB / FE-T-RW (24 Mon.) /
- Er wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Sektion Eisenbahnwesen, angestellt. Sein Vertrag über drei Jahre begann am 18.11.1874, obwohl er erst im Januar 1875 in Yokohama eintraf, zusammen mit Thomas Wilkinson. Er wurde als Lokomotivführer und zusätzlich für Wartungsarbeiten eingestellt. Im Oktober 1876 musste er wegen gesundheitlichen Problemen seinen Vertrag beenden. Er verließ Japan noch 1876.
- He was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, Department of Railways. His contract over a period of three years started on November 18, 1874 although he only arrived in the port of Yokohama in January 1875, together with Thomas Wilkinson. He was engaged as Engine Driver and additionally as maintenance fitter. In October 1876, however, he had to resign from his contract due to health problems. Still in 1876 he left Japan.

WILKINSON, Thomas / P II / GB / FE-T-RW (48 Mon.) /
- Er unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Sektion Eisenbahnwesen, der über 3 Jahre lief und am 18.11.1874 begann. Er traf zusammen mit Richard Wilkinson in Yokohama ein und sie hatte einen ähnlichen Vertrag mit ähnlichen Verantwortlichkeiten, d. h. Lokomotivführer und Monteur. Thomas war im Bahnhof Shinbashi stationiert, sein Vertrag endete am 28.10.1878 und er verließ Japan.
- He signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, Department of Railways, with a period of 3 years, starting on November 18, 1874. He arrived in Yokohama together with Richard Wilkinson and they had similar contracts with similar responsibilities, i. e. Engine Driver and Fitter. Thomas had been stationed at the Shinbashi Station. His contract expired on October 28, 1878 and he left Japan.

WILKINSON, T. L. / P III / GB / TR /
- Er ist nur 1904 bei J. Clifford Wilkinson, alleiniger Eigentümer der Tansan Natur-Mineral-Wasser, in Kobe gelistet. Er ist ganz sicher ein Verwandter von ihm.
- He is only in 1904 recorded with J. Clifford Wilkinson, Sole Proprietor of Tansan Natural Mineral Waters, in Kobe. Most surely he is a relative of him.

WILKINSON, W. [Wm.] / P II / GB / SER /
- Er war ab 1878 in Japan, trotzdem wird seine erste Arbeitsstelle erst 1883 genannt, er arbeitete bei R. H. Abbott, Yokohama Sail and Rigging Co. (Segel und Takelage), Yokohama # 43. 1885 war er als Wachmann im Windsor House, Yokohama # 18 + 19, tätig. Von 1886 bis 1890 ist er als Resident von Yokohama # 120 erfasst; wo und ob er eine Arbeit hatte, konnte nicht ermittelt werden.
- He stayed in Japan as of 1878, all the same his first place of work is recorded in 1883 at R. H. Abbott, Yokohama Sail and Rigging Co., Yokohama # 43. In 1885 he was employed as watchman of the Windsor House, Yokohama # 18 + 19. From 1886 to 1890 he is recorded as resident of Yokohama # 120; whether and where he worked couldn’t be ascertained.

WILKS, Paget / P III / GB / MIS /
WILL, John Baxter / P I - III / GB / FE-T-SH + DIP / 1840 - 1920
WILLAN, John / P II / USA / FE-R /
WILLAN, L. P. / P II / GB / FE-MIL-ED /
WILLAN, R. N. / P II / UKN / FE-MIL /
WILLARD, Norman / P II / USA / FE-MIL /
WILLBORN, T. / P I / DE / TR /
WILLCOX, Temple [WILCOX] / P II / UKN / TR /
WILLEKE, A. / P III / DE / TR /
WILLERS, F. / P III / GB / TR /
WILLET, M. / P II / UKN / FE-T-SH /
WILLETT, M. / P II / UKN / TR /
WILLETT, M. H. / P III / GB / MIS /
WILLGOSS, Henry [WILGOSS] / P I / GB / TR /
WILLIAMS, - / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
WILLIAMS, Anna Belle / P III / USA / MIS /
WILLIAMS, C. / P II / UKN / FE-R /
WILLIAMS, C. J. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, Channing Moore / P I - III / USA / MIS / 1829 - 1910
WILLIAMS, Charles Martin / P II / GB / FE-T-SH / 1848 - 1882
WILLIAMS, Coombs / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
WILLIAMS, Emma / P II - III / GB / MIS /
WILLIAMS, Eva / P III / USA / MIS /
WILLIAMS, Frank / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
WILLIAMS, Fred / P III / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, G. / P II / GB / SER /
WILLIAMS, G. V. / P I / GB / SER /
WILLIAMS, Geo. / P II / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, George Burchell / P II / USA / FE-T /
WILLIAMS, H. E. / P II / USA / FE-T-SH + SH /
WILLIAMS, H. R. / P III / USA / TR /
WILLIAMS, Harold S. / P III / AU / TR + SC /
WILLIAMS, Harry William / P II / GB / JOU /
WILLIAMS, Henry / P II / GB / TR /
WILLIAMS, Irvine [J.] / P III / UKN / SER /
WILLIAMS, J. / P II / USA / MIL /
WILLIAMS, J. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, J. C. [T. C.] / P II - III / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, J. H. / P III / USA / TR /
WILLIAMS, James / P II - III / GB / MIS /
WILLIAMS, James L. / P II - III / GB / SER / 1838 - 1900
WILLIAMS, Joseph / P II / GB / SER /
WILLIAMS, L. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, L. M. / P III / UKN / TR /

WILLIAMS, Lulu / P IV / USA / MIS /
Für Vergrößerung klicken





- Postkarte vom 01.03.1908 aus Nara von den beiden Missionarinnen Lillian Pool und Lulu Williams in die USA. Sie nehmen Bezug auf einen Artikel, veröffentlicht im Purity Journal von Rev. J. T. Upchurch, Arlington, Texas.

- Postcard from the two missionaries Lillian Pool and Lulu Williams posted on March 1, 1908 at Nara sent to the USA. They refer to an article published in the Purity Journal of Rev. T. J. Upchurch, Arlington, Texas.




- Sie war zusammen mit Lillian Pool als unabhängige Missionare auf eigene Kosten ab 1906 in Japan und wirkten in Nara.


- She stayed together with Lillian Pool as independent missionaries at their own expense from 1906 on in Japan and worked in Nara.








WILLIAMS, M. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILLIAMS, M. M. / P III / GB / TR /
WILLIAMS, Mary Elizabeth / P III / USA / MIS /
WILLIAMS, S. N. / P II / UKN / FE-ED /

WILLIAMS, Samuel Wells

WILLIAMS, T. / P I / GB / SER /
WILLIAMS, W. J. / P III / GB / TR /
WILLIAMS, Walter / P II / GB / MIS /
WILLIAMS, William / P III / GB / MED /
WILLIAMSEN, H. / P II / GB / TR /
WILLIAMSON, A. S. / P III / GB / TR /
WILLIAMSON, Adolph A. / P III / USA / DIP /
WILLIAMSON, Charles / P I / GB / TR /
WILLIAMSON, Emma / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WILLIAMSON, H. D. / P III / USA / ENG /
WILLINGHAM, C. B. [C. T.] / P III / USA / MIS /
WILLIS, William / P I - III / GB / FE-MED + DIP / 1837 - 1894
WILLISEN, - von / P III / DE / MIL /
WILLMANN, William [WILMANN] / P I - II / DE / SER /

WILLOUGHBY, James / siehe - see / JAMES, Willoughby

WILLOUGHBY, Joseph

WILLOUGHBY, William Henry / P II / GB / TR /
- 1880 kam er nach Japan und begann seine Tätigkeit bei Mourilyan, Heimann & Co., Versicherungsagentur, in deren Niederlassung in Kobe. Er blieb hier bis 1883, als er in den Firmensitz der Gesellschaft nach Yokohama # 35 wechselte. 1886 wird er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He arrived in Japan in 1880 and started to work with Mourilyan, Heimann & Co., Insurance Agency, in their Kobe Branch. He stayed until 1883 in Kobe, when he transferred to the main seat of this company in Yokohama # 35. In 1886 he is not listed any more in Japan.

WILLS, George / P II / GB / FE-T /
WILLS, W. J. / P II / GB / TR /
WILLS, W. S. / P III / GB / TR /
WILLSON, - / P II / UKN / TR /
WILLSON, D. N. Wynne [D. S. Wynne] / P III / GB / MIS /
WILLSTEAD, - / P II / USA / FE-T-SH /
WILM, Arthur C. [VILM, Artur Karlovich] ВИЛЬМ Артур Карлович / P III / RUS / DIP / 1867 - 1934
WILMER, W. / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, - / P II / GB / FE-T /
WILSON, - / P II / GB / SER / Mrs.
WILSON, A. / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WILSON, A. W. / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, Alexander / P II / GB / FE-ED /
WILSON, Alfred A. / P II / USA / FE-R /
WILSON, Alpheus W. / P II / USA / MIS /
WILSON, Charles George / P II - III / GB / FE-R + TR /
WILSON, Charles Henry / P II - III / UKN / TR /
WILSON, D. N. Wynne / see WILLSON, D. N. Wynne
WILSON, Ella Mae / P III / USA / MIS /
WILSON, F. G. / P II / UKN / TR /
WILSON, Fanny G. [F. G.] / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WILSON, G. / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, George J. / P III / GB / L /
WILSON, Horace / P II / USA / FE-ED /
WILSON, Horace / P II / USA / FE-ED / Mrs.
WILSON, Huntington / P III / USA / DIP /
WILSON, J. / P I / UKN / TR /
WILSON, J. / P II - III / GB / FE-T-SH /
WILSON, J. / P II / GB / SER /
WILSON, J. / P II / SW / FE-T-SH + SH /
WILSON, J. A. / P I - III / GB / TR /
WILSON, J. D. John [J.] / P II / UKN / TR /
WILSON, J. G. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILSON, J. H. / P II / GB / TR /
WILSON, J. J. / P II / GB / TR /
WILSON, James / P II / SW / TR /
WILSON, James Henry / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, Julia A. / P II / USA / FE-ED + MIS /
WILSON, K. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILSON, L. / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, Lloyd A. / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, Mary E. / P III / USA / MIS /
WILSON, N. / P III / GB / TR /
WILSON, N. J. / P III / USA / MIS /
WILSON, N. W. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILSON, R. / P II / GB / FE-R /
WILSON, T. / P III / GB / MIS /
WILSON, Thomas Henderson / P III / AU / TR /
WILSON, W. A. / P III / USA / MIS /
WILSON, William / P I - II / UKN / TR /
WILSON, William Kirkland / P II - III / GB / TR /
WILSON, Wm. A. / P III / UKN / TR /
WILTON, M. L. / P II / UKN / TR /
WIMBISH, Lizzie E. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WIMMER, Hugo / P II / UKN / TR /
WINBOLT, J. S. [WINBOLD] / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WINCHESTER, Charles Alexander / P I / GB / DIP /

WINCKLER, Jakob

WINDETT, A. H. J. / P IV / GB / TR /
- Er kam 1904 nach Japan und wurde von Strome & Co., Yokohama # 12, angestellt. Bereits im Jahr 1906 wechselte er zu Gebr. Mendelson, Yokohama # 273.
- He came to Japan in 1904 and was employed by Strome & Co., Yokohama # 12. Already in 1906 he joined Mendelson Bros., Yokohama # 273.

WINDSOR, E. [WINSER, E.] / P II / GB / SER /
- Miss E. Windsor kam 1871 nach Japan und wurde als Bardame von Curtis, Bonnat & Co., Eigentümer des International Hotel & Sweetmeal Castle, angestellt. Sie arbeitete als Bardame bis Oktober 1874. Am 01.10.1874 wurde das Hotel in Occidental Hotel umbenannt und E. Windsor wurde nicht übernommen. Sie hat Japan wieder verlassen.
- Miss E. Windsor came to Japan in 1871 and was employed as a barmaid by Curtis, Bonnat & Co., proprietor of the International Hotel & Sweetmeal Castle. She worked as a barmaid until October 1874. On October 1, 1874 the hotel was renamed to Occidental Hotel and E. Windsor was not taken over. She left Japan again.

WINFIELD, Frank [WINGFIELD] / P III / USA / UKN /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Obwohl Frank Winfried mit seiner Frau bereits ab 1894 in Yokohama wohnten, ist nichts über den Grund Ihres Aufenthaltes bekannt. Sie wohnten immer im Bluff von Yokohama - 1894 in # 169-B, 1895 in # 46-B und ab 1896 in # 142-C. Im Jahr 1908 wohnten sie noch immer in Yokohama # 142-C Bluff.
Da sich in Yokohama # 142-A Bluff viele Jahre die Musikschule und die Tanzakademie befand, waren sie vielleicht Lehrer an dieser Einrichtung - das ist allerdings nur eine Vermutung und nicht bewiesen.

- Although Frank Winfield lived with his wife in Yokohama from 1894 on, nothing is known about the reason for their stay. They always lived in the Bluff of Yokohama - in 1894 in # 169-B, in 1895 in # 46-B and as of 1896 in # 142-C. In 1908 they still lived in Yokohama # 142-C Bluff.
At Yokohama # 142-A Bluff, for many years, the School of Music and the Academy of Dancing were located and for this reason they could have been teachers at this institution - but this is only a guess and not proven.




WINMILL, W. / P III / GB / TR /
- Im Jahr 1893 wurde die J. J. de Souza & Co., Vertreter der Starrs Flour Mills (Mehlwerke), in Yokohama # 39 gegründet und W. Winmill war einer der ersten Mitarbeiter. Die Firma war sehr kurzlebig, bereits 1894 existierte sie nicht mehr. W. Winmill ist noch ein Jahr in Yokohama # 224 Bluff gelistet, danach hat er Japan verlassen.
- In 1893, J. J. de Souza & Co., Agents for the Starrs Flour Mills, was founded in Yokohama # 39 and W. Winmill was one of the first employees. The company was very short-lived; already in 1894 it no longer existed. W. Winmill still lived a year in Yokohama # 224 Bluff, then he left Japan.

WINN, Henry Homes [H. H.] / P II / USA / MED /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Nach 1865 kamen amerikanische Zahnärzte zunehmend nach Japan aufgrund einer Reihe von Ereignissen, von denen die wichtigsten wohl waren, dass sich die politische Situation in Japan stabilisiert, der Bürgerkrieges in den USA (1861-1865) die wirtschaftliche Lage verschlechtert und das alles den "Unternehmergeist" beflügelt hatte, auch nach Möglichkeiten in einem neuen Land zu suchen. Die Zahl der Ausländer, die in der Auslands-Siedlung von Yokohama lebten, war bis 1867 auf 600 gestiegen und erhöhte sich stetig.
So kam der Zahnchirurg H. H. Winn im Jahr 1870 nach Japan und praktizierte in einer Gemeinschaftspraxis mit Dr. W. C. Eastlack, Yokohama # 16, wie ein Inserat in der Japan Times vom 28.05.1870 belegt: "Dr. Winn kann professionell in der ehemaligen Praxis von Dr Eastlack, Yokohama # 16, konsultiert werden."
Trotz dieser Ankündigung ist er in den Japan Directories nicht aufgeführt
Den ersten Eintrag in den Japan Directories für H. H. Winn finden wir unter Winn & Kimball [KIMBALL, R. H. ] in einer Gemeinschaftsprxis ab 1888 in Yokohama # 66. H. H. Winn verließ die Praxis 1890 wieder. Danach ist er nicht mehr in den Japan Directories gelistet.
- After 1865, American dentists increasingly arrived in Japan for a number of reasons, the main ones being, the stabilization of the Japanese political situation, the outbreak of the Civil War in the USA (1861-1865), and the “frontier spirit”, in search of opportunities in a new land. The number of foreigners living in the Yokohama Foreign Settlement had risen to 600 by 1867 and was steadily rising.
Thus, the dental surgeon H. H. Winn came to Japan in 1870 and practiced in a joint practice with Dr. W. C. Eastlack, Yokohama # 16, as an advertisement in the Japan Times of May 28, 1870 shows: "Dr. Winn can be consulted professionally at Dr. Eastlack’s former office # 16, Yokohama.”
Despite this announcement, he is not listed in the Japan Directories. The first entry in the Japan Directories for H. H. Winn can be found under Winn & Kimball [KIMBALL, R. H. ] in a joint practice as of 1888 in Yokohama # 66. H. H. Winn left the practice in 1890 again. Afterwards, he is no longer listed in the Japan Directories.


WINN, John Ashton / P I / GB / JOU / 1844 - 1870
WINN, John E. / P I - II / USA / TR /
WINN, M. L. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
WINN, S. D. / P II / USA / FE-R /
WINN, Thomas C. / P II - III / USA / FE-ED + MIS /

WINSER, E. / siehe - see / WINDSOR, E.

WINSLOW, M. M. / P III / USA / MIS /
WINSTANLEY, Arthur G. / P I - III / GB / TR /
WINSTANLEY, E. / P III / GB / SER / Miss
WINSTANLEY, James / P I - III / GB / TR /
WINSTANLEY, M. / P III / GB / TR / Miss
WINTEMUTE, S. A. [WINTERMUTE] / P II - III / CAN / MIS /

WINTER, Franz M. / P II / DE / TR /
- Er war nur 1886 für Raspe & Co. in Japan und arbeitete in der Niederlassung in Yokohama # 199.
- He worked only in 1886 in Japan for Raspe & Co. at their branch in Yokohama # 199.

WINTERLING, H. [C.] / P II / DE / TR /
- Er kam im Jahr 1871 im Auftrag von Rothmund & Co., Schneider und Ausstatter, nach Japan und arbeitete in Yokohama # 52. Er kam zu einem ökonomisch ungünstigen Zeitpunkt nach Japan, weil die Firma bereits 1872 liquidiert wurde. Er hat Japan 1872 verlassen.
- In 1871, he came to Japan on behalf of Rothmund & Co., Tailors & Outfitters, and worked in Yokohama # 52. He came to Japan at an economically unfavorable time because the company had already been liquidated in 1872. He left Japan in 1872.

WINTERNITZ, -- / P IV / AT / QFE-MIL /
- Hauptmann. Er war von der japanischen Regierung, Kriegsministerium (Rikugunshō) vom Dezember 1908 bis Dezember 1910 als Berater im 16. Pionier-Regiment angestellt.
- Captain. He was employed by the Japanese government, War Department, (Rikugunshō) from December 1908 to December 1910 as an advisor in the 16th Engineer Regiment.

WINTHER, Jens Michael Thogersen

WINTON, J. J. / P II / GB / TR /
- Er war nur 1875 als amtierender Vertreter der Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank in der Kobe Niederlassung und wurde 1876 von A. M. Townsend abgelöst.
- He was only in 1875 Acting Agent of the Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank in the Kobe branch and was replaced by A. M. Townsend in 1876.

WINZEL, Leonard [WINZEN] / P III / DE / SER /
- Er wird erstmals in den Japan Directories im Jahr 1889 in Nagasaki als Eigentümer des Commercial Inn gelistet. Schon im Jahr 1890 wird ein neuer Eigentümer, A. Goldmann, aufgeführt. Obwohl L. Winzel 1890 und 1891 nicht in Japan weilte, ist er 1892 wieder in Nagasaki als Eigentümer der Victoria Tavern.
Im Jahr 1893 ist die Taverne wieder geschlossen und er ist Eigentümer des Cook´s Hotel. Nachdem das Hotel 1894 in Club Hotel umbenannt wurde, existiert das Club Hotel bis 1899. Danach existierte das Hotel nicht mehr und L. Winzel ist mit seiner Frau bis 1906 in Nagasaki # 14 Ōura, Nagasaki House, gelistet und ab 1906 in Nagasaki # 33 Ōura.
- In 1889 he is first listed in the Japan Directories of Nagasaki as proprietor of the Commercial Inn. Already in 1890, this inn had a new proprietor, A. Goldmann. Although L. Winzel did not stay in Japan in 1890 and 1891, he was back again in Nagasaki in 1892 as the proprietor of the Victoria Tavern.
In 1893 the tavern was closed again and he became proprietor of the Cook's Hotel. After the hotel was renamed Club Hotel in 1894, the Club Hotel existed until 1899. Thereafter, the hotel did not exist anymore and L. Winzel was listed with his wife until 1906 in Nagasaki # 14 Ōura, Nagasaki House, and as of 1906 in Nagasaki # 33 Ōura.


WIRGMAN, C. A. / P II - III / GB / TR /
WIRGMAN, Charles / P I - III / GB / ART / 1832 - 1891
WIRICK, Loduska J. / see WYRICK, L.
WISHARD, Luther Delorain / P III / USA / MIS / 1854 - 1925
WISMER, E. [A.] / P II - III / DE / TR /

WIT, Jan Karel de [WITT] / P I / NL / DIP /
- Er wurde am 20. Januar 1819 in Utrecht geboren. Seine Laufbahn begann in der niederländisch-indischen Verwaltung in Batavia und aufgrund der engen Verbindung von Niederländisch-Indien zum Handelshafen Nagasaki/ Deshima in Japan wurde er am 7. November 1859 zum Generalkonsul in Japan ernannt. Im Februar 1860 nahm er seinen Posten als erster Konsul auf.
Im Juni 1863 wurde A. T. Bauduin sein Nachfolger und de Wit kehrte nach Batavia zurück.
Jan Karel de Wit war in erster Ehe mit Wilhelmina Maria Chevalier verheiratet und sie hatte zwei Kinder, Cornelis (* 1845) und Johanna Cornelia (* 1848). In zweiter Ehe war er mit Anna Maria Johanna de la Couture (1837-1895) verheiratet.
Er starb am 29. April 1884 und wurde in Oude Begraafplaats, Oosterbeek, NL begraben
- He was born on January 20, 1819 in Utrecht. He started his career in the Dutch-Indian administration in Batavia and due to the close connection of Dutch-India to the trading port of Nagasaki/ Deshima in Japan he was appointed Consul General in Japan on November 7, 1859. He took up his post in February 1860 as the first consul.
In June 1863 he was succeeded by A. T. Bauduin and de Wit returned to Batavia.
Jan Karel de Wit was married with Wilhelmina Maria Chevalier in first marriage and they had two children, Cornelis (* 1845) and Johanna Cornelia (*1848) and in second marriage he married Anna Maria Johanna de la Couture (1837-1895).
He died on April 29, 1884 and was buried in Oude Begraafplaats, Oosterbeek, NL.


WITBECK, Emma Catherine [WHITBECK] [VAIL] / P II - III / USA / MIS / 1848 - 1945
- Sie erwarb den B.A. am Willard Woman's College, Troy, NY. Sie wurde als Missionar der American Reformed Church nach Japan entsandt und nahm ihre Arbeit im November 1874 auf. Im Jahre 1879 wurde sie Leiter der Ferris Girls School, Yokohama und sie hatte diese Position bis zu ihrer Heirat im Jahre 1885 inne.
Sie heiratete Milton Smith Vail am 1. Januar 1885. Nach ihrer Heirat verließ sie die American Reformed Church und wurde am 12. Oktober 1885 Mitglied der Methodist Episcopal Church. Von da an lebte und arbeitete sie mit ihrem Mann Milton S. Vail.
- She acquired a B.A. from the Willard Woman’s College, Troy, NY. She was delegated as a missionary of the Reformed Church of America to Japan and took up her work in November 1874. In 1879 she became principal of Ferris Girls School, Yokohama and she held this position until her marriage in 1885.
She married Milton Smith Vail on January 1, 1885. After her marriage she left the American Reformed Mission and on October 12, 1885 became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
From then on she lived and worked with Milton S. Vail.


WITHERBEE, H. M. / P III / USA / MIS /
- Sie wurde als Missionar der American Baptist Missionary Union nach Japan delegiert und sie nahm ihre Arbeit 1895 in Yokohama # 34 Bluff auf. Von 1902 bis 1906 arbeitete sie in Himeiji und ab 1907 ist sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- She was delegated to Japan as a missionary to the American Baptist Missionary Union, and began her work in Yokohama # 34 Bluff in 1895. From 1902 to 1906 she worked in Himeiji and as of 1907 she is no longer listed in Japan.

WITHERS, G. / P II / UKN / QFE-T-SH /
- Er war von 1877 bis 1883 in Japan und war bei der Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. als Kapitän angestellt. In dieser Zeit fuhr er auf den Schiffen Yenoshima-maru, Tamaura-maru und Kworio-maru.
- He stayed in Japan from 1877 to 1883 and was employed as a captain by the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. During this time he worked on the ships Yenoshima-maru, Tamaura-maru and Kworio-maru.

WITKOWSKI, Julius

WITSCHI, Frederick Rudolf [WICHIE] [F. K.] / P III / GB / TR /
- Als F. R. Witschi 1890 nach Japan kam, hatte Conrad Wagen gerade die Firma Wagen Freres verlassen und der Firmensitz wurde nach Yokohama # 163 verlegt. Witschi wurde von Johann Friedrich Wagen angestellt. Bereits im folgenden Jahr wechselte er zu Witkowski & Co., Yokohama # 93.
Etwa zu dieser Zeit lernte er Marie Anne Boyle kennen, die er am 11.02. 1893 in der Christ Church von Yokohama heiratete.
Er arbeitete für Witkowski & Co. bis 1899, als die Firma durch den Gesundheitszustand von J. Witkowski, der im Jahr 1902 starb, einige Schwierigkeiten hatte. Danach begann ein wechselhafteres Leben. Im Jahr 1899 arbeitete er für die American Trading Co., Yokohama # 28 und 1900 ist er Eigentümer der Tokyo Bakery and Aerated Water Works (Bäckerei und Mineralwasserfabrik), Nachfolger von C. Hess, Tokyo # 34 Tsukiji. Nach nur einem Jahr finden wir ihn als Angestellten bei den Gebr. Pollak in Yokohama # 26, wo er von 1901 bis 1905 arbeitete.
Im Jahr 1906 sind Frederick Rudolf Witschi und seine Frau nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- When F. Witschi came to Japan in 1890, Conrad Wagen had just left the company Wagen Freres and the company was relocated to Yokohama # 163. Witschi had been employed by Johann Friedrich Wagen. Already the following year he joined Witkowski & Co., Yokohama # 93.
At about this time he met Marie Anne Boyle and they got married on February 11, 1893 at the Christ Church of Yokohama.
He worked for Witkowski & Co. until 1899, when the company had got some difficulties due to the health of J. Witkowski, who died in 1902. Afterwards a more changeful life began. In 1899, he worked for the American Trading Co., Yokohama # 28, and in 1900 he became the owner of the Tokyo Bakery and Aerated Water Works , successor of C. Hess, Tokyo # 34 Tsukiji. After only a year, we find him as an employee at Pollak Bros. in Yokohama # 26, where he worked from 1901 to 1905.
In 1906 Frederick Rudolf Witschi and his wife are no longer listed in Japan.


WITT, Anna / P IV / DE / ED /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Die Familie A. Hasche hatte 5 Kinder und ab etwa Anfang 1906 haben sie eine Hauslehrerin, Anna Witt aus Deutschland, angestellt, die auch im Haus A. Hasche, Kobe # 37, Yamamoto-dori, Nichome, lebte.
Da mehrere Familien Kinder im schulpflichtigen Alter hatten, einigte man sich darauf, für diese Kinder einen gemeinsamen Unterricht im Hause Hasche abzuhalten.
Am Mittwoch, dem 15.9.1909, hatte Fräulein Witt im Wohnzimmer der Familie Hasche acht Kinder zur ersten Unterrichtsstunde um sich versammelt. Dieses ganz private Unternehmen einiger Eltern ging rasch in die offizielle Deutsche Schule über, denn schon am darauffolgenden Montag, dem 20.9.1909, eröffnete ein Schulvorstand die "Deutsche Schule Kobe", und Herr Otto Steiner hielt als Schulleiter vor den anwesenden 17 Kindern und deren Eltern eine Ansprache. Dem ersten Vorstand der Schule gehörten Theodor Bunge, Alfred Hasche, Victor Hermann, Robert Koops und Julius Westphalen an.
Dabei gelangte er zu der Feststellung, dass die Altersstreuung der Schüler groß und ihre Vorbildung folglich unterschiedlich war und dass Unterrichtsmaterialien so gut wie gar nicht existierten. Deshalb wurde der offizielle Unterrichtsbeginn auf Januar 1910 verschoben.
Der Schulleiter Otto Steiner und Fräulein Witt mussten den Unterricht in allen Klassen allein bestreiten.
Bald nach ihrer Unterrichtsaufnahme heiratete Anna Witt im Jahre 1910 den deutschen Kaufmann A. Schmidtborn in Kobe und sie gab den Schuldienst auf.
Fräulein Witt wurde durch Hedwig Flügge, eine Lehrerin aus Hamburg, ersetzt; nach drei Jahren heiratete sie Otto Steiner, den Schulleiter und schied als Lehrerin aus. An ihre Stelle trat wiederum eine Hamburger Lehrerin, Irmgard Lexzau.
- The A. Hasche family had 5 children, and from about the beginning of 1909 they employed a house teacher, Miss Witt from Germany.
As several families had children at school age, they agreed to hold joint lessons at he Hasche home for these children. On Wednesday, September 15, 1909, Miss Witt had gathered eight children in the Hasche's living room for the first lesson. This very private venture of some parents quickly passed over to the official German school, and already on the following Monday, September 20, 1909, a School Council opened the "German School of Kobe", Otto Steiner as a school leader held his speech in sight of 17 children and their parents. The first board members of the school included Theodor Bunge, Alfred Hasche, Victor Hermann, Robert Koops and Julius Westphalen .
In his speech he came to the conclusion that the pupil's age distribution was great, and their education was therefore difficult, and teaching materials were virtually non-existent. Therefore, the official start of school was postponed to January 1910. The headmaster, Otto Steiner and Fraulein Witt, had to do the lessons in all classes.
Shortly after her start of lessons, Anna Witt married the German merchant A. Schmidtborn in Kobe in 1910 and gave up the school service.
Miss Witt was succeeded by Hedwig Fluegge, a teacher from Hamburg; after three years she married Otto Steiner, the headmaster and left the school as a teacher. She was succeeded by another Hamburg teacher, Irmgard Lexzau.


WITT, Gisbert N. / P III / DE / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte aus Shanghai vom 03.03.1908, Transit Nagasaki 06.03. und Ankunft in Yokohama 08.03.1908. Inhalt der Karte: Briefmarkentausch.

- Postcard from Shanghai posted March 3, 1908, transit Nagasaki 06.03., arrival Yokohama 08.03.1908. Contents of card: Stamps exchange.


- Er war ab 1906 im Auftrag von H. Ahrens & Co. Nachf. in Japan und arbeitete in der Niederlassung in Yokohama # 29.
- He came to Japan by order of H. Ahrens & Co. Nachf. and as of 1906 he worked in their branch in Yokohama # 29.


WITT, H. / P III / DE / TR /
- Kapitän. Er kam 1906 im Auftrag von Illies & Co. nach Japan und arbeitete in der Kobe Niederlassung als Inspektor der Hamburg-Amerika-Linie.
- Captain. He came to Japan on behalf of Illies & Co. in 1906 and worked as an inspector of the Hamburg-Amerika line in the Kobe branch.

WITT, Heinrich C. N. [H. C. N.] / P II / DE / TR + SER / 1812 - 1889
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Er wurde am 10.09.1812 in Rostock, Deutschland, geboren. Er kam 1879 nach Japan und ließ sich in Yokohama nieder. Er arbeitete zuerst in der Yokohama Butchery, Yokohama # 52 und wechselte 1882 zu Langfeldt & Mayers, Yokohama # 73.
Das German Hotel in Yokohama # 179 wurde 1884 von A. Vollhardt als bisheriger Eigentümer geschlossen, nachdem es 5 Jahre in Betrieb war. H. C. N. Witt wurde im Jahr 1884 Eigentümer des Hotels. Er benannte das Hotel um in Concordia Hotel und er und seine Frau betrieben das Hotel gemeinsam. Da es zu diesem Hotel keine Aufzeichnungen gibt über Größe und der Existenz eines Restaurants wird vermutet, daß das Hotel insbesondere Langzeit-Gäste hatte.
Heinrich N. C. Witt starb am 21.04.1889 und er wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt. Seine Frau W. Witt betrieb das Hotel weiter als Eigentümerin bis 1894, als es endgültig geschlossen wurde. Im Jahr 1894 wurde aus dem Concordia Hotel das Central Hotel mit dem Eigentümer Madame Francois Doutreligne.
Frau W. Witt starb 1900 und wurde neben ihrem Mann beigesetzt.
- He was born on September 10, 1812 in Rostock, Germany. He came to Japan in 1879 and settled in Yokohama. He first worked in the Yokohama Butchery, Yokohama # 52, and joined Langfeldt & Mayers, Yokohama # 73, in 1882.
The German Hotel in Yokohama # 179 was closed in 1884 by A. Vollhardt as the previous owner after 5 years of operation. H. C. N. Witt was owner of the hotel in 1884. He called the hotel around in Concordia Hotel and he and his wife operated the hotel together. As there are no records about size and existence of a tavern, the hotel is expected to have chiefly long-term guests in particular.
Heinrich N. C. Witt died on April 21, 1889 and he was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama. His wife, W. Witt, continued to operate the hotel as proprietress until 1894, when it was finally closed.
In 1894, the Concordia Hotel became the Central Hotel with the new proprietress Madame Francois Doutreligne.
Mrs. W. Witt died in 1900 and was buried next to her husband.


WITT, Jenks C. de / siehe - see / JENCKS, Dewitt C.

WITT, Sophie [F. S.] / P II / RUS / SER /
- Der Standort Yokohama # 133 ist der Ort, an dem Peter C. Claussen das „Claussen Hotel“ und den "Union Saloon" eröffnete. Als Claussen Ende 1877 Yokohama vorübergehend verließ, wurde dieser Saloon an M. H. Jansson vermietet. 1879 wurde die Leitung des "Union Saloon" von Sophie Witt, geb. Beresovky, übernommen. Im Jahr 1880 wurde der Name des „Union Saloon“ in "Europe Hotel" geändert. Die Anzahl der Zimmer des zweistöckigen Holzgebäudes betrug etwa 10 Zimmer, man bezeichnete es besser als eine Beherbergungsstätte als ein Hotel.
Das "Europe Hotel", geleitet von Sophie Witt, wurde im März 1881 von einem Feuer heimgesucht, das vom Claussen Hotel ausging. Sophie Witt konnte entkommen, aber nach dem Brand gab sie die Leitung des Hotels auf und zog nach Yokohama # 168. W. Haskell wurde Nachfolger von S. Witt als Manager dieses Hotels.
1882 verließ Sophie Witt Japan.
- The location at Yokohama # 133 is the place where Peter C. Claussen opened the Claussen Hotel and the "Union Saloon". When Claussen temporarily left Yokohama at the end of 1877, this saloon was lent to M. H. Jansson. In 1879, the "Union Saloon" was managed by Sophie Witt nee Beresovky. In 1880, the name of the saloon was changed to "Europe Hotel". The number of rooms of the wooden two-story building was about 10 rooms, it was better to designate it as a lodging boarding house than a hotel.
The "Europe Hotel" operated by Sophie Witt was hit by a fire in March 1881 spreading from the Claussen Hotel. Sophie Witt could escape but after the fire, she gave up the management of the hotel and moved to Yokohama # 168. W. Haskell succeeded S. Witt as manager of this hotel. - In 1882 Sophie Witt left Japan.


WITTE, - - / P I / DE / TR /
- 1868 gründete er zusammen mit S. Neels die Firma Neels, Witte & Co., Import-Kaufmann und Kommissionär, Yokohama # 45. 1870 befindet sich die Firma in Yokohama # 186. Die Geschäfte bei Hinrich Ahrens entwickelten sich gut und er suchte 1869 einen Teilhaber. Herr Witte, der aus dem Braunschweiger Gebiet stammte, war an einer Partnerschaft interessiert, die allerdings fehlschlug. Bei der Einreise in Deutschland während einer Dienstreise Ende 1869 wurde er aus unbekannten Gründen verhaftet und kehrte nicht wieder nach Japan zurück.
- In 1868 he founded together with S. Neels the firm of Neels, Witte & Co., Import Merchant and Commission Agency, Yokohama # 45. In 1870 the company is located at Yokohama # 186. Hinrich Ahrens required a partner because his company expanded fast. Mr Witte who came from the Brunswick area was interested in a partnership but it failed. When he entered Germany during a business trip at the end of 1869 he was arrested for unknown reasons and did not return to Japan.

WITTE, Hermann / P III / DE / TR /
- Er wurde von der Firma China Export, Import & Banking Co. mit Hauptsitz in Hamburg, 1894 nach Japan delegiert, wo er in der Niederlassung Kobe seine Tätigkeit begann und sofort Prokura erhielt. Bereits 1895 wurde er von der Firma nach Shanghai versetzt, wo er bis 1900 arbeitete. Er kehrte 1901 wieder nach Japan zurück und leitete bis 1904 die Filiale in Yokohama. 1905 hat er Japan wieder verlassen.
- In 1894 he was delegated to Japan by the China Export, Import & Banking Co. with their Head Office in Hamburg. He started his activity in the branch office Kobe and from the very beginning he signed per procuration. Already in 1895 he was transferred to Shanghai working there until 1900 when he again returned to to Japan. From 1901 to 1904 he managed the Yokohama branch, in 1905 he left Japan again.

WITTE, P. / P III / DE / TR /
- 1904 wurde er bei H. Ahrens & Co. Nachf. in der Niederlassung Yokohama # 29 angestellt. Er arbeitete nicht lange in Japan. 1906 war er wieder in Deutschland, er hatte aber Ahrens & Co. Nachf. verlassen und war als Vetreter in Berlin für G. de Lalande, Architekt in Yokohama # 75, tätig.
- In 1904 he was employed with H. Ahrens & Co. Nachf. in the Yokohama branch # 29. He didn't work in Japan for a long time. In 1906 he was back in Germany, he had left Ahrens & Co. Nachf. and was contracted as agent in Berlin for G. de Lalande, architect, Yokohama # 75.

WOADROUGH, Frederick / P IV / GB / QFE-ED /
- Er war ab 1906 von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, als Lehrer für Mechanik an der Technischen Hochschule von Tokyo, Asakusa, angestellt.
- As of 1906 he was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, as an Instructor in Mechanics at the Higher Technical School, Tokyo, Asakusa.

WOELMONT, Henri de [Henry] / P IV / BE / DIP /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Postkarte aus Piossasco, Italien vom 29.01.1909 nach Tokoyo, Ankunft 17.02. und Transit Tsurugu 16.02.1909.

- Postcard from Piossasco, Italy, posted January 29, 1909 to Tokyo, arrival on February 16, transit Tsurugu on February 16, 1909.


- Der 1881 geborene Henri de Woelmont beschritt die diplomatische Laufbahn. Im Januar 1909 traf er in Japan ein, um die Vertretung des belgischen Gesandten Baron Albert d'Anethan zu übernehmen. Er trat seinen Posten im März 1909 an und amtierte bis Februar 1910. Da der Gesandte Albert d´Anethan gesundheitliche Probleme hatte und schließlich am 25.07.1910 starb, wurde die Amtszeit von Woelmont bis Dezember 1910 verlängert. Danach hat er Japan wieder verlassen. Georges della Faille de Leverghem wurde der nächste Botschafter.
- Henri de Woelmont, who was born in 1881, entered the diplomatic career. In January 1909 he came to Japan to take over the acting post of the Belgian minister, Baron Albert d'Anethan. He took up his post in March 1909 and acted until February 1910. Since the minister Albert d'Anethan had health problems and finally died on July 25, 1910, the tenure of office of Woelmont was extended until December 1910. Then he left Japan again. Georges della Faille de Leverghem became the next minister.

WOENSKY, Konstantin [C.] [VOENSKII] [ВОЕНСКИЙ, Константин Ада́мович] / P III / RUS / DIP / 1860-1928
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Er wurde 1860 in St. Petersburg geboren und absolvierte das Alexandrow Lyceum. Er diente in der Kavallerie der Garde. Im Jahr 1883 wurde er als Militär-Attaché an die russische Gesandtschaft in Tokyo, Japan, berufen, wo er bis 1886 wirkte.
In den Jahren 1905-1915 war er Direktor des Archivs des Ministeriums für Bildung und Mitglied des akademischen Komitees desselben Ministeriums. Er erforschte die Geschichte des Krieges von 1812. Im Namen des Großfürsten Michail Alexandrowitsch veröffentlichte er die "Akte von 1812", die in der Sammlung der Kaiserlich-Russischen Historischen Gesellschaft veröffentlicht wurden. Er war der Herausgeber dieser Sammlung in den Jahren 1909 und 1911. Während des Ersten Weltkriegs war er Mitglied des Obersten Rates für Presse.
1919 emigrierte er nach Malta. Er unterrichtete an der örtlichen Universität. K, A, Woenky starb in La Valetta, Malta, am 20.06.1928.
- He was born in St. Petersburg in 1860 and graduated from the Alexandrov Lyceum. He served in the Cavalry of the Guard. In 1883 he was appointed a Military Attaché to the Russian legation in Tokyo, Japan, where he served until 1886.
In the years 1905 to 1915 he was director of the archive of the Ministry of Education and Member of the Academic Committee of the same ministry. He explored the history of the War of 1812. In the name of the Grand Prince Mikhail Alexandrovich, he published the "Acts of 1812", published in the Collection of the Imperial Russian Historical Society. He was the editor of this collection in 1909 and 1911.
During the First World War he was a member of the Supreme Council for the Press.
In 1919 he emigrated to Malta. He taught at the local university. K, A, Woenky died in La Valetta, Malta, on June 20, 1928.


WOHLFARTH, Ernst / P IV / DE / QFE-ED /
Für Vergrößerung klicken






- Einschreibe-Brief aus Kaga, Kanazawa, Japan vom 04.05.1902, Transit New York 26.05.1902 nach Glauchau, DE




- Registered Cover from Kaga, Kanazawa, Japan posted on May 4, 1902, transit New York May 26, 1902 to Glauchau, DE





- Er stammte aus Glaucha, Sachsen, und war Lehrer. Ernst Wohlfahrt wurde von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, angestellt und in der Vierten Höheren Schule von Kanazawa (Daishi Kōtō Gakkō) als Professor für Deutsch angestellt. Er begann seine Arbeit an der Schule Anfang 1902 und er lehrte 1908 immer noch an der Schule.
Die Daishi kōtō gakkō wurde 1949 eine der Schulen, die die Grundlage der heutigen Kanazawa Universität bildeten.




- He came from Glaucha, Saxony, and was a teacher. Ernst Wohlfahrt was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, and appointed as Professor for German at the Fourth Higher School (Daishi Kōtō Gakkō) of Kanazawa.
He started his work at the school in 1902 and still taught at this school in 1908.
The Daishi kōtō gakkō was in 1949 one of the schools that formed the basis of today's Kanazawa University.








WOHLGEMUTH, Alexander [Alex] / P III / DE / TR /
- Er war nur 1895 in Japan und arbeitete für Grosser & Co., Handels- und Versicherungs-Agentur, Yokohama # 180.
- He stayed only in 1895 in Japan and was employed with Grosser & Co., Trade and Insurance Agency, Yokohama # 180.

WOHLGEMUTH, Eugen / P IV / DE / TR /
- Durch Weiterentwicklung und Erhöhung des Kompliziertheitsgrades von Maschinen und Ausrüstungen, die nach Japan geliefert wurden, ergab sich mehr und mehr die Notwendigkeit, auch technisches, erzeugnisbezogenes Verkaufspersonal auf Dauer in Japan zu stationieren. So entsandte die Maschinenfabrik Arthur Koppel AG, Berlin, den technischen Vertreter E. Wohlgemuth, der ab 1906 bei Illies & Co., Yokohama # 54, arbeitete, die die Generalvertretung für Japan hatten. Nach A. Koppels Tod im Jahr 1908 wurde im Jahr 1909 aus den beiden Unternehmen die Orenstein & Koppel AG, die dann den Ingenieur J. Hermann als technischen Vertreter nach Japan delegierten.
- The further development and the increasing complexity degree of machinery and equipment to be delivered to Japan, led more and more to the need to establish permanently technical, product-related sales engineers in Japan. Thus, the engineering factory Arthur Koppel AG, Berlin, sent in 1906 the technical representative E. Wohlgemuth to Japan, who worked at the firm Illies & Co., Yokohama # 54, which had been the general agent for this company in Japan. When A. Koppel died in 1908, the two companies of A. Koppel and B. Orenstein united to Orenstein & Koppel AG in 1909 and then the engineer J. Hermann was delegated as technical representative to Japan.

WOITTER, Peter / P II / UKN / TR /
- Als André Philippe im Jahr 1889 sich als Mineralwasser-Hersteller und Kaufmann in Yokohama # 72 niederließ, wurde Peter Woitter sein erster Angestellter. Woitter arbeitete jedoch nur ein Jahr bei A. Philippe und 1891 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- When André Philippe settled in 1889 as an Aerated Water Manufacturer and General Merchant, Yokohama # 72, Peter Woitter became his first employee. Woitter worked, however, only one year with A. Philippe and in 1891 he is no longer listed in Japan.

WOJEIKOW, Aleksander Iwanowitsch [Alexander WOIKOF] [Александр Иванович Воейков]/ P II / RUS / SC / 1842 - 1916
- Erwin Knipping berichtet in seinen Aufzeichnungen von der Anwesenheit des russischen Metereologen A. Woikof (das ist A. Wojeikow) im Jahr 1873.
Wojeikow wurde am 20.05.1842 in Moskau geboren. Er studierte Naturwissenschaften in Sankt Petersburg, Heidelberg, Berlin und Göttingen und besuchte 1868 bis 1870 die wichtigsten meteorologischen Institutionen Europas. Er bereiste wiederholt den Kaukasus und unternahm Reisen durch ganz Amerika, Indien, Java und Japan. Er verfasste „Die Winde der Erde“ und veröffentlichte eine Reihe von Abhandlungen zu metereologischen und klimatischen Problemen. Das Schelfeis der Antarktis trägt seinen Namen, Wojeikow-Schelfeis.
Ab 1882 wirkte er als Professor der physikalischen Geographie an der Universität in St. Petersburg.
Er starb 1916.
- Erwin Knipping reported in his records the presence of the Russian metereologist A. Woikof (that is A. Wojeikow) in 1873.
Wojeikov was born on May 20, 1842 in Moscow. He studied natural sciences in Saint Petersburg, Heidelberg, Berlin and Goettingen, and from 1868 to 1870 he visited the most important meteorological institutions in Europe. He repeatedly traveled the Caucasus and also traveled through the whole of America, India, Java and Japan. He wrote "The Winds of the Earth" and published a series of essays on metereological and climatic problems. The ice shelf of the Antarctics bears his name, Vojeikov Ice Shelf.
From 1882 he worked as a professor of physical geography at the University of St. Petersburg.
He died in 1916.


WOLF, Charles / P II - III / USA / SER /
- Die Adresse „Yokohama # 156“ ist für viele Jahre mit dem Begriff „Saloons“ verbunden, eine Adresse mit einer Reihe unterschiedlicher Saloons.
Charles Wolf war ab 1887 in Japan und wurde Eigentümer eines der Saloons, dem Yankee Flag Saloon, Yokohama # 156. Im Jahr 1895 wurde der Yankee Flag Saloon aus unbekannten Gründen umbenannt und hieß Rendezvous Saloon - die Adresse war immer noch Yokohama # 156 und Charles Wolf der Eigentümer. Dieser Saloon existierte mit diesem Namen am gleichen Ort und mit dem gleichen Eigentümer immer noch im Jahr 1908.
- The address "Yokohama # 156" has been associated with the term "saloons" for many years, an address with a number of different saloons.
As of 1887, Charles Wolf stayed in Japan and became proprietor of one of the saloons, the Yankee Flag Saloon, Yokohama # 156. In 1895, the Yankee Flag Saloon was renamed for unknown reasons and was named Rendezvous Saloon - the address was still Yokohama # 156 and Charles Wolf the proprietor. This saloon existed with this name in the same place and with the same proprietor still in 1908.


WOLF, F. O. / P IV / USA / MED /
- Er kam 1903 mit seiner Frau nach Japan und sie ließen sich in Yokohama nieder. Privat lebten sie in Yokohama # 45 Bluff. F. O. Wolf eröffnete als Zahnarzt seine Praxis in Yokohama # 50-B. Im Jahr 1908 betrieb er immer noch seine Zahnarztpraxis.
- He and his wife came to Japan in 1903 and they settled in Yokohama. Privately they resided in Yokohama # 45 Bluff. F. O. Wolf opened his practice as a dentist in Yokohama # 50-B. In 1908 he still operated his dental practice.

WOLF, Hans [H.] [J.] [Johannes John Henning] / P IV / DE / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Postkarte vom 17.10.1911 von Hans Wolf in Kobe als Mitarbeiter von Carl Scriba & Co. und Postkarte vom 16.02.1914 an H. Wolf in Kobe mit einer Einladung der Kansai Doku Wa Kai, Schriftführer Carl Scriba & Co..

- Postcard from October 17, 1911 by Hans Wolf in Kobe as an employee of Carl Scriba & Co. and postcard posted on February 16, 1914 to H. Wolf in Kobe with an invitation of the Kansai Doku Wa Kai, secretary Carl Scriba & Co..



- Als er 1901 nach Japan kam, ließ er sich in Nagasaki nieder. Er wurde von C. E. Boeddinghaus & Co., Deshima # 4 Nagasaki angestellt und arbeitete für diese Firma bis 1904. Im Jahr 1904 wechselte er zu Sciba & Co. in Nagasaki # 15 Ōura. 1909 änderte Sciba seinen Namen aus unbekannten Gründen in Scriba und Hans Wolf arbeitete dauerhaft für Scriba & Co. Als Carl Scriba 1910 eine Filiale in Kobe eröffnete, wurde Hans Wolf als Leiter der Filiale in Kobe berufen und er lebte fortan in Kobe. Er starb auch in Kobe am 18.08.1946.

- When he came to Japan in 1901, he settled in Nagasaki. He was employed by C. E. Boeddinghaus & Co., Deshima # 4 Nagasaki and worked for this company until 1904. In 1904 he joined Sciba & Co. in Nagasaki # 15 Ōura. In 1909, Sciba changed his name for unknown reasons to Scriba and Hans Wolf worked permanently for Scriba & Co. When Carl Scriba opened a branch in Kobe in 1910, Hans Wolf was appointed manager of the branch in Kobe and from then on he lived in Kobe. He also died in Kobe on August 18, 1946.



WOLF, K. H. H. / P III / DE / QFE-MIL-ED /
- Er war von 1898 bis 1902 von der japanischen Regierung, Kriegsministerium, angestellt und er lehrte am Artillery and Engineering College in Tokyo. Danach hat er Japan verlassen.
- He was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of War, from 1898 to 1902, and he taught at the Artillery and Engineering College in Tokyo. Then he left Japan.

WOLF, Ludwig [WOLFF] / P II / DE / TR + SER /
- Als im Jahr 1871 L. P. Moore sich als Kaufmann in Yokohama # 70 niederließ, war Ludwig Wolf sein erster Angestellter. Er arbeitete für L. P. Moore bis 1874; Moore gab seine Firma auf und Ludwig Wolf machte sich unter seinen Namen als Kommissionskaufmann mit einer Teebrennerei in Yokohama # 121 ohne Angestellte selbständig. Mit dieser neuen Herausforderung hatte er keinen Erfolg. Ab 1875 war er bei Knoblauch & Co., angestellt und die Teebrennerei übernahm L. P. Moore.
Als Knoblauch & Co. 1878 liquidiert wurde, versuchte Ludwig Wolf erneut, sich als Kommissions-Kaufmann. Er gründete L. Wolf & Co., Kommissions-Agent, Yokohama # 121. Privat lebte er in Yokohama # 46 Bluff, ab diesem Zeitpunkt lebte auch seine Frau mit ihm in Japan.
Die Firma existierte bis 1883, wieder ohne Mitarbeiter. Im Jahr 1883 ist er als Eigentümer des Windsor House, Yokohama # 18 + 19, gelistet. Das Windsor House, ein Restaurant mit Billardraum, existierte ab 1881, der vorherige Eigentümer war E. S. Smith und Ludwig Wolf war Eigentümer bis 1886. Im Jahr 1886 wurde das Windsor House dem Grand Hotel zugeordnet und L. Wolf wurde Miteigentümer des Grand Hotel, nun Yokohama # 18 + 19 + 20 bis 1889. - Im Jahr 1889 sind er und seine Frau nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- When, in 1871, L. P. Moore became a merchant in Yokohama # 70, Ludwig Wolf was his first employee. He worked for L. P. Moore until 1874; Moore gave up his company and Ludwig Wolf tried to be self-employed under his name as commission merchant and with a tea firing in Yokohama # 121. With this new challenge he had no success. As of 1875 he was employed by Knoblauch & Co., and the tea firing was taken over by L. P. Moore.
When Knoblauch & Co. was liquidated in 1878, Ludwig Wolf tried again as a commission merchant. He founded L. Wolf & Co., Commission Agent, Yokohama # 121. He lived privately in Yokohama # 46 Bluff, from this time on his wife also lived with him in Japan.
The company existed until 1883, again without employees. In 1883, he is listed as the proprietor of Windsor House, Yokohama # 18 + 19. The Windsor House, a restaurant with billiard room, existed from 1881 on, the previous owner was E. S. Smith and Ludwig Wolf became owner until 1886. In 1886, the Windsor House was incorporated into the Grand Hotel and L. Wolf became co-owner of the Grand Hotel, now Yokohama # 18 + 19 + 20 until 1889. - In 1889, he and his wife are no longer listed in Japan.


WOLFE, Henrietta Elizabeth de / P IV / CAN / MIS /
- Sie wurde am 26. 04.1873 in Halifax, NSC, Kanada, geboren. Sie besuchte die Normal School in Truro, das Konservatorium für Musik in Halifax und die Methodist National Training School in Toronto.
1904 wurde sie als Missionar der Methodist Church of Canada berufen und nach Japan entsandt. Von 1904 bis 1905 arbeitete sie in der Toyo Eiwa Jogakkō Mädchenschule in Tokyo, 1905 bis 1909 in Ueda, 1909 bis 1910 war sie in Kanada und von 1910 bis 1916 war sie zurück in Japan und unterrichtete an der Shizuoka Eiwa Jogakkō Mädchenschule.
Sie gründete 1905 die Kindergarten-Ausbildungsstätte der Methodist Church of Canada in Ueda und später ein soziales Arbeitszentrum und den Futaba-Kindergarten für Kinder armer Familien in der Stadt Shizuoka.
Sie starb am 7. September 1959 in Vancover, BCO, Kanada,
- She was born on April 26, 1873 in Halifax, NSC, Canada. She attended the Normal School in Truro, the Conservatory of Music in Halifax and the Methodist National Training School in Toronto.
In 1904 she was appointed missionary of the Methodist Church of Canada and delegated to Japan. She served from 1904 to 1905 at the Toyo Eiwa Jogakkō Girls School in Tokyo, 1905 to 1909 in Ueda, 1909 to 1910 she stayed in Canada and from 1910 to 1916 she was back in Japan and taught at the Shizuoka Eiwa Jogakkō Girls School.
She was the founder of the Canadian Methodist Mission’s kindergarten training school in Ueda in 1905, and later established a social work centre and the Futaba kindergarten for children of poor families in Shizuoka City.
She died on September 7, 1959 in Vancover, BCO, Canada,


WOLFF, Arnold

WOLFF, C. / P III / DE / TR /
- Er war ab 1898 in Japan und arbeitete für Faber & Voigt in der Filiale in Kobe # 25. Er arbeite in dieser Stellung bis 1903 und danach ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- As of 1898, he stayed in Japan and worked for Faber & Voigt in their branch in Kobe # 25. He worked in this position until 1903 and afterwards he is no longer listed in Japan.

WOLFF, Charles H. H. [WOLF] / P II / NL / MIS + FE-ED (250 Mo.) / 1840 - 1919
- Er wurde am 29.08.1840 in den Niederlanden geboren und kam später in die USA, wo er 1870 zum Priester auf dem Auburn-Seminar geweiht wurde. Im folgenden Jahr ging er mit seiner britischen Frau Louise als Missionar der Dutch Reformed Church nach Japan (später American Reformed Church) und sie kamen im Februar 1871 an. Zuerst blieben sie in Yokohama # 40 Bluff. Er unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung als Lehrer für Englisch und begann seine Arbeit am 01.01.1873 in Aomori für ein Jahr.
Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Yokohama wurden die Wolffs am 11. Februar 1874 nach Nagasaki entsendet, um Henry Stout in der Reformed Church Mission dort zu unterstützen. Stout und Wolff verstanden sich jedoch nicht; Stout behauptete, dass Wolff fast keine Japanischkenntnisse hatte und dass er sich übermäßig mit der Einrichtung einer englischen Schule beschäftigte. Aufgrund dieser Differenzen wurde Wolff im Februar 1876 aus Nagasaki abgezogen. Das war der Zeitpunkt, als Wolff die Reformed Church Mission verließ und begann, in den nächsten Jahren an staatlichen Schulen Japans auf der Grundlage von Verträgen mit japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, Englisch zu lehren. Er unterrichtete vom 01.09.1876 bis 15.02.1877 Englisch an der English Language School (Eigo Gakkō) in Nagoya, Aichi-ken. Danach wurde er bis zum 31.07.1880 an die englische Sprachschule von Osaka versetzt. Ab 01.08.1880 bis 10.07.1881 lehrte er an der Osaka Vocational School (Berufsschule).
Von 1885 bis 1901 war er als Professor an der Nobles' School in Tokyo angestellt.
Danach ging er in den Ruhestand, sie lebten aber weiterhin in Japan.
Charles Wolff starb am 26. August 1919 in Yokohama und wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama begraben. Ein Denkmal wurde von ehemaligen Studenten der Nobles' School, Tokyo, errichtet. Seine Frau starb 1922 und wurde neben ihrem Ehemann beigesetzt.
- He was born in The Netherlands on August 29, 1840 and later came to the USA, where he was ordained a minister at Auburn Seminary in 1870. The following year, he and his British wife Louise went to Japan as missionaries of the Dutch Reformed Church (later American Reformed Church) and arrived in February 1871 staying at first in Yokohama # 40 Bluff.
He signed a contract with the Japanese government as an English teacher and started his work in Aomori on January 1, 1873 for one year. After his return the Wolffs were transferred to Nagasaki on February 11, 1874 to assist Henry Stout with the Reformed Church Mission there. Stout and Wolff did not get along, however, with Stout claiming that Wolff had almost no Japanese language skills and that he was overly concerned with establishing an English school. Because of these differences, Wolff was transferred out of Nagasaki in February 1876. At this time, Wolff left the Reformed Church Mission and for the next years taught English at government schools in Japan with contracts of the Japanese government, Ministry of Education. Then he taught English at the English Language School (Eigo Gakkō) of Nagoya, Aichi-ken, from September 1, 1876 until February 15, 1877. He was transferred to the Osaka English Language School serving there until July 31, 1880. From August 1, 1880 to July 10 1881 he taught at the Osaka Vocational School. From 1885 until 1901 he was employed as Professor at the Nobles´ School in Tokyo.
Afterwards he retired and they continued to live in Japan.
Charles Wolff died in Yokohama on August 26, 1919 and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama. A monument was erected by former students of the Nobles´ School, Tokyo.
His wife died in 1922 and was buried beside her husband.


WOLFF, H. / P IV / DE / TR /
- Er kam 1906 im Auftrag von Bergmann & Co. nach Japan und arbeitete ab diesem Zeitpunkt in Yokohama # 154.
- He came to Japan in 1906 on behalf of Bergmann & Co. and worked from then on in Yokohama # 154.

WOLFF, J. / P IV / DE / QFE-ED /
- Er wurde ab 1902 als Direktor der Meisei Gakkō, Osaka #12 Chitose-cho, Minami-ku von der japanischen Regierung angestellt. Im Jahr 1908 hatte er immer noch diese Position inne.
- As of 1902 he was employed by the Japanese government as director of the Meisei Gakkō, Osaka # 12 Chitose-cho, Minami-ku. In 1908 he still held this position.

WOLFF, Max / P IV / DE / TR /
- Er kam 1907 im Auftrag der Siemens Schuckert Denki Kabushiki Kaisha, Siemens & Halske and Siemens Bros. Dynamo Works nach Japan und arbeitete in Tokyo # 48 Tsukiji. Nachdem Hermann Kessler nach Japan zurückgekehrt war, übernahmen beide gemeinsam die Leitung. Max Wolff beendete seine Tätigkeit in Japan im Jahr 1911.
- In 1907 he came to Japan on behalf of Siemens Schuckert Denki Kabushiki Kaisha, Siemens & Halske and Siemens Bros. Dynamo Works and worked in Tokyo # 48 Tsukiji. After Hermann Kessler had returned to Japan, both took over the management together. Max Wolff ended his work in Japan in 1911.

WOLFF, Rudolf [WOLF] / P III / DE / TR /
- Er kam 1888 nach Japan und arbeitete als Hafen-Beauftragter (Hatoba Clerk) für Paul Helm in Yokohama # 115. Im folgenden Jahr wechselte er zu Grösser & Co., Yokohama # 180. Er arbeitete bis 1896 für Grösser & Co. und ab 1896 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- He came to Japan in 1888 and worked as a harbour agent (Hatoba Clerk) for Paul Helm in Yokohama # 115. In the following year he joined Grösser & Co., Yokohama # 180. He worked until 1896 for Groesser & Co. and in 1896 he was no longer listed in Japan.

WOLFF-METTERNICH, Graf / P IV / DE / DIP /
- Er diente 1904/ 1905 als Attaché in der deutschen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo.
- In 1904/ 1905 he acted as Attaché in the German Legation of Tokyo.

WOLFS, James [WOOLF] / P I - II / DE / TR /
- Er kam 1867 im Auftrag von Hecht, Lilienthal & Co. nach Japan. Die Firma befand sich noch in der Entwicklungsphase und James Wolfs wurde in der Filiale in Yokohama # 164 eingesetzt. Bereits im folgenden Jahr wurde die Firma nach Yokohama # 8 verlegt und diese Adresse war der Hauptsitz der Firma bis zur Liquidation im Jahr 1883. J. Wolfs arbeitete immer für die Firma in Japan, er entwickelte sich zu einer festen Säule und wurde 1877 Teilhaber der Firma. Er starb jedoch unerwartet am 19.07.1882 und wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
- In 1867 he came to Japan by order of Hecht, Lilienthal & Co. The company was still in the development phase and James Wolfs was installed in the branch in Yokohama # 164. The company was relocated to Yokohama # 8 the following year, and this address was the company's headquarters until the liquidation in 1883. James Wolfs always worked for the company in Japan, and he developed to a firm company pillar; in 1877 he even received a partnership of the company. However, he died unexpectedly on July 19, 1882, and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama.

WOLFFSKEEL von Reichenberg, Eberhard Graf [WOLFSKEEL] / P IV / DE / DIP + MIL / 1875 - 1954
* 17.08.1875 in Uettingen, DE
† 26.12.1954 in Würzburg, DE
- Wolffskeel von Reichenberg machte 1894 das Abitur am Wilhelmsgymnasium München. Er heiratete am 30.06.1903 gegen den Willen seiner Familie die Schauspielerin Marietta Olly. Die Hochzeit musste in England stattfinden. Die Ehe wurde später aber wieder geschieden und er heiratete in zweiter Ehe Sophie-Henriette Edle Herrin von Berger (* 4. Februar 1893 bis † 25. Mai 1975). Beide Ehen blieben kinderlos.
Als Armeeangehöriger wurde er wegen seiner ersten Heirat zur Strafe nach Fernost versetzt. Im Jahr 1904 ist er als Attaché in der deutschen Gesandtschaft gelistet.
Nach der Kapitulation von Port Arthur am 02.01.1905 wollte Carl Prinz von Hohenzollern, der als Militärbeobachter im russisch-japanischen Krieg auf japanischer Seite wirkte, die Strategie und Taktik der japanischen Armee auch dem deutschen Offizier Wolffskeel von Reichenberg demonstrieren und er lud ihn am 27.01.1905 an die Front ein. Obwohl der russisch-japanische Krieg noch bis September 1905 dauerte ist nicht bekannt, wie lange Wolffskeel von Reichenberg an der Front blieb und ob er als Berater für Carl Prinz von Hohenzollern tätig war.
Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland war er wieder als Offizier im Einsatz. Im 1. Weltkrieg tritt er unrühmlich als deutscher Offizier in Erscheinung. Er war am Völkermord der Armenier beteiligt.
-Wolffskeel von Reichenberg graduated at the Wilhelms - Gymnasium in Munich in 1894. He married the actress Marietta Olly on June 30, 1903 against the will of his family. The wedding had to be held in England. The marriage was later divorced and he married Sophie-Henriette Edle Herrin von Berger (* February 4, 1893 to † May 25, 1975) in his second marriage. Both marriages remained childless.
As a military member, he was sent to the Far East due to his first marriage as a kind of punishment. In 1904, he was listed as an Attaché in the German Legation.
After the capitulation of Port Arthur on January 2, 1905, Carl Prince von Hohenzollern, who was a military observer in the Russo-Japanese war on the Japanese side, wanted to demonstrate the strategy and tactics of the Japanese army to the German officer Wolffskeel von Reichenberg and he invited him to the front on January 27, 1905. Although the Russo-Japanese War lasted until September 1905, it is not known how long Wolffskeel of Reichenberg remained on the front and whether he was an adviser to Carl Prinz von Hohenzollern.
After Wolffskeel´s return to Germany, he was again active in the army. In the First World War, he appears ingloriously as a German officer having been involved in the genocide of the Armenians.


WOLLANT, Gregory de [VOLLAN, Grigorii Aleksandrovich de] [Gregoire] [Де- ВОЛЛАН Григорий Александрович] / P II - III / RU / DIP /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

* 20.02.1847 in St. Petersburg, Russia
† 28.04.1916 in Yalta, Russia
- Er studierte ab 1864 an der Universität Moskau, Fakultät Recht und arbeitete ab 1873 im Ministerium für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten. Zuerst wurde er in Pest (Budapest) im russischen Konsulat eingesetzt und ab 1883 leitete er die Presseabteilung, Bereich Asien, im Außenministerium.
Von 1886 bis 1889 wurde er als russischer Konsul in Hakodate berufen und dann nach Nagasaki versetzt, wo er in gleicher Funktion bis 1894 wirkte. 1894 und 1895 war er 1. Sekretär der russischen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo.
Danach wurde er von 1896 bis 1902 als 1. Sekretär der russischen Gesandtschaft von Washington berufen und arbeitete danach als Anwalt im Außenministerium. Von 1906 bis 1910 war er Außerordentlicher Gesandter und Bevollmächtigter für Russland in Mexiko. 1910 ging er in den Ruhestand.
- As of 1864 he studied law at the University of Moscow, and from 1873 on worked in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At first, he was employed in Pest (Budapest) in the Russian consulate and as of 1883 he headed the press department for Asia in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
From 1886 to 1889 he was appointed Russian consul in Hakodate, Japan, and then transferred to Nagasaki, where he worked in the same capacity until 1894. In 1894 and 1895 he employed as 1st Secretary of the Russian Legation in Tokyo. Afterwards he was appointed 1st Secretary of the Russian Legation of Washington from 1896 to 1902 followed by an engagement an attorney in the Foreign Ministry. From 1906 to 1910 he was appointed Extraordinary Envoy and Plenipotentiary for Russia in Mexico. In 1910 he retired.


WOOLLET, H. [WOOLLETT] [WOLLETT] / P II / GB / TR /
- Als er 1870 nach Japan kam, wurde er von Felice Beato als Assistant in seinem Fotostudio, F. Beato & Co., Yokohama # 17, angestellt. Er arbeitete für F. Beato bis 1877. Im Jahr 1877 erwarb Raimund von Stillfried-Ratenicz das Studio von Felice Beato. Beato verlegte sein Geschäft nach Yokohama # 24, aber H. Wollet hat Japan zu diesem Zeitpunkt wieder verlassen. Sein Nachfolger wurde H. Engelhardt.
- When he came to Japan in 1870, he was employed by Felice Beato as an assistant in his photographic studio, F. Beato & Co., Yokohama # 17. He worked for F. Beato until 1877. In 1877, Raimund von Stillfried-Ratenicz acquired the studio of Felice Beato and Beato moved his business to Yokohama # 24, but H. Wollet left Japan at that time. He was succeeded by H. Engelhardt.

WOLLEY / siehe - see / WOOLLEY

WOLLHEIM, M. [WOLLHELM] / P III / DE / TR /
WOLLNER, C. / P III / UKN / TR /
WOLSTENCROFT, Wm. / P II / UKN / FE-R /
WOLTER, E. / P III / DE / TR /
WOLTER, J. / P II / DE / TR /
WOLTERS, E. J. / P II / NL / SER / 1830 - 1877
WOLTHERS, J. W. / P II / UKN / FE-R /
WONG, J. S. [J. H.] / P II / GB / TR /

WOO, Alphonse J. van der [VOO] [VANDERWOO] / P I / FR / DIP /
- Er war von 1864 bis 1872 Dolmetscher und 1867 Sekretär an der Französischen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo. Als Dolmetscher arbeitete er auch teilweise am Französischen Konsulat in Yokohama. Ab 1873 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.
- From 1864 to 1872 he was employed as an interpreter and in 1867 secretary of the French Legation in Tokyo. As an interpreter, he also worked at times at the French Consulate in Yokohama. As of 1873 he is no longer listed in Japan.

WOOD, - / P II / USA / FE-ED /
WOOD, Augustus / P III / USA / FE-ED /
WOOD, Charles / P II / GB / FE-T-SH + TR /
WOOD, Frank E. / P III / USA / MIS /
WOOD, George Cardell / P II / GB / TR /
WOOD, H. / P III / UKN / TR /
WOOD, J. / P III / UKN / TR /
WOOD, James / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
WOOD, Jas. / P II / GB / SER /
WOOD, John / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WOOD, John D. / P II / GB / MED /
WOOD, M. D. / P III / GB / MIS /
WOOD, O. E. / P III / USA / DIP /
WOOD, R. A. / P I / GB / MIL /
WOOD, R. E. B. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
WOOD, R. W. H. / P III / GB / TR /
WOOD, W. / P II / GB / TR /
WOOD, W. / P III / UKN / TR /
WOOD, W. M. / P III / GB / TR /
WOOD, W. P. [W. A.] / P III / UKN / TR /
WOOD, William [WOODS] / P I - II / GB / DIP /
WOODD, C. H. Basil / P III / GB / MIS /
WOODFORD, C. / P II / GB / TR /
WOODFORD, E. D. / P II / UKN / TR /
WOODFORD, H. B. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
WOODFORD, James F. / P III / GB / TR / 1858 - 1897
WOODFORD, Jas. Daniel / P II - III / GB / TR /
WOODHEAD, John / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WOODHULL, George Edward / P II - III / USA / MIS / 1864 - 1899
WOODHULL, W. W. / P II / USA / MIL /
WOODLAND, Daniel P. / P III / USA / MIS /
WOODMAN, E. W. / P III / USA / MIS /

WOODMAN, Edmund Radcliffe / P II - III / USA / MIS / 1851 - 1909 /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Nachdem er am 18.06.1880 May Lassell geb. Sweff (1856-1921) in Bradford, Massachusetts, geheiratet hatte, wurden sie als Missionare der American Episcopal Mission nach Japan delegiert und sie nahmen ihre Arbeit in Tokyo auf. Sie haben immer in Tokyo gearbeitet.
In Tokyo wurden auch ihre beiden Kinder geboren, Maurice E. R. Woodman, 1897-1899, der auf dem Aoyama Friedhof von Tokyo beerdigt wurde und Harold L. Woodman.
Edmund Radcliff Woodman starb am 22.07.1909 und wurde ebenfalls auf dem Aoyama Friedhof in Tokyo beigesetzt. Seine Frau folgte ihm im Jahr 1921.
- After he was had married May Lassell nee Sweff (1856-1921) on June 18, 1880 in Bradford, Massachusetts, they were delegated to Japan as missionaries of the American Episcopal Mission and they began their work in Tokyo. They had always worked in Tokyo.
Her two children were also born in Tokyo, Maurice E. R. Woodman, 1897-1899, who was buried in the Aoyama Cemetery in Tokyo and Harold L. Woodman.
Edmund Radcliffe Woodman died on June 22, 1909 and was also buried in the Aoyama Cemetery in Tokyo. His wife followed him in 1921.


WOODMAN, S. / P IV / UKN / QFE-ED /
- Sie kam 1903 nach Japan, um als Lehrer an der Rikkyō Jo Gakkō (St. Margaret's Schule), Tokyo # 26 Tsukiji, zu lehren. Im Jahr 1908 lehrte sie immer noch an dieser Schule.
- She came to Japan in 1903 as a teacher at the Rikkyō Jo Gakkō (St. Margaret's School), Tokyo # 26 Tsukiji. In 1908 she still taught at this school.

WOODROUGH, Frederick Charles / P III / USA / FE-ED / 1874 - 1958
WOODRUFF, A. / P III / GB / TR /
WOODRUFF, Alice / P III / UKN / Miss
WOODRUFF, C. / P III / USA / Miss
WOODRUFF, F. / P III / UKN / TR /
WOODRUFF, F. C. / P II / USA / TR /
WOODRUFF, Frank B. / P III / USA / TR /
WOODRUFF, Frederick George / P I - III / GB / TR / 1850 - 1922
WOODRUFF, G. / P III / UKN / TR /
WOODRUFF, K. / P III / UKN / TR / Miss
WOODRUFF, L. / P III / UKN / SER / Miss
WOODS, James Haughton [Houghton] / P III / USA / SC / 1844 - 1935
WOODS, W. / see WOOD, W.
WOODSWORTH, Harold Frederick / CAN / MIS / 1883 - 1939
WOODWARD, A. T. / P III / USA / TR /
WOODWARD, Alphonse M. Tracey / P III / USA / 1876 - 1938
WOODWARD, Anna / P III / USA / TR /
WOODWARD, H. / P III / GB / MIS /
WOODWARD, J. / P II - III / USA / TR / Miss
WOODWARD, J. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH-Y / Yokosuka
WOODWARD, J. M. / P II / GB / MIL /
WOODWARD, William / P II / GB / FE-MIL /

WOODWORTH, A. D. / P III / USA / MIS /
- Er war ab 1892 als Missionar der American Christian Convention in Tokyo, Azabu, mit seiner Frau im Einsatz. 1908 war er immer noch tätig. Er war mit dem Missionar Cyrus Alonso Clark befreundet.
- As of 1892 he was in office as missionary of the American Christian Convention in Tokyo, Azabu, his wife accompanied him. In 1908, he was still active. He was friends with the missionary Cyrus Alonso Clark .

WOODWORTH, Kate [WOODWORD] / P II / USA / MIS / 1854 - 1894
- Sie wurde 1854 in Burlington, VT, geboren und von der Zweigstelle der Methodist Episcopal Church Mission in Philadelphia nach Japan geschickt. Sie kam am 13. Oktober 1880 in Tokyo an, wurde aber sofort nach Hakodate versetzt. Sie wurde Gründer und erster Leiter der Caroline Wright Memorial Girls School (Iai Gakuin) in Hakodate.
Sie lernte John James Quinn kennen, den britischen Konsul in Hakodate. Am 28. Februar 1883 verließ sie Hakodate und heiratete am 20. März 1883 J. J. Quinn in der britischen Gesandtschaft von Tokyo. Ihr Missionsleben endete und sie begleitete ihren Ehemann.
Sie starb am 10. Mai 1894 in Redlands, Kalifornien, wurde aber in Burlington, VT beigesetzt.
- She was born in Burlington, VT, in 1854 and sent to Japan by the Philadelphia Branch of the Methodist Episcopal Church Mission. She arrived in Tokyo on October 13, 1880 but immediately she was transferred to Hakodate. She became the founder and first principal of Caroline Wright Memorial Girls School (Iai Gakuin) in Hakodate.
She got acquainted with John James Quinn, British Consul in Hakodate. On February 28, 1883 she departed Hakodate and married J. J. Quinn in the British Legation of Tokyo on March 20, 1883. Her missionary life ended and she accompanied her husband.
She died on May 10, 1894 at Redlands, CA, but was interred in Burlington, VT.


WOOLF, James / P II / UKN / TR /
WOOLFALL, Richard Herbert / P III / GB / TR /
WOOLKIE, - / P II / DK / FE-T-SH-L / Lighthouse
WOOLLET, H. [WOOLLETT] [WOLLETT] / P II / GB / TR /

WOOLLEY, Alf.

WOOLSEY, George M. / P III / USA / TR /
WOOTON, J. [WOOTTON] [WOTTON] / P II / GB / FE-ED /
WOOTTON, P. H. / P III / USA / TR /
WORBS, Hugo E. / P II - III / GB / TR / 1866 - 1903

WORCH, A. / P II / FR / TR /
Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Die Firma Bacharach, Oppenheimer & Co. wurde 1880 mit Sitz in Yokohama und Paris gegründet. Aus diesem Grund wurde A. Worch 1880 im Auftrag dieser Firma nach Japan gesandt, wo er zusammen mit E. Hagens die Firma in Yokohama # 28-A aufbaute. 1882 wurde die Filiale nach Yokohama # 154 verlegt, aber bereits zu diesem Zeitpunkt war A. Worch nicht mehr in Japan sondern in Paris.
Im Jahr 1888 wurde Bacharach, Oppenheimer & Co. liquidiert und aus dieser Firma entwickelte sich Worch & Co., an den gleichen Standorten und dem nahezu gleichen Leistungsumfang, mit den beiden Inhabern A. Worch und E. Hagens. A. Worch übernahm die Geschäfte in Paris und E. Hagens blieb weiterhin in Yokohama. A. Worch war nicht mehr in Japan. 1890 wurde eine weitere Filiale in Hamburg eröffnet. Die Leitung dieser Filiale übernahm E. Hagens ab 1890 bis zur Liquidierung der Firma im Jahr 1904.
A. Worch & Co. wurde von Otto Bergmann übernommen und unter Bergmann & Co. fortgeführt.
P. S. Zur Vermeidung einer mißbräuchlichen Verwendung von firmeneigenenen Briefmarken hat die Firma diese Marken mit einer Lochung „W. & Co.“ versehen. Beispiele siehe unter Paul Voges. W. & Co. = Worch & Co., nicht zu verwechseln mit „W. & C.“ = Winckler & Co.

- The company Bacharach, Oppenheimer & Co. was founded in 1880 based in Yokohama and Paris. For this reason, A. Worch was sent to Japan in 1880 on behalf of this company, where he, together with E. Hagens, built up the company in Yokohama # 28-A. In 1882 the branch was relocated to Yokohama # 154, but by that time, A. Worch was no longer in Japan but in Paris.
In 1888, Bacharach, Oppenheimer & Co. was liquidated and on the base of this company Worch & Co. developed, at the same locations and chiefly with the same scope of business, with the two prorietors of A. Worch and E. Hagens. A. Worch took over the business in Paris and E. Hagens remained in Yokohama. A. Worch didn´t come again to Japan. In 1890 another branch was opened in Hamburg and E. Hagens became manager of this branch from 1890 until the liquidation of the company in 1904.
A. Worch & Co. was taken over by Otto Bergmann and he continued the business under Bergmann & Co.
P. S. To avoid misuse of company stamps, the company had marked them with perfins "W. & Co. ". For examples, see Paul Voges. W. & Co. = Worch & Co., not to be confused with "W. & C. "= Winckler & Co.



WORCK, T. / P II / DK / TR /
- Im Jahr 1871 gründeten S. Thomsen und T. Worck unter ihrem Namen Thomsen & Worck eine Speditionsfirma in Kobe, Native Town # 83. Die Firma existierte nur 3 Jahre und im Jahr 1874 ist sie nicht mehr gelistet.
- In 1871, S. Thomsen and T. Worck founded a stevedores´ company in Kobe, Native Town # 83 under their names Thomsen & Worck. The company existed only 3 years and in 1874 they were no longer listed.

WORDEN, Harriet [Hattie] / P II - III / USA / MIS / see WORDEN, Whiting Sweeting


WORKMAN, G. [J.] / P II / UKN / TR /
WORLEY, J. C. / P III / GB / MIS /
WORONIECKI, I. [VORONETSKII, Ivan] ВОРОНЕЦКИЙ Иван / P III / RUS / DIP /
WORSFOLD, G. / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /

WORTH, Francis Ernest

WORTH, George Charles / P II / GB / FE-T-RW (85 Mon.) /
- Der Ausbau des Eisenbahnnetzes erforderte eine größere Anzahl Personen zur Anleitung und Organisation, die teilweise auch nur kurzzeitig tätig waren. G. Charles Worth unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Bereich Eisenbahnwesen, und er war ab 01.10.1872 im Einsatz. Seine Tätigkeit wurde monatlich verlängert, er war als Sekretär für die Transportorganisation zuständig. Das Ende seiner Tätigkeit ist nicht erfasst. Am 03.12.1879 wurde sein Vertrag beendet.
- The development of the railway network required a larger number of persons for the instruction and organization who were partly active only for a short time. G. Charles Worth signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, Railroad Department, starting work on October 1, 1872. His contract was prolonged monthly; he was employed as secretary and in charge of the transport organizing. The end of his activity is not recorded. On December 3, 1879 his contract was terminated.

WORTH, Ida M.

WORTHINGTON, F. E. / P II / GB / TR /
- C. P. Low gründete im Jahr 1884 eine Export- Import-Firma, die unter C. P. Low & Co., Yokohama # 265, firmierte. Der einzige Mitarbeiter in dieser Firma war C. P. Worthington, der aber nur ein Jahr für C. P. Low arbeitete. Ein wechselvolles Leben in Japan begann. Im Jahr 1885 arbeitete er als Leiter des Japan Tea Syndicate, Yokohama # 243 und 1886 als Leiter der Firma Schilling & Co., Yokohama # 241. Für diese Firma arbeitete er nur noch 1887 und ab 1888 ist er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet. Auch Schilling & Co. wurde 1888 liquidiert (s. a. A. Schilling).
- C. P. Low founded in 1884 an Export-Import Trading Company under C. P. Low & Co., Yokohama # 265. The only employee in this company was C. P. Worthington, who worked for C. P. Low for only one year. A changeful life in Japan began. In 1885, he acted as head of the Japan Tea Syndicate, Yokohama # 243 and as of 1886 as manager of the company Schilling & Co., Yokohama # 241. For this company, he worked only in 1887 and as of 1888 he is no longer listed in Japan. Also Schilling & Co. was liquidated in 1888 (see also A. Schilling).

WORTHINGTON, H. J. / P IV / GB / MIS /
- Sie wurde im Jahr 1900 als Missionar der Church Missionary Society nach Japan delegiert und sie nahm ihre Arbeit in Tokyo Kojimachi auf. Hier arbeitete sie bis 1906, als sie nach Kure, Hiroshima-ken , versetzt wurde, wo sie ihre Arbeit fortsetzte.
- In 1900 she was delegated to Japan as a missionary of the Church Missionary Society and started her work in Tokyo Kojimachi. Here she worked until 1906 when she was transferred to Kure, Hiroshima-ken, for her further work.

WOSKRESENSKII, Apollinarii Nikolaevich [VOSKRESENSKII] [VOSKRESSENSKY] [ВОСКРЕСЕНСКИЙ Аполлинарий Николаевич] / P IV / RUS / DIP /
- Er war von 1906 bis 1917 Marine-Attaché in der russischen Gesandtschaft bzw. Botschaft in Tokyo.
- From 1906 to 1917 he was a Naval Attaché in the Russian Legation and Embassy resp. in Tokyo.

WRAN, Robt. G. / P II / P II / GB / FE-T-SH-L / Lighthouse
WRENCH, George [J. W.] / P II / GB / TR /
WRIGHT, A. / P II / GB / TR /
WRIGHT, Ada Hannah / P III / GB / MIS / 1870 - 1950
WRIGHT, Alexander / P II / GB / TR /
WRIGHT, C. / P III / USA / FE-ED /
WRIGHT, Charles / P II / USA / SC /
WRIGHT, E. / P III / USA / MIS /

WRIGHT, Edward William Barton

WRIGHT, Emma / siehe - see / SMITH, Emma + WRIGHT, William Ball

WRIGHT, Frank Lloyd / P III / USA / ENG / 1869 - 1959
WRIGHT, Frederick B. [B. F.] / P II / GB / FE-T-RW /
WRIGHT, H. O. Perceval / P II / GB / MIL /
WRIGHT, Herbert M. / P I / GB / TR /
WRIGHT, J. / P III / USA / SER /
WRIGHT, James, H. / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /
WRIGHT, Luke Edward / P III / USA / DIP / 1846 - 1922
WRIGHT, Thomas David / P III / GB / TR /

WRIGHT, William Ball / P II / IR / MIS + FE-ED (16 Mon.) /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Er wurde am 05.10.1843 in Irland geboren. Er studierte am Trinity College in Dublin und wurde 1867 zum katholischen Priester der britisch-anglikanischen Kirche ernannt.
William Ball Wright war Pfarrer in verschiedenen Kirchen der Pfarrgemeinde York und wurde 1873 als Missionar der Church of England, Society for Propagation of the Gospel, nach Japan berufen. Er kam im selben Jahr in Japan an und ließ sich in Tokyo nieder. Im September 1873 gründete er zusammen mit A. C. Shaw in Tokyo die erste Station der Mission in Tsukiji # 48.
Er engagierte sich in christlicher Missionsarbeit in der Region von Tokyo, propagierte aber das Christentum hauptsächlich in landwirtschaftlichen Gebieten wie Atsugi und Nakatsu-mura von Kanagawa.
Er wurde auch von der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, als Englischlehrer angestellt. Sein Vertrag begann am 01.07.1876 und endete am 07.11.1877.
Während seines Aufenthalts lernte er Emma Smith kennen, die eine ausländische Angestellte des Industrie-Ministeriums war und sie heirateten am 18. Mai 1874.
1882 kehrten sie nach England zurück. Zurück in England engagierte er sich weiterhin für christliche Missionsarbeit, später in Irland und dann in den USA. Er starb 1912 in England.
- He was born in Ireland on October 5, 1843. He studied at the Trinity College of Dublin and was appointed Catholic priest of the British Anglican Church in 1867.
William Ball Wright was a clergyman in several churches of the York parish and in 1873 appointed to Japan as a missionary of the Church of England, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. He arrived in Japan in the same year and settled in Tokyo. In September 1873 he established in Tokyo, together with A. C. Shaw, the first station of the mission at Tsukiji # 48.
He engaged in Christian missionary work in Tokyo region, but mainly propagated Christianity in the agricultural areas such as Atsugi and Nakatsu-mura of Kanagawa.
He also was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, as English teacher. His contract started on July 1, 1876 and was ceased on November 7, 1877.
During his stay he got acquainted with Emma Smith who was a foreign employee of the Ministry of Public Works and on May 18, 1874 they married.
They returned to England in 1882. Back in England, he continued to be engaged in Christian missionary work, later in Ireland and the USA. He died in England in 1912.


WRIGHT, William Nicol / P II - III / GB / DIP + SER /
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Er kam 1886 als Konstabler und Gerichtsdiener nach Japan und wurde im britische Konsulat in Yokohama # 172 eingesetzt.Er arbeitete im Konsulat bis 1890.
Im Jahr 1889 heiratete er Elizabeth Street in der britischen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo. Sie entschlossen sich, in Japan zu bleiben. Im Jahr 1891 übernahmen sie gemeinsam die Leitung des Club Hotels Annexe, Yokohama # 40. W, N, Wright baute jedoch ein neues Hotel an dieser Adresse, das Wright Hotel, welches 1893 eröffnet wurde. Anfang 1893 existierten noch beide Hotels, aber das Club Hotel Annexe verschwand in weniger als zwei Jahren nach der Eröffnung. Dies war auch auf ein Brand am 8. März 1893 zurückzuführen; das Hotel brannte in weniger als einer vollkommen Stunde nieder.
Die tatsächliche Kapazität des vierstöckigen "Wright Hotels" ist unbekannt, aber es wurde von Paul Sarda entworfen und bestand aus einem vollwertigen Holz-Stein-Fundament. Nach dem Bild auf dem Umschlag befindet sich das Schild "WRIGHT'S HOTEL" auf dem zentralen Eingang, das erste und zweite Stockwerk sind aus Backsteinen, und es wird eingeschätzt, dass mindestens 50 Zimmer zur Verfügung standen.
Das "Wright Hotel" war ein Hotel, das vielen Reisenden und Bürgern nicht nur in Yokohama über 20 Jahre bis 1916 bekannt war. Nachdem das Wright Hotel verkauft wurde, wurde der Name in "Eastern Hotel" geändert und von den Chinesen verwaltet.
- He came to Japan in 1886 as a constable and usher and was employed at the British Consulate in Yokohama # 172. He worked in the consulate until 1890.
In 1889, he married Elizabeth Street in the British Legation in Tokyo. They decided to stay in Japan and in 1891 they jointly took over the management of the Club Hotel Annexe, Yokohama # 40. But W. N. Wright built a new hotel at this site, the Wright Hotel, and opened it in 1893. At the beginning of 1893, both hotels still existed but the Club Hotel Annexe disappeared in less than two years after opening. This was also due to the fire issued on March 8, 1893; the hotel burnt down completely in less than an hour.
The real capacity of the four-story "Wright Hotel" is unknown, but it was designed by Paul Sarda and consisted of a full-fledged wooden-stone foundation. According to picture on the cover the signboard of "WRIGHT 'S HOTEL" is placed on the central entrance, the 2nd and 3rd floor part is made brick, and at least 50 rooms are considered to be there. The "Wright Hotel" was a hotel familiar to many travelers and citizens not only in Yokohama over 20 years until 1916. After the Wright Hotel was sold, the name was changed to "Eastern Hotel" and managed by the Chinese.


WRIGHT, W. V. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
- Er kam im Jahr 1888 mit seiner Frau als Missionare der “Society of Friends” nach Japan und sie arbeiteten in Tokyo. Sie wirkten bis 1892 in Japan und haben danach das Land verlassen.
- He came to Japan in 1888 with his wife as missionaries of the Society of Friends and they worked in Tokyo. They worked in Japan until 1892 and then left the country.

WRINGER, - de / P I - III / NL / DIP + TR /

WUERFEL, Georg Friedrich Wilhelm

WUEST, A. [WÜST] / P II / DE / TR /
WULFE, H. / P II / UKN / TR /
WULFF, A. [WULF] / P II - III / UKN / TR /
WULFF, Johann C. C. / P II / DE / TR /
WULFF, Th. / P II - III / UKN / TR /
WUNSCH, Richard [WUENSCH] / P III / DE / DIP + MED /
WUNSCH, P. [WUENSCH] / P III / DE / TR /
WURIU, F. [WURIN] / P II / UKN / FE-R /
WURSTER, E. / P III / UKN / TR /
WYBORGH, Sweerts de Landas / P III / NL / DIP /

WYCKOFF, C. T. / P II - III / USA / MIS /
- Reverend der American Board Mission. Er lehrte von 1889 bis 1892 am Dōshisha College in Kyoto.
- Reverend of the American Board Mission. From 1889 to 1892 he taught at the Dōshisha College in Kyoto.

WYCKOFF, Harriet J.
WYCKOFF, Helena
WYCKOFF, Martin Nevius

WYDENBRUCK, Christian Graf von / P III / AT / DIP /
WYLDE, W. / P II / UKN / TR /
WYLIE, A. / P II / GB / TR /
WYLIE, R. A. / P I - III / GB / TR /
WYND, William / P III / USA / MIS /
WYNESAR, H. / P II / UKN / TR /
WYNN, John / P II / GB / FE-T-SH /

WYON, Edward

WYPER, Robert / P II / USA / FE-T /
WYRICK, Loduska [WIRICK] [WIRICH] / P III / USA / MIS / 1856 - 1914

WYTHE, Grace Kate / P IV / USA / MIS /
* 07.09.1873 in San Francisco, CA, USA
† 21.06.1945 in Oakland, CA, USA
Für Vergrößerung klicken

- Brief von Grace Wythe aus Nagoya vom 09.05.1910 in die USA

- Cover posted from Nagoya on May 5, 1910 to the USA by Grace Wythe


- Sie wurde als Missionarin der Methodist Episcopal Church nach Japan delegiert und kam am 06.11.1909 in Tokyo an. Zuerst blieb sie in Tokyo, wurde aber bereits 1910 an die Mädchenschule Seiryu Jo Gakkō in Nagoya versetzt. Da sie nur als Stellvertreterin berufen wurde, unterrichtete sie dort bis September 1911. Danach arbeitete sie bis 1915 wieder in Tokyo und unterrichtete an der Aoyama Jo Gakuin Girls' School. In den Jahren 1915 - 1916 war sie in den USA, und als sie nach Japan zurückkehrte, arbeitete sie wieder in Nagoya und von 1924 bis 1929 in Fukuoka. Sie verließ Japan am 11.06.1929.
- She was delegated to Japan as a missionary of the Methodist Episcopal Church and arrived in Tokyo on November 6, 1909. At first she stayed in Tokyo but already in 1910 she was transferred to the Girls´ School Seiryu Jo Gakkō in Nagoya. As she was just appointed to act as substitute she taught there until September 1911. Afterwards, she worked again in Tokyo until 1915, teaching at the Aoyama Jo Gakuin Girls´ School. In 1915 - 1916 she stayed in the USA, and when she returned to Japan she worked again in Nagoya and from 1924 to 1929 in Fukuoka. She departed from Japan on June 11, 1929.

WYTTENBACH, C. F. E. / P I / CH / TR /
WYVILLE, C. H. / P I / UKN / TR /
- W -    
WADDELL
Hugh
1840 – 1901














1840 in Belfast, IR
20.06.1901 in Belfast, IR

Er beendete die Queen's Universität 1867 mit dem Master (MA) und setzte dann seine Studien an der angeschlossenen Fakultät Theologie fort, die er 1869 abschloss. Er engagierte sich in christlicher Missionsarbeit und arbeitete als Propagandist in Nord-China, musste allerdings aus gesundheitlichen Gründen wieder zurückkehren.
1874 ließ er sich in Tokyo als Missionar der United Presbyterian Mission of Scotland nieder. Er arbeitete hier insbesondere im Stadtkern von Tokyo. Außerdem wurde er vom ersten Direktor der Meiji Gakuin als Theologie-Professor berufen, um das Alte Testament und Englisch zu lehren. So erhielt er einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Erziehung, der zunächst vom 08.10.1875 über ein Jahr lief, dann aber mehrmals verlängert wurde und schließlich am 06.10.1879 auslief.
Er war auch Mitglied des ständigen Gremiums zur Übersetzung des Alten Testaments in die japanische Sprache.
Er war verheiratet, seine Frau begleitete ihn und sie hatten eine Tochter.
1900 kehrten sie nach Belfast zurück, wo er im folgenden Jahr im Alter von 61 Jahren verstarb.
1840 in Belfast, IR
20.06.1901 in Belfast, IR

He graduated from Queen's University in 1867 and was conferred a MA degree. Furthermore, he graduated in 1869 from the attached theological college.
He engaged in Christian missionary work as a propagator in North China but had to return because of his health.

In 1874 he settled in Tokyo as missionary of the United Presbyterian Mission of Scotland. He engaged in missionary work in the downtown area of Tokyo. In addition, he was picked by the first director of the Meiji Gakuin as professor of divinity to teach the Old Testament and English. Thus, he was employed by the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, and his first contract ran from October 8, 1875 for one year.
The contract was prolonged several times and eventually his term ended on October 6, 1879.
Additionally he was a member of the permanent committee to translate the Old Testament into Japanese.
He was married, his wife accompanied him and they had a daughter.
In 1900 they returned to Belfast where he died in the following year at the age of 61 years.
___
/ P II – III / IR / FE-ED + MIS /
WADDELL
John Alexander Low
1854 - 1938

[WADDEL]
[J. A. L.]
[Alexander WADDELL]




Für Vergrößerung klicken


























15.01.1854 in Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
03.03.1938 in New York, USA

John Alexander Low Waddell, oft nur mit J.A.L. Waddell benannt, war Bau-Ingenieur und ein erfolgreicher Brückenbauer, mit mehr als 1000 ihm zugeordneten Bauten in den USA, Canada, Mexico, Russland, China, Japan, und Neuseeland.
Waddell’s Arbeit setzte Standards für Hochbahn-Systeme und half Materialien zu entwickeln, die für Brücken mit hoher Spannweite geeignet waren.
Sein bedeutendster Beitrag war die Entwicklung der dampfgetriebenen Hubbrücken. Diese Erfindung wurde erstmals 1893 bei der Hubbrücke über den Chicago-Fluss an der South Halsted Strasse eingesetzt, mehr als 100 weiterer solcher Brücken wurden gebaut. Waddell war ein anerkannter Autor zur Thematik Brückenbau und ein Verfechter der qualitativen Ingenieur-Ausbildung. Viele seiner noch existierenden Brücken werden als historischer Wegweiser betrachtet.
Waddell wurde in Port Hope, Ontario, Canada 1854 geboren. Sein Vater wurde in Newry, Irland geboren und immigrierte 1831 im Alter von 16 Jahren nach Canada.
J.A.L. besuchte eine Handelsschule in Toronto und erwarb seinen ersten Titel als Bau-Ingenieur 1875 am Rensselaer Polytechnischem Institut in Troy, New York. Kurz darauf reiste er nach Canada, um im Marine-Ministerium zu arbeiten, um danach bei der kanadischen Pazifik-Eisenbahn tätig zu sein.
Er kehrte in die USA zurück, wo er in West Virginia im Kohle-Bergbau tätig war. 1878 ging er wieder an das Institut von Rensselaer und lehrte bis 1880 technische Mechanik. Danach arbeitete er einige Zeit bei der Firma Raymond & Campbell in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

Er nahm ein Angebot der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Erziehung, an und unterzeichnete einen Vertrag als FE. Sein Vertrag lief vom 20.08.1882 bis 19.08.1885, wurde aber bis 1886 verlängert. Er verließ Japan wieder am 12.04.1886. Während dieser Zeit lehrte er an der Universität von Tokyo, Fakultät Bauwesen, Spezialgebiet Brücken- und Bahnlinienbau und publizierte auch 1885 sein Werk "System of Iron Railroad Bridges for Japan", eines seiner vielen Werke als Autor zum Brückenbau.

Nach seiner Rückkehr in die USA gründete er 1887 eine neue Konstruktionsfirma und ließ sich in Kansas City, Missouri nieder. Diese Firma existiert heute noch und firmiert unter Hardesty & Hanover.
Obwohl die erste Hubbrücke in Chicago bereits 1893 nach der Konstruktion von Waddell fertiggestellt wurde, musste die zweite auf die 1907 geschlossene Partnerschaft mit Maschinenbau-Ingenieur John Lyle Harrington warten. Die Firma Waddell & Harrington konstruierte mehr als zwei Dutzend vertikaler Hubbrücken innerhalb der nächsten 5 Jahre, bevor die Partnerschaft 1914 wieder gelöst wurde.
1920 zog Waddell nach New York, N. Y., und beriet verschiedene Projekte einschließlich der Goethals Brücke und der Marine Parkway Brücke.

Seine Schwester Josephine Eliza Waddell heiratete am 01.10.1885 Archibald Francis Macnab in Tokyo.
15.01.1854 at Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
03.03.1938 in New York, USA

John Alexander Low Waddell, often shortened to J.A.L. Waddell, was a civil engineer and prolific bridge designer, with more than a thousand structures to his credit in the USA, Canada, Mexico, Russia, China, Japan, and New Zealand.
Waddell’s work set standards for elevated railroad systems and helped develop materials suitable for large span bridges.
His most important contribution was the development of the steam-powered high-lift bridge. His design was first used in 1893 for Chicago's South Halsted Street Lift-Bridge over the Chicago River; he went on to design more than 100 other movable bridges. Waddell was a widely respected writer on bridge design, and an advocate of quality training of engineers. Many of Waddell's surviving bridges are now considered historic landmarks.

Waddell was born in Port Hope, Ontario, Canada in 1854. His father was born in Newry, Ireland and immigrated to Canada in 1831, aged 16.
J. A. L. attended a business college in Toronto and obtained his first degree in civil engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York in 1875, and soon traveled to Canada to work with that country's Marine Department of the Dominion before spending some time with the Canadian Pacific Railway.
He returned to the United States where he designed mines for a West Virginian coal company. In 1878, he returned to the Rensselaer Institute and taught mechanics courses until 1880. Afterwards he spent some time working at the Raymond & Campbell firm in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

He accepted an offer of the Japanese government and signed a contract with the Ministry of Education as foreign employee. His contract ran from August 20, 1882 to August 19, 1885 but it was prolonged until 1886. He left Japan again on April 12, 1886. During this period he taught at the Tokyo Imperial University, Department of Civil Engineering, specialized in railroad and bridge design and he also published his work "System of Iron Railroad Bridges for Japan" in 1885, one of his many works as author on bridge design.

After his return to the USA he founded a new design company in 1887 and established himself in Kansas City, Missouri. That company continues to exist today as Hardesty & Hanover.
While the city of Chicago was the first to build a lift bridge of Waddell's design, completed in 1893, the second had to wait for his partnership with mechanical engineer John Lyle Harrington, formed in 1907. The firm of Waddell & Harrington designed more than two dozen vertical lift bridges over the next five years before dissolving their partnership in 1914.
In 1920, Waddell moved to New York, N. Y., and consulted on various projects there including the Goethals Bridge and Marine Parkway Bridge.

His sister Josephine Eliza Waddell married Archibald Francis Macnab on October 1, 1885 in Tokyo.
___
/ P II / IR / FE-T /
WAGEN
Johann Friedrich





Er kam 1875 nach Japan und wurde von Bavier & Co., Yokohama # 76, angestellt. Auch im Jahr 1876 arbeitete er noch für Bavier & Co. Im folgenden Jahr 1877 kam auch sein Bruder Conrad nach Japan und sie gründeten gemeinsam eine Firma.
Sie firmierten unter Wagen Freres, Yokohama Wein Depot, Yokohama # 55 und ab 1882 in # 57. Außerdem übernahmen sie die Alleinvertretung für Japan und China für die französische Weinfirma Schroeder & de Constans aus Bordeaux, die noch heute existiert.
Privat lebten sie zusammen in Yokohama # 23 Bluff.
Wagen Freres entwickelte sich positiv und sie übernahmen die Vertretung für weitere Firmen und Versicherungen.
Auch der Mitarbeiterstamm wuchs. 1890 traten jedoch bedeutende Veränderungen ein. Conrad Wagen verließ die Firma, der Firmensitz wurde nach Yokohama # 163 verlegt. Johann Friedrich Wagen firmierte zuerst unter seinen Namen, Import-Export Kaufmann und ab 1903 unter John F. Wagen & Co., Nachfolger Wagen Freres.
Im Jahr 1904 wird Raymund J. F.WAGEN, der vermutlich sein Sohn war, als Partner von Wagen & Co. gelistet.
Ab 1907 existierte jedoch Wagen & Co. nicht mehr in Japan. Johann F. und Raymund Wagen haben Japan verlassen.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte aus Yokohama, 23.05.1886, nach Frankreich – Absender „Wagen Freres“

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte aus Yokohama, 16.10.1895, nach Deutschland – Absender „John F. Wagen“

Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte aus Yokohama, 09.07.1903, nach Frankreich – Absender „John F. Wagen“, neuer Firmenstempel
- Postcard from Yokohama, 09-07-1903, to France – Sender “John F. Wagen”, new company stamp



He came to Japan in 1875 and was employed by Bavier & Co., Yokohama # 76. Also in 1876, he worked for Bavier & Co. In the following year, his brother Conrad came to Japan. too, and they founded together a company.

They operated under Wagen Freres, Yokohama Wine Depot, Yokohama # 55, and as of 1882 at # 57. They also took over the sole agency for Japan and China for the French wine company Messr. Schroeder & de Constans from Bordeaux, which still exists today.
Privately they resided together in Yokohama # 23 Bluff.
Wagen Freres developed positively and they took over the agency for further firms and insurance companies.
The company's staff also grew. In 1890, however, significant changes took place. Conrad Wagen left the company, the company was transferred to Yokohama # 163. Johann Friedrich Wagen first operated under his name, Import and Export Merchant and as of 1903 under John F. Wagen & Co., successor Wagen Freres.
In 1904, Raymund J. F.WAGEN, who was probably his son, was listed as a partner of Wagen & Co.

As of 1907, however, Wagen & Co. no longer existed in Japan. Johann F. and Raymund have left Japan.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postcard from Yokohama, 23-05-1886, to France – Sender “Wagen Freres”

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postcard from Yokohama, 16-10-1895, to Germany – Sender “John F. Wagen”

Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Postkarte aus Yokohama, 14.05.1905, nach Deutschland – Absender „John F. Wagen & Co.“, ergänzter Firmenstempel
- Postcard from Yokohama, 14-05-1905, to Germany – Sender “John F. Wagen & Co.”, revised company stamp
___
/ P II / CH / TR /
WAGENER
Gottfried
1831 – 1892

[WAGNER]







Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Denkmal - 1937 - Monument
Gottfried Wagener


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Streifband für Wetterbericht vom 10.03.1888 an Dr. G. Wagener, Tokyo

Weather Report Wrapper posted 10.03.1888 to Dr. G. Wagener, Tokyo








05.07.1831 in Hannover
08.11.1892 in Tokyo

Dr.; er studierte die Fächer Mathematik, Physik, Geologie, Mechanik und Kristallographie von 1849 bis 1851 an der Universität Göttingen, dann kurz in Berlin. Im August 1852 promovierte er zum Doktor der Philosophie in Göttingen. Danach lebte er als Lehrer 7 Jahre in Frankreich und 4 Jahre in der Schweiz, wo er als Lehrer an einer technischen Lehranstalt in La Chaux-de-Fonds tätig war.
Er ergriff sofort die Möglichkeit, als ihm auf Vermittlung von Rudolf Lindau eine Anstellung bei Walsh & Co. als technischer Berater für eine in Nagasaki zu errichtende Seifenfabrik angeboten wurde. Er kam am 15.05.1868 an, das geplante Projekt scheiterte jedoch. Wagener hatte begonnen, sich während seiner Tätigkeit in Kyūshū mit dem Kohlebergbau und der Porzellanmanufaktur in Arita zu beschäftigen. Auf Einladung der Familie Nabeshima, Saga han, reiste er nach Arita, wo er als Berater in Fragen der Keramik- und Porzellanherstellung Ende März 1870 tätig wurde. In erster Linie bemühte er sich, die Feuerung der Brennöfen von der immer knapper und teurer werdenden Holzkohle auf Braunkohle aus den heimischen Revieren umzustellen. Ebenso wichtig waren seine Experimente mit oxydiertem Kobaltblau als Unterglasurfarbe.

Mit der Bildung der Präfekturen 1871 kam er nach Tokyo, wo er als Lehrer für Physik, Chemie und deutsche Sprache an die „Südschule“ Daigaku Nankō (früher Kaisei Gakkō), wo auch E. Knipping und J. Kaderly lehrten, 1872 dann an die „Ostschule“ Daigaku Tōkō (Medizinschule), beides Vorgänger der Kaiserlichen Universität Tokyo, berufen wurde. Er hatte einen Vertrag mit der Japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Erziehung,. für diese Tätigkeit abgeschlossen. Seit dieser Zeit hatte er kontinuierlich Verträge mit der japanischen Regierung, wo er als ausländischer Angestellter in den nachfolgend beschriebenen Funktionen tätig war.
Auf Betreiben von Ōkuma Shigenobu und Sano Tsunetami, dem späteren Gesandten Japans in Österreich-Ungarn, wurde er zum Berater der japanischen Regierung für die Wiener Weltausstellung 1873 bestellt. Diese wurde für Japan ein durchschlagender Erfolg. Auch für Wagener, konnte er doch das von ihm so geliebte japanische Kunsthandwerk präsentieren. Viele schöne Exponate wurden übrigens durch seine Vermittlung oder von ihm direkt an einige Museen verschenkt, so unter anderem eine vorzüglich sortierte Sammlung von Zimmermannswerkzeugen an das Völkerkundemuseum Leipzig und 62 Objekte von den Ainu sowie 19 aus Korea an das Berliner Museum für Völkerkunde. - Nach seiner Rückkehr Ende 1874 wurde er Lehrer an der neu eingericheteten Lehranstalt für Produktionslehre mit einem vierjährigen Lehrgang und 50 Studenten, die zur Tokyo-Kaisei-Gakkō gehörte und an der wenige Jahre vorher Hermann Ritter gewirkt hatte.
Gleichzeitig war er als Berater im Innenministerium zur Förderung der Industrie tätig. Hier widmete er sich der Verbesserung der Produktionstechniken und nahm sich besonders der Cloisonné-Erzeugung an. Er organisierte praktisch auch die photographische, die Seifen- und die Streichholzindustrie und den Bau von ovalen Ringöfen für Ziegeleien.
H. Ahrens & Co. organisierten 1875 in Kameido die Einrichtung einer Fabrik zur Herstellung von emaillierten Gegenstände, vor allem Cloisonné. In dieser Zeit war auch der Chemiker Gottfried Wagner eng mit H. Ahrens & Co. verbunden, der neue und helle Farben im Gegensatz zu den früheren dunklen Farben einführte.
1876 holte ihn die japanische Regierung nochmals, um die japanischen Teilnahme an der Weltausstellung in Philadelphia zu organisieren. Danach entstand eine Arbeit von ihm „Descriptive Notes of the Official Catalogue 1877“ zu dieser Ausstellung.
In dieser Zeit war die Lehranstalt für Produktionslehre nach kaum zwei Jahren Tätigkeit geschlossen und die Kaisei Gakkō aufgelöst und in die Kaiserliche Universität Tokyo überführt worden. Auf Grund dieser Ereignisse und des Seinan-Krieges 1877 wurde seine Tätigkeit beendet.
Im März 1878 trat er eine Lehrtätigkeit an der medizinischen Schule in Kyōto an mit Vorlesungen in Chemie und Physik. 1879 baute er eine Versuchswerkstatt für Keramik auf, wodurch er die Qualität der Cloisonné-Glasuren weiter verbessern konnte und an der lokalen Keramikherstellung des Kyō-yaki mitarbeitete.
1881 kehrte er nach Tokyo zurück und da Robert William Atkinson nach England zurückging, übernahm er den Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Chemie an der Kaiserlichen Universität Tokyo. - Sein Herz schlug für die Keramik und so nahm er gern den Auftrag des Ministeriums für Landwirtschaft und Handel an, Verbesserungsvorschläge für die Porzellan-Brennöfen auszuarbeiten. In Tokyo, Ushigome errichtete er einen ersten Prototyp des später als „Wagener-Typ“ bekannte Brennofens mit Kohlefeuerung und erzeugte dort selbst geformtes und dekoriertes Porzellan, das er Wagatsuma-yaki, später Asahi-yaki nannte. - Er beendete seine Tätigkeit an der Tokyo Universität, als die erste japanische Berufsschule Shokkō Gakkō ihn rief und am 25.11.1884 zum Professor auf den Lehrstuhl für Keramik und Glas ernannte.
Hier unterrichtete er auch den späteren Chefingenieur der Matsumura Porzellanfabrik in Nagoya, Asukai Kotarō, der daraufhin 1896-98 in Deutschland seine Studien fortsetzte. Wagener widmete den Rest seines Lebens der Keramik-Industrie. Er besuchte alle bedeutenden Produktionsstätten von traditioneller Keramik und Porzellan, studierte die Brenntechniken und analysierte die verschiedenen Tonerden. Selbst als er 1890 kurz nach Deutschland ging, um ein Rheumatismusleiden zu kurieren, sah er sich nach neuen Erkenntnissen und technischen Verbesserungen um, diese konnte er jedoch nicht mehr umsetzen. Er kehrte Anfang 1892 nach Japan zurück, im November 1892 verstarb er jedoch im Alter von 62 Jahren in seinem Junggesellenhaus in Kanda Surugadai und wurde auf eigenen Wunsch auf der Ausländerabteilung des Aoyama-Friedhofes in Tokyo bestattet, in der Nähe des heutigen Sitzes der OAG, als deren Vorsitzender er 1883 bis 1886 tätig gewesen war.
1937, 45 Jahre nach seinem Tod, wurde ihm in der Technischen Universität in Tokyo ein Denkmal zur Erinnerung an seine Leistungen gesetzt.
05.07.1831 in Hannover
08.11.1892 in Tokyo

Dr; he studied mathematics, physics, geology, mechanics and crystallography from 1849 to 1851 at the University of Goettingen and then briefly in Berlin. In August 1852 he attained a doctorate of philosophy in Goettingen. Afterwards he lived for 7 years in France and 4 years in Switzerland working at La Chaux-de-Fonds as a teacher of a technical facility.
Through the mediation of his friend Rudolf Lindau he was offered an employment with Walsh & Co. in Nagasaki to work as a technical consultant for a soap factory to be built in Nagasaki and he immediately seized this opportunity. He arrived in Japan on 15.05.1868, the planned project, however, failed. During his activity in Kyūshū Wagener had started to employ himself with the coal mining and the porcelain manufactory at Arita. On invitation of the Nabeshima family of the Saga han he travelled to Arita at the end of March 1870 to work as a consultant covering the the ceramic and porcelain production. First and foremost he endeavoured after the heating of the kilns changing it from the scarce and expensive charcoal to brown coal from local areas. His experiments with oxidized cobalt blue as underglaze colour proved to be very important for the future development.
With the formation of prefectures in 1871 he came to Tokyo. He was appointed as teacher of physics, chemistry and German to the "South School" Daigaku Nankō (former Kaisei Gakkō), where also E. Knipping and J. Kaderly taught, and in 1872 to the "East School" Daigaku Tōkō (medical school), both predecessors of the Imperial University of Tokyo. He signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Education for these employments. And since this time he had continuously contracts with the Japanese government working as Foreign Employee in various functions described below.

At the instigation of Ōkuma Shigenobu and Sano Tsunetami who later became Envoy Extraordinary of Austro-Hungary, he was appointed consultant of the Japanese government for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873. This became a formidable success for Japan just as for Wagener; he could present his beloved Japanese arts and craft. Many beautiful exhibits were presented to some museums by way of his mediation or directly by him, so among others an excellently sorted collection of carpenter tools to the Museum of Ethnology in Leipzig and 62 Ainu objects as well as 19 from Korea to the Museum of Ethnology in Berlin.

After his return at the end of 1874 he became a teacher at the newly established Production Training School with a four-year course and 50 students which was part of the Tokyo-Kaisei Gakkō where Hermann Ritter also worked a few years ago.
Simultaneous he was active in the Home Department as a consultant for the promotion and development of the industry. He devoted himself to the improvement of production techniques and took especially care of the Cloisonné production. He also organized practically the photographic, soap and matches industries and introduced the construction of oval ring stoves for brickworks.

In 1875 H. Ahrens & Co. organized the establishment of a factory in Kameido to produce enamel goods, primarily Cloisonné to be exported until 1879. The chemist Gottfried Wagener was closely connected with H. Ahrens & Co. in this matter and he introduced new and bright colours in contrast to the earlier dark colours.
In 1876 the Japanese government contracted him again to organize the Japanese participation in the World Exhibition in Philadelphia. Afterwards his work on this exhibiton “Descriptive Notes of The Official Catalogue 1877" was published.
In the meantime the Production Training School had been closed after hardly two years of activity and the Kaisei Gakkō was transferred into the Imperial University of Tokyo. Due to these occurrences and the Seinan war in 1877 he was dismissed.
In March 1878 he went to Kyoto to lecture on chemistry and physics at the medical school. In 1879 he built up an experimental workshop for ceramics thus further improving the quality of Cloisonné glazes and he also collaborated in the local ceramic production of the Kyō-yaki.
Wagener returned to Tokyo in 1881 and as Robert William Atkinson had fulfilled his contract and left for England, he was appointed to the chair of applied chemistry at the Imperial University of Tokyo.
He was very concerned about ceramics and for this reason he gladly accepted the order of the Ministry of Agriculture and Commerce to work out suggestions for the improvement of porcelain kilns.
In Tokyo, Ushigome he set up the first prototype of a kiln with coal firing later known as "Wagener - Type" and he produced there porcelain personally formed and decorated, named Wagatsuma-yaki, later Asahi-yaki.
He finished his activity at the Tokyo university when he got an offer of the first Japanese vocational school Shokkō Gakkō and he was appointed on 25.11.1884 as professor to the chair of ceramics and glass.
During this period he also taught the later chief engineer of the Matsumura Porcelain Factory Nagoya, Asukai Kotarō, he continued his studies from 1896 - 98 in Germany.
Wagener dedicated the rest of his life to the ceramics industry. He went to all important production centres of traditional ceramics and porcelain, studied burning techniques and analysed the different alumina.
Even when he went to Germany to cure his rheumatism he looked around for new knowledge and technical improvements; he couldn't, however, realize these any more.

At the beginning of 1892 he returned to Japan, in November 1892, however, he died in his bachelor house in Kanda Surugadai aged 62 years.
He was buried on his own request at the foreigner division of the Aoyama cemetery in Tokyo nearby today's seat of the OAG whose chairman he had been from 1883 to 1886.

In 1937, 45 years after his death a monument was set up in the Technical University of Tokyo commemorating his merits.
___
/ P II – III / DE / FE-ED /
WALES
Alice
1862 -









Nach dem Tod Ihres Mannes kam sie 1881 nach Japan und wurde im Modewaren-Geschäft von Frau Hodges, Yokohama # 83 angestellt. Sie arbeitete in dem Geschäft, bis es 1885 schloss. Danach betrieb Alice Wales das Yokohama Hotel in Yokohama # 70, 1887 verlegte sie es in die # 52.
1889 verkaufte sie das Hotel an C. Heldt, der den Namen in Japan Hotel veränderte.
Von 1889 bis 1894 ist sie als Einwohner von Yokohama # 128 gelistet. Am 27.10.1894 heiratete sie George Alfred Savory in der Christ Kirche von Yokohama. Danach wird sie nicht mehr in Japan geführt.



After the death of her husband she came to Japan in 1881 and was employed in the Millinery Store, Yokohama # 83 of Mrs. Hodges. She worked for her until 1885 when she closed the millinery store. Then Alice Wales operated the Yokohama Hotel, Yokohama # 70, in 1887 it moved to # 52.
In 1889 she sold it to C. Heldt who changed the name to Japan Hotel.
From 1889 until 1894 she is listed as resident of Yokohama # 128. On October 27, 1894 she married George Alfred Savory at the Christ Church, Yokohama.
Afterwards she is not listed any more in Japan.
___
/ P II / GB / SER /
WALKE
Henry
1809 – 1896







Für Vergrößerung klicken
Bay of Wodowara-Lithography by Walke & Brown

24.12.1809 in Princess Anne County, Virginia
08.03.1896 in Brooklyn

Am 01.02.1827 trat er der US Marine bei und wurde bis 1839 zum Leutnant befördert. Er diente unter Commodore Perry im mexikanischen Krieg. Es gibt einige Zweifel, ob H. Walke an der Perry-Expedition nach Japan überhaupt teilgenommen hat. Er steht nicht auf der Offiziersliste des Abschlußberichtes, allerdings findet man seine künstlerischen Arbeiten in dem Bericht. - Im Jahr 1862 wurde Walke zum Kapitän befördert, 1870 zum Admiral. 1871 zog er sich von der Armee zurück. Walke schrieb ein Buch über den mexikanischen Krieg und über den Bürgerkrieg und beide Bücher wurden von ihm illustriert. Das Buch über den mexikanischen Krieg enthält eine hochwertige Lithographie von der Dampferfregatte „Mississippi“ in stürmischer See. Das ist das Flagschiff von Commodore Perry bei der Öffnung Japans.
Anmerkung:
Künstler begleiteten die Expedition und hielten Ansichten von Plätzen und Menschen in Wasserfarben und Daguerrotyp-Fotos fest. Diese waren dann die Grundlage für getönte und Farblithographien, die von verschiedenen Druckereien hergestellt wurden und die u. a. auch dem offiziellen Bericht der Expedition zugegeben wurden. Diese Lithographien widerspiegeln das, was Perry und seine Männer gesehen haben. Der deutsche Maler Wilhelm Heine war der offizielle Künstler der Expedition, Eliphalet M. Brown der offizielle Fotograf ( Daguerreotypist ). Viele der Lithographien wurden von den Daguerreotyp-Fotos von Brown hergestellt, d. h., der Künstler malte ein Bild von einem Foto und dieses wurde in eine Lithographie umgewandelt, so dass die Lithographien oftmals mit „Künstler“& Brown signiert sind. Solche Beispiele gibt es auch von dem berühmten Flottenoffizier, Autor und Künstler, Henry Walke.
24.12.1809 at Princess Anne County, Virginia
08.03.1896 in Brooklyn

On February 1, 1827, he entered the US Navy as a midshipman and advanced to lieutenant in 1839. Henry Walke served under Commodore Perry in the Mexican War. There are some doubts as to whether Walke accompanied the expedition to Japan at all. He is not mentioned on the listing of officers in the Narrative. However, several of his artistic works are found in the Narrative.
Walke was promoted to Captain in 1862 and to Rear Admiral in 1870. He retired in 1871.
Walke authored a book on the Mexican War and a book on the Civil War and both are illustrated with his art works. The book on the Mexican War has a highly prized lithography of the Steam Frigate Mississippi in stormy seas. This is the flagship of Commodore Perry during his Expedition to open Japan.
Remark:
Artists accompanied the expedition and views of places and people were kept in water-colours and daguerrotype photos. Thus, these were the basis for toned and coloured lithographs produced by different printers and these lithographs were also attached to the official narrative of the expedition. The artistic works reflect what Perry and his crew had seen. The German painter William Heine was the official artist of the expedition. Eliphalet M. Brown was the official photographer (daguerreotypist) during the journey. Many of the lithographs were produced on the base of the daguerreotype photos of Brown, i. e. the artist painted a picture based on the photo and this was converted into a lithograph so that the lithographs are signed often with "artist" & Brown. Such works exist also from the famous fleet officer, author and artist, Henry Walke.
___
/ P I / USA / MIL + ART /
WALKER - Family
(Captain)
William WALKER (Handelsschiff-Kapitän, später Gründung einer Schiffs-Versorgungs-und Reparaturfirma in Maryland)
und
Anne geb. Donald

Sie hatten die folgenden Kinder:

1. Wilson Walker (1845-1914), verheiratet mit Charlotte Henriette Noordhoek Hegt
1.1. Jeannie Walker heiratete Albert Taylor aus Shanghai wo sie auch lebten
1.2. Lily (ein Zwilling)
1.3. ???? (ein Zwilling) - Mädchen
1.4. D. L. Walker (Mädchen)
1.5 Willie (1882-1884)

2. Robert Neill Walker (1851-1941) verheiratet mit
Fukada Sato (1858-1894)
Sie hatten 9 Kinder = 7 geboren in Japan + 2 in GB
2.1. John R. Walker (* 1878), ältester Sohn
2.2. Robert Walker jr. (1881-1951), heiratete Shigeko Mabel McMillan
2.3. Annie Walker, heiratete 1900 E. G. Babbit
2.4. Margaret Walker, heiratete William Oscar Watts
2.5. Wilson Walker
2.6. Kate Walker
2.7. Maude Walker
2.8. Violet Walker
2.9. Gladys Walker

3. Anne Walker
William WALKER (a master mariner but later established himself in Maryport as a ship repairer and chandler)
and
Anne nee Donald

They had the following children:

1. Wilson Walker (1845-1914), married to
Charlotte Henriette Noordhoek Hegt
1.1. Jeannie Walker married Albert Taylor of Shanghai where they lived
1.2. Lily (one of twins)
1.3. ???? (one of twins) - girl
1.4. D. L. Walker (girl)
1.5 Willie (1882-1884)

2. Robert Neill Walker (1851-1941) married to
Fukada Sato (1858-1894)
They had 9 children = 7 born in Japan + 2 born in GB
2.1. John R. Walker (* 1878), eldest son
2.2. Robert Walker jr. (1881-1951), married to Shigeko Mabel McMIllan
2.3. Annie Walker, married in 1900 E. G. Babbit
2.4. Margaret Walker, married William Oscar Watts
2.5. Wilson Walker
2.6. Kate Walker
2.7. Maude Walker
2.8. Violet Walker
2.9. Gladys Walker

3. Anne Walker
WALKER - Family
(Forwarding Agent)

William Walker
heiratete
Catherine nee Sen

Sie hatten mehrere Kinder, die später auch in Japan lebten:

1. William Henry Walker
2. Thomas Taga Walker
3. Kate Kathleen (1895-1901)
4. Baldwin G. Walker verheiratet mit Soyo Maria, sie hatten drei Kinder, J. Maria, William und Harold.

Die gesamte Familie wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Yokohama bestattet.
William Walker
married with
Catherine nee Sen

They had several children, later living in Japan:

1. William Henry Walker
2. Thomas Taga Walker
3. Kate Kathleen (1895-1901)
4. Baldwin G. Walker married with Soyo Maria, they had three children, J. Maria, William and Harold.

All the family is buried in the Yokohama Foreigners' Cemetery.
WALKER
Baldwin G.
- 1955

[B. G.]

13.01.1955 in Yokohama

Sohn von William und Catherine Walker. Nach seiner Schulausbildung begann er 1907 für die Chartered Bank of India, Australia and China, Yokohama # 58 zu arbeiten. Er lebte immer in Japan und war mit einer Japanerin verheiratet (Soyo Maria Walker 1889-1962).

13.01.1955 in Yokohama

Son of William and Catherine Walker. After his basic education he started to work for the Chartered Bank of India, Australia and China, Yokohama # 58 in 1907. He always lived in Japan and also married a Japanese woman (Soyo Maria Walker 1889-1962).
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WALKER
F.









Er kam 1873 zusammen mit seiner Frau nach Japan, um für Shaw & Co., Kaufmann, Yokohama # 94 zu arbeiten, wo er bis 1878 tätig war. Von 1879 bis 1884 war er bei der Versicherungs-Agentur von Butterfield & Swire, Yokohama # 7 angestellt.
Frau F. Walker betrieb einen Wasch-Salon in der # 131 Yokohama, den sie aber 1878 in ihren privaten Bereich in die # 116 Yokohama verlegte, 1879 beendete sie das Geschäft. - 1885 werden sie nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.



In 1873 he came to Japan together with his wife to work with Shaw & Co., Merchants, Yokohama # 94, staying with this firm until 1878. From 1879 until 1884 he was employed with the famous company of Butterfield & Swire, Insurance Agency, Yokohama # 7.
Mrs. F. Walker run a Washing Establishment in Yokohama # 131, in 1878 she transferred it to their private residence in Yokohama # 116, she ceased this business in 1879.
In 1885 they are not listed any more in Japan.
___
/ P II / GB / TR /
WALKER
F. B.










Missionar. Er wurde von der Englischen Kirche, Gesellschaft zur Verbreitung des Evangeliums, nach Kobe delegiert, um als Lehrer an der Kenkō-Gijiku (Englische Missions- Schule) tätig zu sein. Diese Schule ist auch als Walker-Schule bekannt, benannt nach ihm als langjährigen Direktor. Die Schule gab Unterricht für ausländische Jungen in Kobe, auch für Chinesen und gemischter Rasse.
Er kam 1903 an, wurde zunächst Oberlehrer und bald darauf bis 1941 Schuldirektor, und nach 1950 erneut. Er löste den ersten Direktor Henry Hughes ab.
Die Englische Missions-Schule ist der Vorläufer der heutigen Internationalen Schule St. Michael in Kobe.



Missionary. He was dispatched by the English Church, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel to Kobe as teacher at the Kenkō-Gijiku (English Mission School). This school was also known as the Walker School, named after him as long-time headmaster. The school provided education for foreign boys in Kobe, including Chinese and those of mixed race.
He arrived in 1903 and became master and soon after headmaster until 1941 and again after 1950. He succeeded the first headmaster Henry Hughes.
The English Mission School is the predecessor of today’s St. Michael’s International School in Kobe.
___
/ P III / GB / MIS /
WALKER
F. D.








Kapitän. Er kam 1869 nach Japan und gründete seine eigene Firma unter F. D. Walker & Co., Schiffsmakler, Yokohama # 24. 1870 zog er nach # 23 und 1871 in die # 71 Yokohama, wo er bis zur Auflösung seiner Firma 1873 blieb. Er übernahm eine Tätigkeit bei der japanischen Regierung, der Vertrag lief vom 17.12.1873 bis 16.03.1874, wo er für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. arbeitete.
Später wird er nicht mehr gelistet, seine Frau lebte allerdings in Yokohama noch bis 1886.



Captain. He came to Japan in 1869 and established his own business under F. D. Walker & Co., Shipbrokers, Yokohama # 24. In 1870 he moved to Yokohama # 23, in 1871 to # 71 where he stayed until 1873 when he ceased his business to take over an employment with the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. as chief engineer from December 17, 1873 to March 16, 1874.
Later he is not listed any more, but his wife resided privately in Yokohama until 1886.
___
/ P I – II / GB / TR + (3 Mon.) /
WALKER
Geoge W.


[G.]
[Geo.]







Kapitän. Er kam 1875 nach Japan und wohnte zunächst in Tokyo Mikura-bashi, Moto Kinemoncho, Ichome # 10. Er unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung und arbeitete in der Zentrale von der Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. in Tokyo als Assistent für Superintendent Kapitän G. S. Burdis. Als sich im September 1885 die Kyōdō Unyū Kaisha (Union Steam Navigation Co.) und die Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. zusammenschlossen, um die Yūsen Kaisha (NYK) zu gründen, wurde sein Vertrag als Superintendent verlängert. Er arbeitete im Büro des Kapitäns bis 1888; privat wohnte er in Yokohama # 63 Bluff bis 1886, in # 40 Bluff 1887 und in # 9 Bluff 1888.



Captain. He arrived in Japan in 1875 and resided in Tokyo Mikura-bashi, Moto Kinemoncho, Ichome # 10. He signed a contact with the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co., Head Office, Tokyo as Assistant to the Superintendent Captain G. S. Burdis. When the Kyōdō Unyū Kaisha (Union Steam Navigation Co.) and the Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. merged in September 1885 to form Nippon Yūsen Kaisha (NYK) his contract was prolonged.
As Superintendent of the Captain’s Department he stayed from 1885 until 1888, privately living in Yokohama # 63 Bluff until 1886, # 40 Bluff in 1887 and # 9 Bluff in 1888.
___
/ P II / GB / FE-T-SH (160 Mon.) /
WALKER
John








Ingenieur. Er unterzeichnete mit der japanischen Regierungeinen Vertrag und arbeitete für die Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. als Ingenieur. Sein erster Vertrag lief vom 01.02.1877 bis 31.01.1878, er war als Chef-Ingenieur auf der Heian-maru angestellt. Sein Vertrag wurde jährlich verlängert, 1881 wurde er auf die Tagonoura-maru versetzt und 1883 wurde er Vorarbeiter in den Osaka Iron Works & Dock Co. (Eisenwerke und Dock).
Danach wurde er nicht mehr in Japan gelistet.



Engineer. He signed a contract with the Japanese government to work for the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. as an engineer. His first contract ran from February 1, 1877 until January 31, 1878, he was occupied as chief engineer on the Heia-maru. His contract was prolonged yearly, in 1881 he was transferred to the Tagonoura-maru and in 1883 he was appointed foreman in the Iron Works & Dock Co. of Osaka.
Afterwards he was not listed any more in Japan.
___
/ P II / GB / FE-T-SH (72 Mon.) /
WALKER
John R.
1878 -




1878 in Nagasaki


Er war der älteste Sohn von Robert Neill Walker und er war sein ganzes Leben lang unberechenbar, sein Vater zweifelte immer wieder an seinem Verhalten. Als er mit seinem Vater und Geschwistern 1897 aus GB zurückkehrte, begann er in der Kobe Niederlassung von Sale & Co. zu arbeiten. Als sich die Firma seines Vaters 1898 stabilisiert hatte, arbeitete er für R. N. Walker & Co. in Nagasaki, wo er bis 1906 gelistet ist. - Danach ist nichts weiter über ihn bekannt.
1878 in Nagasaki


He was the eldest son of Robert Neill Walker and all his life he had been unpredictable, irritating his father by doing occasional work. When he returned with his father and siblings from GB in 1897 he started to work with Sale & Co., Merchants, in their branch in Kobe # 46. When his father’s company had stabilized in 1898, he was employed with R. N. Walker & Co. in Nagasaki where he is listed until 1906.
Later traces are not known.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WALKER
Robert jun.
1881 - 1958










Für Vergrößerung klicken
Shigeko Mabel + Robert jr. Walker
























20.08.1881 in Nagasaki
22.08.1958 in Nagasaki

Robert jun. wurde als zweiter Sohn von Kapitän Robert N. Walker in Nagasaki geboren. Aufgrund des unglücklichen Unfalls 1891 mit der Takachiho-maru verließ die Familie Nagasaki und sie lebten dann in Maryport, GB wo er seine erste Ausbildung erhielt. 1897 kehrte der Vater mit seinen Kindern nach Nagasaki zurück und kaufte eine Schiffsbe- und -entlade-Firma, die unter R. N. Walker & Co. firmierte. Robert begann eine Art Lehre bei Hutchison & Co., Kaufmann, in deren Niederlassung in Kobe. Als sich die Firma seines Vaters stabilisiert hatte, arbeitete er ab 1898 in dessen Firma. Im Dezember 1904 gründete sein Vater die "Banzai Getränke-Fabrik" in der # 44 Sagarimatsu und im Juli 1906 wurde Robert jun. als Leiter von R.N. Walker & Co. beim örtlichen Gericht von Nagasaki bestellt. Im Februar 1908 unterzeichnete sein Vater mit ihm und David Jamieson eine neue Partnerschaft, in dem er seinen finanziellen Anteil sicherte, effektiv aber die Leitung seinem Sohn übertrug. Am 29.04.1908 verließen sein Vater mit Familie Japan und so war er der letzte Walker in Nagasaki.
1917 hatte Robert jun. die Banzai Getränke-Fabrik geschlossen und alle Ausrüstungen an eine japanische Firma verkauft. Er bewarb sich um eine japanische Einbürgerung, die ihm offiziell am 02.06.1928 gewährt wurde. Nun war sein offizieller Name "Uoka Robato”.
1929 hatte er sein Büro in das frühere Gebäude des deutschen Konsulats (seit dem I. WK geschlossen) auf dem Bund # 11 Ōura verlegt. Im Juni 1929 kehrte R. N. Walker zum letzten Mal nach Nagasaki zurück, der Grund war im wesentlichen die Übertragung der Firmenanteile von R. N. Walker & Co. an seinen Sohn Robert jun.
Da in den 1930er Jahren eine Vielzahl ausländischer Bewohner ständig abwanderten, konzentrierte er sich wieder auf seine Speditionsfirma und versorgte ausländische Schiffe. Außerdem fertigte er "Überprüfungsberichte" an (Beurteilungen des Zustandes der Import-Ware bei Schiffsankunft) und übernahm Aufgaben für Nagasaki-Firmen, wie z. B. Holme, Ringer & Co. und Sawayama Shōkai. Auch im persönlichen Leben traten Veränderungen ein, er heiratete 1937 Shigeko Mabel McMillan, eine britisch-japanische Frau aus Nagasaki.
Die Spannung wuchs zusehends, zum Herbst 1941 hatten fast alle Ausländer sich entschlossen, ihr Geschäft aufzugeben und Japan zu verlassen. Als eingebürgerter Japaner konnte Robert bleiben, als aber am 08.12.1941 die Nachricht des Angriffs auf Pearl Harbour nach Nagasaki kam, mußte er sein Geschäft schließen und sein Firmenschild entfernen, da es die Schrift des Feindes trug.
Während der Kriegsjahre ertrug er und seine Familie geduldig die Schikanen der Militärpolizei und die Abneigung der Nachbarn. In seinem Garten # 28 b Minamiyamate sah er ein Licht wie ein Blitz und, einige Sekunden später, pulverisierte eine gewaltige Explosion die Stadt und blies die Dachziegel von seinem Haus. Robert war einer der wenigen Augenzeugen des Atombomben-Abwurfs in einer Entfernung von nur 4 km, der diesen am Boden sah und unverletzt überlebt hatte.
Nach dem Krieg zogen sich Robert und Mabel mit ihren Söhnen Albert und Dennis zurück. Robert wurde eine Art "Einsiedler", er gab die Hoffnung auf, R. N. Walker & Co. wieder zu beleben. Sein Tod 1958 im Alter von 77 Jahren wurde nicht einmal in der Presse erwähnt. Mabel und ihre Söhne bauten ein neues Haus 1974 auf dem Minamiyamate Grundstück und ein Teil des alten Hauses wurde im "Glover Garten" restauriert, als die Stadtverwaltung diese Touristen-Attraktion eröffnete. Das Haus existiert heute noch dort.
Shigeko Mabel, die 23 Jahre jünger als Robert Walker jun. war, folgte ihrem Ehemann am 02.12.1996 im Alter von 92 Jahren.
20.08.1881 in Nagasaki
22.08.1958 in Nagasaki

Robert jr. was born in Nagasaki, the second son of Captain Robert N. Walker. Due to an unfortunate accident in 1891 with the Takachiho-maru the family left Nagasaki and they lived in Maryport, GB, where he received his early education. In 1897 the father returned with all the children and he bought a stevedores, landing, shipping and forwarding business, renaming it R. N. Walker & Co. He started a kind of apprenticeship with Hutchison & Co., Merchants, in their Kobe Branch. When his father’s company had stabilized he joined this company in 1898. In December 1904, Robert N. Walker established the "Banzai Aerated Water Factory" at # 44 Sagarimatsu and in July 1906, he was named manager of R.N. Walker & Co. with the Nagasaki Local Court. In February 1908 Robert N. signed a new partnership agreement with Robert and his longtime colleague David Jamieson, keeping a financial interest but in effect relinquishing control of the company to his son. On April 29, 1908 his father and family left Japan and thus being the only Walker family member left in Nagasaki.
Robert jr. had closed the Banzai Aerated Water Factory in 1917 and sold all the manufacturing equipment to a Japanese company. He applied for naturalization and was officially granted Japanese nationality on June 2, 1928. Now his legal name was not Robert Walker but "Uoka Robato”.
In 1929 he had moved his office to the former premises of the German Consulate (closed since World War I) on the Bund at # 11 Ōura. In June 1929, his father R.N. Walker returned to Nagasaki for the last time, chiefly to sign a resolution transferring all his interests in R.N. Walker & Co. to Robert jr.
While the number of foreign residents continued to decrease in the 1930s, he concentrated on the stevedore business, supplying foreign vessels with provisions and undertaking "survey reports" (evaluation of the condition of the import cargo on arriving ships) and other tasks commissioned by Nagasaki companies like Holme, Ringer & Co. and Sawayama Shōkai. There had also been a significant change in his personal life: he had married a British-Japanese native of Nagasaki named Shigeko Mabel McMillan in 1937.
The atmosphere was growing increasingly tense. By the autumn of 1941, almost all the foreign residents had chosen to close their businesses and depart overseas. As a naturalized Japanese, Robert was able to remain, but on December 8, 1941 when news of the Japanese surprise attack on Pearl Harbor reached Nagasaki, he was forced to close his office and to take down the R.N. Walker & Co. sign because it was written in the language of the enemy.
During the war years Robert and his family patiently endured the harassment of the military police and the cold attitude of their neighbors. In his garden at # 28b Minamiyamate he saw a light like a flash and, a few seconds later, a tremendous explosion pulverized the city and blew the ceramic tiles off the roof of his house. Robert was one of a small number of witnesses from a distance of only four kilometers, who saw the atomic bomb explosion from the ground and survived unharmed.
After the war Robert and Mabel settled into quiet retirement with their sons Albert and Dennis. Robert became somewhat of a recluse, abandoning his hope to revive R.N. Walker & Co. His death in 1958 at the age of 77 was not even mentioned in the Nagasaki newspapers. Mabel and her sons built a new house on the Minamiyamate property in 1974, and part of the old house was restored in “Glover Garden” when the Nagasaki city government built that tourist facility nearby. The house is still there today.
Shigeko Mabel, who was 23 years younger than Robert Walker jr., followed her husband on December 2, 1996 aged 92 years.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WALKER
Robert Neill
1851 - 1941









Für Vergrößerung klicken
R. N. Walker - Family


Für Vergrößerung klicken










































27.04.1851 in Maryport, Cumberland, GB
24.04.1941 in Victoria, BC, Canada

Bruder von Wilson Walker. Ausgehend vom Elternhaus fuhr auch er frühzeitig zur See und wurde später Kapitän auf einem Handelsschiff.
Sein erster Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung lief vom Juni 1873 bis Juni 1874 als ausländischer Angestellter für Mitsubishi Co. Er erscheint in der Mitsubishi-Liste zum ersten Mal 1874 als erster Offizier auf der Horai-maru, sein Bruder Wilson Walker war Kapitän auf demselben Schiff.
Robert N. Walker erhielt sein Kapitänspatent von der japanischen Regierung 1876 und dann wurde er als Kapitän auf der Heian-maru eingesetzt. 1877 lernte er Fukuda Sato aus Tokyo kennen, als sie 1878 ihr erstes Kind gebar, war sie 21 Jahre alt. Auf der Heian-maru war er bis 1878 als Kapitän im Dienst, dann auf der Urada-maru (1879-81). Als die Kyōdō Unyū Kaisha (Union Steam Navigation Co.) und die Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. im September 1885 fusionierten und Nippon Yūsen Kaisha (NYK) gegründet wurde, war er Kapitän auf der Hiogo-maru. Im März 1886 erhielt er den Auftrag von der NHK-Leitung, die Takachiho-maru zu übernehmen. Diese Berufung führte ihn zum ersten Mal nach Nagasaki. Ende 1886 kaufte er das im westlichen Stil gebaute Haus in der # 31 Minamiyamate und er zog mit seiner Frau Sato und den Kindern nach Nagasaki. Er wurde ein prominenter Bewohner in der ausländischen Niederlassung von Nagasaki und ein hoch angesehener Kapitän, der auf japanischen Gewässern arbeitete.
Am 11.05.1891 ereignete sich ein tragischer Unfall, als er auf einen Felsen vor der Insel Tsushima mit der Takachiho-maru auflief. Vergeblich versuchte er das Schiff zu bergen. Ende Juli mußte er wegen des Unfalls nach Tokyo zu einer Anhörung vor Gericht. Am 17.08.1891 erklärte das Gericht den 1. Offizier für schuldig, das Unglück verschuldet zu haben und verurteilte ihn zu 3 Monaten Dienstverbot. Kapitän Walker wurde für schuldig befunden, seine Kapitänsaufgaben vernachlässigt zu haben und entzog ihm die Lizenz für 6 Monate, hinterlegt im Marine-Büro von Tokyo. Pein und Kummer veranlaßten seine Frau Sato mit den nun sieben Kindern Nagasaki zu verlassen, nur eine Woche nach dem Urteil zog sie nach Yokohama. Das Haus in der # 31 Minamiyamate wurde an Morris A. Ginsburg verkauft und er entschloss sich, Japan zu verlassen und nach Maryport, GB zurückzukehren. Am 22.05.1894 starb Sato Walker in Maryport im Alter von 36 Jahren. Sie hinterließ 7 in Japan und 2 in Maryport geborene Kinder.
Robert N. Walker kehrte 1897 mit seinen Kindern nach Nagasaki zurück, um nochmal neu zu beginnen. Er verhandelte mit seinem alten Freund Niels Lundberg über den Kauf von dessen Firma (C. Brown & Co.), um als Agent für Schiffsbe- und entladungen ausländischer Schiffe tätig zu sein. Der Vertrag kam bald zustande und am 28.02.1898 wurden die veränderten Eigentumsverhältnisse in der Zeitung veröffentlicht, er firmierte unter R. N. Walker & Co. Er kaufte das westliche Haus # 7 Higashiyamate in der Nähe der methodistischen Missionschule Kwassui, wo auch seine Töchter zur Schule gingen.
Im Dezember 1904 gründete er die "Banzai Getränke-Fabrik" in der # 44 Sagarimatsu. Er hatte das Ziegelgebäude des Grundstücks gekauft und verlegte sein Büro in das angrenzende Gebäude. Er importierte entsprechende Ausrüstungen aus GB und begann mit der Massenfertigung von Gingerale, Limonade und weiterer alkoholfreier Getränke, wofür ein großer Bedarf von den Ozeandampfern und den neu entstandenen westlichen Hotels in der Niederlassung bestand.
Als Ergebnis des Russisch-Japanischen Krieges, der im Februar 1904 begann, konnte man seit dieser Zeit eine stark reduziete Frequenz der Überseeschiffe feststellen, was einen ökonomischen Einbruch bedeutete, wovon sich Nagasaki nicht wieder erholte. Nach dem Krieg verlegten sich die Geschäftsaktivitäten in die leichter zugänglichen Häfen von Kobe und Yokohama und eine wachsende Anzahl Ausländer zog weg von Nagasaki, auch R. N. Walker war auf der Suche nach neuen Möglichkeiten.
Im Juli 1906 hinterlegte er beim örtlichen Gericht von Nagasaki eine Mitteilung, die seinen Sohn Robert jun. zum Leiter von R. N. Walker & Co. bestellte. Im Februar 1908 unterzeichnete er eine neue Partnerschaft mit seinem Sohn Robert und seinem langjährigen Kollegen David Jamieson, in dem er seinen finanziellen Anteil sicherte, effektiv aber die Leitung seinem Sohn übertrug. Im April 1908 erschien in der Nagasaki Press ein Inserat zur Verpachtung der Häuser # 7a and 7b Higashiyamate, und zum Auktions-Verkauf des Mobilars. Er hatte sich entschlossen, nach Victoria, BC, Canada zu gehen, ganz sicher nicht nur, um sein erworbenes Vermögen sicher anzulegen, sondern auch um seinen Kindern eine Heirat und Arbeitsmöglichkeiten zu bieten, die in Nagasaki eher selten waren. Am 29.04.1908 fuhr er von Nagasaki auf dem deutschen Dampfer Yorck mit Kate, Maude, Violet and Gladys. Robert und Sato hatten 9 Kinder (siehe Walker-Family). Nach ihrem Tod heiratete er nicht wieder.
Im Juni 1929 kehrte R. N. Walker zum letzten Mal nach Nagasaki zurück. Er war nun 77 Jahre, der Grund war im wesentlichen die Übertragung der Firmenanteile von R. N. Walker & Co. an seinen Sohn Robert jun. Er starb 1941 in Victoria und wurde auf dem Royal Oak Cemetery bestattet.
27.04.1851 in Maryport, Cumberland, GB
24.04.1941 in Victoria, BC, Canada

Brother of Wilson Walker. Obviously influenced by his family history he took to sea at a young age and became master mariner.
His first contract with the Japanese government run from June 1873 until June 1874 to work as Foreign Employee for the Mitsubishi Co. He appears for the first time on the Mitsubishi records for 1874 as chief officer of the Horai-maru, his brother Wilson Walker was the commander on the same ship.
Robert N. Walker had received his captain's license from the Japanese government in 1876 and was serving as commander of the Heian-maru. In 1877 he met Fukuda Sato, a native of Tokyo who was twenty-one years old when she bore her first child in 1878. He had served as commander of the Heian-maru until 1878 and Urada-maru (1879-81) and was commanding the Hiogo-maru, when the Kyōdō Unyū Kaisha (Union Steam Navigation Co.) and the Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. merged in September 1885 to form Nippon Yūsen Kaisha (NYK). In March 1886 he received orders from the NYK head office to take over command of the Takachiho-maru. This appointment lead R. N. Walker to Nagasaki for the first time. Before the end of 1886 he had purchased the Western-style house at # 31 Minamiyamate and had brought his wife Sato and children to live in Nagasaki. He became a prominent resident of the Nagasaki foreign settlement as well as one of the most respected master mariners working on the Japan Sea.
On May 11, 1891 a tragic accident happened when rocks off Tsushima Island tore into the hull of the Takachiho-maru. He tried unsuccessfully to raise the ship. In late July he proceeded to Tokyo to attend the court of inquiry into the cause of the accident. On August 17, 1891, the court declared the chief officer responsible for the accident and gave him a three-month suspension, and it found Captain Walker guilty of neglect of duty as commander of the vessel and suspended his license for six months, announced at the Marine Bureau of the Communications Department, Tokyo. The anguish and chagrin caused his wife Sato to pack up all the family belongings and, with her now seven children, she left Nagasaki for Yokohama only one week after the court decision. The house at # 31 Minamiyamate was sold to Morris A. Ginsburg and he decided to leave Japan and to return to Maryport, GB. On May 22, 1894, Sato Walker died in Maryport at the young age of thirty-six. She left seven children born in Japan and two born in Maryport.
Robert N. Walker returned to Japan with his children to make a new effort at life, he was back in Nagasaki in 1897, negotiating with his old friend Niels Lundberg about the purchase of the latter’s business (C. Brown & Co.) as a stevedore and landing agent for foreign ships calling at this port. A deal was soon effected, and on February 28, 1898 the two announced the change of ownership in a newspaper notice, operating under R. N. Walker & Co. Robert bought the Western-style house at # 7 Higashiyamate, near the Methodist mission school Kwassui Women’s College where he sent his daughters..
In December 1904, Robert established the "Banzai Aerated Water Factory" at # 44 Sagarimatsu. He had purchased the brick warehouse on that lot and had moved his office to the adjacent building. He imported corresponding equipments from GB and began mass production of ginger ale, lemonade and a number of other soft drinks in great demand from the ocean liners and from the numerous Western-style hotels that had popped up in the European settlement.
As a result of the Russo-Japanese War, which had been raging since February 1904, the passage of ships on the lines between Japan and the continent had dropped off sharply, causing an economic slump from which Nagasaki would never fully recover. After the war, the focus of business activity shifted to the more convenient ports of Yokohama and Kobe, and an increasing number of foreign residents of Nagasaki moved away in search of better opportunities. R.N. Walker also turned his eyes abroad.
In July 1906, he filed notice with the Nagasaki Local Court, naming his son Robert jr. manager of R.N. Walker & Co. Then in February 1908 he signed a new partnership agreement with Robert and his longtime colleague David Jamieson, keeping a financial interest but in effect relinquishing control of the company to his son. In April 1908, he placed an advertisement in The Nagasaki Press for the lease of the houses at # 7a and 7b Higashiyamate, and an auction was held there to sell the family furniture. He had decided to move to Victoria, BC, Canada, probably not only to securely invest the huge savings he had built up over the past decade but also to ensure marriage and work opportunities for his children that were scarce in Nagasaki. On April 29, 1908 he sailed out of Nagasaki Harbor on the German steamship Yorck with Kate, Maude, Violet and Gladys.
Robert and Sato had 9 children (see Walker-Family). After her death he never married again.
In June 1929, R.N. Walker returned to Nagasaki for the last time. The reason for making the trip, now 77 years old, was chiefly to sign a resolution transferring all his interests in R.N. Walker & Co. to Robert jr. He died in Victoria in 1941, and was buried in the Royal Oak Cemetery.
___
/ P II – III / GB / FE-SH + TR /
WALKER
Thomas








Auf der Basis eines Vertrages mit der japanischen Regierung, Industrieministerium, kam er am 20.11.1873 in Yokohama an, obwohl sein Vertrag bereits am 24.09.1873 begann, der Vertrag lief bis 23.09.1876. Er war angestellt als Vorarbeiter in der mechanischen Abteilung, Eisenbahnbau und Wartung, Yokohama.
Nach Erfüllung seines Vertrages verließ er wieder Japan nach GB.



On the base of a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, he arrived in Yokohama on November 20, 1873, although his contract run from September 24, 1873 until September 23, 1876. He was employed as foreman of the mechanics of the Railways and Telegraphs Department, Railways Construction and Maintenance, Yokohama.
After he had fulfilled his contract he left Japan for GB.
___
/ P II / GB / FE-T-RW (36 Mon.) /
WALKER
Thomas Taga
1885 - 1910

[T.]
1885
05.02.1910 in Yokohama

Sohn von William und Catherine Walker. Nach seinem Schulbesuch nahm er 1899 eine Lehre auf bei Hutchison & Co., Kaufmann, Yokohama # 179, die Firma zog im folgenden Jahr zur # 183. Er arbeitete auch nach Abschluss der Lehre weiter bei dieser Firma bis zu seinem plötzlichen Tod 1910.
1885
05.02.1910 in Yokohama

Son of William und Catherine Walker. After his basic education he started an apprenticeship with Hutchison & Co., Merchants, Yokohama # 179 in 1899, the company moved to # 183 in the following year. After the apprenticeship he continued to work for this company until his sudden death in 1910.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WALKER
W.








1876 kam er nach Japan und wohnte in # 121-B Yokohama. Er begann als Wachtmeister im britischen Konsulat von Yokohama 1877 zu arbeiten. Im folgenden Jahr zog er privat nach Yokohama # 127 und fand 1879 Anstellung bei W. Bourne & Co., Öffentliche Tee-Inspektoren, Yokohama # 70 + 71. Bald darauf gründete er sein eigenes Geschäft als Kommissions-Händler, Yokohama # 70. Er führte dieses Unternehmen bis 1884, die letzten zwei Jahre in Yokohama # 253.



He came to Japan in 1876 and resided in Yokohama # 121-B. He started work as Constable of the HBM Consulate, Yokohama in 1877. The following year he moved privately to Yokohama # 127 and became an employment in 1879 with W. Bourne & Co., Public Tea Inspectors, Yokohama # 70 + 71. Soon after he established his own business as Commission Agent, Yokohama # 70. He run this business until 1884, the latter two years in Yokohama # 253.
___
/ P II / GB / DIP + TR /
WALKER
William
- 1914

[Wm.]





22.07.1914 in Yokohama

Er kam 1889 nach Japan und öffnete ein Büro als Spediteur in Yokohama # 108. 1891 kam seine Frau ebenfalls nach Japan. Von 1895 bis 1897 wohnten sie in Yokohama # 24 Bluff, dann zogen sie nach # 52 Bluff. 1899 übernahm er zusätzlich eine Lehrtätigkeit für Englisch an der Handelsschule von Yokohama # 78, Kitanaka-dori, Roku-come. Seine Frau Catherine starb am 09.09.1900, im Alter von nur 39 Jahren.
Sie hatten mehrere Kinder, William Henry, Baldwin G., Thomas Taga. Alle Familienmitlieder sind auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama bestattet.

22.07.1914 in Yokohama

In 1889 he came to Japan and opened his office as conveyancer in Yokohama # 108. In 1891 his wife joined him. From 1895 until 1897 they lived in Yokohama # 24 Bluff, when they moved to # 52 Bluff. From 1899 on he became additionally English Instructor in the Commercial School of Yokohama # 78, Kitanaka-dori, Roku-come.
His wife Catherine died on September 9, 1900, only aged 39 years.
They had several children, William Henry, Baldwin G., Thomas Taga. All the family is buried in the Yokohama Foreign Cemetery.
___
/ P III / GB / TR + FE-ED /
WALKER
William H.
1847 – 1906

[W. H.]
[William]

1847 in Ulverstone, Lancashire, GB
29.11.1906 in Yokohama

Kapitän. 1894 kam er nach Japan und wohnte znächst in Yokohama # 184-D Bluff. Im folgenden Jahr fand er eine Anstellung bei der China und Japan Trading Co., Yokohama # 89. Von 1896 bis zu seinem Tod 1906 war er bei der Agentur für die Pacific Mail Steamship Co., Occidental and Oriental Steamship Co., Tōyō Kisen Kaisha, etc., Yokohama # 4 als Superintendant des Kohlen-Depots und der Leichter tätig, privat lebte er in Yokohama # 187 Bluff. Ab 1901 lebte auch seine Frau in Yokohama, die nach seinem Tod weiterhin in Yokohama blieb, dann allerdings in # 219 Bluff.
1847 in Ulverstone, Lancashire, GB
29.11.1906 in Yokohama

Captain. He came to Japan in 1894 and resided at first in Yokohama # 184-D Bluff. In the following year he was employed with the China and Japan Trading Co., Yokohama # 89. From 1896 until his death in 1906 he was employed with the Agency for Pacific Mail Steamship Co., Occidental and Oriental Steamship Co., Tōyō Kisen Kaisha, etc., Yokohama # 4 as Superintendent of the Coal Depot and Lighters, he resided in Yokohama # 187 Bluff. From 1901 on his wife joined him. After his death she continued to live in Yokohama, from then on, however, at # 219 Bluff.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WALKER
William Henry
1880 – 1898
1880
27.01.1898 in Yokohama

Sohn von William und Catherine Walker. Nach seiner Grundausbildung begann er eine Lehre bei der Japan Herald in Yokohama # 28. Kurz darauf verstarb er jedoch plötzlich, bestattet auf dem YFC.
1880
27.01.1898 in Yokohama

Son of William and Catherine Walker. After his basic education he started an apprenticeship with the Japan Herald in Yokohama # 28. Soon after he died suddenly, buried in the YFC.
___
/ P III / GB / JOU /
WALKER
Wilson
1845 – 1914





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Wilson Walker + Family


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Cliff House Hotel Nagasaki


















































































17.11.1845 in Maryport, Cumberland, GB
04.11.1914 in Nagasaki

Bruder von Robert N. Walker (Walker-Familie). Ausgehend vom Elternhaus fuhr auch er schon im Alter von etwa 16 Jahren zur See und wurde später Kapitän auf einem Handelsschiff. Seine ersten Erfahrungen sammelte er auf Segelschiffen im Südamerika-Handel, dann im Dienst auf einem Transport-Dampfer im Krieg zwischen Paraguay, Argentinien und Brasilien. Seine erste Reise in den Fernen Osten fand nach dem Bürgerkrieg auf dem Dampfer Filipino statt. Die Filipino fuhr etwa ein Jahr zwischen Manila und Amoy, danach zwischen Shanghai und Tientsin. Vom letzten Hafen wurde der Dampfer nach Japan entsandt, da man glaubte, dass hier ein guter Verkauf möglich sei. Nagasaki wurde 1868 erreicht, er heuerte ab und wurde Kapitän auf der Naruto-maru, einem Dampfer im Besitz von Glover & Co. in Nagasaki. 1869 wurde er nach GB beordert, um einen Kohlentransporter zu überführen, da T. B. Glover mit diesem Kohle von Takashima nach Shanghai liefern wollte. Bei der Ankunft mußte er feststellen, dass kein Schiff zur Verfügung stand. Er übernahm die Stelle des 1. Offiziers auf einer Barke, die für Holme, Ringer & Co., auch in Nagasaki, gebaut worden war. 1871 kehrte er zurück und zog nach Kobe, wo er von Iwasaki Yatarō als 1. Offizier auf der Tsuru-maru angeheuert wurde. Seit dieser Zeit verband ihn eine enge Freundschaft mit der Familie von Iwasaki, die auch den Grundstein dafür legte, dass die beiden Brüder fest in der japanischen Schifffahrt involviert waren.
Sein erster Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung lief vom Juni 1873 bis Juni 1874 als ausländischer Angestellter für die Mitsubishi Co. Er erscheint in der Mitsubishi-Liste zum ersten Mal 1874 als Kapitän auf der Horai-maru, sein Bruder Robert N. Walker war 1. Offizier auf demselben Schiff.
Wilson Walker wurde einer der Schlüssel-Berater in Sachen Schifffahrt für Iwasaki. 1874 wurde er zum "Inspektor für Kapitäne" berufen, als die “Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Company" gebildet wurde. Im Januar 1875 begann die MMSC mit einem wöchentlichen Schiffsdienst zwischen Yokohama und Shanghai, für den die 4 besten Schiffe eingesetzt wurden: die Niigata-maru, Tokyo-maru, Kanagawa-maru, und Takasago- maru. Dies war der erste reguläre Schiffsdienst von Japan nach Übersee und Wilson Walker wurde zum Kapitän des Flagschiffs Niigata-maru und zum Inspektor dieses Dienstes berufen.
1877 segelten er und die fast nur aus Japanern bestehende Mannschaft mit der Niigata-maru nach England, um das Schiff als Dampfer umzurüsten um dann mit der gleichen Besatzung nach Japan zurückzukehren. 1879 zog Wilson nach Yokohama, um für Mitsubishi einen Schiffsdienst zwischen Yokohama und Hong Kong einzurichten. Am 04.10.1879 eröffnete die Niigata-maru den Dienst.
Etwa zu dieser Zeit lernte er Charlotte Henriette Noordhoek Hegt kennen, Tochter des holländischen Kaufmanns J. B. N. Hegt aus Yokohama, und am 18.05.1880 heirateten sie im britischen Konsulat und der Christ Kirche. Sie lebten 15 Jahre in Yokohama, wo 6 Kinder geboren wurden. Charlotte wurde am 17.04.1859 in Amsterdam, Holland geboren, sie starb am 26.09.1937 in Hong Kong.
Kyōdō Unyū Kaisha (Union Steam Navigation Co.) und die Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. verschmolzen im September 1885 mit Unterstützung der Regierung und Nippon Yūsen Kaisha (NYK) wurde gebildet. Wilson Walker hatte viele Jahre für Mitsubishi gearbeitet, 1882 hatte er die Nagoya-maru auf der Yokohama-Hong Kong-Route übernommen. Nach der Bildung der NYK war er weiterhin Kapitän auf der Nagoya-maru und dieser Route.
Noch als Bewohner von Yokohama war Wilson aktiv bei der Gründung der Japan Brewery Co. beteiligt, Vorläufer der heutigen Kirin-Bier Co.
Am 08.07.1885 gehörte er dem provisorischem Vorstand an und war einer der Hauptaktionäre.
1888 wurde er nach England geschickt, um ein neues Schiff, die Saikio-maru, gebaut in Glasgow, für die NYK zu überführen. Er brachte das Schiff nach Japan und traf am 08.08.1888 in Nagasaki ein. Er war Kapitän auf diesem Schiff auf der Yokohama-Shanghai-Linie bis Juli 1889, dann entschloss er sich, seine Position bei NYK aufzugeben und bei der Japan Brewing Co. Verwaltungsleiter zu werden.
Der Grund für seinen Wechsel zur Brauerei ist nicht ganz klar, seine Entscheidung könnte durch seinen langjährigen Freund Thomas B. Glover beeinflußt worden sein, der eine zentrale Rolle bei der Firmengründung gespielt hatte, aber auch durch seinen Schwiegervater, J. B. Noordhoek Hegt, der selbst eine der ersten kleinen Brauereien in Yokohama von 1870 bis 1875 besass. Für die nächsten vier Jahre engagierte er sich voll für die Japan Brewing Co., überwachte die Einführung des heute berühmten Warennamen "Kirin Beer" und genoss auch den Erfolg des Unternehmens, das sehr gewinnbringend arbeitete.
Als die Kinder das Schulalter erreichten, entschlossen sie sich nach England zu gehen. Zu dieser Zeit erschütterte eine Finanzkrise die ganze Welt. Banken gingen pleite und Walker verlor nahezu sein gesamtes Vermögen. Die Reise nach England wurde gestrichen und sie mußten neu beginnen.
1893 bestand Wilson seine Prüfungen und er nahm eine Tätigkeit als lizensierter Küsten-und Inlandsee-Lotse auf. Sie zogen nach Kobe, blieben dort aber nur kurze Zeit und zogen nach Nagasaki, Wilson arbeitete weiter als lizensierter Lotse. Sie wohnten in Nagasaki in einem geräumigen Haus gegenüber des Ōura Creek in der # 12 Minamiyamate, nur etwas bergauf von Robert' s Büro.
Nach dem Tod von Samuel Barff kaufte er 1898 das Cliff Field Hotel und benannte es in Cliff House Hotel um - ein großes Hotel im westlichen Stil, gleich neben seinem Haus in der # 10 Minamiyamate gelegen. Zusätzlich zur Leitung des Hotels mit seiner Frau arbeitete er weiter als lizensierter Küsten- und Inlandsee-Lotse
Nachdem sein Bruder Robert 1908 Nagasaki verlassen hatte, betrieb Wilson das Hotel weiter und wirkte als Ältester im Kirchenrat gegen die schwindende Bevölkerung in der Ausländer-Siedlung.
Er starb nach kurzer Krankheit 1914 in seinem Haus in der # 12 Minamiyamate und wurde auf dem Internationalen Friedhof, heute in Sakamoto-machi, bestattet. Charlotte Walker betrieb das Hotel weiter bis 1922. Sie verkaufte den gesamten Familienbesitz und zog dauerhaft nach Shanghai.
Das Objekt wurde von einem japanischen Arzt gekauft und viele Jahre als Krankenhaus genutzt. Heute befindet sich hier das "Zentrum des Minamiyamate Denkmalschutzes".
17.11.1845 at Maryport, Cumberland, GB
04.11.1914 in Nagasaki

Brother of Robert N. Walker (Walker-Family). Obviously influenced by his family history he took to sea and became master mariner. He had left for sea about in 1861. His early experiences included voyages on sailing vessels in the South American trade and service on a steamer employed as a transport in the war between Paraguay and the Argentine Republic and Brazil. His first trip to the Far East was made on the steamer Filipino after the Civil War. For about a year the Filipino ran between Manila and Amoy, afterwards proceeding to Shanghai and Tientsin. From the latter port the vessel was ordered to Japan as it was thought that a sale might be effected in this country. Nagasaki was reached in 1868, he left the Filipino at this port and was appointed to the command of the Naruto-maru, a steamer owned by Glover & Co. of Nagasaki. In 1869, he was ordered to GB to bring out a steam collier which T. B. Glover wanted to carry Takashima coal to Shanghai. On arrival in England, however, he found that no vessel was available to be brought out, so he obtained the position of chief officer on a barque which was being built for Holme, Ringer & Co., also of Nagasaki. He returned in 1871 and then proceeded to Kobe where he was hired by Iwasaki Yatarō to serve as chief officer on the Tsuru-maru. This event initiated Wilson’s friendship with the Iwasaki family and marked the beginning of the Walker brothers’ deep involvement in the Japanese shipping.
His first contract with the Japanese government run from June 1873 until June 1874 to work as Foreign Employee for the Mitsubishi Co. He appears for the first time on the Mitsubishi records for 1874 as commander of the Horai-maru, his brother Robert N. Walker was the chief officer on the same ship.
Wilson Walker became one of Iwasaki's key advisors on matters related to navigation. In 1874 he was appointed to the position of "superintending captain" when the name changed to “Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Company". In January 1875, MMSC started a weekly steamship service between Yokohama and Shanghai, using its four best ships: the Niigata-maru, Tokyo-maru, Kanagawa-maru, and Takasago- maru. This was Japan’s first regular service overseas, and Wilson Walker was appointed to captain of the flagship Niigata-maru and supervisor of this first service.
In 1877, Wilson Walker and his mostly Japanese crew sailed the Niigata- maru to England to be refitted with boilers and machinery and will then return with the same crew to Japan.
In 1879 Wilson moved to Yokohama to establish a regular service between Yokohama and Hong Kong for Mitsubishi. The Niigata-maru made the first run on October 4, 1879 on this new route.
Around that time he got acquainted with Charlotte Henriette Noordhoek Hegt, daughter of the Dutch Yokohama merchant J. B. Noordhoek Hegt, and on May 18th, 1880 they married at the British Consulate and Christ Church. They spent 15 years in Yokohama and six children were born there. Charlotte was born April 17, 1859 in Amsterdam, Holland and died on September 26, 1937 in Hong Kong.
With government encouragement, the Kyōdō Unyū Kaisha (Union Steam Navigation Co.) and the Mitsubishi Mail Steamship Co. merged in September 1885 to form Nippon Yūsen Kaisha (NYK). Wilson Walker had served continually for Mitsubishi, in 1882 he had taken over the Nagoya-maru on the Yokohama - Hong Kong route. After the establishment of NYK, he continued to command the Nagoya-maru on this route.
Still a resident of Yokohama, Wilson became involved in the establishment of the Japan Brewery Co., predecessor of present-day Kirin Beer Co. On July 8, 1885 he was a member of the provisional board of directors and he was a leading stockholder.
In 1888 he was sent to England to take charge of a new ship called the Saikio-maru built in Glasgow for the company. He sailed this back to Japan, arriving in Nagasaki on August 8, 1888. He commanded this ship on the Yokohama - Shanghai route until July 1889 when he decided to retire from his position at NYK and to accept the position of secretary at the Japan Brewing Co.
The exact reasons for Wilson's involvement in the brewery are unclear, his decision could have been influenced by his long-standing friendship with Thomas B. Glover, who had played a central role in the effort to found the company or by the advice of his father-in-law, J. B. Noordhoek Hegt, who had operated one of Japan’s first small-scale breweries in Yokohama from 1870 to 1875. Wilson devoted himself full-time to the Japan Brewery Co. for four subsequent years, watching over the introduction of the now-famous brand name "Kirin Beer" and reaping tremendous rewards from the success of the enterprise.
When the children reached an age for school, they decided to go to England. At that time a financial crisis was affecting the whole world. Banks went smash and they lost nearly all their money. The trip to England was cancelled and they had to start all over again.
In 1893, Wilson passed his examinations and secured the post of a Licenced Inland Sea Pilot. They moved to Kobe, resided there only for a short period and moved entirely to Nagasaki, still acting as Licensed Pilot of the Coast and Inland Sea. Wilson Walker and his family were residing in a spacious two-story house across the Ōura Creek at # 12 Minamiyamate, just up the hill from Robert’s office.
After the death of Samuel Barff he bought in 1898 the Cliff Field Hotel, a large Western-style hotel situated right beside his house at # 10 Minamiyamate and he renamed it to Cliff House Hotel. Additionally to running this hotel together with his wife he continued to work as a Licensed Pilot of the Coast and Inland Sea.
After the departure of his brother Robert in 1908, Wilson Walker continued to run the Cliff House Hotel and to serve as an elder to the dwindling population of the foreign settlement. Wilson died after a brief illness in 1914 in the family home at # 12 Minamiyamate and was buried in the International Cemetery in present-day Sakamoto-machi. Charlotte Walker operated the Cliff House Hotel until 1922.
She sold all the family property and moved permanently to Shanghai.
Purchased by a Japanese physician, the house was used for many years as a hospital. It now houses the "Minamiyamate Historic Preservation Center”.
___
/ P II – III / GB / FE-SH + TR + SH /
WALTER
James
1837 - 1909
18.11.1846 in GB
25.02.1909 in Yokohama, Japan

Er kam 1868 nach Japan als Buchhalter der Oriental Bank Corporation, Yokohama # 11. Im folgenden Jahr wechselte er zu Siber & Brennwald, Yokohama # 90. Im Jahr 1882 wurde er zum Leiter der Niederlassung in Yokohama berufen. Er blieb bei dieser Firma zeitlebens, auch als eine Umbildung 1899 zu Siber, Wolff & Co. erfolgte. 1903 wurde er als Partner in der Firma aufgenommen.
Ab 1898 gehörte er zum Aufsichtsrat des Grand Hotels in Yokohama und der Yokohama Printing and Publishing Co. Außerdem war er Mitglied im Vorstand der Christ Church, Yokohama.
Er hatte eine Tochter mit der Japanerin Nakano Ei mit Namen Nakano Waka, die 1899 Kuraba Tomisaburō, den Sohn von Thomas Blake Glover, heiratete.
Am 19.02.1887 heiratete er in der Christ Church von Yokohama Harriet Louise Winn, die Heirat wurde im britischen Konsulat registriert.
James Walter, der bei seinen japanischen Freunden den Spitznamen "Warari-san" hatte, starb 1909 und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama beigesetzt.
18.11.1846 in GB
25.02.1909 in Yokohama, Japan

He came to Japan in 1868 as an accountant of the Oriental Bank Corporation, Yokohama # 11 The following year he joined Siber & Brennwald, Yokohama # 90. In 1882 he was appointed head of the branch office in Yokohama. He stayed with this company for all his life, even when a transformation into Siber, Wolff & Co. took place in 1899. In 1903 he became a partnership in this company.
As of 1898, he belonged to the Board of Directors of the Grand Hotels in Yokohama and to the Yokohama Printing and Publishing Co. He was also a member of the Christ Church committee, Yokohama.

He had a daughter with the Japanese Nakano Ei named Nakano Waka. In 1899 she married Kuraba Tomisaburō, son of Thomas Blake Glover.
On February 19, 1887 he married Harriet Louise Winn in Christ Church of Yokohama, the marriage was registered at the British Consulate.
James Walter nicknamed "Warari-san" with his Japanese friends, died in 1909 and was buried in the Foreigners' Cemetery of Yokohama.
___
/ P I – III / GB / TR /
WARREN
Charles Frederick
1841 - 1899




Für Vergrößerung klicken

12.03.1841 in Margate, Kent, GB
08.07.1899 in Fukuyama, Hiroshima-ken

Nach dem Absolvieren des Islington College wurde er am 25.07.1864 in London ordiniert.
Er wollte in Übersee als Missionar arbeiten und 1865 wurde er nach Hongkong geschickt, wo er drei Jahren in der Missionsarbeit tätig war. Er kehrte aus gesundheitlichen Gründen 1868 nach England zurück.
Als die Japaner 1873 das Verbot des Christentums aufhoben, schickte die Church Missionary Society sieben Missionare nach Japan und Reverend Charles F. Warren wurde ausgewählt.
Er kam mit seiner Frau im Hafen von Kobe am 01.12.1873 an und sie zogen am 31.12. desselben Jahres nach Osaka.
Die English Church Missionary Society befand sich in Osaka # 3 Konzession.
Im Mai 1877 weihte er die Heilige Dreifaltigkeitskirche in der Osaka Kawaguchi-Siedlung.
Er fühlte die Notwendigkeit, christliches Wissen systematisch zu übermitteln, und im Jahre 1882 begann er mit einer theologischen Lehre für japanische Studenten.
Im Jahre 1884 gründete Reverend C. F. Warren in einem Raum der Kirche eine Grundschule, die sich zur Koto Eigakkō (Höhere Englische Schule) entwickelte und später in Momoyama Gakuin Junior und Senior High School umbenannt wurde.
Die Wurzeln der heutigen Momoyama Gakuin Universität, die auch unter St. Andrews Universität bekannt ist, können hier gefunden werden.
Weil seine Frau krank wurde, verließen sie Japan. Sie starb, aber er kehrte nach ihrem Tod wieder nach Japan zurück. Das Paar hatte zwei Töchter, Julia und Frances, die beide in Japan heirateten, und drei Söhne, Charles Theodore, Horace George und J. P. Warren.
Charles Frederick Warren heirate wieder, Sarah L. Fawcett, am 11.05.1892 in der Osaka Church of Our Saviour.

1891 wurde er zum Archidiakon im Distrikt Osaka ernannt und wirkte bis zu seinem plötzlichen Tod in dieser Funktion.
Ab 1875 war er Mitglied des Osaka Stadtrates und wurde 1890 zum Vorsitzenden gewählt.
Am 08.06.1899, während einer evangelistischen Reise, hatte er einen Unfall; er fiel von der Treppe in Fukuyama, Hiroshima-ken, und starb an seinen Folgen, im Alter von nur 58 Jahren.
Er wurde im Kinosho-chō-Friedhof von Fukuyama-shi beigesetzt.
Seine Frau blieb weiter in Japan und lebte in Tokushima, auch mit der Church Missionary Society verbunden.

Momoyama Gakuin Universität hat ein Gebäude namens Warren Hall und die Momoyama Gakuin Junior und Senior High Schools haben einen Frederick Pavillon zu Ehren von Charles Frederick Warren.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
12.03.1841 in Margate, Kent, GB
08.07.1899 in Fukuyama, Hiroshima-ken

After graduating from Islington College, he was ordained in London on July 25, 1864.
He wanted to work overseas as a missionary and in 1865 he was sent to Hong Kong, where he was engaged in missionary work for three years. He returned to England for health reasons in 1868.
When the Japanese removed the Christianity ban in 1873, the Church Missionary Society dispatched seven missionaries to Japan and Reverend Charles F. Warren was chosen.

He arrived with his wife at Kobe port on December 1, 1873, and moved to Osaka on December 31, in the same year.
The English Church Missionary Society was located at Osaka # 3 Concession.
In May of 1877 he consecrated the Holy Trinity Church located in the Osaka Kawaguchi Settlement.
He felt the necessity of granting Christian knowledge systematically and in 1882 he began with a theological education to Japanese students.
In 1884 Reverend C. F. Warren established in one room of the Holy Trinity Church an elementary school, which developed to the Koto Eigakkō (Higher English School), later renamed to the Momoyama Gakuin Junior and Senior High School.
The roots of todays Momoyama Gakuin University, also known under Saint Andrew's University, can be found here.

Because his wife became ill, they left Japan. She died but he returned to Japan again after her death. The couple had two daughters, Julia and Frances,, who both married in Japan, and three sons, Charles Theodore, Horace George and J. P. Warren.
Charles Frederick Warren married again, Sarah L. Fawcett, on May 11, 1892 at the Osaka Church of Our Saviour.

In 1891 he was appointed Archdeacon in the Osaka district and served in this function until his sudden death.
As of 1875 he was a member of the Osaka Municipal Council and in 1890 was elected its Chairman.
On June 8, 1899, during an evangelistic trip, he had an accident; he fell from the stairs in Fukuyama, Hiroshima-ken, and died from its consequences, only aged 58 years.

His body was buried in the Kinosho-chō Cemetery of Fukuyama-shi.
His wife continued to stay in Japan and lived in Tokushima, also connected to the Church Missionary Society.

Momoyama Gakuin University has a building called Warren Hall and the Momoyama Gakuin Junior and Senior High Schools have a Frederick Pavilion in honor of Charles Frederick Warren.



- Postkarte aus Yokohama vom 29.05.1899 an Frau Warren in Osaka, Ankunft am 30.05.1899 kurz vor dem Tod ihres Mannes.

- Postcard from Yokohama posted on May 29, 1899 to Mrs. Warren in Osaka, arrival on May 30, 1899, shortly before the death of her husband.
___
/ P II – III / GB / MIS /
WASSON
James Robert
1847 - 1923





Für Vergrößerung klicken
James R. Wasson – 18 years of age
11.01.1847 in Ohio, USA
17.02.1923 in Washington, Iowa, USA

Wasson diente in der Unionsarmee während des Bürgerkrieges und entschied sich für eine militärische Laufbahn. Er sicherte sich 1867 eine Zulassung zur US- Militär-Akademie. Wasson hatte nur eine minimale Ausbildung, bevor er West Point besuchte, übertraf aber bei seinem Studium alle an der Militärakademie trotz der Probleme in seinem Lebenslauf. Er absolvierte 1871 die US-Militärakademie und wurde zum Leutnant der Kavallerie befördert.
Wasson gab seine Stellung in der US-Armee am 1. Juli 1872 auf, um unter Horace Capron im Hokkaidō Büro für Kolonisation (Kaitakushi) zu arbeiten. Sein Vertrag lief vom 22. Februar 1872 bis zum 31. März 1875, er begann aber bereits im März 1872 diese Arbeit, obwohl er noch bei der US-Armee beschäftigt war. Zuerst war er Lehrer für Englisch und Mathematik am Sapporo Agricultural College. Im Jahre 1873 wurde er zum Chef der Vermessung im Kaitakushi eingesetzt und machte topographische Messungen von Yezo (Hokkaidō) und der Strommitte des Ishikari-Flusses mit dem Assistenten M. S. Day bis April 1874.
Am 1. April 1874 stellte die japanische Armee Wasson von der Kaitakushi für die bevorstehende Taiwan-Expedition ein. Er erhielt den Rang eines Oberst, eine beträchtliche Verbesserung gegenüber dem Rang eines Leutnants, den er nach dem Abschluss von West Point erhalten hatte.
Im Frühjahr 1874 entsandte die japanische Regierung eine Militäreinheit nach Süd-Taiwan, um angeblich eine Gruppe von Ureinwohnern zu „bestrafen“, die 54 Personen der Ryūkyū-Inseln Ende 1871 ermordet hatten. Das Schiff mit der Invasionstruppe verließ Nagasaki am 27.04.1874 in Richtung Südwest-Küste von Taiwan, und am 06.05.1874 gingen sie an Land. An Bord waren verschiedene Güter und Waffen und mehr als hundert Personen, darunter zwei amerikanische Berater, Douglas Cassel (1845-1875) und James Wasson. Wasson war Militärberater und Ingenieur in der Militärmission.
Wasson arbeitete in Süd-Taiwan bis August, als eine Krankheit ihn zwang, nach Nagasaki zur ärztlichen Behandlung zurückzukehren. Bis dahin war die militärische Konfrontation zwischen Japanern und Ureinwohnern vorbei und die Besetzung hatte sich in ereignislose Monotonie verwandelt. So war Wasson aus erster Hand Zeuge vieler Ereignisse, die er in einen ausführlichen Bericht für die japanische Regierung niederschrieb.
Nach der Expedition war Wasson noch etwa ein Jahr in Japan und lehrte Ingenieurbau an der Universität Tokyo. Dieser Vertrag begann am 02.10.1875 und war bis 10.10.1878 vorgesehen.
Während dieser Zeit heiratete er Marie Bingham, die Tochter von John A. Bingham, der Charles DeLong als US-Gesandten in Japan am 31. Mai 1873 abgelöst hatte.
Am 22.01.1877 wurde der Vertrag auf eigenen Wunsch aufgelöst. Sie verließen Japan am 23. Januar 1877.
Wasson kehrte in die USA zurück, wo er den Posten des Armee-Zahlmeisters im Rang eines Majors bis 1883 übernahm, eine erstaunliche Erhöhung des Ranges, die er durch die Fürsprache von Präsident Grant erhielt - er besuchte West Point zusammen mit President Grant´s Sohn.
Im Jahr 1883 wurde er entlassen, weil er durch Immobilien Spekulation und Glücksspiel sich verschuldete und im Jahr 1883 veruntreute er $ 24.000, fast zehnmal seines Jahresbezugs. Sein Verbrechen wurde schnell entdeckt und er wurde zu achtzehn Monaten Gefängnis verurteilt.
Nach seiner Entlassung hatte Wasson verschiedene Jobs, vor allem im Bauwesen und im Verkauf von Versicherungen, aber er hatte wenig dauerhaften Erfolg.
Viele Jahre später, als er fast 53 Jahre alt war, ging Wasson wieder zur U.S. Armee, um im spanisch-amerikanischen Krieg zu kämpfen. Zuerst erhielt er den Rang eines Sergeanten, aber er wurde auf den niedrigsten Dienstgrad degradiert, weil er seine Pflichten vernachlässigte, und später wurde er wegen Trunkenheit gerichtlich belangt.
Wasson war eindeutig ein talentierter Soldat, dessen militärische Karriere brillant begann und auf persönliche Beziehungen zu mächtigen Gönnern aufbaute, um prestigeträchtige und wichtige Positionen zu erreichen. Trotz dieser erheblichen Vorteile blieb aber der Erfolg aus und seine Karriere endete in Enttäuschung.
11.01.1847 in Ohio, USA
17.02.1923 in Washington, Iowa, USA

Wasson served in the Union Army during the Civil War, and decided for a military career. He secured an appointment to the United States Military Academy in 1867. Wasson had received only a minimal education before attending West Point, but he excelled in his studies at the military academy despite the difficulty of his curriculum. He graduated from the U.S. Military Academy in 1871 and was commissioned a second lieutenant in the cavalry.

Wasson resigned his commission in the U.S. Army effective on July 1, 1872 in order to work under Horace Capron at the Hokkaidō Colonization Office (Kaitakushi). His contract ran from February 22, 1872 to March 31, 1875 and he already started his work in March of 1872, although he was still employed with the US-Army. At first he was a teacher for English and mathematics at the Sapporo Agricultural College. In 1873, he became a surveyor-in-chief to the Kaitakushi and made topographical surveys of Yezo (Hokkaidō) and of the Ishikari River midstream with assistant M. S. Day until April 1874.
On April 1, 1874 the Japanese Army hired Wasson from the Kaitakushi for the upcoming Taiwan expedition. He was given the rank of colonel, a considerable improvement over the rank of second lieutenant he had held after graduating from West Point.
In the spring of 1874 the Japanese government dispatched a military force to southern Taiwan ostensibly to “punish” a group of aborigines who had murdered fifty-four people from the Ryūkyūs late in 1871. The ship of the invasion force departed Nagasaki on April 27, 1874 bound for the southwestern coast of Taiwan disembarking on May 6, 1874. On board were various supplies and arms and more than a hundred people, including two American advisors, Douglas Cassel (1845-1875) and James Wasson. Wasson served as a military advisor and engineer in the military mission.

Wasson spent in southern Taiwan until August, when illness compelled him to return to Nagasaki for medical treatment. By then the military confrontation between the Japanese and aborigines had been over and the occupation of southern Taiwan had settled into uneventful monotony. Thus, Wasson witnessed firsthand many of the events that took place and he wrote a detailed report for the Japanese government.
After the expedition Wasson spent about another year in Japan teaching civil engineering at the University of Tokyo. This contract started on October 2, 1875 and was proposed to October 10, 1878.

During that time he married Marie Bingham, the daughter of John A. Bingham, who had replaced Charles DeLong as the American Minister in Japan on May 31, 1873.
On January 22, 1877 the contract was cancelled by his own wish. They left Japan on January 23, 1877.
Wasson returned to the USA where he assumed the post of Army Paymaster at the rank of Major until 1883, a stunning increase in rank that he achieved at the direct intercession of President Grant - he attended West Point together with President Grant's son.
In 1883 he was dismissed because he fell into debt from real estate speculation and gambling, and in 1883 he embezzled $24,000, nearly ten times his annual base pay. His crime was quickly discovered and he was convicted and sentenced to eighteen months in prison.
After his release from prison Wasson worked in various jobs, mainly in civil engineering and selling insurance, but he had little lasting success.
Many years later, when he was nearly 53 years old, Wasson enlisted again in the U.S. Army in order to fight in the Spanish-American War. Initially he was given the rank of sergeant, but his rank was reduced to private because he neglected his duties, and later he was court-martialed for drunkenness.
Wasson was clearly a talented soldier whose military career started brilliantly, and he capitalized on personal relationships with powerful patrons to gain prestigious and important positions. Despite these considerable advantages, however, success eluded him and his career ended in disappointment.
___
/ P II / USA / FE-R- K (25 Mon.) / FE-MIL (12 Mon.) / FE-ED (14 Mon.) /
WATERS
Basil Worthington
1859 - 1936

[B. W.]


11.01.1859 in Montgomery County, MD, USA
26.02.1936 in Buena Vista, VA, USA

Sohn von Zacharia D. and Elizabeth (geb. Magruder) Waters.
Er erwarb 1881 den B.A. am Randolph-Macron College in Ashland, VA. Danach arbeitete er bis 1887 als Pastor. Auf der Baltimore Konferenz der Methodist Episcopal Church wurde er 1885 zum Priester geweiht.
Im Jahre 1887 wurde er von der MEC als Missionar nach Japan delegiert und traf am 29.10.1887 ein. Zuerst nahm er seine Arbeit in Kobe auf, von 1888 bis 1894 arbeitete er in Hiroshima. Nach einem Aufenthalt 1894-1895 in den USA kam er wieder nach Japan mit folgenden Etappen:
1895-1898 in Osaka, Sakai, Kobe, Himeiji
1898-1904 in Hiroshima, Mädchenschule
1904-1910 in Nakatsu
Er wurde als Ältestenvorsitzender des Kobe-Kreises 1897-1898 und des Hiroshima-Kreises 1892-1894 und 1898-1904 berufen und agierte auch als Schatzmeister der Hiroshima Jogakkō Mädchen-Schule 1898-1904.

Am 28.02.1890 heiratete er Tallulah Harris Lipscomb in Shanghai, China. Sie wurde am 10.06.1862 in Columbus, MS, geboren. Nach ihrer Heirat begleitete sie ihren Mann auch als Missionar der MEC.
Sie war bereits vor ihrer Heirat drei Jahre Missionar der MEC in Shanghai, China; in Japan übernahm sie evangelische Arbeiten für Frauen.
Sie hatten die folgenden Kinder:
- Basil Worthington, Jr.
- William († 1898 in Osaka, auf dem Kobe Ausländer-Friedhof begraben)
- Harris Magruder, * 03.03.1897 in Osaka, er wurde Missionar der MEC in Japan ab 1925
- George Lipscomb, * 21.05.1900 in Osaka, er wurde Missionar der MEC in Japan ab 1922.

Sie verließen Japan am 23.04.1910, aber bald danach, am 22.06.1910, starb sie an Pellagra im St. Helena Sanitarium, CA, und sie wurde auf dem St. Helena Friedhof beigesetzt.
Nach er Japan verlassen hatte, war er 25 Jahre Pfarrer. Nach dem Tod seiner ersten Frau heiratete er Willie Deisher Wood.
Er starb 1936 an Krebs und wurde auf dem Friedhof von Buena Vista begraben.
11.01.1859 in Montgomery County, MD, USA
26.02.1936 in Buena Vista, VA, USA

Son of Zacharia D. W. and Elizabeth (nee Magruder) Waters.

He acquired the B.A. at the Randolph-Macron College at Ashland, VA, in 1881. Afterwards he worked as a pastor until 1887. He was ordained on the Baltimore Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1885.
In 1887 he was sent to Japan by the MEC as a missionary and he arrived on October 29, 1887. At first he took office in Kobe and from 1888 till 1894 he worked in Hiroshima. After a stay in the USA in 1894-1895 he returned to Japan with following stages:
1895-1898 in Osaka, Sakai, Kobe, Himeiji
1898-1904 in Hiroshima, Girls' School
1904-1910 in Nakatsu
He was appointed Presiding Elder of the Kobe district from 1897 to 1898 and of the Hiroshima district from 1892 to 1894 and 1898 to 1904, and also served as treasurer of Hiroshima Jogakkō Girls School from 1898 to 1904.

On February 28, 1890 he married Tallulah Harris Lipscomb in Shanghai, China. She was born on June 10, 1862 in Columbus, MS. After her marriage she accompanied her husband as a missionary of the MEC, too.
She had been a missionary of the MEC in Shanghai, China, for three years before her marriage; she did evangelistic work among women while in Japan.
They had the following children:
- Basil Worthington, Jr.
- William († 1898 in Osaka, buried in the Kobe Foreign Cemetery)
- Harris Magruder, * 03.03.1897 in Osaka, he became a MEC missionary in Japan as of 1925
- George Lipscomb, * 21.05.1900 in Osaka, he became a MEC missionary in Japan as of 1922.

They departed on April 23, 1910 but soon after, on June 22, 1910, she died of pellagra in the St. Helena Sanitorium, CA; she was buried in the St. Helena Cemetery.
After leaving Japan he was a minister for twenty-five years. After the death of his first wife he married Willie Deisher Wood.
He died of cancer in 1936 and was buried in the cemetery of Buena Vista.
___
/ P II – III / USA / MIS /
WATERS
Joseph Henry Ernest
1852 – 1893

[Ernie]
[Joseph Harry Earnest]



Für Vergrößerung klicken
Joseph Henry Ernest Waters











Für Vergrößerung klicken
"Sheridan Incline"
- (links) ging drei Meilen bergaufwärts von der Pandora Mill zur Smuggler-Union-Mine.
- (left) climbing three miles uphill from Pandora Mill to the Smuggler-Union Mine












Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Ernest Waters' Grab auf dem Fairmount-Friedhof in Denver mit den Freimaurer-Symbolen Winkel und Zirkel
- Ernest Waters' grave on the Fairmount Cemetery in Denver. Note the Freemason symbols, square and compasses

??.08.1852 in Parsonstown (Birr)/ County Offaly, IR
09.5.1893 in Denver/Colorado, USA

Alle drei Söhne des irischen Arztes John Waters arbeiteten zeitweilig in Japan. Der älteste, Thomas James Waters, genannt "Tom", machte den Anfng und begann in Japan 1868 eine erste Karriere als Architekt. Ab 1872 wurde er dann auch von seinem jüngeren Bruder unterstützt, John Albert Robinson Waters, genannt "Bertie". Zwei Jahre später folgte auch der jüngste der drei, "Ernie", als Bergbauingenieur nach Japan.

Ernest Waters erhielt seine Ausbildung an der "Royal School of Mines" in London und an der "Königlich-Sächsischen Bergakademie" in Freiberg. Danach bereiste er Bergwerke in Deutschland, Ungarn, Belgien, Schweden und Frankreich sowie im englischen Cornwall und in Wales. Ab 1873 arbeitete er in Japan in seinem Beruf für das Industrie - Ministerium. (kōbushō).

In Paris unterzeichnete er einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Industrie-Ministerium, Bereich Bergbau, der mit seiner Ankunft in Japan am 01.09.1873 begann und über eine Zeit von drei Jahren vorgesehen war.

1877 schickte ein Konsortium - Bankiers aus London und Geschäftsleute aus Hongkong - Ernest Waters in die USA. Nachdem Waters verschiedene Minen in den USA und in Mexiko begutachtet hatte, entschied er sich für die Rocky Mountains. Dort hatte im August 1875 ein gewisser John Fallon eine Edelmetall-Ader entdeckt, die den Namen "Sheridan" erhielt. Sie lag, schwer zugänglich, im Marshall-Bassin oberhalb der Baumgrenze und erreichte an ihrem höchsten Punkt eine Höhe von fast 4.000 Metern. An dieser Ader lagen die Minen von "Sheridan", "Mendota", "Smuggler" und "Union". Die früheren Entdecker und Besitzer besaßen nicht genug Kapital für eine systematische Erschließung und verkauften daher oft ihre Anteile. Ernest Waters ließ sich schließlich in der Goldgräberstadt Telluride in Colorado nieder, deren Namen von Zeitgenossen oft als "To hell you ride" gedeutet wurde. Wie sich zeigte, wartete dort kein Ritt zur Hölle, sondern unermesslicher Reichtum.

Waters brachte bedeutende Investitionen in dieses Gebiet. Auf seinen Rat hin erwarb das britisch-chinesische Konsortium 1885 die Sheridan-Mine für den Betrag von 400.000 Dollar und später auch die Smuggler- und Mendota-Minen für je 100.000 Dollar. Der jährliche Ertrag jeder einzelnen Mine lag zwischen 400 000 und 600 000 Dollar. Geschäftsführer der neuen "Sheridan-Mendota Consolidated Mine" wurde Ernest Waters.
Zuerst begann er mit der Verbesserung der Infrastruktur. Um das Erz ins Tal zu bringen, entwarf und baute er den zwei Kilometer langen "Sheridan Incline", eine Rampe, auf der eine zweispurige Bahn einen Höhenunterschied von etwa 600 Metern überwand und 800 Tonnen Erz pro Tag zur "Denver & Rio Grande Railway" brachte. Dadurch konnte Waters die Transportkosten pro Tonne Erz um 7.50 Dollar senken.
Waters, zwischenzeitlich Bergbau-Berater für die chinesische Regierung, gehörte 1887 zu den Mitgründern des "Telluride Clubs" aus Geschäftsleuten und Minenbesitzern und war Vorsitzender der am 15.08.1889 gegründeten "Telluride Bank".

In das Minen-Geschäft stiegen auch die beiden anderen Waters-Brüder ein, die nach Telluride nachkamen und unter anderem an den Minen von Tomboy und Belmont beteiligt waren. Alle drei Brüder handelten im großen Stil mit Rohsilber, das sie an Banken in Großbritannien und China verkauften. Nach dem "Sherman Silver Purchase Act" vom 14.07.1890 kaufte das amerikanische Finanzministerium große Mengen Silber und bezahlte sie mit Papiergeld. Dies drückte den Silberpreis in drei Jahren fast um die Hälfte und entzog den üppigen Geschäften der Gebrüder Waters einen Teil ihrer bisherigen Grundlage.

Ernest als der jüngste der drei Waters-Brüder starb wenige Jahre später als erster. Er hinterließ ein Vermögen von mehr als einer halben Million Dollar. Er wurde auf dem Fairmount-Friedhof in Denver begraben. Rückblickend war sein Aufenthalt in Japan nur eine Episode.
??.08.1852 in Parsonstown (Birr)/ County Offaly, IR
09.5.1893 in Denver/Colorado, USA

All the three sons of the Irish doctor John Waters were temporarily working in Japan. The eldest, Thomas James Waters, called "Tom", was the first, beginning in Japan in 1868 a first career as an architect. As of 1872 he was supported by his younger brother, John Albert Robinson Waters, called "Bertie".
Two years later, their youngest brother "Ernie" also followed to Japan as a mining engineer.

Ernest Waters had got was educated at the "Royal School of Mines" in London and at the "Royal Saxon Mining Academy" (Königlich-Sächsische Bergakademie) in Freiberg, Saxony. Subsequently he visited mines in Germany, Hungary, Belgium, Sweden and France as well as in British Cornwall and Wales. From 1873 on, he worked in Japan in his profession for the Ministry of Public Works (kōbushō).

In Paris he signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Public Works, Mining Department, which began with his arrival in Japan on September 1, 1873 and was proposed over a period of three years.

In 1877, a syndicate - bankers from London and business men from Hong Kong - sent Ernest Waters to the USA. After having examined various mines in the USA and in Mexico, he decided for the Rocky Mountains.
There, a certain John Fallon had in August of 1875 discovered a precious metal vein named "Sheridan".
It was situated, almost inaccessible, in the Marshall Basin above the timber line, attaining at its highest point a height of nearly 4 000 metres. At this vein were located the Sheridan, Mendota, Smuggler and Union mines.
Their former discoverers and proprietors lacked the capital for a systematic development, thus often selling out their shares. Ernest Waters finally settled in the gold diggers' town Telluride in Colorado, whose name is said to have often been interpreted by contemporaries as "To hell you ride".
As it turned out, no hell but an enormous wealth waited there.

Waters brought important investments to this area. Upon his advise, the British-Chinese consortium bought in 1885 the Sheridan mine for the amount of 400,000 dollars and later the Smuggler and Mendota mines for 100,000 dollars each.
The output from every single mine was between 400,000 and 600,000 dollars a year. Manager of the new "Sheridan-Mendota Consolidated Mine" became Ernest Waters.

At first, he began to improve the infrastructure. To carry the ore down to the valley, he designed and erected the more than two kilometres long "Sheridan Incline", a slope on which a double-track railway bridged a height difference of about 600 metres, bringing 800 tons of ore a day to the "Denver & Rio Grande Railway". So, Waters was able to reduce the transport cost for each ton of ore by 7.50 dollars.

Waters, temporarily acting as mining adviser for the Chinese government, was in 1887 one of the founders of the "Telluride Club" of local businessmen and mine owners, and became president of the"Telluride Bank", established on August 15, 1889.

The two other Water brothers also entered the mine business, having moved to Telluride as well and possessing shares among others of the mines of Tomboy and Belmont. All the brothers dealt at a great scale with crude silver, which they sold to banking corporations in Great Britain and China.
After the "Sherman Silver Purchase Act" from July 14, 1890, the American treasury bought great amounts of silver, paying for them with paper money. This drove the silver price within three years almost to its half, partially depriving the gorgeous business of the Waters brothers of its former base.

Ernest as the youngest of the Waters brothers was the first who died, only a few years later. He left a wealth of more than a half million dollar. He was buried on the Fairmount Cemetery in Denver. Looking back, his stay in Japan had only been a short episode.
___
/ P II / IR / FE-R (36 Mon.) /
WATERS
Thomas James
1842 – 1898

[Tom]



Für Vergrößerung klicken
Thomas James Waters



























Für Vergrößerung klicken
Kaiserliche Münze - Imperial Mint Osaka 1871
- Links das Haus der mittleren ausländischen Angestellten, rechts das Barren-Büro, daneben das Haus der leitenden Angestellten. Der Senpukan (nicht mehr auf dem Bild) befand sich ganz rechts.
- On the left the building for middle-ranking foreign employees, at the right side the bullion bureau, beside it the house for high-ranking employees. The Senpukan (not visible on this picture) was situated at the extreme right.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Münze – Osaka ca. 1922 - Mint

Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken
Portikus – Portico
Sakuranomiya Public Hall
Architectural Stamp Series No. 7 – C 943- 15.02.1983


Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Die Münze, Eingang mit den beiden Wachhäuschen
- The Mint, entrance with the two guard houses.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Senpukan 1871
- zur Beherbergung hoher Gäste, bereits mit Gasbeleuchtung und Wasserspülung ausgestattet
- for lodging of high guests, already equipped with gaslight and water toilet.









Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Waters' Entwurf für eine Banknoten-Druckerei in Japan, nicht realisiert
- Waters' design for a Japanese banknote manufacturing plant, not realized







Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Tom Waters' Grab in Denver, Colorado. Als Geburtsjahr ist irrtümlich 1843 angegeben.
- Tom Waters' grave in Denver, Colorado. As year of birth, 1843 is given erroneously.

17.07.1842 in Parsonstown (Birr), County Offaly, IR
05.02.1898 in Denver, Colorado, USA

Obwohl er kein gelernter Architekt war, entwarf Tom Waters wichtige Bauten für die japanische Regierung, darunter die Kaiserliche Münze in Osaka und die Kaserne der Kaiserlichen Garde. Mit dem Wiederaufbau der Ginza in Tokyo nach dem Brand von 1872 wurde unter seiner Leitung die erste Geschäftsstraße nach westlichem Vorbild in Japan geplant und gebaut.

Waters war eines von zehn Kindern des angesehenen irischen Arztes Dr. John Waters und seiner Frau Helena, geb. Robinson. Dr. Waters war am "Fieberhospital" im damaligen Parsonstown tätig, einem Ort, der wenig später wieder seinen früheren Namen Birr erhielt. 1857 verlor Dr. Waters durch eine Seuche - vermutlich Cholera - viele Patienten, eine seiner Töchter und schließlich auch sein eigenes Leben. Seine Witwe und einige der Kinder zogen ins englische Brighton. Tom Waters soll ebenfalls Irland früh verlassen und einen Teil seiner Erziehung in England und Deutschland erhalten haben. Danach wurde er von John Elder auf der damaligen Werft Randolph, Elder & Co. in Glasgow zum Technischen Zeichner ausgebildet. Dabei erwarb er verschiedene mit dem Schiffbau verbundene Ingenieurskenntnisse; als seine große Begabung erwies sich jedoch das Zeichnen und Entwerfen.

Durch das Büro des Geschäftsmannes Thomas B. Glover wurde Tom Waters etwa 1864 informiert, so bald als möglich nach Nagasaki zu kommen, da dort "viel Arbeit auf ihn wartet".
Im Oktober 1864 kam Waters in Hongkong an und blieb dort bis zum Mai 1865. Möglicherweise kam er damals bereits in Berührung mit der "Royal Mint" in Hongkong und ihrem damaligen Leiter Thomas William Kinder. Danach reiste Waters über Shanghai nach Nagasaki, der Wahlheimat Glovers. Glover vermittelte ihm mit Ueno Kagenori einen eigenen Dolmetscher. Im japanischen Amami-Ōshima arbeitete Waters zwei Jahre an der Errichtung von Zuckerfabriken; dann wurde er für den Daimyo von Satsuma Chefingenieur in Kagoshima. Hier lernte er auch A. N. Shillingford kennen, der dort die Baumwollspinnerei aufbaute und mit dem er später beim Bau der Ginza zusammenarbeitete.
Im Oktober 1868 ging Waters, erneut auf Anraten Glovers, nach Osaka, wo auf dem Gelände eines ehemaligen Bauholzplatzes am Fluss Yodo die neue japanische Münzanstalt entstehen sollte, die später unter Leitung von Thomas Kinder stand. Bereits am 01.11.1868 wurde Waters Chefingenieur für diesen Bau.
Der Entwurf von Waters ähnelte generell der Münze in Hongkong. Er bestand aus einem aus blauem Sandstein errichteten, 68,6 m langen und 22,8 m breiten Hauptbau.
Die Fundamente für die Dampfmaschine, die Walzwerke und Prägemaschinen waren aus Stein, während die Kesselfundamente, die Öfen und der Schornstein aus Ziegeln gebaut wurden. Das Innere der Münze bestand aus neun Abteilungen, die durch Glas- und Ziegelwände getrennt waren. Durch den gesamten Bau lief eine Welle zum Antrieb der verschiedenen Maschinen mit Transmissionsriemen.
Die Vorderfront war durch einen Portikus in der Mitte hervorgehoben, auch als Sakuranomiya Public Hall bekannt. Es war ursprünglich der Haupteingang zum Büro der Osaka Münze.
An den Seiten sorgten hohe Rundbogenfenster für Helligkeit im Inneren. In der Mitte der Rückseite war das Kesselhaus angeordnet, seitlich flankiert vom Punzierbüro und dem Werkzeugbau. Aus Sicherheitsgründen erfolgte der Ein- und Ausgang durch einen einzigen Gang. Zugang bestand nur durch das Vorderbüro, wo auch Kleidung und Habe kontrolliert wurden.
Die gesamte Anlage war von einem schmiedeeisernen Zaun mit einem Sicherheitstor umgeben, flankiert von zwei achteckigen Wachhäuschen. Zur Beleuchtung wurden insgesamt 686 Gaslaternen installiert, von denen 65 der Außenbeleuchtung dienten.
Nach einigen ersten Verzögerungen begannen die Bauarbeiten an der neuen Münze im Januar 1869. Doch die Verzögerungen hielten an. Zunächst fehlten 30,000 Ziegel auf der Baustelle. Im Dezember 1869 trat ein größerer Brand ein. Dann gestaltete sich der Bau des Mauerwerks als sehr zeitaufwendig, da die japanischen Arbeiter erst im Mauern im Verbund unterwiesen werden mussten. Es gab auch zu wenig Steinmetze und die japanische Regierung ordnete an, dass alle anderen Baustellen in Osaka bis zur Fertigstellung der Münze ruhen müssten. Dennoch mussten Steinarbeiter von außerhalb geholt werden.

Ein weiteres Gebäude der Osaka-Münze war der "Senpukan", ein von Waters im Kolonialstil entworfenes Gebäude.
Hier gab es neben Gaslicht auch Toiletten mit Wasserspülung. Insgesamt 56 Steinsäulen stützten die beiden Stockwerke. Der Senpukan diente mehreren Zwecken. Er war der Sitz des Commissioners der Münze, aber auch Gästehaus für hohe in- und ausländische Gäste.
Für den höchsten von ihnen, den Tennō, war sogar ein eigener Thron vorhanden. Am 04.04.1871 wurde schließlich die Kaiserliche Münzanstalt Osaka feierlich eröffnet.

Obwohl Tom Waters die Münze entwarf, lag doch die komplette Verantwortung bei W. T. Kinder; die Maschinen für die Münze wurden über T. B. Glover importiert.

Die Erweiterung der Osaka Münze erforderte schließlich neue und größere Gebäude und die von Waters 1869-1871 geschaffenen mussten ersetzen werden. Für einen Abriß war aber die Sakuranomiya Public Hall mit den Stufen und 6 Säulen zu beeindruckend.
Der Waters Eingang wurde mit einem neuen öffentlichen Auditorium, genannt Meiji Memorial Hall, verbunden und am 03.11.1935, dem 83. Jahrestag der Geburt von Kaiser Meiji (1852-1912), eingeweiht. Im April 1949 wurde dies in den Besitz der Stadt Osaka übergeben und wurde in Sakuranomiya Public Hall umbenannt.
Auch wurde die Senpukan Empfangshalle als Eigentum der Stadt Osaka bewahrt und im Jahr 1956 als wichtiges kulturelles Eigentum gekennzeichnet.

Als am 04.04.1871 schließlich die Kaiserliche Münzanstalt Osaka eröffnet wurde, war Waters bereits abgereist. Er war nun ab 01.01.1871 "Surveyor General" der japanischen Regierung geworden und entwarf unter anderem eine Brücke auf dem Gelände des Kaiserpalasts, ferner das Hauptquartier Takebashi der japanischen Garde sowie ein - nicht verwirklichtes - Gebäude für die Banknoten-Druckerei. Schließlich erhielt er auch den Auftrag für den Wiederaufbau der Tokyoter Hauptgeschäftsstraße Ginza.

An der Ginza waren mehr als 3.000 aus Holz gebaute Häuser bei einem Brand am 26.02.1872 durch die Flammen vernichtet worden. Der Gouverneur der Präfektur Tokyo, Yuri Kōsei, beschloss mit Unterstützung des japanischen Finanzministers Ōkuma Shigenobu und seines Stellvertreters Inoue Kaoru den Wiederaufbau der Häuser mit feuerfesten Ziegeln und die Gestaltung der Straße nach westlichem Vorbild. Als Thomas Waters den Auftrag für den Wiederaufbau erhielt, wurde fast eine Familienangelegenheit daraus. Tom Waters holte seinen Bruder John Albert Robinson Waters nach Japan.
Außerdem wirkte A. N. Shillingford mit, mit dem er bereits in Kagoshima zusammen gearbeitet hatte.

Für den Wiederaufbau legte Waters ein Raster zu Grunde. Die Breite der Straßen wurde auf 27, 18, 14,4 und 5,4 Meter festgelegt; als Straßenbelag dienten Ziegel. Gehweg und Fahrbahn wurden, erstmals in Japan, von einander getrennt und durch eine Baumreihe auch optisch geteilt. Für die zwei- und dreistöckige Bebauung wurden Häuserzeilen vorgesehen, deren Maße sich nach der jeweiligen Straßenbreite richteten. Bei den Straßen mit 27 und 18 Metern besaßen die jeweiligen Bauten bei je sechs Meter Straßenfront eine Tiefe von zehn Metern. Die zwei Meter zur Straße waren mit Arkaden gestaltet. Die Pläne für die Häuser wurden von Thomas Waters angefertigt oder zumindest genehmigt.
Aus Gründen des Brandschutzes wurden die Eigentümer der Grundstücke verpflichtet, nur Stein oder Ziegel zu verwenden. Fast alle Bauten wurden mit Ziegeln ausgeführt; das Viertel wurde daher "Bricktown" genannt. Von Henri Pélegrin installiertes Gaslicht erleuchtete nachts die Straße.

Der Wiederaufbau dauerte von 1872 bis 1877. Finanzielle Engpässe, der Anstieg der Baukosten und die mangelnde Popularität der in den feuchten japanischen Sommern als ungesund empfundenen Ziegelhäuser führten zu einem vorzeitigen Ende des Wiederaufbaus. Statt der ursprünglich geplanten 993 Bauten wurde nur etwa ein Drittel verwirklicht. Dennoch wurde die neue Ginza mit der Regent Street in London verglichen und wurde Symbol für das "Neue Japan" und die inzwischen allgemeine Akzeptanz des westlichen Baustils. Die Gesamtkosten für den zunächst unfertigen Wiederaufbau betrugen insgesamt 1,8 Millionen Yen, eine Summe, die etwa vier Prozent des jährlichen Staatshaushalts entsprach. Die Gebäude überlebten bis zum Großen Erdbeben 1923.
Vom 22.04.1873 bis 28.02.1874 hatte er Urlaub und er setzte seine Arbeit am 01.03.1874 fort. Sein Vertrag endete am 28.05.1875.
Tom Waters bemühte sich sehr die japanische Regierung zu überzeugen, dass er benötigt wird, es war aber vergeblich.
Er selbst sah sich inzwischen zunehmend der Konkurrenz anderer ausländischer, aber auch in Japan bereits ausgebildeter Architekten ausgesetzt.
1875 verließ er Japan und ging für einige Jahre als Berater und Ingenieur nach Shanghai, dann als Grubeningenieur auf die Südinsel von Neuseeland. Seine Schwester Lucy, verheiratete Gray, lebte inzwischen dort in der Nähe von Queenstown.
Danach folgte er seinen Brüdern Joseph Henry Ernest Waters und dann auch Albert in die USA. Ernest, ausgebildeter Bergbau-Ingenieur, arbeitete in der Goldgräberstadt Telluride in Colorado und betrieb die "Sheridan-Mendota Consolidated Mine" und verschiedene andere Silberminen. Thomas Waters erwarb selbst Anteile an einigen Minen. Nachdem der Silberpreis in Folge des "Silver Purchase Act" von 1890 beträchtlich gefallen war, begann der Abbau weniger lukrativ zu werden.
Tom Waters war jedoch davon weniger betroffen, da er nicht nur die Silbermine Belmont besaß, sondern auch die Tomboy-Mine, in der Gold abgebaut wurde.

Thomas Waters starb fünf Jahre nach seinem Bruder Ernest. Beide sind auf dem Fairmount-Friedhof in Denver, Colorado, bestattet.
17.07.1842 in Parsonstown (Birr), County Offaly, IR
05.02.1898 in Denver, Colorado, USA

Although he was not an educated architect, Tom Waters designed important buildings for the Japanese Government, among them the Imperial Mint at Osaka and the barracks for the Imperial Guard.
With the reconstruction of the Ginza in Tokyo after the fire of 1872, the first Western-style business street in Japan was designed and built under his supervision.

Waters was one of ten children of the respected Irish surgeon Dr John Waters and his wife Helena, née Robinson.
Dr Waters worked at the "fever hospital" in former Parsonstown, a place that got a few years later again its former name Birr. In 1857 Dr Waters lost from a plague - probably cholera - many of his patients, one of his own daughters and finally his own life.
His widow and some of the children moved to Brighton in England. Tom Waters is said to have also left Ireland early and to have got parts of his education in England and Germany. Afterwards, he was trained to a technical draughtsman by John Elder in the former shipyard Randolph, Elder & Co. in Glasgow.
Hereby he acquired a variety of engineering knowledge connected to shipbuilding; but drawing and designing turned out to be his great talent.

About in 1864 Tom Waters was informed by the office of businessman Thomas B. Glover to come to Nagasaki as soon as possible because "a lot of work waits for him".

In October of 1864, Waters arrived at Hong Kong and stayed there till May of 1865. Possibly, he already established contacts with the "Royal Mint" in Hong Kong and its director Thomas William Kinder. Thereafter Waters travelled via Shanghai to Nagasaki, where Glover lived. Glover arranged for Waters Ueno Kagenori as his interpreter.
In Japanese Amami-Ōshima, Waters was engaged for two years in the erection of sugar mills; afterwards he became chief engineer in Kagoshima for the daimyo of Satsuma.
Here he met A. N. Shillingford, who was constructing the cotton mill and with whom he was working in later days in the reconstruction of the Ginza.

In October of 1868 Waters went, once more on Glover's advice, to Osaka, where the new Japanese mint was to be built on the grounds of a former lumber yard at the banks of the river Yodo, which should be later directed by Thomas Kinder. Already on November 1, 1868 Waters became chief engineer for this building.
Waters' design was generally similar to the Hong Kong Mint. It consisted of a main building, erected with blue sand stone with a length of 68.8 metres and a width of 22.8 metres.
The foundations for the steam engine, rolling mills and coining presses were of stone, whereas the boiler foundations, the furnaces and the chimney were made of brick. The interior of the mint consisted of nine compartments, separated by walls of glass and brick.
Through the whole length of the building ran a line of shafting, driving the various machines by belts.

The front was characterised by a portico at the centre, also known as the Sakuranomiya Public Hall. It was originally the main entrance to the foundry of the Osaka Mint Bureau.

At its sides high round headed windows lit the interior.
In the middle of the rear side the boiler room was arranged, flanked on its sides by the assay office and the die shop. Because of security reasons, the only way in or out led through one corridor. The sole entrance was through the front office, where clothes and belongings were inspected.

The whole site was surrounded by a wrought iron fence with a security door, flanked by two octagonal guard houses.
For lighting, 686 gas lanterns were installed, 65 of them serving as exterior lights.

After some first delays, work at the new mint started in January of 1869. But the set-backs held on. At first 30.000 bricks were short at the construction site. In December 1869 a major fire occurred. Then, the masonry took more time than expected because the Japanese labourers had first to be instructed in the technique of brick laying.
Also, there were not enough stonemasons and the Japanese Government ordered that all construction in Osaka had to be halted till the completion of the mint.
Nevertheless, stone workers had to be brought in from outside.

Another building of the Osaka Mint, completed in 1871, was the "Senpukan", a building designed by Waters in colonial style.
It was equipped with gaslight and also a water toilet had been established. In total, 56 stone pillars supported the two storeys. The Senpukan served several purposes. It was the seat of the mint's Commissioner as well as a guest house for high Japanese and foreign officials.
For the highest of them, the tennō, even a throne was provided. Finally, the Imperial Mint Osaka was ceremoniously inaugurated on April 4, 1871.

Although Tom Waters designed the mint, the complete responsibility bore W. T. Kinder; the mint machinery was imported via T. B. Glover.

Expansion of the Osaka Mint eventually required new and larger buildings to replace those Waters had built in 1869-71. But the Sakuranomiya Public Hall with its steps and six columns was too impressive to discard.
The Waters entrance was fitted to a new public auditorium named the Meiji Memorial Hall and dedicated on November 3, 1935, the 83rd anniversary of the birth of the Emperor Meiji (1852-1912). In April 1949 this became the property of the City of Osaka, and was renamed the Sakuranomiya Public Hall.

Also the Senpukan reception hall was preserved as property of the City of Osaka and designated as important cultural property in 1956.

When the Imperial Mint Osaka was inaugurated on April 4, 1871, Waters already had departed. As of January 1, 1871 he had become "Surveyor General" of the Japanese Government and designed among others a bridge on the grounds of the Imperial Palace, furthermore the headquarters of the Japanese guard at Takebashi and a banknote manufacturing plant which was never realised. Finally he was given the contract for the reconstruction of Tokyo's main business street Ginza.

At the Ginza, more than 3,000 houses built from wood were destroyed by a fire on February 26, 1872. The governor of Tokyo prefecture, Yuri Kōsei, decided, supported by the Japanese ministry of finance, Ōkuma Shigenobu, and his deputy, Inoue Kaoru, to reconstruct the buildings with fire-proof bricks and to design the street according to Western standards.
When Thomas Waters had received the order for the reconstruction, it almost became a family affair.
Tom Waters brought his brother John Albert Robinson Waters to Japan.
Another collaborator became A. N. Shillingford, who had worked with Tom Waters already in Kagoshima.

For the reconstruction, Waters used a grid. The breadth of the streets was standardised to 27, 18, 14.4 and 5.4 metres; as pavement served bricks.
The walk for pedestrians and the carriageway were, for the first time in Japan, separated and divided optically by a row of trees.
For the two and three storey buildings, terraced houses were planned whose dimensions varied according to the respective width of the street. At streets with 27 and 18 metres, the buildings had a street front of six metres and a depth of ten metres. Two metres facing the street were designed with arcades. The plans for the houses were drawn or at least approved by Thomas Waters.
From reasons of fire prevention the landowners had to use stone or brick. Almost all buildings were constructed of brick; the quarter was therefore nicknamed "Bricktown".

Gaslight, installed by Henri Pélegrin, lit the street by night.

The reconstruction lasted from 1872 to 1877. Financial shortcomings, the rise of building cost and the lacking popularity of the brick houses, thought to be unhealthy in the humid Japanese summers, resulted in a premature end of the reconstruction. Instead of the originally planned 993 houses only a third was realised. Nevertheless, the new Ginza was compared to London's Regent Street and became a symbol for the "New Japan" and its meanwhile general acceptance of Western-style building.
The overall cost for the still incomplete reconstruction amounted to 1.84 million Yen, a sum after all corresponding to about four percent of Japan's annual budget. The buildings survived until the Great Kantō earthquake in 1923.

From April 22, 1873 to February 28, 1874 he was on leave and he continued his work on March 1, 1874. His contract expired on May 28, 1875.
Tom Waters tried hard to convince the Japanese government that they needed him, but to no avail.
He also became himself more and more confronted with competition from other foreign architects, but also from those Japanese already trained in Japan.
In 1875 he left Japan, moving for a couple of years to Shanghai as adviser and engineer, then going as mining engineer to the South Island of New Zealand. His sister Lucy, married Gray, meanwhile lived there near Queenstown.

Thereafter he followed his brothers Joseph Henry Ernest Waters and then also Albert to the USA. Ernest, a trained mining engineer, was working in the gold diggers' town Telluride in Colorado, running the "Sheridan-Mendota Consolidated Mine" as well as various other silver mines.
After the silver price had considerably dropped because of the "Silver Purchase Act" from 1890, mining started to become less profitable.

Tom Waters, however, was affected to a lesser extent because he possessed not only the Belmont silver mine, but also the Tomboy mine where gold was won.

Thomas Waters died five years after his brother Ernest. Both are buried on the Fairmount Cemetery in Denver, Colorado.
___
/ P II / IR / FE-T (87 Mon.)
WATTS
William Oscar
1879 -




10.02.1879 in Ash Flat, Arkansas, USA


Er lebte in Summertown, Tennessee, bevor er nach Nagasaki kam, wo er am 20.03.1904 eintraf, um als Angestellter im US-Armee-Depots zu arbeiten und löste Elwood G. Babbit in seiner Funktion ab.
Watts heiratete am 08.06.1905 Margaret Walker (21), eine Tochter von Robert Neill Walker. Im folgenden Jahr bekamen sie eine Tochter. William Watts arbeitete sieben Jahre im Armee-Depot von Nagasaki und 1911 wurde er nach Seattle, Washington versetzt.
10.02.1879 in Ash Flat, Arkansas, USA


He resided in Summertown, Tennessee before coming to Nagasaki where he arrived on March 20, 1904 to serve as clerk at the U.S. Army Depot succeeding Elwood G. Babbit in his function.
Watts married Margaret Walker (21), a daughter of Robert Neill Walker on June 8, 1905 and the couple had a daughter the following year. William Watts remained at the Nagasaki Army Depot for seven years until being transferred to Seattle, Washington in 1911.
___
/ P III / USA / MIL /
WEINBERGER
Adolf Wilhelm Camilio
1855 – 1917

[C.]

28.05.1855 in Grossenhain, Sachsen, DE
30.01.1917 in Yokohama, Japan

Als er 1879 nach Japan kam, arbeitete er zuerst für Morf & Co., Yokohama # 176. Er arbeitete für diese Firma bis 1887 und wechselte dann zu Retz & Co., Yokohama # 214. Von 1887 bis 1892 arbeitete er dann bei dieser Firma und wurde auch Partner.
Aufgrund seiner langen kommerziellen Erfahrung in Japan entschloss er sich im Jahr 1892, seine eigene Firma zu gründen, die unter Weinberger & Co., Kommissions- und Import-Kaufmann, Yokohama # 46, firmierte. Er war Inhaber der Firma bis zu seinem Tod und die Firma war immer am gleichen Standort.
Er war immer aktives Mitglied der deutschen Gemeinschaft und gleich nach seiner Ankunft wurde er Mitglied der OAG und nach kurzer Zeit sogar Schatzmeister.
Auch als Mitglied des German Club wurde er 1903 zum Präsident gewählt.
Am 23.04.1889 heiratete C. Weinberger die Tochter Hanchen [Helen] von J. M. Jensen, die nach dem Tod von C. Weinberger weiter in Japan lebte.
Er starb 1917 und wurde beigesetzt auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama.


Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Zwei Karten an C. Weinberger von 1894 und 1896 nach seiner Selbständigkeit in Yokohama.
- Two postcards to C. Weinberger from 1894 and 1896 after his independence in Yokohama.
28.05.1855 in Grossenhain, Saxony, DE
30.01.1917 in Yokohama, Japan

When he came to Japan in 1879, he started to work for Morf & Co., Yokohama # 176. He worked for this company until 1887. Then he joined Retz & Co., Yokohama # 214, from 1887 to 1892 and became even a partner.

Due to his long commercial experience in Japan, he decided to start his own company in 1892, which operated under Weinberger & Co., Commission and Import merchant, Yokohama # 46. He was the proprietor of the company until his death and the company was always located at the same place.
He was always an active member of the German community, and immediately after his arrival he became a member of the OAG, and soon became its treasurer.
He was also a member of the German Club and elected President in 1903.
On April 23, 1889, C. Weinberger married the daughter Hanchen [Helen] of J. M. Jensen. She continued to live in Japan after the death of C. Weinberger.
He died in 1917 and was buried in the Foreigners´ Cemetery of Yokohama.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Ein Importschwerpunkt von C. Weinberger bildeten Sicherheits-Grubenlampen für Bergwerke.
- C. Weinberger's main import products were miners´ safety lamps for pits.
___
/ P II – III / DE / TR /
WENCKSTERN
Adolph von
1862 – 1914

[Wilhelm August Adolph]
[WENKSTERN]
[WINKSTERN]




























03.10.1862 in Gross-Doebern, Preussen
1914

Entfernter Verwandter von Friedrich von Wenckstein. Im Alter von 8 Jahren besuchte er die Oberschule von Hohenstein, wechselte dann aber 1875 nach Münster. Sofort nach seinem Abschluß wurde er 1879 Soldat und bereits 1880 zum Leutnant im 34. Regiment befördert. 1885 beendete er seine militärische Laufbahn und widmete sich landwirtschaftlichen Studien in Sumatra. 1890 schrieb er sich in der Universität München ein und studierte Philosophie, danach Wirtschaftswissenschaft und politische Ökonomie an der Universität in Berlin, wo er den Titel eines Dr. phil. 1893 erwarb.
Anschließend unterzeichnete er einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, um an der Universität Tokyo, Sektion Recht, politische Ökonomie und öffentliche Finanzen zu lehren. Er kam im November 1893 in Tokyo an, privat lebte er im Hotel Imperial.
Er beendete seinen Vertrag im April 1895 noch vor Ablauf und ging nach DE zurück. 1896 war er wieder als Dozent an der Berliner Universität tätig, wurde allerdings im gleichen Jahr als ordentlicher Professor an die Universität Breslau berufen. Hier war er bis kurz vor Ausbruch des 1. WK tätig. Er starb 1914.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte vom 08.03.1894 mit einer Einladung zum Gottesdienst von Pfarrer Christlieb.
Postcard posted March 8, 1894 with an invitation for a church service by Reverend Christlieb.
03.10.1862 at Gross-Doebern, Prussia
1914

Remote relative to Friedrich von Wenckstein. Aged 8 years he entered the Junior High School of Hohenstein but turned to the Junior High School of Muenster in 1875. In 1879, immediately after his graduation he became a soldier and soon after, in 1880, he was appointed lieutenant of the 34th regiment. After his military retirement in 1885 he was engaged in agricultural studies in Sumatra. In 1890 he entered Munich University and majored in philosophy, went on to Berlin University to study economic science and political economy where he acquired a Dr. phil. degree in 1893.

Afterwards he signed a contract with the Japanese government, to lecture at the Tokyo Imperial University, department of law, on political economy and public finances. He arrived in November 1893 in Tokyo, privately he resided in the Imperial Hotel.
Before his contract expired, he cancelled it in April 1895 and went back to Germany. In 1896, he was engaged as lecturer at the Berlin University and became full professor at the University of Breslau in the same year. He was in office until short before the outbreak of WW I. He died in 1914.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte vom 03.02.1895 von einem Schüler mit Information zur Erfüllung eines Auftrages.
Postcard posted February 2, 1895 by a pupil informing him on the realisation of an order.
___
/ P III / DE / FE-ED (18 Mon.) /
WENCKSTERN
Friedrich von
1859 - 1914


[Nathango Friedrich Mortimer von]
[N. Moritz von]
[WENKSTERN]


Für Vergrößerung klicken

06.07.1859 in Danzig, DE
1914 in Buenos Aires

Nach Abschluss der Oberschule ging er zum Philologie-Studium von 1883 bis 1887 nach Paris.
Danach folgte eine Tätigkeit in England von 1890-1903 als Verlagsangestellter bei Paul Keegan, Trench und Trübner in London.
1903 kam er nach Japan mit einem Vertrag der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung, um Deutsch und Latein an der 5. Höheren Schule in Kumamoto zu lehren. Der Vertrag lief vom 14.09.1903 bis 31.07.1908, er löste Henry Fardel ab.
Als der Vertrag auslief ging er nach DE zurück, kam aber nach Japan zurück, um vom 10.11.1909 bis 30.04.1910 an der Armee-Akademie zu lehren.
Anschließend wurde er als Dozent nach Buenos Aires eingeladen, wo er 1914 verstarb, das genaue Datum ist unbekannt.
Als Autor veröffentlichte er mehrere Werke, das wichtigste ist eine „Bibliographie von Japan“ (1895-1907), die alle Werke über Japan, die in einer europäischen Sprache in Europa, Amerika und im Fernen Osten von 1859-1893 erschienen sind, erfasst. Weitere Werke sind „Handbuch über römisches Recht für japanische Studenten“, Tokyo 1905 und "Anwendung des Shannon-Systems zur Anordnung ostasiatischer Lochmünzen", veröffentlicht in den Mitteilungen der OAG 1909.
06.07.1859 in Danzig, Germany
1914 in Buenos Aires

After his Junior High School he went to Paris to study languages and literature from 1883 until 1887.
Afterwards he went to England and worked from 1890 to 1903 as clerk in the London publishing house of Paul Keegan, Trench and Truebner.
He came to Japan in 1903 with a contract of the Japanese government, Department of Education, to teach German and Latin at the fifth Senior High School of Kumamoto. The contract ran from September 14, 1903 until July 31, 1908, he succeeded Henry Fardel.
When his contract expired he went back to Germany but returned to Japan to teach at the Army academy from November 10, 1909 until April 30, 1910.
Afterwards he was invited to lecture in Buenos Aires, where he also died in 1914, the exact date is unknown.

As author he published several works, the most important is a “Bibliography of Japan”, published from 1895 until 1907 recording all literature on Japan written in a European language and published in Europe, America and in the Far East within 1859-1893. Further works are “Elementary Manual of Latin Law for the Use of Japanese Law Students”, Tokyo 1905 and “Use of the Shannon System for the Arrangement of Punched Coins”, published in the Bulletin of the OAG in 1909.
___
/ P III / DE / FE-ED (58 Mon.) /
WENDT
Adolf Karl Paul
1870 - 1944

24.07.1870 in Neuruppin, DE
01.07.1944 in Lehnin, DE

Er wurde als Sohn eines Lehrers geboren und studierte nach dem Abitur evangelische Theologie in Berlin. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er als Erzieher am „Großen Militär-Waisenhaus“ in Potsdam. Im Jahr 1897 wurde er als Missionar des „Allgemeinen Evangelisch-protestantischen Missionsvereins“ (AEPM) nach Japan delegiert. Er war mit Anna Auguste Hedwig Wendt verheiratet, die ihn auch begleitete. Sie wohnten in Tokyo # 15 Dotesanbancho, Kojimachi.
Alle AEPM-Missionare mussten nach lutherischer Regel die Sprache ihrer Kirchgemeinde sprechen. So hat auch Adolf Wendt sofort begonnen, Japanisch zu lernen. Im Januar 1899 hielt er seine erste japanische Predigt.
Er war immer bestrebt, den christlichen Glauben nicht unabhängig von kulturellen Zusammenhängen zu vermitteln.
Über seine Arbeit in Japan berichtete Wendt regelmäßig in der Zeitschrift des AEPM. Sein Interesse an der japanischen Situation und Entwicklung bewegte ihn auch, den Roman von Shun´u Nakamura „Sterne der Hoffnung“, ins Deutsche zu übersetzen.
Im Jahr 1903 beendete der AEPM seinen Einsatz in Japan und ihm wurde eine Pfarrstelle in Frankfurt/ Oder zugewiesen. Er kehrte 1903 mit seiner Frau Anna und ihren beiden Kindern zurück, obwohl er gerne in Japan geblieben wäre.
Im November 1917 wurde er auf die Pfarrstelle in Weißig (heute Wysoka) im Kreis Crossen (Krosno) versetzt.
1921 wurde Wendt Gemeindepfarrer in Netzen im Kirchenkreis Lehnin.
Seine Frau starb am 07.11.1929 in Frankfurt/Oder), fünf Jahre später wurde er in Netzen emeritiert, wo er 1944 starb und neben der Kirche beerdigt wurde.


Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Postkarte von Hedwig Wendt vom 11.11.1897 aus Tokyo nach Fallersleben, Deutschland.

- Postcard from Hedwig Wendt posted in Tokyo on November 11, 1897 to Fallersleben, Germany.
24.07.1870 in Neuruppin, DE
01.07.1944 in Lehnin, DE

He was born as the son of a teacher and after his matriculation he studied Evangelical Theology in Berlin. After his studies he worked as an educator at the "Great Military Orphanage" in Potsdam. In 1897, he was delegated to Japan as a missionary of the "General Evangelical Protestant Missionary Society" (AEPM). He was married to Anna Auguste Hedwig Wendt, who also accompanied him. They lived in Tokyo # 15 Dotesanbancho, Kojimachi.

All AEPM missionaries, according to the Lutheran rule, had to speak the language of their church community. Thus, Adolf Wendt immediately began to learn Japanese. In January 1899 he gave his first Japanese sermon.
He has always endeavored not to mediate the Christian faith independently from cultural connections.

On his work in Japan, Wendt regularly reported in the magazine of the AEPM. His interest in the Japanese situation and its development also induced him to translate the novel of Shun'u Nakamura "Stars of Hope" into German.

In 1903 the AEPM ended his mission in Japan and assigned him a parish in Frankfurt/ Oder. He returned in 1903 with his wife Anna and their two children, although he would have liked to stay in Japan.

In November 1917 he was transferred to the parish in Weissig (now Wysoka) in the district of Crossen (Krosno).
In 1921 Wendt became parish priest in Netzen in the church district of Lehnin.
His wife died on November 7, 1929 in Frankfurt/ Oder, and five years later he was given emeritus in Netzen, where he died in 1944, and was buried next to the church.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
___
/ P III / DE / MIS /
WERNSTEDT
W.
1864 - 1936







20.12.1864 in Oelsnitz, DE
22.05.1936 in Kobe

Er stammt aus Oelsnitz, Vogtland, DE und war Techniker.
Nachdem die Geschäfte bei Winckler & Co. wuchsen, wurde 1891 eine Zweigstelle in Kobe eröffnet, die Jakob Winckler leitete. Hier begann er, den Grundstein für die Perlmuttknopf-Industrie in Japan zu legen. Dazu holte er W. Wernstedt nach Kobe, der 1893 eintraf. Im Auftrag von J. Winckler richtete er eine kleine Perlmuttknopf-Fahrik ein, auch deutsche Spezialmaschinen wurden importiert. Sie gilt als Keimzelle der japanischen Knopfindustrie.
Wernstedt war bis 1895 für Winckler & Co. tätig.
Er heiratete eine Japanerin, Masae, und blieb auch im Ruhestand in Kobe wohnen.
Er wurde auf dem Kobe Kasugano Friedhof beigesetzt und später zum Shuhogahara Friedhof umgebettet.
20.12.1864 at Oelsnitz, DE
22.05.1936 in Kobe

Technician, he came from Oelsnitz, Vogtland, DE.
When the business with Winckler & Co. flourished, a branch in Kobe was established in 1891 that Jakob Winckler managed. At this place he started to lay the foundation of the pearl-button industry in Japan. For this reason he sent for W. Wernstedt who arrived in Kobe in 1893. By order of J. Winckler he set up a small pearl-button production line, also German special machinery was imported, now regarded as the nucleus of the Japanese button industry. Wernstedt was employed with Winckler & Co. until 1895.
He married a Japanese, Masae, and continued to reside in Kobe, even after his retirement.
He was buried in the Kobe Kasugano Cemetery and later transferred to Shuhogahara Cemetery.
___
/ P III / DE / ENG /
WEST
Charles Dickinson
1847 - 1908


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Professoer West
- auf seiner Yacht "Jessie"
- on his Yacht "Jessie"

07.01.1847 in Dublin, Ireland
10.01.1908 in Tokyo, Japan

Er besuchte ab 1865 die Universität Dublin und beendete die Universität mit dem Titel eines M.A. und Ingenieurs. Danach arbeitete er fünf Jahre bei einer Firma im Schiffbau, ging dann zu Browns Co., einem Hersteller von Gusseisen. Er war auch in der Dampfmaschinen-Produktion tätig.

Die japanische Regierung schloss mit ihm einen Vertrag ab, der am 16.08.1882 begann und er traf in Japan im Juni 1882 ein, um als Dozent für Maschinenbau am College für Ingenieurwesen in Tokyo zu lehren. Er blieb auch, als das College mit der Universität Tokyo 1886 zusammengeführt wurde. Dann lehrte er Maschinenbau, Schiffbau und Dampfmaschinen-Bau. Er arbeitete 25 Jahre, bis zu seinem Tod, als Professor an der Universität.

Er war ein begeisterter Segler und so wurden auch Alan Owston und Alfred Rogers Freunde, gemeinsam immer auf der Suche zur Verbesserung der Konstruktion ihrer Yachten.

Er starb 1908 und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof Aoyama von Tokyo beigesetzt. In Anerkennung seiner Verdienste wurde im Vorgarten der Tokyo Universität, Technische Fakultät, eine Büste von ihm aufgestellt.
07.01.1847 in Dublin, Ireland
10.01.1908 in Tokyo, Japan

He entered Dublin University in 1865 and after his graduation with a title of M.A. and C.E. from university he worked for five years in a ship-building company. Afterwards he worked for Browns Co., a cast iron manufacturer. He also engaged in vapor engine production.

The Japanese government contracted him, the contract started on August 16, 1882 and he arrived in Japan in June 1882 as lecturer of mechanical engineering at the College of Engineering, Tokyo. He remained when the college was merged with Tokyo University in 1886, then lecturing on mechanical engineering, ship-building, and vapor engine engineering. He worked for 25 years as professor at the University until his death.

He was an enthusiastic yachtsman and thus became friends with Alan Owston and Alfred Rogers, mutually always being on the search to improve the design of their yachts.


He died in 1908 and was buried in the foreigner cemetery of Aoyama, Tokyo. In recognition of his merits a bust of him was erected in the front yard of the Tokyo University, Department of Technology.
___
/ P II – III / IR / FE-ED (300 Mon.)
WESTON
Walter
1861 – 1940






Für Vergrößerung klicken
Reverend Walter Weston
- Denkmal in Kamikochi in den Japanischen Alpen
- memorial at Kamikochi in the Japanese Alps.

25.12.1861 in Derby, GB
18.03.1940 in London

Pfarrer; Missionar der Missions-Gesellschaft der Anglikanischen Kirche (CMS); er wurde in Derby und an der Universität in Cambridge ausgebildet, und erhielt 1883 den BA und 1887 den MA. Er studierte an der Ridley Hall, Cambridge auf ein Priesteramt und wurde 1885 zum Diakon und 1887 zum Priester geweiht. 1886 und 1887 machte er erste Erfahrungen als alpiner Bergsteiger in der Schweiz. 1888 wurden er und seine Frau Missionare in Japan, zuerst in Kumamoto für die CMS stationiert, im gleichen Jahr wurde er allerdings noch in der St. Andrew’s Kirche in Kobe tätig, wo er für die britische Gemeinschaft, die Seemanns-Mission und für die Theologische Schule der CMS in Osaka zuständig war. Der erste Aufenthalt endete 1895, sie kehrten nach GB zurück. 1902 kamen sie erneut nach Japan und er war verantwortlich für den Kirchenneubau in Yokohama, bedingt durch Krankheit endete dieser Einsatz 1905. - Er und seine Frau hatten einige Gelegenheiten, die japanischen Alpen zur Entspannung zu erforschen. Er wurde der führende westliche Pionier für das Bergsteigen als Freizeitsport in Japan. Er bestieg viele Berge von Kyūshū und in Shinshū (jetzt Nagano-ken), heute als japanische Alpen bekannt. Er war der erste Ausländer, der den Mt. Hotaka und Mt. Kasaga ohne japanische Begleiter bestiegen hat. Seine Erlebnisse hat er in dem Buch „Bergsteigen und Erforschen der japanischen Alpen" (1896) publiziert. Sein Name ist eng mit der Sangaku Kai (Gesellschaft für Bergsteigen) verbunden, die am 14.10.1905 von Kojima Usui ins Leben gerufen wurde und er Ehrenmitglied wurde.
Der letzte Aufenthalt als Missionar war von 1911-1915 in Yokohama. 1915 verließ er Japan und lebte in der Schweiz und in London.
Er war als Dozent an der Universität von Cambridge und dem Gilchrist Educational Trust tätig und etablierte sich als Autor.
25.12.1861 at Derby, GB
18.03.1940 in London

Reverend; Missionary of the Anglican Church Missionary Society (CMS); educated at Derby and Cambrigde University, graduating BA in 1883 and MA in 1887. He studied for the Church of England's priesthood at Ridley Hall, Cambridge and was ordained a deacon in 1885 and a priest in 1886. In 1886 and 1887 he made his experience as Alpine climber in Switzerland; in 1888 he and his wife became a missionary in Japan, posted at first in Kumamoto for the CMS and in the same year he took charge of St. Andrew’s Church in Kobe, serving for the British community and the Seamen’s Mission and the CMS Theological School in Ōsaka. The first stay ended in 1895, they returned to England. In 1902 he took again charge as missionary in Yokohama, together with wife, and there he was responsible for the construction of a new church building; due to ill-health he had again to return to England in 1905.
He and his wife had some opportunities to explore the Japanese Alps for relaxation. He became the leading western pioneer of mountain climbing as leisure sport in Japan. He climbed many mountains on Kyūshū and in Shinshū (now Nagano-ken), today known as the Japanese Alps. He was the first foreigner to climb Mt. Hotaka and Mt. Kasaga without a Japanese companion. His experiences are found in the book “Mountaineering and Exploration in the Japanese Alps“ (1896). His name is closely connected with the Sangaku Kai (Mountaineering Society) created on October 14, 1905 by Kojima Usui, he was appointed honorary member.
His last stay in Japan was from 1911-1915 in charge of the Christ Church, Yokohama. He left Japan in 1915 and lived in Switzerland and London.

He was also a lecturer for Cambridge University and the Gilchrist Educational Trust and established himself as a writer.
___
/ P II – III / GB / MIS /
WESTPHALEN
Julius
1862 - 1935

[John]






1862
1935

Er kam 1893 nach Japan und begann eine Tätigkeit bei der Handelsfirma Winckler & Co. in deren Niederlassung in Kōbe # 85. 1896 wird er Prokurist.
Neben seiner Tätigkeit bei Winckler & Co. war er auch ab 1907 als Vize-Konsul für Argentinien und Mexico tätig. -
Am 05.02.1912 wurde Winckler & Co. in eine Kommanditgesellschaft (Gōshi Kaisha) umgewandelt. Als Kommanditisten erschienen Frau Hedwig Winckler, die Witwe von Jakob Winkler, sowie u. a. Julius Westphalen.
Julius Westphalen verstarb 1935 und etwas später übernahm sein Sohn Werner Westphalen die Leitung der Niederlassung von Winckler & Co. in Kobe.
1862
1935

He came to Japan in 1893 and started to work with the trade company Winckler & Co. in their branch in Kobe # 85. In 1896 he became authorized signatory.
Besides his activity with Winckler & Co. he was also appointed vice-consul for Argentina and Mexico from 1907 on. - Winckler & Co. was converted into a limited partnership (Gōshi Kaisha) on February 5, 1912. As limited partners appeared Mrs Hedwig Winckler, widow of Jakob Winckler and, among others, Julius Westphalen.
Julius Westphalen died in 1935 and somewhat later his son Werner took the management of the Kobe branch of Winckler & Co.
___
/ P III / DE / TR /
WEVILL
Frederick John
1855 - 1923

















23.12.1855 in W. Derby, Lancashire, GB
01.09.1923 in Yokohama, bestattet auf dem YFC

Die Familie emigrierte 1898 von GB nach Canada, er war Buchhalter und wohnte mit seiner Frau gemäß der Volkszählung von 1901 in Montreal, Canada.
Es ist nicht bekannt, wann die Familie nach Japan kam. Höchstwahrscheinlich war er als Vetreter der Canadian Pacific Railroad Co. tätig. Er starb während des großen Kantō-Erdbebens.
Seine Frau Frances Elizabeth Wevill wurde am 04.03.1860 in England geboren, sie starb 1939 in Addiscombe, Surrey. Sie heirateten 1894 in Birkenhead, GB. Nach dem Tod ihres Mannes verließ sie Japan nach Canada im November 1923 und am 22.12.1926 auch Canada, um dauerhaft in GB zu leben.
Sie hatten zwei Kinder:
- Alice Norgate Wevill, geb. on 04.05.1895 in Birkenhead, Cheshire, GB, gest. 14.05.1983 in Vancouver, BC, Canada.
Sie war mit William Clarry Blundell, Sohn von George John Blundell, verheiratet.
- George Frederick Wevill, geb. am 08.07.1896 in Birkenhead, verheiratet mit Sylvia Bryan Cheshire, GB, sie lebten einige Zeit in Kobe, er war Buchhalter, gest. am 03.01.1972 in Victoria, BC, Canada.
23.12.1855 in W. Derby, Lancashire, GB
01.09.1923 in Yokohama, buried in the YFC

The family emigrated from GB to Canada in 1898, he was an Accountant and resided with wife in Montreal, Canada according to the 1901 census.
It is not definite when the family came to Japan. Most surely he was employed as agent with the Canadian Pacific Railroad Co. He died during the Great Kantō Earthquake.
His wife Frances Elizabeth Wevill was born on March 4, 1860 in England, she died in Addiscombe, Surrey, in 1939. They were married in 1894 in Birkenhead, England. After the death of his husband she left Japan for Canada in November 1923 and on December 22, 1926 also Canada to permanently reside in GB.

They had two children:
- Alice Norgate Wevill, born on May 4, 1895 in Birkenhead, Cheshire, GB, died 14.05.1983 in Vancouver, BC, Canada.
She was married to William Clarry Blundell, son of George John Blundell.
- George Frederick Wevill, born on July 8, 1896 in Birkenhead, married to Sylvia Bryan Cheshire, GB, lived some time in Kobe, he was an accountant, died on January 3, 1972 in Victoria, BC, Canada.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WEX
Eugen Friedrich Hermann Philipp





Er kam 1879 nach Japan und arbeitete für Adamson, Bell & Co., Yokohama # 36.
Ab 1884 wurde er als Leiter der Niederlassung eingesetzt. Er arbeitete für diese Firma bis 1891, als sie liquidiert wurde. Eugen Wex und Frau haben danach Japan verlassen.
Er war mit Adeline Emile Elisabeth Clara von Greisen verheiratet und beide nahmen am gesellschaftlichen Leben der deutschen Gemeinde von Yokohama teil.
Nach einer Unterbrechung von fast 20 Jahren kam er etwa 1910 für die Bayer A.G. wieder nach Japan.
Diese Firma wurde zunächst von verschiedenen Firmen in Japan vertreten, zuletzt von Rohde & Co. und etwa 1911 entschloss man sich, eigene Filialen einzusetzen, wie z. B. Friedrich Bayer & Co. in Kobe.
Friedrich Wex wurde Leiter der pharmazeutischen Abteilung. Im Sommer 1914 wurde er allerdings zur Verteidigung von Tsingtau eingezogen und geriet bald in japanische Gefangenschaft, wo er in Narashino und dann in Shizuoka interniert wurde. Nach der Gefangenschaft wurde er bei Bayer in Kobe als kaufmännischer Leiter eingestellt.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte aus Tokyo vom 18.05.1881 mit einer persönliche Einladung von Franz Eckert zu einem Konzert in Ueno.

Für Vergrößerung klicken



- Postkarte von Yokohama vom 22.12.1886 nach Berlin, Deutschland von Eugen und Clara Wex an Claras Bruder, Ankunft 27.01.1887.

- Postcard posted in Yokohama on December 22, 1886 to Berlin, Germany from Eugen and Clara Wex to Clara´s brother, arrival on January 27, 1887.



He came to Japan in 1879 and worked for Adamson, Bell & Co., Yokohama # 36.
As of 1884 he was appointed manager of the Yokohama branch. He worked for this company until 1891, when it was liquidated. Eugen Wex and wife then left Japan.
He was married to Adeline Emile Elisabeth Clara von Greisen and both took part in the social life of the German community of Yokohama.
About in 1910, after an interruption of almost 20 years, he came back to Japan for the Bayer A.G.
This company had initially been represented by various companies in Japan, at last by Rohde & Co. and around in 1911 they had decided to establish their own branches, such as Friedrich Bayer & Co. in Kobe.
Friedrich Wex became manager of the pharmaceutical department. In the summer of 1914, however, he was conscripted to defend Tsingtau and soon after he became a Japanese prisoner of war interned in the Camp of Narashino and then in Shizuoka. After the imprisonment, Friedrich Wex became economical manager of the Bayer company in Kobe.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postcard from Tokyo posted May 18, 1881 with a personal invitation from Franz Eckert to a concert in Ueno.

Für Vergrößerung klicken
___
/ P II – III / DE / TR /
WHEELER
Post


[Paul]




Für Vergrößerung klicken
Post + Hallie Wheeler ca. 1916
06.08.1869 in Oswego, New York, USA
23.12.1956 in Neptune, NJ, USA

Wheeler war Auslandskorrespondent in Paris und Marokko nach seinem Abschluss an der Princeton University im Jahre 1891. 1906 bestand er die ersten Prüfungen für den US-Auslandsdienst und diente dann als Diplomat in den Jahren zwischen 1906 und 1934.
Wheeler heiratete die Romanschriftstellerin Hallie Erminie Rives 1906 in Tokyo.
Sie lernten sich bei einem Empfang in New York kennen, begannen eine Freundschaft, die schließlich zur Ehe führte.
Sie begleitete ihn in ganz Europa, Asien und Südamerika während seiner gesamten Karriere im Ausland.
Er war 2. Sekretär der USA - Gesandtschaft in Japan zwischen 1906 und 1909; an der amerikanischen Botschaft in Sankt Petersburg, Russland zwischen 1909 und 1911 und an der amerikanischen Botschaft in Rom zwischen 1912 und 1913.
Er kehrte nach Japan zurück und war Charge d'Affairs zwischen 1914 und 1916 und später Botschaftsrat der US-Botschaft in Tokyo.
Weitere Stationen waren in der US-Gesandtschaft in Stockholm, Schweden zwischen 1917 und 1920; in London von 1921 bis 1924 und in Rio de Janeiro im Jahr 1929. Er war Außerordentlicher Gesandter und Bevollmächtigter Minister in Paraguay von 1929 bis 1933 und in Albanien zwischen 1933 und 1934.
Er starb am 23.12.1956 im Frances Genesungsheim in Neptun, New Jersey, im Alter von 87 Jahren.
Wheeler veröffentlichte eine Reihe von Büchern und Kurzerzählungen, auch Gedichte und humoristische Werke.
Er und seine Frau schrieben zusammen Dome of Many-Colored Glass im Jahr 1952 über ihre Erfahrungen im amerikanischen Auswärtigen Dienst.
Seine Frau wurde am 02.05.1874 in Hopkinsville, Kentucky, Tochter von Stephen Turner Rives und Mary Ragsdale, eine prominenten Virginia-Familie, geboren.
Rives schrieb ihren ersten Roman im Alter von acht Jahren, obwohl ihre Schriftstellerei nicht von ihren Eltern unterstützt wurde.
Ihr erster Roman wurde veröffentlicht, als sie achtzehn Jahre alt war.
In ihren Romanen behandelte sie die Politik zwischen den Nord- und Süd-Staaten, Fragen uur Rasse und des Geschlechts und verursachte große Debatte unter Kritikern.
Zu ihnen gehörte Smoking Flax (1897), ein Roman, sogar zu der Zeit umstritten.
Sie starb am 16.08.1956 in New York City, New York.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
06.08.1869 in Oswego, New York, USA
23.12.1956 in Neptune, NJ, USA

Wheeler was a foreign correspondent in Paris and Morocco following his graduation from Princeton University in 1891. He passed the first examinations in 1906 for the United States Foreign Service and went on to serve as a diplomat between 1906 and 1934.
Wheeler married the novelist Hallie Erminie Rives in 1906 in Tokyo.
They met at a reception in New York and began a friendship that eventually led to marriage.
She accompanied him to posts across Europe, Asia and South America throughout his career in foreign service.
He was the second secretary of the United States legation to Japan between 1906 and 1909; served at the American Embassy in Saint Petersburg, Russia between 1909 and 1911 and at the American Embassy in Rome between 1912 and 1913.
He returned to Japan as Charge d'Affairs between 1914 and 1916 and was later counselor at the American Embassy in Tokyo.
He went on to serve on the American Legation in Stockholm, Sweden between 1917 and 1920; in London between 1921 and 1924; and in Rio de Janeiro in 1929. He was Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to Paraguay between 1929 and 1933 and to Albania between 1933 and 1934.
He died on December 23, 1956 at the Frances Convalescent Home in Neptune, New Jersey. His age was 87 years.
Wheeler published a number of books and short pieces over his lifetime, including works of poetry and humor.
He and his wife wrote together Dome of Many-Coloured Glass in 1952 about their experiences serving in the United States Foreign Service.
His wife was born on May 2, 1874 in Hopkinsville, Kentucky, the daughter of Stephen Turner Rives and Mary Ragsdale from a prominent Virginia family.

Rives wrote her first novel at age eight, though her writing was not encouraged by her parents.

Her first novel was published when she was eighteen.
In her novels she addressed politics between the Northern and Southern United States, issues of race, and sex, causing great debate among critics.
Among them was Smoking Flax (1897), a novel controversial even at the time.
She died on August 16, 1956 in New York City, New York.


- Brief an Hallie Erminie Rives vom 08.11.1906. - Obwohl P. Wheeler bereits mit Hallie Erminie Rives verheiratet war, behielt sie ihren Namen, der schon einen guten Bekanntheitsgrad hatte.

- Letter to Hallie Erminie Rives from 08.11.1906. - Although P. Wheeler was already married to Hallie Erminie Rives, she retained her name, which already had a good reputation.
___
/ P IV / USA / DIP /
WHEELER
William
1851 - 1932


Für Vergrößerung klicken








Für Vergrößerung klicken







Für Vergrößerung klicken







Für Vergrößerung klicken
Grabplatte - Graveplate
06.12.1851 in Concord, MA, USA
01.07.1932 in Concord, MA, USA

Ingenieur. Wheeler absolvierte das Massachusetts Agricultural College (MAC) im Jahr 1871. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er zwei Jahre für eine Eisenbahngesellschaft und danach eröffnete ein Bauingenieur-Büro in Boston.
Als sein ehemaliger Professor William Smith Clark von der japanischen Regierung gebeten wurde, die Gründung des Sapporō Agricultural College (jetzt Hokkaidō University) zu unterstützen, begleiteten ihn William Wheeler und ein weiterer MAC-Absolvent, David P. Penhallow.
Wheeler unterzeichnete seinen Vertrag als Professor für Bauingenieurwesen, Mechanik, Mathematik und die englische Sprache in Washington.
Sein Vertrag begann am 20.05.1876 und endete nach Verlängerungen am 19.12.1879.
Clark, Wheeler und Penhallow verließen Amherst am 21.05.1876 und kamen in San Francisco über Philadelphia und Washington am 29. Mai an. Sie segelten nach Yokohama am 1. Juni und landeten am 28. Juni, gingen nach Tokyo am 29. und hatten ihr erstes Gespräch mit General Kuroda Kiyotaka am 30. Sie setzen Segel nach Hokkaidō am 25. Juli.
Mit ihnen fuhren die Studenten, in Tokyo ausgewählt, darunter eine kleine Gruppe von jungen Frauen für Hokkaidō und, am wichtigsten, General Kuroda Kiyotaka, Clarks Vorgesetzter und auch bald sein Freund.
Als wissenschaftlicher Berater der Kaitakushi (Entwicklungskommission von Hokkaidō) richtete Wheeler ein kleines meteorologisches Observatorium ein, baute einen „amerikanische Musterstall" für die Schule, war Streckenvermesser der Eisenbahn-Linie von Sapporo nach Otaru und beaufsichtigte den Bau eines Kanals zwischen Sapporo und dem Ishikari-Fluss, entwarf und betreute den Bau einer neuen Brücke über den Toyohira-Fluss in Sapporō und gab auch Ratschläge für den Bau einer Werft in Mori.
Bei Clarks Rückkehr in die USA wurde Wheeler von April 1877 bis 1879 Oberlehrer des Sapporō Agricultural College. Er reiste kurz in die USA, um Fannie Eleanor Hubbard am 17.07.1878 zu heiraten. Sie lebten in Sapporō im letzten Jahr von Wheeler's Vertrag.
Wheelers erbrachten Leistungen übertrafen die eines gewöhnlichen College-Professors, und er war für die Kaitakushi unentbehrlich. In Anerkennung seiner Leistungen erhielt Wheeler im April 1879 den zusätzlichen Titel "Ingenieur der Kaitakushi" und Cecil Hobart Peabody übernahm seine Lehrtätigkeit.
Er kehrte 1880 in die USA zurück, wo er als Hydraulik-Ingenieur arbeitete, war für Betriebe und Gemeinden tätig und wirkte als Treuhänder des Massachusetts Agricultural College (1887-1929).
Im Jahr 1982 würdigte das japanische Post-Ministerium Wheeler als Architekt in der 3. Serie „Westliche Architektur“ mit einer Marke am 29.01.1982. Dieses Gebäude wurde im Jahre 1878 als militärische Übungshalle für das Sapporō Agricultural College gebaut. Nach seinen Plänen wurde 1881 auch die in den USA gebaute Uhr in der Militär-Übungshalle hinzugefügt.
Der ganze Bau wurde später vom Campus am nördlichen Rand von Sapporō in das Stadtzentrum verschoben, heute bekannt als „Uhrenturmgebäude“, und als historisches Museum und Bibliothek genutzt.
Das Gebäude wurde 1970 als bedeutendes Kulturgut eingestuft und auf mehreren Briefmarken und Stempeln abgebildet.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
06.12.1851 in Concord, MA, USA
01.07.1932 in Concord, MA, USA

Engineer. Wheeler graduated from Massachusetts Agricultural College (MAC) in 1871. After his study he worked for a railway company for two years, then opened an office in Boston as a civil engineer.

When his former professor, William Smith Clark was asked by the Japanese government to assist in the founding of Sapporō Agricultural College (now Hokkaidō University), William Wheeler and another MAC graduate, David P. Penhallow, accompanied Clark.
Wheeler signed his contract in Washington as professor of civil engineering, mechanics, mathematics and the English language.
His contract began on May 20, 1876 and ended on December 19, 1879 after extensions.
Clark, Wheeler and Penhallow left Amherst on May 21, 1876 and arrived in San Francisco via Philadelphia and Washington on May 29. They sailed for Yokohama on June 1 and landed on June 28, went up to Tokyo on the 29th and had their first interview with General Kuroda Kiyitaka on the 30th. They set sail for Hokkaidō on July 25th.

With them were the students selected in Tokyo, including a small group of young women workers being sent to Hokkaidō and, most significantly, General Kuroda Kiyotaka, Clark’s superior and soon-to-be friend.
As a scientific adviser to the Kaitakushi (Hokkaidō Development Commission) Wheeler set up a small meteorological observatory, built an American-style "model barn" for the school, surveyed the route for a railway from Sapporo to Otaru and oversaw the construction of a canal between Sapporo and the Ishikari River, designed and supervised the construction of a new bridge on the Toyohira River in Sapporō and he also gave advice on the construction of a wharf in Mori.
At Clark's return to the USA, Wheeler became "head teacher" of the Sapporō Agricultural College from April 1877 to 1879. He traveled to the United States briefly, to marry Fannie Eleanor Hubbard on July 17, 1878. They lived in Sapporō for the final year of Wheeler's contract.
Wheelers contributions greatly exceeded those of an ordinary college professor, and were indispensable to the Kaitakushi. In recognition of his contribution, Wheeler was given the additional title of “Engineer of the Kaitakushi”, in April 1879 and Cecil Hobart Peabody took over his teaching duties.

He returned to the USA in 1880, where he worked as a hydraulic engineer, was active in business and community affairs and served as a trustee of the Massachusetts Agricultural College (1887-1929).
In 1982 the Japanese Postal Ministry honoured Wheeler as the architect for one building on the 3rd Western Architecture Series issued on 29.01.1982. This building was erected in 1878 as a military exercise hall for the Sapporō Agricultural College. According to his plans also the American-made clock was added to the Military Exercise Hall in 1881.

The whole structure was later moved off the campus on the north edge of Sapporō into the center of the city, now called the Clock Tower Building, and used as an historical museum and library.
The building·was designated·an important Cultural Property in 1970 and was depicted on several stamps and special cancels.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
___
/ P II / USA / FE-R-K (42 Mon.) /
WHITMAN
Walt
1819 -












Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Der Broadway, üppig geschmückt mit japanischen und amerikanischen Flaggen während des Festumzugs der japanischen Mission.
- The Broadway, generously decorated by Japanese and American flags during the parade of the Japanese Mission.

31.05.1819 in West Hills, Huntington, NY, USA
26.03.1892 in Camden, New Jersey, USA

Jahrhundertelang war Japan fast völlig von der übrigen Welt abgeschlossen.
Es ist daher nicht verwunderlich, dass der erste öffentliche Auftritt einer größeren Gruppe von Japanern in der westlichen Welt fast einer Sensation gleichkam.
In einem Gedicht beschrieb der Augenzeuge Walt Whitman die Prozession der ersten japanischen Delegation durch New York, und entwickelte daraus seine Vision einer Art "Pax Americana" für alle asiatischen Völker, unabhängig von ihrer Hautfarbe oder Religion.
Die "Japanische Mission" war 1860, begleitet von dem Dolmetscher A. L. C. Portman, zum Austausch des ratifizierten "Freundschafts- und Handelsvertrags" zwischen beiden Ländern in die amerikanische Hauptstadt gekommen.
Nach dem Empfang durch den Präsidenten der USA und anschließenden Aufenthalten in Baltimore und Philadelphia bildete die Ankunft der Delegation in New York den deutlichen Höhepunkt der Reise.
Die Presse versprach ein ganzes Bündel von Superlativen. Der Umzug der Japaner durch die Straßen von Manhattan "wird wahrscheinlich eines der neuartigsten und beeindruckendsten Schauspiele sein, die man jemals in dieser Stadt gesehen hat".
Die Abordnung landete am 16.06.1860 mit dem Schiff an der Südspitze Manhattans und zog dann, eskortiert von US-Miliz, berittener Polizei, verschiedenen Armee-Regimentern, von Militärkapellen und amerikanischen Würdenträgern, durch den Broadway, die Grand Street und die Bowery zum Union Square, und von dort zurück, nochmals über den Broadway, zum "Metropolitan Hotel".
Mehr als die Hälfte der damaligen New Yorker Bevölkerung wollte dieses Ereignis erleben. Einer davon war der bereits berühmte Lyriker Walt Whitman.
Noch am selben Tag entstand aus seinen Eindrücken ein Gedicht. Jenseits des mit viel Aufwand inszenierten Schauspiels glaubte er die ersten Anzeichen einer Brüderlichkeit zu erkennen, die von Amerika ausgehen und schließlich die gesamte Welt umspannen würde.
Whitmans Gedicht wurde erstmals am 27.06.1869 in der "New York Times" unter dem Titel "Die Auftrags-Bringer" veröffentlicht und drei Tage später in der "New York Saturday Press" mit dem neuen Titel "Festzug auf dem Broadway".
Das Gedicht wurde ab 1867 in alle folgenden Auflagen von Whitmans Gedichtsammlung "Grashalme" aufgenommen. Es ist somit kein Gedicht für eine einmalige Gelegenheit. Für Whitman war die Botschaft dieses Gedichts von bleibender Bedeutung.

Die von Whitman gesehene Vision erfüllte sich jedoch nicht.
Schon der Anlass des Broadway-Festzugs, der "Harris-Vertrag" über Freundschaft und Handel, war der zweite in einer Reihe von "ungleichen" Verträgen, welche die westlichen Großmächte Japan auferlegten.
Bereits die allerersten Anfänge einer engen Beziehung zu Japan waren von politischen und wirtschaftlichen Interessen für den Westen gekennzeichnet und überschatteten das freundschaftliche Miteinander.

siehe auch TATEISHI Onojirō
31.05.1819 in West Hills, Huntington, NY, USA
26.03.1892 in Camden, New Jersey, USA

For centuries, Japan was almost completely locked up from the rest of the world.
It is, therefore, not surprising that the first public appearance of a larger group of Japanese in the Western world was almost a sensation.
In a poem, the eye-witness Walt Whitman described the procession of this first Japanese delegation through New York, developing from there his vision of a kind of "Pax Americana" for all Asian nations independent of their respective colour or religion.
In 1860, the "Japanese Mission" had travelled, accompanied by the interpreter A. L. C. Portman, to the American capital in order to exchange the ratified "Treaty of Amity and Commerce" between these two countries.

After the reception by the American President and subsequent stays in Baltimore and Philadelphia, the arrival of the delegation in New York marked a distinct climax of this journey.
The press promised a whole bundle of superlatives. The panorama of the Japanese procession through the streets of Manhattan "will probably form one of the most novel and imposing spectacles ever witnessed in this City".

The mission landed on June 16, 1860 by ship at Manhattan's Southern tip, progressing from there, escorted by American Militia, mounted police, different Army regiments, military bands and American dignitaries, through the Broadway, Grand Street and the Bowery to Union Square, and from there back, again through the Broadway, to their "Metropolitan Hotel".
More than half of New York's population would not miss this event. One of these was the already famous poet Walt Whitman.
Still on the same day, he formed his impressions into a poem. Beyond the spectacle arranged with a lot of endeavours, he thought to perceive the first signs of a brotherhood that would spread from America and finally embrace the whole world.
Whitman's poem was first published on June 27, 1860 in the "New York Times" under the title "The Errand-Bearers" and reprinted three days later in the "New York Saturday Press" retitled "A Broadway Pageant".

The poem was included to the 1867 and all following editions of Whitman's collection of poems "Leaves of Grass".
Therefore, it is not a poem written only for a single occasion. For Whitman, the message of this poem was of a lasting importance.

However, the vision seen by Whitman did not materialize.
Already the prerequisite for the Broadway Pageant, the "Harris-Treaty" of Amity and Commerce, was the second in a series of "uneven" treaties which the Western powers imposed on Japan.
Already at the very beginning of a closer relationship to Japan, political and economic interests had a marked priority for the Western countries, thus overshadowing the intended friendly togetherness.

see also TATEISHI Onojirō
___
/ - / USA / ART /
WHYMARK-
Family

George WHYMARK
verheiratet mit
Susannah Harvey

Im Jahr 1871 lebte sie mit 5 Kindern in Essex, sie kam erst 1876 nach Japan. Insgesamt hatten sie 7 Kinder:

- Annie Susan Whymark - geb. 1861 in Southampton, GB; sie heiratete Frank Upton 1883 in Kobe
- George Harvey Whymark - born 1862 in Hampshire, GB
- Alice Maria Whymark - born 1865 in Hampshire, GB, gest. am 09.02.1880 in Kobe
- Caroline Harriet Whymark - born 1867 in Hampshire, GB; she married Frederick John Bardens on July 8, 1891 in Kobe. She died 1897 Kobe
- William George Whymark - born 1868 in Essex, GB
- Stephen George Whymark - born September 25, 1877 in Kobe; he lived in Hampshire after his parents' return.
- Amy Constance Whymark - born on November 15, 1879 in Kobe; she lived in Hampshire after his parents' return; she died in GB in 1917.
George WHYMARK
married to
Susannah Harvey

In 1871 she lived in Essex with 5 children, she only came to Japan in 1876. Altogether they had 7 children:

- Annie Susan Whymark - born 1861 in Southampton, GB; she married Frank Upton in 1883 in Kobe
- George Harvey Whymark - born 1862 in Hampshire, GB
- Alice Maria Whymark - born 1865 in Hampshire, GB, died on 09.02.1880 in Kobe
- Caroline Harriet Whymark - born 1867 in Hampshire, GB; she married Frederick John Bardens on July 8, 1891 in Kobe. She died 1897 Kobe
- William George Whymark - born 1868 in Essex, GB
- Stephen George Whymark - born September 25, 1877 in Kobe; he lived in Hampshire after his parents' return.
- Amy Constance Whymark - born on November 15, 1879 in Kobe; she lived in Hampshire after his parents' return; she died in GB in 1917.
WHYMARK
George
1838 - 1892














1838 in Hampshire, GB
16.03.1892 in Hampshire, GB

1870 wird er erstmals als Leiter des Hotels International, Eigentümer W. Curtis, Yokohama # 18 gelistet. Kurz darauf unterzeichnete er in Tokyo einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Erziehung, um Englisch an der University South School (Vorläufer der Tokyo Universität) zu lehren.
Dieser Vertrag lief vom 20.02. bis 20.08.1871, wurde jedoch verlängert bis 20.08.1872, als er schließlich entlassen wurde.
1873 wurde er Leiter von G. Domoney & Co., Fleischer, Schiffsagent und Kolonialwaren in der Niederlassung Kobe # 81 Division Street. 1880 kaufte George Whymark den Kobe - Bereich dieser Firma von Geo. Domoney, der den Bereich in Yokohama noch einige Zeit selbst fortführte. Er etablierte seine eigene Firma unter Geo. Whymark & Co., Fleischer, Bäcker und Generallieferant am bisherigen Standort.
1886 übertrug er die Leitung seiner Firma seinem ältesten Sohn George Harvey Whymark. Aus gesundheitlichen Gründen verließen er, seine Frau und die jüngsten Kinder Japan und sie lebten in Hampshire, GB.
1838 in Hampshire, GB
16.03.1892 in Hampshire, GB

His first listing in Japan appears in 1870 as Manager of the International Hotel, proprietor W. Curtis, Yokohama # 18. Soon after he signed a contract in Tokyo with the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, to teach English at the University South School (Predecessor of Tokyo University).

This contract ran from February 20 to August 20, 1871 and it was prolonged until August 20, 1872 when he was finally discharged.
In 1873 he was appointed Manager of G. Domoney & Co., Butchers, Ship Compradores, and General Storekeepers, in Kōbe # 81 Division Street. In 1880 George Whymark bought the Kobe branch of this company from Geo. Domoney who continued his business in Yokohama for some time and he established his own business under Geo. Whymark & Co., Butchers, Bakers and Contractors at the same site.

In 1886 he transferred the management of his company to his oldest son George Harvey Whymark and due to health reasons, he, his wife and the youngest children left Japan and they lived in Hampshire, GB.
___
/ P II / GB / FE-ED /
WHYMARK
George Harvey
1862 – 1927

[Geo. H.]
[G. H.]






























1862 in Hampshire, GB
02.09.1927 in Kobe

Sohn von George Whymark.
Er wuchs in GB auf, besuchte das Arnold College in Colchester, verließ 1879 die Universität von London und ging 1880 nach Japan.
Als er ankam, fand er eine Anstellung bei der Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. und diente auf der Genkai-maru. 1886 übertrug sein Vater ihm die Leitung der Firma Geo. Whymark & Co. Es scheint, dass er bei der Leitung der Firma nicht sehr erfolgreich war, teilweise war auch sein Bruder William George Whymark verantwortlich, aber ab 1894 leitete Maurice Russell die Firma erfolgreich bis wenigstens 1908, jedoch mit einem erweiterten Leistungs-Angebot, aber immer noch unter Whymark & Co. firmierend.
George Harvey arbeitete ab 1889 bis 1891 für Frank Upton, Schiffsmakler, Kobe # 122, dem Ehemann seiner Schwester Annie Susan. - Er heiratete Emily Mary geb. Pearce, Tochter von Henry James Pearce, am 19.08.1891 und sie beide führten dann 1892-1893 das Hyogo Hotel, Native Bund Kōbe # 38.
Unter dieser Adresse begann er parallel eine andere Karriere als Auktionator und Kommissions-Händler, Kobe Sale Rooms, welches ab 1894 sein Haupt-Betätigungsfeld wurde. Von 1896 bis 1898 arbeitete er zusätzlich als Sekretär des Kobe-Lotsen-Büros. 1899 ging er eine Partnerschaft mit John Lee Thompson ein und sie gründeten Whymark & Thompson, Kobe Sale Rooms, Auktionator, Taxator und Makler, Kobe # 82 Sakaye-machi, die fortan erfolgreich war.
Er war ein geschätztes Mitgleid der Kobe-Gemeinschaft, er war u. a. Präsident des Kobe Regatta & Athletik Klubs, Direktor des Internationalen Krankenhauses von Kobe, Schatzmeister der Union Protestant Church Kobe etc.
George Harvey und Emily Mary Whymark hatten 4 Kinder
- Annie Mary, geb. 20. June 1887 in Yokohama, 1911 Heirat mit Walker H. Rastell (USA) in Kobe; gest. etwa 1970 in Augusta Georgia, USA (diese Geburt war vor der Heirat der Eltern)
- Mai Susanna, geb. 11. September 1892 in Kobe
- George Frederick Pearce, geb. 1894 in Kobe, gest. 20.10.1898 in Kobe
- Alice Marguarita, geb. 1896 in Kobe, Heirat mit William Leslie Foggitt am 10. April 1920 in Kobe.
1862 in Hampshire, GB
02.09.1927 in Kobe

Son of George Whymark.
He grew up in GB, was educated at Arnold College at Colchester, matriculated from the University of London in 1879 and left for Japan in 1880.
When he arrived he found an employment with the Mitsubishi Mail Steam Ship Co. and he served on the Genkai-maru. In 1886 his father transferred the management of Geo. Whymark & Co. to him. It seems that he didn't succeed in managing this company, partly his brother William George Whymark was in charge of the firm, but from 1894 on Maurice Russell managed the company successfully at least until 1908, still acting under Geo. Whymark & Co. but increasing the range of services.

George Harvey worked from 1889 until 1891 for Frank Upton, Ship Broker, Kobe # 122, the husband of his sister Annie Susan. - He married Emily Mary nee Pearce, daughter of Henry James Pearce, on August 19, 1891 and they both managed 1892-1893 the Hyogo Hotel, Native Bund Kōbe # 38.
At this address he established parallelly another career as Auctioneer and Commission Agent, Kobe Sale Rooms, which was his main field from 1894 on. From 1896 to 1898 he worked additionally as secretary of the Kobe Pilot Office. From 1899 on he took partnership with John Lee Thompson, forming Whymark & Thompson, Kobe Sale Rooms, Auctioneers, Valuers and Estate Agents, Kobe # 82 Sakaye-machi developing to an profitable business from then on.

He was an esteemed member of the Kobe community, among others he was president of the Kobe Regatta & Athletic Club, director of Kobe International Hospital, Treasurer of the Union Protestant Church Kobe etc.
George Harvey and Emily Mary Whymark had 4 children
- Annie Mary, born on June 20, 1887 in Yokohama, married to Walker H. Rastell (USA) in 1911 in Kobe; died about 1970 in Augusta Georgia, USA (birth was before parents were married)
- Mai Susanna, born September 11, 1892 in Kobe
- George Frederick Pearce, born 1894 in Kobe, died October 20, 1898
- Alice Marguarita, born 1896 in Kobe, married William Leslie Foggitt on April 10, 1920 in Kobe.
___
/ P II – III / FE-SH + TR /
WHYMARK
William George
1868 -

[W. G.]
[G. W.]



1868 in Essex, GB


Sohn von George Whymark.
Er wuchs in GB auf und kam nach seiner Grundausbildung nach Japan. Er traf 1882 ein und begann eine Art Lehrzeit in der Firma seines Vaters Geo. Whymark & Co. bis 1884.
Von 1885 bis 1887 wird er in Japan nicht gelistet, 1888 kehrte er jedoch zurück. Er arbeitete erneut bei Whymark & Co., teilweise hatte er auch die Leitung.
1894 wurde Whymark & Co. an Maurice Russell verpachtet.
Über das weitere Leben von William George Whymark ist nichts bekannt.
1868 in Essex, GB


Son of George Whymark.
He grew up in GB and came to Japan after his basic education. He arrived in 1882 and took up a kind of apprenticeship with his father at Geo. Whymark & Co. until 1884.
From 1885 to 1887 he is not listed in Japan but returned in 1888. He worked again with Whymark & Co., partly managing the company.
In 1894 Whymark & Co. was leased to Maurice Russell.
Further traces of William George Whymark are not known.
___
/ P II – III / GB / TR /
WIEDFELDT
Otto Carl Ludwig
1871 - 1926

[WIEDFELD]






Für Vergrößerung klicken
Otto Wiedfeldt – ca. 1920






















Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Wiedfeldts Untersuchungen über die Atayal
- Wiedfeldt's investigations on the Atayal

















Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Otto Wiedfeldt am 16.05.1922 als Botschafter in Washington
- Otto Wiedfeldt on 16.05.1922 as ambassador in Washington

16.08.1871 in Thüritz/Altmark (heute Kalbe/ Milde)
05.07.1926 in Essen

Otto Wiedfeldt war offenbar ein Mensch mit festen Überzeugungen, aber dennoch mit verständnisvollem und ausgleichendem Charakter. Dies erlaubte ihm ein erstaunlich weit gefächertes Berufsleben.
Er war Statistiker und Journalist, Genossenschafter und Ministerialbeamter, Organisator der Kriegswirtschaft und Schlichter bei Arbeitskämpfen, Direktor bei Krupp und deutscher Botschafter in den USA. Als er zwischen 1911 und 1914 in Japan als Berater beim japanischen Eisenbahnministerium arbeitete, erhielt er auch Gelegenheit zu einem Besuch Taiwans. Zwei von ihm verfasste ethnologische Studien enthielten frühzeitig Kritik an der japanischen Kolonialpolitik gegenüber den Ureinwohnern der Insel.
Wiedfeldt entstammte einem Pfarrhaushalt in der Altmark. Er besuchte Gymnasien in Bernburg und in Salzwedel und studierte dann Nationalökonomie in Berlin. 1894 war er "Hilfsarbeiter" im Statistischen Amt von Berlin und arbeitete danach in verschiedenen Tätigkeiten im Genossenschaftswesen. Ab 1895 gehörte er zur Redaktion der Wochenzeitschrift "Sociale Praxis. Centralblatt für Socialpolitik", wurde 1896 Geschäftsführer des Verbandes sächsischer landwirtschaftlicher Genossenschaften und 1897 zusätzlich Mitglied des Direktoriums der "Königlich Sächsischen Landesgenossenschaftsbank" in Dresden.
Für seine Arbeit "Statistische Studien zur Entwicklungsgeschichte der Berliner Industrie von 1720 bis 1890" erhielt er in diesem Jahr auch den Doktortitel der Universität Leipzig.
1900 wurde Wiedfeldt Mitbegründer und Direktor des Statistischen Amts in Essen; im Jahr 1902 wechselte er als Leiter des Statistischen Amts nach Dresden. 1904 war er wieder in Essen; zunächst wurde er Kultur- und Sozialdezernent in der Stadtverwaltung, später Leiter des städtischen Sozialamts (Armen- und Waisenfürsorge).
1909 ging er als "Hilfsarbeiter" zum "Reichsamt des Innern", wie das deutsche Innenministerium damals hieß, und hatte dann Anteil an der Fassung der neuen "Reichsversicherungsordnung (RVO)". In diesem Gesetz wurden die bisherigen Regelungen für die gesetzliche Kranken-, Unfall- und Rentenversicherung erstmals zu einem einheitlichen Gesetz zusammengefasst.
Im Frühsommer 1911 trat Wiedfeldt als Berater die Nachfolge von Karl Thieß in Japan an. Thieß hatte einen ähnlichen beruflichen Hintergrund wie Wiedfeldt und hatte möglicherweise diesen als seinen Nachfolger empfohlen. Auch Wiedfeldt arbeitete beim "Ostasiatischen Wirtschaftsforschungsbüro". Dieses Büro war von der "Südmandschurischen Eisenbahngesellschaft" gegründet worden, wurde von Okamatsu Santarō geleitet und unterstand der Eisenbahnverwaltung, die wiederum direkt dem japanischen Kabinett zugeordnet war. Aufgabe dieses Büros war vor allem die Erforschung der wirtschaftlichen, rechtlichen und sozialen Verhältnisse in den japanischen Kolonien.
Japans erste Kolonie war seit 1895 Taiwan. Zu den Schwierigkeiten, denen sich die zunächst vom Militär ausgeübte Kolonialverwaltung ausgesetzt sah, gehörte auch der Widerstand der in den Bergen der Insel lebenden Ureinwohner. Die größte Gruppe unter ihnen waren (und sind) die Atayal im Nordosten. Zu Beginn der japanischen Kolonialherrschaft zählte die Gruppe etwa 50.000 Menschen. Die japanische Kolonialverwaltung widmete etwa drei Viertel ihrer Militäraktionen dem Kampf gegen diesen Stamm, der dadurch - und mehr noch durch ihren hartnäckigen Widerstand - erheblich dezimiert wurde.
Nach dem Statistischen Jahrbuch des Generalgouverneurs von Taiwan lebten im Jahr 1911 noch 27.871 Atayal in den Bergen. Nachdem ihre Unterwerfung nicht gelungen war, wurde ihr Siedlungsgebiet durch einen "vierfachen Draht, geladen mit 2.000 Volt Elektrizität" umzäunt.
Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde 1909 eine neue Unterabteilung im "Ostasiatischen Wirtschaftsforschungsbüro" geschaffen, die der Erforschung der "barbarischen Völker" dienen sollte. Wiedfeldt, über dessen Tätigkeit in Japan sonst wenig bekannt ist, erhielt im Frühjahr 1913 die Gelegenheit, "als Ratgeber der japanischen Regierung fünf Wochen auf Formosa" zu verbringen. Auch wenn er damit, wie er schrieb, als "Verwaltungsbeamter in ein fremdes Gebiet hineingepfuscht hat", hat er gern die Möglichkeit wahrgenommen, die eingeborenen Völker "in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung kennen zu lernen".
Während seines kurzen Aufenthalts auf Taiwan betrieb Wiedfeldt umfangreiche Feldstudien. Das Ergebnis wurde in den Mitteilungen der "Deutschen Gesellschaft für Natur- und Völkerkunde Ostasiens" veröffentlicht.
Den Anfang machte 1914 die 55-seitige Studie mit dem Titel "Wirtschaftliche, rechtliche und soziale Grundtatsachen und Grundformen der Atayalen auf Formosa".
Auf seiner Rückreise von Japan nach Deutschland machte Wiedfeldt noch eine „Untersuchung der Ursachen für das Stehenbleiben der Atayalenkultur", die 1917 veröffentlicht wurde.
Wiedfeldt beschrieb ausführlich die Sitten und Gebräuche einer "versteinerten Kultur", die bisher eigentlich nie fremdem Einfluss ausgesetzt war, und deren Träger übereinstimmend von Chinesen, Japanern und Europäern nicht nur als Wilde, sondern sogar als "wild savages", also "wilde Wilde" angesehen wurden. Bei näherem Hinsehen erkannte Wiedfeldt jedoch hinter den seltsamen Gebräuchen nichts weniger als "die unverrückbaren Grundlagen jeder Kultur, die auch unser gesellschaftliches und staatliches Gebäude mit seinen vielen Aufbauten und Hallen tragen". So schloß er mit einem Urteil, das eine eindeutige Kritik an der Kolonialpolitik Japans enthielt: "Ob die Atayalenkultur jetzt, wo sie gegen ihren Willen fremden Kultureinfluss unterworfen wird, noch Fähigkeit und Kraft genug aufbringen kann, um Neues aufzunehmen und zu verarbeiten, ist mir unwahrscheinlich. Dieser Anstoß kommt zu spät und besonders zu gewaltsam."
Am 15.04.1914 sollte Wiedfeldt bei der "Ostasiatischen Gesellschaft" in Tokyo einen Vortrag zu diesem Thema halten, aber der Vortrag musste vorgelesen werden. Wiedfeldt war bereits abgereist, da er seine Arbeit im Innenministerium in Berlin wieder aufnahm. Nach Ausbruch des 1. Weltkriegs wurde Wiedfeldt in verschiedenen Funktionen mit der Organisation der Ernährungsversorgung beauftragt. Zunächst zum Referenten für Getreideversorgung in seiner Behörde ernannt, wurde er 1915 zugleich Leiter der "Reichsgetreidestelle". 1916 wechselte er in ähnlicher Funktion zum "Reichskommissariat für Übergangswirtschaft" und war 1918 Leiter der deutschen Landwirtschaftsdelegation in der Ukraine. Er soll damals der "Erfinder" der „Brotkarte“ gewesen sein.

Noch Ende 1918 ging Wiedfeldt erneut nach Essen, diesmal zur Firma Krupp. Nach Deutschlands Niederlage im Ersten Weltkrieg hatte der Chef der Krupp-Familie, Gustav Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, erkannt, dass sein Panzerplatten- und Rüstungskonzern in Essen für ein Überleben in Friedenszeiten umfassend umgebaut werden müsse.
Wiedfeldt wurde sein Mann, der diesen Prozess unterstützen und durchführen sollte, und er wurde seine Vertrauensperson im Direktorium. Als "wirtschaftspolitischer Experte" nahm er an der Konferenz von Versailles teil und im Juli 1920 an einer weiteren Konferenz im belgischen Spa, auf der Fragen zur deutsche Abrüstung und Reparation verhandelt wurden. Ein weiterer Sachverständiger in Spa war Emil Rathenau.
Als die diplomatischen Beziehungen zwischen dem Deutschen Reich und den USA nach dem Krieg wieder aufgenommen werden konnten, war es E. Rathenau, der Wiedfeldt als deutschen Botschafter für die USA vorschlug. Wiedfeldt nahm an, wenn auch widerwillig. Er war kein Berufsdiplomat, und der außenpolitische Kurs der jungen Weimarer Republik war noch nicht gefestigt. Anfang 1924 wurde Wiedfeldts Position in Washington stark geschwächt. Anlass war der Tod des US-Präsidenten Woodrow Wilson.
Wiedfeldt war willens, der US-Regierung ein offizielles Kondolenzschreiben zu übermitteln, das deutsche Außenamt gab ihm dafür aber keine Erlaubnis. Wiedfeldt fügte sich, aber als das Außenministerium einige Tage später seine Haltung geändert hatte, bekam die US-Öffentlichkeit den Eindruck, der deutsche Botschafter hätte sich geweigert, dem ehemaligen US-Präsidenten die Ehre zu erweisen.
Auf eigenen Wunsch wurde Wiedfeldt schließlich zum Ende Januar 1925 von seinem Posten in Washington abberufen.
Er trat erneut in das Direktorium der Firma Krupp ein und war wieder für finanzielle Angelegenheiten zuständig.
Sein Rat hat wohl zu der Entscheidung der Friedrich Krupp AG beigetragen, 1926 nicht dem neu gegründeten "Stahltrust" VESTAG beizutreten, sondern weiterhin selbständig zu bleiben.
Wiedfeldt schied am 26.05.1926 aus Gesundheitsgründen aus der Firma aus. Er starb einige Wochen später an Leukämie und wurde auf dem Meisenburgfriedhof in Essen-Bredeney bestattet.
16.08.1871 in Thueritz/Altmark (today Kalbe/ Milde)
05.07.1926 in Essen

Otto Wiedfeldt apparently was a man with strong convictions, but nevertheless with an understanding and balancing character. This allowed him an astonishingly widespread professional life.
He was a statistician and a journalist, a co-operative and a ministry official, an organizer of the war economy and a mediator in labour disputes, a director at Krupp's and the German ambassador to the USA. When he was working in Japan as an adviser of the railway ministry between 1911 and 1914, he was also given the opportunity to visit Taiwan. Two ethnological studies written by him contained an early criticism of the Japanese colonial policy towards the natives of the island.

Wiedfeldt came from a vicarage in the Altmark. He attended grammar schools in Bernburg and in Salzwedel and then studied economics in Berlin. In 1894 he was an "auxiliary worker" at the Statistical Office of Berlin and afterwards worked in different functions in the co-operative system.
From 1895 on he belonged to the editors of the weekly "Sociale Praxis, Centralblatt für Socialpolitik", and became in 1896 manager of the Association of Saxon Agricultural Co-operatives and was in 1897 additionally a member of the Board of Directors of the Royal Saxon Co-operative Bank in Dresden.
For his thesis „Statistical Studies on the Development History of the Berlin Industry from 1720 to 1890“ he received in the same year a doctorate from the University of Leipzig.

In 1900 Wiedfeldt became co-founder and director of the Statistical Office in Essen; in 1902 he transferred to Dresden to become head of the Statistical Office. In 1904 he was again in Essen, at first directing the Cultural and Social Departments in the city administration, and later as head of the municipal Social Welfare Office ("Poor and orphan care").
In 1909 he went as an assistant (Hilfsarbeiter", literally: unskilled worker) to the "Reichsamt des Innern", as the German Home Office was called at at that time. Thereafter, he had part in drafting the new "Reichsversicherungsordnung (RVO)". In this law, the existing regulations for statutory health, accident and pension insurances were combined for the first time to form a uniform law.
In early summer of 1911, Wiedfeldt succeeded Karl Thieß as an advisor in Japan. Thieß had a similar professional background as Wiedfeldt and had perhaps recommended him as his successor.
Wiedfeldt worked at the "East Asian Economic Investigation Bureau", too. This office had been founded by the "South Manchurian Railway Company", which was headed by Okamatsu Santarō, and was subordinate to the railway administration, which in turn was directly associated with the Japanese Cabinet. The task of this office was mainly the investigation of the economic, legal and social conditions in the Japanese colonies.

Japan's first colony had been Taiwan since 1895. Among the difficulties faced by the colonial administration, which was initially exercised by the military, was also the opposition of the aborigines living in the mountains of the island. The largest group among them were (and still are) the Atayal in the North-East. At the beginning of the Japanese colonial rule, the group numbered about 50,000 people. The Japanese colonial administration devoted about three-quarters of its military actions to the struggle against this tribe, which in consequence was considerably diminished - all the more by a stubborn resistance.
According to the Statistical Yearbook of the General Governor of Taiwan, only 27,871 Atayal lived in 1911 in the mountains. Since their subjection could not be achieved, their settlement area was fenced in by a "quadruple wire, loaded with 2,000 volts of electricity".
Against this background, in 1909 a new sub-department had been created in the "East Asian Economic Investigation Bureau", devoted to the exploration of the "barbarian peoples" (banzoku). Wiedfeldt, whose activity in Japan is otherwise largely unknown, was in spring of 1913 given the opportunity "to spend five weeks on Formosa as adviser for the Japanese Government".
Even if he had, as he wrote, "as an administration official meddled in a foreign area", he had voluntarily accepted the chance to explore the indigenous tribes "in their natural environment".

During his short stay in Taiwan, Wiedfeldt undertook extensive field studies. The results were two papers, which appeared in the official publication of the "German Society for Natural and Cultural Studies of East Asia".
The first was in 1914 a 55-page study, entitled "Economic, Legal and Social Basic Facts and Basic Forms of the Atayals on Formosa".
On his return journey from Japan to Germany, Wiedfeldt made another study intitled "Investigation of the Causes for the Standstill of the Atayal Culture", which was published in 1917.
Wiedfeldt described in detail the habits and customs of a "petrified culture", which had never really been exposed to any foreign influence, and whose bearers were not considered merely as wild, but as "savage savages" (wild savages) by Chinese, Japanese and Europeans alike. At a closer look, however, Wiedfeldt recognized behind the strange customs nothing less than "the unchanging foundations of every culture, which also support our social and national building with its many structures and halls."
Thus, he concluded with a judgement containing an unmistakable criticism of Japan's colonial policy: "Whether the Atayal culture at present, having become against its will subject to foreign cultural influence, still has the capability and power to adopt and assimilate new developments, is in my eyes improbable. This impetus comes too late and, particularly, too violent."

On April 15, 1914, Wiedfeldt was to give a lecture on this subject at the "East Asian Society" in Tokyo, but the lecture had to be read by someone else. Wiedfeldt had already left, since he resumed his work at the Ministry of the Interior in Berlin.
After the outbreak of the First World War, Wiedfeldt was involved in various functions in the organization of the food supply. In 1915, he was appointed head of the Reichsgetreidestelle (Imperial Grain Office). In 1916 he joined the Reichskommisariat für Übergangswirtschaft (Imperial Commissariat for Transitional Economy) in a similar function and was appointed head of the German agricultural delegation to the Ukraine in 1918. He is said to have been at the time the "inventor" of the “bread card“ (a ration card for bread).
Still at the end of 1918, Wiedfeldt went to Essen again, this time joining the Krupp company. After Germany's defeat in the First World War, the head of the Krupp family, Gustav Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, had recognized that his armour and armaments company in Essen must be converted thoroughly for its peacetime survival
Wiedfeldt became the man who should support and carry out this process, and was made Krupp's confidant in the company's Board of Directors. As an "economic expert", Wiedfeldt was present at the Conference of Versailles and, in July of 1920, at a second conference at Spa in Belgium where issues concerning Germany's disarmament and reparation were debated. Another expert in Spa was Emil Rathenau.
When the diplomatic relations between Germany and the USA were resumed after the war, it was E. Rathenau, who proposed Wiedfeldt as the German ambassador to the United States. Wiedfeldt accepted, but somewhat reluctantly. He was not a professional diplomat, and the course of the foreign policy of the young Weimar Republic was by no means established. At the beginning of 1924, Wiedfeldt's position in Washington became seriously weakened. The cause was the death of the American President Woodrow Wilson.

Wiedfeldt was inclined to send an official German condolence address to the US Government, but the German Foreign Office would not give him permission. Wiedfeldt had obeyed, but when the German ministry changed its mind a few days later, the American public got the impression that the German ambassador had refused to pay respect to America's former president.
At his own request, Wiedfeldt was finally recalled from his post in Washington at the end of January 1925.
He entered again Krupp's Board of Directors and was once more responsible for financial matters.
His advice probably contributed to the decision of the Friedrich Krupp Company in 1926 not to join the newly established "steel trust" VESTAG but to remain independent.
Wiedfeldt left the company on May 26, 1926 for health reasons. He died of leukaemia a few weeks later and was buried on the Meisenburg cemetery in Essen-Bredeney.
___
/ P IV / DE / Q-FE-T /
WILEMAN
Alfred Ernest
1860 - 1929

[A. E. ]


27.02.1860
15.02.1929

Im Rahmen seiner Ausbildung als Japanisch-Dolmetscher wurde er als Student 1882 in Japan eingesetzt.
Nach Beendigung seines Studiums wurde er 1891 im japanischen Büro der britischen Gesandtschaft in Tokyo als Assistent des Sekretärs angestellt. Diese Funktion bekleidete er bis 31.03.1896. Ende 1896 wurde er als Vize-Konsul für Kobe und Osaka berufen. Am 01. 04.1901 wurde er als Vize-Konsul für Hakodate und angrenzende Präfekturen berufen.
Im Jahr 1903 wurde er Konsul in Taiwan, 1908 Konsul von Hawaii und 1909 General-Konsul der Philippinen, da noch ein Gebiet der USA.
Er war als Amateur ein anerkannter Insektenforscher, spezialisiert auf die Schmetterlingskunde.


Für Vergrößerung klicken


- Postkarte von A. E. Wileman, aufgegeben in Tokyo am 17.01.1895 an einen Buchhändler in London betreffs Literatur zu „Schmetterlinge und Motten“.

- Postcard from A. E. Wileman, posted in Tokyo on January 17, 1895 to a bookseller in London concerning literature on "Butterflies and Moths".
27.02.1860
15.02.1929

In the course of his training as a Japanese interpreter, he was employed as a student in Japan in 1882.
After completing his studies, he was involved in the Japanese office of the British Legation in Tokyo as assistant to the secretary as of 1891. This function he held until March 31, 1896. At the end of 1896, he was appointed Vice-Consul for Kobe and Osaka. On April 1, 1901 he was appointed Vice-Consul for Hakodate and surrounding prefectures.

In 1903 he became Consul in Taiwan, 1908 Consul of Hawaii and 1909 Consul General of the Philippines, then a territory of the USA.
He was an accomplished amateur entomologist and specialized in lepidoptery.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
___
/ P III / GB / DIP /
WILKINSON
Alfred Tennyson
1871 – 1928

Für Vergrößerung klicken
14.02.1871 in Brantford, ONT, CAN
18.08.1928 in Brandon, Manitoba, CAN

Er erwarb 1902 den BA am Queens College, Kingston, Ontario und wurde auf der Hamilton Konferenz 1900 zum Priester geweiht.
Er wurde von der Methodistischen Kirche Kanadas als Missionar nach Japan delegiert, wo er 1905 eintraf. Zuerst arbeitete er bis 1906 in Tokyo, danach in Nagano, von 1907 bis 1913 in Toyama und von 1913 bis 1928 in Shizuoka.
Er heiratete Lillian A. Ruddell (1874 - 1958) noch bevor sie nach Japan reisten.
Sie studierte am presbyterianischen Mädchen-College und am Musik-College von Toronto, dadurch konnte sie die Arbeit ihres Mannes unterstützen.
Alfred war Prediger und lehrte zusätzlich Englisch an den Regierungsschulen in Nagano, Toyama und Shizuoka.
Sie hatten 6 Kinder: Vernon; Ralph; Maxwell; Hugh; Marion; Lillian; Evelyn - sie wurden alle in Japan geboren.
Er starb 1928 bald nach ihrer Rückkehr und wurde in Toronto beigesetzt.
14.02.1871 in Brantford, ONT, CAN
18.08.1928 in Brandon, Manitoba, CAN

He acquired the BA from Queens College, Kingston, Ontario in 1902 and was ordained at the Hamilton Conference in 1900.
He became missionary of the Methodist Church of Canada and was delegated to Japan arriving in 1905. At first he worked in Tokyo to 1906, afterwards in Nagano, from 1908 to 1913 in Toyama, and from 1913 to 1928 in Shizuoka.
He married Lillian A. Ruddell (1874 - 1958) before they left Canada for Japan.
She had studied at the Presbyterian Ladies’ College and the Toronto College of Music and thus could support the work of her husband.
Alfred was an evangelist and additionally also taught English in government schools in Nagano, Toyama and Shizuoka.
They had 6 children: Vernon; Ralph; Maxwell; Hugh; Marion; Lillian; Evelyn - all born in Japan.
He died in 1928 shortly after their return and was buried in Toronto.
___
/ P III / CAN / MIS /
WILKINSON
Hiram Shaw
1840 - 1926














































1840 in Belfast, Nord-Irland, GB
1926 in Tobermore, Nord-Irland, GB

Er wurde 1840 in Belfast, Nord-Irland, GB, geboren und besuchte das Queen's College, Belfast, das er 1864 mit dem BA und 1881 mit dem Dr. jur. abschloss. Er wurde 1864 im britischen Konsulardienst in Japan als Dolmetscher-Student eingesetzt. Wilkinson sprach durch den Konsulardienst fließend Japanisch. 1872 wurde er in die Anwalts-Kammer "Middle Temple" aufgenommen.
Etwa 1876 arbeitete Wilkinson als 1. Assistent und Dolmetscher im HBM-Konsulat von Yedo (Tokyo) sowie als Gast-Richter am britischen Gericht in Kanagawa. In den folgenden Jahren diente er als
- Vize-Konsul in Niigata, Japan (1877)
- Gerichts-Sekretär des HBM-Konsular-Gerichts in Kanagawa (1878)
- Amtierender Assistenz-Richter des britischen Obersten Gerichts für China and Japan (1879-1880)
- Staatsanwalt des britischen Obersten Gerichts für China und Japan (1881-1897)
- Amtierender Richter des HBM-Gerichts für Japan in der Zeit von 1894-1895
- Richter des HBM-Gerichts für Japan (1897-1900)

In seiner Position als Staatsanwalt übernahm Wilkinson die Verantwortung als Hauptankläger im Fall der Edith Carew wegen Mordes an ihrem Mann Walter Raymond Hallowell CAREW 1896 in Yokohama. Bald darauf wurde er als Richter des britischen Gerichts für Japan berufen und wurde Nachfolger von Robert Mowat. Er war der letzte Richter dieses Gerichts, welches 1900 nach der Aufhebung der Extraterritorialität in Japan abgewickelt wurde. 1900 wurde er Oberrichter des Obersten HBM-Gerichtes für China und Korea als Nachfolger von Sir Nicholas Hannen, der in dem Jahr gestorben war. Er verließ Tokyo im Juni 1900 für diesen Posten in Shanghai.

Hiram Shaw Wilkinson wurde für seine Dienste 1903 in den Ritterstand erhoben. 1905 beendete er sein Richteramt in Shanghai und zog auf das Landgut von Moneyshanere, außerhalb von Tobermore, heute Nord-Irland.

1864 heiratete er Prudie Gaffkin; sie hatten zwei Söhne, Hiram Parkes Wilkinson und Reverend Thomas Gaffkin Wilkinson, beide wurden in Yokohama geboren. Seine Frau, am 02.12.1838 in Belfast geboren, starb in Yokohama am 07.03.1870 und wurde auf dem YFC beigesetzt.
Wilkinson heiratete nicht wieder.

Ihr Sohn Hiram Parkes Wilkinson wurde sein Nachfolger als Staatsanwalt in Shanghai und diente in dieser Position bis 1925, das bedeutet, Vater und Sohn hatten diese Stelle für 44 Jahre inne.

Hiram Shaw Wilkinson wirkte als Pro-Kanzler des Queen's College, Belfast von 1914 bis zu seinem Tod 1926.
1840 in Belfast, Northern Ireland, GB
1926 in Tobermore, Northern Ireland, GB

He was born in 1840 in Belfast, Northern Ireland, GB and was educated at Queen's College, Belfast, earning a BA in 1864 and LL.D. in 1881. He entered Her Majesty's Consular Service in Japan in 1864, as a student interpreter. Wilkinson spoke fluent Japanese as a result of this time in consular service. In 1872, he was admitted to the bar of the Middle Temple.
By 1876 Wilkinson was serving as 1st Assistant and interpreter at the British Consulate in Yedo (Tokyo) as well as a Visiting Judge of the British Court in Kanagawa. In the following years he served as
- Vice consul in Niigata, Japan (1877)
- Law Secretary of the British Consular Court in Kanagawa (1878)
- Acting Assistant Judge of the British Supreme Court for China and Japan (1879-1880)
- Crown Advocate of the British Supreme Court for China and Japan (1881-1897)
- Acting Judge of the British Court for Japan within the period of 1894-1895
- Judge of HBM's Court for Japan (1897-1900)

In his position as Crown Advocate, Wilkinson was requested to take on the responsibility of being the lead prosecutor of Edith Carew for the murder of her husband Walter Raymond Hallowell CAREW in 1896 in Yokohama. Soon after, he was appointed Judge of the British Court for Japan to succeed Robert Mowat.
He was the final judge of that court which was wound down in 1900 after extraterritorial rights came to an end in Japan. He then, in 1900, was appointed Chief Justice of the British Supreme Court for China and Korea succeeding Sir Nicholas Hannen who died that year. He left Tokyo in June 1900 for this post in Shanghai.

Hiram Shaw Wilkinson was knighted for his services in 1903. In 1905, he retired from the bench in Shanghai, and moved to the townland of Moneyshanere, outside Tobermore, now Northern Ireland.

In 1864 he married Prudie Gaffkin; they had two sons, Hiram Parkes Wilkinson, and the Reverend Thomas Gaffkin Wilkinson, both of whom were born in Yokohama. His wife, born at Belfast on December 2, 1838, died in Yokohama on March 7, 1870, buried in the YFC.
Wilkinson never remarried.

Their son, Hiram Parkes Wilkinson succeeded him as Crown Advocate in Shanghai and served in that position until 1925, meaning that father and son held the position of Crown Advocate for 44 years.

Hiram Shaw Wilkinson served as Pro-Chancellor of Queen's College, Belfast from 1914 until his death in 1926.
___
/ P I – III / GB / DIP /
WILKINSON
John Clifford
1852 - 1923


































































1852 in Leeds, Yorkshire, GB
15.04.1923

Er wurde erstmalig in den JD für das Jahr 1878 in Hyogo noch ohne Beschäftigung und Adresse aufgeführt, im folgenden Jahr ist er in Kobe # 91 erfasst.
Von 1884 bis 1895 war er bei Hunter & Co. angestellt. Diese Firma war Vertreter für viele Betriebe in Japan, sodass John Clifford Wilkinson möglicherweise bereits vor 1884 für diese Firma in Japan unterwegs war.
Hunter & Co. war auch Vertreter für die Japan Rice Polishing Mills in Kobe und hat mehrere Personen als Berater für diese japanische Firma vermittelt.
So unterzeichnete John Clifford Wilkinson einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung als Berater für die Nutzung der Reis-Polier-Anlage, der vom 01.10.1884 bis 30.09.1887 lief.
Anschließend war er wieder direkt für Hunter & Co. in Kobe # 29 tätig.
John Clifford Wilkinson ging gewöhnlich zur Jagd und während eines solchen Ereignisses entdeckte er eine Quelle bei Takarazuka, in der Nähe von Kobe, mit reinem, frischem und schmackhaftem Wasser. Eine Analyse bestätigte einen außergewöhnlichen Anteil von Mineralien mit medizinischem Nutzen. Er erwarb das alleinige Recht zur kommerzieller Nutzung des Tansan-Quellwassers, das die Grundlage für sein zukünftiges Geschäft und Wohlstand bildete.
1895 gründete er seine eigene Firma unter J. C. Wilkinson & Co., Agent für “Auld Reekie” Whisky und Alleiniger Eigentümer der “Niwo” und “Tansan” Mineral-Wasser, Kobe, Native Bund # 97. Das Wasser wurde abgefüllt und in ganz Japan verkauft; bald wurde es als eines der schmackhaftesten Wasser vom Markt angenommen. Wilkinson ging einen weiteren Schritt zur Erhöhung seiner Leistung beim Abfüllen und Verkauf - mit der Bildung der Firma Clifford-Wilkinson Tansan Mineral Water Co. wurde auch ein neues Abfüllwerk in der Nähe der Quelle gegründet. Eine Vielzahl von Angestellten war erforderlich, das Wasser wurde nun auch weltweit exportiert. Die Leitung der Firma blieb in Kobe.

John Clifford Wilkinson war mit einer japanischen Frau verheiratet und sie hatten zwei Töchter:
- Ethel Grace, born on January 12, 1890
- Phyllis Margaret, born December 4, 1893;

1911 heiratete Ethel Grace Wilkinson Joseph Herbert Price (* 1885) und er wurde in das Geschäft integriert. Sie hatten einen Sohn, Herbert Cliff W. Price, der 1912 geboren wurde.
Es scheint, Ethel war auch in der Geschäftsleitung tätig - ihr Mann starb bereits 1917 im Alter von nur 32 Jahren und nach dem Tod ihres Vaters übernahm Ethel die Leitung der Firma bis 1941.


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
1852 in Leeds, Yorkshire, GB
15.04.1923

For the first time he had been mentioned in the JD for 1878 as resident of Hyogo still without a job and address; in the following year he is recorded in Kobe # 91.
From 1884 to 1895 he was employed with Hunter & Co.. This company was an agent for many enterprises in Japan and John Clifford Wilkinson possibly had been away on business in Japan for this company before 1884.
Hunter & Co. was also an agent for the Japan Rice Polishing Mills in Kobe and several persons had been procured by them as advisors for this Japanese company.
Thus, John Clifford Wilkinson signed a contract with the Japanese government as advisor for the operation of the Rice Polishing Mills from October 1, 1884 to September 30, 1887.
Afterwards he worked again directly for Hunter & Co. at Kobe # 29.
John Clifford Wilkinson was accustomed to go hunting and during such an occasion he discovered a spring at Takarazuka near Kobe with pure, fresh and delicious water. By analysis it was learnt that the water was exceptionally rich in all the mineral ingredients and of medicinal value. He acquired the sole right for the commercial use of the Tansan spring water which formed the base for his future business and fortune.

In 1895 he founded his own business under J. C. Wilkinson & Co., Agent for “Auld Reekie” Whisky and Sole Proprietor of “Niwo” and “Tansan” Mineral Waters, Kobe Native Bund # 97. The water had been bottled and sold throughout Japan; the public readily accepted the water as one of the most palatable on the market. Wilkinson put the bottling and sale of the water on a higher commercial basis by forming a new company operating under Clifford-Wilkinson Tansan Mineral Water Co. and by establishing the new bottling works close to the spring.
A large number of persons were employed and the water was also exported worldwide. The head office of the company remained in Kobe.

John Clifford Wilkinson was married to a Japanese woman and they had two daughters:
- Ethel Grace, born on January 12, 1890
- Phyllis Margaret, born December 4, 1893;

In 1911 Ethel Grace Wilkinson married Joseph Herbert Price (born in 1885), and he was incorporated into the business. They had a son, Herbert Cliff W. Price, born in 1912.
It seems Ethel was engaged in the management, too - her husband died in 1917 only aged 32 years and after the death of her father, Ethel managed the business until 1941 by herself.


Für Vergrößerung klicken


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Abfüllanlage - Bottling Works - Clifford-Wilkinson Tansan Mineral Water Co.

Ethel war ein begeisteter Ansichtskarten-Sammler –
Ethel was a passionate postcard collector

___
/ P II – III / GB / TR + FE-R (36 Mon.) /
WILLIAMS
Samuel Wells
1812 – 1884








22.09.1812 in Utica, New York
17.02.1884 in New Haven

Dr.; Missionar; American Board Mission; er besuchte die Schule in Leech und die Hochschule von Utica, studierte an der Industrie-Handelsschule von Troja City bis 1931 und von 1932 war er in einer Druckerei angestellt. Eine neue Tätigkeit begann er als „Druck-Missionar“ der American Board Mission in China. Er kam im Oktober 1833 in Guangdong an und übernahm die Missionsdruckerei.
Im Juni 1836 siedelte er nach Macao über, wo er sieben schiffbrüchige Japaner traf, die er in der Missionsdruckerei anstellte und von denen er Japanisch lernte. Als Commodore Perry im April 1853 Hong Kong anlief, stellte er ihn als offiziellen Dolmetscher ein. Mit der Perry-Flotte kehrte er nach China zurück, 1855 erhielt er eine Berufung der amerikanischen Gesandschaft in China als Pfarrer und Dolmetscher. Er spielte eine aktive Rolle als Dolmetscher beim Abschluß des Tianjing Vertrages von 1858. 1877 kehrte er in die USA zurück und wurde als Professor für Sinologie an die Universität von Yale berufen. Er war Autor vieler bedeutender Werke über China und Japan.
Anmerkung:
Es existieren Aufzeichnungen, gemäß denen Samuel Wells Williams einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Finanzen, Bereich Steuern, unterzeichnet hat, um zur Unterstützung von George B. Williams in Tokyo vom 03.10.1871 bis 02.10.1874 tätig zu sein.
22.09.1812 in Utica, New York
17.02.1884 in New Haven

Dr.; Missionary; American Board Mission; he visited the school of Leech and the high school of Utica, studied at the industrial trading school of Troja City until 1831, and from 1832 he was engaged in a printing business. He started for a new post as “print missionary” of the American Board Mission in China, arriving at Guangdong in October 1833 and he took office as director of the mission press.
In June 1836 he moved to Macao where he met seven shipwrecked Japanese citizens. He engaged these Japanese in the mission press and learned Japanese from them. When Commodore Perry arrived at Hong Kong in April 1853 he engaged him as an official interpreter. He returned to China with the Perry fleet, but was appointed an American legation clerical officer to China and an interpreter in 1855. He played an active part as an interpreter in the conclusion of the Treaty of Tianjing in 1858. He returned to the USA in 1877 and became professor of Sinology at Yale University. He was the author of many important books on China and Japan.

Remark:
There exist documents that Samuel Wells Williams signed a contract with the Japanese government, Finance Ministry, to assist George B. William in the Tax Department, Tokyo, from 03.10.1871 until 02.10.1874.
___
/ P I – II / USA / FE-T (36 Mon.) + MIS /
WILLOUGHBY
Joseph
1864 - 1942


Für Vergrößerung klicken







24.08.1864 in Plymouth, Devon, GB
1942 in Kobe

Im Alter von 16 Jahren kam er als Gehilfe auf dem britischen Marineschiff Iron Duke nach China. Später studierte er Maschinenbau und die Volkszählung 1891 führt ihn als Ingenieur und Abteilungs-Leiter in East Stonehouse, Devon, GB. 1901 ist er als Ingenieur in einer Eisen-Gießerei in Plymouth, Devon, GB tätig.
Noch immer vom asiatischen Leben beeindruckt, entschloss er sich nach Japan zu gehen.
Bereits während des Russisch-Japanischen Krieges weilte er in Japan und produzierte Kugellager für den Waffenhandel und leitete Nunobiki Trading Co. in # 84 Nishimachi, Kobe.
Gemäß einer Zeitungsnotiz vom 27.07.1906 wurde er zum Beratenden Ingenieur und Marine-Inspektor in Kobe berufen, er arbeitete auch in der Werft von Mitsubishi in Kobe als Schiffsingenieur und lehrte Schiffbau.
Später arbeitete er auf Vertragsbasis als Marine-Inspektor und Ingenieur für den Schwermaschinenbau von Mitsubishi (Mitsubishi Jūkō).
1890 heiratete er Rosa Florence geb. Holman (1868-1960) und sie hatten zwei Töchter, Dorothy U. Rose (1891-1960) and Olga R. Marguarite (1894-1974).
In seiner zweiten Ehe mit der Japanerin Ine Olive TANAKA (1891-1950) hatte er eine weitere Tochter, Eleanor Olive Willoughby (1913-1989).
Ine Olive und Joseph Willoughby sind beide auf dem Shuhogahara Ausländer-Friedhof in Kobe, Grabstelle D 2/ 54 beigesetzt.
24.08.1864 in Plymouth, Devon, GB
1942 in Kobe

At the age of 16 he went to China as assistant clerk on the Royal Navy ship Iron Duke. Later he studied mechanical engineering and the census of 1891 lists him as engineer and sub-manager at East Stonehouse, Devon, GB. In 1901 he is occupied as engineer in an Iron Foundry at Plymouth, Devon, GB.
Influenced by the Asian flair experienced in his former years he made up his mind to go to Japan.
During the Russo-Japanese war he stayed in Japan to set up his business manufacturing machinery to make ball bearings for the arms trade. He operated Nunobiki Trading Co. at # 84 Nishimachi, Kobe.
According to a newspaper note of July 27, 1906 he was appointed consulting engineer and marine surveyor in Kobe, also worked at Mitsubishi Shipyard in Kobe as marine engineer and taught ship design.
Later he worked as a Marine Surveyor and Engineer on contract with the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries (Mitsubishi Jūkō).
In 1890 he married Rosa Florence nee Holman (1868-1960) and they had two daughters, Dorothy U. Rose (1891-1960) and Olga R. Marguarite (1894-1974).
In his second marriage with the Japanese Ine Olive TANAKA (1891-1950) he had another daughter, Eleanor Olive Willoughby (1913-1989).
Ine Olive and Joseph Willoughby are both buried in the Shuhogahara Foreign Cemetery of Kobe, plot D 2/ 54.
___
/ P III / GB / ENG /
WINCKLER
Jakob
1851 – 1911

[WINKLER]


Für Vergrößerung klicken








Für Vergrößerung klicken
W. & C. – Y. + K
Winckler & Co. Kobe + Yokohama (nicht zu verwechseln mit Worch & Co!)
- Firmenlochung zur Vermeidung von Missbrauch
- perfin to prevent from misuse (not to be confused with Worch & Co.!)



Für Vergrößerung klicken
1851 in Stade bei Hamburg, DE
1911

Jakob Winckler wurde als Sohn eines Lehrers in Stade geboren, den es in die Welt zog und der bereits 1870 nach Yokohama kam. Nach seiner Ankunft tritt er in die im Jahre 1869 gegründete Firma H. Ahrens & Co. ein. Er ist kein Kaufmann, kennt sich aber in der Porzellanherstellung aus. Besonders wegen dieser Kenntnisse unternimmt er in den folgenden Jahren für H. Ahrens & Co. immer wieder Reisen nach Shanghai, Hongkong, Kobe und Nagasaki.
Im November 1873 wurde er Mitglied der kürzlich in Tokyo gegründeten „Deutsche Gesellschaft für Natur- und Völkerkunde Ostasiens (OAG)".
Im August 1876 verlängerte er zum zweiten Mal seinen Zweijahresvertrag mit H. Ahrens & Co., er hatte sich nun auch mit dem Handel vertraut gemacht, der vorwiegend auf Importen beruhte.
Zu dieser Zeit schloss J. Winckler mit der japanischen Regierung einen Vertrag als o-yatoi gaikokujin (FE) ab, gemäß dem er zwei Jahre ab 03.08.1876 als Instukteur zur Herstellung von Glasuren bei Keramiken in Tokyo tätig war. - Als H. Ahrens & Co. schließlich den Export ganz aufgibt, führt Jakob Winckler ihn etwa ab 1878 unter eigener Regie und auf eigenes Risiko weiter, gelegentlich wohl auch schon in eigenem Namen. 1884 gründete er seine eigene Firma Winckler & Co., sie hat ihren Sitz in Yokohama # 245. Der Export unterschiedlichster Waren aus Japan, bald in die ganze Welt, wird sein Geschäft und das seiner Nachfolger bis in die Gegenwart hinein prägen.
Die Geschäfte gingen gut und er suchte nach Partnern. Er bat seinen Verwandten und Freund Ferdinand Danckwerts, der in Moskau bei einer deutschen Bank arbeitete, nach Japan zu kommen. 1885 wurde er bei Winckler & Co. Partner, ebenso der Schweizer A. Greppi, der aber nach kurzer Zeit wieder ausschied.
In den ersten Jahren wurden gute Geschäfte mit teilweise eigenwilligen Waren gemacht, z.B. von Albatrosfedern für den Hutschmuck, aber auch mit Kunstgegenständen, vor allem mit Porzellan. Aufgrund seiner Kenntnis und Liebe zur Kunst blieb dieser Zweig noch für Jahrzehnte bestehen und eine Linie führte nach Paris zu S. Bing, der auch die Firma zur Kunst- und Kunsthandwerks-Ausstellung 1894 in Paris vertrat.
1891 eröffnete Jakob Winckler eine Zweigstelle in Kobe, wo er auch die Leitung übernahm, Yokohama wurde von F. Danckwerts geleitet. 1891 wurde er auch zum Präsidenten des deutschen Club Concordia gewählt.
Jakob Winckler gilt als Initiator der Perlmuttknopf-Industrie in Japan. Er richtete Anfang der 90er Jahre in Kobe, assistiert von W. Wernstedt, einem Experten aus Oelsnitz/ Vogtland, eine kleine Perlmuttknopf-Fabrik ein, auch deutsche Spezialmaschinen wurden geholt. Sie gilt als Keimzelle der japanischen Knopfindustrie, noch 1936 zählten solche Knöpfe zu den bedeutendsten Exportartikeln.
1895 kehrte Jakob Winckler nach Deutschland zurück, wo er noch im selben Jahr eine weitere Niederlassung in Hamburg, gründete. Somit obliegt die Firmenleitung in Japan nun F. Danckwerts, der Hauptsitz befindet sich in Yokohama # 256, Yamashita-cho, Naka-ku., wo er für über 100 Jahre bestehen blieb.
Nach seiner Rückkehr nach DE schickte er noch 1895 den damals erst 20jährigen Fritz Gensen zur Verstärkung nach Japan. Dieser wird 1905 zunächst Prokurist und dann 1910 Partner.
Das Hamburger Büro spielte von Anfang an eine wichtige Rolle. Es wurde 1895 als eigenständige Firma ins Handelsregister eingetragen.
In den folgenden Jahren kamen immer mehr Warenarten hinzu, welche die Firma für den Export als geeignet entdeckte und förderte, wie z.B. Strohgeflechte und Lackwaren, für die auch eigene Fabriken eingerichtet wurden, sowie Pfefferminz, Menthol, Japan-Wachs und Bambus, später wurden auch Felle aus Nordjapan, Sachalin und Sibirien ergänzt. 1907 wurde eine Niederlassung im deutschen Schutzgebiet Tsingtau gegründet. Die Einfuhr aus Deutschland nach Japan in der Zeit nach dem russisch-japanischen Krieg (1904/ 1905) umfaßte hauptsächlich deutsche Lehrbücher für Medizin, Philosophie und Technik vom Verlag F. A. Brockhaus in Leipzig, den Winckler & Co. in Japan vertritt. Eine wichtige Rolle spielte auch die Einfuhr von Quecksilber aus Spanien, Graphit aus Ceylon und Chemikalien aus Deutschland, wobei der Export nach wie vor das Hauptgeschäft darstellt. - Bereits im Alter von 61 Jahren verstarb Jakob Winckler in Deutschland, er konnte die weitere Entwicklung seiner Firma nicht erleben.
Am 05.02.1912 wurde die Firma in eine Kommanditgesellschaft (Gōshi Kaisha) umgewandelt. Als Kommanditisten erschienen Frau Hedwig Winckler, seine Witwe, sowie Ferdinand Danckwerts, Fritz Gensen (1875-1954), Gustav Selig sen. (1876-1938), Julius Westphalen (1862-1935), und Fritz Fachtmann (1868-1946). Im selben Jahr wird ein Büro in Nagoya eröffnet, dessen Leiter C. Voss wurde.
Bis zum heutigen Tag ist die Firma in Japan erfolgreich tätig, heute allerdings vorwiegend mit einem Import von Maschinen und kompletten Anlagen mit dem entsprechenden Know-how und Kundendienst.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Postkarte, Aufgabe in Tokyo, 05.06.1890 an Winckler & Co., Yokohama # 245, Ankunft am gleichen Tag.
Postcard posted Tokyo, June 5, 1890 addressed to Winckler & Co., Yokohama # 245, arrival on the same day.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
1897 - Winckler & Co., Kobe-Branch # 85
1851 in Stade nr Hamburg, DE
1911

Jakob Winckler was born as son of a teacher in Stade, Germany who had a longing to see the world and came to Yokohama in 1870. After his arrival he joined H. Ahrens & Co., set up only in 1869. He is no merchant but has special knowledge in the field of porcelain production and firing. Especially in that capacity he undertook in subsequent years repeated journeys on behalf of H. Ahrens & Co. to Shanghai, Hong Kong, Kobe, and Nagasaki.
In November 1873 he was affiliated to the OAG (German Society for Promoting Ethnology and Natural History of East Asia) founded recently in Tokyo.
In August 1876 he prolonged his two-years’-contract with H. Ahrens & Co. for the second time, and in the meantime he also got familiarized with the trade business predominantly based on imports.
At this time Jakob Winckler signed a contract with the Japanese government as o-yatoi gaikoku-jin (FE) running from August 3, 1876 for two years, to instruct on the methods of firing and glazing of ceramics in Tokyo.
When H. Ahrens finally gave up the general export business, Winckler carried it on with his own account and risk and partly under his own name from about 1878 on.
In 1884, after parting H. Ahrens & Co he established his own business Winckler & Co., located in Yokohama # 245. The export of most different goods from Japan, soon to the whole world, shaped his and his successors’ business up to the presence.
The business flourished and J. Winckler was looking for partners. He asked his friend and relative Ferdinand Danckwerts, who was working for a German bank in Moscow, to come to Japan and he agreed. In 1885 Danchwerts joined, additionally also the Swiss A. Greppi, who dropped out soon after.
Within the first years, good bargains were made by partly unconventional goods, e.g. with albatross feathers for ladies’ hats exporting them to Europe and the USA and also of art objects, especially porcelain. Due to his love and knowledge of art this branch kept to be an important export line for decades and one connection lead to Paris to S. Bing who also represented the firm during the Arts and Crafts Exhibition in Paris in 1894.
In 1891 Jakob Winckler opened a branch in Kobe and he managed this branch, the branch in Yokohama was headed by F. Danckwerts. In 1891 he also was elected president of the German Club Concordia.
Jakob Winckler may well be regarded as originator of the button industry in Japan. Being a technician, he started to operate a small mother-of-pearl button factory at the beginning of the 1890’s, out of which the entire Japanese button industry evolved, assisted by the German expert W. Wernstedt. Still in 1936, the export of mother-of-pearl buttons ranked among the most important export items shipped from Kobe Port.
In 1895 Jakob Winckler returned to Germany, where he established yet another branch. The Hamburg office was thus playing an important role, right from the beginning. Thus, the company in Japan was managed by Danckwerts, the main seat now located in Yokohama # 256, Yamashita-cho, Naka-ku, remaining there for more than 100 years.
After his return to Germany he delegated in 1895 Fritz Gensen, at that time only aged 20 years, to Japan to support the company. At first he is appointed authorized signatoy in 1905 and in 1910 he became partner.
The Hamburg office played an important role from the very beginning. In 1895 it has been entered as an independent company in the Trade Register.
In the following years more kinds of goods are discovered and promoted by the company to be suitable to export, e. g. straw nets and lacquer goods for which partly special factories had been set up as well as peppermint, menthol, Japan wax and bamboo, later furs from North Japan, Sakhalin, and Siberia had been added.
In 1907 another branch was established in the German Territory of China, in Tsingtao. The import from Germany to Japan at the time after the Russo- Japanese war (1904/ 1905) covered mainly German textbooks for medicine, philosophy, and engineering, published by F. A. Brockhaus in Leipzig which was represented by Winckler & Co. in Japan. An important role also played the import of mercury from Spain, graphite from Ceylon, and chemicals from Germany; the export, however, continued to be the main business field.
Jakob Winckler died in Germany in the early age of 61 years, he couldn’t experience the further development of his company. The company was converted into a limited partnership (Gōshi Kaisha) on February 5, 1912. As limited partners appeared Mrs Hedwig Winckler, his widow, as well as Ferdinand Danckwerts, Fritz Gensen (1875-1954), Gustav Selig sen. (1876-1938), Julius Westphalen (1862-1935), and Fritz Fachtmann (1868-1946). In the same year an office was opened in Nagoya C. Voss was appointed manager.

Until today the company is still successfully busy in Japan, today, however, the main emphasis is on the import of machinery and complete plants together with the corresponding know-how and customer services.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
Ganzsachen-Brief, Aufgabe Minō (heute Gifu-ken) am 11.04.1891 an Winckler & Co., Yokohama # 256, Ankunft 13.04.1891
Postal Stationary Letter Sheet, posted Minō (today Gifu-ken), April 11, 1891 to Winckler & Co., Yokohama # 256, arrival April 13, 1891


Für Vergrößerung klicken

Postkarte, Aufgabe am 11.08.1891 in Yokohama an Winckler & Co. in Kobe # 85. Diese Karte wurde am 1.1.1898 per Privatpost in Berlin befördert und als Neujahrsgrußkarte verwendet.

Postcard, posted in Yokohama, August 11, 1891 to Winckler & Co., Kobe # 85. This card was delivered by Private Post of Berlin on January 1, 1898 used as New Year Greeting Card.
___
/ P I – III / DE / FE-R + TR /
WINTHER
Jens Michael Thogersen
1874 – 1970


[Jenns]





















Für Vergrößerung klicken

25.10.1874 in Vidabaek/ Ringkobing, DK
02.03.1970 in Kobe, Japan

Nach dem Schulabschluss arbeitete er in der örtlichen Molkerei. Er bewarb sich als Leiter einer Molkerei in Vildbjerg, wurde aber abgelehnt. Er nahm es als Zeichen und besuchte das Winter College in Staby.
Nach Abschluss seines Studiums arbeitete er kurz an einer Schule und wurde von der lutherischen Missionsgesellschaft in Südjütland als Missionar angeworben. Sie boten ihm eine Position in China an, die er akzeptierte. Am 21. Juli 1896 begann er die Reise mit seiner Frau Andrea geb. Hansen, über England, wo er bei einem dänischen Priester in Jamestown, N. Hansen, Englisch lernte.
Im Mai 1898 reiste er an die Westküste der USA, um nach China aufzubrechen. Sein Geld reichte aber nur bis nach Japan, wo er im September 1898 ankam.
Er begann seine Missionsarbeit in Saga im Juni 1899, nachdem er sich in Yokohama und Tokyo an japanische Verhältnisse gewöhnt hatte. Ab 1901 war er in Kurume stationiert.
Von 1906 bis 1909 unterbrach er seine Arbeit aus gesundheitlichen Gründen und wurde in Chicago und Dänemark behandelt. Danach kehrte er 1909 nach Japan zurück. Die lutherische Mission war zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass ein theologisches Seminar nötig wurde, um japanisches Personal auszubilden. Ein Seminar wurde 1909 in Kumamoto eröffnet und Winther war einer von ersten, die die lutherische Vorschule in Japan gründeten.
Neben dem Unterricht organisierte er mit Studenten Straßentreffen. Er arbeitete 12 Jahre lang auf diese Weise.

Er stand auch mit anderen dänischen Missionaren in Kontakt, wie beispielsweise J. P. Nielsen.
1921 kehrte er nach Dänemark zurück, arbeitete einige Jahre als Priester und kehrte 1928 nach Japan zurück. Er musste nun 12 Kirchen mit einheimischen Priestern regelmäßig besuchen. Außerdem kümmerte er sich um die Kranken.
1941, während des 2. Weltkriegs, musste er Japan verlassen und reiste in die USA, kehrte aber nach dem Krieg zurück.
In den nächsten 20 Jahren war er Lehrer in einer Lutherischen Bibelschule in Kobe.
Er starb 1970 in Kobe im Alter von 95 Jahren. Er wurde auf dem Ausländerfriedhof von Kobe begraben.


Für Vergrößerung klicken
25.10.1874 in Vidabaek/ Ringkobing, DK
02.03.1970 in Kobe, Japan

After his basic education he worked in the local dairy. He applied as manager of a dairy in Vildbjerg, but was rejected. He took it as a sign and attended the Winter College in Staby.
After completing his studies, he worked for a short time at a school and was soon recruited as a missionary by the Lutheran Missionary Society in South Jutland. They offered him a position in China, which he accepted. On July 21, 1896, he began his journey with his wife Andrea nee Hansen, across England, where he studied English with a Danish priest in Jamestown, N. Hansen.
In May 1898, he traveled to the west coast of the USA to leave for China. His money, however, sufficed only to Japan, where he arrived in September 1898.

He began his missionary work in Saga in June 1899, after having got used to Japanese conditions in Yokohama and Tokyo. As of 1901 he was stationed in Kurume.

From 1906 to 1909 he interrupted his work for health reasons and was treated in Chicago and Denmark.
Afterwards he returned to Japan in 1909. The Lutheran mission had come to the conclusion that they needed a theological seminary to train Japanese personnel. A seminary was established in 1909 in the city of Kumamoto, and Winther became one of those who began the first Lutheran preschool in Japan.
In addition to teaching, he went with the students to the streets to hold street meetings. He worked this way for 12 years.
He was also in contact with other Danish missionaries, such as J. P. Nielsen.
In 1921, he returned to Denmark, worked for some years as a priest, then returned to Japan in 1928. There were now 12 churches with native priests who should be visited regularly. In addition, he cared for the sick.

In 1941, during World War II, he had to leave Japan and travelled to the USA, but after the war he returned to Japan.

For the next 20 years he worked as a teacher at a Lutheran bible school in Kobe.
He died in Kobe in 1970 aged 95 years. He was buried in the Foreigners Cemetery of Kobe.



- Brief von Reverend J. M. T. Winther, aufgegeben in Karuizawa am 25.03.1913 nach Dänemark.

- Cover posted on March 25, 1913 in Karuizawa by Rev. Winther.
___
/ P III / DK / MIS /
WITKOWSKI
Julius
- 1902



[WITKOVSKI]
[WITTKOWSKI]
[WITKOWSKE]
[Yulien]
[F.]
[J. C.]













Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Zollabschnitt
- Customs Label

29.07.1902 bei Nikkō, Japan

Ganz sicher angeregt durch seinen Cousin L. Lichtenstein kam er 1871 nach Japan und unterzeichnete einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten (Gaimushō), der teilweise auch vom Ministerium für Erziehung (Monbushō) erfüllt wurde. Sein Vertrag im MfAA und der Sprachschule, Deutsche Fakultät, als Lehrer und Dolmetscher begann am 28.10.1871 und lief schließlich mit mehreren Verlängerungen bis zum 26.05.1876.
1877 zog J. Witkowski nach Kobe und wurde bei Kniffler & Co. angestellt. Er blieb bis 1879, als die Firma in Liquidation ging. Er kehrte nach Yokohama zurück und wurde 1880 bei C. Illies & Co., Versicherungs- und Handels-Agentur, Yokohama # 54, angestellt; privat wohnte er in # 72 Bluff.
Nach etwa zwei Jahren wurde er Leiter der Antiquitäten-Abteilung von Illies & Co. in Yokohama # 26. Als diese Abteilung 1885 geschlossen wurde, verließ er Illies & Co. wieder und ging zu S. Marcus & Co., Yokohama # 56. Bereits 1886 wurde er Partner in dieser Firma.
Ab 1889 wohnte er privat in Bluff # 44. Als S. Marcus sein Geschäft 1890 aufgab, gründete J. Witkowski seine eigene Firma auf der Basis von Marcus & Co. und firmierte unter J. Witkowki & Co., Yokohama # 93; er eröffnete auch eine Niederlassung in Kobe # 32.
J. Witkowski & Co. entwickelte sich zu einer erstrangigen Import- und Export-Firma in Japan, sein Partner wurde Henri Blum. Sie betrieben Niederlassungen in Kobe, Yokohama, Nagoya und New York mit Vertretungen für Japan von vielen der bekanntesten Hersteller-Konzernen, deren Produkte in großen Mengen nach Japan importiert wurden, trotz den enormen Fortschritten, die Japan zweifelsohne in der Herstellung eigener Produkte erreicht hatte. Zusätzlich importierte J. Witkowski & Co. große Mengen Diamanten aus Amsterdam für die lokalen Schmuckfirmen. Weitere Importe waren Chemikalien und Arzneien, Weine aus Kalifornien und Frankreich, etc.
Als Exporteur belegt diese Firma ebenso eine hervorragende Position. Exporte umfassen Seidenwaren, Stickereien, Hanf, Matten, Streichhölzer, Porzellan, Bürsten, Glaswaren, Kunstgegenstände, Baumwoll-Handtücher, Handschuhe, Socken, Knöpfe, Unterwäsche, Stroh- und Panama-Hüte, etc.
Als J. Witkowski 1902 starb, nahm Henri Blum (FR) als Partner Lee Meyer (USA) und Laurie Lazarus (GB) und 1912 wurde der Konzern in eine Aktiengesellschaft überführt. Diese drei Partner blieben bis zum Tod von Henri Blum 1926 und der Pensionierung von Lazarus zusammen.
H. Blum war für das Büro in New York zuständig. L. Lazarus war der Leiter der Niederlassung von Kobe und L. Meyer der Leiter der Niederlassung von Yokohama.
Julius Witkowski starb 1902 in Yokohama und wurde auf dem Ausländer-Friedhof von Yokohama, Jüdischer Bereich, beigesetzt.

29.07.1902 near Nikkō, Japan

Most surely animated by his cousin L. Lichtenstein he came to Japan in 1871 and signed a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Gaimushō), partly he was also employed by the Ministry of Education (Monbushō).
His contract in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and in the Foreign Language School, German Department, as teacher and interpreter started on October 28, 1871 and ran finally with several prolongations until May 26. 1876.
In 1877 J. Witkowski moved to Kobe and was employed with Kniffler & Co. He stayed there to 1879 when this company went into liquidation. He went back to Yokohama and in 1880 got employed with C. Illies & Co., Insurance and Trade Agency, Yokohama # 54; privately he resided at # 72 Bluff.

After about two years he became Manager of the Curio Department of Illies & Co. at Yokohama # 26. When this department was closed in 1885 he left Illies & Co. and joined S. Marcus & Co., Yokohama # 56. Already in 1886 he became partner in this company.
As of 1889 he resided privately in the Bluff # 44. When S. Marcus abandoned his business in 1890, J. Witkowski founded his own business on the base of Marcus & Co., but operating under J. Witkowki & Co., Yokohama # 93 and he also established a branch in Kobe # 32.
J. Witkowski & Co. developed to a first rank import and export house in Japan, his partner became Henri Blum. They maintained branches in Kobe, Yokohama, Nagoya, and New York with representations for Japan of many of the most famous manufacturing concerns whose products were imported to Japan in very large quantities despite the great strides that the Japanese have undoubtedly made in their own productive industries.
Additionally J. Witkowski & Co. imported large quantities of diamonds from Amsterdam for the local jewellery trade. Other imported lines were chemicals and drugs, California and French wines, etc.
As exporters this company occupies just as prominent a position. Exports comprise silk goods, embroidery, mattings, matches, china-ware, glassware, brushes, curios, fancy goods, gloves, cotton towels, socks and underwear, buttons, hemp, straw and Panama hats, etc.

On the death of J. Witkowski in 1902, Henri Blum (FR) took Lee Meyer (USA) and Laurie Lazarus (GB) into partnership and in 1912 the concern was turned into a private limited liability company. These three partners remained until Henri Blum died in 1926 and Lazarus retired.
H. Blum had charge of the New York office of the company. L. Lazarus was manager of the Kobe branch and L. Meyer was the Manager of the Yokohama branch.
Julius Witkowski died in 1902 in Yokohama and he was buried in the Yokohama Foreigners' Cemetery, Jewish Section.
___
/ P II – III / PL / FE-ED (54 Mon.) + TR /
WOLFF
Arnold
1846 - 1909

[WOLF]


Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Konsul Arnold Wolff entspannt auf dem Balkongeländer sitzend.
Foto aus den frühen 1880er Jahren, Yokohama, Sitz der Firma Siber & Brennwald, in dem sich auch das Schweizer Konsulat befand.
- Consul Arnold Wolff relaxed sitting on the balcony railing.
Photo from the early 1880s, Yokohama, seat of the company Siber & Brennwald and the Swiss Consulate.


Provenance:
Staatsarchiv Zürich W 66.



Arnold Wolff war Kaufmann aus Zürich und arbeitete seit 1869 für die Exportfirma Siber & Brennwald, die 1865 gegründet worden war.
Ab 1877 arbeitete er dann in Yokohama.
Nachdem Caspar Brennwald 1878 Japan verlassen hatte, musste ein neuer Geschäftsführer für Yokohama gefunden werden. Die Wahl fiel auf Arnold Wolff, der auch Partner der Firma wurde.

Am 20.05.1881 wurde Wolff Schweizer Generalkonsul in Japan, Nachfolger von Caspar Brennwald.
Am 13.01.1887 ersuchte er die zuständigen Behörden in der Schweiz um Entlassung aus diesem Amt. Mit der Wahrnehmung der Geschäfte wurde der bisherige Vizekonsul Arnold Dumelin beauftragt, der ebenfalls bei Siber & Brennwald tätig war und schließlich am 28.08.1888 zum neuen Generalkonsul ernannt wurde.

1887 kehrte Arnold Wolff in die Schweiz zurück und wurde Mitglied im Verwaltungsrat der Helvetia-Versicherung. Siber & Brennwald waren Agenten der Helvetia Versicherung für Japan.

Nach dem Tod Brennwalds wurde Wolff im Jahr 1900 Partner der Firma, die nun unter Siber, Wolff & Co. firmierte.
Ab 1906 wurde er als Ehrenkonsul des Japanischen Konsulats in Zürich berufen.

Nach Wolffs Tod im Jahr 1910 wurde Robert Hegner von Juwalta, der bereits in der Firma tätige Neffe von Hermann Siber, neuer Gesellschafter der Firma. Die Firmenbezeichnung lautete nun Siber, Hegner & Co.



Arnold Wolff was a businessman from Zurich and worked as of 1869 for the export company Siber & Brennwald which had been founded in 1865.
As of 1877 he worked in Yokohama.
After Caspar Brennwald had left Japan in 1878, a new managing director for Yokohama had to be found. The choice fell on Arnold Wolff who also became a partnership in the company.

On May 20, 1881, Wolff became Swiss Consul General in Japan succeeding Caspar Brennwald.
On January 13, 1887 he requested the appropriate authorities in Switzerland for dismissal from this office. Now the former vice-consul Arnold Dumelin was temporarily in charge of this office who worked for Siber & Brennwald as well and was finally appointed Consul General on August 28, 1888.

In 1887, Arnold Wolff returned to Switzerland and became a member of the Board of Directors of Helvetia Insurance.
Siber & Brennwald were agents of the Helvetia insurance for Japan.

After Brennwald's death, Wolff became in 1900 partner of the company that operated now under Siber, Wolff & Co.
As of 1906 he was appointed Honorary Consul of the Japanese consulate in Zurich.

After Wolff's death in 1910, Robert Hegner von Juwalta, the nephew of Hermann Siber already working for the company, became partner of the company. The company's name was now altered to Siber, Hegner & Co.
___
/ P II – III / CH / TR /
WOOLLEY
Alf.
[WOLLEY]
[WOLEY]



Für Vergrößerung klicken




Er kam 1890 nach Japan als Vetreter der Peninsular & Oriental Steam Navigation Co., Kobe # 109.
1896 wurde er nach Yokohama # 15 versetzt, 1898 vertrat er zusätzlich die Marine Insurance Co.
1902 wurde er als Generalvertreter der Peninsular & Oriental Steam Navigation Co. in Kobe ernannt.
Ab 1905 war er zusätzlich Mitglied des Komitees der China Association in Kobe, im Vorstand des Oriental Hotel Kobe, und wurde als Mitglied des Vorstandes von Nickel & Co., Spedition, Landungs- und Schiffsagentur, Niederlassung Kobe, gewählt.



He came to Japan in 1890 as Agent of the Peninsular & Oriental Steam Navigation Co., Kobe # 109.
In 1896 he was transferred to Yokohama # 15 and in 1898 he represented additionally the Marine Insurance Co. In 1902 he was appointed Chief Agent for Japan of the Peninsular & Oriental Steam Navigation Co., in Kobe.
From 1905 on he was additionally engaged as Member of the Committee of the China Association, Kobe, Director of the Oriental Hotel, Kobe and Member of the Board of Directors of Nickel & Co., Stevedores & Landing and Shipping Agents, Kobe Branch.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WORDEN
Whiting Sweeting
1858 - 1933











































12.08.1858 in Syracuse, NY
† 17.10.1933 in Yokohama

Sohn von Dr. med. Dewitt C. Worden, studierte an der Universität von Syracuse, NY, wo er 1881 mit dem B.A., 1886 mit dem Dr. med., und 1887 mit dem M.A. abschloss.
Er wurde als medizinischer Missionar der American Methodist Episcopal Mission berufen und nach Japan delegiert. Er traf am 29.10.1886 ein und begann zunächst an der Tokyo Eiwa Gakkō Boys School (Aoyama Gakuin) zu lehren.
Von 1886 bis 1890 arbeitete er in Yokohama und wohnte # 222 Bluff.
Während seiner Jahre in Japan unterhielt er eine private Apotheke und gab den Armen medizinische Unterstützung. Von 1890 bis 1893 arbeitete er in Nagoya und als amtierender Ältester des Nagoya Distrikts leistete er hervorragende Dienste als Leiter des Glaubens unabhängigen Hilfskomitees nach dem Gifu-Erdbeben von 1891. Von 1893-1895 weilte er in den USA. Als er zurückkehrte, arbeitete er als Pfarrer in der Kanagawa Kirche von 1896 bis 1897 und den Asakusa und Tsukiji Kirchen von 1898 bis 1902, er wohnte in Tokyo # 15 Tsukiji.
1903 beendete er seine Missionstätigkeit und begann als medizinischer Sachverständiger der New York Life Insurance Co., Yokohama # 70 zu arbeiten.
Er erhielt von der japanischen Regierung eine Lizenz, um als Arzt zu praktizieren und er eröffnet 1906 eine private Praxis in Yokohama # 40 und sein Sohn Eric Maxson unterstützte ihn, privat lebten sie alle in # 236 Bluff.
Später arbeitete er auch als amtierender Assistenzarzt für den öffentlichen Gesundheitsdienst der USA in Japan.
Nach seiner Pensionierung lebte er bei seiner Tochter in Yokohama und in seinen letzten Jahren übersetzte er religiöse Bücher ins Japanische, z. B. von J. Peterson Smyth Das Evangelium für's Jenseits.
Am 07.02.1884 heiratete er Harriet geb. Way, bekannt als “Hattie“ (* am 16.03.1864, gest. an Krebs am 20.11.1924 in Honolulu). Sie studierte 3 Jahre an der Syracuse Universität, bevor sie heiratete und wurde ebenfalls Missionar der American Methodist Episcopal Mission.
Sie hatten 7 Kinder:
- Eric Maxson, * 11.04.1885 in Syracuse; er starb noch vor seiner Mutter
- Warren Haven, * 03.07.1887 in Tokyo
- Mary Olive, später Mrs. Bell, * 23.02.1889 in Yokohama
- Leslie Joyce, * 30.01.1891 in Yokohama
- Vivian Salisbury Way, * 04.05.1892 in Nagoya, starb 1935, sie wurde Arzt
- Theodore Griffin, * 29.05.1904, wurde ebenfalls Arzt
- Albert, Näheres unbekannt.
Whiting Sweeting und Harriet Worden wurden beide auf dem Oakwood Cemetery, Syracuse, NY, bestattet.
12.08.1858 in Syracuse, NY
† 17.10.1933 in Yokohama

Son of Dr. med. Dewitt C. Worden, he studied at the University of Syracuse, NY where he achieved the B.A. in 1881, M.D. in 1886, and the M.A. in 1887.
He was appointed medical missionary of the American Methodist Episcopal Mission and delegated to Japan. He arrived on October 29, 1886 and took office at the Tokyo Eiwa Gakkō Boys School (Aoyama Gakuin).
From 1886 until 1890 he worked in Yokohama living at # 222 Bluff.
Throughout his years in Japan he maintained a private dispensary and gave charity medical care to the poor. From 1890 until 1893 he worked in Nagoya and as presiding elder of the Nagoya District he rendered distinguished service as chairman of the interdenominational relief committee after the Gifu earthquake in 1891. From 1893-1895 he stayed in the USA. When he returned he served as pastor of the Kanagawa Church from 1896 to 1897 and the Asakusa and Tsukiji churches from 1898 to 1902, living at Tokyo # 15 Tsukiji.
In 1903 he resigned from his missionary work and started to work as Medical Referee of the New York Life Insurance Co., Yokohama # 70.
He received a license by the Japanese government to practice medicine and he opened a private practice in Yokohama # 40 in 1906 and his son Eric Maxson assisted him, privately they all lived at # 236 Bluff.
Later he also worked as Acting Assistant Surgeon for the United States Public Health Service in Japan.
He lived in retirement with his daughter in Yokohama and in his last years translated devotional literature into Japanese. One of his translations was The Gospel to the Hereafter by J. Peterson Smyth.
On February 7, 1884 he married Harriet nee Way, known as “Hattie“ (* on March 16, 1864, died of cancer on November 20, 1924 in Honolulu). She studied at Syracuse University for three years before her marriage and became a missionary of the American Methodist Episcopal Mission, too.
They had 7 children:
- Eric Maxson, * 11.04.1885 at Syracuse; predeceased his mother
- Warren Haven, * 03.07.1887 in Tokyo
- Mary Olive, later Mrs. Bell, * 23.02.1889 in Yokohama
- Leslie Joyce, * 30.01.1891 in Yokohama
- Vivian Salisbury Way, * 04.05.1892 in Nagoya, died 1935, who became a medical doctor
- Theodore Griffin, * 29.05.1904, who became a medical doctor
- Albert, details unknown.
Whiting Sweeting and Harriet Worden are both interred in the Oakwood Cemetery, Syracuse, NY.
___
/ P I – II / USA / MIS + MED /
WORTH
Francis Ernest
1871 -1925













1871 in Bristol, GB
??.08.1925 in Weston-super-Mare, Somerset, GB, bestattet 15.08.1925

Gemäß der Volkszählung von 1891 arbeitete er als Assistent bei einem Textilkaufmann in St. Giles, Norwich, GB.
1893 kam er nach Japan und wurde als kaufmännischer Assistent bei E. A. Vincent, Modewaren und Textilhandlung, Yokohama # 80 angestellt. Aus dieser Firma wurde 1894 Vincent, Bird & Co. und Frances E. Worth wurde der Leiter bis 1895, jetzt mit Standort # 85. Noch 1907 existierte diese Firma unter der gleichen Adresse.
Er heiratete Lilian Gertrude geb. Abbey (* 1878 in Yokohama, Tochter von Richard Alley), am 25.04.1896 in der Christ-Kirche von Yokohama. Nach ihrer Heirat kehrten sie 1896 nach England zurück und lebten zunächst in Camberwell, London. Er arbeitete als Leiter der Industrial Trust Co. Sie hatten 2 in GB geborene Töchter, Muriel Evelyn (heiratete Tom Cecil Abbey, Sohn von Francis Henry Abbey) und Enid Lilian.
Lilian Gertrude Worth heiratete nicht wieder, sie starb am 09.09.1952 in der Wohnung ihrer Tochter Muriel, Lunawanna, Bruny Island, Australia.
1871 in Bristol, GB
??.08.1925 in Weston-super-Mare, Somerset, GB, buried 15.08.1925

According to the Census of 1891 he worked as draper's assistant at St. Giles, Norwich, GB.
In 1893 he came to Japan and was employed as mercantile assistant with E. A. Vincent, Millinery and Drapery, Yokohama Settlement # 80. This firm grew to Vincent, Bird & Co. in 1894 and F. E. Worth became its Manager until 1895, now settled in Yokohama # 85. Still in 1907 this firm existed still under the same address.
He married Lilian Gertrude nee Abbey (born 1878 in Yokohama, daughter of Richard Alley), on 25.04.1896 at the Christ Church of Yokohama. After their marriage they returned in 1896 to England and at first they lived in Camberwell, London. He worked as Manager of the Industrial Trust Co. They had 2 daughters, Muriel Evelyn (she married Tom Cecil Abbey, son of Frances Henry Abbey) and Enid Lilian, all born in GB.
Lilian Gertrude Worth did not marry again; she died on September 19, 1952 at her daughter Murial's residence, Lunawanna, Bruny Island, Australia.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WORTH
Ida M.
1865 – 1936

07.04.1865 in Tallula, IL, USA
17.01.1936 in St. Louis, MO, USA

Sie besuchte erfolgreich die Scarritt Bibel- und Ausbildungsschule von Kansas City und arbeitete danach 2 Jahre an öffentlichen Schulen als Lehrer. 1895 wurde sie vom Missionsvorstand der Methodist Episcopal Church nach Japan entsandt, wo sie am 19.08.1895 in Kobe eintraf. Ihr oblag die Arbeit mit Kindern und Frauen, später wurde sie zum Rektor der Lambuth Ausbildungsschule (Seiwa Universität) berufen, wo sie bis 1907 tätig war. Danach ging sie nach Oita, 1919 gründete sie hier das Airin Kwan Kommunikations-Zentrum, 1921 das Zenrin Kwan Kommunikationszentrum in Kure. 1925 und 1926 arbeitete sie wieder in der Lambuth Schule.
Sie lebte mit nur wenigen Unterbrechungen mehr als 30 Jahre in Japan. Am 01.07.1926 verließ sie Japan und wohnte in St. Louis, USA.
07.04.1865 at Tallula, IL, USA
17.01.1936 in St. Louis, MO, USA

She graduated from the Scarritt Bible and Training School of Kansas City and worked as a public school teacher for two years. In 1895 she was dispatched to Japan by the Board of Mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church arriving in Kobe on August 19, 1895. She was involved in work for women and children and later appointed principal of Lambuth Training School (Seiwa University), staying there until 1907 followed by Oita where she founded the Airin Kwan Community Center in 1919 and in 1921 the Zenrin Kwan Community Center in Kure. In 1925 and 1926 she worked again at the Lambuth School.

She had lived in Japan for more than 30 years with only some short interruptions. She left Japan on July 1, 1926 for the USA and resided in St. Louis.
___
/ P III / USA / MIS /
WRIGHT
Edward William Barton
1860 - 1951
















































08.11.1860 in Bangalore, India
13.09.1951 in London, GB

Er war das dritte von sechs Kindern des Eisenbahn-Ingenieurs William Barton Wright und seiner Frau Janet, geboren in Indien. Die Familie kehrte in den 1880er Jahren nach GB zurück. Danach setzte er seine Studien in Frankreich und Deutschland fort und arbeitete als Bau-Ingenieur und Landvermesser für Eisenbahn- und Bergbau-Gesellschaften z. B. in Ägypten, Portugal und Straits Settlement (heute Malaysia und Singapore). Im April 1892 nahm er legal den Namen Edward William Barton-Wright an. - Während seiner Arbeiten in mehreren Ländern hatte er immer die verschiedenen Kampftechniken studiert.
1894 wurde er als Spezialist für das Antimon-Schmelzen bei Hunter & Co., Eigentümer Edward Huzlitt Hunter, eine Handelsagentur in Kobe # 29, die u. a. auch die Osaka Eisenwerke vertrat, angestellt.
Er arbeitete für die Firma bis 1896 und während dieser Zeit studierte Barton-Wright ju-jutsu in wenigstens zwei Stilrichtungen, einschließlich shinden fudō ryū in Kobe und kōdōkan (jūdō) in Tokyo.
Nach seiner Rückkehr nach London Anfang 1898 kombinierte Barton-Wright diese Kampfarten, um seine eigene Methode der Selbstverteidigung zu entwickeln, die er Bartitsu nannte. In den nächsten zwei Jahren ergänzte er auch Elemente des britischen Boxens, französischen Savate und "la canne" (Stockkampf) des Schweizer Meisters Pierre Vigny.
1899 schrieb Barton-Wright einen Artikel "Positur eines starken Mannes", in dem er die mechanischen und Hebelprinzipien bei der Ausübung verschiedener Kraftübungen detaillierte.
Er schrieb auch einen zweiteiligen Beitrag "Die neue Kunst der Selbstverteidigung". 1901 publizierte Barton-Wright weitere Artikel, die die Bartitsu Methode des Kampfes mit dem Spazierstock oder Regenschirm beschrieb.
Diese Selbstverteidigung Bartitsu wurde auch durch den berühmten Arthur Conan Doyle, Autor der Sherlock Holmes-Romane, bekannt, einer der Helden nutzte Bartitsu.
1900 gründete Barton-Wright den Bartitsu Club in London, wo er Unterricht in Selbstverteidigung und Kampfsportarten anbot, ebenso verschiedene Gesundheitstherapien unter Anwendung von elektischer Wärme, Licht, Vibration und Strahlung.
Etwa 1903 schloss der Bartitsu Club. Barton-Wright gab folglich die Selbstverteidigungs-Lehrgänge zugunsten seiner Gesundheits-Therapien auf. Privat setzte er aber die Entwicklung und Lehre des Bartitsu bis in die 1920er Jahre fort.
Er gründete eine Reihe von Kliniken an verschiedenen Orten in London und setzte seine Arbeit als Therapeut bis zum Ende seiner beruflichen Tätigkeit fort.
Seine Behandlungsmethoden gegen Gicht- und Rheumaschmerzen wurde allerdings von medizinischen Einrichtungen Londons mit Argwohn betrachtet und führten immer wieder zu finanziellen Problemen bis in die 1930er Jahre, nicht zuletzt auch durch eine Reihe von Investitionen in die falschen Projekte.
Über sein Leben in den Jahren 1930-1950 ist relative wenig bekannt. Ab 1938 hatte er seine Klinik in sein eigenes Haus in Surbiton, London, verlegt.
Barton-Wright starb 1951 im Alter von 90 Jahren und im eigentlichen Sinn verarmt. Er wurde auf dem Kingston Friedhof in Surrey, England, beigesetzt.
Er gilt heute als einer der ersten Europäer, der die japanische Kampfkunst lehrte und als Pionier der Entwicklung einer Misch-Kampf-Technik.
08.11.1860 in Bangalore, India
13.09.1951 in London, GB

He was the third of six children of railway engineer William Barton Wright and his wife Janet, born in India. The complete family returned to GB during the 1880s.
Following his further studies in France and Germany, he worked as a civil engineer and surveyor for railway and mining companies in locations including Egypt, Portugal and the Straits Settlements (today Malaysia and Singapore).
In April 1892 he legally assumed the name Edward William Barton-Wright.
During his work in several countries he had always studied various fighting systems.
In 1894 he was employed as an antimony smelting specialist for Hunter & Co., proprietor Edward Huzlitt Hunter, a Trade Agency in Kobe # 29, that among others also represented the Osaka Iron Works.
He stayed with this company until 1896 and during this period Barton-Wright studied ju-jutsu in at least two styles, including the shinden fudō ryū in Kobe and kōdōkan (jūdō) in Tokyo.
Upon returning to England in early 1898, Barton-Wright combined these martial arts to form his own method of self-defence training, which he called Bartitsu. Over the next two years, he also added elements of British boxing, French savate and the "la canne" (stick fighting) style of Swiss master Pierre Vigny.

In 1899, Barton-Wright wrote an article titled "How to Pose as a Strong Man", detailing the mechanical and leverage principles employed in performing various feats of strength.
He also produced a two-part essay entitled "The New Art of Self-Defence". In 1901, Barton-Wright published additional articles that detailed the Bartitsu method of fighting with a walking stick or umbrella.
This self-defence fighting Bartitsu became also famous by Arthur Conan Doyle, author of the Sherlock Holmes novels; one of his protagonist knew Bartitsu.
In 1900, Barton-Wright established the Bartitsu Club at London, offering classes in a range of self-defence disciplines and combat sports as well as various physical therapies involving the electrical application of heat, light, vibration, and radiation.

By 1903, the Bartitsu Club had closed down. Subsequently, Barton-Wright mostly abandoned self-defence instruction in favour of his interests in physical therapy, but he continued to develop and teach Bartitsu privately into the 1920s. Barton-Wright established a series of clinics at various locations throughout London, and continued to work as a physical therapist for the remainder of his career.
His therapeutic business to treat the pain of gout and rheumatism was viewed with suspicion by the London medical establishments and was subject to financial problems on several occasions during the first three decades of the 20th century, also caused by a series of investments in unsuccessful inventions and other ventures.
Comparatively little is known about Barton-Wright's life during the period 1930-1950. From 1938 onwards, his medical clinic was in his own home in Surbiton, London.
Barton-Wright died in 1951, aged ninety and under circumstances of some poverty, buried at Kingston Cemetery in Surrey, England.

He is remembered today as one of the first Europeans to teach Japanese martial arts and as a pioneer of the concept of hybrid martial arts.
___
/ P III / GB / TR /
WUERFEL
Georg Friedrich Wilhelm
1880 - 1936

[WÜRFEL]


Für Vergrößerung klicken

Für Vergrößerung klicken

Reference:
Vortrag von Reik Jagno am 22.11.2017, OAG Tokyo

1880 in Zerbst, DE
1936 in Sendai, Japan

Er stammte aus Zerbst und wurde als Missionar der Allgemeinen Evangelisch- Protestantischen Missionsgesellschaft im Jahr 1906 nach Japan delegiert, wo er zunächst in Tokyo Koishikawa arbeitete.
Bereits nach kurzer Zeit war die Frustration über den Missionsalltag bei G. Wuerfel, ebenso wie bei Martin Ostwald, offenkundig, da sie sich von der praktischen Missionsarbeit in Japan keine Erfolge versprächen. G. Wuerfel wollte sich stattdessen auf die akademische Arbeit konzentrieren. Die Antwort der Missionsleitung ließ nicht lange auf sich warten und er wurde 1908 von der Missionsleitung gekündigt.
Mit dieser Reaktion schien er gerechnet zu haben. Er hatte einen Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Bildung unterzeichnet und bereits im Jahr 1908 begann er als Lehrer an der 2. Höheren Schule in Sendai zu arbeiten, wo er bis zu seinem Tod 1936 wirkte.
An seiner Wirkstätte in Sendai führte er auch den Eiskunstlauf ein und er gilt als der Vater des Eiskunstlaufs in Japan. - Georg Würfel kehrte nicht wieder nach Deutschland zurück.
1880 in Zerbst, DE
1936 in Sendai, Japan

He came from Zerbst and was delegated to Japan as a missionary of the General Evangelical Protestant Missionary Society in 1906 and initially worked in Tokyo Koishikawa.

After a short period, the frustration with the missionary life was obvious and G. Wuerfel, as well as Martin Ostwald, declared that the practical missionary work in Japan will never be successful and therefore he prefers to focus on an academic work.
The response of the mission management was not long in coming and his contract was cancelled in 1908.

It seems that he had expected this reaction. He had signed a contract with the Japanese Government, Ministry of Education, and as early as 1908 he began working as a teacher at the Second Higher School in Sendai, where he worked until his death in 1936.
At his workplace in Sendai he also introduced figure skating and he is considered the father of figure skating in Japan. - Georg Wuerfel didn´t return to Germany again.
___
/ P IV / DE / MIS + QFE-ED /
WYCKOFF
Harriet J.
1874 - 1942




22.08.1874 in Yokohama
14.02.1942 in Tokyo

Tochter von Martin Nevius Wyckoff.
Nach ihrer Ausbildung in den USA kehrte sie 1898 nach Japan als Missionar der American Reformed Dutch Church Mission, Yokohama # 178 Bluff zurück.
Sie arbeitete für die Mission bis zu ihrer Heirat mit John Eugene Hail am 12.07.1905, der bereits 1911 verstarb.
Sie wurde neben ihrem Mann auf dem Kyodo Bochi von Tsu, Mie-ken bestattet.
22.08.1874 in Yokohama
14.02.1942 in Tokyo

Daughter of Martin Nevius Wyckoff.
After her education in the USA she returned to Japan in 1898 as missionary of the American Reformed Dutch Church Mission, Yokohama # 178 Bluff.
She worked for this mission until her marriage to John Eugene Hail on July 12, 1905 who already died in 1911.
She was buried beside her husband in the Kyodo Bochi of Tsu, Mie-ken.
___
/ P III / USA / MIS /
WYCKOFF
Helena
1877 – 1911

[Helene]


24.12.1877 in Middlebush, Somerset, NJ, USA
15.09.1911 in Foochow, China

Tochter von Martin Nevius Wyckoff.
Nach ihrer Ausbildung in den USA kehrte sie 1902 nach Japan als Missionar der American Presbyterian Mission, Tokyo, Kojimachi zurück.
Sie arbeitete für die Mission bis zu ihrem plötzlichen Tod 1911 in China.
24.12.1877 in Middlebush, Somerset, NJ, USA
15.09.1911 in Foochow, China

Daughter of Martin Nevius Wyckoff.
After her education in the USA she returned to Japan in 1902 as missionary of the American Presbyterian Mission, Tokyo, Kojimachi.
She worked for this mission until her sudden death in 1911 in China.
___
/ P III / USA / MIS /
WYCKOFF
Martin Nevius
1850 – 1911

[WYCHOFF]





Für Vergrößerung klicken
Die hintere Reihe zeigt von links nach rechts die Lehrer KUMANO Yūshichi, David Ruigh, Albert Oltmans und Martin Nevius Wyckoff. In der vorderen Reihe sitzt ganz rechts FURUKAWA Takeo alias Frank Flucawa.
Back row depicts from left to right the teachers KUMANO Yūshichi, David Ruigh, Albert Oltmans and Martin Nevius Wyckoff. In the front row on the far right is seating FURUKAWA Takeo alias Frank Flucawa.




10.02.1850 in Middlebush, Somerset, NJ, USA
27.01.1911 in Tokyo, Japan

Er beendete die Rutgers Universität 1872 und bald darauf ging er auf der Basis eines Vertrages mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium für Erziehung, nach Japan, wo er am 24.07.1872 in Yokohama eintraf.
Sein erster Vertrag als Lehrer für Chemie und Physik lief vom 20.06.1872 bis 01.08.1874 für die Hauptschule von Fukui, er wurde Nachfolger von William Elliott Griffis.
Bei Vertragsende ging er nach Niigata an die Gaikokugo Gakkō (Sprachschule), sein Vertrag lief vom 16.09.1874 bis 15.09.1876, der Vertrag wurde aber per 31.08.1876 beendet.
Er ging an die englische Sprachschule in Tokyo, dieser Vertrag lief vom 16.09.1876 bis 15.09.1877, nach Auslauf des Vertrages ging er zurück in die USA. Er wurde Professor für Chemie und Physik an der Rutgers Universität und Union College, Schenectady, New York.
Am 25.09.1881 kam er im Auftrag der American Reformed Church Mission zurück nach Japan und wohnte in # 48 Bluff von Yokohama. Er wurde Lehrer an der ARC-Missions-Schule in Yokohama. Diese Schule wurde 1883 mit der Schule in Tokyo zusammengelegt und er zog als Lehrer für Englisch nach Tokyo.
Er unterschrieb einen weiteren Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, der vom 17.09.1884 bis 31.07.1885 wirkte, aber bis zum 15.09.1886 verlängert wurde und gemäß dem er Englisch, englische Literatur und Französisch an der Englisch-Japanischen Schule in Tokyo lehrte.
1890 wurde er Dozent an der Meiji Gakuin, Tokyo Shirokane und er lehrte hier bis zu seinem Tod. Albert Oltmans und D. Ruigh waren seine Kollegen und u.a. Sasaki Kuni und Furukawa Takeo seine Studenten.
1895 wurde ihm der Dr. sc. von der Rutgers Universität verliehen.
Er heiratete Anna Catharine Baird (1850-1920, Tochter von William Baird) am 05.07.1873 in Tokyo.
Sie hatten vier Kinder:
- Harriet J. Wyckoff, geb. 22.08.1874 in Yokohama, verheiratet mit John E. Hail.
- Jacob Wyckoff, geb. 15.06.1876 in Niigata, Japan; er kehrte nach seiner Ausbildung nicht nach Japan zurück; Heirat mit Eva Outcalt Snedeker am 05.03.1902.
- Helena Wyckoff, geb. 24.12.1877 in Middlebush, Somerset, NJ.
- William Baird Wyckoff, geb. 03.10.1879 in Somerville, Somerset, NJ; gest. an Typhus am 25.07.1908 in Newark, NJ; Heirat mit Carolyn Baker Veght am 10.10.1904; sie lebten nie in Japan.
Er war sehr in der sozialen Fürsorge engagiert und kümmerte sich insbesondere um die Hilfe Leprakranker.
Er starb 1911 und wurde auf dem Friedhof des Meiji Gakuin, Tokyo Shirokane beigesetzt.
10.02.1850 in Middlebush, Somerset, NJ, USA
27.01.1911 in Tokyo, Japan

He graduated from Rutgers University in 1872 and soon after he went to Japan on the base of a contract with the Japanese government, Ministry of Education, arriving at Yokohama on July 24, 1872.
His first contract ran from June 20, 1872 to August 1, 1874 at the Fukui Junior High School as teacher for chemistry and physics, succeeding William Elliott Griffis.
On the termination of this contract he went to the Niigata Gaikokugo Gakkō (Language School), his contract ran from September 16, 1874 to September 15, 1876, the contract was cancelled per August 31, 1876.
He turned to the English Language School of Tokyo; this contract ran from September 16, 1876 to September 15, 1877. When the contract expired he went back to the USA. He took office as professor of chemistry and physics at Rutgers University and Union College, Schenectady, New York.
On September 25, 1881 he came back to Japan dispatched by the American Reformed Church Mission, residing at # 48 Bluff of Yokohama. He took office in the ARC-Mission school in Yokohama. This school merged with the Tokyo school in 1883 and he moved to Tokyo as English teacher.
He signed another contract with the Japanese government running from September 17, 1884 to July 31, 1885 and prolonged until September 15, 1886, teaching English literature, English and French at the English-Japanese school of Tokyo.
In 1890 he joined Meiji Gakuin, Tokyo Shirokane and he taught there until his death. Albert Oltmans and D. Ruigh were colleagues and among others, Sasaki Kuni and Furukawa Takeo his students.
In 1895 he was conferred the title of DSc of the Rutgers University.
He married Anna Catharine Baird (1850-1920, daughter of William Baird) on July 5, 1873 in Tokyo.
They had four children:
- Harriet J. Wyckoff, born August 22, 1874 in Yokohama, married to John E. Hail.
- Jacob Wyckoff, born June 15, 1876 in Niigata, Japan; didn't return to Japan after his education; married to Eva Outcalt Snedeker on March 05, 1902.
- Helena Wyckoff, born December 24, 1877 in Middlebush, Somerset, NJ.
- William Baird Wyckoff, born October 03, 1879 in Somerville, Somerset, NJ; died of typhoid fever on July 25, 1908 in Newark, NJ; married to Carolyn Baker Veght on October 10, 1904; they never stayed in Japan.
He was very eager in social welfare and took special care of lepers.
He died in 1911 and was buried in the cemetery of the Meiji Gakuin, Tokyo Shirokane.
___
/ P II – III / USA /
WYON
Edward
1837 - 1906





















































Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Wyons größter Auftrag: die Münzanstalt in Kanton zur Zeit ihrer Fertigstellung.
- Wyon's largest assignment: the Canton Mint at the time of its completion.







Für Vergrößerung klicken
- Eine der ersten Münzen aus Kanton von 1889, ab 1890 wurde die englische Umschrift auf die Vorderseite versetzt.
- One of the first coins from Canton of 1889, as of 1890, the English inscription was placed on the obverse.

28.09.1837 Birmingham, Warwickshire, GB
16.08.1906 Kobe, Japan

Seit der "kurkölnische Münzstempelstecher" Peter Georg Wyon um 1760 im Gefolge von König George II. nach England gekommen war, arbeiteten viele seiner Nachkommen als Graveure oder Medailleure für die britische Krone.
Im Unterschied zu dem berühmten, etwa zehn Jahre älteren Leonard Charles Wyon, war Edward weniger für die künstlerische als vielmehr für die technische Seite der Münzherstellung tätig - weltweit. Er half mit, britische Münztechnik in so unterschiedlichen Ländern wie Burma, Japan, Kolumbien oder China einzuführen.
Gemäß der Familientradition machte auch Edward Wyon eine technische Ausbildung im Münzwesen und begann um 1857 eine Lehre bei der Firma Heaton & Sons in Birmingham. Ralph Heaton (II) hatte 1850 bei einer Versteigerung die Anlagen der ehemaligen Soho Mint in Birmingham erworben und eine Münzanstalt gegründet, die bald "The Birmingham Mint" an Stelle des eigentlichen Firmennamens genannt wurde.
Heatons Privatunternehmen stellte schon bald die meisten Münzen für das britische Finanzministerium her, erhielt aber auch Auslandsaufträge, etwa aus dem neu vereinigten Königreich Italien, und von anderswo - Burma zum Beispiel.

Im Februar 1864 schickte Ralph Heaton (III) Edward Wyon nach Burma (Myanmar), um dort den Bau und die Ausrüstung einer kompletten Münzanstalt zu beaufsichtigen.
Nach einem Heaton übermittelten Zeugnis war die burmesische Regierung mit Wyons Arbeit sehr zufrieden. Er habe sich als "überaus geeignet und fähig in seinem Beruf" erwiesen. Die Minister dieses "himmelsgleichen Landes" erklärten, sie seien "daher Gott äußerst dankbar".

Wyon blieb mehrere Jahre in Burma. Danach erhielt er, vermutlich wiederum vermittelt durch Heaton selbst, einen Dreijahresvertrag als Angestellter in der Prägeabteilung der neuen Münze im japanischen Osaka. Sein Vertrag mit der japanischen Regierung, Ministerium der Finanzen, lief vom Januar 1872 bis Januar 1875. Bereits am 08.10.1872 wurde er vom Direktor der Münzanstalt, Thomas William Kinder, zum Leiter dieser Abteilung ernannt. Als Kinders Vertrag Ende Januar 1875 auslief, wurden auch die Verträge der meisten anderen ausländischen Angestellten nicht verlängert. Zu ihnen gehörte auch Wyon.

Danach folgte, seltsamerweise, ein Zwischenspiel, bei dem Wyon als Geschäftsführer einer Baumwollfabrik im ägyptischen Nikla al-Inab fungierte, bevor er wieder nach Birmingham zurückkehrte.
Nachdem Heaton den Auftrag bekommen hatte, eine Münzanstalt (casa de moneda) in Bogotá zu errichten, wurde Wyon für diese Aufgabe bestimmt und nach Kolumbien geschickt. Ab 1881 war er nicht nur für den Bau der Münze, sondern auch für die Ausbildung des künftigen Personals verantwortlich.
Wyons nächste Station wurde Kanton (Guangzhou), wo er den Bau einer riesigen neuen Münzanstalt leitete. Die neue Münze war für eine Tagesproduktion von 2.700.000 Münzen ausgelegt.
Im Jahr 1887 hatte Zhang Zhidong, der Gouverneur der Provinz Kwangtung (Guangdong), über die chinesische Botschaft in London bei Heaton & Sons Maschinen für die erste westliche Münzanstalt Chinas gekauft. Mit Wyon reiste weiteres Fachpersonal aus Birmingham nach China, darunter ein Spezialist für das Finanzwesen, einer für das Walzen , ein Stempelgraveur, und einer für das Prägen. Vor der Aufstellung der Münzmaschinen in Kanton wurde bei Heaton in Birmingham eine begrenzte Stückzahl von Probeprägungen gefertigt.
Bei der Eröffnung war die Kanton-Münze die größte Anlage dieser Art in der Welt. Nach einem Bericht der Londoner Wochenzeitung "The Graphic" von 1888 war das Grundstück 200 Meter lang und 30 Meter breit. Sie besaß insgesamt 90 Maschinen. Vier Münzpressen aus Japan waren in der Lage, 100.000 Silberdollar und von den 86 kleineren Pressen konnte jede einzelne bis zu 30.000 Münzen am Tag fertigen.
Nach der Eröffnung der Münze verließ das britische Personal Kanton; Wyon jedoch blieb und trat in die Dienste der Provinzregierung von Kwangtung. Im Sommer 1900 reiste er, begleitet von seiner Frau, im Auftrag von Heaton & Sons nach Peking (Beijing), um Verhandlungen über den Bau einer weiteren Münzanstalt in der chinesischen Hauptstadt zu führen. Das Ehepaar Wyon wurde im Diplomatenviertel eingeschlossen, als dieses von chinesischen und "Boxer"-Truppen belagert wurde. Wyons Frau kam bei diesen Auseinandersetzungen ums Leben; Wyon selbst blieb unverletzt.
Wyon kehrte nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt in England, wo er nochmals heiratete, nach China zurück. Er hatte die Absicht, seinen Ruhestand in England zu verbringen, zuvor aber noch mit seiner zweiten Frau eine Hochzeitsreise durch Japan zu machen. Gleich zu Beginn dieser Reise erkrankte er schwer. Er verstarb im japanischen Kobe.

In Japan ist seine Tätigkeit an der Osaka Münze noch bekannt; sein Anteil am Bau der größten Münzanstalt seiner Zeit und außerdem ersten modernen Münze Chinas ist jedoch nahezu völlig in Vergessenheit geraten.

Auf dem Friedhof von Hongkong trägt ein Grabstein die Inschrift: "M. Wyon, die geliebte Gattin von E. Wyon von der Münze Kanton". Als Alter von Wyons erster Frau sind 53 Jahre angegeben; als Todesdatum steht hier, wohl irrtümlich, der 01. Mai 1902.
28.09.1837 Birmingham, Warwickshire, GB
16.08.1906 Kobe, Japan

Since the die engraver Peter Georg Wyon from Cologne had come to England at around 1760, with the entourage of King George II, many of his descendants had been working as engravers or medallists for the British crown.

In contrast with the famous, ten years older Leonard Charles Wyon, Edward was less concerned with the artistic than the technical side of coin making - all over the world. He helped to install British mint technique in countries as different as Burma, Japan, Colombia or China.

According to the family's tradition, Edward Wyon, too, made a technical training in coinage and began around 1857 an apprenticeship at Messrs Heaton & Sons in Birmingham. Ralph Heaton (II) had bought at an auction in 1850 the machinery of the defunct Soho mint in Birmingham and founded a mint that soon was called "The Birmingham Mint" instead of the company's name proper.

Heaton's private enterprise produced most of the coins for the British treasury and got additionally orders from abroad as well, such as from the now unified Kingdom of Italy, and from elsewhere - Burma, for instance.

In February of 1864 Ralph Heaton (III) sent Edward Wyon to Burma (Myanmar) to supervise the construction and equipment of a complete mint.
According to a testimony sent to Heaton, the Burmese Government was very satisfied with Wyon's work. He had "proved himself a most capable and able man in his business". The Ministers of this "heaven-like country" declared to be "therefore most thankful to God".

Wyon stayed in Burma for a couple of years. He got subsequently, probably arranged by Heaton himself, a three years contract as employee of the Coining Department of the new Japanese Mint at Osaka. His contract with the Japanese Government, Ministry of Finance, ran from January 1872 to January 1875.
Even on October 8, 1872 he was appointed manager of this department by the Mint's Director Thomas William Kinder. When Kinder's contract expired at the end of January of 1875, the contracts of most foreign employees were also not prolonged and Wyon belonged to them, too.

Thereafter, an interlude followed where Wyon acted, strangely, as manager of a cotton mill in Nikla al-Inab in Egypt; then he returned to Birmingham.

After Heaton had received the order to erect a mint (casa de moneda) at Bogotá, Wyon was chosen for this task and was sent to Colombia.
From 1881 he had not only to supervise the construction of the mint, but also the training of the future personnel.

Wyon's next stay became Canton (Guangzhou), where he directed the construction of an enormous new mint. The new mint was specified for a production of 2,700,000 coins per day.
In 1887 Zhang Zhidong, the Governor of the province Kwangtung (Guangdong), had bought through the Chinese Legation in London from Heaton & Sons the machines for the first Western-style mint of China. With Wyon, further experts from Birmingham travelled to China, among them a chief cashier, a roller, a die maker and a coiner.
Before the equipment was installed in Canton, a limited number of specimens were coined at Heaton & Sons in Birmingham.

At its inauguration, the Canton Mint was the biggest of its kind in the world. According to a report in the London weekly "The Graphic" of 1888, its areal extent was 200 metres long and 30 metres wide. The Mint comprised 90 machines in all. Four coining presses from Japan were able to produce 100,000 silver dollars a day; 86 smaller presses could each fabricate up to 30,000 coins daily.

After approximately three years, the British personnel left China; Wyon, however, continued to stay and was employed by the government of the Kwangtung Province. In summer of 1900 he travelled, accompanied by his wife, on behalf of Heaton & Sons to Peking (Beijing) to negotiate the construction of another mint in the Chinese capital.
The Wyon couple stayed in the Legation Quarter when it became besieged by Chinese and "Boxer" troops. Wyon's wife lost her life during these quarrels; Wyon himself was not injured.
Wyon returned to China after a short stay in England, where he married again. He intended to live in his retirement in England, but first would spend with his second wife a honeymoon in Japan.
At the very beginning, he became seriously ill. He died in Japanese Kobe.

In Japan, his activity at the Osaka Mint is still known; his part in erecting the largest mint of his day and, moreover, the first modern Mint of China is, however, almost completely forgotten.

In the Hong Kong Cemetery, a tomb reads: "M. Wyon, the beloved wife of E. Wyon of the Canton Mint". As the age of Wyon's first wife, 53 years are given; the date of her death here is, probably erroneously, the 1st May of 1902.
___
/ P II / GB / FE-T (36 Mon.) /
2. JAPANER >>> <<< JAPANESE
(AUSLÄNDER >>> <<< FOREIGNERS)

WADA Eisaku 和田英作 / JAP / ART / 1874 - 1959
WADA Eitarō 和田英太郎 / JAP / SA /
WADA Kotarō / JAP / BM /

WADA Tsunashirō 和田維四郎

WADA Koya 和田好也 / JAP / SA /
WADA Yachio 和田八千穂 / JAP / SA /
WADAGAKI Kenzō 和田垣謙三 / JAP / SA / 1860 - 1919
WAKABAYASHI Torago 若林虎吾 / JAP / SA / 1868 - 1940
WAKAMORI Giko 若守義孝 / JAP / SA /
WAKAO Ippei 若尾逸平 / JAP / BM / 1820 - 1913
WAKASUGI Kisaburō 若杉喜三郎 / JAP / SA / 1864 - 1916
WAKATSUKI Reijirō 若槻礼次郎 / JAP / POL / 1866 - 1949
WAKIMIZU Tetsugorō 脇水鉄五郎 / JAP / SA / 1867 - 1942
WAKUSHIMA Masazō 湧島雅造 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Bunji 渡辺文治 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Chifuyu 渡辺千冬 / JAP / SA / 1876 - 1940
WATANABE Chiharu 渡辺千春 / JAP / SA / 1872 - 1918
WATANABE Hiroshi 渡邊熈 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Jōtarō 渡邊錠太郎 / JAP / SA / 1874 - 1936
WATANABE Kaichi 渡邊嘉一 / JAP / SA / 1858 - 1932
WATANABE Kaikyoku 渡辺海旭 / JAP / SA / 1872 - 1933
WATANABE Kenzō 渡辺謙三 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Rai 渡辺雷 / JAP / SA / 1860 - 1915
WATANABE Renkichi 渡邊廉吉 / JAP / SA / 1854 - 1925
WATANABE Ryōzō 渡邊錠太郎 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Ryūsei 渡辺龍聖 / JAP / SA / 1865 - 1944

WATANABE Senjirō 渡辺仙次郎

WATANABE Toshio 渡辺俊雄 / JAP / SA / 1877 - 1939
WATANABE Toyoji 渡辺豊治 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Wataru 渡辺渡 / JAP / SA / 1857 - 1919
WATANABE Yoshio 渡辺義郎 / JAP / SA /
WATANABE Yoshitarō 渡辺芳太郎 / JAP / SA / 1865 - 1923
WATANABE Yuzuru 渡邊譲 / JAP / SA / 1855 - 1930
WATASE Shōzaburō 渡瀬庄三郎 / JAP / SA / 1862 - 1929
WATSUJI Shunji 和辻春次 / JAP / SA /
- W -    
WADA
Tsunashirō
和田維四郎
1856 – 1920


Für Vergrößerung klicken








21.04.1856 in Obama, Wakasa-han (heute Fukui-ken)
20.12.1920

Geologe. 1870 ging er nach Tokyo und wurde am 27.07.1870 an der University South School aufgenommen.
Hier wurde er auch von Erwin Knipping in der deutschen Sprache unterrichtet.
Im Mai 1874 wurde aus der Kaisei Gakkō die Tokyo Kaisei Gakkō und es erfolgte eine Umstrukturierung. Die Schule sollte die Deutsch - und Französisch-Klassen aufgeben und nur noch Englisch einsetzen. Vorübergehend wurden die Französisch-Klassen mit Kunstfächern und die Deutsch-Klassen mit der Mineralogie kombiniert und C. Schenck für die Mineralogie-Fächer eingesetzt.
Einer seiner Schüler, Wada Tsunashirō, wurde an dieser Schule 1875 Assistenz-Lehrer für Mineralogie. Zu dieser Zeit war bereits entschieden, dass das Fach Mineralogie auslaufen wird und es war für Schenck und Wada eine angenehme Aufgabe, die Sammlung mit 600 Mineralien und 120 Kristallmodellen der Technischen Hochschule Osaka zu übergeben und ein Minerallabor einzurichten.
1880 wurde er als Professor für Geologie an die Universität von Tokyo berufen und zwei Jahre später zum General-Direktor des Geologischen Forschungs-Instituts. - Sein Mineral-Katalog wird hoch geschätzt. Später war er Direktor der Bergbau-Behörde und Inspektor der Yawata Stahlwerkes.
Als Autor veröffentlichte er Nihon Kōbutsu-shi (Studium der Mineralien von Japan).
In Fukushima wurde 1993 ein neues Mineral entdeckt, das nach ihm "Wadastein" (Wadalit) benannt wurde. Die Wada-Sammlung wird in Ikuno ausgestellt.
21.04.1856 in Obama, Wakasa-han (today Fukui-ken)
20.12.1920

Geologist. In 1870 he went to Tokyo and on July 27, 1870 he entered the University South School.
At this school he was also taught in the German language by Erwin Knipping.
In May 1874, Kaisei Gakkō became Tokyo Kaisei Gakkō and the nomenclature was changed. The school should abolish German and French classes by governmental policy, only English classes should continue. Temporarily, for the French classes the art and for the German classes mineralogy subjects were installed and C. Schenck was in charge of this mineralogy subject.
One of his pupils was Wada Tsunashirō, who became assistant instructor in mineralogy at this school in 1875. At that time it was already decided that the mineral subject had to phase out and it was a nice matter for Schenck and Wada to transfer the collection of 600 mineral items and 120 crystal models to the Osaka technical high school, and additionally a mineralogical laboratory was established.
In 1880 he was appointed professor of geology at Tokyo University and two years later he became the first director general of the Geological Research Institute.
His catalogue of minerals is still highly valued. Later was director of the Mining Bureau and superintendent of the Yawata Steel Works.
He was the author of Nihon Kōbutsu-shi (Study of Minerals in Japan).
A new mineral was discovered in Fukushima in 1993 which was named after him Wada Stone (wadalite). The Wada Collection is exhibited at the Ikuno Mineral Building.
___
/ JAP / SC /
WATANABE
Senjirō
渡辺仙次郎
1860 - 1916

[Senjiro]
[渡邊千治郎]



Für Vergrößerung klicken




Watanabe war mehr als zwanzig Jahre lang Vertreter der Handelsfirma Mitsui Bussan in London. Er vermittelte den Kauf von Investitionsgütern und anderer technischer Ausrüstung nach Japan und wickelte solche Geschäfte auch ab.
Als Mitgründer der "Japan Society of London", aber auch als einer der ersten Japaner, der eine Britin heiratete, spielte Watanabe außerdem eine aktive Rolle in den gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Beziehungen zwischen England und Japan.
Watanabe gehörte 1877 zu den ersten Absolventen der von Mori Arinori gegründeten Handels- und Rechtsschule "Shōhō Kōshūjo" in Tokyo, einem Vorläufer der heutigen Hitotsubashi-Universität. Danach trat er in die Handelsfirma Mitsui Bussan K. K. (Mitsui & Co.) ein und wurde 1879 Leiter ihrer britischen Niederlassung in London.

In dieser Position war Watanabe recht erfolgreich. Als in Osaka eine neue große Baumwollfabrik gebaut werden sollte, bestellte Yamanobe Takeo am 10.06.1882 die gesamte technische Ausrüstung über Mitsui Bussan in London von britischen Firmen, darunter 10.500 Spindeln vom Weltmarktführer Platt Brothers in Oldham sowie die Antriebsmaschine von Hick, Hargreaves & Co. in Bolton. Dieser Auftrag führte vermutlich dazu, dass Mitsui Bussan in London ab dem 01.12.1886 den Alleinvertrieb der Maschinen von Platt für Japan übernahm.

Dem japanischen Ingenieur Kikuchi Kyōzō, der im Dezember 1888 in London eintraf, um in England praktische Erfahrungen in der Baumwollindustrie zu machen, vermittelte Watanabe im Einvernehmen mit Platt ein Praktikum bei der Firma T. B. Wood & Son in Middleton.
Kikuchi kaufte anschließend die Maschinen für die neue japanische Fabrik Hiranobō wiederum über Mitsui Bussan bei Platt & Co. Viele Jahre lang waren japanische Textilfabriken Platts bedeutendste Kunden.

Watanabe wohnte in London in Nr. 1, Crosby Square, Bishopsgate. 1891 gehörte er zu den Mitgründern der "Japan Society of London", aus der die heutige "Japan Society of the UK" hervorging.
Am 05.04.1893 heiratete er in der Christ Church in Bloomsbury, London, Frau Mary Ann Dickinson geb. Rayner, die Witwe des britischen Obersten Thomas Dickinson. Zwei Kinder kamen in Middlesex zur Welt, der Sohn Hideo am 28.10.1894 und die Tochter Isa zwei Jahre später. Sonst ist über das Leben der Familie wenig bekannt, weil sie ihr öffentliches und privates Leben trennten, wie es auch viele andere japanische Geschäftsleute zu tun pflegten.

Watanabe verließ mit seiner Familie im Jahr 1902 England; er stieg in der Firma Mitsui Bussan in Tokyo bis zum geschäftsführenden Direktor auf.
1916 ertrank er beim Schwimmen in der Sagami-Bucht vor Kamakura.



Watanabe had been working for more than twenty years for Mitsui & Co. as their London representative. He arranged and handled the sale of British investment goods and other technical equipment to Japan.

As one of the founders of the "Japan Society of London", but also as one of the first Japanese to marry a British woman, Watanabe furthermore played an active part in the social and cultural relations between England and Japan.

Watanabe was in 1877 among the first graduates of the commercial law school "Shōhō Kōshūjo" in Tokyo, founded by Mori Arinori and which became predecessor of today's Hitotsubashi University. Having joined the trading company Mitsui & Co. (Mitsui Bussan K. K.), he was sent to London in 1879as head of their British branch.

As such, Watanabe proved to be quite successful. When in Osaka a new big cotton mill was to be built, Yamanobe Takeo placed on June 10, 1882 the entire orders for British technical equipments at Mitsui & Co. in London, among others 10,500 spindles to be delivered by the world market's leader Platt Bothers in Oldham as well as the steam engine to be shipped by Hick, Hargreaves & Co. in Bolton. This order probably has greatly contributed to Platt's decision to make Mitsui & Co. their exclusive agent for Japan as of December 1, 1886.

When, in December of 1888, the Japanese engineer Kikuchi Kyōzō arrived in London in order to get practical experience in cotton mills, Watanabe arranged for him in accordance with Platt a corresponding work in the cotton mill of T. B. Wood & Son in Middleton.
Subsequently Kikuchi bought the machines for the new Japanese mill Hiranobō again via Mitsui Bussan from Platt & Co. For many years, Japanese mills were Platt's biggest customers.

Watanabe lived in London in No. 1, Crosby Square, Bishopsgate. 1891 he was one of the founders of the "Japan Society of London" from which developed today's "Japan Society of the UK".
On April 5, 1893 he married in the Christ Church, Bloomsbury, London, Mrs Mary Ann Dickinson, nee Rayner, widow of the late British colonel Thomas Dickinson. Two children were born in Middlesex, their son Hideo on October 28, 1894 and their daughter Isa two years later. Otherwise, about their family life little is known because they seem to have kept their public and private lives separate, like many other Japanese businessmen used to do.

Watanabe left with his family for Japan in 1902, advancing at Mitsui & Co., Tokyo to managing director.

In 1916 he drowned while swimming in Sagami Bay off Kamakura.
___
/ JAP / TR /